Preview Review

Next Review

Capital One Credit Cards Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Deceptive Business Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a washer and dryer from Best Buy on the 18 months deferred interest. The offer would expire May 17, 2012. I made another purchase two months later on the same offer which the 18 months would expire July 2012. I made all of my minimum payments of $25 early every month. On May 15, 2012, two days before the offer on the first purchase expired I paid $800.00, which by my calculations based on the first terms should have more than paid off the first purchase.

12 days later I paid the remaining balance on the May statement of 611.49. Mid August of 2012 I got a phone call from Capital One saying I was 60 days late on my payments and I owed $652.00. I told them it was a mistake on their part and went home to find my records. I called them back and explained what I had done as described above. They said when I made the $800 payment I actually owed $872 by May 17 because when I made the second purchase it changed how each payment was applied to each balance so I had miscalculated what I owed on the first purchase, so they charged me over $600 interest plus late fees.

They said I should have read my statements and checked my online statement even though I thought it was paid off (who does that?). I paid the full amount they requested and asked if they would not report the late payment on my credit because I had paid over $1,400 in a two week period. They said they had done nothing technically wrong, it was all my fault. They did refund half of the $652 I paid but refused to remove the late payment from my credit even when I asked they keep the refund and remove the late payment.

In 20 years of credit, several of those with Capital One accounts, I have zero late payments until now. They are obviously more interested in trying to destroy a person's credit than anything probably because then they can charge more interest. I immediately canceled my account and filed complaints with BBB and everywhere else I could think of.. CAPITAL ONE IS A DECEPTIVE COMPANY.

Replies
Capital One Does Not Appreciate Their Customers
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ERIE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I am very disappointed with the service I received from Capital One customer service. I have had their credit card for more than 10 years and I have never been late in making payments. In the past, I have always paid my balance in full. This past year, I was not able to pay off my balance in full but I was making my regular payments as scheduled. I was just recently able to pay the balance in full, including a purchase that would have showed up in the next billing cycle. The whole balance was paid well before my due date, which should reflect a zero balance. Well I get an email with my new statement balance and there is a fee of $51.29.

I logged on to my account to view my previous statement to make sure I paid off the correct amount before I called Capital One to inquire about the fees I was being charged. I did make the correct payment, so I called customer service only to be told that the fees were correct even though I paid my account in full by the due date. I was told it was accrued interest. When I asked if there was anything I could do to have the fees removed, the customer service representative said "no".

I told him that I was very disappointed with the company and that they obviously don't appreciate their customers when they do not work with them on such minimal amounts. I would not recommend getting a credit card by Capital One if this is how they treat their loyal customers. There are a lot more other credit card companies that are willing to work with their customers, especially when the customer has never been late with their payments and they have had their credit card for over 10 years. This is one long time customer Capital One has lost.

Replies
NIGHTMARE! Stay Far Away From CAPITAL ONE Credit Card!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I've owned many credit cards. With a Fico score of 802, no one ever turned me down. I always paid on time and in full. However, I wished I had turned down one credit card, Capital One. Read On. When I first got the card, I charged my electric bill. They immediately froze the card. I called them and asked why. They said that I need to go to my bank (BOA) and get someone there to call them to verify my identity.

I've never had a problem with identity theft and became puzzled at why they froze the card. I thought, OK, I'll go to my bank and they will call Capital One and verify who I am and straighten this out. The BOA representative refused. Capital One told me to go to another branch. It was then that I told them that I am not going to hop from bank to bank that they can go ahead and keep my card frozen, that I was going to cancel it.

After I paid off the balance of about 200.00 I called to cancel the card. They insisted that I send a fax of my driver's license for them to verify my identity to cancel the card. I told them, there's ZERO balance on the card, that I just want it cancelled. The person on the phone kept insisting that I fax their required information in order for me to cancel a card that is still FROZEN for no reason. I was so irritated by them that I hung up the phone. Next up, second call.

During my second call, I got the same song and dance. They said they would not cancel the frozen card unless I faxed them a copy of my driver's license. I told them, that is completely pointless, that I simply want to cancel a card that has been froze for 2 friggin years, that is useless to me and that I no longer want to do business with them. I then asked to speak to a supervisor and asked them why it is so hard to cancel a frozen card that I can't use? The supervisor finally relented and canceled the card after the second call. If you want lots of aggravation, get a Capital One card. I'll never get one again.

Replies
WARNING: Capital One will hold on to your money for a long time for no reason
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I am posting this as a warning to those thinking about Capital One Secured Credit Cards. So far, I have had nothing but a miserable experience with them. I got my approved for my secured card quickly, while online. I paid the initial deposit online (which was better than I thought with my credit score near 509). Then I was bombarded with several conflicting pieces of information about how much of a deposit was necessary. Needed to contact their customer support just to make sense of it.

About 1 month in, I added to my deposit. BE WARNED, THIS TAKES AT LEAST 10 BUSINESS DAYS, IF NOT MORE. According to them, it to make sure the funds clear your bank. Well, according to my bank, my bank manager, and his boss, they cleared approximately 2 business hour after making the deposit. THE CREDIT WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR 11 BUSINESS DAYS AFTER THAT.

About month 2, I made a payment (paid off the balance), and nothing changed. My available credit was not there, despite having not balance, no fees, no anything. It took a conference call with 2 Capital One Supervisors and my bank manager (who is now sick of me by the way) to get my own money available to me.

It's now many months past that. So, I'm good with the card. I pay my bills, actually pay off the balance. I paid off my balance Feb 2, 2012. It is not 2-12-12 and I am STILL waiting for my credit to become available. Once again, bank says that not only have the funds cleared (since they were taken out mere minuets after making the payment. According to all 7 people I talked to in my banks infrastructure, funds cleared an hour after being taken out, and NO FURTHER ATTEMPTS TO VERIFY THIS HAVE BEEN MADE BY Capital One.

So, I'm just warning all of you with tight budgets thinking of using this credit card. Use it, but do not rely on it. For example, if you pay it off using half your paycheck, thinking you'll just use the credit to augment what you've now lost from your paycheck, THINK AGAIN! Your money, once it is in their hands, IS NOT AVAILABLE TO YOU until they deem it okay. According to the last supervisor that I talked to at Capital One, I will have to wait till February 14, 2012 for my credit to become available again.

Not saying this won't help rebuild your credit (though I have not noticed any difference thus far), but just be warned that these people don't care about your financial situation, regardless of being a good customer and paying your bills or not. They process things when they damn well please, and if that is a burden to you, oh well.

Replies
Advertisement
Never Get A Capital One Credit Card, EVER!!!
By -

I received my first Capital One Credit Card in February 2011 and started using it soon after. In March I was advised that there would be Pin Cards coming and I was to send in a copy of my driver's license or passport via the mail. I talked at lengths with customer's service as I had no intention of sending my identification to a credit card company via the mail. I offered to fax them the information but they informed me that this wasn't an option. I never got a pin card and continued to use my card with no problems until October 28, when I went to purchase gas and was told that my card was declined.

Capital One sent a letter dated October 19th, I received it on Oct 24th, which indicated that I had to go to the post office within 3 weeks (by Nov 9th according to my calendar) and have a copy of my driver's license sent to them. On Oct 25th, I mailed their letter back with a copy of my driver's license not knowing that on October 26th they were putting a hold on my account anyway. I was totally embarrassed and because I was going to a park it was the only credit card I had with me. I usually don't carry a lot of cash but thankfully I had just gone to the bank and withdrew cash prior to filling up my vehicle.

I phoned Capital One twice that night, once from the gas station and once when I got back home. I have paid my balance on time and in full every month and never have I been close to the limit. I was told that no one could take the hold off of my card, so I stated, "I guess I will never be able to use the card if no one can take the hold off of it!" The letter indicated to get the info to them within 3 weeks but they don't even allow you the time to do it.

I was planning a trip at the end of the month and advised Capital One months ago that I might be using the card out of the country. I guess I am glad this happened while I am still at home because as pissed as I am at them I would have been doubly pissed had I been out of the country trying to make purchases or paying for gas or a hotel. The rewards with my other credit card are different but I still get rewards. Once the hold is off my card, I plan to cash in on my rewards and never ever deal with Capital One again. I don't usually write reviews but I don't feel that Capital One is worthy of my business or anyone else's.

Replies
Avoid Capital One and Affiliates at All Costs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- After being charged outrageous interest for an extended period, and despite many calls and letters to GM card (formerly HSBC - Now Capital One) I have not been unable to speak with anyone who actually seems like a human being. It almost seems the customers service agents are "numb" to dealing with irate customers, which is a really bad sign. I was never late, never missed a payment, they just arbitrarily decided to raise my interest rate to 29.9% and bury the opt out notice in fine print on the back of one of the last pages of a monthly statement.

So now I'm trying to pay this off completely and they won't even give me a straight answer as to the amount so they can keep me "on the hook" and charge more fees. They've closed my account and lowered the credit limit to within a few dollars what was owed so any interest automatically gets them an over limit fee. Note they also "trolled" their system and found a Best Buy card I had and cut the credit line by 85%. So I called to pay that one off too - same evasive methods. Unscrupulous, unethical, and evasive. Any consumer should avoid them at all costs.

Replies
Bad Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ELMA, WASHINGTON -- I opened a Best Buy credit card now issued by Capital One. I went to use the credit card today and found out that Capital One closed it on me. They closed the card because I had too many inquiries on my credit report. This happened even though I have a perfect payment history with them.

I applied for a car loan in November and the car lot made 11 inquiries and the agent at Capital One said I shouldn't have applied for the car loan. Seriously that is the most absurd reason I have ever heard for closing someone's account. Not only can the customer service agents barely speak English but to close it for the reason they closed it. Hello, credit card companies make periodic reviews of your credit. What is Capital One going to do close everyone's account just because they don't like how many inquiries are on it. Sounds like they are working themselves out of business. Will never have anything to do with this company again.

Replies
Do Not Apply for Capital One Credit Card
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- Think multiple times before you apply for Capital One credit card. I reached US a month ago and I applied for a Capital one credit card. Just because, this is my second time and got a good credit history, my card approved immediately and I got to email that within next 7 business days I should receive the card. But I received the card only after 15 business days and I called customer service and activated the card. Once my card activated, then I started using the card the whole day. Starting from next day the card is disabled and they are checking my identity. I understand that they are doing to protect the identity, but why they can't do all the checks at the time of applying to a credit card??

Why can't they verify the credit history and check with bank accounts instead of asking customers to go to bank on weekdays? Bank policy is outdated and not at all friendly. They use the mail communication for to verify documents and that causes a lot more delay. if they can use email to notify me my card approval, activation etc, why can't they use same email for asking me documents? Totally, I am frustrated with the Capital One credit card and I am doing all the documents upload just to close the account. Even they are not allowing you to close the account. I have already asked my friends and relatives not to apply for Capital One credit card.

Replies
Advertisement
Cut Off Time - 5 Pm NY Times - Even When You Speak With a Human Being
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BAYSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- My payment is due today - December 27th, 2012. I went online to pay it before 7pm Pacific time. After I found out that their cut off time for the present day is 5pm NY time I decided to call their 24/7 customer service. The girl on the phone explained that no matter that I am talking with her and that it is still December 27th she CAN'T PROCESS IT FOR TODAY?! I asked her in return "what is then the purpose of her being paid to answer payment calls since she can't process them for the same day after 5pm NY time" on which she replied with a giggle.

I bet she giggled because she's being asked this same very question every other phone call... Shame on you CapitalOne!!! Let me break it down for you: there are more noble ways of making money than accumulating late fees because you decided that the day ends at 5pm NY time!! By the way why don't you just end the day at 2 am in the morning - and laugh all the way to your bank volt!!!! You lost a customer today!!!! At 7 pm Pacific time!!!

Replies
Horrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IRATE. I have never been so angry with a company in my life. Granted I screwed up and never paid my credit card bills, and it ending up in collections, I eventually got my ** straight and paid it off. HOWEVER, once I logged online to double check and make sure everything was taken care of, there was still a balance! I spoke to the highest person I could through the collection agency and they told me that the balance was completely zeroed out, so anything that shows up online would be Capital One's work, but I should give it another week JUST IN CASE. I did. In fact, I waited two. 30 days later, I still have a outstanding balance when I log online.

I called Capital One directly, and since the foreign girl couldn't help me, I asked for her supervisor. His name was **. He's the most pathetic excuse for a Senior Supervisor. He refused to connect me with his supervisor, and told me he's only allowed to contact that person if there's some problem he just cannot fix. Well, he couldn't fix mine, so who else am I supposed to contact?

I understand, "Kill them with kindness." Oh he did that alright. He also hung up on me. Professional? I told him that I will come back to him and the company as a whole if this outstanding balance ** with my credit. Since Capital One seems to be high and mighty enough to not have a customer service line for service compliments or complaints, I guess I'll just broadcast it everywhere I can!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Capital One Credit Cards Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
230 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Capital One
1680 Capital One Drive
McLean, VA 22102
1-800-227-4825 (ph)
www.capitalone.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks