Preview Review

Next Review

Bank of America Checking Accounts Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Maintenance Fee Charges
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA -- I am with Bank of America since 1998 and just notice on one of my checking accounts monthly service fee of $25.00. I am trying to speak with the customer service by calling 800 432 1000, an hour ago they gave me an option for call back instead of holding for another 40 minutes....I took this option and got the callback. The system that called me kept asking me if it is me who answered the call. After 5 minutes of pushing the option key to confirm I was disconnected and I am on waiting call again. So far it has been 33 minutes and I am still on hold.

After reading other reviews I am afraid that the 25 dollars per month for maintenance fee that showed up on my account is never going back to me. I will close the account and move to another bank if they do not give me my money back. They are not banking organization, they are stealing money from the clients. 20 years with them - means nothing anymore.

Replies
Checking
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNITED STATES -- I've had them to over 17 years and my husband has had them for over 20 years. I can't give you the list of things in the last 5 years all the issues we have been having. I have already talked with them about our latest issue. I do not want a call back from them. We are financial able to switch over to another bank. DO NOT BANK HERE!!!!

Replies
Bank of America Steals Child Support
By -

PROSPECT, CONNECTICUT -- I was just charged $140.00 in fees that Bank of America applied one day before they got around to posting a child support check ($758.00) that they received three days earlier. Then to add insult to injury, they gave me a $35.00 dollar "courtesy refund," whatever that means? According to CT Support Enforcement, my delinquent child support check was deposited in my Bank of America checking account on 1/6. Bank of America charged me $140.00 in fees on 1/9, and they posted my support check ($758.00) on 1/10.

When I complained, they wrote that after reviewing my case, they would issue a $35.00 credit, it's just utterly ridiculous! If they were in the right then how do they justify the $35.00 credit, was it a gift? I also love the sarcasm, "esteemed customer" and pointing out that my savings account was at zero! I'm a divorced mother of two, working 24 hours a week while taking the prerequisites for nursing and my child support was over a month behind! I don't think the banks in general are in any position to make sarcastic remarks about managing one's finances!

I have written to them several times to no avail! They claim they are justified and wrote the following, "Please be advised the $758 credit from CT Child Support is an Automated Clearing House (ACH) transaction. After reviewing the ACH transaction details our records show that the credit was scheduled by the initiator to post on 1/10/2012."

Why would CT Support Enforcement make me wait till the 10th to receive money belonging to me? How convenient for BOA! According to CT Support Enforcement's automated service the money was deposited on 1/6. Now after paying bills, I'm left with $40.00 in my account till next Friday, and I can't buy gas, groceries or anything else! The best part is that of the checks they "covered," not one of them totaled $35.00. Bank of America's policies are the sad result of corporate greed!

Replies
Unethical and criminal business practices
By -

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Bank of America has behaved in an unethical and criminal manner regarding two checking, two savings accounts and a VISA credit card. I have contacted several bank officials and they continue to lie about the situation without any reservation. Bank officials such as ** behave as if they are completely above the law.

These problems began in early October, 2005. Many have not been resolved as of today. I have talked, written and faxed many letters to several "customer service" divisions of this bank and have got no response or resolution. The Executive Customer Relations of Bank of America has done absolutely nothing to resolve many problems discussed in this letter. What they have done is to work hard to hide and white-wash the problems, mislead the customers and continue their criminal behavior.

Bank of America created this mess because of its pure negligence. It grossly violated my privacy multiple times and put me through hell when I tried to resolve it. I had to make many, many calls to Bank of America and have nasty conversations with rude, clueless and dishonest agents and officials of the bank to try to correct this mess. After all that, the accounts are still not setup correctly.

This is the log I made (just a brief summary): August 11, 2005: I opened a new savings account ending with “xxxx” with Bank of America. I started receiving two statements: one for checking and one for savings. September 11, 2005: I called Bank of America to combine the two statements into one. I specifically asked the agent to send me a unified statement for accounts ending with “xxxx” and “yyyy”. Linking with account “zzzz” was never ever mentioned. There was no change of address of any kind for any account. In other words, the request was very simple: please send me one statement for both, my checking (“yyyy”) and savings (“xxxx”).

Early October, 2005: customer ** calls me and states that my savings account information is on her statement! This should have never happened. No one needs to see my savings account details. Early October, 2005: I called Bank of America and explained to them clearly that my savings account information should not be printed on another customer's statement. The agent promised to fix it. Since my current savings account “xxxx” was compromised, I decided to close it.

October 25, 2005: called Bank of America and opened new savings account “aaaa” and transferred the money from “xxxx” to this account. The agent was unable to close “xxxx” on that day and I was asked to call back again to close it. October 29, 2005: called Bank of America and made them close account “xxxx”. Why am I going through this? Because Bank of America messed it up. Then I started receiving statements for three accounts and customer ** was not receiving any statements! At this point we have a bigger mess.

November 23, 2005: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who assured me that this mess will be corrected. The statement for Prima Interest Checking “zzzz” should go to ** in California and that should have never changed. No accounts should be linked to this account. The statements for checking “yyyy” and savings “aaaa” need to be mailed to me in North Carolina.

December 10, 2005: customer ** calls me again and states that my checking “yyyy” and new savings “aaaa” account information is on her statement! I was not receiving any statements! At this point we have even a bigger mess. Customer ** is extremely worried and agitated that her account details can end up on another customer's statement, just like it happened to me. This should have never happened. No one needs to see my checking and new savings account details. How badly can Bank of America mess this up? This is definitely not unintentional human error. It is gross negligence.

December 12, 2005: I was very upset and called Bank of America and spoke to ** supervisor of customer service of **. I demanded to speak to a manager. ** of Bank of America rudely informed me that there were managers on site but will not speak to me. He coldly said I should write to this guy called **€.

I asked him why the bank has phones when it can do all its business over US mail. He said that's how it worked and there's nothing he can do about it. He never mentioned that I should contact Executive Customer Relations. I found that out later all by myself. There was no way to get this mess fixed. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end.

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America again and spoke to ** who connected me with ** officer of Bank of America in the Escalation Dept. of Executive Customer Relations. Then I was transferred to ** (704-386-5687) who said was from the Office of the CEO.

I demanded to speak to the CEO. ** rudely refused and went on and on like a broken record. Then I demanded to speak to the CEO's secretary to make an appointment to speak to the CEO. ** rudely refused again. So does that mean the CEO of Bank of America and his secretary is in hiding or unreachable? I explained to ** the situation and demanded compensation. She rudely hung up the phone on me at 11:30 AM EST on December 12, 2005. Do all customers get treated this way by Bank of America's Office of Executive Customer Relations?

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America again in trying to resolve this matter diplomatically and spoke to **. She also informed me that there was no way to contact the CEO of Bank of America. At least she did not hang up the phone on me. Still there was no way to get the situation resolved. Now I have no intention of speaking to anyone in this office.

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America again and spoke to ** who said that no one by the name ** exists in Bank of America! So was I given a bogus name previously by this supervisor of customer service of **? What a way to get treated by a bank. December 12, 2005: I closed my savings account “aaaa” with Bank of America. It felt great!

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America at 704-386-5687 again and spoke to ** who did nothing to resolve the issue and transferred me to ** voice mail. I left a message and have never heard back from her. Once again, there was no way to get this mess fixed. No one would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end.

December 13, 2005: I called Bank of America again and spoke to **. This agent informed me that my checking account “yyyy” was still linked to Prima Interest Checking “zzzz” that my mom used as her personal account! As you can see, after going through all that, we still have not fixed the problem. This agent also promised to fix this mess, just like many others have done previously. I asked for proof: screen-shots or images or other documentation of how my accounts were linked with other accounts. The agent said there was no way to provide any and I just need to take their word.

December 14, 2005: received a call from ** (714-792-5968). I demanded that Bank of America pay me damages. She was very polite and listened patiently. I wanted to give the bank an incentive to fix these problems. December 15, 2005: I opened a savings account with the Credit Union at work and quickly removed the savings money from Bank of America. Wow, what a great day! The next step is to open a checking account with the Credit Union and get away from your bank. How nice would it be to share this with all of Bank of America's customers?

December 24, 2005: I received a letter from ** that prompted this reply. December 26, 2005: I still have not received bank statements for last couple of months. What the hell is going on with our accounts at Bank of America? Will closing ALL our accounts, including my brother's, with Bank of America be the best solution to this? I called ** at 714-792-5968 and left message asking for her fax number to fax this letter.

December 26, 2005: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. The agent was professional and promised to mail me the statements for last two months. I explained to him briefly why I was asking for this and about this letter. I was never informed of any charges/fees for this. December 27, 2005: ** returned my call and provided a fax number 714-792-6671.

December 28, 2005: Bank of America charged me $ 8.00 for the statements requested above! Why should I pay for statements when this mess was caused by your bank in the first place? The bank leaves no room for unintentional human errors. It just wants its fees. I called of America again and spoke to **. After exchanging a few words, he promised to credit my account the $ 8.00. I faxed this letter to ** hoping for a resolution in a timely manner.

In the mean time, Bank of America has once again grossly violated my privacy! January 2, 2006: Bank of America illegally charged me a service charge on my credit card ending with “bbbb”. They called it a “periodic finance charge”. I have paid the previous balance in full and on time and there was no reason for this charge.

January 5, 2006: I called the bank and talked to an agent named ** and to a supervisor named ** about this. They both informed me that there was a computer error and the bank was going through accounts and correcting them immediately. I asked them for contact info to report this to Bank of America. I was given the fax number 602-597-3346. I faxed a letter requesting an investigation of this “computer error”. I have not heard back from anyone at the bank to this day regarding this matter.

January 10, 2006: customer ** calls me again and states that my checking “yyyy” account information is on her statement, again! This should have never happened. No one needs to see my checking account details. Many, many agents and officials of Bank of America have assured me that this problem was taken care of. But it is still there. How badly can Bank of America mess this up? It is criminal for the bank to do this. Is this white-collar crime?

The log continues: January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** and we exchanged some nasty words typical of a bad business. She claims that there is nothing wrong with the way the accounts are set up. This is what ** said on November 23, 2005! There was no way to get this mess fixed. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end. Since I have been lied to before, I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. I was informed that the bank did not keep any record of customer's calls regarding problems with accounts. So I have to explain the story all over again. This is not the way to keep records for a professional business. Since I have been lied to before, I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything about it. There was no way to get this mess fixed. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again. January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again. January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. He refused to admit that rules should apply equally to everyone. But I insisted and made him reverse an illegal fee the bank charged me before. A week went by and the illegal “periodic finance charge” was still on my credit card. So I called the bank again January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to an agent and insisted that the illegal charge on my credit card be removed. The amount was finally credited.

Here is my concern: if the bank knew about this computer error and was correcting the problem, why did I have to call twice, over a 10 day period and speak to 3 bank employees, including a supervisor, to resolve the problem? What if I have not noticed this “periodic finance charge”? Many customers would have paid this illegal charge on their credit cards and the bank would have made millions by doing nothing about this “error” which was called “periodic finance charge”. Why would the bank ever bother to correct these errors on their own?

I was still not convinced that my checking account information is not on another customer's statement. January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. We had a heated conversation and he threatened to close my checking account. I dared him to go ahead. How much can this bank screw me up? I told him to tape this conversation and send it to **, Assistant Vice President.

January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who refused to transfer me to the survey, but transferred me to **. She too refused to transfer me to the survey and started to give me the run around. I was still not convinced that my checking account information is not on another customer's statement.

January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who behaved very unprofessionally. I told him to tape this conversation and send it to **, Assistant Vice President. He rudely said he cannot. I did not want to continue the conversation with this guy. So I called back again.

January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. He said I should take my complaint to a banking center! Pass the buck? Why not? I got his fax number (559-451-8145) so I can fax all the details of this complaint, hoping someone will read it and do something about it. This fax number does not work!

January 12, 2006: I faxed this letter to and called ** at 714-792-5968 and asked her what she plans to do about this complaint. January 21, 2006: I received a letter from ** saying that the matter is closed!!! Without resolving this continuing problem, Bank of America no longer wants to even discuss the mess they created. This is how banks treat their customers.

February 6, 2006: I received a reply from Attorney General's Office, Consumer Protection Division of North Carolina to contact the Comptroller of the Currency of the Department of the Treasury which is supposed to license and regulate national banks. February 10, 2006: I received the statement for account “zzzz” and customer ** was not receiving any statements, again! This is happening after many agents and officials of Bank of America, including ** has assured me in letters that the problems above have been resolved.

The log continues and so does the dishonest dealings of Bank of America. It seems like some phone reps are so corrupt that they don't transfer you to the survey. How can the bank get honest feedback from your customers when the customer survey is doctored in this manner? We really need strict laws to monitor the behavior of banks in this country. Banks should not be allowed to operate like criminal organizations and abuse customers under the protection of US law.

When banks operate with impunity. I am shocked to realize that there is very little or no regulation of banks such as Bank of America. These banks can do whatever they want to their customer's accounts and their privacy and continue to operate with impunity. We should not sanction such criminal behavior. Where are the laws to protect consumers?

When customers over-draft a bit or go below the minimum balance on their checking accounts by unintentional human error, Bank of America jumps at the opportunity and ruthlessly charges them a ton of fees. It probably costs the bank about $ 5 but charges their customers $ 16 or more. This is because Bank of America understands only one language: money! All it cares is about charging us fees, fees and more fees. The bank leaves no room for unintentional human errors.

Bank of America abuses its customers and engages in dishonest business practices. The bank has done irreparable damage to my privacy, seriously damaged the trust I had in the bank, causing a lot of aggravation and emotional distress to two customers. The least Bank of America can do now is to pay me damages. The longer this bank takes to settle this issue, the more aggravation and emotional distress it causes me and I plan to seek even more damages.

I will not let Bank of America sweep this under the carpet. I have written to Customer Assistance Group, Comptroller of the Currency, Department of the Treasury, 1301 McKinney Street, Suite 3710, Houston, Texas 77010-9050 about this.

Replies
Advertisement
Bank of America refuses to disburse funds from late father despite documentation and won't say why
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARLTON, NEW JERSEY -- Despite presenting proper documentation (power of attorney, executorship papers, etc) Bank of America refused to disburse a CD and checking account in our names, following my father's death. It took them two weeks to tell the local office the request is declined but when I asked for documentation they said no, it's an "internal document." So now I must pay our attorney to pursue the disbursement of our funds because Bank of America does not know how to read standard legal documents and does not even feel compelled to provide me with an explanation of their actions.

So I guess they just plan on keeping thousands of dollars belonging to an account holder. They're no stranger to illegal activities and horrifyingly bad customer service, so I guess I shouldn't be surprised. Don't deal with them - nothing to gain and a lot to lose.

Replies
Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- Save yourself a lot of grief and go somewhere else. Had been a customer since 1991. The bigger they got the worst they got. Now it's the 8-arm monster and none of the arms knows what the other one is doing. They get accounts confused, numbers wrong. Never return calls or emails. Took months to close all the accounts which were all in good standing.

Even had problems getting in safe deposit box. Always very slow and poor customer service, very time consuming to do business with either on the phone or in person. Last straw, it took 3 orders before they got our checks printed correctly. Very slow to do anything. Changed everything to BB&T, very fast, accurate and good.

Replies
Why I Don't Have an Account There
By -

WARWICK, RHODE ISLAND -- I travel extensively for business. I was using a local bank, but decided that it made more sense to switch to a bank that had a presence in all of the areas to which I traveled. Therefore, I opened an account with BoA. So far, so good, they issued me a debit card and I went on my merry way.

I was out of town and needed some cash, so I went to a BoA ATM. My PIN would not work. I tried several times at several locations, and finally called customer service. Upon giving my account number to the CSA, I was told "you don't QUALIFY for customer service"!! WHAT! I had to have someone wire me some cash for tolls. I returned home and CLOSED my account. So, boys & girls, that is why I do NOT have an account with BoA.

Replies
Overdraft Fees: Bank of America Steals Money from Customers
By -

Bank of America steals from their customers. They create overdraft fees by not processing your purchases as they occur even though you have the money available and at the time of purchase they went through fine. If you look at your balance you will see the “Balance” and “Available Balance” and will notice the amount you just spent is now gone from the “Available Balance”. So this means they have removed the money you just spent for the purchase you just made.

Only problem is they don't actually clear your purchase even though they have removed the amount from your “Available Balance”. Instead of clearing payments they hold them, sometimes for several days, and they call them "pending transactions”. Then they wait for other HIGHER charges to come through. When this happens they will clear those higher charges and then process the lower charges and often times this creates a deficit and will overdraft your account.

If you have money in other accounts or a savings account they will freeze those accounts and not allow you to use or withdrawal any of it unless you use it to pay their fees and get the negative account into the positive. So you could find yourself with an unexpected negative balance AND be frozen out of your accounts unable to get any of your money.

Right now we are in the middle of this nightmare, which we have seen several times since opening up accounts in 2005 and 2007. We were paid on Friday, January 29, 2010. We had plenty of money in the bank and that day, the 29th I paid several bills and then that weekend we bought groceries, and made several small purchases. Our account online looked in order and the “Balance” and “Available Balance” were correct because all the purchases we made were now gone from the “Balance” and showed what was left in the “Available Balance”, which was in the positive.

When Monday, February 1, 2010 came I planned to deposit more money into the account to cover two car payments that were going to be coming out that day. When I went to check the online balance I saw that they had cleared the two car payments, which were supposed to clear Monday, and they used the money that had already been reserved (or so I thought) from the payments and purchases we made Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

Then they proceeded to overdraft five of those purchases at $35.00 each. Later, in addition to that, they added another $35.00 fee called an “Extended Overdrawn Balance Charge” because the account had been in the negative for 5 consecutive business days.

We would LOVE to close our remaining account and leave but we are stuck there. Because of one of the many times they put my account into the negative with overdraft fees and it snowballed from being a manageable amount to an unmanageable amount, I was unable to get caught up. Then they charged me an additional $35.00 for “Excessive Overdrawn Fees” when my account was in the negative for 5 consecutive days or more.

Soon I was unable to ever get caught up and pay my rent and bills and buy food and gas. I had to stop depositing money into the account because it was just getting eaten up by their fees and I needed to pay for basic necessities and rent. They eventually closed my account and then reported me to Chex Systems.

Now because of this I am unable to open another bank account anywhere and am a prisoner there, unless I want to have NO bank account at all but then how do you cash your checks and pay bills like a normal person? You can't without a great deal of hassle and the danger of having cash in your possession, which is risky and unprotected. But really, what's the difference? It can be stolen by some random thief or it will be stolen by the bank you are supposed to trust to keep your money. Not rob you blind.

My story is just one of MANY exactly the same and this issue with the banks using computer programs to overdraft their customer's accounts has to stop. They have literally stolen hundreds and hundreds if not thousands of dollars from my family. They refuse to refund the money and they continue to practice this fraudulent scheme year after year to hundreds of people without consequence. The Internet is loaded with stories exactly like mine. I have been talking to people at stores and other places of business and have heard the same story from many of them about Bank of America and a few other banks that are doing the same thing to their customers.

These banks squandered billions of dollars away on who knows what and then needed to be bailed out by the government. They created the sub-prime lending schemes to make money and we all see how that turned out. Now the country is in turmoil and the economy is in the gutter and people are suffering because of it. Now they add insult to injury and steal from their customers by creating this overdraft charge theft scheme to make money. WHY IS THIS LEGAL?

Replies
Advertisement
BOA Unauthorized electronic payments from my checking
By -

BOCA RATON -- I have been a Bank of America customer now for over 3 years. So far I am very dissatisfied with your service. Most of your tactics are deceiving and seem to trap consumers. Here is my #1 problem with this bank. I got a student credit card with you and used it irresponsibly and quickly went over the limit. At first I was paying on time then after a few months I stopped paying.

About six months later bank of America put me on a 5 year payment plan to pay off the balance of my debt of $46 dollars a month to be paid on the 21st of each month. I went about 3 months with no problems then all of a sudden you stopped automatically withdrawing the payment out of my account. I called up and you advised me that I needed to reschedule my payment plan and that's why you didn't debit the $46 out of my account that month.

I got a letter in the mail about 2 weeks prior saying that I need to reschedule the payments. I called the number and they said to never mind the letter that it wasn't necessary (which apparently wasn't true). So two weeks later when the payment wasn't made I got hit with late charges and fees. This did not seem fair I did everything I should have and I had to pay for a bank employee's mistake.

So after I once again rescheduled the payments 3 months later the same thing happened (this time with no warning letter) I got hit with late charges and needed to reschedule. Fed up and untrustworthy of this company I decided to call up and request a full statement outlining what my charges are and how they came up with my balance. They said they would send that in about May I would say. I still haven't received this or any other communication with bank of America.

Now on September 30th 2008 my checking account gets mysteriously debited $46 after not speaking with them for almost 5 months. I called and got the run around and gave up. Now on October 21st 2008 I get another charge for $46 so I called again today. I spoke to bank of America about the situation and they transferred me to a representative of FIA card services. She advised me that the reason these two debits came out of my account were because I called in and authorized them to do this on Sept. 30th 2008.

I am 100% positive this never happened. I ask them to let me listen to a copy of the recording of me authorizing this and she said she will transfer me to the manager who can help me out with this. I was transferred and I got a voicemail, so I left a message explaining my situation. It is now two days later I have not received any response back from this manager or anyone. These practices are very wrong in my opinion and hopefully illegal.

On a side note I asked them not to make any more debits from my account to pay this bill. They agreed and I asked them to send me written documentation verifying this and I was old this was impossible (she said they can't send a letter verifying something that is not taking place) this makes no sense to me why can't they send a letter saying 'no more electronic transactions will be debited from my account' So after I was told this I was asked for permission to record her saying that this will not occur, once again I was turned down. She also couldn't give me a straight answer of why the $46 was taken out of my account on different dates for the September and October payments.

My question is: What are you going to do about this? I incurred a $35.00 overdraft free from this unauthorized transaction. Bank of America should not be allowed to steal money from their customers accounts and then give them the run around when the start asking questions.

I'm so fed up at this point that I am going to send this problem to every organization that will listen. I have extensive experience in internet marketing and how to spread something across the internet. I'm not sure if you are aware but there are literally thousands of consumers' complaints about your company all over the web. In addition many of these people are starting to inquiry about class action lawsuits against you as most of their situations are all eerily similar.

After reading all of this I have no doubt in my mind that this is no coincidence and Bank Of America is intentionally trying to scam their customers out of money through any means possible (questionable practices, downright fraud, and resorting to low measures to make a quick buck). Fortunately I work at a law firm that specializes in credit and consumer laws. I have no problem proceeding with legal remedies this has gone on too long and it's time to take some action.

Replies
Piss poor customer service
By -

SAVANNAH, GEORGIA -- When I opened my account initially with Bank of America, they really messed up with me, and I should have used that as a warning of what was to come. They made a typographical error and sent my checks and cards to the wrong address. After several days beyond their normal processing time, I called them wondering where the checks and cards were. They said they would be there in a few days. Didn't come in, so I called them again. They then verified that the address was wrong, so they corrected it. They said the new checks and card would be to me in 7-10 days.

I waited. And waited, and waited some more. I called. They said the person that corrected the error had not sent the information, that the old checks had been returned by the invalid address. I asked them why they didn't catch the error, WHY, when they saw the checks had been returned to the bank, did they not realize or call the NEW customer? Finally, they closed the old account, and re-opened a new account since my privacy had been breached. THEN, of all things, the material for BOTH accounts comes in at the same time! This took from November 2, 2004 to December 29 of 2004 to get this straight.

They still didn't get the credit card request processed in a timely manner. I got snotty customer service associates, etc. And, it continues to get WORSE rather than better! I recently had a problem that was my employer's error. They had written payroll checks on the wrong account and they were all returned. My employer made the checks good with checks from the correct account, but the bank treated me as if it were my fault! They even threatened to put holds on my checks in the future! (That is only making a long story short).

Recently, they sent me a letter saying I had referred someone to their bank (AS IF!!). They have a $25.00 incentive for referrals. When I got the letter, it had a code number on it. But, when I called the bank (the 800 number, the branch, etc) they couldn't tell me who the referred individual was! I would NEVER send anyone to this bank. It took me two hours to find out that it was because of the error a year ago, and that this letter was sent tracing me a long time ago? But why was it written and dated in April for an October referral? I still haven't gotten any answers that are valid.

I eventually sent a letter to the Charlotte offices (area code 704) and got a call from an 813 area code, and the girl, after initial introduction, tells me I wasn't going to speak to anyone else, that she was instructed to handle the call. She was quite snippy with me, and advised me to close my accounts. Since when does a business make it policy to advise someone to stop doing business with them, after I am attempting every possible angle to PREVENT me from the trouble of opening new accounts with another bank?

When I told her I was going online to voice my opinion, I had no idea I was going to find the other complaints I have seen here. This is a statement of how the BoA cares about their customers (read "moneymakers"). As I said, this is the story in a nutshell. I could go on for days about this and the other episodes I have had with them, but I get tired of repeating myself, as I have had to repeat myself so many times with the representatives of bank of America. I would never do business with them ever again, and am working to get this resolved as I write this. I would never refer any person to do business with this bank and want out ASAP.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bank of America Checking Accounts Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
119 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bank of America
100 North Tryon Street, 18th Floor
Charlotte, NC 28255
888-279-3457 (ph)
704-386-4578 (fax)
www.bankofamerica.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks