Preview Review

Next Review

Sprint Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Oct 23, 2018, I changed ownership for 4 cell phones lines to my account with Sprint. My new wife, her mother, her daughter and husband. After going through the change of ownership I called into Customer Care with a few questions. 1 question states were the 4 lines being transferred over would they be charged the same PER LINE rate as the other lines on the account, the response from Sprint Customer Care was YES, all lines will be charged the same rate.

11/1/2018, got my first bill after the 4 lines were transferred over and of course, those 4 lines were being charged $20 per line instead of the $5 per line as previously indicated. Called in an spoke with Customer Care who reviewed the account and the 10/23/18 phone call and indicated that there was evidence to support those 4 lines and the change would be made and would transfer me to his supervisor to get this fixed.

He transferred me to his supervisor who again reviewed the account and then came back and said there was NOT evidence to support those 4 lines getting the $5 per line rate and would create an incident to have a member from corporate call me to resolve the issue in 5-7 business days. (By the way, this phone call lasted over 2 hours). Waited 6 business days, no call from corporate.

Called in on 11/6/18, spoke with customer care again, and then another supervisor. Indicated they would send ANOTHER email to corporate and marked it urgent since no call was received by the customer. Supervisor issued a $60 credit towards next month's bill. (This call lasted 1hr 37 minutes)

11/20/18 called in again and asked to speak with a corporate member and was transferred to a customer care agent for Business accounts. Explained my situation all over again, he did another expedited Incident Report up to corporate and issued another $60 credit towards the next month's bill (at this point still had not received a call from corporate).

12/20/18 again called and spoke with Kia in the Billing Dept. Kia reviewed the account and all of the notes then spoke with her manager and came back and said that the 4 lines would be adjusted to the $5 rate within the next 5 days and no phone call from corporate would be needed. Manager's name was Melody. Another $60 credit was issued towards the next month's bill.

On 12/28/18 received a call from the Customer Advocacy Team indicating that those 4 lines would NOT be receiving the $5 per line rate because that promotion had already expired. Indicated to that person what I was told my all of these different people at Sprint and her response was "I am sorry you were miss informed of what was going to happen but those 4 lines will not be receiving the $5 per line promotion due to that promotion having been expired." I responded to her "so Sprint does not stand behind what their customers are told being right or wrong regardless, and that is ok?"

She again indicated that she apologized that I way miss informed and that those 4 lines would not be receiving the $5 rate. I indicated to her that I have been with Sprint for over 7 years and if this is the way they want to just brush off their customers I will be finding a new cell phone provider to which she indicated, 'that is your choice" and hung up the phone. Based on ALL OF THAT, myself and the other 7 lines that I had on my account will be switching to T-Mobile by the end of 2018.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- My son signed on to the family plan about 6 months ago. I received one of the phones. The service was fine, however, my son purchased a refurb phone from the 1-800 customer service line. It was a iPhone 5. It had a tiny little ding on the upper right corner not affecting the screen view. A nick so small unless you looked for it you wouldn't notice. The phone was for his son to play video games. It was all good until Apple updated their phones and the iPhone 5 would not update. He was told to take the phone to an apple store for free upgrade. That's when the issues started, Apple would not do the upgrade because of the nick and informed that it had to be fixed before the upgrade done.

Apple advised to take the phone to Sprint, my son took it to a corporate store which was willing to exchange the phone free of charge until they learned that it was purchased from the online/1-800 Sprint customer service. They advised to call customer service. Sprint customer service kept us on the phone during one call for 3 hours stating they needed to speak to a supervisor or manager. Callbacks were promised and never happened, upon calling back for 3 consecutive days and getting the run around with no resolution, the decision was made to cancel Sprint and go with another carrier. It gets worse the new carrier needed the Sprint account number to port over the phone number to my new phone.

For the other phones Sprint provided the account number. No questions asked. Just gave the account number as my son had his pin and other needed ID. For some asinine reason for the last phone number, Sprint did not want to provide the account number and started their nonsense again of transferring the call, putting on hold and even saying a supervisor had to send an email. I also received a call from Sprint to try to resolve the issue with the nicked phone.

Does Sprint really think after days of run around trying to get the nicked phone issue resolved and then not being able to port over the last remaining phone number we would really want to work with this BS company. If I could give them a minus 100 rating I certainly would, their ok cell service is no way worth the aggravation of dealing with their customer service department which must be trained to not respond and give the run around in hopes customers will just give up.

Replies
Awful! Hung Up on Me! Will Not Refund!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We have been Sprint customers for over 4 yrs. We have always had minor issues. However they have gotten 100 times worse. On Dec 8th we purchased the 2nd new device in 2 months. We were told we needed to call in to cancel a different line. On Dec 9th I did just that and was told no I couldn't. When I asked to speak to her manager I was put on hold for 38 minutes. During this time I am also using the chat option online. They let me know I needed to call in after I have told them I have been on hold for over 30 mins. At this point the woman who I asked to speak to her manager hung up on me!

At this point we decided to move to Verizon. I was told to finish paying off the device and then call to have the phone unlocked. I paid off the $66 I was told was left on the device and called to unlock the phone so it could be transferred to Verizon. This was Dec 11th at 11:40 am. It is now Dec 14th and I have spoken to over 10 Sprint employees in the last 6 days. I have been told it would be unlocked no later than Dec 13th at midnight. I was told today that they cannot unlock the phone because money is still owed and they sent that in an email! I have the receipts both printed and in my email! No one seems to care. The response I get is they will escalate the matter and I can expect to hear back in 3-5 business days!

My husband is a truck driver and now due to Sprint's lack of well ANYTHING has no cell phone for his job!!! This is outrageous! I cannot believe that Sprint is able to get away with the things they are doing! I will make sure to share my experience with every trucker I know as well as anyone else I know who is even considering Sprint. You are better off with 2 cans and a string!!!

FYI- If you cancel a line you don't get your money back! I cancelled a phone just now and am being told it won't be cancelled until 12-19! 5 days that I do not get credited back! Also 3 other lines that were cancelled yesterday and moved to Verizon that Sprint doesn't credit back! How does that even work!!! I would get arrested for stealing!

Replies
Representative Lie. Was With Them 13 1/2 Years.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I had Sprint for 14 years. It was ok until Feb. 24, 2016 when they emailed me telling me I can get new phones and even give me a free tablet. They said I could get 2 Samsung S7 one would be 25.99 the other 12.99 and 11.00 and 11.00 for ins. Then I would get 8gb high speed 2 unlimited gb and unlimited everything. We came to a price, I was then told a representative would bring the phone to house on March the 9. I called to ask what time on the 9th is the man coming. I was told the phones were mailed out and they were mailed to my other house which no one is there. That was the first mistake many many more to come.

I got the phones on the 8th, wrong house but I got them. I called to ask where is the game headset and tablet. Mistake 2. The lady said "I will mail you the headsets and have someone look into the tablet". Was told go to store to change my phones over. Got to store, the lady looked on Sprint notes and told me the price is not what they said. I called up Sprint and the representative told me a price that was 60.00 dollars more and everything was different. I then said "Keep the phones. Can I leave them at the store". Man on phone said "No you have to mail them in".

I got home, called Sprint, was told hold on they will get someone to call me back to work this out. That was on Tuesday the 8 of March. No CALL BACK AT ALL. Waiting to send everything back to Sprint but still no labels to send back, no call backs. I called to be told someone will hear the tapes. I said "Good, I have tapes for them to hear as well". After calling and calling for the mail back label I got a call, they wanted to work it out. I am on the phone with Sprint when Sprint calls on other line, leaves a message making up lie after lie. He said he played the tapes, I know there was no way everything he said was wrong.

I got off the phone with Sprint to call the Sprint man that left the message, instead I got his boss. I played tape for him he said "Sorry I will have some get back to you". I also was told that man that said he played tape never did. I was nice and waited for label to send back phone, and Win back to call me. Win back called me, we was talking things were may be working out, had to hold on, just to get a different man who then acted like he was going to help me. At this point it was going to be get one phone get one free and we were working on plan, it looked ok. Then the call was lost.

I called back to be told a different price. I said "Forget, I just want to mail this back. Where are my labels". It is March 24 and I just got my labels to mail the phone back. They lie and lie and never said sorry for anything they did. It took from March the 7 until March 24 for Sprint to mail out labels. Thanks to Sprint I have to wait to change my phones over until this is all taken care of. They DO NOT CARE I WAS WITH THEM FOR 14 years so look out before you get Sprint. If they do this what will they do to you.

Replies
Advertisement
The Worst Service in Every Single Way
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I was advised from many people about this horrible company, but in that morning when I was getting a service for my car, the agent who was selling SPRINT phones and services caught me on a conversation, saying that Sprint was merging with T-Mobile in 2 months. That was in December 2018 and today is April 2020. They tricked, scammed and lied to me. I am still waiting for the promised, assured, merging.

The only reason I signed up to them was because I saw a big advantage having so many towers covering services here in San Diego and in Tijuana, Mx. Where I go visit all the time. The lady who sold to me seemed very assured of what she was selling, experienced and trustworthy. For sure an amazing sales pitch to be able to make my mind to sign up with such great company with so bad reputation. Lesson learned.

They are deceiving and lie about what they offer to get clients. They got me. In this last year and 4 months, I experienced the worst signal here in USA and Mexico. The worst customer service ever, hours of waiting on the phone to resolve anything and very high bills. I got stuck with this company since I had gotten a newer phone and just now the lease is over and I am able to own the phone and move on to another company. Don't let this terrible company have your business. You will regret highly.

Replies
Dishonest, Manipulative and Deceitful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HILLSBOROUGH, NEW JERSEY -- From day one, we should have known we were dealing with dishonest people. We told the Sprint representative at the Bridgewater mall that we were leaving Verizon because they continually nickel and dimed us to death, every few months it was another dollar or two with no reason to justify it. Sprint told us, guaranteed, that will never happen with Sprint? Really, well, it took Sprint exactly two months to raise our bill three dollars? After an hour on the phone speaking with three reps and threatening to immediately discontinue service they removed the three dollar charge.

Long story short... in 7 seven months they have jacked our bill 4 different times, each time we spent over an hour talking with several people, most of which you cannot even understand, and received absolutely zero satisfaction. Today was the last straw, you guessed it, raised it by $2.00 per month. Verizon sucked, but Sprint is even worse. NEVER, in the history of the world would I recommend Sprint to anyone.

Replies
Terrible Service and They Lie
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA -- After seeing the advertisements all over Tampa saying switch to Sprint for greater service at half the cost of AT&T I called them and went through everything AT&T was giving us. They told me of this great plan they would give me, including Hulu, Amazon Prime, Tidal and 15GB of Hotspot per line plus unlimited talk, text, and data throughout the US, Canada, and Mexico all for less than AT&T. I switch to them.

They not only lied about the offer they gave me, but they refuse to make it right, The service is so poor I can hardly use the data and they only are giving me 0.5GB of hotspots. I have over 14 hours of recorded phone conversation with them and nothing to show for it.
DON'T SWITCH TO SPRINT!!! They use an outsource company to promise you the world to switch and then they screw you over. THIS IS A BAIT AND SWITCH.

Replies
Horrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERETT, WASHINGTON -- My husband and I switched from Verizon to Sprint because we believed their claim of excellent cell service (within 1% of Verizon), one year and nine months ago. There is nothing about the cell service or customer service claims that is valid. This is a company that simply promotes false claims.

We have now paid the balance owing on our phones and have requested that our account be closed. Now they say we have to pay for an additional month of service even though our phones have been locked. We have never been late in paying our monthly bills in full. We just want to be free from Sprint. It is becoming more and more clear that Sprint is less than reputable. Our recommendation to others is that you bypass this company for cell phone service because you will most likely REALLY REGRET IT if you don't.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I have been with Sprint for over a year and did not have a problem with them until just recently. I upgraded my iPhone 6 to the iPhone 7 and in the process had a balance of $397 for the remainder of the iPhone 6, which would be waived once the phone was received. I spoke with a representative on 11/10 to pay for only my phone service bill, then I was assured that my card would not be charged again this month even with the outstanding balance for the iPhone 6, nor would I see late charges on the account, and I could simply send the phone back, and it would be waived.

Then I realized my card was charged once again on 11/18 (which I was assured would not happen). I then started to speak with a representative named Elle to get this resolved and she was sticking to the script, restating herself on why there is a balance (which I knew). All I wanted was a refund from the charge on 11/18 which I stated from the beginning.

After restating that desire multiple times I was told they would back out the payment so I can get it returned and she transferred me to the Finance Department. I then spoke with a lady named Janna in Finance who told me that since the payment was not made today 11/21 she could not back out the payment, since that can only be done on the same day, and I would need to contact my bank. So not only did I spend about an hour on 11/10 making sure this did not happen, I spent over another hour with Sprint trying to fix it today, and now I am told my bank has to fix it.

Since I have been with Sprint for over a year, and I liked them other than this incident, I let the representative know I would stay with them if I could take my card off auto-bill and not be charged the monthly fee for not being on auto-bill, since I wanted to control what is taken out of my account to assure an error like this does not happen again. The representative then told me I would have to contact another department (which I would most likely have to deal with for another hour).

All I wanted was to get the monthly fee waived and I would have been fine, but instead I got poor customer service. Sprint must not care about simple customer service; they make it impossible to have a simple request approved by one person. Sprint decides to make it impossible to change anything unless you are available all day (which no person is; which is probably how they retain their customers).

Luckily we now live in the age where many other companies will buy our remaining contracts and set you up right away. I would gladly pay more a month than pay a company with poor customer service and honestly not the best coverage. I do not recommend going with Sprint.

Replies
If There Is a Hell It Is Named Sprint
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51 - Consumer improved rating by 2 stars

VALLEJO, CALIFORNIA -- Beginning April 2015

Grandson, 18, wanted Sprint for unlimited texting. I agreed to help grandson. Went to Sprint store, told by saleswoman I had to have my name on account to run my credit, said I could take my name off after account set up. Saleswoman very friendly, said to lease phone and lease price would be divided into monthly payments and added to bill. We, grandson and I agreed.

August 28, 2015, Friday

I hadn't taken my name off account yet. Received email from Sprint telling me they were going to send me to collections if I didn't pay $187.00. Paid by credit card. Never received a bill. Decided to take my name off account.

August 30, 2015, Sunday, Begin 11:30 AM end 4:45 PM

Went with grandson to Sprint store to take my name off account as agreed upon. Was told I couldn't do it in store. Given form to do it online. Took form, drove back home, attempted to do it online, per instructions on form, believing I was removing my name from account. Got to page where told I was not authorized to proceed. Called Sprint, went through telephone tree, no option for representative, hit zero six times, got representative. Forty-five minutes, on hold several times, customer representative couldn't understand what I was doing.

Went back online, repeated process on paper given to me at store, got same message. Called Sprint store. Told he couldn't understand, would have to come back into store. Drove back to store. Saw saleswoman who leased phone and sold contract. Told her what happened. She said couldn't do it in store. Was cold and unhelpful. I said she could look in her computer and see message. She did. She said she didn't know why. I wasn't leaving until she helped.

She worked in computer, said problem was grandson had to have login name and password. I said I would do it. She turned computer toward me, asked me to put in grandson's name and new password. I did. Thought problem solved. She said when I got home I had to click on link being sent by email within four hours. Thanked everyone on my way out of store. Drove home, watched for email, never came. Waited through Monday, email never came.

September 1, 2015, Tuesday, 11:30 Am until 3:30 PM

Called Sprint Customer Service. Got telephone tree, would not give me option to speak to representative. Hit zero six times, transferred to representative. Explained I did not get email. Put on hold several times, representative needed to consult with “team”. Much back and forth and being put on hold. Representative came back, said email with form was sent, my grandson and I had to sign it, I had to send it back as attachment in reply to form email. Didn't understand why.

Finally told there were two accounts, one with my name (first account), one with grandson's name (second account). I had filled out paperwork online day before (per saleswoman's directions) and was releasing phone number to new account when I thought I was removing my name from existing account not opening another account. Explained that wasn't what I intended to do, not what I was told I could do, not what saleswoman said she was doing.

Several more times on hold, twice two different representatives called saleswoman who denied she'd told me what she'd told me: that I could remove my name from original account, never a mention about having to open another account. Asked for supervisor. Put back on hold. Same representative came back on phone. Repeated wrong story back to me about my complaint. I clarified by telling entire story again for about seventh time.

Put back on hold. Asked for supervisor two more times, representative kept talking, putting me on hold to consult with team or supervisor. No supervisor provided. Problem not solved. Representative kept explaining same thing to me that there were now two accounts, that I'd made second account. Said I'd done it, nothing else could be done. Got angry, demanded supervisor. Put on hold. Supervisor came online, said she'd spoken with store, saleswoman had mislead me, would have consequences, apologized, said leave new account with grandson name, wouldn't have my name. Old account would cease to exist. Thought problem solved.

September 2, 2015, Wednesday, 1:30 PM

Decided to look into grandson's new account, make sure it was O.K. Had login name and password. Saw bill saying “Due now-$250”, shocked. Called customer service, no option to speak to representative, hit zero six times, got representative. I explained I'd paid $187.00 Friday night couldn't owe $250. Went through entire story, again. Representative went back and forth between old account and new account, saw I had paid $187.00 August 28. Put on hold for representative to consult with team, on hold for fifteen minutes, many previous holds that long.

A different person picked up line and asked me for my phone number as if I was just then calling customer service. I got angry, said I'd been on hold for fifteen minutes. New representative hung up. Called customer service again, no option to speak to a representative, hit zero six time, got representative. Explained entire story to new representative who said he was going to speak to his supervisor but he wouldn't put me on hold, he would just take off headset and go speak to his supervisor, then spent five minutes explaining to me that he was going to help with problem, repeated problem, assured me he would help me.

Waited five minutes listening to background noise. Representative came back, told me $250.00 on new account was deposit for new account because of grandson's non-existent credit rating, only way to remove $250.00 deposit was to return, with my name, with grandson to first account. I got angry, again, said we'd come full circle back to beginning.

Representative was going to take off headset again and go consult another supervisor. I said I'm psychotherapist and client in waiting room for fifteen minutes. Told representative to please leave message on my cell phone (Verizon, thankfully). Representative agreed. Client left. I checked my voicemail. Representative repeated only way to get rid of $250.00 was to return to original account with my name and grandson.

Decided to call Verizon when I got off work and ask them to get phone number to open account with Verizon. A couple of hours later realized I would have to pay for phone and early termination fees and had already paid $187.00 even if I didn't pay $250.00. Threw in the towel. Only way to end insanity was to print out form, sign, email back, pay $250.00 on new account. Paid $250.00 with credit card. Printed form, drove to grandson, he signed, drove home, I signed.

Wrote this, took two hours, nothing compared to time I've wasted with Sprint, not to mention stress. Do not use this company. In my entire 69 years, this is the WORST company/customer service I've ever done business with. I've been to Hell and it is named SPRINT.

Resolution Update 09/08/2015:

After searching the Internet for two hours I was able to find the email address for Sprint's CEO, Marcelo Claure. I was unable to find any other Sprint executive's email. I sent the review to Mr. Claure that I posted here at night and asked him to please read it. By the next am I had an email from him. He said my issue would be resolved that day. By noon someone called me, apologetic, saying things are changing at Sprint. I believe Mr. Claure is the new CEO. She gave me her direct line and listened to my story. The day after that I received an email from her detailing what is going to be done. They're returning my $250, making sure my $187 payment is posted to my grandson's "new" account, making sure nothing goes on my credit including a hard inquiry and making sure I don't have an open account with Sprint. I was floored because of the many, many hours I spent with Sprint customer service and in the Sprint store and got nowhere. Apparently Mr. Marcelo values even the smallest customers at Sprint and he made sure everything was cleared up. I only put three stars because of what I went through to get to Mr. Marcelo. If he is the new face of Sprint I would certainly give it a try after he's had the helm for several months, enough time to overhaul Sprint's customer service. I am very happy that he didn't ignore my email.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sprint Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 219 ratings and
346 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sprint
2330 Shawnee Mission Pkwy.
Westwood, KS 66205
913-624-3000 (ph)
www.sprint.com
investorrelation.sprintcom@mail.sprint.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services