Preview Review

Next Review

AT&T Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a couple of cell phones, a tablet and landline service from AT&T for a business I started in May '15. From the beginning I requested combined billing, it took AT&T 7 months, Dec 28th '15, to get the process started and another 4 months to complete. I received my first combined bill 04/16/16, a full year after requesting combined billing. During that time, I could not use the myatt app due to different account types (landline/cell phone) so I was told to use the online website att.smb.com. Well after numerous hours on the phone with tech support I was told I would not be able to log in there either until the combined billing was set up.

So I was not receiving a paper bill, could not view it online, my only option was to call in and speak to a representative to pay my bill. Well evidently my Jan. and Feb '16 payments were never applied to my account and so I received a disconnect notice in March. I called in March 15th, 17th, and 18th trying to figure out what the mixup was, I had called in every month and made full payment based on what the representative said I owed. But to prevent my service from being disconnected on 03/18/16 I made a payment of $201.82.

Meanwhile the representative said they would look into the missing payments, but that my account was current until the next billing cycle 04/16/16. Instead, 2 weeks later I get another disconnect notice. I call in again on 04/04/16 make a payment of $165.49. Once again the representative assures me that my account is current, $0 balance until my next billing cycle 04/16/16.

Once again I get another disconnect notice so I call in and on 04/19/16 make another payment of $283.84 and the representative assures me my account is current until the next billing cycle 05/16/16, and to ignore it if I get another disconnect notice and that I should just wait for my next bill which will be sent out 05/16/16. So that's what I did and the service was disconnected on 05/02/16. I called in and made another payment of $208.11 and the phone service was restored. My 05/16/16 bill comes with over $560 in credits and adjustments, which were not credits, actually Jan. and Feb. payments they failed to apply to my account.

Now I get my June bill and there is a $48.17 charge for a reconnect fee. The service would have never been disconnected if AT&T had applied the payments to my account, what kind of company holds their customers responsible for their mistakes?

I have been an AT&T customer for almost 10 years and up until this last year didn't have any problems. But this last year the customer service is worse than abysmal. I have spent so many hours on the phone with AT&T doing everything possible to keep this account current, my business depends on it, only to have AT&T reps continually screw it up. AT&T fails at simple things, 7 months to start the combined billing process and 4 months to actually complete. I had a tablet that I sold in Sep. '15 and asked for the service to be canceled, that didn't happen until March of '16.

I wasn't getting a paper bill, could not log in online to view my bill, so my only option was to pay what the representative said I owe. I made 3 payments in 30 days, based on what the reps said, each time I was assured my account was current and each time I received a disconnect notice in 1-2 weeks following the payment. Terrible customer service! If you are looking for a phone service provider for your business, stay away from AT&T. The amount of time I have spent on the phone dealing with their incompetence and loss of phone service, due to their incompetence, has resulted in a loss of business that I may never recoup.

Replies
Advertisement
Awful Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

So last year I went in to buy a new Samsung Galaxy and yay for me there was a promotion going on and I would receive a new tablet. I just had to add it to my line for 10 dollars a month!! Of course they didn't have any in stock and would call in two weeks when it got there. Long story short it never got there. I called and went in to speak with someone in management that might be able to help me but no matter if I called or went in the manager was already gone for the day!!! This went on for months until I finally got mad enough to go and switch over to T-Mobile!

Oh yeah and don't let me forget to mention that I was an AT&T customer for over 20 years. I took over my grandfather's account when he passed. So I go ahead and switch over. I ported both of my numbers over and completely forgot that I had my old iPad on the line when I was getting charged 10 dollars a month for. I realized this tonight when I opened a bill that I didn't understand why I had because I thought the account was cancelled. The bill was for 103.00 dollar!!! They had taken my 7gb plan I obviously purchased for my phones and attached it to my iPad plan.

I had already gotten charged this for two months before I realized this tonight and called the customer service number to see if it could possibly be waived. Oh was I in for a one hour phone of the AT&T customer service employees playing the "keep the customer on hold" game. I talked to 4 different people! Each were working in the cancellation department which I guess they just try to find the biggest jerks to be rude to all people that want to cancel or have cancelled.

At one point I said to a gentleman "What type of customer service do you provide to customers when they call in and tell you they have had a bad experience with the company?" His response "When you say 'provide customer service' that's me giving or providing you with something and I'm not understanding what you're asking for." And later during the conversation I was speaking with a lady about making a formal complaint and I was explaining my situation and at one point she says "So you left a line on the plan an iPad and now you are asking us to waive the charge? Well ma'am at some time we have to take responsibility for our actions".

Seriously the worst customer service I have ever encountered! I can honestly say "AT&T you're doing it wrong!!!" At some point I may get to a point where I want to cancel with T-Mobile but I can say that I will NEVER go back to AT&T due to this awful experience that I have had to deal with. I've seen more than a few bad reviews for AT&T and how awful their customer service is and I hope that the right person sees these and helps this business out. Please find some employees with better customer service skills!

Replies
Very DISHONEST company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- I have been an AT&T customer for over 4 years. When I switched to AT&T the sales person used very high pressure sales tactics to sell my husband and I on a road service package. She told us stories of how the road side service came in handy for her. Afterwards my husband was sold. He was thinking of me and our children. I wasn't quite so convinced. We ended up accepting the roadside package and shortly after my husband ended up needing a jump start. Having the roadside plan worked great for him so we kept it.

Fast forward 4 + years and we found ourselves in a situation where we needed another jump start. We called #Help and explained that we needed a jump start. The battery was dead and we were in a car with our baby in the freezing cold with 2 phones that were about to also go dead. At first we were told that no tow companies were coming up in our area. We live in a very large township. We were near a mall in a large shopping center with several tow company's close by. The service agent asked us for the name of a towing company seems to how she wasn't finding any.

Next we were told that we would have to pay for the jump start because we had already used the service once and had reached the cap!!! I have been paying AT&T every month for over 4 years for road service. 4 YEARS! The charges are per phone! I have never used the roadside and my husband used it one time over 4 years ago! AT&T failed us. They were leaving us in a car in the freezing cold, unable to use the heat and with a baby in the car.

Luckily AAA came to our rescue and in approximately 10 minutes! They will gain a new customer as a result of their prompt and professional customer service. I contacted AT&T to tell them how dissatisfied I am with their service. The customer service representative was very nice but he was unable to authorize a credit. I asked for a supervisor but the supervisor did not get on the phone. Instead he offered, through the agent, a 90-day credit, or $9.00. Not acceptable!

After 45+ minutes on the phone with them, their supervisor, Eli finally got on the phone but then only offered me a $3.00 credit! Yes, $3.00! He was offering a 1-month credit for the service they charged me for despite not providing the services. When he offered 30 days I responded by saying that $6 was not acceptable to which he replied, "It's actually $3!" I've paid for this service on 2 phones, not 1 and again... for over 4 years. He thought I should be happy with a $3 refund. He then told me to call a third party, the company they contract out to, and dispute the charges with them. I do not send a payment to this third party, my payment is to AT&T.

I do not see how Eli believes this should be my problem. After 45 minutes of getting nowhere I asked to speak with his manager. I was told that a manager would call me in 48-72 hours. When I asked for his manager's name a first name only was given and Eli refused to give me a last name. AT&T lost a customer tonight. I am in total shock at how terribly Eli handled this situation.

Replies
Employees Do Not Know Products They Sell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILLOW GROVE, PENNSYLVANIA -- Representatives in Willow Grove, PA sold me insurance on my phone telling me that if anything happened to the phone, similar to the coverage Sprint offers, the phone would be replaced. They did not tell me there would be a $200 deductible! I have been paying $8 each month to cover accidents or theft. Instead I encounter a mechanical issue, the battery continuously disconnects and resets the phone, one month after the manufacturer's warranty.

When I went to the store, they had me wait twenty five minutes for a representative just to tell me to call Asurion. The Asurion representative told me my product is a Tier D, which means $199 deductible. (Seven months that I paid this year for insurance and $23 each for the phone, I have already paid close to $300 for the phone.)

The woman with Asurion was the opposite of helpful saying that is what insurance is, paying monthly premiums and a deductible to insure your valuables. I said I know what insurance is but it has to relate to the value of the products and how much is paid down. She was obviously not going to listen nor assist in making the problem go away.

The last representative with AT&T attempted to make it right by removing the insurance on my phone and providing a $25 credit to my account. I still have a broken phone with 17 months left to pay it off from the 30. I had asked to be contacted by a regional or district manager but will not be holding my breath. I am stuck with AT&T unless I want to pay off my phone and the early termination fee, totaling near $500.

Replies
Advertisement
Paying $$$ for but Not Receiving Service From AT&T
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DECATUR, ILLINOIS -- After 10 years of being a loyal customer of AT&T I am completely frustrated with the Service I am NOT RECEIVING!!! And the runaround from Customer Service!!! I am self-employed and use AT&T as my Service Carrier. I am not unable to use my Data while I am at work, nor am I able to access my voice mail messages. I have constant dropped calls and it is difficult for people to talk with me or for them to hear me while on a phone conversation. I have lost business because of this lack of service from AT&T.

I have contacted their Service department numerous times, Spent HOURS with them, have reset my phone. Have purchased a new phone which reset my contract (Cost me more $$$). I have talked to Technicians which have told me that they can't do anything for me and they set me up with a case worker and engineer... The Case worker left me a message saying “The service in my area was limited and this is unfortunate!!!” (I did not sign up for limited service and I find this unacceptable).

My Case # **. The Case worker's Name I was given is Adam **, his number is **. I have called and left several messages, but have not received a returned phone call. I have been paying for a service I am not receiving and the service department will not let me out of my contract because they say that is the case worker's job. The case worker has not returned my calls. Does anyone have any suggestions for me??? Or is anyone having similar problems with AT&T??? PLEASE POST resolutions. I've Lost Time and Money also have Lost Confidence with AT&T's lack Service and Commitment!!!!!!!!

Replies
AT&T Is Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- Joining AT&T this month was the worse thing that happened to me. After calling AT&T to inquire about their Internet, I finally decided to give them a try. Let me make the long story short. After all the calls for weeks and unnecessary headaches, the Internet was installed. A few days ago I received a bill that said $71 when I was told my monthly bill will be $37. I called them, just to be told that the $33 was number one of 3 payments I have to pay for their installation. I asked "what installation?" Just to be told they charge $99.

I asked them why I was not told about the fee until today. The guy said "I don't know but you have to pay". I said "you guys should have told me about the fee the first day so I was going to decide if I could afford it or not or go with another provider." I told them that they are forcing the fee on me. I asked to talk to the supervisor. He told me it doesn't matter who I talk to that I must pay the $99. I still insisted so after putting me on hold forever, a lady came on the line saying she was the manager and couldn't even see reasons with me. I feel like I have been scammed. AT&T is terrible.

Replies
Late Billing to Customers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- AT&T is breaking all laws by sending bills due in seven days and we should be given a two-week notice to pay said bill. My Uverse Internet bill is not getting to me until six or seven days before it is due. This is unfair especially to seniors who have disabilities and do not jump up and run whenever someone wants us to, we cannot. AT&T is required by law to give us a two-week window. They are causing me great distress by doing this. It means I have to rush the next day to the POST OFFICE TO MAIL THIS IN TIME TO GET BACK TO THEM.

In Memphis TN we have no mailboxes anymore. We have to go to the PO to mail letters and that is inconvenient to everyone. I pay my home phone and cell phone online. I got that bill yesterday Sept 9, and is not due until 24. I can set that up to pay ahead of time at my choosing date, so why is the UVERSE INTERNET BILL NOT SENT OUT AHEAD OF TIME. You are breaking laws and you had better not ever send me A LATE BILL BECAUSE OF YOUR INCOMPETENT SERVICES.

Update 03/14/2016:

Again my AT&T has not reached me by mail and it is due around 23 they should have had it to me two weeks before due, now my online bill from them has not come up either on the net. I am sick of busting my butt to get to post office to mail it back to them before its due. Apparently they could care less so if this does not work I am contacting BBB

Replies
RIP-OFF
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I switched from Verizon Wireless (another rip-off) in February of this year, transferring five lines. I called today to transfer a tablet to my plan that would add another $10 to my monthly plan. They told me that they needed to check my payment history, which I gladly authorized. Then I was told that "the system" requires a $150 deposit from me to add another line, that they would "return" in 12 months! AT&T apparently operates just like Verizon. I would rather have the tablet sit in a draw unused than let AT&T extort money from me.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- EVERY single AT&T employee I spoke with misled me, diverted questions, transferred me back and forth and generally read ridiculous scripts that didn't even make sense. I tried to work with them to get the right plan for my usage - more lies, diversions, and transfers. NEVER AGAIN.

Replies
They Lie About Their Service and Its Inclusions and Then AT&T Tries to Gaff You for 24 Months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JACKSON, CALIFORNIA -- Your AT&T employees misrepresent and lie to its customers. I went into an actual AT&T store on the 17th of July 2013 and bought a mi-fi device which I had to pay $49 for and sign a 2-year contract. I asked the representative to sign me up for a 3 GB plan, and for some reason I noticed when I got home that I was signed up for 5 GB instead. I was also prorated to pay an extra 6 dollars or so on my next bill, because for some reason my billing cycle started on the 19th of June and not the 17th.

While at the AT&T store, I was also very clearly told that I could at any time downgrade my service to any of the other plans from 10 Gigabytes, to 3 Gigs, to 500, and finally down to 250 MB. Now 3 months later and the data being sucked up while I sleep, I decided to downgrade the Mi-Fi plan to 250 MB and get home internet service instead, while I would still pay the $14.99 a month for their lowest plan.

So I got my home internet from AT&T BTW, and I call their customer service on 21 of October 2013 (Monday) to try to save some money, while I try and do the right thing and fulfill my contract. I tried to cancel on the 19th right before my next billing cycle but they are closed on weekends. I called because I wanted to downgrade my service and use what data amount I thought was appropriate. Come to find out the information that I received at the AT&T office in Jackson, CA was wrong. The plan, which I was offered apparently is only available for tablets, not mi-fi the lady on the phone told me.

When I told her that their company's representatives are misleading and not telling the truth, she told me to drive back to that Jackson, CA (which is almost 100 miles and talk to their manager, and tell them to train their employees better). So now I have to do the job that AT&T managers should be doing and I should pay $ and time for the mistakes their reps make. And there's nothing the customer representative could do, so I ask her to cancel my service then, because I wasn't going to pay $50 for a service that I wasn't going to use. She said she couldn't do that for me and then she transferred me again to someone who had the capability to cancel my service.

SO I was put on hold for another 20 minutes and another customer relations expert answers the phone with no capability of doing anything to help me either, except he said he could change my plan and change it into a mobile device plan where I could pay $14.99 a month, but "I would not be able to use my mi-fi device", meaning I would be paying $15 dollars until July 2015 for no services offered whatsoever.

So I asked, whether I would be able to exchange my mi-fi device for a mobile device and still continue using their service while paying the proposed $14.99. He said "No, your 14 day grace period has expired." I asked whether my cancellation fee could be waived and he said "unfortunately no" for 100th time. I swear their training consists of saying "unfortunately" in front of every word. So I stopped negotiating and said that I just want to cancel and am would not like to take advantage of his awesome offer of $14.99 because me paying that amount would amount to $315 by the time my contract expires vs. the $138 cancellation fee/penalty.

How does that do anything to help me out? When they should have stood by their word and at least trained their staff properly. Then, ** the customer relations expert also says that I would be charged for an extra month through Nov. 19 because I called 2 days after my billing cycle started. I asked him to prorate it and he said they can't do that, they have no such capability. Then I called him out of it and said that they charged me with a prorated amount in the beginning why, so don't tell me there's no such thing as prorating.

So he said he'll look into it and only charge my for 2 days of this billing cycles, after he attempted to lie to me and say that they work on the weekend. I called on the weekend and the machine told me to call during the work day. This is ridiculous, they just straight out lie to you to get their money from you. They lie to me to get me signed up, they lie to me to try to make me pay $15 a month for no service, they lie to me and say they can't prorate to get an extra $50 out of me and they lie to me, saying they can't stand up for their representatives lying to me and waiving my fee. Then they call me a valued customer.

Please waive my cancellation fee, because I deserve to be told what I'm buying and signing up for. I deserve to be told the truth. I will continue writing people to try to get the customer service and services I was promised or you also should have to hold up your side of the contract. It's not one sided, you should also be responsible for your employees not telling the truth. Thank you in advance.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AT&T Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 60 ratings and
179 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AT&T
208 S. Akard St.
Dallas, TX 75202-2233
210-821-4105 (ph)
210-351-2071 (fax)
www.att.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services