Home BudgetingCable-Satellite

Dish Network: Home Satellite TV Service

Kate, Editor | Updated October 30, 2018
My3cents Rating: 4.13/5.0

Dish Network is a satellite television network that lets you get premium television channels delivered to your home over-the-air. The company offers multiple service bundles that come with a variety of channels and services like voice remotes and DVR.

We maintain strict standards of editorial integrity when writing our guides & reviews to help you make decisions with confidence. To help support our site, some of the products we highlight are from our partners and we may receive compensation when you visit their sites.

Dish Network Plans, Bundles, and Cost

When people are comparing TV services, the thing that they really care about is whether they’ll get the channels that they want. The bells and whistles are nice, but unimportant if you can’t watch your favorite shows.

What are the packages offered by Dish Network?

Dish Network offers four packages. The basic package, America’s Top 120 offers approximately 190 channels. It comes with the most popular national channels plus all your local networks. The most premium package, America’s Top 250 comes with 290 channels including premium networks like the NFL network plus access to Sirius XM satellite radio.

What Dish Network package should I get?

The Dish Network package that’s right for you depends on what you’re looking to get out of the service. If you just want basic cables channels, you can probably settle for the America’s Top 120 option. This gets you the basics like ESPN, USA, and the Disney Channel. If you’re a sport or movie junkie, you’ll want to shell out for a more premium package that includes channels like the NFL Network or Starz.

Does Dish Network have 4K channels?

Dish Network does not have a dedicated 4K channel, but it does transmit content in 4K when individual channels show 4K shows and movies. It also offers 4K content on-demand.

What is included in Dish Network bundles?

Dish Network bundles include the channels that are part of the service level that you choose, as well as a voice remote and DVR system. You can use the voice remote to control multiple aspects of your TV experience, even using it to navigate services like Netflix. For an additional $7 each month, you can get a travel satellite that lets you bring your TV on the go.

How much does Dish Network cost?

Dish Network’s cost ranges from $59.99 for its basic package to $89.99 for its most premium package. These prices are guaranteed for two years after you sign up. There’s no surprise rate hike after the first year.

Our Review: The Deep Dive

Dish Network is the low-cost satellite TV option, but that doesn’t mean it’s a bad service. You can get all the channels that you want to watch and premium services like a DVR. You can also rest easy knowing that the price you have in the first year is the true price. There isn’t a second year rate hike. The biggest mark against Dish Network is its lack of streaming service. You’ll need to be at your home to get access to all your channels.

Benefits:

Lock in a low price for two years, no surprise rate hikes.

Drawbacks:

Channel packages are less customizable than the competition. No streaming service.

Bottom Line:

People who want satellite TV, but who don’t need a dozen packages to choose from to customize their service will do well by choosing Dish Network’s service.

DirecTV vs. Dish Network

DirecTV Dish Network
Minimum Price $35 / month ($78 / month in year 2) $59.99 / month
Maximum Price $110 / month ($181 / month in year 2) $89.99 / month
Minimum Channel Count 155 190
Maximum Channel Count 330+ 290+
DVR Included? Yes Yes
Streaming Included? Yes No

Consumer Reviews

Posted on 11/12/2018

SAINT AUGUSTINE, FLORIDA -- I am a new Dish Network customer. I ordered the hopper two-for-four TV. I needed to add one more TV and they said I had to put another $350 deposit down on the hopper 3 and another $50 for the receiver and I wouldn't even separate the bill over a course of three or four Billings to help me get it. So that being said I wouldn't recommend Dish Network to anyone unless you can afford everything that you want at one time.

Posted on 11/02/2018

VANCOUVER, WASHINGTON -- We have had Dish for 4 years and now a remote is no longer working properly. We have tried replacing the batteries and reprogramming it. The remote still won't work well. I called Dish, told them what we have tried and asked for a replacement. The representative told me there would be a $20 charge for a new remote! We have been a great customer for 4 years, paid on time, no requests or repairs. Now they want to charge me for a remote! Other companies replace remotes for free!

Posted on 09/11/2018

For over a year now, I will be watching Dish TV and it will lose signal and have to reboot taking about 10-15 minutes. Twice I have had the Service techs replace my box, and once they replace the head on the dish. The problem has not been solved. It occurs about 4-5 times a week. I have 2 boxes in my house, and one does not have a problem. When I call Dish, the person on the phone says I should call when it is happening. 10-15 min does not allow me to speak to the phone tech before it is back on. I requested they send a tech, and the phone person says they will not do it.

I asked to speak with their supervisor, and he said they did not have the authority to send a service tech to my house. Still having the problem. Service Tech was here last month. I have seen that Dish is having this problem for others by reading reviews on the web. They need to identify and correct these problems. I do not recommend Dish.

Posted on 08/23/2018

FL, FLORIDA -- Dish Network poor customer service. I have been a Dish customer for over a decade!!! Conned into signing 2 year contract as a ploy to lower my bill and wow was I surprised when my bill went up instead of down!!! I will post warning to others on some form of social media every day until contract is up!!! Pay real close attention that what was agreed to before the recording starts is the same after the restarts. Choose another company!!!

Posted on 08/17/2018

Horrible horrible is all I can say for Dish. We had service like a month and it's been ever since keep disconnecting. The services going up on the bill lying and all. I so do not recommend anyone to get service with them.

Posted on 07/27/2018

WHITE BEAR LAKE, MINNESOTA -- We signed up once again with Dish Network, and had complications with it from the day we purchased the service their equipment. NEVER did work correctly, calling in they have excuse after excuse, so finally I got upset as I told them "I'm paying for a service I'm simply not getting." I said it's like buying a new car but it won't keep running, they'd discount my bill $15.00 ea. month but that's all, keep in mind my contract is up at this time, but I knew how to run the system, so well, I could probably have worked for this company, haha.

Lies, lies, lies, YOU MUST BE ABLE TO TELL SOME HUGE STORIES TO BE EMPLOYED BY DISH NO DOUBT. I elected to keep on with their service, as I could run it with my eyes closed and had the remote completely memorized, only reason I wanted to stay with Dish I knew how to run it and all its functions & knew when something went wrong, example: it would record the same show, one time there were 31 recording of same show, which the C.S. people told me it's impossible it can't do that, I invited them to come see it or asked for a phone # to send them photos of the screen.

Anyways since I was no longer in contract, they were really insistent I stay with them, I paid my bill on time every month. DON'T EVER SIGN UP WITH THEIR AUTO PAY, they'll charge you for things without authorization, and they'll take it out of your acct. in a N.Y. min. but to get a refund, takes 5-10 business days (their business days). That's ridiculous.

But how they work, very dishonest and I have yet to find an EMPLOYEE who really gave a care about any of my issues. But got a fella who instead of allowing me to cancel their service, talked me into letting them upgrade me to their "NEW AND IMPROVED" HOPPER 3, I told him, "No way." I don't want into any more contracts with them, as they don't care if their equipment works correctly no or not, he said, "No, I understand there would be no by fee or contract for the upgrade."

It's all in the notes. No charge he promised & would confirm with an email that in the end NEVER arrived, but they changed to Hopper 3. And that was the worst of all of the units I have tried and by this time it's the 5th one, & right before this a tech showed up to fix things which led into hubby having to use a sick day to be at house with tech. He came to door hubby told him the exact issue at that time, and that a prev. tech said he ran ALL BRAND NEW cables etc. to make sure we'd get a signal, because it was cutting out saying no signal with perfect weather and no trees in vicinity, at all!

He stated, "We'll there's really nothing I can do for you" and left, did NOTHING, another work day lost and wasted by dish Network, so I calculate but this time they are well into Debt to us well over $200.00, for wasting our time, as the first tech was a complete no show!

So looong story cut to main subject, moved home to N. Cali, had to live in a motel for 3 month who also had DN as their TV service, needless to say, they had constant issues with channels disappearing on us, but the bill was ALWAYS ON TIME, funny how that works. So we called Dish to tell them we had purchased a home and would be setting up a TV company soon. They informed me I had been being charged $5.00 per month to have my acct. on hold, I asked them, "Are you crazy? I'm not in contract with y'all," they stated "Oh yes you most certainly are."

I then asked how could I be I never signed anything to go back into contract, #1. That was always my bargaining chip with dealing with them, #2 MAINLY I never signed a contract, they insisted I did so I requested a copy, of my signature, they "SUBMITTED request to business office and they had 20 days to get me a copy, I replied kind of funny how that's an exact number of days that puts me into the next bill cycle.

At this point they also informed me if I cancelled I would be liable for cancellations fees which are now regulated and they can only charge (any providers for TV now) you $20.00 at most, this really hurt them as they used to come up with ridiculous amount of fees etc.

So don't ever pay a penny over $20.00, per month to cancel your contract early, 20 days go by NO EMAIL WITH COPY of my sig. to agree on another 2 year contract, and them upgrading putting you into another 2 yr. contract Must still be a signature or agreement, they can be sneaky and put it in but NOT without your approval, they'll get away with it IF YOU ALLOW THEM TO. I PUSHED and insisted on seeing that signature after them resending and waiting and waiting (their game to wear me out).

I was put in touch with some fella from a dept. I don't remember, but he told me he's the guy that told, me they obviously don't have a signature but it would have been done as a verbal contract and I then jumped in and said "Excellent because y'all record all your conversations." He said yes indeed they do. Then after chatting with him and he knew I would NOT let up, He then states, "You know what? For what I get paid and from them going to have to pay me to sit and listen to all the phone calls it would be cheaper for them just to wipe out ANYTHING I have DUE."

Then I'm informed that I only had a month left on contract anyways, so by all these NASTY MEAN RUDE PEEPS I SPOKE TO ON the phone, they were fighting with me over $20.00. My whole principle was that someone lied and put me under contract after PROMISING ME I wasn't, WOW, and reading other people's testimonials maybe I should try and get a class action suit against them for doing just that.

I realize most people just don't have the time to fight these kind of people, but I'm disabled and kind of bored out of my mind, so I think I'm going to try and start a class action suit for everyone, if I can get y'all to promise to stand behind me when and/if I can get one going, they don't have anyone standing over them regulating this kind of stuff and shows exactly what kind of morals they have as a business owner, it's disgusting how when someone gets a little power how they choose to take full advantage of the public.

If they had a reputation of being honest and fair, you'd think be in today's world they'd get EVERYONE'S business, but to lie and trap people into a contact without informing them, it should have to be in complete writing as I also had this happen with L.A. Fitness, as it came out, they obviously you could so tell, different pen etc. signed my initials on a contract and I wasn't even going to be there another year.

I wanted month to month until I moved, then found out they did that, and THANK GOODNESS I had a reputable bank that actually took it over, refunded me and got the $500.00 back from company, the gall these crooks have, but I thought if anyone else/elder etc. didn't have energy or was together enough to stand up for themselves, they wouldn't have fought it and that's why most of these companies get away with crap like this. I just wish I could take on these cases for others that can't do for themselves, but I don't have any kind of degree or license, I just have the audacity and energy, and mostly the will to take these jerks on, full force, as even in Mn.

I paid an attorney 22k to fight for me for burying a home where BAD things weren't disclosed, in end he didn't keep his word, and it cost me 3k in lawyer's fees and two years of time, so I am all about NOT paying for attorney's unless he gets a fee IF he wins, and is capped out so he/she can't take everything I need get, because after attorney's fees not one thing was paid for it was all attorney's fees so all I did was pay him, and only thing I can do is write up on Yelp, so please people keep on Yelp and check them before any new business you begin, and no I have NOTHING to do with creating Yelp. It's just saved me from going to bad business a couple times.

GOD BLESS YOU ALL AND THE VERY BEST WISHES FOR YOU, AND HOPE your never really exposed to garbage like I've seen here, it's amazing how the world turns with so many crooks out there. I think a great many of them live in Mn. as I've been to court more times living there for five years, than I've been my entire life total, and in case you wonder, we did win EVERY case, they don't all pay, but I did win and get my point across.

IDK why everyone wants everything for free, and not have to do anything for it, I know this last generation is very spoiled and a when they grow up, life is going to be unfair to them (in their minds)! But anyways off subject so many times, very sorry, but I'M VERY PASSIONATE about business being fair, that's all. Not GIVE anything away, just be fair and honest. O.K. Point made. HAVE A WONDERFUL EVERYDAY ALL.

Posted on 07/18/2018

ANYTOWN, GEORGIA -- I had bought the TV package and had to get an internet dish to use it as we have no phone lines where I live. I was told it would work for Youtube, which was a blatant lie. My contract is up and I am now trying to cancel my satellite internet as I now have a good service. First, it cannot be done online.

Second is that I have spend 3 nights in a row on hold and being transferred without success at over an hour each time. I am trying to call when I have the twin babies down before I have to go to bed for work. A couple reps picked up and when I told them what I was doing and immediately put me on another wait. I tried a supervisor to not use as well. So do not commit unless you're never going to cancel your service.

Posted on 06/28/2018

AMERY WI, WISCONSIN -- When I called initially they asked if I wanted internet installed (I have not had internet in 2 years) along with my Dish system and that if I qualified I could get a discount on my Dish bill. At the time I had said no. Well I called back to change the channel pack and ask if you need internet to utilize the Netflix on the hopper, they said I did. Well I decided I was going to add internet installation as well. They said great and gave me the number to HughesNet to have internet installed.

Well Hughesnet gave me my order number and I called Dish back to give them the order number to receive the discount. Well they said they can't apply the discount to my account because I did not have it installed directly through them. I have another 3 days before they even install their system. They told me they can't change an open work order when I asked why they had me call myself then if I had to get it through them. Why was I not informed of this when I requested internet from Dish. Shady crap but cheaper than DirecTV. I just hope I don't regret moving ahead with the installation.

Posted on 06/16/2018

MCPHERSON, KANSAS -- Their Wally box that Dish supplies is junk, to begin with as it has a bad habit of resetting itself at random times that is Not programmed into it. The programming Dish pumps out is the Worst I have ever seen in my entire life, which is the most annoying feature Dish possesses. We pay good money for programming and Dish puts out more advertising channels than they do movie channels or others that are worth watching. And, their customer service personnel speak with an accent which makes it somewhat difficult to understand what they are saying. The one I spoke with sounded like he was from an Asian country.

Another annoying factor was that he tried to make me the cause of the problem I had with their box, (Wally). After going back and forth for about 45 minutes or more, he finally gave into the fact that the problem was on them and Not me. Also, he wanted me to upgrade to all of the movie channels and pay a much higher price which was his ultimate goal. I told him that it wasn't going to happen which I sensed frustration in his voice as I concluded our conversation, stopping his sales pitch. Dish Network IS GARBAGE!!!

Posted on 06/03/2018

LOGANVILLE, GEORGIA -- These people are horrible! When they did not provide a service they promised, I called to cancel my service. They promised me if I signed a contract they would provide that service. Turned out they still could not provide that service. After hours on the phone with them, they forced (stole) $250 from me to cancel. They are unethical lying thieves.

Advertiser Disclosure:

The information we provide and the analysis we share is always free. So, how do we survive? We get compensated by our partners, which may sometimes influence the products or services we review and the order in which they appear. Our suggestions and guidance are unbiased and are based only on our thorough research.