Preview Review

Next Review

Bank of America Checking Accounts Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Checking
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNITED STATES -- I've had them to over 17 years and my husband has had them for over 20 years. I can't give you the list of things in the last 5 years all the issues we have been having. I have already talked with them about our latest issue. I do not want a call back from them. We are financial able to switch over to another bank. DO NOT BANK HERE!!!!

Replies
How Fast Can I Move to Wells Fargo
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- Hello BOA - you managed to screw up an electronic bill payment and now accept zero responsibility... I wonder how fast I can move my accounts to Wells Fargo... from an ex-25 year long customer who wishes he could give a less that 1 rating.

Replies
Bank of America Steals Child Support
By -

PROSPECT, CONNECTICUT -- I was just charged $140.00 in fees that Bank of America applied one day before they got around to posting a child support check ($758.00) that they received three days earlier. Then to add insult to injury, they gave me a $35.00 dollar "courtesy refund," whatever that means? According to CT Support Enforcement, my delinquent child support check was deposited in my Bank of America checking account on 1/6. Bank of America charged me $140.00 in fees on 1/9, and they posted my support check ($758.00) on 1/10.

When I complained, they wrote that after reviewing my case, they would issue a $35.00 credit, it's just utterly ridiculous! If they were in the right then how do they justify the $35.00 credit, was it a gift? I also love the sarcasm, "esteemed customer" and pointing out that my savings account was at zero! I'm a divorced mother of two, working 24 hours a week while taking the prerequisites for nursing and my child support was over a month behind! I don't think the banks in general are in any position to make sarcastic remarks about managing one's finances!

I have written to them several times to no avail! They claim they are justified and wrote the following, "Please be advised the $758 credit from CT Child Support is an Automated Clearing House (ACH) transaction. After reviewing the ACH transaction details our records show that the credit was scheduled by the initiator to post on 1/10/2012."

Why would CT Support Enforcement make me wait till the 10th to receive money belonging to me? How convenient for BOA! According to CT Support Enforcement's automated service the money was deposited on 1/6. Now after paying bills, I'm left with $40.00 in my account till next Friday, and I can't buy gas, groceries or anything else! The best part is that of the checks they "covered," not one of them totaled $35.00. Bank of America's policies are the sad result of corporate greed!

Replies
It Pays to be Vigilant
By -

Hubby and I have had an Advantage checking account with BOA ever since they bought LaSalle Bank back in 2007 or 2008. Back then, it had a different name, obviously; but we had that account because we have/had a mortgage with them (Mortgage got transferred from ABN/AMRO/LaSalle to Citi in 2007 and we re'fied with Countrywide in 2008, which was then bought out by BOA, funny how things work out, huh?).

Anyway, this account requires that you keep an insane amount of money in your checking and or savings accounts, otherwise there's a $25 monthly maintenance fee. I can't remember exactly how much the balance has to be, but it's more than your average working-class American is likely to have. The way to have it waived is to have a sizable balance on an installment loan (like a car) or a mortgage with them. In all those years, even when our mortgage was with Citi and pre-buyout Countrywide, we NEVER had a fee assessed on our account (could be because we owed enough on our cars, but I'm not sure).

Fast forward to today. I was online, paying the bills, when I went to look at the transactions to make sure everything was present and accounted for. That's when I noticed it. A $25 Advantage checking maintenance fee. The first words out of my mouth were "oh, **, we're going to end up switching banks." But, before I started filling out my application for another bank, I checked on the requirements for the checking accounts. That's when I noticed the waiver for those who have a linked mortgage account.

I got on the phone and called customer service. After navigating through the phone tree jungle, I got a live person after a short (less than 5 minutes!) wait. I explained the problem and the findings of my investigation, and she took care of it for me right then and there. My money was refunded right away and she made sure everything was set up correctly to avoid this happening in the future. She also reassured me that that evil $5 debit card fee would not affect me when it took effect in January. I'm not saying that BOA is all sunshine and kittens, but at least they did right by me today.

Replies
Advertisement
Unexpected Overdrafts, Slow Notification, Poor Service.
By -

I use BOA's electronic bill pay to take care of my and my wife's monthly payments. On June 21st, my insurance bill was paid out of my individual account as opposed to our joint account (my mistake). This drained my individual account as I was not expecting it to come from that account. On June 21st I filled out a change of address form (we are in the middle of a very chaotic move) online, and USPS charged $1. One June 21st I also filled my car with gas ($21), and the debit card was used at two soda machines ($1.25, and $1.25). For each of these I was charged a $35 overdraft fee.

One June 22nd, I accessed by BoA online account. I transferred the money that morning from the joint account to cover the bill amount and the overdraft fees to put my account back in the black. I called customer service, who informed me that I had only set up overdraft protection on my joint account with my wife (which I had not, I do recall when that was set up and I did indeed ask for overdraft protection on both accounts). The woman told me to call back the next morning. That evening (June 22nd) I received the alert notification set up on my account that my balance was at $0 (from June 21st), and that I had overdraft fees.

After calling BoA again this morning (June 23) I was informed by the customer service representative and their manager that they would only waive one of the $35 dollar fees, and that they could not do anything else about my situation. I was: a) not informed in the manner in which they advertised their alert system, b) charged a horrendous amount ($140!!!) for minor transactions (summing to about $25), c) given no benefit of the doubt from customer service despite having banked with them for three years. I will be moving every cent I have out of Bank of America within the next month.

Replies
Unethical and criminal business practices
By -

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Bank of America has behaved in an unethical and criminal manner regarding two checking, two savings accounts and a VISA credit card. I have contacted several bank officials and they continue to lie about the situation without any reservation. Bank officials such as ** behave as if they are completely above the law.

These problems began in early October, 2005. Many have not been resolved as of today. I have talked, written and faxed many letters to several "customer service" divisions of this bank and have got no response or resolution. The Executive Customer Relations of Bank of America has done absolutely nothing to resolve many problems discussed in this letter. What they have done is to work hard to hide and white-wash the problems, mislead the customers and continue their criminal behavior.

Bank of America created this mess because of its pure negligence. It grossly violated my privacy multiple times and put me through hell when I tried to resolve it. I had to make many, many calls to Bank of America and have nasty conversations with rude, clueless and dishonest agents and officials of the bank to try to correct this mess. After all that, the accounts are still not setup correctly.

This is the log I made (just a brief summary): August 11, 2005: I opened a new savings account ending with “xxxx” with Bank of America. I started receiving two statements: one for checking and one for savings. September 11, 2005: I called Bank of America to combine the two statements into one. I specifically asked the agent to send me a unified statement for accounts ending with “xxxx” and “yyyy”. Linking with account “zzzz” was never ever mentioned. There was no change of address of any kind for any account. In other words, the request was very simple: please send me one statement for both, my checking (“yyyy”) and savings (“xxxx”).

Early October, 2005: customer ** calls me and states that my savings account information is on her statement! This should have never happened. No one needs to see my savings account details. Early October, 2005: I called Bank of America and explained to them clearly that my savings account information should not be printed on another customer's statement. The agent promised to fix it. Since my current savings account “xxxx” was compromised, I decided to close it.

October 25, 2005: called Bank of America and opened new savings account “aaaa” and transferred the money from “xxxx” to this account. The agent was unable to close “xxxx” on that day and I was asked to call back again to close it. October 29, 2005: called Bank of America and made them close account “xxxx”. Why am I going through this? Because Bank of America messed it up. Then I started receiving statements for three accounts and customer ** was not receiving any statements! At this point we have a bigger mess.

November 23, 2005: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who assured me that this mess will be corrected. The statement for Prima Interest Checking “zzzz” should go to ** in California and that should have never changed. No accounts should be linked to this account. The statements for checking “yyyy” and savings “aaaa” need to be mailed to me in North Carolina.

December 10, 2005: customer ** calls me again and states that my checking “yyyy” and new savings “aaaa” account information is on her statement! I was not receiving any statements! At this point we have even a bigger mess. Customer ** is extremely worried and agitated that her account details can end up on another customer's statement, just like it happened to me. This should have never happened. No one needs to see my checking and new savings account details. How badly can Bank of America mess this up? This is definitely not unintentional human error. It is gross negligence.

December 12, 2005: I was very upset and called Bank of America and spoke to ** supervisor of customer service of **. I demanded to speak to a manager. ** of Bank of America rudely informed me that there were managers on site but will not speak to me. He coldly said I should write to this guy called **€.

I asked him why the bank has phones when it can do all its business over US mail. He said that's how it worked and there's nothing he can do about it. He never mentioned that I should contact Executive Customer Relations. I found that out later all by myself. There was no way to get this mess fixed. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end.

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America again and spoke to ** who connected me with ** officer of Bank of America in the Escalation Dept. of Executive Customer Relations. Then I was transferred to ** (704-386-5687) who said was from the Office of the CEO.

I demanded to speak to the CEO. ** rudely refused and went on and on like a broken record. Then I demanded to speak to the CEO's secretary to make an appointment to speak to the CEO. ** rudely refused again. So does that mean the CEO of Bank of America and his secretary is in hiding or unreachable? I explained to ** the situation and demanded compensation. She rudely hung up the phone on me at 11:30 AM EST on December 12, 2005. Do all customers get treated this way by Bank of America's Office of Executive Customer Relations?

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America again in trying to resolve this matter diplomatically and spoke to **. She also informed me that there was no way to contact the CEO of Bank of America. At least she did not hang up the phone on me. Still there was no way to get the situation resolved. Now I have no intention of speaking to anyone in this office.

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America again and spoke to ** who said that no one by the name ** exists in Bank of America! So was I given a bogus name previously by this supervisor of customer service of **? What a way to get treated by a bank. December 12, 2005: I closed my savings account “aaaa” with Bank of America. It felt great!

December 12, 2005: I called Bank of America at 704-386-5687 again and spoke to ** who did nothing to resolve the issue and transferred me to ** voice mail. I left a message and have never heard back from her. Once again, there was no way to get this mess fixed. No one would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end.

December 13, 2005: I called Bank of America again and spoke to **. This agent informed me that my checking account “yyyy” was still linked to Prima Interest Checking “zzzz” that my mom used as her personal account! As you can see, after going through all that, we still have not fixed the problem. This agent also promised to fix this mess, just like many others have done previously. I asked for proof: screen-shots or images or other documentation of how my accounts were linked with other accounts. The agent said there was no way to provide any and I just need to take their word.

December 14, 2005: received a call from ** (714-792-5968). I demanded that Bank of America pay me damages. She was very polite and listened patiently. I wanted to give the bank an incentive to fix these problems. December 15, 2005: I opened a savings account with the Credit Union at work and quickly removed the savings money from Bank of America. Wow, what a great day! The next step is to open a checking account with the Credit Union and get away from your bank. How nice would it be to share this with all of Bank of America's customers?

December 24, 2005: I received a letter from ** that prompted this reply. December 26, 2005: I still have not received bank statements for last couple of months. What the hell is going on with our accounts at Bank of America? Will closing ALL our accounts, including my brother's, with Bank of America be the best solution to this? I called ** at 714-792-5968 and left message asking for her fax number to fax this letter.

December 26, 2005: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. The agent was professional and promised to mail me the statements for last two months. I explained to him briefly why I was asking for this and about this letter. I was never informed of any charges/fees for this. December 27, 2005: ** returned my call and provided a fax number 714-792-6671.

December 28, 2005: Bank of America charged me $ 8.00 for the statements requested above! Why should I pay for statements when this mess was caused by your bank in the first place? The bank leaves no room for unintentional human errors. It just wants its fees. I called of America again and spoke to **. After exchanging a few words, he promised to credit my account the $ 8.00. I faxed this letter to ** hoping for a resolution in a timely manner.

In the mean time, Bank of America has once again grossly violated my privacy! January 2, 2006: Bank of America illegally charged me a service charge on my credit card ending with “bbbb”. They called it a “periodic finance charge”. I have paid the previous balance in full and on time and there was no reason for this charge.

January 5, 2006: I called the bank and talked to an agent named ** and to a supervisor named ** about this. They both informed me that there was a computer error and the bank was going through accounts and correcting them immediately. I asked them for contact info to report this to Bank of America. I was given the fax number 602-597-3346. I faxed a letter requesting an investigation of this “computer error”. I have not heard back from anyone at the bank to this day regarding this matter.

January 10, 2006: customer ** calls me again and states that my checking “yyyy” account information is on her statement, again! This should have never happened. No one needs to see my checking account details. Many, many agents and officials of Bank of America have assured me that this problem was taken care of. But it is still there. How badly can Bank of America mess this up? It is criminal for the bank to do this. Is this white-collar crime?

The log continues: January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** and we exchanged some nasty words typical of a bad business. She claims that there is nothing wrong with the way the accounts are set up. This is what ** said on November 23, 2005! There was no way to get this mess fixed. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end. Since I have been lied to before, I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. I was informed that the bank did not keep any record of customer's calls regarding problems with accounts. So I have to explain the story all over again. This is not the way to keep records for a professional business. Since I have been lied to before, I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything about it. There was no way to get this mess fixed. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again. January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again. January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who told me that he cannot do anything. No one cared at Bank of America or would take personal responsibility of this and see it to the end, so I called again.

January 10, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. He refused to admit that rules should apply equally to everyone. But I insisted and made him reverse an illegal fee the bank charged me before. A week went by and the illegal “periodic finance charge” was still on my credit card. So I called the bank again January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to an agent and insisted that the illegal charge on my credit card be removed. The amount was finally credited.

Here is my concern: if the bank knew about this computer error and was correcting the problem, why did I have to call twice, over a 10 day period and speak to 3 bank employees, including a supervisor, to resolve the problem? What if I have not noticed this “periodic finance charge”? Many customers would have paid this illegal charge on their credit cards and the bank would have made millions by doing nothing about this “error” which was called “periodic finance charge”. Why would the bank ever bother to correct these errors on their own?

I was still not convinced that my checking account information is not on another customer's statement. January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. We had a heated conversation and he threatened to close my checking account. I dared him to go ahead. How much can this bank screw me up? I told him to tape this conversation and send it to **, Assistant Vice President.

January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who refused to transfer me to the survey, but transferred me to **. She too refused to transfer me to the survey and started to give me the run around. I was still not convinced that my checking account information is not on another customer's statement.

January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to ** who behaved very unprofessionally. I told him to tape this conversation and send it to **, Assistant Vice President. He rudely said he cannot. I did not want to continue the conversation with this guy. So I called back again.

January 12, 2006: I called Bank of America and spoke to **. He said I should take my complaint to a banking center! Pass the buck? Why not? I got his fax number (559-451-8145) so I can fax all the details of this complaint, hoping someone will read it and do something about it. This fax number does not work!

January 12, 2006: I faxed this letter to and called ** at 714-792-5968 and asked her what she plans to do about this complaint. January 21, 2006: I received a letter from ** saying that the matter is closed!!! Without resolving this continuing problem, Bank of America no longer wants to even discuss the mess they created. This is how banks treat their customers.

February 6, 2006: I received a reply from Attorney General's Office, Consumer Protection Division of North Carolina to contact the Comptroller of the Currency of the Department of the Treasury which is supposed to license and regulate national banks. February 10, 2006: I received the statement for account “zzzz” and customer ** was not receiving any statements, again! This is happening after many agents and officials of Bank of America, including ** has assured me in letters that the problems above have been resolved.

The log continues and so does the dishonest dealings of Bank of America. It seems like some phone reps are so corrupt that they don't transfer you to the survey. How can the bank get honest feedback from your customers when the customer survey is doctored in this manner? We really need strict laws to monitor the behavior of banks in this country. Banks should not be allowed to operate like criminal organizations and abuse customers under the protection of US law.

When banks operate with impunity. I am shocked to realize that there is very little or no regulation of banks such as Bank of America. These banks can do whatever they want to their customer's accounts and their privacy and continue to operate with impunity. We should not sanction such criminal behavior. Where are the laws to protect consumers?

When customers over-draft a bit or go below the minimum balance on their checking accounts by unintentional human error, Bank of America jumps at the opportunity and ruthlessly charges them a ton of fees. It probably costs the bank about $ 5 but charges their customers $ 16 or more. This is because Bank of America understands only one language: money! All it cares is about charging us fees, fees and more fees. The bank leaves no room for unintentional human errors.

Bank of America abuses its customers and engages in dishonest business practices. The bank has done irreparable damage to my privacy, seriously damaged the trust I had in the bank, causing a lot of aggravation and emotional distress to two customers. The least Bank of America can do now is to pay me damages. The longer this bank takes to settle this issue, the more aggravation and emotional distress it causes me and I plan to seek even more damages.

I will not let Bank of America sweep this under the carpet. I have written to Customer Assistance Group, Comptroller of the Currency, Department of the Treasury, 1301 McKinney Street, Suite 3710, Houston, Texas 77010-9050 about this.

Replies
Bank of America refuses to disburse funds from late father despite documentation and won't say why
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARLTON, NEW JERSEY -- Despite presenting proper documentation (power of attorney, executorship papers, etc) Bank of America refused to disburse a CD and checking account in our names, following my father's death. It took them two weeks to tell the local office the request is declined but when I asked for documentation they said no, it's an "internal document." So now I must pay our attorney to pursue the disbursement of our funds because Bank of America does not know how to read standard legal documents and does not even feel compelled to provide me with an explanation of their actions.

So I guess they just plan on keeping thousands of dollars belonging to an account holder. They're no stranger to illegal activities and horrifyingly bad customer service, so I guess I shouldn't be surprised. Don't deal with them - nothing to gain and a lot to lose.

Replies
Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- Save yourself a lot of grief and go somewhere else. Had been a customer since 1991. The bigger they got the worst they got. Now it's the 8-arm monster and none of the arms knows what the other one is doing. They get accounts confused, numbers wrong. Never return calls or emails. Took months to close all the accounts which were all in good standing.

Even had problems getting in safe deposit box. Always very slow and poor customer service, very time consuming to do business with either on the phone or in person. Last straw, it took 3 orders before they got our checks printed correctly. Very slow to do anything. Changed everything to BB&T, very fast, accurate and good.

Replies
Advertisement
Why I Don't Have an Account There
By -

WARWICK, RHODE ISLAND -- I travel extensively for business. I was using a local bank, but decided that it made more sense to switch to a bank that had a presence in all of the areas to which I traveled. Therefore, I opened an account with BoA. So far, so good, they issued me a debit card and I went on my merry way.

I was out of town and needed some cash, so I went to a BoA ATM. My PIN would not work. I tried several times at several locations, and finally called customer service. Upon giving my account number to the CSA, I was told "you don't QUALIFY for customer service"!! WHAT! I had to have someone wire me some cash for tolls. I returned home and CLOSED my account. So, boys & girls, that is why I do NOT have an account with BoA.

Replies
Stealing Money From Checking Account
By -

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I have to say all the companies that have had my mortgage the Bank of America is the worst. I had fallen behind on my mortgage payment, so when I gathered enough money I made multiple payments by phone. I only gave them two router numbers and two check numbers, but what did they do? They went and took four router numbers and four check numbers and drawn my account by - $900 dollars. If that's not bad enough my bank charged me for "7" OD charges of a grand total of $245. I tried to get help from them but all they could say is that there was nothing they could do, and this is not the first time. What can I do?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bank of America Checking Accounts Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
118 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bank of America
100 North Tryon Street, 18th Floor
Charlotte, NC 28255
888-279-3457 (ph)
704-386-4578 (fax)
www.bankofamerica.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks