AT&T

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 60 ratings and
186 reviews & complaints.
www.att.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Customer Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARBONDALE, PENNSYLVANIA -- This is about what happened the first day of my payment agreement: Called to make first payment on March 2, 2012. The recording, of course, had indicated that the account is blocked from check or credit card payments. Wow, really? AT&T customer care to the rescue. How is this possible when I'm on an arrangement already.

Here is what actually happened: The end of October 2011 I paid 235.24 to AT&T via a credit card ending in **, has been closed recently also. This credit card belonged to my Mother. I have a bank account with her and I use this card to pay my phone bill on occasion. Without me knowing my mother later disputed the charge on her credit card, forgetting this was my phone bill and I had already paid her. Apparently, this dispute had backed out the 235.24 from AT&T in February 2012. Soon after I had made my first arrangement as above for 165.93. Wouldn't it be nice if AT&T would have made me aware of this mishap.

Discussed this issue with Customer Server personnel. They had indicated that a credit card payment from October was taken off my account on February 22, 2012 which I did not know at this time. Now they say my account is 140 days past due and they cannot make an arrangement. After discussing this further with a supervisor, I was told to pay the 235.24 that was backed out in October 2011 and then I could make an arrangement the next day after I make a cash payment.

I promised to pay 235.24 the next day and would call the back to make further arrangement. Was promised by the customer service representative that they would not suspend my account unless this payment is not honored. We were all in agreement.

March 3, 2012 sometime in the afternoon my service was suspended. I called them immediately and asked why this happened when I was promised they would not shut off my service if the payment gets made. Keep in mind I work until 4 and had to make the bank to make this payment. The customer service representative had suggested that I pay the October 2011 return of 235.38 then they will un-suspend my service. Then I was told to call them back to make a new arrangement with them. All was fine at this point. We all agreed!

March 3, 2012 4:15 pm Called AT&T to confirm that I was on my way to make the payment of the 235.24 as promised. This time I was told that was not enough to get my service back on. I have to pay $545.19 now because it's 140 days old. I have told them that I was promised by the customer service representative prior that I only had to pay October's bill then I can make a new arrangement and get my service back on. This customer service representative told me they cannot do that.

Thus, I was lied to twice (2) by AT&T Customer Service. I requested a supervisor to talk to. Again I got the same line from the supervisor and no way were they going to budge. I threatened to go to another company and they really didn't even care. Very awful business practices. I requested to go over the supervisors head and again they gave me the same deal.

I told the manager that what bothers me the most is that the customer service representatives can lie and get away with it. This manager would not work with me and she claimed that they cannot override this for me. Anything can be overridden so I did not believe that for one minute. Another manager who really didn't care to help much less care that I threaten to closed my account and go to another company.

Perhaps AT&T is right to expect me to pay the 545.19 because it was not their fault this happen. However, as they can see it wasn't my fault either. Consequently, I had expected them to work with me and help me with an arrangement and not suspend my service. Moreover, there was no problem with me paying for the services, I like having the services and I certainly was not trying to rob them. Since this was a mistake by a third party, I expected them to work with me. I guess I expected too much and now I know the company's true colors.

When it comes to customer care please don't ever rely on it because it's more like "customer don't care" and you usually get a foreigner on the line that gives you the same spiel every time. "I am sorry to hear you have a billing issue...", what a scam and lack of humanity in today's business. Whatever happened to "Operator may I help you?", a real human from your own country asking to help you. Call me old fashion but, at least you were a person then, not just a number to add to some CEO's bottom line.

Needless to say once my contract is up, I'll be moving to a different company. These large companies had forgotten about Customer Care. Lose one customer is not going to affect their pockets by much, so they really do not have any care of Customer Loyalty and there is no personal customer service that really cares if you stay or leave them. The bottom line is billions of dollars aligning the pockets of CEO executives and losing a couple accounts a day is the least of their worries. If each customer took away millions of dollars of their prized shares of stocks, I bet they be better at it and enhance their customer care service. Shame on AT&T!

Replies
They Lie About Their Service and Its Inclusions and Then AT&T Tries to Gaff You for 24 Months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JACKSON, CALIFORNIA -- Your AT&T employees misrepresent and lie to its customers. I went into an actual AT&T store on the 17th of July 2013 and bought a mi-fi device which I had to pay $49 for and sign a 2-year contract. I asked the representative to sign me up for a 3 GB plan, and for some reason I noticed when I got home that I was signed up for 5 GB instead, I was also prorated to pay an extra 6 dollars or so on my next bill, because for some reason my billing cycle started on the 19th of June and not the 17th.

While at the AT&T store, I was also very clearly told that I could at any time downgrade my service to any of the other plans from 10 Gigabytes, to 3 Gigs, to 500, and finally down to 250 MB. Now 3 months later and the data being sucked up while I sleep, I decided to downgrade the Mi-Fi plan to 250 MB and get home internet service instead, while I would still pay the $14.99 a month for their lowest plan.

So I got my home internet from AT&T BTW, and I call their customer service on 21 of October 2013 (Monday) to try to save some money, while I try and do the right thing and fulfill my contract. I tried to cancel on the 19th right before my next billing cycle but they are closed on weekends. I called because I wanted to downgrade my service and use what data amount I thought was appropriate. Come to find out the information that I received at the AT&T office in Jackson, CA was wrong. The plan, which I was offered apparently is only available for tablets, not mi-fi the lady on the phone told me.

When I told her that their company's representatives are misleading and not telling the truth, she told me to drive back to that Jackson, CA (which is almost 100 miles and talk to their manager, and tell them to train their employees better). So now I have to do the job that AT&T managers should be doing and I should pay $ and time for the mistakes their reps make. And there's nothing the customer representative could do, so I ask her to cancel my service then, because I wasn't going to pay $50 for a service that I wasn't going to use. She said she couldn't do that for me and then she transferred me again to someone who had the capability to cancel my service.

SO I was put on hold for another 20 minutes and another customer relations expert answers the phone with no capability of doing anything to help me either, except he said he could change my plan and change it into a mobile device plan where I could pay $14.99 a month, but "I would not be able to use my mi-fi device", meaning I would be paying $15 dollars until July 2015 for no services offered whatsoever.

So I asked, whether I would be able to exchange my mi-fi device for a mobile device and still continue using their service while paying the proposed $14.99. He said "No, your 14 day grace period has expired." I asked whether my cancellation fee could be waived and he said "unfortunately no" for 100th time. I swear their training consists of saying "unfortunately" in front of every word. So I stopped negotiating and said that I just want to cancel and am would not like to take advantage of his awesome offer of $14.99 because me paying that amount would amount to $315 by the time my contract expires vs. the $138 cancellation fee/penalty.

How does that do anything to help me out? When they should have stood by their word and at least trained their staff properly. Then, ** the customer relations expert also says that I would be charged for an extra month through Nov. 19 because I called 2 days after my billing cycle started. I asked him to prorate it and he said they can't do that, they have no such capability. Then I called him out of it and said that they charged me with a prorated amount in the beginning why, so don't tell me there's no such thing as prorating.

So he said he'll look into it and only charge my for 2 days of this billing cycles, after he attempted to lie to me and say that they work on the weekend. I called on the weekend and the machine told me to call during the work day. This is ridiculous, they just straight out lie to you to get their money from you. They lie to me to get me signed up, they lie to me to try to make me pay $15 a month for no service, they lie to me and say they can't prorate to get an extra $50 out of me and they lie to me, saying they can't stand up for their representatives lying to me and waiving my fee. Then they call me a valued customer.

Please waive my cancellation fee, because I deserve to be told what I'm buying and signing up for. I deserve to be told the truth. I will continue writing people to try to get the customer service and services I was promised or you also should have to hold up your side of the contract. It's not one sided, you should also be responsible for your employees not telling the truth. Thank you in advance.

Replies
Worst Refund Process Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERETT, WASHINGTON -- So I go into the store at 10am to return my phone and cancel my account. I lost the debit card I used for the purchase and reported it stolen. So the associate says come back at 3 so they can give me a cash refund. They had to wait till the tills had enough cash for the refund. So I leave and come back at 3 and see the same guy. He passes me over to the manager named **. He states the same story again and says they still don't have enough cash to do it.

So the manager himself says he will text me when they get the cash. He even sent me a text saying so to me. So I leave and time passes. I decide to go in at 5 to see how it is coming along. The manager starts to go through the tills to make sure they have enough. Then he stops and starts talking to the other manager **. Then after a minute conversation with her he comes over and says they won't be able to do cash. Then says they will need to send a check that may take 30 days to get. Then he states that he called all the other store managers to see if they can do it but they weren't able to find a way. He all of a sudden changed what he said from the beginning.

So then I talk to AT&T over and over. I got some calls from some execs but they never returned my call once I called back. They said I need to deal with the store and that they will refund everything but the restock fee and that they will just credit the account for that. Which doesn't help me since I'm closing the account. Then I go to the store for the 5th time now and of course receive the worst service yet.

** the manager skips over me and helps 3 people behind me. Then I flag her down and she says she thought I was with someone else. I tell her I just want to cancel the account and just get away from AT&T. She then puts me on the phone with customer service and walks away. Then she goes on lunch and I'm sitting there with no one helping me in person and on hold for over 30 min. Then the lady I do talk to says she can't help me because I don't know my number and that I should know it. I replied I had the phone for such a short time and why does it matter if I don't know you don't tell me what I need to know. She then says she can't help.

I told her, "They usually look it up by SSN can't you do that." She hesitates and says "yes" and I told her "I want a manager." She puts me on hold for 20 min. I decide I am over AT&T. I walk up to the reps in the store and tell them sarcastically thanks for the wonderful service once again. I dropped their phone on the desk and just left.

They are a joke there. I talk more and more with AT&T customer service and some say I will get a full refund but then say they can't and its just a big cluster **. I don't know if I will get my refund. I believe it when I talk to someone and then I go in person and they don't know what the hell I'm talking about. They have the worst customer service possible. Most of their reps don't know what I'm talking about until I basically explain it over like 30 times. Each phone call is at least an hour and I've wasted too much already.

Replies
BAIT and SWITCH Promotion Sales Ploy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- 02 Sept 2011 I agreed to change to U-verse w/ AT&T... I was an existing customer that was already paying 14.95/internet. The promo was supposedly for $20 something + for internet and $35 for phone. I explained to the salesperson that I was already paying $14.95/internet and it served my purpose so it wouldn't make sense to increase my costs for internet. She agreed to give me the internet @ $14.95.

Okay, U-verse installed 30 Sept 2011 (believe me, I keep notes). I really don't see a difference in service except for the fact that it's now wireless... more equipment inside and outside of house... not a plus!! Making a long story short, I have been complaining for the life of my new service about being incorrectly billed... 02 March 2011 the c/s representative adjusted my bill dating back to 1st billing cycle but she claimed that she was unable to give me the $14.95/internet because that promo had ended... WHAT? She could only give me the new promo for $19.95 (AT&T tried me TWICE).

She claimed she had corrected everything. Months later still being billed incorrectly. Many calls to AT&T but funny thing, no c/s representative would ever let me talk to a manager... the manager always has to call me back. Needless to say no one ever calls back... oh, but they tell you a guaranteed call back within 24-48 hours Jun 27, 2012 I was told this per my notes and just yesterday I was told the manager would call back as soon as they got out of their meeting, another guarantee from c/s rep 17 Aug 2012... quite naturally no one called back... I chose not to run errands waiting on a phone call that never came through.

Need I mention the customer service representative in billing named ** with the smart a** mouth that told me "when they see an amount they expect it to be paid" (phone call dated 17 Aug 12) or another smart a** mouth c/s representative in the Retention Dept. named ** that nastily told me the bills are correct and the manager could do nothing and that he (the manager) will tell me the same thing! Those two incompetent figurines would never work for my company.

After reaching the supposed manager ** out of Pensacola Fl... that was another waste of time... a pure sign of incompetence or should I say, COVER UP. He sees all the adjustments but still says that I have been billed correctly since the 1st billing cycle... yet when questioned why the different adjustments were made... well, he could never answer that. He claimed that the system never reflected $14.95/internet so when I asked him how is it he couldn't see it but the other had been able to see it... no answer. What was he hiding?

The fact that yes, I have been billed incorrectly since day one of Uverse service? Did I mention that I even got my services shut down twice within a month... even after paying the $70+ like I was informed.. even though I knew I was not behind (incorrect billing as always). My 78 yr old mother has been going through the same thing with AT&T billing... they don't discriminate... young, middle-aged, old... screw whomever you can, uh AT&T. The fight has just begun!!!

Thank Goodness for FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INTERNET! MY story will be told to the world... in the process of making a video for YOUTUBE with copies of my bills. If I can save one person from this hell then I've a job well done. I work for a company that is Top 5 when it comes to amount of employees... so my story will be heard and passed on and on and on.

Replies
My Letter to AT&T and Their Pals at Asurion
By -

Dearest Asurion Insurance Company and Your Equally Aggravating Conspirator, AT&T: I've had the unique pleasure of spending the last several days on what seemed like a series of no less than two-hundred and fifty-thousand grueling phone conversations with your ace customer service team regarding my defective Blackberry 8700c. The experience was akin to the most excruciating torture imaginable.

In hindsight, I'd prefer the luxury of water-boarding, splintery bamboo shoots being shoved up under my fingernails or high-voltage electrodes attached to my reproductive organs by overzealous, mega-caffeinated CIA goons vying for promotion. Quite frankly, what I had to endure, dispensed by the script-sticking zombies at both of your fine and upstanding firms would make the most hardened member of The Third Reich cry out for his Mama.

On the bright side, I sure do know the drill, backwards, forwards and sideways now. "Thank you for calling the new AT&T about your wireless service." Then comes something in Spanish like, "Donde esta el shampoo? Estas ** en la casa? Primero numero dos." Then, of course you get a menu, to which you can respond by pressing the numbers 1 through 4 on the phone keypad, and then finally, you get a real live android on the other end of the line. They ask you, again, for your Cell number, address, last four of your social, name, rank and serial number.

But, before your grunts in the trenches could even utter the repetitive question log, after passing me around your system like a drunken crack ** dwarf at a gang-bang porn shoot, I would clearly, confidently and calmly, restate said data, much to their surprise. They thought I had ESP. That was fun. I was helpful. This, by the way was after three (count 'em, three) trips to the AT&T store.

The only heroes in this nightmare by the way were two Indian expats ** at the AT&T bodega at Varick and Houston in NYC. They were the only people that went way out of their way to try to get to the bottom of my problem and actually help me. For the record, I wasn't even a customer of theirs. They were just being nice guys. And, I walked away with a fabulous chicken vindaloo recipe. All was not lost.

Back to the issue at hand: I have a defective Blackberry 8700c. Not defective as in I dropped it in the toilet while tripping my face off at the Phish concert in Central Park. Not defective from me flinging it out of my window on Exit 11 of the New Jersey Turnpike, doing 80 in a 55, and having it run over by a Smart Car with 18" rims. Not defective in that my chubby pal ** tried to salt, pepper and eat the damn thing, just defective, all by itself. Oh yes, and only one month after the warranty expired. Ain't that a kick in the head?

Thus far, all a relative cakewalk as I'm sure you'll agree. It is at this particular juncture of my story that the real tyranny begins. AT&T refers me to the insurance department. I naively believe this is actually a division of AT&T. That's just ignorance though. I slap myself on the back of the head, Italian-style for being such a stunod. Turns out, things are far worse, it's Asurion, a division of CNA Insurance. (Cue the silent movie villain piano music now.)

AT&T tells me that all I have to do is call, make a quick claim and voila, they'll send me a new replacement phone right away. Simple right? I mean, what could possibly go wrong? I was so relieved. Did I mention that my livelihood is high-pressure sales in the financial sector? Without my Blackberry, my sole connection to the universe, I'm little more than roadkill on the superhighway of life. A shell of a man. A mere shadow in the midst. Um, in other words, totally screwed.

So, I called Asurion. It was a real treat to speak to the folks that I've been paying $4.99 a month to. Made it seem a little less like my hard-earned cash was being sucked into some useless black hole in another dimension. The kind gent on the other end of the line said the same thing. His speech, pretty much verbatim is like this, "Sure. We'll be happy to send a replacement phone to you, Sir. You may want to grab a pen and jot these items down."

"All I'll need is a notarized sworn affidavit and proof loss, a copy of your most recent AT&T wireless bill, a copy of your current driver's license, a valid proof of purchase, a photocopy of your sales receipt (the documents start flying by the sides of my head in various colors like at the end of '2001 A Space Odyssey' when Dave Bowman is zooming through time and space in the Astro-Pod)."

"Te electronic register receipt, the purchase receipt listing the ESN or IMEI and make model, the packing slip, Are you getting all this, Sir? And or a photocopy of the numeric barcode from the side of the box which the phone came in." "Is that it?" I ask. "Oh, and a skin graft from the underside of your left testicle. That will do it, Sir."

At this point it's Tuesday which means I have to beg my wife to dig through her files to find the myriad holy grail of documents that Asurion demands, then find a Notary. (And a licensed Physician as the last time I tried the skin graft procedure on myself for the NJDMV, I made a real mess of things. Here's a tip from your friend **, a sharp, clean blade helps tremendously. Not my finest hour. Let's just leave it at that.)

It will take 2-4 days for Asurion to get my dossier of documents, process them and ship me a replacement phone. That's a week I'm stuck with my defective Blackberry. Or worse still, if it checks out completely, which it keeps threatening, no phone at all!

To make a long story short (Entirely too late for that, I realize) you turkeys are holding me captive and I don't like it! This is going to the Better Business Bureau, The NY State Attorney General, to RIM, the manufacturer of Blackberry and to everyone I know on Facebook and Twitter. Heck, I'm all for sticking it to The Man, as long as The Man is not frigging me!

Kindly resolve this now and reexamine your procedures and methods. Ugh. You have wasted my most precious resource - time. Hours that I'™ll never be able to retrieve. They flew out the window of my 12th floor office and at this pace quite frankly, I'™m ready to join them. I'm sure you behemoth conglomerates couldn't care less about my plight. You might want to keep in mind though that there is safety in numbers and with the technology at hand, mountains can be moved. Harsh letter to follow. An Extremely Unsatisfied Customer.

Replies
Why ATT Wireless Will Lose Me - Poor, Poor, Poor
By -

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- You would think that a company would want to make it easy for one of its customers to easily upgrade, but AT&T Wireless seems to believe otherwise. Two years ago, once my phone contract ended, I switched to pay-as-you-go (PAYG) from monthly. For me, it was great b/c my bill went to $100 per/year (it had been $580; I'm not a heavy cell phone user).

Today, I tried to upgrade to a newer PAYG phone but here's the problem: I just wanted to buy a new phone and switch my current number and account info over to the new phone. But the AT&T store tells me that I have to purchase my new phone on-line; the on-line AT&T folks tell me that I have to purchase that particular phone in the store. Not only that, but if you purchase the phone on line you can only get a new telephone number (can't keep your old one) and new SIM card and new account information. I'm scratching my head because it seems that they don't want to make it easy for you to upgrade.

Now, maybe this is due to some kind of second-class treatment for PAYG users. I have read studies that say that MOST consumers would save money by going to PAYG. There are still lots of people like me who want a mobile phone but we don't use it every day; heck, when I was on contract, I probably used my phone an average of 5-10 minutes per month. So, for all those years I was a great customer b/c I paid and didn't consume AT&T's resources. Now that I'm PAYG, it seems that basic services and conveniences aren't available.

One other point: cell phone plans and rules are, I guess, too complicated for a company's employees to accurately understand and convey. Sometimes, it seems that you can get a different answer for each person you ask a question... but I digress.

Replies
A Bunch Of Crooks!!
By -

For years AT&T was my home phone service and later my cell. I paid for their line backer insurance all those years and one day my phones started acting up. I called AT&T and had them to check the lines and there was a problem with them. They set up a service appointment with me and no one showed up and no one called. I called them to find out what happened and big surprise... they had no record of the order for service. We set up another appointment. I can see this happening once, maybe twice... but FOUR TIMES!!! I have better things to do than sit around waiting for someone who is not going to show up.

Needless to say I was in full rant mode when they heard from me again and they had the nerve to try to get me to go outside and open their box to check the wiring. Right away I knew they would send someone later to say it was tampered with and they were not responsible, not mention the fact that I would be doing their job for them. That was exactly what I told them,"Your people get paid good money to do this job, I'm paying for the service and the insurance and I want someone here to fix the problem!" The next day my phone was disconnected. At first I thought they were sending someone to work on the lines, or maybe the phones just finally stopped working.

I called my number from my cell and it had indeed been cut off. That couldn't be right, I paid the bill. I called AT&T and they claimed they never got my check, they didn't see anything about my having called several times about my phone lines or the four appointments where no one showed up, it showed that my service had been ABANDONED!!! I would have to sign up for new service. They did not want to come out their pocket to fix my lines. I would now have to pay for the repairs myself. So if you're paying for the insurance on your bill, they are stealing it from you.

I got rid of them and their lousy cell service, any time you can't call 911 from your cell for help or anyone else and you've already had dropped calls, garbled conversations or no service signal where you know you should have a signal, it's time to drop them. (AT&T) They don't have time to deal with you and your cell problems until it's time to sign you up for another contract.

Beware when that time is close, your cell will act up more and more and when you call in about the problem, they tell you it's time for an upgrade and tell you as a valued customer you qualify for a certain phone at half the price... but you have to sign another contract. There was nothing wrong with your cell, it was the provider of the service to that cell.

Replies
Unacceptable! Plain and Simple
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- April of 2014 AT&T was replacing a defective phone by gifting me a new phone of another kind. At the time they were out of the one I wanted, so I paid the difference for the upgrade to 32GB. I was told that the phone was mine, but as I'm now cancelling my service contract I've found out that they connected the device to my contract and didn't make me aware of this - I was told the phone was mine, nothing about it being tied to a contract.

I called today to pay my early termination fee, which took me speaking to 2 CS reps and 2 supervisors before they would even take my money, as set up service with another carrier (1/2 the price for more of everything!) and they refuse to unlock my phone. All of the Customer Service reps I spoke with previously this week told me that once I paid it would be unlocked, but omitted the fact that there would be a ridiculous and completely inappropriate wait causing me to be without service.

I have now been told by a supervisor, **, that he "Cannot have me on the line contradicting everything he says." after I stated they "are able to alleviate this, but clearly refuse to.", and then rushed me off the phone as though I was now a waste of his valuable time.

I will not have an unlock code until 5 days from now, preventing me from using my own phone. This is going to cost me as many days with the new carrier, not to mention the 3 days it took me fighting to get this far. All but the last 2 reps I spoke with were, at least, professional. This is the only positive thing I can say about AT&T in my 2.5 years with their service. My $255.00 early termination fee is paid, I owe them nothing and yet my phone, and therefore service, are hostage to AT&T and their asinine "policies"... this took 5.5 hours over the last 3 days of my time, and this is still unresolved.

Replies
Horrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I must admit, after these first comments this review is going to get ugly. However, I will give AT&T credit on the fact that their initial installation in my home was fairly smooth, this includes the internet's performance, which is my main concern in this review. However, when I moved and had a change of address is when the problems began. Starting off with the call to get my services switched to my new location the operator on the other end sent both, the DirecTV installer and the internet installer to my last address.

Secondly, when the installer for my internet showed up they didn't use the correct modem, and for whatever reasons outside of my home, there was a problem with the wires so I had to wait an extra 3 days for a modem to be mailed to me in order for ME to install the modem. And I never got a smooth month of service since.

I constantly have service interruptions, some have been for up to nearly an hour, others shorter. Many of their employees have been in my home to fix it, one tech switched the modem with a replacement, and the the disturbances came fewer and further between, but the fact that I'm paying for disturbances just doesn't sit well with me. They've told me they had people checking on the wiring outside before, but a customer can't really tell if that's being done or not.

Lastly their return policy for equipment is completely unreasonable. I have three pieces of equipment at my home and am more than willing to give this back to AT&T, however they don't send anyone out to take these things back, and will put $150 on your bill per piece of equipment. So I saw a bill that read 661.65 because of this. This "give it to us, but we can't get it" policy is completely unfair to those that are disabled, or those that do not have the means to return the equipment to an AT&T Store, or a UPS Store.

I strongly recommend that if you need internet service not to go to AT&T for service. Based on my experience their customer service is so pleasant, ok, and apologetic is because their overall services are sub-par at best. Stick to Comcast, or I'll take a guess that a local cheaper place is better quality-wise. I could go on about their billing but if you need to know, I dare you to try them out. I know I'm sorry I did.

Replies
Horrible Phone Company - Horrible Customer Service!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YAZOO CITY, MISSISSIPPI -- I've lived in thirteen different states and four countries and deal with a number of phone companies. Believe me when I say that AT&T is the worst! There is nothing good for me to say about AT&T Corp. in general or specifically with their telephone service or Internet service.

We've been a customer this time since July 2011 and from the outset it has been a nightmare. Worse yet, when you call no one can help you. Customer Service Reps are limited in their ability and their authority and supervisors are never available. They tell you a supervisor will get back to you but they never do. When they give you a phone number to call for assistance, mysteriously the phone number doesn't work. Online service is no better. We know as we've tried both.

Our problems with AT&T are ongoing. We live in Mississippi and whenever it rains, there is an awful buzzing on our telephone line in on both incoming and outgoing calls that gets so loud we can't hear anything but the buzzing. Though, we have reported over at least a half a dozen times, and repairmen come out to look at it, and know what the problem is, it has yet to be repaired.

Our newest problem is with billing. This past summer we called Customer Service to see why our monthly bill for phone and Internet keeps going up. We were given a new and reduced monthly package rate for both phone and internet to take effect October 2013 and run for twelve months. Funny though, how each month we receive a bill that doesn't reflect the new rate. Every month we have to call AT&T to get our bill reduced and no one can tell us why the new rate didn't take effect. We are subject to long hold times and have yet to get this resolved. Each time we called we hoped it was the last call, but it wasn't. Our last bill of January 2014 still didn't reflect the new rate.

In an act of desperation, we filed complaints with the State Utility Commission, the FCC, the TX AT&T Corp. Office and our federal government reps. Today, a contact in the Escalation Depart called us. Imagine, in order to get attention to our ongoing complaints we had to file a formal complaint. Nice, huh?

A word of advice: if you can go with another phone and internet provider other than with AT&T, go with the other option. We used AT&T for years in CA and Co for long distance service without issue. However, as a local telephone and internet provider, they have a lot to learn about providing proper service and customer service. Our internet goes in and out and is not as fast and reliable as the service we had for four years with Qwest in MN. We once had Yahoo before AT&T acquired them and they were so much better.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >