Preview Review

Next Review

Humana Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Humana Is an Insurance Company Straight From Hell!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONETT, MISSOURI -- My wife had an accident 14 months ago where she broke off her good teeth from her gum studs from a serious fall. She suffered in excruciating pain for many months while we submitted numerous appeals because Humana said "dental" was not covered (all initial appeals are ruled upon by Humana paid people). Humana continuously blocked us from receiving medical attention on every point!

Finally we got to the Federal Court of Appeals. The judge ruled fully and completely in our favor, stating that if an accident caused the damage to her teeth it cannot be considered routine dental, and also that we had an Advantage Plan (Humana Gold) with expanded coverage. The judge proceeded to outline to Humana why they never should have denied us medical coverage in the first place!

Our doctor said Humana always refuses coverage in an array of medical claims routinely in an effort to not pay out money for necessary medical claims. My doctor said after some people filed appeals and got turned down they gave up before making it to the Federal Courts, which he said eliminates 95% or more of the appeals! (It takes up to a year or more to make it to the Federal Courts).

The Federal judge instructed Humana to pay for our medical treatment 5 months ago. So far Humana refused to arrange or pay one penny. I called the judge's clerk and asked how do I enforce the judgment? I was told they didn't know of any way to enforce said judgment. While my wife continues to suffer we will have to dig up the money to pay for a private attorney to sue in civil court.

Note: You cannot sue Humana for pain and suffering, punitive damages or even attorney fees because the Government gave them immunity. So what do they have to lose by not paying?! Humana is an example of a company that will let you die for the sake of pure greed (their stocks have reached all-time highs on the NYSE)!

Replies
They Are Terrible You Call Humana and Get Different Stories Every Time You Call as to What to Do
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- They are a nightmare... First I called after my surgery to see if I could get some hand therapy... Duh they did not have a list of therapists online in my area. I asked to go to such and such place to see if they would cover and they had no idea. They told me to ask the hand therapy clinic if they take my insurance. The place said they did. Then I went to the hand therapist and about 10 visits in I call my insurance company to see how the bills were being paid. Guess what? Now they said I have to go back to my regular doctor to get an ok to see my hand therapist. I went back to my Dr who approved my hand therapy and started therapy and Humana paid all the visits.

Then I found out I had to go back to my regular doctor and get an ok again because it had been a couple of months. My doctor approved 60 visits which should be covered. I called Humana again to make sure everything was ok and they told me my visit would not be covered, but then assured me they would get on phone and try and get it covered. I went back to my surgeon who wanted me to continue therapy and again called Humana and they referred me to another company who makes the decisions.

This company I never had a contract with by the way and they told me I would have to get the Dr notes faxed over to them to have my visit today covered. I called the OT clinic and they had no clue so I recalled Humana who called my OT clinic or so they said and they told me that the OT clinic agreed to call me when they faxed over the notes.

Three days later no phone call so I called Humana who told me to call this other company because they did not give ok just this company. The company told me that I would not need to fax over the notes even though someone else in the company told me to fax it over... So today I have an appointment and I have no clue if it is covered... Get rid of Humana. It sucks... Oh by the way the last person I talked to stated they probably said all this to get me off the phone Thanks a lot...

Replies
Poor Customer Service, Violation of HIPAA Regulations
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was enrolled in a Humana Supplement beginning 01/01/14. On 10/15/14 I received a notice from Humana, raising my rates for 2015. At that point, Humana had paid $20 in costs for me during 2014. I located other insurance, equally good, for much less money. It was secured on 10/27/14. I contacted Humana to dis-enroll as of 12/31/14.

For the next 3 1/2 months I have been arguing with Humana. On January 3, they drafted the money for January from my account. I complained. Three weeks of daily calls and arguing passed before a check was finally issued on 01/28/14 to reimburse me for the money they had drafted. However, by the time the check reached me, I also received a call from Humana accusing me of inappropriately getting a check from Humana for money I actually owed them. The call was accusatory and threatening.

On 02/06/15 I received a letter from Humana stating that my application for supplemental insurance was being denied. It went on to say that, in my application (that I had never submitted) I had agreed for them to use my PHI to complete and underwriter review. That was a lie and a HIPAA violation. Finally I sent out letters to the Ethics board, the insurance commission, and the Board of Directors at Humana as I have all of the communications as evidence of this fiasco.

Sure enough, I received a letter dated 02/10/15 saying that they were disenrolling me, effective 12/31/14, followed by a second letter, dated 02/11/15, saying that my application for supplemental insurance had been denied, based on the fact that I had provided them with permission to access and use my PHI to facilitate underwriting review and based on the information they received, I was being denied coverage.

At this point, it is clear to me that the denial letters are punitive, a way to punish people who disenroll from their coverage. They are clearly violated HIPAA regulations and should be prosecuted for those violations. Further, the company functions in an atmosphere of the most uncaring, ignorant, disrespectful, dishonest employees imaginable. I will not be satisfied until Humana is publicly prosecuted for HIPAA violations and publicly humiliated for the way they do business.

Replies
Keep Away! Humana Disrespects Its Clients With Worthless Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- HUMANA insurance company a cesspool of lousy customer service, disrespectful reps and supervisors who are poorly trained and give you any answer off the top of their heads, right or wrong. Appeals department is the slickest, most sleazy part of the whole latrine. Is Humana Insurance a paragon of honesty?

Had all medical tests done by my 'network' surgeon then met with an insurance agent who changed me to Humana. I made sure my surgeon was also a 'Network' surgeon with Humana (specialty: cataract surgery). Guess WHAT? When I attempted to schedule surgery, I was told by his office manager that my HUMANA NETWORK surgeon has no place where HUMANA has certified my NETWORK surgeon to do surgery under NETWORK PRICES!!!

I wrote letters to them, made 20+ hours of phone calls in 2 weeks to poorly trained HUMANA reps who crudely & rudely gave misinformation! (Meanwhile my right eye has deteriorated more!) I spent hours typing an appeal letter to HUMANA with a painfully broken finger that required complicated surgery. HUMANA had DENIED the routine pain RX written by my highly trained hand surgeon, the senior partner at the biggest hand clinic in the US!

The appeals woman called me much later and started loudly speaking over me (she WON the trophy for rudeness in my 63 years), then told me if I said another word, she would hang up on me—which she did anyway. (I was tempted to go ahead and hang up on her, but then realized if I did so, she would note it as my fault.)

Another representative told me that my doctor is NOT a surgeon. I said "What? His specialty is CATARACT SURGERY!" He told me authoritatively several times my doctor is not a surgeon,( which would surprise the med school where he teaches surgery!) (So TIRED of their games after spending 20 plus hours on the phone the first two weeks, with both true and false answers about a network site for my actual cataract SURGERY!)

Got a letter back from HUMANA saying they would explore the matters from 'within' but could in no way ever let me know the outcome. In other words, again I got an UP YOURS from Humana! (They even had a doctor listed in their book as a network doctor, but she left family practice to do research 23 months prior!)

They blame the doctors for HUMANA's mistakes in Humana provider directories that they have printed! Anyone surprised? I consider having a NETWORK surgeon with no NETWORK place to get surgery done, to be deceptive advertising! Before switching to Humana, I even asked my agent if I would have any problem getting the surgery done with my network doctor (since I did not trust insurance companies) & she said no one she knew ever had a problem. (SURE, NOT IF YOU WANT TO PAY OUT-OF-NETWORK PRICES FOR A NETWORK SURGEON TO DO HIS WORK!!!)

Replies
Advertisement
Cheap Medicare Advantage Insurance - Just Try to Find Doctor
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- While the Humana website may look good from the outside, this is not the case for the registered customer. It is one of the most confusing and ill-designed sites I've seen. Now to the crux of the problem, I love Humana Advantage - It's cheap! However, I've called over 15 of the doctors recommended by the website as primary care doctors. The website provides a list of doctors accepting Humana Advantage as well as new patients.

Guess what, not a single doctor said that they accepted Humana or new patients. I'd guess that maybe their list is close to 90% bogus as far as doctors and facilities with whom they do business. Perhaps they just made up the list - would've gotten the same results I suspect.

Replies
Awful, Aggravating and Stupid
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- This happens every month - they call to renew a prescription and leave call back number and also a PIN number, yes a PIN number, and I get someone sitting at home with kids in background and we are trying to discuss drugs. Why leave a PIN number if it is no reference at all. I am so disgusted - they sort to me every month to with to them, and now that I have, customer service is the worst.

Just today my husband said they have called three times and here is the phone number and PIN number. I call back and they require Humana number, address, SS number, phone number - DOB, etc. etc. I am so disgusted with them but don't know how to get out of the cycle. How dare they call me and leave a PIN number and when I call I have to listen to screaming kids in background - and the PIN number means absolutely nothing. YUCK and horrible you should be ashamed.

Replies
Incompetence and Overcharging Customers Without Notification
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RESTON, VIRGINIA -- I have been on the phone with Humana for over 12 hours during the last month. During that time they have failed to understand what I need a medication for even though I have and my doctor has repeatedly told them in writing and on the phone. In over 12 hours of discussion, they still fail to understand what I am being treated for by my physician. I've never dealt with this type of incompetence! In addition, they increased charges and deducted over $200 from my credit card without notifying me. I asked to be released from the plan in January 2016 because they did not notify me of over $2000 that will be added to my plan this year. Yes, that is what I was told.

The biggest issue is their Medicare pharmacy plan. They said they did not have to notify me last year of these changes last October, November or December. I promise you, you will regret any contact with this organization! Thank you for reading the review. Good Luck!

Replies
Being Jerked Around for Months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARIZONA -- Thoroughly disgusted... I am on the phone once again with Humana. They are all idiots with no brain. They tell you a different thing every time you call. I have posted on social media repeatedly. Do not sign up for Humana or you will be on the phone for the rest of life. I have now had to get paperwork for small claims court because of them jerking me around since 10/15/15 and still waiting for reimbursement of over $2,000. That I had to pay first and wait for. I am currently on the phone with another idiot name Michael in Central Texas. Waiting for a supervisor, 20 minutes and counting. Spoke to Georgan, another waste of time, she gave me the below 800#.

Let's see the primary's office gets anywhere. I am not hopeful. I think taking them to court will be the only way I will get my money. They are so incompetent and I have had to call my dr's repeatedly. They just give you the runaround. Now my primary dr's office is calling 800-523-0023. Humana just jerks their member around, over and over... thoroughly disgusted... Just talked to Kyle's supervisor. In authorizations, another moron. They offered to transfer me the claims in Manila, Philippines. I would rather file in court tomorrow. It will be faster. I have been waiting 3 months to be reimbursed. No more...

Replies
Advertisement
Insurance From Hell!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This has to be the worst excuse for an insurance company I have ever seen. No one knows what is going on. No one can ever explain to me what is going on. They do not answer questions. The website is horrible. The list goes on and on.

Lately I have been getting the same email sometimes 2 or 3 times a day exhorting me to get a flu shot which I do not need or want. I have complained several times on their website and no one even bothers to reply. I am sick of being ignored.

Every time I place a pharmacy order there is some kind of problem and my order is delayed or canceled outright. No one ever knows what is going on, and they obviously do not make notes in my record when I call, because their customer "service" people are clueless. I have applied to UnitedHealthcare for 2016 and can't wait until I can tell Humana goodbye!!!

Replies
Untrustworthy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEATHERLY, PENNSYLVANIA -- They didn't pay all the bills they are responsible for. I don't even use the plan much because I hate going to the Doc. I started getting bills that they recalled the money from the Doc. I tried to contact them and they said, "You have two insurance companies." I said that they are incorrect. I spent numerous hours trying to prove they were wrong. I finally did prove it. It turns out that they thought that my dad and I are the same person. Never mind that he is 26 years older than I am, that he has a different SSN and the he lives 800 miles away and these plans are regional.

But, even though I proved my case, they still haven't paid all of the bills they are responsible for. The collections calls are nonstop and they are hurting my credit report. This is an extremely unethical company that everyone... especially the elderly and disabled, should stay away from. Unless you like stress and harassment.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Humana Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 85 ratings and
122 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Humana
500 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
1-800-4-Humana (ph)
www.humana.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies