Preview Review

Next Review

Carrentals.com Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Avoid CarRentals.com at all costs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLINGHAM, WASHINGTON -- I wish I could give CarRentals.com zero stars, as this was just a terrible experience. It all started with the reservation. I reserved my car through CarRentals.com to get a good deal. The process was a bit much, but I've had worse. As I was completing the reservation, I distinctly read that this location may accept debit cards. (hint: this comes up later.)

I selected Enterprise as I'm familiar with them so I could rent a car and take a trip to Wisconsin for a business meeting while we were on vacation in Chicago for the holidays. I arrived at Enterprise to pick up my car only to find out that they would not take my debit card. Yes, I am well aware their site says, "may". If they won't take a debit card, it should be "will not." I could have brought one if I had known, but I prefer to not carry as I only use my credit card in emergencies.

Enterprise lied TWICE about trying to contact me about not accepting debit cards for people who live out of state, first saying they tried to call me and left a message, but then admitted they did not have my full phone number (even though I gave it) and then admitted they really did not. Then they lied about emailing me about the credit card issue.

So now I have to wait for an hour while my wife bundles up our two kids and drives back to bring my card. And I'm late... Thanks. This was all avoidable. If they could not contact me - admit it. If there was an issue, so some empathy. They did neither. I'll use Enterprise again, but not this location. You shouldn't either.

So I contact CarRentals.com to let them know about the issue. I wasn't happy, but having worked from companies like this I know it's good to hear if there is a problem that can be solved, especially since it was CarRentals.com that I used for the reservation. Mind you, I asked for nothing. This was just an, "I'm not happy at all, but you should be aware of this" type email.

A little over an hour later I get a response that left me speechless: "... We would have been happy to find out their policy re: debit cards if you had requested that we ask for you." Are. You. Kidding. Me? That's their job. It's their job to know and they dropped the ball.

Here is my response to this: "Actually, I just won't use your service again. The second paragraph of your template, "We would have been happy to find out their policy re: debit cards if you had requested that we ask for you" is ridiculous. Your PAGE stated they may accept debit cards. I should not have had to ask. I'm done."

Six minutes later their support team emails back: "With all due respect, you should have asked because it said "may."" With all due respect?

Here was my final comment to CarRentals.com: "I would like to thank you for the response, however ill conceived your last response may be. It was illuminating. Many online companies pride themselves on customer service. I know it can be difficult sometimes receiving emails from angry customers.

I recall that I used to feel that way sometimes. I wanted to send a quick one or two sentence response to an angry customer in an effort to one-up their frustrated response. It's akin to dropping the mic and saying, "BAM! I'm out!" In reality you provide additional fodder, do nothing to solve the customer's initial problem and instead steel their resolve to make their experience known to others.

It used to be said that, on average, a satisfied customer will tell 3 people while an unsatisfied customer will tell 7. Unfortunately, social media popped up and transformed that. But enough of this back and forth. I stand by my original complaint, as well as my second. I'll just add this to the online reviews and no longer use your service. Merry Christmas."

I will NEVER use this company again. Don't hide. Don't be snide. Do your job.

Replies
Ripper Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Do not give these shady opportunists your money. Our whole trip was canceled due to the coronavirus outbreak. Everyone (airlines, hotels, etc) either gave us a full refund or full credit in light of the world crisis. Everyone except this company. And mind you, I first called Thrifty (who was actually going to provide the vehicle). And Thrifty told me at first, don't worry you'll get a full refund with no penalty. But then, upon noticing I had booked through CarRentals.com, told me I must contact them. And well... even though I had made my reservation with them less than 24 hrs ago, they told me they'd be charging me a $55 cancellation fee. So gross. Lesson learned. Please pass it on.

Replies
Disappointed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSOURI -- I used CarRentals to reserve a car from HERTZ JAX. I also purchased the insurance using CarRentals. When I arrived at the pickup location I was informed I did not have insurance, and would need to purchase it, and If I wanted my spouse to drive, there was an additional cost. Since I could not find another car I was forced to agree to HERTZ's terms. This ended up doubling the original cost which I had prepaid to CarRentals. On appeal to CarRental is I never heard back. HERTZ did contact me and would not consider my problem and refused refunds. Take caution when using HERTZ as well as the insurance sold by CarRentals. The partnership between these two companies ends at the webpage... DO NOT EXPECT SUPPORT.

Replies
Terrible experience – do not bother!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Absolute scam artists!! Rentalcars.com is a second party provider who just take your money, they do not care about customer satisfaction nor reveal all conditions until after you have already made payment. Be warned that they state cancellation is free, it is not free!!!
I booked a car using the app and not until I paid was it revealed that you must catch a shuttle bus after waiting half an hour, then travel 20 min to your car. When I arrived, I was expected to provide a $1000 deposit for a one day hire which would take “minimum” 28 days to be reimbursed, Carrentals.com did not advertise this at all. I missed an important meeting that day, the sole purpose of my trip.
Their ‘customer service' is delivered in the form of copy & pasted responses via email with no possibility to speak to a person to resolve complaints.
Save your money and time, don't use Rentalcars.com

Replies
Advertisement
No car and NO REFUND!?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO -- Be very careful using this company! They rented my family a car from Fox that advertised, “Unlimited miles.” They collected ALL FEES in advance (several hundred dollars). When We got to the Fox rental counter they explained that due to “geographic restrictions” the car WAS NOT unlimited miles. Fox refused to give me the car that CARRENTALS.com collected money for in advance. I then contacted CARRENTALS.com and they refused to refund the hundreds of dollars they collected for services that were NEVER RENDERED! This company should be avoided—they have a blatant disregard for their customers and are stealing money from families for services that are NEVER RENDERED! One can only wonder how many thousands of dollars they take from honest families every year who never actually receive the services (car rental). A very interesting business model indeed.

Replies
Charged rental fee $362 (40%) above fee suggested at booking online, no valid response from Customer Svc.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I just had such a bad experience with CarRentals.com that it has to be shared. I recently booked through CarRentals.com and was told at pickup that my car would cost $161 more than promised at booking. Then at checkout I was charged a full $362 over the booked fee with the overage NOT related to fuel or insurance charges but to various other fees and charges unrelated to my use or care of the car. Customer service has been dismissive and useless, replied to me once without looking over the confirmation and receipt I sent them then ignored my emails. This company's promises are worth nothing and they're not accountable. Do not trust them! I'd have had a much cheaper rental doing it directly, and known ahead what it would cost.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- Terrible customer service. Reserved and then cancelled a rental within an hour online. They get their $55 cancellation fee--fair enough, that was part of the deal. But while they were quick to charge my credit card for the reservation, they do not care about refunding my money (minus their $55 cancellation fee) for the cancelled reservation. Have called multiple times, spoken to the manager several times, and each time it's the same story: it'll be 7-10 business days. First, it was some "processing error" on their end that prompted a new round of 7-10 business days...then it was that they processed their $55 cancellation fee and that prompted another 7-10 day wait. It's been almost a month and nothing. Just left a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Replies
Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Vehicle wasn't ready at the reserved time. Bait and switch - I prepaid and was charged additionally. I definitely will be disputing that charge. This place does not have 24 hour drop off for their “airport location” and was charged an additional $20 for that as well. So all in all, charges $24 more than quoted and originally paid for. And had to wait 45 minutes for the vehicle to be ready.

I cancelled it at 2:37pm and we had to take a Lyft to a different car rental place.

I called CarRental.com and refused to refund my money. The called AVR Van rentals where my reservation was at and the lady lied and said I waited 15 minutes. I have Uber receipts from getting picked up from there to take me to a different rental place.

CarRentals told me that maybe if I had waited AN HOUR OR TWO for my reservation they could maybe refund it? Are you kidding me?

Replies
Advertisement
0 Stars - Fraudulent Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ILLINOIS -- I don't even know where to begin. This company is extremely unethical and I would not advise anyone use their services. My husband and I have been going back and forth with their escalations team (yes they have a whole team for this which says enough) for 2 months on a car we were charged for but NEVER picked up or drove! Then they told our credit card company the $300 was an administrative fee! To say I'm upset and disappointed is an understatement. This won't be the last you hear from me and we will be getting our money back one way or another. This is an unacceptable way to run a business.

Replies
Watch Out for Prices Which Are Too Good to Be True.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

--NONE--, PENNSYLVANIA -- Perhaps I was naive to believe the posted special car rental price of $41 USD for a week. I chose to use my own insurance. The email I received warned me about the $2500 credit card deposit; that was fine. But when I arrived, the company wanted to charge me $225 more for insurance, saying I wasn't allowed to decline insurance without a signed letter from my insurance company. This was not explained in an email. This website does not do enough to prevent rental companies from posting false prices.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Carrentals.com Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 123 ratings and
130 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Carrentals.com
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
www.carrentals.com
Compare Car Rental Companies