Preview Review

Next Review

AT&T Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a couple of cell phones, a tablet and landline service from AT&T for a business I started in May '15. From the beginning I requested combined billing, it took AT&T 7 months, Dec 28th '15, to get the process started and another 4 months to complete. I received my first combined bill 04/16/16, a full year after requesting combined billing. During that time, I could not use the myatt app due to different account types (landline/cell phone) so I was told to use the online website att.smb.com. Well after numerous hours on the phone with tech support I was told I would not be able to log in there either until the combined billing was set up.

So I was not receiving a paper bill, could not view it online, my only option was to call in and speak to a representative to pay my bill. Well evidently my Jan. and Feb '16 payments were never applied to my account and so I received a disconnect notice in March. I called in March 15th, 17th, and 18th trying to figure out what the mixup was, I had called in every month and made full payment based on what the representative said I owed. But to prevent my service from being disconnected on 03/18/16 I made a payment of $201.82.

Meanwhile the representative said they would look into the missing payments, but that my account was current until the next billing cycle 04/16/16. Instead, 2 weeks later I get another disconnect notice. I call in again on 04/04/16 make a payment of $165.49. Once again the representative assures me that my account is current, $0 balance until my next billing cycle 04/16/16.

Once again I get another disconnect notice so I call in and on 04/19/16 make another payment of $283.84 and the representative assures me my account is current until the next billing cycle 05/16/16, and to ignore it if I get another disconnect notice and that I should just wait for my next bill which will be sent out 05/16/16. So that's what I did and the service was disconnected on 05/02/16. I called in and made another payment of $208.11 and the phone service was restored. My 05/16/16 bill comes with over $560 in credits and adjustments, which were not credits, actually Jan. and Feb. payments they failed to apply to my account.

Now I get my June bill and there is a $48.17 charge for a reconnect fee. The service would have never been disconnected if AT&T had applied the payments to my account, what kind of company holds their customers responsible for their mistakes?

I have been an AT&T customer for almost 10 years and up until this last year didn't have any problems. But this last year the customer service is worse than abysmal. I have spent so many hours on the phone with AT&T doing everything possible to keep this account current, my business depends on it, only to have AT&T reps continually screw it up. AT&T fails at simple things, 7 months to start the combined billing process and 4 months to actually complete. I had a tablet that I sold in Sep. '15 and asked for the service to be canceled, that didn't happen until March of '16.

I wasn't getting a paper bill, could not log in online to view my bill, so my only option was to pay what the representative said I owe. I made 3 payments in 30 days, based on what the reps said, each time I was assured my account was current and each time I received a disconnect notice in 1-2 weeks following the payment. Terrible customer service! If you are looking for a phone service provider for your business, stay away from AT&T. The amount of time I have spent on the phone dealing with their incompetence and loss of phone service, due to their incompetence, has resulted in a loss of business that I may never recoup.

Replies
Advertisement
Awful Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

So last year I went in to buy a new Samsung Galaxy and yay for me there was a promotion going on and I would receive a new tablet. I just had to add it to my line for 10 dollars a month!! Of course they didn't have any in stock and would call in two weeks when it got there. Long story short it never got there. I called and went in to speak with someone in management that might be able to help me but no matter if I called or went in the manager was already gone for the day!!! This went on for months until I finally got mad enough to go and switch over to T-Mobile!

Oh yeah and don't let me forget to mention that I was an AT&T customer for over 20 years. I took over my grandfather's account when he passed. So I go ahead and switch over. I ported both of my numbers over and completely forgot that I had my old iPad on the line when I was getting charged 10 dollars a month for. I realized this tonight when I opened a bill that I didn't understand why I had because I thought the account was cancelled. The bill was for 103.00 dollar!!! They had taken my 7gb plan I obviously purchased for my phones and attached it to my iPad plan.

I had already gotten charged this for two months before I realized this tonight and called the customer service number to see if it could possibly be waived. Oh was I in for a one hour phone of the AT&T customer service employees playing the "keep the customer on hold" game. I talked to 4 different people! Each were working in the cancellation department which I guess they just try to find the biggest jerks to be rude to all people that want to cancel or have cancelled.

At one point I said to a gentleman "What type of customer service do you provide to customers when they call in and tell you they have had a bad experience with the company?" His response "When you say 'provide customer service' that's me giving or providing you with something and I'm not understanding what you're asking for." And later during the conversation I was speaking with a lady about making a formal complaint and I was explaining my situation and at one point she says "So you left a line on the plan an iPad and now you are asking us to waive the charge? Well ma'am at some time we have to take responsibility for our actions".

Seriously the worst customer service I have ever encountered! I can honestly say "AT&T you're doing it wrong!!!" At some point I may get to a point where I want to cancel with T-Mobile but I can say that I will NEVER go back to AT&T due to this awful experience that I have had to deal with. I've seen more than a few bad reviews for AT&T and how awful their customer service is and I hope that the right person sees these and helps this business out. Please find some employees with better customer service skills!

Replies
DirecTV/AT&T Absurd Policies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCHESTER, NEW YORK -- My housemate moves out, and I now want to get a DirecTV account in my name, after he cancels the current account in his name. Because I have lived in the house for a number of years while his DirecTV account was active, AT&T will not allow me to open a new account in my name at the same address. This, according to them, is because "I benefited from their service while I was a resident at this address, and in order to open a new account in your name at that same address, the current account must be canceled for two years before your new account can be opened."

Now, if you just said "what?", you had the same reaction as me. "So, let me get this straight" I said, "if I lied to you, and said I was a new tenant just moving in to this address, I could get a new DirecTV account in my name, but because I have established a long term residency here, I am not able to get the same account as I could if just moved in five minutes ago?" "Yes Sir, that is our policy."

"So, what you're telling me is, rather than taking my money every month for the next two years of the required contract, you want me to hang up the phone, cancel the current account, and call your competition, Dish network, and give them my money for the next two years. Am I really understanding you correctly?" "Sir, as I stated, AT&T, and DirecTV cannot allow you to secure new service at your current address for the next two years."

Dear AT&T, your policy is beyond ridiculous, and you have ensured one thing; I will never buy ANY AT&T product, or service. Rather than try to negotiate a new price (your customer retention dept. called me after the fact) to keep the current DirecTV service in place, I will in fact cancel it. I will also share this enlightening customer service experience on every consumer complaint website I can find.

Replies
Lousy Service and Impossible to Deal With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- This company provides lousy service and is almost impossible to deal with. I signed up for their package of telephone, Internet and DirecTV. I promised fast Internet service. My Internet service was extremely slow and, at sometimes, essentially nonfunctional. I called their number several times and complain about the service. Calling the company was, and of itself, consistently a bad experience. I would spend a lot of time waiting and sometimes my call simply would be dropped. When I did make contact, I would be reassured that my service was functioning properly and there must be something wrong with my computer or something associated with it.

Finally, I agreed to upgrade my service so I could get faster Internet service. After that, I did not notice any significant improvement in my service. When I called next, they said they were going to send a technician out to see if they could find a problem. Having a technician arrive is entirely another problem. You have to pick a three-hour period in which the technician can arrive and then you have to be available for 3 hours after he or she arrives.

Basically, you have to commit the be available for 6 hours, which is a ridiculous requirement for anybody who holds a gainful employment. I had a tech come out on 2 occasions with no significant improvement in my service. Accordingly, after 3 or 4 months of service, I cancel my service and went back to the local cable company. After all that crappy service, AT&T hit me with termination charges of $340 for DirecTV and $135 for AT&T for a total of $475. I called and talked to a representative complaining about the termination charges after such lousy service, but he would not back down and kept saying that that's what I agreed to.

Replies
Advertisement
Wasting My Time and Jeopardizing My Security
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GALVESTON, TEXAS -- Have had problems with security system. Am annoyed that problems are due to faulty equipment and due to improperly placed cameras. System is in my vacation home and can not get out often, waste hours on phone, and despite records of system not working since Day One and that I have called, my cameras have been triggered every minute and can not use it.

Now that they must return for the faulty equipment in which my home has not been secure for months due to unsticking of sensors they want to charge me to move my camera! They can see from the history that I called after installation and I could not coordinate times with them. I have just lived with it. Now that I have NO SECURITY because the cheap stickers on sensors have fallen off, now I have no choice but to take a day off work to go to the home. But of course they want to charge for the cheap sensors and to move my camera. Common sense -- check my record -- but NO!

I have to deal with their crap for hours on phone, etc. Thanks for telling me my contract is over in a month after I told you if it is not to my satisfaction that I can go with someone else!! I was up till 2 a.m. with Security trying to secure my alarms alone in my home. Woke and started over again for hours in the a.m. AT&T HAS NO CONSIDERATION OF THEIR CUSTOMERS' TIME AND NO VALUE FOR THEIR TIME!!!

Replies
Most Disrespectful Company Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- Best advice anyone can give is to stay away from AT&T. I know all the major service providers cram bills with fraudulent charges and make false promises and always charge for the month after your service is already cancelled and it's always the same nonsense "honest mistake" but let me warn you this company is the worst. They won't work with you. They will make it as hard as possible to receive your refund. The customer service honestly, I wouldn't call it customer service. Whatever it is they have, it the most unethically responsible practices in the business. You will regret this decision eventually. You have been warned.

Replies
Line Install Crews
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am not, nor ever will be an AT&T customer but I have a complaint. Their very INEPT line installation crew has cut the Charter cable line in our neighborhood leaving most of the neighborhood without Charter cable service. When the crew was notified of this they looked at us like they didn't understand anything and then proceeded to take a lengthy smoke break. Meanwhile we are still paying our cable bills without any service all because someone was careless and clueless. Just getting fed up with other people's mistakes costing me money. AT&T needs to better equip and educate their installation crews on how to properly do their jobs.

Replies
Employees Do Not Know Products They Sell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILLOW GROVE, PENNSYLVANIA -- Representatives in Willow Grove, PA sold me insurance on my phone telling me that if anything happened to the phone, similar to the coverage Sprint offers, the phone would be replaced. They did not tell me there would be a $200 deductible! I have been paying $8 each month to cover accidents or theft. Instead I encounter a mechanical issue, the battery continuously disconnects and resets the phone, one month after the manufacturer's warranty.

When I went to the store, they had me wait twenty five minutes for a representative just to tell me to call Asurion. The Asurion representative told me my product is a Tier D, which means $199 deductible. (Seven months that I paid this year for insurance and $23 each for the phone, I have already paid close to $300 for the phone.)

The woman with Asurion was the opposite of helpful saying that is what insurance is, paying monthly premiums and a deductible to insure your valuables. I said I know what insurance is but it has to relate to the value of the products and how much is paid down. She was obviously not going to listen nor assist in making the problem go away.

The last representative with AT&T attempted to make it right by removing the insurance on my phone and providing a $25 credit to my account. I still have a broken phone with 17 months left to pay it off from the 30. I had asked to be contacted by a regional or district manager but will not be holding my breath. I am stuck with AT&T unless I want to pay off my phone and the early termination fee, totaling near $500.

Replies
Advertisement
RIP-OFF
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I switched from Verizon Wireless (another rip-off) in February of this year, transferring five lines. I called today to transfer a tablet to my plan that would add another $10 to my monthly plan. They told me that they needed to check my payment history, which I gladly authorized. Then I was told that "the system" requires a $150 deposit from me to add another line, that they would "return" in 12 months! AT&T apparently operates just like Verizon. I would rather have the tablet sit in a draw unused than let AT&T extort money from me.

Replies
Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- EVERY single AT&T employee I spoke with misled me, diverted questions, transferred me back and forth and generally read ridiculous scripts that didn't even make sense. I tried to work with them to get the right plan for my usage - more lies, diversions, and transfers. NEVER AGAIN.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AT&T Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 65 ratings and
184 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AT&T
208 S. Akard St.
Dallas, TX 75202-2233
210-821-4105 (ph)
210-351-2071 (fax)
www.att.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services