Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Company I Have Ever Dealt With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Crowsnest Pass, Alberta Canada. During the first week of October 2019 spent a total of 6 hours over 3 days on the phone with "Kathy" from the sales department. She finally convinced me that their service was every bit as good as the service I was currently with but much cheaper and included all the channels we now had. (I named off the really important ones.)

Price was $3.00 less than current service per month, (inc. Tax) 6 months free. (Usually 3 upfront and three on the back end of three year contract but she would give me all upfront to show the savings. 1 month free trial before contract started to see if you like it. Arranged for Activation not to start until Oct. 16th. Then I find out there is a $95.00 Activation fee. I pay for equipment to be shipped out, I pay upfront for all TV boxes, and modems, which she said would only be $70.00 ea due to good Credit rating. 3 items @ $70.00 each ($210.00) would be refunded when /if I cancelled.

Activation day, called "Camille" who could only help with phone hook up. She transferred my phone number from current company. I was not told that the phone had to plug directly into Modem, which is in a different room. Current service is wireless. We get through the activation only to find out that 3 of our most-watched channels are missing. I called "Kathy" in sales back and took this up with her. She tried to say but you get this channel and all of these channels. Most of them French which I don't speak or understand. Finally she said she would add the three channels. Then we find out that Showcase is not in HD so we call customer service. They don't have that capability yet.

Also having trouble with the remotes. One has to be pointed directly at the box within three feet, the other looked old and was hit and miss for working. They said we could save favorite channels but on the second channel, the whole system froze up every time we tried. Took 2 days to have them agree to send another remote and then they wanted to charge again for shipping. Also found they did not have any real music channels, only Youtube apps and if we wanted to get to Netflix we had to set that up all different. They didn't have that capability.

After another couple of days of running around the house to get the phone and struggling to get both channel changers to change channels without having to get up and cross the floor as we did in the '70s, we had enough. Then I noticed an invoice in my email for $248.23 (Oct 24). I called to cancel everything, (free within thirty days) and was told the invoice was a mistake, it would be reversed. (As of today, Nov. 6 - it has not been reversed). Also checked my Credit Card to find 2 charges. Oct 24th for $248.23 and 1 for Oct 25th 52.50.

Then I get an Invoice through email (Oct. 26 for 1 modem and 8 TV devices @$95.00 each if not returned in 30 days. Another of these came on Oct 31 for VOIP device $95.00 (Assuming Remote) if not returned with 30 days. All equipment including 3rd Remote was picked up by UPS on October 28th and proof of delivery on Oct 31, 2019. Received by "David". Total shipping charge to me was $73.00.

Oct. 26, 2019, when I called and spoke to "Hector" regarding charges to my credit card he admitted that $248.23 was a mistake and would be reimbursed, but they could not do anything about the $52.50. I asked what this was for? He said it was an Admin fee for having the phone number transferred back to my previous supplier. I argued, demanding they reimburse this charge as I was not told about this anywhere in any conversations.

Hector, redirected my call to his supervisor "Robert" who informed me that it was clearly stated in the "Terms & Conditions" and I must have agreed to them. At no time during any of my conversations with these people was I ever referred to the Terms & Conditions or where to find them. COMWAVE is about 10 years behind in their Technology. They Lie! They omit several issues that will cost YOU - the customer. The six months free is not free, it will be eaten up with all the charges they add on or don't tell you about.

Replies
Absolutely Disgusting Lack of Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have not had a landline in over 4 days. I sent six emails and have had NO help or support. My phone is out of order - no one can call in nor can I call out. Of course, they tell you to PHONE them when they are not providing phone service. I've lost hundreds of dollars in work because of my phone being broken and also couldn't call anyone for New Year's. This is the worst company in the world. Do not use them. I've filed reports with CRTC and contacted my brother who is a lawyer to deal with them.

Replies
Stealing Money From the Customers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OREGON -- I start my service with Comwave Nov. 2017 and it's been 2 years. I didn't even know that I have 3 ** years with them. The connection is bad since the first day I got it, every time I call them they ask me to call technical support. What the technical support do? They just telling you to reboot then what is going to be same **😡😡😡. As of September 2019, I talked to the one of the manager. His name is Elay. He pull me in a higher mbps but I still getting bad connection so I called to cancel my service before the new cycle bill and talk to a ** and told me to pay early cancellation fee for 600 ** dollars. OMG, I got so piss off. Then Monday, November 4, 2019, I called again to settle this issue so I got really mad as in mad mad and swear a lot to the guy that I talk to.

Guys they stealing money from us. This company have to stop working, we need to step up guys. They cannot force us to pay that much just for to cancel the service. Can somebody please help me to get back to this company. We have to stop them working here in Canada.

Replies
Do Not Subscribe You Have Been Warned
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PETERBOROUGH -- If after reading all of the reviews for Comwave you still sign up, you will kick yourself countless times for not heeding all of the warnings. I had so many issues, I haven't got the time to through them all. From the first day to far beyond the last, my level of regret and frustration is off the charts. Most recently I had to cancel as I was moving from Ontario to PEI. I have lived in four provinces and have canceled contracts with Shaw, Rogers, Cogeco and Bell, and have never, ever been charged for cancellation because I was relocating. It's just how these companies do business and based on my experience I made a naive assumption that Comwave would do the same.

The fact is I was charged $200 per service (TV, phone and internet) totaling $600 plus $25/ service $75 for restocking fee and an administration fee. I had to pay for the courier to return the items as they would not send me a shipping label. When you contact customer service or tech support, you speak with a support team located in San Salvadore, wherever the hell that is. You can tell they don't care about their reputation because even with the hundreds of horrid reviews, they never try to improve their services. Bottom line is... DON'T DO IT.

Replies
Advertisement
Hard to Disconnect Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CALGARY -- I had been using their phone service for over 10 years in Calgary, AB, Canada. I tried to cancel their service twice, but every time, they told me to pay huge cancellation fee. Instead, I was forced to take their newer offer and continue. There is always some hidden fees and until you get your bill, you won't know them. Also, prices will increase time to time though you will be in a 3 year contract. Recently I moved from Canada to USA and hence told them that I had to cancel their service since they don't have any home phone service in USA. I gave them enough notice and they agreed to cancel.

I had Comwave telephone box (which is 10 years old) and I did not realize that I had to return that since this is so old that they cannot use it anyways. They already have upgraded box, plus they never mentioned that I had to return the box when they accepted my cancellation. So I discarded that. This was a mistake. Now they charged me $95 plus tax which ended over $107 for the equipment. I called their manager but he refused to consider my case. So, the bottom line, don't make any contract with them and if possible, do not even take their service. You will end up paying unjustified cost somehow. The overall service quality is not that bad (some call drops) but their customer retention policy and all the hidden fees are terrible.

Replies
Bad Services and the Poorest Connection
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA, CALIFORNIA -- I consider myself as a new customer of Comwave, because it's only a few months since I am connected with them (8 months ago). At first, I thought that I had made a good choice with the deal they had offered me, but it was the worst deal I have ever made. I had my six month free as promised while doing the contract, from the six months period everything worked perfectly, and once I started paying things started to change, spending days without internet connection.

I have been calling customer service on a regular and frequent basis. Every night at a particular time the internet went down. Whenever I call it's always the same scenario. Do this and do that. My 17 yrs old son is tired and frustrated of them telling him what to do in order for us to have the service back. Sometimes it worked but not for long. Right now I don't have services for days, and because of that I reached my data limit from my cellphone provider where I will have to pay extra money. I am about to cancel my service with them and I don't care what will be the consequences. I will advise anyone please stay away from Comwave. They are "rip off".

Replies
Terrible Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- Let me start by saying, DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH THIS COMPANY. I bit into their promises some time ago. Slowly but consistently they "slowed" my internet down to the point where I could not access my own bank account with a process of squeezing of the signal. They had ME running around checking this and that. They would NOT send a technician to help. (obviously, they knew the problem)

I was desperate. Being on internet based banking, I could not wait for a fix. I even took my computer for expensive testing, to no avail.
It was this company's policy to "slow down everybody's internet". I had to change internet providers to be able to pay my bills. When I told Comwave that I wanted to cancel there was no response. My calls to customer service went unanswered. I sent an email (actually several) trying to make contact. Nothing! Yet, they kept taking monthly payments out of my account. Now I had to change my account also, to get out from under them.

Do not do business with this company. Then, they proceeded to get an "injunction" against me. Do not do business with this company. This "injunction" ripped a big hole in my credit rating, in spite of the fact that they would not converse with me to sort it out. THIS IS A BAD, BAD COMPANY. Do not do business with this company.

Replies
Horrible Horrible Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDMONTON -- "DO NOT GET ANY KIND OF SERVICE FROM THIS COMPANY." I don't even know where to start… I called Comwave to get an internet service on Dec 5th 2017. I Had long distance service through Call Select which is now own by Comwave. Told him about that long distance service I had and he told me that it will be better if I join the account, that way I will get only one bill and made sense and agreed to do so. He told me that technician will be in my place to set it up on Dec 18 Mon, 19 Tue or 20 Wed, but he can't confirm the date just yet and I would receive an email for confirmation.

I told him that I understand that you can't confirm the date just yet but would you be able to leave the note on my file that I prefer 18 Mon or 19 Tue because Mon and Tue is the only day that someone will be available at my place and even told him that if not 18th or 19th I'm okay with any other date but has to be Mon or Tue. Then he told me that he had the note on the file and I will receive the confirmation email regarding. Dec 11, 2017 - Got the confirmation email that Technician will come and set it up the internet and GUESS WHAT... the date was for 20th Wed.

I specifically told that guy ONLY MON OR TUE of the week would work for me. And now I tried to call so called customer service (What a Joke customer service by the way). Had to wait more than 50 min just to speak with somebody and finally one lady picked up my call and I explained the whole situation and she was like "Oh well there is no note on your file stating that you only requested for Mon or Tue". I was like "What?" Anyway I told her that the day they have put me on won't work so please cancel that day for me and have set it up some other date (Mon or Tue).

She told me that 20th Wed has been cancelled and will be one of the date 18th or 19th but again can't confirm yet and will receive an email. ALRIGHT! So here I was waiting for email just so I know which day they are coming. Waiting waiting and waiting NO email at all. And here it comes 19th of Dec and was told it would be 18th or 19th. Dec 19, 2017 - around 5pm trying calling them to see what the… is going on, and waited and listened that annoying music ever for one hour and 36 min just to speak with someone.

Finally got to speak and asked them, “Hey what's going on?” I was told that I will get an confirmation email for 18th or 19th but today is 19th 5pm already. And lady replied "Oh you have confirmed already that the technician is coming on 20th." I was so mad and start telling her the whole thing what happen since I sign up. I wanted Mon and Tue specific and that didn't happen cause they sent me email to confirm for Wed and I called to cancel that Wed and now that Wed was not cancel.

What a Horrible company or customer service is that? I could not believe what they are doing there. They should not be even doing business at all. So now I asked to speak with so called supervisor which was another 30min on hold just to be on hold and finally got to speak and repeated every single steps and explained what was happen and she was like "oh Sorry" hahhahahahahaha is that all?

Anyway I told her, “Stop everything right now. I do not want to deal with anything” and then of course trying to sell their ** services and making a deal but I was so done already and told her straight that "JUST CANCEL EVERYTHING RIGHT NOW, AND I‘M SO GLAD THAT I FOUND YOUR ** SERVICE before it's too late." Finally she did cancel everything and oh yeah I received their modem and she told me to return them in my own expenses. I said, “Sure” cause I just wanted to closure everything.

But before everything I asked her not twice but more than twice regarding my long distance service from Call Select which they combined to this ** internet account will be still up running cause I will need it (which I was gonna find out what's out there and cancel from them anyway but decided to keep for now). She confirmed that yes it will running up for long distance service. So after all that finally canceled the order. Thank God I did. Now hoping my long distance will be up running. And couple days later tried to call my mom in Nepal and Guess What??? It's not working.

Holly... Then again trying calling them and of course waited for 2 hour 41 min and 32 sec, I ended up hang up cause couldn't take that stupid music anymore. Tried the next day again and finally got to speak with someone after being on hold for more than 45 min. Isn't that ridiculous the amount of time you have to wait just to even talk to someone regarding anything. Who has time for that???

Anyway after speaking with that lady I found out that my long distance service has been cancelled too. REALLY??? After all that??? Couldn't explain how mad I was at that time and just figured it's gonna be useless to even argue and I just hang up. This was the worst experience ever I had in my life. Nobody has any idea what the... they are doing. I would rather pay bit more extra bill to get great customer service and know what I'm getting. Please Please Please do a favor for yourself and stay away from this **...

Replies
Advertisement
Internet Providers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WATERDOWN ONT -- STAY AWAY. DO NOT sign up with Comwave for internet/TV/home phone. It cost me $681.33 to get out of my contract with Comwave. Tell everyone you know DO NOT sign up with this so-called company. I really blame our government for allowing this company to screw us the way they are doing. Also when I called to cancel they told me I'll be getting a refund of $72.11 when they get their equipment back. I called today. They told me I'm not entitled to it.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.6 out of 5, based on 370 ratings and
385 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services