Preview Review

Next Review

Carrentals.com Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Misleading Rip off!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I rented a car through Carrentals.com, the website directed me to Allianz car insurance, which is supposed to provide coverage of the rental car. I added the insurance, no problem. When I got to the pick up location, I was told that Allianz insurance isn't associated with Advantage rental, and that I would have to purchase their insurance, which was $27 additional a day. My car rental was a Pay Now, which is a discount price, but what they don't tell you is, when the car insurance is added, your rental amount is double the price you paid. There is no Pay Now discount really.

And I did try to cancel my reservation the day before, and was told by Advantage that I needed to email carrentals.com to cancel. I got no response until the following day, and was told by both companies Advantage and Carrentals.com No Refunds on Pay Now "discount " rentals. My car rental was for 4 days, they gave me No refund not even a partial refund. I will NEVER rent through CARRENTALS.COM again, and ADVANTAGE car rental is just terrible, I've had problems with them before. I hope this helps some save time and especially money.

Replies
Advertisement
Be Aware No Customer Service or Anyone to Talk To
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JERSEY CITY, NJ -- Be aware. No customer service or anyone to talk to. Try to change the car rental but the company bounce you around. Worst company ever. Never used them, charge the credit card with using them, bounce you around for customer service. Order cancel month and a half before and still charge the credit card. Be aware. Do not used them. The company charge my cc and I never got the car because there is no one to talk to.

Replies
Do Not Use
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Read the rest of reviews on this company. All 1 stars probably should be 0 if people could. Cost me $400 US dollars than anticipated but it's wasn't the money that upset me. It was the inconvenience they cost my trip of not having a car available right away. PLEASE STAY AWAY!!! Scam! DO NOT USE! They shouldn't be in business!

Replies
Con Artists
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I booked rental and when I completed the rental, my bill was more than I was promised. I asked them. They said, "Taxes went up," or some other incoherent reason. Long email thread with them. They came up with a different excuse every time I debunked the old one. First, they said "fuel charge". I proved that wasn't true. Then they said taxes went up. I said, "In one day? Not possible," and they didn't. Then another excuse. Went on ad nauseam. Bunch of contacting artists.

Replies
Advertisement
E-Z Car Rentals
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was so excited to find a car for three days with such a phenomenal price with unlimited miles. Get to the counter and first I notice a sign that said "We will deduct $200.00 from your account if you use a credit or debit card. No refund will be issued until car is returned then allow up to 10 days for refund." Deep breathe... Too late to not rent the car but ok... I hand the agent my trusted printed out confirmation and before even looking she asked... "Are you flying in," I say no. "Where are you traveling?" North Carolina. She says "Ok we have to charge you per mileage." I said no my reservations say unlimited mileage.

She said "Well if you flew in that would be true but since you are local we have to charge you. I can add that in for you?" Wait... No why doesn't it say that on my reservations??? "Well you have to look down at the very bottom and it says that." I look all over my trusted confirmation and nowhere on the sheet does it say that. "It must be on the terms and condition page." I walk away totally disappointed and pray that my car will make the trip. I cancelled my reservation once I got home and then I see... "You may be charged for cancelling on the same day"... What the what??? I immediately cancelled the reservation I booked for July. This is pure foolishness.

"Thank you for booking at CarRentals.com. Below are the details of your reservation. When you arrive at the E-Z RENT-A-CAR pick-up location, use the confirmation code. Questions about your reservation? Call E-Z RENT-A-Car customer service 404-761-4999.

Your Confirmation Code. Reservation Details. Nissan Versa (or equivalent Compact). Unlimited mileage. Air Conditioning. Automatic. Pick-up. Friday May 20th, 2016, 10:00 AM. ATLANTA - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320. Drop-off. Monday May 23rd, 2016, 10:00 AM. Atlanta - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320."

Replies
Not Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a confirmed reservation with CarRentals.com. (Enterprise Confirmation Code: **) with Enterprise, a company I have used before. On the way to pick up the car I received a call from the Enterprise location. Enterprise called me when I was in route to pick up the car to say "I don't know why you got a reservation, we do not have any cars. Here is a number to call." Thanks for leaving me stranded at the airport. I contacted CarRentals.com and got a generic reply.

Here it is: "CarRentals.com would like to thank you for emailing us with your comments. We continue to strive to meet or exceed our customers' travel expectations and if one of our affiliates does not fulfill their obligation to you, then we appreciate being made aware of their shortcomings. You had a confirmed reservation. There are times due to unforeseen circumstances, such as another renter not returning a vehicle or when unexpected damages occur to the vehicle, which cause the vendor to be unable to provide you a vehicle.

If you were able to obtain a vehicle from another source, you can contact their Customer Service Department to seek reimbursement if the charges were more than originally booked. Of course, any options added at the rental counter would still be at your cost. Contrary to the poor impression this experience has left with you, this is certainly not representative of the high quality of service we strive to give our customers."

A few days after I received a call from Charles the manager at Enterprise. He was apologetic and offered to comp a few days rental. Well, I do not need another rental car. I sent Charles an email asking for a gift card for the difference between the two rentals (about $30.00) and to this day I have not heard back. I thought this very reasonable for the inconvenience. Certainly I would not recommend either of these companies.

I would never use CarRentals.com again. The rates may appear to be good but that isn't the way it turned out. It was a waste of time and an inconvenience. And to Charles at Enterprise...you got my phone number...you have my email. I am still waiting to hear back!

Replies
Run Away as Fast as You Can!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I Googled for car rentals near LAX. One of the first that popped up was CarRentals.com. Looked legit with all the major companies listed. Booked a rental with the lowest priced one - Economy Car rentals. Never heard of it, but whatever. Done deal.

Got into L.A., but plans changed and had to cut my three day stay short. No worries, I'll just return the rental and get refunded. Wrong!!! Economy Car rentals didn't want anything to do with the refund - "call CarRentals.com," I was told, "and they'll refund you." I had to insist to get a receipt which stated that I returned the vehicle early... A little unnerving.

Sent an email to CarRentals.com explaining the situation and requesting a refund, and here's what I got instead: "Unfortunately, you had a prepaid rental which could not be cancelled, changed or refunded. You agreed to these terms at the time you purchased it. As such, there is no refund for early return. Sorry."

Maybe I misunderstood the terms when placing my order. I know I misunderstood the part that says I am not dealing with the actual rental company, but a middleman (Maybe it didn't say that anywhere?). A middleman that does not want to give up a penny they have received from you! I've never heard of such terms with a car rental!

I honestly thought I would be dealing with the actual rental company. Just like you do when you buy an airplane ticket from CheapOair or Orbitz or something. You can call the airline and deal with them. Well, not here. WHY did Economy Car Rentals not tell me this when I went to return the car??? I would have kept it for the duration and let my son use it.

Never, never, never, never again! This goes for both of these dishonest, pathetic, Fly-By-Night companies. These guys haven't even HEARD the word "customer service"! Don't try to save $5/day like I did, go directly with a reputable company. Don't get ripped off! Take your money and RUN away from these highwaymen!!

Replies
Went Way Beyond My Expectations to Resolve a Scam With a Car Rental Company
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WASHINGTON -- I have used Carrentals.com twice before, booking cars in Atlanta and Orlando. I received excellent prices to the point where I was nervous about bait and switch, but both went smoothly. Granted this is more on the rental company, and I've wondered, 'well what can CarRentals.com do if they DO try to rip me off?

Well on a trip to LA I found out. My flight delayed, I looked up the location of the company I booked via CarRentals.com. First thing that came up was a review saying I was charged 5 times as much as my original reservation. As I ran through the airport expecting the worse, I made it just 5 minutes late and was told my rental - which I reserved via CarRentals for about $60 for the weekend - would actually be 89 a day before all the add-ons as if that mattered. After a bit of a battle I left and thinking of the previous review I read, decided to avoid the agency across the way thinking they may be in on it (turns out they do in fact share the same parent company).

I ended up at Alamo where I paid an additional 210 over my original agreement - only slightly less than the amount I refused to pay from the original location. To wrap up this long story, while my complaints to the rental company went unanswered, CarRentals.com was incredibly helpful and responsive, a few times even contacting me when I had given up on hope of this being resolved. Finally, 4 months later I was shocked to receive a reimbursement for the difference in cost from the rental agency!

I'm still amazed they were able and willing to pursue this to the end; I've heard so many horror stories about rental companies that it seemed hopeless: really I was venting with no expectation of getting my money back. Given some of the negative reviews, I can only guess that perhaps they have realized their clout and are now wielding it to keep rental agencies responsible and their clients satisfied? After all, they can really hurt a company's web presence if they want to. I'll certainly use them and recommend them again.

Replies
Advertisement
Avoid CarRentals.com at all costs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLINGHAM, WASHINGTON -- I wish I could give CarRentals.com zero stars, as this was just a terrible experience. It all started with the reservation. I reserved my car through CarRentals.com to get a good deal. The process was a bit much, but I've had worse. As I was completing the reservation, I distinctly read that this location may accept debit cards. (hint: this comes up later.)

I selected Enterprise as I'm familiar with them so I could rent a car and take a trip to Wisconsin for a business meeting while we were on vacation in Chicago for the holidays. I arrived at Enterprise to pick up my car only to find out that they would not take my debit card. Yes, I am well aware their site says, "may". If they won't take a debit card, it should be "will not." I could have brought one if I had known, but I prefer to not carry as I only use my credit card in emergencies.

Enterprise lied TWICE about trying to contact me about not accepting debit cards for people who live out of state, first saying they tried to call me and left a message, but then admitted they did not have my full phone number (even though I gave it) and then admitted they really did not. Then they lied about emailing me about the credit card issue.

So now I have to wait for an hour while my wife bundles up our two kids and drives back to bring my card. And I'm late... Thanks. This was all avoidable. If they could not contact me - admit it. If there was an issue, so some empathy. They did neither. I'll use Enterprise again, but not this location. You shouldn't either.

So I contact CarRentals.com to let them know about the issue. I wasn't happy, but having worked from companies like this I know it's good to hear if there is a problem that can be solved, especially since it was CarRentals.com that I used for the reservation. Mind you, I asked for nothing. This was just an, "I'm not happy at all, but you should be aware of this" type email.

A little over an hour later I get a response that left me speechless: "... We would have been happy to find out their policy re: debit cards if you had requested that we ask for you." Are. You. Kidding. Me? That's their job. It's their job to know and they dropped the ball.

Here is my response to this: "Actually, I just won't use your service again. The second paragraph of your template, "We would have been happy to find out their policy re: debit cards if you had requested that we ask for you" is ridiculous. Your PAGE stated they may accept debit cards. I should not have had to ask. I'm done."

Six minutes later their support team emails back: "With all due respect, you should have asked because it said "may."" With all due respect?

Here was my final comment to CarRentals.com: "I would like to thank you for the response, however ill conceived your last response may be. It was illuminating. Many online companies pride themselves on customer service. I know it can be difficult sometimes receiving emails from angry customers.

I recall that I used to feel that way sometimes. I wanted to send a quick one or two sentence response to an angry customer in an effort to one-up their frustrated response. It's akin to dropping the mic and saying, "BAM! I'm out!" In reality you provide additional fodder, do nothing to solve the customer's initial problem and instead steel their resolve to make their experience known to others.

It used to be said that, on average, a satisfied customer will tell 3 people while an unsatisfied customer will tell 7. Unfortunately, social media popped up and transformed that. But enough of this back and forth. I stand by my original complaint, as well as my second. I'll just add this to the online reviews and no longer use your service. Merry Christmas."

I will NEVER use this company again. Don't hide. Don't be snide. Do your job.

Replies
Use a Different Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Keep away! I set up a reservation with this company to pick up a car at LAX. I finished my reservation and I did notice that there was a no refund section, which I thought was fine because everything seemed legit. However, I call the rental car company to find out where they are and they aren't at the airport, they're off site. They also tell me they close 40 minutes after we land. I asked him would they stay open for us and he said no. He suggested I cancel the reservation.

When I try and explain to Carrentals.com the issue that they won't even be open for pickup they said they will cancel it with a service charge fee of 50% (he said this was the car rental companies policy). I spoke with the rental company and they said that is incorrect, they haven't even received money from Carrentals.com, and wouldn't charge if we couldn't get the car. Carrentals.com kept insisting they could charge the fee for the rental company. I would highly suggest staying away from this company. Go directly to the rental car site.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Carrentals.com Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 95 ratings and
102 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Carrentals.com
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
www.carrentals.com
Compare Car Rental Companies