Preview Review

Next Review

Bank of America Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Don't Bank Here
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WASHINGTON, MARYLAND -- I recently had to close my savings and checkings account with this bank. They don't give you a grace period for overdraft fees. So they say that I you get a 5 day grace period to bring your account up to date. They also told me that I have a protection plan that will cover my accounts if I was overdrawn. What a joke. They did not only hit me with a $35 penalty but added on another $70 which made the penalty $105 with no 5 day grace period.

They also take out $30 maintenance fees out of each account each month which I knew nothing about. The money that they swiped out of my account I did not get back. This bank is so frustrating to deal with. They will rob you blind. And don't get a customer service representative on the phone to deal with the situation. Such a headache. They won't fix the problem. They will just keep transferring you to different people until you eventually give in and hang up the phone. I give the BOA a 0 star.

Replies
Advertisement
Sold My Mortgage And Then Cashed Forged Flood Insurance Checks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK -- It started 3 years ago, my husband died and the mortgage was in his name but the deed in both of ours. I gave them everything they asked for and wouldn't put mortgage in my name. I paid every month and then hurricane Irene happened. My house got destroyed. I put all my husband's life insurance into my home so we can live there. I became behind on my mortgage but was waiting on the insurance check and then I'd be current.

Well, hurricane Sandy came and I don't have a house anymore. My 4 year old and I just moved back a month before to be evacuated again. All this time BOA will not talk to me cause I'm not on the mortgage but insurance on the house is in my name. February 2013 happens and I have $44,000 in checks for Irene and about $100,000 for Sandy. The bank refused the checks and said the house was gone so they definitely couldn't accept Irenes checks cause they couldn't inspect the work. I have have receipts they don't care.

Now, I find out they served a residence I lived 10 years earlier foreclosure papers, that they said were delivered to me. Never happened, I didn't get them. We have been fighting back and forth so BOA decided to sell my mortgage to Nationstar as of June 1, 2013. I just found out on March 24th 2013 BOA got my insurance checks reissued to them (needs a dual endorsement) and cashed them through Wells Fargo bank without my signature - and I didn't even know about it. They didn't inform me, my lawyer found out.

So they got almost $100,000.00 and they didn't even own my mortgage anymore. Wouldn't take the checks so I would've been current but made me struggle all year. I couldn't even get help from the city cause I wasn't current… what can I do??? Finally they handed the money over to Nationstar but they're saying they didn't have to tell me and they don't have to put it in escrow or have my name on it? What the hell, am I in the twilight zone... I paid years for that insurance to help me and I'm getting screwed.

Replies
They Lost TWO Deposits!
By -

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- Hi there, my name is **. We have a nightmare to relate about Bank Of America deposits being "lost". It all started about a month ago when I decided to sign my $2500 loan check out to my husband's bank account. We deposited the money in the ATM and thought nothing more of it. We had done this same transaction dozens of times with no problem.

Then came the note in his account that, "Payee not on account". Thinking that it was a simple mistake, we went to the bank branch to work it out. There, we found out that they claimed to have already mailed the check back. Only they didn't know if they had mailed it back to us, or to the issuer. So we had to wait to receive the check, which wasn't going to be easy to stop or to reissue.

The check never arrived at either destination. Fortunately, we had contacted the issuer, paid the stop-payment fee, and paid to be reissued the check. (not to mention paying on a bounced money transfer to India!) They asked us to mail them the cancelled check should we ever receive it. We never did. So we changed the account to reflect my name as well as my husband's. We were assured that this could never happen again.

Three weeks later I deposited my daughter's Social Security check. It was to be paid in my name. I was clearly the payee. So I signed the check, and deposited it in the ATM. Four days after that, we again received the same note, "payee not on account". Hoping to God that they didn't send this check out, I called the bank, only to receive a callous note that my name on the account had been erroneously put as ** instead of **, and that screwup meant that the check in the name of ** was rejected. OK, so the check would again be sent to us, and we would simply re-deposit it, right?

WRONG. Not only did the check never arrive, but according to Social Security, it had been cashed in another state outside Illinois. The bank refused to take responsibility, and white SS will issue another check, I don't know what I will do about the one which was cashed. I did, after all, sign it! Thinking that it was going to be deposited into OUR account, I never thought that the Bank of America would LOSE it and that someone, possibly an employee of that same bank (after all, if it had been "lost in the mail", wouldn't it have been cashed here in IL??) might actually steal the deposit outright.

After speaking numerous times with officials at the office of the CEO of Bank of America, we have still never received any satisfaction. Nobody is admitting to any wrongdoing, and I may have to pay that money back to social security. I am really upset about this, as it is the second time in less than 30 days that it has happened. Obviously, something bad is going on at Bank Of America!

The contact information is this: I first talked to the manager at Bank of America IL1-111-01-01, 963 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657. (773) 244-3093. Then after getting a pretty snotty response, I called: ** (pronounced **) ** at CEO of BOA (813) 882-1142. Then spoke to Leilani Southern, same CEO of BOA at (704) 386-5687.

** reimbursed us for the many fees we encountered after the $2500 fiasco. But he refuses to acknowledge BOA's fault in losing and/or stealing our social security check. Leilani Southern was very obliging, and she said she would get back to me. She never did. And that's where things stand. The scary part is that I wonder how many other customers have lost deposits to BOA?

Replies
Bank of America Has Not Given Me the Right 1098
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VISALIA, CALIFORNIA -- A few days ago, I have received 2 corrected 1098 from Bank of America (BofA) for years 2010 and 2011. I have reviewed my 2010 and 2011 monthly statements. What I have received recently from BofA for these two years is not correct because my yearly payment is less than the interest that BofA is claiming in the 1098s. In addition, the monthly statements show that almost 1/2 of my monthly payment is principal and my principal is decreased. BofA is not responding to me. What should I do? What division in BofA I need to contact? Should I involve an attorney with this issue? If so, what kind of attorney?

Replies
Advertisement
Bank of America Is Accepting Scam Monies in an Account That Leaves the Country
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

DON'T KNOW, NEW JERSEY -- Bank of America (in two different states) has been notified that one of their account holders is scamming women and the money if going into their account in New Jersey and leaving the country to a UK (thought to be Turkey) country. More than $13,000 between two women has been scammed and deposited into the account. This is fraud, money laundering, unreported income and can be terrorist related. Who knows? Their comment is to call the FBI.

They should look into this and close the account. Put a warning on the name holder of the account which is foreign. You sure flag accounts that you lose a few dollars with. It will not stop the scammer but will slow him down. Turkey and it could be (Ghana, Africa) is on the banking watch lists for receiving and sending money to. Is there proof... well the money is gone and the phone numbers for the individual are international. Consent given or not it is fraud and B of A is aiding in it by letting them filter the money through their accounts.

Replies
It Was Exhausting and Not Pleasant at All
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- On Oct 3, 2013 we phoned BOA for a copy of a release letter for an auto lien. We paid off an auto with them in April 2008. Well, spoke to a very rude person in the Lien dept. She took my information and our $20 for the letter. As of this date October 25, 2013, we still don't have the letter. I phoned several times and cannot get anyone to tell me where or when my letter was supposedly mailed. First call on the 14th (call ctr) the person said there was no request made on the 3rd for the lien release letter.

He found the withdrawal for the $20, but no ticket for the letter. So, he put a request in and said that they would expedite it ASAP. Still no letter and it is 25th. We traded the auto in and bought a new one. A few weeks later we received a letter from DMV that there is a lien on the title; BOA. We have been trying to resolve this for a month. Would like my damn letter.

Replies
Terrible Bank to Do Business With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLIO, MICHIGAN -- I had a home equity line of credit with this bank or its predecessors for about 20 years. Suddenly, they called in the loan which was in excess of $40,000. There was no prior notice. They gave me two weeks to come up with the money. I had to refinance at a higher rate of interest. I found this company almost impossible to work with. They have set the standard for poor customer service.

They closed the branch in my town, next they closed the branch in a neighboring town. When I asked them why, they said they want people to do online banking. Their website is almost impossible to navigate, and if you want to talk to a person, forget it. They have you pushing so many buttons on the phone you end up getting frustrated and hanging up.

I hate this bank and recently closed my checking account. We will be paying off our line of credit as soon as possible and will never do banking with them again. We will do all of our banking through our credit union in the future. If you have any thoughts of doing business with this bank, don't or you will regret it.

Replies
I Lost My Money With BOA!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEWPORT NEWS, VIRGINIA -- “The worst I ever had!!!” The worst customer support!! Over one month - I kept calling to Bank of America to place stop on payment and 5 times I was told everything was OK!! And 2 times they did something wrong and did not stop payments! And I lost over $400 because of the awful customer support!!!

And they say - we would not do anything!! And yes it is BOA's fault, but the only thing they can do is say sorry!!! And my $400 is gone!!! I'm closing my account and my mother is very upset and closing her account too! I hate BOA!!! I would not recommend - do not use it. You will lose your money the way I lost it! And they do not care about you!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Bank of America Lost My $30,000.00 CHECK
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOPPA, MARYLAND -- So my wife received a bonus check for 30000.00 dollars. We deposited into the ATM at the Joppa, Maryland location. We looked at our bank account online the next day and noticed they approved then denied the deposit. We called the branch and asked why they denied the deposit, the manager stated that the amount of the check was too large to deposit through the ATM. We asked where the check was, they said, “we don't know because our ATM's are not serviced by the branch.” They said that the checks are picked up daily then shipped or mailed to the Phoenix Arizona location.

They said we need to call the customer service number to find out any more information. So we called customer service and they said that they had received our check and we would get a letter explaining that they have the check and would be mailing the original or a legal copy of the check. We called other branches emailed complaints for days. Then we talked to a manager at another branch and he said that The customer service reps read that line from a script(we have received your check and will be mailing it out in 7-10 business days).

So after calling and calling and complaining, we finally received a call from a representative from the department in charge of receiving the checks. The representative said, “Ms ** I am sorry but we have lost your check. We have been looking for it since you called customer service 11 days ago. We have searched all the bags from your county ATM locations and we cannot find the check. We are very sorry,” he said.

So this gentlemen said he would make it right by mailing us a negotiable copy that we could cash anywhere without any issue. The copy was sent FedEx overnight delivery. When we received it, it was a copy on a piece of paper printed from a regular printer. Just a scanned copy from when it was deposited via the ATM. Bank Of America is the worst bank in the World. Their customer service is terrible, they lie and will tell you what you want to hear. I advise anyone banking with them to close their accounts and seek better service at PNC or Wells Fargo.

Replies
Bank of America, Making Home Affordable: BEWARE, it's a SCAM!!!
By -

My husband and I are retired military. My husband is disabled due to a brain injury in Iraq. This is an account of how Bank of America uses the making home affordable program as a scam to get your home. It started when my husband had retired, his disability income had not come in yet and we were having difficulty making our monthly mortgage payments. Though we were not behind, we talked to representatives at B of A and they suggested we apply for the making home affordable plan.

For the next few months we faxed, FedEx'd, and phoned our information that they requested over 10 times. Also during that time, they said I could no longer make my payments over the computer and that I would have to either mail in or phone in my payments. So each month, I would call in, ask what I needed to pay, and they would give me a figure which I would then give them my debit card info. For a few months, they advised me that I needed to make trial payments which were $200 less than my regular mortgage payment.

After a few months, they started to inform me that I was behind. So I began to call every 2 weeks as they instructed to get a status and was told that I was behind due to them putting the partial payment into a holding account. However, when they started telling me that I was behind, I started making my regular loan payment amount plus extra to make up the past due amount. Then we got a call saying that we were in foreclosure and that they could sell our home as early as the next morning. Scared, I made some phone calls and got hooked up with Novadebt.

After speaking with them and having the representative from B of A on a 3 way call… we got the run around some more, they kept telling us conflicting information, but then assured me that I was not in foreclosure and that if I continued to make my regular monthly payments plus extra to chip away at the past due, I would not go into foreclosure. Well, that was last month. As of 1/25/11, I was informed that my home had gone into foreclosure and they would not accept anything from me other than the total amount past due plus lawyer fee's and that they would have to order those figures and will fax them to me in 3 business days.

So basically, after working with B of A for 1 year, calling each month, doing as they instructed, and never getting the same information twice, I am now in foreclosure and have to come up with a large sum of money next week to keep my home. This is very disturbing to me that they would treat one of our nation's disabled vets is such a dishonest manner. Keep in mind that we never missed a single months payment and only did what they instructed us to do and now they are trying to take a home away from a retired vet with a brain injury.

B of A has left a really bad taste in my mouth and the fact that they are using the making home affordable plan as a front to steal from honest Americans and take their homes from them is extremely foul on so many levels. Please, email me with your comments, I would love to discuss this with someone.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bank of America Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
447 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bank of America
100 North Tryon Street, 18th Floor
Charlotte, NC 28255
888-279-3457 (ph)
704-386-4578 (fax)
www.bankofamerica.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks