Preview Review

Next Review

CIGNA Corporation Long Term Disability Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
CIGNA and Long Term Disability Claims Handling (LTD)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- Please voice and file complaints with your particular state's insurance department or department that handles such complaints. The more people that let their voices be heard, the more we can fight the lobbyist's efforts to help CIGNA get away with what they do... Then get a good lawyer if necessary, as CIGNA has lots of clout...

Regarding CIGNA in general, but in my case STD/LTD – Short Term Disability and Long Term Disability. I paid for LTD (Long Term Disability) coverage/benefits for over 15+ years. When the coverage was needed CIGNA has done nothing, but make the process extremely difficult, making it clear the object is to make the claimant give up. My claim went from PSL/STD (Personal Sick Leave/Short Term Disability) to LTD (Long Term Disability) with the same incident number, with CIGNA handling from the start.

I have been out of work since April 11th 2014. SSDI has determined me to be permanently disabled and will re-examine my case December 2017. CIGNA now states they need an IME as there is not sufficient proof/documentation to support my disability claim. I know the contract gives them the right for an IME, but they have plenty of documentation, it is just to make it more difficult. Also Google CIGNA and IMEs to see how much fun that is. To date my claim has been denied three (3) times (one of which was verbal), with each denial being appealed and then overturned, showing CIGNA just wants to see what they can get away with.

Two (2) denials were in writing, one (1) was verbal, but all three (3) appeal letters are on file. I have already file a complaint of BAD FAITH PRACTICES and DISCRIMINATION AGAINST PEOPLE WITH MENTAL ILLNESS through the New York State Insurance Department – New York State Department of Financial Services. Their claim is currently in closed status as CIGNA was paying me and my claim covered at that time.

They advised me to cooperate with CIGNA, provide the requested information by both myself and my medical providers. If denied for a fourth time to call New York State Department back, at which time they will reopen my claim and investigate my allegations. CIGNA can see all the paperwork and supports in my file. I have given CIGNA more than ample information/supports to substantiate my claim. Know that I will not go down without a fight. I will write to every blog, government and state agencies, and review for an attorney to seek not only what I am entitled to for LTD benefits, but also court costs, and most importantly of all punitive damages.

I have work for approximately 33 years, of which 29+ years had no gaps in employment. I have never collected unemployment benefits, been on welfare, or any other assistance. I had no other option, but to no longer work. Between my illness getting worse with age, the work environment getting increasingly demanding and more stressful year after year. Also with some of my physical illnesses being caused directly or indirectly due to my mental health issues and some of my physical issues limiting treatment for my mental issues as well as exacerbating them, there was no more options.

I struggled for years to attempt to keep working with things getting to the point of have a near nervous breakdown every day of the week. I am lucky to date I have not had a heart attack. My wife and I, even though low middle class, gave a substantial amount of or income and belongings to charity. All of which demonstrates I am no system sucker. Also check out Wikipedia regarding CIGNA, and I am sorry for those honest claimants just trying to get what you paid for.

Replies
Advertisement
A Bunch of Thieves
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have catastrophic tinnitus and have been unable to work for the past four years. I have diagnoses from my EMT, GP, neurologist, audiologist, acupuncturist and others. All are in agreement that I am not fit to work. Cigna has rejected my claim and then ultimately approved it after a nine-month battle for my last two appeals.

Once an independent medical review team is called in, which takes 6 to 9 months, my case has been approved. Then Cigna in as little as three months can review the case and again decline coverage. Each time I spend thousands in legal bills to challenge the denial. Given the catastrophic nature of the condition and the exhaustive paperwork filed, Cigna ultimately has paid. Their behavior is driven by cost savings and excluding clients such as myself who are disabled.

My only advice in dealing with CIGNA is hire yourself a lawyer immediately even before you filing your first claim. Expect that they search for anyway to keep from paying, including perhaps waiting for you to die. This company should be shut down. Its practices are egregious and injurious to those who have paid for disability and receive little but grief in return. If you have any choice in your disability insurance company, do NOT choose Cigna. The mafia probably offers better coverage. My case has just been denied for the third time. If I could sue these ** into bankruptcy I would be happy to do so. They deserve no less.

Replies
Cigna Long Term Disability Insurance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- Years before my disability I enrolled with Cigna Long Term Disability insurance through my employer. When I was diagnosed with degenerative disc disease and had my first operation I was approved for long term disability as I was expected to recover and return to work in 3 months. As with many who undergo a disc fusion, my problems just got worse. I now have 4 discs bulging and pressing on my main nerve root. Even though my post surgery pain level was significantly higher than before, Cigna decided I could go back to my old job. I appealed and won.

Two years later and Cigna does what they call an "any occupation review". While they can't tell me I can do any other job (because my pay scale is too high) they do tell me I can go back to my old job. I appeal and Win again.
Two years later and the only thing I have done is long term pain management. No operations. No medications (except pain). No physical therapy. No change in my medical condition in any way. You guessed it - Cigna tells me to go back to work. I am appealing this decision also and hope to win.

If your company offers Cigna insurance urge them to look elsewhere. If you have Cigna insurance take further steps to protect your family. If you are, like me, fighting with Cigna right now pray for divine intervention because that is your only hope. Cigna does not care about you, the law, or doing what's right. The only thing Cigna cares about is their bottom line. Companies like Cigna give the insurance industry a bad name.

Replies
Long Term Disability
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- CIGNA first shortchanged me by half what they owed me in long term disability payout, stating in writing that my short term and long term ran concurrently. WHAT? First off, my short term check was five months after it would have stopped, had I been paid on time. My long term was backdated over six months to where it was supposed to have started. How can long term and short term insurance run at the same time? I paid, although through my employer, extra for my long term, as my employer doesn't offer long term. Now I received a letter that my long term is to be canceled Jan. 28th, 2017 because their mental health clause allows them to.

So not only did I get short changed on my money. Now I'm getting shut off after only eighteen months. I initially had to do battle with them over my even receiving long term benefits. I kept getting letters that my doctors weren't sending the records that they needed. I finally went to the Dr. office, had my records printed out, and sent them certified mail to Cigna office. The first batch weighed in at a paltry five pounds. Not ounces. Pounds. Funny how fast my claim was approved when I smoked them with that move. Insurance companies are lying cheating shysters. And they have nerve to be upset when they get sued and beaten in court.

Replies
Advertisement
Cigna Mishandling of Disability Claims
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- Regulatory Settlement Agreement: An extensive investigation regarding the long term disability claims handling practices of CIGNA Insurance Company began in September 2009 and was concluded with the signing of a Regulatory Settlement Agreement (“CIGNA Agreement”) on May 13, 2013.

In this agreement CIGNA is also required to abide by new claims handling procedures which require CIGNA to give greater weight to Social Security Disability Benefit Approval Findings and take every reasonable step to verify a claimant's disabling condition. CIGNA is also required to use independent doctors to evaluate claims and they cannot bonus any employees based upon the number of claims denied. CIGNA will be subject to constant monitoring by the state's investigators and must meet with investigators quarterly to report on the number of previously denied claims that have been reversed and the implementation of the new claim handling procedures.

HOW CIGNA MISHANDLED MY HUSBAND'S CLAIM: CIGNA in their settlement agreement dated May 13, 2013 did not follow the agreed to Enhanced Claim Procedures in the handling of my Long Term Disability claim for symptoms and the problems associated with my diagnosis of Parkinson's disease. CIGNA wrongfully terminating my LTD claim, CIGNA supported a finding of disability before the Social Security Administration (SSA), and then disregarded the SSA's finding of disability. My LTD benefits were approved by CIGNA personnel on January 13, 2014. I became entitled to monthly SSDI benefits beginning July 2014.

On October 14, 2014 I received a letter from CIGNA stating I had 30 days to provide requested information. My LTD benefits were canceled on October 23, 2014. Seven (7) working days after the letter was sent out the decision was made that I was no longer eligible for LTD benefits under my plan. Within a 10 month time frame they tell me I am eligible under my STD and LTD plan for benefits, they help me with my SSDI claim which was approved, they then inform me of a review and give me 30 days to comply, they make a decision 7 working days later that I am no longer disabled. CIGNA's did not comply with its own deadline.

My Social Security Disability Income awarded was not given significant weight. I was not given any information on the basis for determining the weight of my award and its relevance. The only thing I was told about SSDI was that they had confirmed that all available medical information was received based on my notification of benefits and a call to me asking if independent testing by SSA had been done. CIGNA has not explained why it discounted my SSA decision supporting my disability.

CIGNA provided me with the resources to prove to the government that I am permanently disabled. Then they promptly and surreptitiously cancel my benefits and claim I am not disabled and I am capable of working. CIGNA made no attempt to resolve discrepancies in medical statements or conclusions. I am at a loss to understand how the review team at CIGNA came to the conclusion that my Parkinson's disease has reversed its progression and that I am now better than I was at the beginning of the year.

This conclusion does not align with what I have learned or experienced since being diagnosed with Parkinson's disease. It also does not align with what is on the CIGNA website “Parkinson's is Progressive, which means it gets worse over time.” CIGNA did not at any time during the review process ask me for any of my own statements regarding my disease and its progression. I could not find where my claim manager had ever reviewed my reporting of symptoms. I do not believe that all my conditions were considered.

My claim manager did not seek any further clarification from my physicians even though my records indicated additional symptoms. I could not find where any attempt was made to clarify the functional discrepancies between the CIGNA reviewers and my treating physicians. We are working through the CIGNA labyrinth of paperwork and filing an appeal. I just hope that this information gets out and something is done to protect the consumer.

Replies
CIGNA is a Bunch of Outright Liars.
By -

In December we finished our battle with short term disability. My husband has Crohn's Disease that has been complicated with ongoing Pyoderma Gangrenosum. The battle took over 2 years between him trying to go back to work and Cigna's complete lack of professionalism handling his case. Paperwork was constantly lost, doctors' phone calls were not returned, keeping us in the dark on what the needed to evaluate the case, and not returning our phone calls were more than a common practice. Somehow we got through.

We were recently contacted by their Life Insurance Department. They were going to do "Their own investigation, being that Long Term Disability had nothing to do with Life Insurance." We sent out all of the recent records. Including the last colonoscopy (which was in July) and his last Dr. appointment (which was in December). In the mean time ** saw a new GI May 7th.

They denied our case saying that the information was not current enough. When asked if we can send in the May 7th narrative, we were told it was too late. We just received the LTD check which was 1/2 the amount it should be. When asked why we were told the case was re-evaluated when they evaluated the Life Insurance because all departments are connected. They have received 3 different narratives from 3 different doctors in the past 7 months stating that if ** should return to work he will ultimately lose his limb. This prognosis will never change. Both diseases are chronic and debilitating.

Apparently since we called the day before the letter was sent out of denial for LTD they will do another review. I asked why we were not notified of the review and why no one called to say they needed further documentation. I got no answer. ** asked how often they believe someone should get a colonoscopy? He got no answer.

I am tired of their unethical antics. I pray that they come under review. Our house is for sale, we sold the car, and are living in my in-laws' basement. I hold them personally responsible for our financial downfall. Not to mention the sleepless nights and emotional stress they have put on us.

Replies
Waiting to Find Out if They Extended Long Term Disability
By -

I am coming to the end of the 2 yrs. that I have been on Long Term and waiting to hear if they are going to extend the benefit. They hired a company that sent me to an IME (independent medical examiner). I had someone take me to the IME and they sat in the room with me. One of the questions this Dr asked me was if I had a lawyer. I wondered what this had to do with medical services. I was very taken back. The Dr made a decision in less than 20 mins. How does a Dr make a decision without a physical or see your Dr records? I called the case worker to let them know what I thought about this IME and they said they had my medical records.

Is there not this thing called HIPA where I have to authorize who sees my medical records? Anyway I looked up the company that Cigna paid for this IME. It gave a lot of information. Like how the company sends the IME false documents and also since the IME is hired by this other company to stay in good standing so they continue to get business from this company the IME lies about things.

There were a few things that came to my attention during this IME visit that did not sit well. I thought Drs which this IME is take an ethics code when they become Drs? I brought what went on to my primary care Dr and he stated that the IME lied to me. I already knew that. Cigna hires these companies that hire IMEs to get you off the books. That is what my Dr said to me. Cigna has yet to let me know if they are extending my benefits. I have done everything they wanted. My stress level is up worrying if I am going to be able to pay bills. I hate the helpless feeling and never did I think I would be in this position in my life.

So here I sit to hear if I will be able to pay bills or if I have to let things go that I worked so hard to get before this disability came up. I know my caseworker doesn't understand all this. They still have a job that they can go to. They aren't worrying about helping people. Hard working people that fell on a bad moment in their lives. Their job is to get rid of people off their books. I wonder how they are trained for that? Is it lose your compassion for other's training?

I hope one day the people who work for the company Cigna hired, the IME, and the case worker have to go through this in their lives and see it from the other side. How humiliating it is to have to depend on others to determine if you will get a check to help pay your bills. Being disabled and not being able to work was not what I wanted in my life - it just happened.

Replies
Excuses and Covert Harassment
By -

I had an EEOC claim against CIGNA. I have called and written MANY times to no avail. It's been there since 2000 and not a word. Here's the gist. CIGNA sent me for 2 psychiatric IMEs when I first put forth my claim. 1 shrink did CIGNA's bidding but was shot down by my doctors, psychologist, and neuropsych tests and brain scans.

The second shrink NEVER sent CIGNA his report despite his outright rudeness to me. And here's the kicker. My doctor treats over 2,000 CFIDS patients and is very politically active, as much as possible. Sitting in her office one day guess who came walking out of my doctor's office??? This second shrink and his daughter. I thought he was going to faint when he saw me. When I mentioned it to my doctor she said his daughter has CFIDS and he was unable to find a doctor UNTIL HE SAW ME. However, he used his daughter's problems to qualify him as a "CFIDS expert." My doctor had words with him and then refused to send his write-up to CIGNA.

I happened to speak to the other people in my illness cluster and NONE of them went for psych IMES despite all 3 of these people being treated for MAJOR DEPRESSION. I was in counseling due to my infertility treatment with a psychologist who specialized in infertility related counseling. Not depression!

When I asked CIGNA why I was the ONLY one (as my investigation turned up) sent for these IMEs I received no less than 3 nasty letters from CIGNA and their supervisors basically saying 'we are paying you, what more do you want?' Yeah, I only got paid after 2 of us sent letters to the President of CIGNA and SUDDENLY I was sent for IMEs after my first check came. Hmmmmm. My doctor put forward that these IMEs constitutes "Disparate Treatment". CIGNA said that there were things specific to my claim. They refused to tell me or my doctors what these things were!

THE ONLY DIFFERENCES ARE: I was the first claimant, the youngest claimant and the most vocal when payment was seriously delayed. My doctor said that I was in counseling as a normal part of infertility treatment (which I stopped when I got sick). So unless they "Feel infertility is a MENTAL illness and not, as the Federal Government agrees, is an organic problem and a legitimate disability unconnected to her CFIDS" that CIGNA "acted in a manner so as to punish (me) for simply seeking benefits."

Later, when the time came for CIGNA to withhold my checks as part of their payback for SSDI - they OVERESTIMATED what I owe them. They would not answered mine or my legal aide's letters or calls. Now, I only get COLA adjustments every 2 or 3 years not yearly as I should. I wrote twice this past year asking them to review their payments to me and to bring my COLA and guess what? They have since refused to reply. I'm afraid going to my State Insurance Department will trigger more "reviews" for me.

And apparently, a big company like CIGNA "does not have the capability to make direct deposits of my paltry LTD checks to my bank account." Are they kidding? Since my case has been moved around to FOUR different offices in the last 10 years you'd think they'd join the 21st Century and offer direct deposit to those of us who are permanently disabled. NO. Not CIGNA.

Replies
Advertisement
Battle for What's Deserved
By -

ILLINOIS -- I too was denied a few times so I got an attorney and after a couple of months was finally awarded my disability. I have several things wrong starting with failed lumbar surgery, serious multilevel disc disease which inc's 12 disc degenerated, bulged, fused and failed, 8 in my back and 4 in my neck. I also have osteoporosis, osteoarthritis, both elbows have had upper lateral release due to severe tendonitis. Also very depressed over all I have been through.

I was awarded social security when the judge reviewed my medical history, did not have to go to court at all for that. Now Cigna called me today and advised they are terminating my claim because a functional capacity test says I can still do something out there. Which also was a joke, they said I sat for an hour and did not act like it bothered me but he wasn't even in the room for 15 maybe 20 minutes, had he been he would have seen me stand a couple times to stretch and even move the chair back and get on my knees to complete their paperwork.

It's a joke and a game for them to deny everyone without just cause. Had four Dr's to advise I am 100% disabled, 2 I never met before in my life and a judge to award my SS just by looking at my records. I take 100MG of morphine twice a day, 5 to 6 lortabs a day, valium to help to sleep and relax and cymbalta for depression. Also I have worked since I was 12 years old and never stopped until I just could not go anymore. Time to put an end to this injustice and I need help from the best because on behalf of all of us true victims, we need justice once and for all.

Replies
Screwed by Cigna for Many Years
By -

I had LTD through work and needed to file from a back injury. My company did not help me to obtain benefits either. After many years of perseverance, doctors' reports, and three denials for initial coverage, I was given back pay for four years and put on LTD. Four years later they dumped me even though my doctor says otherwise. Nothing changed in my medical situation. I was and still am on social security. I take 360 mg of oxycontin a day along with norco, fentora, and a whole slew of others. No mention of meds in the IME report.

That "doc" was a joke. He had not treated a real person in decades. So they dropped me. I got an attorney who filed appeal. Cigna wrote to say they needed 45 more days to finish. Cigna never responded to my appeal. At a certain point we filed in federal court. Cigna does not want the case held in NY where my attorneys work. At one of the first meetings, they asked to change venue. My attorneys were awarded the opportunity for discovery at court. Now I wait to see what happens.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

CIGNA Corporation Long Term Disability Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
12 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
CIGNA Corporation
One Liberty Place
Philadelphia, PA 19192-1550
215-761-1000 (ph)
215-761-5515 (fax)
www.cigna.com
Product/Services
Compare Health Insurance Companies