Preview Review

Next Review

Jeld-Wen Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Sliding Patio Door - Please Beware
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Jeld-Wen 60" sliding door is far too narrow in actual use because of design defects. Please be aware. This is a significant limitation on your use of the door. If you are spending more than $1,000 on a door, you should know that you might be very disappointed. We ordered a 60-inch vinyl Jeld-Wen sliding door through our contractor, with enclosed blinds which raise and lower and tilt which we thought would be a nice feature (and is a nice feature). After installation, we found that, instead of nearly 30 inches of open width to the deck as expected, THE OPENING OF THE SLIDING DOOR WAS ONLY TWENTY INCHES.

There is a stop on the other side which protects the controls of vertical blinds on the stationary door from being damaged by the overlapping slide of the moving door. This could have been avoided with narrower slide controls. As a result, almost any adult trying to pass through the narrow open door will be blocked, and has to turn sideways to get through, which is completely unacceptable. And, if you have a stocky guest, his or her effort to get through the door sideways is truly embarrassing for them and for you as a host.

I called Jeld-Wen to ask if there was a work-around, or if there were replacement handles for the blind controls which were just slightly thinner to allow the moving door to pass over them and grant full clearance to the people using the door. The first person I spoke with in Customer Service seemed to be very accommodating, and offered to look into it with Customer Care. Two weeks later, I had heard nothing.

I called again, and asked to speak directly with Customer Care (instead of Customer Service). The person I spoke with in Customer Care assured me very curtly that this is how the doors are designed. I asked about a workaround, and was told that there was none, and that this was the way the doors worked. I mentioned that 20" was very very narrow for a standard door opening, and was told (again very curtly) that this was the design.

I advised that I would not have bought the doors if I had known that they could not be used in a common way, and was met with silence. Please know that our use is not for people of uncommonly large size, though the product should be designed for everyone to use, and at least should advise that there is a significant limitation.

So, we want you to be very aware of two things: If you purchase the 60" door, do not expect that you will be able to walk through it without turning, or without hitting the sides of the door, or without knocking your serving tray into the door and spilling your meal, and do not expect that you will get ANY comfort from Jeld-Wen customer service, as they apparently do not return requests for information, and apparently do not care about the failure of their product to meet normal consumer needs.

I do not see that this defect is adequately described in the product literature online before purchase, or accompanying the product (which is in any event not typically made available to the consumer by a contractor prior to installation). I would not have posted this as a complaint, but for the fact that you should know about the narrow clearance, and the Customer Service Department was entirely unsympathetic. I do not post negative reviews routinely. This is one of perhaps 5 that I have posted in 20 years. Please be forewarned.

I have read Jeld-Wen's own guidelines for posting reviews and have abided by them in full. I do not post this as a threat, or in malice, but to make consumers aware of a deficient design and operation result of which the consumer is not made adequately aware prior to purchase and installation. To Jeld-Wen: if there is something which you believe is inaccurate in my review, please have Marjorie (with whom I spoke with on 7/11/18) contact me and I will amend my review. To the public: if you do not see an amendment, you may assume that my comments stand as written.

Replies
Advertisement
Brand New Leaking Sliding Glass Doors
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORFOLK, VIRGINIA -- I have severe damage from Hurricane Matthew 2016. I had just finished repairing the walls, ceilings and floors of my home and ordered new sliding glass doors Jeld-Wen 4500 series with a DP rating of 65. I didn't want to have any chance of water coming through my doors again and ruin all the hard work that was put into repairing my historic home. I did all my research, for about 6 months, before I decided that these doors, on paper, were the best doors for my situation. Day two after install, we had a very light wind and rain and water came pouring through and filled up the track system, which slowly leaked back out over a 12 hour period.

Long story short, several calls, emails and tech came out, I just received a call and email from Jeld-Wen stating the fact that these doors are performing as they should and case is closed. Suzanne, from Jeld-Wen customer service says, “These doors are designed to allow water in, fill up the track system and let the water back out through weep holes”.

It's a great design for the track system, should you have a leaky door. However, I did not order, nor does it state ANYWHERE on the product of this door about allowing water in? She said there is nothing I can do until the water comes over the track system (onto my new antique reclaimed) hardwood floors, which were super expensive!!! I am in desperate need of help here!! Super rude to me!!! She said this is a classic case of buyer's remorse??? I told her this is a classic case of false advertisement!!!

Replies
JELD-WEN, A Company Does Not Stand Behind Its Product Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KLAMATH FALLS, OREGON -- I purchased a JELD-WEN fiberglass exterior front door from Bay Area Molding & Door which installed the door for me in July 2013. The main reason why I chose this door was for its durability and resistance to sunshine, and Brian of Bay Area Molding & Door told me the door was one of the strongest doors on the market at that time.

When my wife was cleaning the door in July 2015, she found a hole on the raised molding toward the bottom of this door (see attached photos). Not knowing what caused the hole on the door, we were surprised to see the raised molding was hollow and partially filled with some plastic material. I reported this problem to Brian at Bay Area Molding & Door who in turn reported it to the JELD-WEN warranty department.

It took almost 3 months for Brian to get an answer from the JELD-WEN warranty department which believed that the damage did not qualify for repair under the warranty. My main concern is the quality and the hollowness of the raised molding that was not properly built to support an impact to this area. Actually, we would not even know the raised molding is hollow if the door was not broken.

Due to the irresponsible and delayed customer service provided by Bay Area Molding, I decided to file a service request to JELD-WEN directly on its website on 10/18. On 10/26, I received a voice message from Angie ** of JELD-WEN's warranty department that said she had told Bay Area Molding this issue was caused by the customer and it was not a warranty issue. She closed the case without discussing it with me in person. I wrote her an email to explain my view of this quality issue. Since I did not receive a reply from her, I called and left a message to ask to speak to Ms. **'s manager on 10/28.

Finally, I got a voice message from Ms. ** who again said this was not a warranty issue but her manager was willing to give me 15% discount if I wanted to purchase a door slab from JELD-WEN. I replied to her email and asked her if she and JELD-WEN would consider the hollow molding doors their regular and properly built products.

On 10/29, I received a phone call from Ms. **'s manager who told me the raised molding was by design, and he would not honor its warranty, and there was nothing he could do. The hollowness is “By Design”, REALLY? To confirm, my wife discussed with a JELD-WEN customer sales representative on 11/2, and the sales representative double-checked with her colleague and confirmed the raised molding is solid and should not be hollow. What a tricky JELD-WEN, the molding is solid during presale, and after sale it became “hollow by design”.

At this point, I finally realize that JELD-WEN, a top brand in the doors and windows industry, is not willing to stand behind their products. I spent $8K on this door. If the door were not broken, I would not even know the raised molding is hollow. I think if the molding were filled with solid support, the impact to this door would be just a dent instead of a broken hole. Actually, due to this problem, I suspect the door may be hollow in other areas as well. I would strongly recommend NOT purchasing any JELD-WEN doors or windows if you are concerned with product quality, services, and warranty. Don't be fooled by the big name.

Replies
Rotted Mull Post
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Poorest and most complex complaint resolution process I have ever used. On Dec. 4th 2017 I contacted Jeld-Wen and as of today (02/24/2018) I still do not have parts to repair our door that is less than 5 years.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service and Poor Product Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHAROLETTE, OKLAHOMA -- We purchased Jeld-Wen windows for our house and in less than a year they started leaking. We had an account representative come out with the building supply company who provided them and after 6 months of trying to get them fixed they leaked again. The next time someone actually came to look at the issues it was about 6 months, and so on.

After 3 years I still have a leaking window due to poor construction of the window and the seal. When I called customer service we were told the warranty expired. Due to poor customer service and delays by their account representative they were able to not follow thru and make us pay for their poor products to replace. I do not recommend their products, this is the 5th window of theirs that had issues and they are no help.

Replies
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLUE DIAMOND, NEVADA -- I bought two pocket doors at HD and installed them. However, one of the doors had the hardware removed. I did not think this was a big deal as Jeld-Wen is a large and I thought reliable company. I called Jeld-Wen to get replacement hardware. They would not speak with me, even to confirm whether I could get the hardware or not, without sending them my receipt. Of course, that had been thrown out a couple of weeks ago. Finally located a copy and now they are unable to locate the hardware. The doors had been sitting at HD since 2011 (now 2018). Apparently they no longer make the parts. Most unhappy with Jeld-Wen.

Replies
Ridiculously Long Wait to Get a New Front Door That Isn't Damaged or Wrong Size!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CAPE COD, MASSACHUSETTS -- Ordered a new front door in October of 2017, was supposed to be installed in November and the company canceled twice. Finally came in February and put the frame in only to realize the actual door itself was damaged. Had to install anyway because they had already taken off our old door and put the new frame in. Ordered a replacement which came in April and ended up being wider on the bottom than the top and didn't fit! Came back again in May and it had the same problem as last time and doesn't fit again. We will NEVER use this horrible company again, buyer beware!!!

Replies
Ok Product; Terrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I've been in the building industry for over 30 years and have been unfortunate enough to have to deal with JELD-WEN on multiple instances.Their customer service department rates a "0" on a 1-10 scale, as it's taken weeks upon weeks to get quotes and if there's an issue with one of their products on the job site, you may as well buy a replacement (from another brand). From what it appears, once you buy a JELD-WEN product, it's yours and you get to deal with any consequences that the product(s) may have. If you need a door, window or anything else for that matter, make sure that JELD-WEN is your LAST CHOICE while choosing your products.

Replies
Advertisement
Door Order Mess Up
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

POULSBO, WASHINGTON -- Ordered a set of closet doors with a frosted glass, basically two doors 2'-6”x 80” from Jeld-Wen Moda collection. Ordered through Home Depot on Aug 22, 2017 received the set on October 5 but they shipped me one frosted glass and one clear glass. Had to return clear glass door and was promised they ship another out in two weeks.

It's now November 20, 2017 and I'm still waiting and still no real delivery date. I've gotten every excuse in the book from this unorganized lackluster of company that is Jeld-Wen. Lesson learned! Stay clear of doors and all other products from this company.

Replies
Horrible Sevice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SYRACUSE, NEW YORK -- This company is nothing but horrible, selling expensive doors with no after buying capable service. At the beginning when the door was shipped it was damaged and I did call immediately and it took weeks of negotiation to be able to return back and fix it, after about 2 years (warranty is 5 years). I noticed some damage on the door and after a waiting time they sent me somebody who has nothing to do with door painting but he is mainly a lock Smith to fix it. I was choked.

4 years later, I noticed more damage to the door and I asked them if they have any of local dealers willing to restain it and I will pay for it and that I just need the experience and the answer is that it is my responsibility to take care of it and I did try to order the same stain and I was sent the very wrong one, MY ADVICE TO ANY CUSTOMER - DON'T EVER BUY ANY OF THEIR PRODUCTS. Once you buy an expensive door like mine you are stuck with no service after. This company should designated dealers for servicing their doors in different state and not only to sell these expensive doors and then you are stuck with it. Terrible terrible company.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Jeld-Wen Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 87 ratings and
110 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Jeld-Wen
440 S. Church Street, Suite 400
Charlotte NC 28202
800-535-3936 (ph)
www.jeld-wen.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies