Preview Review

Next Review

Capital One Credit Cards Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- Have had both the QuicksilverOne card and the Platinum card for about a year. I use them both regularly and pay off and charge up normally 2 times a month each due to limit and use for business. So after I made this payment on both cards of over 2100.00 total to bring both account balances to 0.00, they reject my payment. I ask the customer service girl why and they say something was wrong with the payment, so we get the bank on the phone and bank admits fault.

After it's all said and done, Capital One management tells me that because of the bank's mistake they will have to show an isf notice on my cards! I asked why when it was a bank mistake, the girl said sorry it's a new policy. Well what that does if you don't know is gives them the right to jack your interest rate up more!!! Do not do business with Capital One!

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Liars
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I opened a secured card 33 months ago, made every payment on time and decided I no longer needed the card. I called Dec 16th to cancel and ask for my deposit to be returned. I was told 14 days, however I needed to call back in 5 days to verify the account had closed. I did that. I was then told no refund would be issued until 15 Business days. I called back and was told "No sorry that was incorrect." I needed to wait 9 more business days. A complete mind game as they continue to lie and apologize for the fact that they have my $2,500 dollars and I will get it when they feel like it's time for the game to end. NEVER USE THIS SERVICE, THEY ARE DISHONEST LIARS.

Replies
Prepare to pay high interest rates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

After making all monthly payments on time and having a credit score of 725 or higher at all 3 credit agencies. When my 0% introductory rate was over they decided I should pay 22% interest because I was warned it was possible when I signed up. While speaking to the customer service representative I was told the lower rates are given at random. Please save yourself the hassle and money and find a more consumer friendly credit card company. Discover and Citi have been great to me.

Replies
Treated like a Liar and a Crook
By -

I have been a Capital One customer for years. I have always paid my credit card bill on time and normally a payment well beyond the required payment. On January 7th 2011 I was contacted by the Fraud Division of the bank. They were inquiring about 2 large charges that I had made. I confirmed that I had made the charges, so everything was business as usual. I later received an email confirming my conversation with the Fraud Department.

On January 14th I attempted to charge $135 worth of rodeo tickets by telephone but my Capital One card was declined. I contacted Capital One and was transferred to the Fraud Division. They informed me they had placed a hold on my card due to suspicious charges on my card beginning January 12th and continuing almost to the time I contacted them.

The charges were for a rental car in Arkansas,(I live in Texas) and then on the same day several charges in the United Kingdom. This is what set off the bells in the Fraud Department and a hold was placed on my card. I informed them I did not make any of the charges, that I had been scammed, (them too) and that I fully understood why a hold had been placed on my card and happy they had.

I was informed my current cards would be canceled and new ones re-issued, and since I was such a good customer the cards would be sent out in 2 days instead of the normal 5-7 days, and I would be given an extra 1000 "Bonus Points" for my trouble. I was satisfied with the whole experience until the Fraud representative told me my account showed to be out for collections. He could not explain why as I had never been late with a payment, and in fact it showed they had received a payment of $2000 the day before, which is true.

Here is where things really go down hill fast, and makes me think that someone at Capital One is the actual scam artist. I'm transferred to the Collection Department to ascertain why my account is in collections. I'm informed by them that I, (yes, I) have placed a "Cease and Desist" order on the bank not to contact me, so my account automatically went to collections. I informed them I never did that, and why should I, since my account was, and always has been in good standing. The representative had no answers for me, but would have to once again transfer me to another department to have the order removed.

This time I'm transferred to a gal who is the type you always read about as the service representative from Hell, a customers worst nightmare, someone that would be better suited in life working with dead people in a morgue so as not to torture the living. First she comes off with an attitude that I'm some kind of deadbeat as I put a "Cease and Desist" order on my account which I had not. Then she wants to know why I had placed such an order, which I had not. Then she refuses to tell me when and who placed such an order because of "Security Reasons".

Then she refuses to give me the name of her supervisor for "Security Reasons", and also refuses to transfer me to that person, "as they won't be able to help you anyway". It was obvious she was trying to control me and the conversation, but having been a police officer for over 30 years in a large city that wasn't going to happen, so she finally let it slip that the order was placed on my account August 30, 2010, but refused to say who placed it, only saying it may have been placed in error.

By this time I was worn out, having been on the phone for 1 1/2 hours. I finally convinced her to remove the order, but then she had to add insult to injury and told me I would have to speak with Customer Service to have my new cards re-issued. I told her of my conversation with the Fraud Dept. and they said they would be sent out in the next 2 days. She informed me (like she was doing me a favor) that she would authorize new cards to be sent out instead of customer service but my waiting time would be 5-7 days, not two, take it or leave it.

If a "Cease and Desist" order was placed on my account why was I contacted twice by the Fraud Division and also sent emails by them, even though I hadn't placed the order in the first place? Why have I been able to use my card since August 30, 2010 if my account had been sent to collections at that time?

Why was I refused the name of the person who placed the cease and desist order, or even the date when it was placed, even though I am the only account holder? Why was I refused to speak with a supervisor, or even their first name? Is there someone within Capital One that placed the cease and desist order setting be up for future scams? If anyone out there can answer any of these questions, I'll be glad to listen. Thanks. Confused in Texas.

Replies
Advertisement
Denied Increase After Brother Murdered
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CITY OF INDUSTRY, CALIFORNIA -- Oct 5, 2013 my brother was beaten to death by 4 men, one with brass knuckles. His wallet and cell phone were missing when ambulance and police arrived. I called Capital One Bank and requested an increase so I could purchase a ticket to get to my brothers funeral and support my mother and father since I'm the oldest. I have had this account since Apr 2007, never late and I was just asking because I needed to get home. My brothers body was held for two weeks because it was part of a crime scene. I finally borrowed the money to get home.

As consumers we have to stop doing business with those that only lets the money flow one way, into their coffers. I called a few days later and I canceled both accounts. I have been a great, on time paying customer for 7 yrs on the one card and only two on the second. I know they won't go out of business by me taking mine away, but at least their bottom line won't keep getting fat by me since I'm so undervalued. I have a credit card still, but not with them, that's a personal problem I know but I still feel as though since I have been paying bills on time I shouldn't have to wait ten days as I was told by the rep. Since my brothers body was held I did get to attend his funeral.

My mother has lost it and cries nightly about this senseless act. I don't know how I got through it, but I know I don't care for Capital One anymore. Sorry experience, very sorry customer care I think, a multibillion dollar company can't see to take care of those responsible customers that's the reason for their solid growth, not good at all.

Replies
Way to Go Capital One Credit Card Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCLEAN, VIRGINIA -- WAY TO GO CAPITAL One CREDIT CARD COMPANY - First off Capital One is only out to destroy people! And what you are doing is condoling Capital One and all the financial company to do so by this action. As far as I am concern Capital One raised the credit limit on their own! I found out that Capital One seized my account by attempting to buy groceries for myself. Not only was I surprised I was humiliated by Capital One's their actions by doing this! I also do not have any money to put gas in my car nor attempt to pay bills. Also, not able to have food on my table until this issue is resolved. I have not eaten since Saturday May 2nd.

I would like to know what you are going to do about this. It burns me up that these people as humans can condole this! As far as I am concern, this financial company is out to destroy people. I do wonder how you can personally live with yourself as a person. I do not wish harm on anyone since I am not God to judge! But I will pray for these people to be judged. Not only have you frozen my account, but you have frozen my pension money! I am very upset that Capital One has not even returned my call for the last three days with answers to this matter. I have been told with one conversation that they will return my call within five to ten days.

I am not sure what it take to have compassion for people. With no food, not being able to get to work! I would never be a customer of Capital One as a whole ever again. Capital One seem to be very proud of what they are doing! All they have to do is really look on the Internet and search many of the negativity about Capital One! I have seen a very unbelievable complaint about Capital One about a family losing everything and are homeless because of Capital One. I have to say that I do believe what people write about Capital One as review! The only reason is what they have done to me! Please everyone boycott Capital One as a whole! Stay away from these people!

Replies
Avoid Capital One Credit Cards - Bad For Your Credit!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- WARNING: DO NOT USE CAPITAL ONE CREDIT CARDS (Venture Card). I had the CapitalOne Venture card for 4 years for the promise of no annual payment, no foreign transaction fee, and award miles for Travel. First of all, they ran my credit twice on the application - which does negatively affect your credit score - and then could do nothing to fix it. When that ordeal was done with and I was excited that I had used the card and built up a little more than 35,000 award points to redeem I was disappointed to discover that they were next to useless, and far less valuable than advertised and hoped.

I might been OK with the fact that I was getting next to nothing out of the loyalty program (where anywhere else 35,000 miles was enough for a round trip ticket in the US and then still have 10,000 miles to spare) since I didn't have to pay anything to keep the card open, but then the customer service, was absolutely awful. By far the most unprofessional people I have ever spoken with, and didn't even care to assist me with an error they made because I made a payment after day-30 on my account -€“ which they automatically report to a collections agency the day that you do not send payment, so it immediately affects your credit score.

Word of advice, if you are going to use this card, be very careful to never be even a day late, because your rates will instantly skyrocket (despite what they might tell you when you'€™re signing up for the account). They cannot reverse it, one it is sent to collections, and will not warn you no matter how many hears you have been there, or how small the amount.

I recently went through this over $7.25. Frustrating to say the least when there is not so much as a call or letter advising that a payment is past due after having had an account with them and paying on-time, in full for over 4 years. They have my email, my cell, and my address, and advised that they do not notify you unless you specifically requested to receive these types of notifications in advance, and they do not care about hitting your credit score, even if you are just one day late on the month, regardless of the reason.

There are a lot of great credit card options out there, and tons with travel benefits, no annual fee, nor foreign transaction fees. Use a company that you can trust. Personally, I love Wells Fargo or Chase and will keep my accounts there. Even the credit cards that do have the annual fee are worth it, just for the piece of mind that you and your finances are in good hands. AVOID CAPITAL ONE AND PROTECT YOUR FINANCES AND CREDIT.

Replies
Excellent Credit Card Company!!!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- It started out with a $300 Visa offer with a opportunity to bump after 5 months. After 5 months got a bump to 2300. Then another within 5 months to $4300.00. Next, I was sent a pre approval for a Quicksilver Visa with a CL of 3000.00, then a Venture One with a CL higher than the other two combined!!! My credit score has increase by 100 points since I started my relationship with Capital One and I'm so loyal to them!!!

One thing I will point out, I paid my bill sometimes twice a month and at a much higher amount than the minimum payment. I have read that paying higher than the minimum also shows a creditor that you are able to pay more if your credit line is increased... it worked for me! I'm so grateful that Capital One gave me a chance! My interest rate is in the middle... definitely under 18 percent! I have always been handled with respect and professionalism! I love what's in my wallet!!!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Unhappy with service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I have a credit card from Capital One. I work and have many responsibilities and a statement e-mail got buried in my other e-mails, resulting in my not paying a bill by the due date. Rather than make an effort to contact me, Capital One reported the late payment to the credit bureaus. It would have taken a 5 minute phone call and I would have paid the amount.

The customer service there is lacking and they do not make sufficient effort to contact their customers when there are any issues. I did contact the company after this occurred and they were not able to explain why they did not make a sufficient effort to contact me and did nothing to mitigate the situation. I have had a Capital One credit card since 2009.

Replies
Capital One System Errors Causes Customers Suffer a Big Lost.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- The Capital One Credit card company advertises and frequently sends promotion checks to customers allowing them to use checks for purchases, cash, or transfers with no transaction fees. However, their system automatically put on hold customers credit account for trivial/wrong reason. Consequently, customers suffer charge back for returned checks and fee for cancelled checks even they have never spent over limit on their Capital One credit accounts.

On 7/17/2012 I paid $2000 for my credit line of $2000. Capital One accepted this payment and my balance became -$90. That meant Capital One owed me $90 and my balance had $2000 available. The next day, 7/18/2012 I wrote a Capital One promotion check #** of $1800 and deposited to my checking account at Bank of America. However, until 5 days later, on 7/23/2012 I knew the check was denied. Bank of America charged back $12 for returned check and subtracted $1800 from my bank account. I also suffered fees from other cancelled checks due to insufficient checking account at BOA.

On 7/24/2012 my account balance is $0, my available credit $2000. I wrote another check #** of $1820. Still, again my account is on hold due to other banks deposit $3000 into my account on 7/26/2012. I contacted Capital One five times about this problem. They said: "An account will be put on hold if there is (1) Large amount of payment or (2) Multiple payments. It is automatically system, they cannot change it. These are wrong reasons because Capital accepts large amount and multiple payments from customers. Why did they accept payment and then put on hold their customer account?

They can put on hold the amount deposited until it is cleared but they should not put on hold consumer credit line or their entire credit account. Put on hold credit line and put on hold the check is different matter. Capital One said they want to make sure the amount received is cleared. However, the amount should be cleared before posting the transaction. They should post only after the amount is cleared and should give the accurate balance on their customer credit accounts. For example, it is very confused for customer having balance negative -90 after paying $2000, but credit is not available as if they paying late.

The payment from customer in large amount to Capital One is not customers' fault. Customers do not spend over limit on their account. Instead, customers pay to increase the amount available on their account. It is different from late payment. Capital One also failed to notify me about their decline as they stated in section “Important Information About this Offer” on the info how to use Capital check promotion.

I believe hundred thousand customers have been suffered such wrong and unfair practice. FTC and STATE should investigate to protect other Citizens from this error. I want Capital One pay back any charge back fee by Bank of America, other cancelled check fees, and other lost due to Capital One system error.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Capital One Credit Cards Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
229 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Capital One
1680 Capital One Drive
McLean, VA 22102
1-800-227-4825 (ph)
www.capitalone.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks