Preview Review

Next Review

Time Warner Cable Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
HORRIBLE! Don't Keep Promises! Emotionally Drained Trying to Get Resolution. Still None.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HENDERSON, KENTUCKY -- I was promised a specific rate for my cable and internet service - good for ONE YEAR (Norman ID # ** - promise made on 4/16/15 - supposed to be good through 4/16/16). I have been grossly overcharged. Once I realized how much and how long they've been overcharging me, I called customer service LAST FRIDAY.

After the first representative (Victor ID # **) told me that was a "fairy tale" (thanks for making me feel valued, Victor!) AND after I talked to THREE MORE representatives, and still hadn't gotten resolution, I was told by Philnesia, ID # **, that a supervisor would be informed of all the specifics of my complaint (so, you know, I wouldn't have to tell my story a FIFTH time) and was told said supervisor would call me back within 24 - 48 hours. That was SIX DAYS ago and I'm still waiting.

Not wanting to go through the hassle of phone calls AGAIN, I thought, maybe I'd try chat to at least put it back on the radar that I was STILL WAITING for a call from a supervisor. So, on chat, I was told I would get a call in a couple of minutes. And I did! But... NOT FROM A SUPERVISOR! Instead, it was from YET ANOTHER representative that wanted me to - YES, you got it - tell them AGAIN what my issue was because this person had no idea!

When I asked AGAIN, to simply let me speak with a supervisor, I was told they could not do that without me telling them all the specifics AGAIN. I refused to do so and hung up the phone, thinking surely to God by now, with all those "recorded phone calls" and notes of 4 separate representatives AND a chat "record", that a competent supervisor could surely read/listen to those transcripts and call me back prepared to discuss how they could take care of me, their "valued customer" as they kept calling me. Hahaha.

So, I went back to answer my chat representative who had asked me if I had received my phone call, and when I told him, yes, but NOT FROM A SUPERVISOR, was told he would "escalate" me to another team member - still not a supervisor, even though, I have said time and again, I'm not going over all of this again, unless it's with a supervisor.

So, this 2nd chat representative (how many representatives is that now? I've lost count! 4 on Friday, 2 on chat, 1 on a return call - SEVEN! Wow! They sure make it easy to get things taken care of! But wait... It's still NOT taken care of!), this escalation specialist proceeded to tell me that if I wanted to speak to a supervisor, I WOULD HAVE TO CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE TO REQUEST that.

Hahaha - Haven't I already done that? SIX DAYS AGO?! And am I still waiting? YES! So, WHY would I waste my time calling AGAIN - to tell my story AGAIN to... how many people this time? To be told I would be called back? Like they called me back after my request last Friday? Like they kept their promise of the same rate for ONE YEAR (which lasted all of 5 months before eventually going up nearly $50 a month?)

This company does NOT keep its promises. Nor does it care about its "valuable" long-time customers. Time Warner Cable - you can keep the $260 you have overcharged me, but you will not ever get another dime from me. Add that up over another 10 or 20 years and see how much money that loses you. But, yeah, I know - I'm a "valuable" customer that just needs to call customer service again and talk to another 7 or so representatives so they can make more (empty) promises!

Thanks for nothing but unkept promises and giving me the runaround. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE! Say goodbye to this "valuable customer" and you can count on me telling EVERYONE I can exactly how this played out. And guess what? That's a promise I WILL keep! We'll see if we can end you up on the top 10 WORST customer service lists this year!

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORENCE, KENTUCKY -- Worst customer service experience of my life!!! When service was being installed the technician went to an incorrect address on my street before finding my location, he set my account up under the incorrect address and a completely different name. I never received a bill so I called Time Warner on September 7th and entered my phone number, the automated system told me my bill was due on September 6th and I paid the minimum amount due to stay current thru the next billing cycle (Oct 6th).

On September 27th I came home and service was shut off, I called and spoke to a tech this time who asked my name, when I told her she said they had the account under another person's name, she then asked my address and it was incorrect, my account was under the first address the tech went to. They had completely messed up my billing cycle, instead of being due on October 6th I was told my correct billing date was September 25th and to turn my service back on I had to make a payment that day. I was livid and asked to speak to a supervisor (Ashley) who was very rude and dismissive and actually put me on hold for 30 minutes to just hang up on me.

I call back immediately and I'm transferred to Brian in customer service who basically says he apologizes for their mistake but I still have to pay again for my service even though the mistake was on them. I told him that I would not pay twice in the same month when they had all of the information wrong, and put me on an incorrect billing cycle. After arguing and getting nowhere I told Brian if they would not fix this I wanted to cancel my service. He responded with "okay I'll transfer you now". This took 2 hours of my day and I got nowhere, Ashley and Brian were extremely rude and dismissive!

My fiance called back before I ended my service and spoke to another supervisor who was very nice and immediately restored our service for no fee. I would not recommend getting service with this company. They are incompetent and do not take care of their customers.

Replies
They Lie, Jack Up the Price Just to Rip You Off.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CEDAR PARK, TEXAS -- When we moved to our new home about 4 years ago, Time Warner offered us Cable and internet services. We told them we don't need TV cable service as we pick up our TV channels via air/antenna. They insisted and convinced me whether we want or not a TX + Internet will cost less than just Internet. I remember the sales person saying, it will be like a free service.

Anyhow when we watched the TV with their cable service the picture was terrible and less clear than the antenna. We never watched TV through their cable service. Then the next year, the bill went higher as they said the promotion is expired. Then the next year it went to $92 per month and when I called, the same story: the promotion is expired. Then I look their website and found out they offer the same Internet service for $35 to everyone. Then I called and asked them to cancel my TV cable service that we never even used.

They send a technician to cut off the cable, but they jack up my internet bill to $50 per month plus $10 Internet modem rental. Before their bill was not reflecting this rental, just a package. The internet modem is $30 online and I already ordered one to return theirs.

Replies
Frustrated
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAGRANGE, KENTUCKY -- 6 months ago, TWC representative promised us a $150 gift card for upgrading our service. I thought wow! It was to be sent within 90 days, after said 90 days I called to check on the status. You guessed it, no one had heard of this. The representative promised she would call me back as soon as she got it straightened out. 3 months later still no call! I called again yesterday, and again had to recant the entire ordeal with yet another representative. To which left me on hold for 20 mins!

When he finally got back on the line he stated that he had reviewed the notes and could see where we were to get the Visa card in the value of $150 but he couldn't authorize it. He would have to transfer me to a supervisor. I had no time to be put on hold for another half hour, so they where to call me back. You guessed it no call back! AT&T U-verse is looking better each day. DONE with TWC. They aren't honest, and customer service is horrible!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Product and Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, MASSACHUSETTS -- A day of expected relaxation turns into a day of anger directed at Time Warner Cable. I've had cable TV for about fifty years. I've had internet service since it was created. I have never seen a product with as poor quality as TWC. The only thing worse than the TWC product is TWC support.

I have a second home in Portland, Maine. I decided 30 Mbps internet utilizing video (network apps, NetFlix, sports apps, etc.) and basic cable would be sufficient for a second home. My friends in Portland warned me TWC is brutally bad. They recommended FIOS. They said I'd get rid of TWC by the third month. They're wrong. I'm getting rid of TWC after one month.

It's beyond my comprehension, 30 MBPS broadband service can't support video without buffering. In another home 5 Mbps from a competitor supports video no problem. In less than a month I've made several service calls. I detest having to be the fingers for customer service people (keyboarding) in an attempt to fix problems. And to this point none of the problems have been fixed.

Are your customer service reps trained to blame my equipment? The TV is new. The TWC approved cable modem is new. The iPad and the Apple TV are less than a year old. It's maddening to have them blame my equipment. Today my cable TV was flashing/blinking. It's the third problem in less than a month. I guess the plus would be at least this time the cable worked even though it was next to impossible to watch.

I called customer service today. I had to get obnoxiously angry before they would agree to send someone out tomorrow (Sunday). I shouldn't have to get my blood pressure up to receive adequate service for a product I'm paying for. I've already had to run out to bars to watch games (and spend money) when I expected to relax at home.

Today I expected to watch the Army-Navy game. The cable reception blinked too much to watch. Tonight I expected to watch the Celtics game via my iPad and AirPlay to Apple TV. It's buffering too much to watch. So my entertainment tonight is to write and complain about horrible TWC product and service. I told the customer service representative if the TWC person isn't at my house by noon to fix the problems I won't be here. I'll be stuck in a bar all day watching football spending money I don't want to spend.

Unfortunately FiOS is not available on this block. If your person can't get here by noon and fix the problems tomorrow I'm throwing your product out. I'm going to get Red Zone broadband and purchase a Slingbox to receive cable from my other home. I figure 30 MBps broadband service from any vendor but TWC should be adequate.

TWC is causing me to waste money. I'm tired of it. I'm at the point where if you offered me free service for a year I wouldn't consider it a good deal. A product that doesn't work adequately and I have to fight with the customer service people to get a service call does not have a value worth holding onto. Even if the service call fixes the problems TWC has been such a poor experience I'll have a "we'll see" attitude regarding the problems being fixed. The fixes don't seem to last more than a day or two.

Replies
Salesman, Aaron, Outright Lied About the Fee for the Services I Ordered.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- As with other reviewers, I finally had enough of AT&T U-verse. I called the toll free number to check prices for TWC. I first spoke with Freddie. Told him I need to think about it and call me back on TUE. He simply sent an installer to my home. I had not ordered the service yet! He didn't call back, so I called again and spoke to Mark with a list of all my questions, and needed time to consider. When I called back to place my order, I got Aaron, March 14, 2015, 6:20 PM. Each of these sales men were very nice, well mannered, patient with my questions.

After I told Aaron exactly what I wanted, he put me on a brief hold, came back with a price but one of my must haves wasn't on the list. We went back and forth looking for a plan that included everything I wanted: 2 DVRs, HBO, Showtime. Aaron said "you're going to happy with this. Here's what I'm going to do for you: 2 DVRs, Showtime, HBO, and Epic for $142.74 plus tax, no installation fee or activation fee." I asked him "what if my old lines don't work for some reason after my AT&T installation?" He said "at most it would be $19.95 per TV". I wanted to know how much my total monthly payment would be, including tax. He told me "$171.86". I said "OK" and we set up the date.

The installer came and I had to pay the first month's bill and installation fees before he left. Well, the bill went up because HBO wasn't included in the work order. The installation fee was $24.95 per 4 standard play TVs. I had to call customer service right then to get it back to the $19.95, but they couldn't do anything about the added fee for HBO. Chris at customer service said she would 'escalate' it, someone would listen to the recording of my and Aaron's conversation and someone would get back to me.

Later that night I tried to record a program on one of my DVRs, would not work. Another call to customer service, I was told that my price was for one recordable and one play back only DVR. (Aaron never mentioned this fact) Time Warner uses the term 'whole house DVR' very freely. I guess they assume most people have only 2 TVs. I received a bill for the first month and installation fee a few days later (remember I paid it at time of installation). They hadn't given me credit for the overcharge for the standard TVs.

Another phone call. I was suppose to retain the phone number I have had for 30 years. They changed my phone number, another phone call. They did give me my old number back after a few days. My next bill included a charge for a 'phone number change'. Another phone call. In the meantime I had been calling every few weeks about the escalation. I spoke with Jules, Patrick, Jaylen, and Sophie. Each of them assured me that they would listen to the recording and get back to me. I haven't had a call and this is May 11. My total monthly charge is $195.04, about $24 more than Aaron quoted to me.

Replies
I Chose Better
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, OHIO -- After 4 years of mediocre service, I finally had enough. I won't complain about their IP service, I never had any issues with it and it was actually very good service. My cable TV was another issue. After they first installed it, the picture would freeze, then black out. Sometimes changing the channel would help. Sometimes turning the box off and then back on would help. Sometimes, it would just black long enough that I gave up and did something else.

I had multiple techs at our home that couldn't find any problems at all, even though the screen went black right in front of one of them. After changing multiple Oregon Scientific boxes to no avail, one of the techs hooked up a Cisco box that seemed to help quite a bit. It didn't entirely fix the problem, but it did help enough that the screen would only pixelate or black out for a few seconds. And that's how we've watched TV for the last 4 years.

Time Warner is one of those companies that has no problem jacking up prices at least 10% every year. At the beginning of this year, they raised our $142 cable bill to $157. Then a couple weeks later, they sent a letter by mail saying that, "since you are a valued customer, we won't raise your bill this year". About a month after that, they raised our bill by another $5 with no explanation. It really makes you wonder if the company is really that incompetent or if they're just screwing with you because they can.

The biggest issue that I had with Time Warner is their billing department. I had recurring payments set up on my credit card. I decided I wasn't going to use the credit card anymore. I got online, canceled the recurring payments, and requested paper billing through the mail. Next month they charge my card again. I get online and see that I'm still set up for recurring payments and paperless billing. I thought maybe I screwed up. I changed it again. Next month they charge my card again. I get online again and see that I'm still set up for recurring payments and paperless billing. Now I'm irritated.

I call customer service (overseas) and tell the lady about the problem and she assures me that it has been taken care of. I told her I wanted my payment refunded to my card and to send me a paper bill and I'd be happy to pay it. She said no problem. No refund ever came. I recorded that phone call. I called my bank and filed a dispute on the charge. Time Warner sent a bill (through email) for half my bill. I paid it and figured they would straighten it out.

Next month they charge my card again. Now I'm livid. I contact customer support through chat. I recorded the chat session. I tell them the whole situation and that I want all my credit card information deleted from their system. He assures me that they don't have my card information on file anymore, that it had been deleted.

I take my family on vacation for a week. I get home to a letter in the mail stating my account is delinquent and that my service would be shut off in three days. The next morning, two days early, my cable and internet is shut off. Keep in mind I had never been late or missed a payment in the four years I was with them. I checked my account and they were showing that I owed over $400.

My last attempt to rectify the situation was to go to one of their service centers and deal with someone in person. The lady working told me that my bank refunded their charges when I filed a dispute over it and that was why my account was delinquent. That didn't explain the $400 bill or why they shut off my service when I had just paid the full bill from them (even though it wasn't correct) two weeks prior. I tried to explain why I filed a dispute and she just kept saying that was why my account was delinquent. It was like trying to reason with a tape recorder that just kept playing the same recording over and over. I gave up.

After another half hour, we had my bill corrected to that day. $94 I paid it, returned the cable box I'd brought with me and told her I wanted receipts for the payment, for the cable box, for the remote, and that I wanted something in writing that I wanted my service terminated as of that day. I thought I was done with them. Not quite. They charged my credit card again. I had to call my bank and have them close my account for fraudulent charges.

We went without cable and internet for about two weeks before we could get AT&T U-Verse installed. I couldn't be happier with their service. Everything about it is much better than Time Warner right down to the remote control. I chose better service and a better price. Still waiting on my replacement credit card. Thanks for everything Time Warner.

Replies
Unacceptable
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- After AT&T finally p*ssed me off for the last time I decided it was time to change providers. I called Time Warner Cable the first of August and asked about how much basic TV and Roadrunner turbo it cost me. The woman over the phone told me it would cost me $72.66 a month. The woman took my personal information street address, social security number, that kind of stuff and, told me how would I like to pay for that over the phone or in person. I told her I would like to do it in person so I can pick up the equipment, she said no problem. After that it was about 12 o'clock we both hung up and I went out to eat with family.

It was 2:58 when I get up front at Time Warner Cable to talk to a person about getting the service and everything. The woman over the counter said that she saw everything was set up and all I would have to do is pay my first month for the service in advance and a deposit. I told her I talked to a woman over the phone and she said nothing about the deposit. The woman over the counter replied with they couldn't check my credit because I have none and that there would be a $50 deposit up front with the first service in advance, so the $72 became $123 before they would establish my service.

I paid it and she gave me the modem for the internet. Now that's when I asked her when would it be turned on and she replied later on today if not Friday. She said for more accurate time description I would need to call the 1866 number and ask for more details. I got home and hooked up the internet modem and hooked up all my TVs and nothing was working. I called Time Warner Cable and they told me that there's a service appointment set up for Friday at 5 o'clock. I told the man over the phone thank you and have a good day. He told me the same and then we hung up.

I was home all day Friday and no one came out to my house. I called Time Warner back and I was told that there was no appointment for Friday that I would have to schedule one for Monday. I said okay now I got to go all weekend without any service, what a drag. I setup a service appointment for Monday and the woman over the phone to be an all day thing from 7 a.m. till 10 p.m. And that the service technician could drop by anytime in between those two times, I said wow very accurate timing. Everything was set so we part our goodbyes and we hung up.

Was home all day Monday again no one came out to my house, shocking. I called Time Warner right before the calling center closed they told me I was still within the appointment time and can a rudely asked me not to call until tomorrow. I called Time Warner Cable Tuesday and they tell me the service appointment was set up for 11 to 12 that Tuesday, and they told me that no service appointment existed for Monday. I was just flat-out confused.

Around 11 o'clock there is a white Ford F 150 parked beside the utility pole across the street from my house at the neighbor's house. The truck had bags of potting soil in the back and a trailer attached with a large ladder in the trailer. He climbs the pole messed around with something for about 15 minutes got his ladder put it up and then left. My service still wasn't working.

Wednesday nothing else happened. The pole for the cable is in my backyard and no one touched it and my service still wasn't working so I called Time Warner back. The woman over the phone didn't tell me that could have been the cable man to hook up the service but she said that she didn't know for sure and in fact a service technician did report that he did hook up my cable but it wasn't. I told the woman over the phone I was getting pretty upset about this that she said that she scheduled appointment for tomorrow in between 11 and 12 for Thursday.

She told me that that was the earliest appointment I could get on Thursday and I told her that it would have been exactly one week that I paid over $100 for the service that I'm not getting. She apologized, we both said goodbye I hung up and wait until Thursday. Boy was I mad. The technician called directly at 11 and said is around the corner and we'll be there in about 10 minutes. Well he showed up 30 minutes later. I told him what happened about the other guy across the street he said he didn't know either.

In my backyard he'd looked at the pole and told me it wasn't hooked up, I told him it wasn't hooked up. He climbs the pole and 60 seconds later all the TVs started working and the internet started working too. He asked me did I have any other problems and I told him no. I got the internet registered and it was working completely and so he left.

Time Warner Cable also informed me that I paid for service days I didn't get and there's nothing that they were going to do about it. That was a weeks worth of service I paid for down the drain and on top of it they charged me $50 for the service call to come to hook up my service that was supposed to be done right the first time. Right now I haven't brought that to their attention so it's still on my bill. If they decide to remove it or not I'll make sure to update this to let you know what happens.

Other than paying for service for a week that I didn't get, getting the runaround, lies and other stuff I have to say just watch with the sign up with these guys. Now that the service has been turned on I've been using it for a couple days and TV fine the internet is blazing fast and I think I'm paying a pretty good price so I'm happy for now. P.S Time Warner Cable Informed me if I left that my $123 for not be refunded it would go to a credit towards my bill First. A bill that I never got. But what Time Warner Cable is trying to tell me about my $123 that they would keep it even know I left and never had any service.

Update 8/28/13 2:32 pm. Today Time Warner Cable has charge me $45 extra to install internet which they didn't and charged me an extra $30 for an "Easy Connect" follow up fee. I don't understand those two charges, but, together they add up to a whole month of service and I was told by representatives that they were first time customer charges and there are no way out of them.

I've already paid them a $123 in advance and now they're demanding $147 has my first bill. I don't know what these people are up to, but they're just downright CRAZY! Also another thing is driving me wild they're charging me full price for my turbo internet. No promotional pricing nothing. This is how they treat new customers. Now I see why they only lose them.

I don't even have enough to pay the $72 myself my brother pays half of it and I pay the other half and together we can't pay $147.62. Well then again it should have been a red flag that everyone in my neighborhood has AT&T U verse I'm the only one with Time Warner and now I know why. The Internet is still fast the TV still reliable no issues but it's just too much start up fees. They are just trying to rip you off. Once again I'm going to attempt to call them and ask them to remove those two fees or lose me as a customer.

Update September 9th 2013. Today I finally had those 2 charges for installation removed off my bill. After I called Time Warner Cable and talk to the first employee who was very rude to me. He told me that there was no way out of the two charges. He refused to listen to me and I told him about my story about the first technician not showing up, and the second technician did what the first technician should have done in the first place.

And he told me that the $45 fee was for someone to physically come out into my house and hook up my modem themselves, and that the $30 follow-up connect is where I hook it up myself but didn't do it right and they have to send somebody out to do it right. But that's two charges shouldn't be together. It was so called hooked up by a professional then why was I charged because I didn't hook it up right, that's what I didn't understand.

He was being so rude to me and wouldn't listen to me then I ask to speak to his manager. I had asked four times before I finally got transferred. Once I got his manager listen to me for about the first minute and then told me he would remove the charges on there was no battle or arguing with his manager. He just remove the charges right off my bill. I've already paid my bill for this month switch with $68.50 for some reason. I have everything on.

I'm happy everything was resolved and I can continue being a Time Warner customer, but I would have been even happier if none of this ever started. In the near future I plan to buy my own cable modem and save $7 a month of the finance fees that they charge for their modem. I will post information to let you know how that goes, and I plan on downgrading my internet from turbo to standard. I'll let you know how that goes too. For Now I'm happy with the service and I'm happy with the price.

Replies
Advertisement
Unethical contract and threats
By -

I contact Time Warner Cable to connect a home-based business/personal internet service. My residence was zone both residential or commercial. I resided there and obviously requested residential service as it was almost half the cost of business service & that I would be using it for mostly personal. The percentage of business use in the residence was less than 30% of the total square footage. Time Warner refused to provide residential service and claimed they would only offer business class service with a 3-year contract, and a difference of $82 (residential) vs $162 (business class) per month for internet.

After installation, the installer handed me a slip for me to sign agreeing that service was connected. I had no idea that the slip I was signing was for the 3-year contract. I had hoped to negotiate the contract on my account after connection. After connection, I tried to discuss this contract with a representative on the phone. He was quick, vague, told me the contract was my only option, they only offered 3-year contracts and mentioned NOTHING about termination fees.

After closing my account 9 months later and early, due to economic downfall of my industry and inability to cover my monthly personal and business expenses, I was informed that I owed them over $3000.00 for future service per my contract. I disputed this and informed the representative that I was unaware of an early termination fee and to please explain it to me. The representative said he would "settle my account" and I would be invoiced for a lesser amount. I waited for an invoice. One never came.

Twenty two months later, in early February 2011, I received a letter from CMI collection agency stating I owe "their client" $633.33. I contact CMI asking what this is for, and they stated Time Warner sent my old business account to collections. I asked CMI representative why Time Warner Cable did not make attempts to collect the outstanding balance they claim I owe FIRST, or send me an invoice, and the representative could not answer that question. I disputed and sent CMI a letter asking to settle, as I was told back in April 2009 that Time Warner would agree to settle my contract. I am not capable of paying this in full at this time.

I received a letter from CMI, simply stating Time Warner does not settle accounts. No additional documentation I asked for was provided (ie. final invoices or their attempts to collect). I disputed a second time and stated I would seek legal action and CMI threatened they would "purposely damage my credit" if I did not pay in full immediately.

I feel coerced into an unnecessary lengthy business contract and threatened by CMI's claim they will purposely damage my credit. I find sending a consumers account to collections, regardless if they owe or not WITHOUT their knowledge or offering an opportunity to be informed of status of their account, is unlawful. Why should Time Warner be allowed to dictate whatever settlement "amount" they want? Especially since their rates have reduced since 2009. They will never receive a dime for this "early termination fee", and these contracts should be against the law.

Replies
Undue effort for promised $100 "gift card"
By -

The Short Story: After putting me through over seven months of effort, more than fifteen phone calls, and a tremendous amount of aggravation, Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. could not even provide the full $100 that they promised when I signed up for their Fios "Triple Play" promotion. In the end, I only received $93.50. ** at Private Network Communications has not returned my calls thus far.

Comments: Almost all of the people that I spoke to (below) were very polite. This was such a drawn out series of lapses and inactivity that it seems unfathomable to me that overall, it was simply an issue of incompetence or indifference among staff level employees. Is Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. actually making a good faith effort to honor and issue all of the "gift cards" due to Time Warner's customers or is something else happening here?

When Time Warner outsources, they need to take some responsibility for the actions of the organizations that they hire. Does Time Warner effectively have a monopoly in NYC? Personally, I have no other option for cable television services. On the gift card instruction sheet provided by Saveology, no mention is made anywhere of "Private Network Communications" although they perform most of the customer services and administrative functions regarding the "gift card". Many of the calls that I made to Saveology have not been documented. I spelled the names of all employees phonetically; they may be misspelled.

The Long Story: On 10/12/2008, I signed on for Time Warner Fios "Triple Play", and was promised a $100 Mastercard gift card. On 11/16/2008 I completed and mailed the "Time Warner Cable Promotion Redemption Form" in order to receive my $100 Saveology gift card. The form indicates that a card should be received 16-18 weeks after all qualifications and subscriber obligations are satisfied.

On 2/2/2009, I spoke to ** at Saveology, requesting the status of my $100 gift card. She informed me that I did not use the proper rebate ID in completing the redemption form, and instructed me to add the proper rebate ID to my copy of the form, and fax it to Saveology.

On 5/8/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** informed me that they did not receive my faxed, corrected, redemption form in February. When I stated that I have the successful fax confirmation, she again stated that the person who receives all faxes was not able to locate it. She asked me to fax it again, and told me that she would call me back to confirm that they had received it this time.

On 5/8/09, after not hearing back from ** for several hours, I called ** myself, and she confirmed that she did receive my corrected redemption form. Upon my request, ** stated that since they have been delinquent in processing my card, she was willing bring my redemption form to her supervisor in order to expedite it more quickly.

On 5/28/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** stated that my redemption form was in fact escalated to a supervisor on 5/11/09, but that no progress had been made. ** stated that she did not know what the issue was or why the supervisor had not acted since receiving the form on 5/11/09. ** volunteered to look in to why my card had not been processed and call me back on 5/29/09. On 6/3/09, I attempted to call Saveology five times using the "Offer Redemption Center" phone number provided on the Redemption form of 1-877-405-5035, but each time I receive a message stating that the phone number is out of service.

Again on 6/3/09 I finally reached Saveology by calling a phone number on their website, once again to request the status of my card. I reached ** (ID# **) in Customer Service, and requested to speak to **. I was told that ** was having lunch. I explained my frustrating situation to **, and ** stated that if she could put me on hold for a few minutes she would find out as much as she could about my situation from her colleagues.

Within five minutes, ** discovered that my card had indeed been mailed to me in March. When I asked why nobody else at Saveology could figure this out for me, ** did not have an answer. ** provided me with the name and phone number of the person at the company who is responsible for issuing the cards. ** did not know the name of the company who had this responsibility.

On 6/3/09, I spoke to the Executive Vice President of Private Network Communications. He informed me that a card had been mailed to me in March, but that it did not have any charges against it. I told him that I did not receive the card. He confirmed my name and address, and said that I should have my card within 7-10 days. I received the card with its instructions in the mail on 6/10/09.

On 6/11/09 I attempted to activate the card through the automated menu, but did not have the required PIN number to do so. The instruction sheet that the card came attached to indicated that the PIN number should be on the instruction sheet, right where the card had been attached, but there was no such number printed. I reached a customer service representative who was able to activate the card anyway.

On 6/12/09 I attempted to make a purchase with the card, but apparently any use of a debit card requires a PIN number, which I did not have. Also on 6/15/09, I called Saveology for help, read my card number to the customer service rep, and they told me that my PIN number would be right behind where the card was attached on the instruction sheet. I told them that no such PIN number was printed, so she transferred me to "Cardholder Services", which is part of Private Network Communications, Inc.

After reading my card number to **, at Private Network Communications, told me that my card actually did not have a PIN number, and needs to be used as a Credit Card, as opposed to a Debit Card. When I explained to ** that my card has "Debit" printed on it, and the instruction sheet indicates that I should have a PIN number, he apologized, but offered no explanation of what may have gone wrong. Also on 6/15/09, I successfully made a $79 purchase using the Saveology card as a credit card.

On 6/16/09 I attempted to make a purchase using the remaining balance on the card. I attempted to make the $21 purchase using the card first as a credit card, then as a debit card. Both times, the card was rejected. On 6/17/09, I spoke to ** at Saveology and explained that the previous representative that I spoke to transferred me to Cardholder Services in an attempt to help resolve the issue of my remaining balance, but I cannot reach anyone there because the automated menu requires a PIN number, which, in my case, I do not have. ** told me that there was nothing that she could do because Cardholder Services is handled by an entirely different company.

Also on 6/17/09, I called Saveology again, and reached **. I explained my dilemma about the remaining balance on my card, as well as the fact that I do not have a PIN number. ** was able to provide me with a different phone number for Cardholder Services which does not require a PIN number. Also on 6/17/09, unable to reach anyone in person, I left a voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, using the phone number given to me by **. In my message, I explained the issue about the remaining balance on my card, and asked her to call me.

On 6/18/09, I left a second voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, asking her to call me. I tried to reach ** five different times by phone between 6/17/09 & 6/18/09. Also on 6/18/09, at a store, I was able to determine that there was actually only $14.50 remaining on my card, and that was why the $21 purchase had been rejected. After all this work to obtain my "gift card" and to actually get it working, Time Warner / Saveology / Private Network Communications had only given me a $93.50 "gift card", not the $100 actually promised.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Time Warner Cable Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 62 ratings and
176 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Time Warner Cable
60 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10023
1-800-892-4357 (ph)
Timewarner (fax)
www.timewarnercable.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services