Preview Review

Next Review

Window World Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Poor Scheduling & Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- We spent almost $18K on new windows and front door. It was amazing how fast the sales team was on-site to place the order. They did tell us it would take 8 weeks to have installed and we agree. I am fine with that as long as you communicate with me. The Scheduling Team is almost non-existent at Window World, I had to call in every-time to get the installation going. If I hadn't called I'd probably still be waiting on them to come out and install.

We also ordered a front door as well, same issues with scheduling took forever, they never proactively called and kept us updated - ZERO Communication. So I called again and forced them to pick a date to install the door which we did. Door installed we are happy with product but not happy with the lack of customer service. The Door settled over some time and we had to have them come out to meet to adjust. Again I had to force the date for them to come on-site or it still wouldn't be scheduled but a nice young man came out and documented what needs to be repaired. Almost 6 weeks later nothing, no phone calls, updates and a door that still not working properly.

So again, WE call Window World to find out what the hold up is and we get Elaine. Elaine wants to argue instead of help. Elaine doesn't care that we spent $18K and just want our door fixed. Elaine decides to argue about everything and make snarky remarks. So remember this if you're looking for windows, they could care less about you after they get their money. It's all about the sales, customer service sucks big-time. It's a shame because they have a good product but obviously a lack of leadership to ensure proper scheduling and customer service.

Replies
They Should Change Their Marketing Slogan Line to "Simply the Worst"!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DC -- I am an architect that often assists clients with the window orders for their project. I worked with many window companies before. Window World is by far the worst. For this order I dealt with Window World of DC (Chantilly office). Their contract states installation will start in 4-6 weeks, same thing that the salesperson is telling you at the beginning. My window order came 11 weeks after we had a signed contract.

In clear breach of the contract, they blamed it all on the weather. Needless to say, the windows are manufactured in a factory, so that part doesn't depend on the weather at all. As for being able to install: it didn't rain for 7 weeks, on the contrary, we had a very warm fall and winter, with little precipitation. As a matter of fact, after they got the windows they installed within 5 days, so obviously it wasn't that they couldn't install, it was that it took 11 weeks to make the windows, instead of 4-6 as promised. The way they handled the situation was also really pathetic. Never called to inform of anything, I had to call numerous times to inquire about status, only to be told each time that my order is on the next shipment. It never was. So they were just lying me straight in the face.

Even the small courtesy things, like when they finally scheduled the installation, and gave a rather large time frame for arrival, I asked if I can get a phone call half an hour before the crew arrives, since it's a house in construction, nobody lives there and I don't want to wait for 2 hours. The answer was "I don't know their phone number". Another obvious lie! The owner lost thousands of dollars due to the huge delay of the window order and not being able to finish the renovation and sell the house as planned.

The only discount Window World offered was $120. This was for a whole house window order of thousands of dollars. The only good point: the installation crew was very quick, professional and cleaned up everything at the end. But even with the installation - part of the order there was a sliding door. It wasn't installed that well in the sense that it doesn't slide easily and you have to push very hard to close it completely in order to be able to lock it. When I asked for it to be fixed I was told that this is how new sliding doors are, they are difficult to open and close. NO!! On the contrary, a new sliding door is supposed to look and function great. They think nobody saw windows and sliding doors before, and the way they lie people in their face is appalling!

Replies
Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- I had used Window World for a house I owned in 2009 with great results. I recently sold that house and moved into a new one (early 2016) that needed new windows and went with Window World since I had a nice experience with them previously. Ugh, big mistake. The actual windows themselves are fine, but the service was so horrible it would have been comical if I didn't have to deal with the results and the continual follow-up in an attempt to fix my issues.

First off, the salesperson made a mistake on the order and I ended up with only one privacy frosted window when I actually ordered two privacy frosted windows. I tried to remedy this issue, but really I didn't want them to remove the clear window and install a frosted window because they had caused property damage with other windows and I didn't want to risk more damage. Also, the company refused to acknowledge the mistake, they explained to me how I had "changed my mind" or maybe my husband changed the order (I'm not married, I was the only one dealing with the company, and my name was the only name on the documents).

I also didn't want to wait another 7 weeks to have a new window manufactured and invite not so great characters into my home for yet another uncomfortable installation. There were two guys that came to remove/install the windows, one guy was okay but missing most of the day because he was at home improvement stores looking for tiles to replace the ones that were broken when removing my old patio door to install the new one. The other guy was swearing and yelling and just generally making comments about how unhappy he was about doing this work - how uncomfortable and potentially dangerous!

When I brought this up to manager he said that he knows the guys on my job and they never use that kind of language, but he's not saying he doesn't believe me. Sure. I'm not even sure they know who they send out on the jobs anyway because my form had whiteout over the installer's name with a name written over it, but that name wasn't the name of either of the guys that were there!

As soon as they had left after the installation I knew I would need to call someone to come back because the caulking was done in a rush and had huge gaps that should have been filled. I didn't feel comfortable bringing it up at the time because the one guy seemed so angry and potentially dangerous. When I called and asked for someone different to be sent out to re-do the caulking (and air my other complaints), they did not seem to think any of my issues were valid, did not provide me with solutions, and they sent the same guy from the installation.

Even the second time around the guy still missed spots in the caulking and was in an incredible hurry. It's hard to get anything done when the company just doesn't want to acknowledge any issues. Hopefully I don't have to use the lifetime warranty for any reason, I can only imagine the fight I'd have to go through to get warranty service.

Replies
Avoid Window World
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- We had windows original to the house (1982) and decided that the curtains blowing inside on a windy day was a bad thing. We got estimates from a few companies. They ranged from $18,000-$3,000, needless to say the $18,000 was a no go. We decided to go with window world even though they were not the cheapest. The sales person was not all that great. I frustrated him because I did my research and knew what I wanted.

After 6 weeks my windows finally came in. I had 8 windows but because the opening on one was so big they had to make it into 2 windows. The first scheduled date for install was cancelled because it was too cold and my house has half of the windows in stone and the mortar won't set in temps below 32 degrees. The second install day came up and the temp was only 34 degrees but they decided to roll with it. They were supposed to show up between 8-9 am. At 9:30 I called and was told they were about to leave. Then I called again at 11:00 and was told they were about 30 minutes away even though my house is less than an hour from their wear house.

They finally showed up at 12:30. They told me they should be able to get most of the way done in the 5 hours they had. They got 2 windows out and 2 placed and foamed around the edges. I told them they could be at my house at 7 the next morning to start working. They showed up at 8:30. They told me that their trailer with my windows in it fell off while driving down the highway. At 12:00 they had removed one more window and installed the interior trim on 2.

I was quite ticked off and told them I could not miss anymore work. They decided to work outside and get it all buttoned up. That didn't happen. When I got home it was half done and looked like crap. They set a 3rd day to work on my house. I told them I would not allow the first 2 installers back in my property. They sent 2 new guys that were able to do the next 5 windows in 4 hours. So if you get the Pete and chad I'm sorry. Chad seemed like a smart guy, he was the helper so he couldn't take charge. But Pete is a moron, send them away and ask for a different group of installers.

With this company the right hand does not know what the left is doing. I had a $35 balance left to make to conclude my business with this company. I was told not to worry about it they would write it off because of the hassle I went through. That was the least they could do after I took 3 days off. Then I get a bill in the mail for the $35, I call and had to talk to 3 people to get it taken care of. The manager Scott is a moron and after meeting him and talking to him I am not impressed. He kept saying "we will make it right, you have my word." Well his word is crap! Do not use this company, you will regret it.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Customer Service and Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHANTILLY, VIRGINIA -- I hired Window World to do a complete replacement of the exterior of my 3000 sq foot home (roof, siding, gutters). Sales negotiations went well and our sales representative was always responsive. However installation and project management were terrible. The installation crew was unprofessional, had little knowledge of the product being installed and even attempted to fabricate makeshift materials when they ran out of supplies.

The roofing crew showed up on site without an air compressor and had to borrow my unit for a day. On another day the siding guys did not have a saw and again asked to borrow my tools to complete their work. Several days the workers were on site without a work truck containing necessary tools. Countless calls were made to Window World DC to have a representative come out and oversee their subcontractors. It wasn't until the project was nearly complete that the installation manager stopped by the site. At that point the job had been overdue by almost a full week and most of the work was complete.

A daily mess was left and at one point the workers even used my grill cover as a tarp to cover the air conditioning unit. 6 months after the installation I am still finding problems and have had Window World DC cancel on me twice the day before they were due after committing to the date to complete the repairs. While in my attic I noticed that the professional roofers had roofed over a 4" hole in the plywood and the siding team had placed siding over missing sheathing on the gables on the house. House wrap and step flashing were visible from inside the attic.

The attractive price was not worth the horrible experience that I have had. Here is a quote from the latest email with Window World DC on rescheduling. Apparently if they do the work for you ensure that it will be done by ** as he is the only worker available to do quality work.

From Install Manager **: "We as a company want/need ** to be the one to do the repairs at your house since he knows exactly what is needed to be done and to make sure the quality of work is top notch. I could get another crew, but we would not trust that everything would come to meet your/our standards."

Update 07/11/2014:

All issues from the original installation were finally corrected though it took several months to complete.

I hired window world to do a complete replacement of the exterior of my 3000sq foot home (roof, siding, gutters). Sales negotiations went well and our sales rep was always responsive. However installation and project management were terrible. The installation crew was unprofessional, had little knowledge of the product being installed and even attempted to fabricate makeshift materials when they ran out of supplies.

The roofing crew showed up on site without an air compressor and had to borrow my unit for a day. On another day the siding guys did not have a saw and again asked to borrow my tools to complete their work. Several days the workers were on site without a work truck containing necessary tools. Countless calls were made to window world DC to have a representative come out and oversee their subcontractors. It wasn't until the project was nearly complete that the installation manager stopped by the site. At that point the job had been overdue by almost a full week and most of the work was complete. There are too many details to list everything that went wrong.

Replies
No Response After A Month Of E-Mails Calls And Texts
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- Approximately 1 month ago, March 21st, 2014, a Window World representative from the Pensacola, Fl store came to our house after we requested a quote for all new windows (will be about 25 in all). He spent about an hour and a half at our house. He told us that he would get us a quote in about a week (we have some unique windows he has to figure out) so I figured that was about right. The following Friday my wife receives a call from Window World's quality assurance office (or something like that) asking if we were going to purchase from them. My wife told them that we are not sure because we hadn't received a quote yet.

The representative told my wife that she would get on that right away. Fast forward to Tuesday, 15 April, 2014 still no word from anybody at Window World. My wife even e-mailed and left text messages for the man who came out to measure them and he has not responded. This is kind of weird because he was a very nice and knowledgeable person and we were excited about getting new windows. On 15 April I e-mailed the office in Orlando Florida and stated that I was not happy with not receiving any response from Window World.

I explained all of the above to him and also said that if I did not hear back from him that I would e-mail the corporate office, this was Tuesday night at 8 p. m., I received a response within 5 minutes from a ** in Orlando asking that I please give him a call so he can look into this issue and said thanks for my patience. I did not call that night because I was at the bowling alley. I phoned him the next morning at 11:30 a. m. His secretary said he was not in yet and asked if I wanted to be sent to his voicemail. I said yes and I left a message to please call me with my cell and office number.

Tomorrow will be a week and still have not heard from him. Friday night I e-mailed the corporate office in North Carolina, again explaining the above and also asked if this is Window World's standard operating procedure (not calling back customers) told them I would never buy from them and that I would not refer them to any of my friends and acquaintances. I also said that I was going to start leaving negative comments as well but was giving them an opportunity to rectify the situation. Well, I've still heard nothing.

Window World, what is your problem? If my house is too much of a hassle to put in new windows all you have to do is say so. Not returning calls or e-mails is pretty [upsetting]!!! I would have been spending quite a bit of money on you. Oh yeah, I just remembered, the rep who came to my house was also going to have their vinyl siding person get a hold of me. Well guess what?? They've never called either. So I guess what I really need to say is that this is one unprofessional company and I'm really surprised they are even in business!!!

Replies
Sucks. Worst Experience Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARDEN, NORTH CAROLINA -- Ordered whole house siding and 38 windows in September. Gave them down payment of half, $24K. Said they were booked out 14 weeks. It took them 9 MONTHS to do the job. They came out in January and ripped all the old siding off exposing vapor barrier and left it like that for several months. Left all that crap in the yard and it blew all over 15 acres. We had to go around and pick it up out of neighborhood. They finished the job after numerous phone calls and threats. But this is not a professional job. Sorriest company out there.

DO NOT USE WINDOW WORLD. They hire subcontractors that are not qualified. Wish I had used Home Depot and I told them so. Worst experience ever. They've been out 3 times to fix shoddy work. They're gonna have to come again as I recently discovered some siding is loose and the siding they put around some specialty widows holds water. No weep holes.

Replies
Two Window World Employees Can't Measure
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA -- The salesman measured, told us six weeks, second employee comes, saying he works in the factory, reaffirming measurements. The installers were great But the door didn't fit the opening, guess what? Upcharge of $350.00 to make it fit per the company. No way Jose we have a contract, after the manager Jessica is calling and texting installer. She asks him if she should call me back after I've tried twice to reach her. She in turn tells me, they will not put on the “extra charge”. Do they really believe senior citizens are all suffering from dementia. By the way, our door was a month late. There'd better be a hefty discount. Unlike other comments, the installers saved the day. They were very professional and courteous.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service, No Control of Sub-Contractors
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NAPERVILLE, ILLINOIS -- I contracted Window World to install new windows for all of my windows, a new bay window and a new storm door. Sales date was November 2, 2011. Did not hear from company again until ready to install in late January. ** from WW called to arrange delivery dates since it would take 2 days to complete the job. He offered me two weekday delivery dates, February 1st and 2nd (Wednesday and Thursday).

I informed him work is busy and I could not take 2 weekdays off work until after February 11th due to our workload. ** stated he needed the warehouse space and could not wait that long so he scheduled to have my windows installed on Friday February 3rd and Saturday February 4th. Crew that came Friday was not a Window World crew but a subcontractor. I was OK with this.

They got to work and all was going well. At the end of the day, as the crew was packing up, I asked what time they would be back in the morning and they informed me they were not coming back until Tuesday February 7th. I stated this was not possible and that I had been told they would be back Saturday Feb. 4th. They informed me they had another job that was scheduled to be done Feb. 4th and that I would instead have to call the office Monday and schedule the remaining install the FOLLOWING Saturday, Feb. 11th.

I had already made arrangements for my wife and twin 7 month old babies to be out of the house on Saturday Feb 4th, and now I had to make new arrangements for them to be out of the house the following week on the 11th. On top of not coming back when they were supposed to, the crew also left gaps between the windows and frame to where outside cold air was blowing into my home. I had to go to the hardware store and purchase gap filling foam since I could not let cold air blow in my house for more than a week.

I called Monday and spoke to ** in the office who listened to my complaints about the crew not adhering to the scheduled work dates and leaving the install project in a state that was unsatisfactory. She asked me to send her an e-mail with photos and my complaint. I did that on Monday Feb. 6th at 9:30 am. Despite several attempts later Monday and all Tuesday, it took until Wednesday Feb. 8th for the office to e-mail me back. ** stated that "unless it is for a crew not showing up there is usually no discount. I will bring your concern to the installation managers attention again and let you know if there is a change."

The issue arises from WW's use of a subcontractor who they cannot control. I contracted Window World to complete the install, THEY contracted the sub contractor. Their poor communication is not my problem, WW should have made this right for their customer. I argued that the crew not coming back on Saturday WAS a case where the crew did not show up.

In the days since, I have repeatedly tried to contact ** concerning this issue. She has replied to me about other issues but will not discuss the requested discount. I have also requested to speak to **, or whomever is in charge of the Naperville office but no one will call back. I have also requested a number for Window World Corporate and cannot get anyone to provide one.

I am requesting a nominal discount as a good faith compensation for the additional week that the install took, for having to reschedule time for my babies to be out of the house and for the crew's poor workmanship on the initial install. The company has since completed the install and the product looks great, however the customer service of this company is extremely subpar.

Company Response 02/22/2012:

We have received the above complaint and I agree that most of the statements are true. When we had to go back and finish the project it was a minimal amount of work which included installing a storm door, some interior trim, some exterior work and miscellaneous caulking. The homeowner didn't need to have his children removed from the house; however, that is his choice. We completed the work, it looks great and the customer has full and complete warranties for any future issues. We are in the process of working with the BBB to work out the issues with the customer.

Replies
Never Finish Job
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- We order window November 1, 2019, they lied how long it would take. 16 week they came and did not finished job because they did have the stuff, Reid family should be run out business. They cancel again April 1 2020 to finish they told me they won't come until April 23. If you own peninsula stay away from this company. They treat you like CRAP, They scratch up paint.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Window World Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 73 ratings and
93 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Window World
118 Shaver Street
N. Wilkesboro, NC 28659
1-800-639-8946 (ph)
www.windowworld.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies