Preview Review

Next Review

Comcast Corporation Triple Play Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Death by Fees, Inconsistent Pricing and Lousy Online Support
By -

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Here is the text from my online chat with Comcast today.

Keep in mind I was double checking what a door-to-door representative stopped by and told me this week. Note the TOTAL lack of any level of sales effort.

Had Comcast been on par with my separate services on cost, I may have jumped.

user Guest_ has entered room

Guest(Wed May 19 20:06:24 PDT 2010)>assisted buy flow

analyst Jeandra has entered room

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:09:47 PDT 2010)>Hello Guest_, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Jeandra. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:09:48 PDT 2010)>Hi. You are currently connected to the Sales Department. How are you today?

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:10:23 PDT 2010)>Very good thanks.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:10:30 PDT 2010)>It's great to know that!

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:10:36 PDT 2010)>How may I help you today>

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:11:03 PDT 2010)>Couple of questions as I'm considering the HD Preferred Plus XF Triple Play package. I'm currently a Comcast internet only customer.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:11:16 PDT 2010)>Thank you for the information.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:11:18 PDT 2010)>For the privacy and protection of your account, please verify your name and the last four digits of your SSN.

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:11:59 PDT 2010)>you need that to sell me something?

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:12:55 PDT 2010)>Nevermind. Last name: xxxx Last 4: xxx

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:13:27 PDT 2010)>It is for security purposes, it is done every time we open a customer's account.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:13:42 PDT 2010)>Than you, xxxx.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:14:11 PDT 2010)>We do have $119.99 HD Preferred XF Triple Play.

[Right off the bat she gets the wrong service I asked for]

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:15:01 PDT 2010)>What is my total cost (including tax) for the HD Preferred Plus package in my area?

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:15:23 PDT 2010)>Please give me a moment to check on that.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:15:26 PDT 2010)>May I know the number of TVs that you have?

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:15:52 PDT 2010)>That would include 1 TV with an HD DVR and another with an HD tuner only.

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:16:32 PDT 2010)>This is the Preferred "Plus" package just to be sure you caught that.

[I knew she was screwing up so I wanted to get the quote right the first time]

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:16:49 PDT 2010)>No.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:16:55 PDT 2010)>It is $119.99 HD Preferred XF Triple Play.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:17:18 PDT 2010)>HD Preferred Plus XF Triple Play is at $139.99 for 12 months.

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:18:18 PDT 2010)>Great. Please tell me what my total bill will be per month (if there is extra for the DRV and receiver) plus any taxes. Thanks.

[I need apples to apples so the tax issue can make a difference and asked for it twice]

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:18:47 PDT 2010)>You will take HD Preferred Plus XF Triple Play is at $139.99 for 12 months, right?

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:19:01 PDT 2010)>Yes the plus package

[Uh... yes, I specifed that twice already]

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:19:56 PDT 2010)>Would you like to publish your phone number? I need to ask you this to get the correct calculation.

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:21:26 PDT 2010)>No I would not like the phone number published. Is there a fee for such a thing?

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:21:39 PDT 2010)>Yes.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:21:52 PDT 2010)>Please give me a moment to check on that.

[A fee NOT to do something - who is the product idiot that came up with this one]

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:21:54 PDT 2010)>for publishing or not publishing?

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:22:06 PDT 2010)>OK, thanks.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:22:09 PDT 2010)>Yes.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:23:47 PDT 2010)>Please give me a few minutes.

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:23:54 PDT 2010)>No problem

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:24:33 PDT 2010)>Thank you.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:27:06 PDT 2010)>Please bear with me.

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:27:37 PDT 2010)>Not a problem at all. Would prefer to get everything I need to make a decision tonight. Thanks.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:32:03 PDT 2010)>Here is the breakdown: HD Preferred Plus XF Triple Play for 12 months - $139.99/month, One-time Internet and Phone Install Fee - $52.99, HD-DVR for 1st TV - $9.95/month HD box for 2nd TV - $9.95/month, One-time Non-Publist Setup Charge - $5, Non-publish - $1.50/month

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:34:15 PDT 2010)>Is there anything else that I may assist you with today?

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:34:46 PDT 2010)>Wow. That is almost a non-starter. I'm already an internet customer so I assume the install fee goes away. I'm definitely not a fan of paying 9.95 a month for just the HD tuner. Are you sure that's correct?

[Local representative said absolutely no install fee and never stated a fee for the HD tuner - so that is likely two incorrect pricing quotes]

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:35:21 PDT 2010)>Sorry, that's One-timeCable and Phone Install Fee - $40.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:35:48 PDT 2010)>You will no longer be charged for an Internet Install Fee, Tina.

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:36:49 PDT 2010)>OK, well I guess that makes my decision against the triple play. Too many extra fee's. Thanks.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:37:00 PDT 2010)>You're most welcome!

[Wow ... a customer dumps the decision to sign up for Triple play and that's all they do. That's crazy.]

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:37:01 PDT 2010)>Is there anything else that I may assist you with today?

Guest_(Wed May 19 17:37:15 PDT 2010)>No thanks.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:37:41 PDT 2010)>Thank you for confirming that.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:37:42 PDT 2010)>It was a pleasure assisting you today.

Jeandra(Wed May 19 20:37:43 PDT 2010)>Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support! Goodbye and enjoy the rest of the day. Do you want to watch full TV shows and movies online? Go to www.fancast.com

So the bottom line is I'm getting conflicting #'s all over the place, hidden fees(a fee NOT to publish my number is stupid].

Conclusion. Customer lost. I'll stick with my Dish Network for TV and $9.95 VOIP phone that works great.

Replies
Advertisement
Comcast Bundle
By -

CARTERSVILLE, GEORGIA -- Dec 8th - I've email them on complaint/bundle.. My3Cent.com. I went through Comcast for about 8 years same as well AT&T... Not available in the area... with all of this bull crap. They are dealing with all customers in Bartow County. They are making money I know that for sure... Comcast Representative. Online Help 12-02-09.

I'm hearing impaired. I've went their office about 5 times. I'll be darn for this because I've had my money available for them to come hook up and never did telling me all kinds of answers if I could have putting the wires for free. He told my son, I've went out to talk to him he had to make a phone call to hire a survey. He does know how to measure. MY God another waiting. Still no one ever called me about it. I've had to go to the office on it. Too long for this too...

Okay let's start. I've been dealing with Comcast for a long time trying to get the deal here at my address above, from phone, visiting the office, seeing the Wal-Mart representative for 6 to 8 years on and off, in person and over the phone, too many turn around... getting the cable hook.

One representative ** and I (we've) talked on the phone and Me, in person for hours. They told me that I can dig as long it is 250 feet to power pole. So I've hired man to help me with dish trencher to dig the ground for the cable line. We did it - paid him $107.84, $37.84 a carton cigarette and $60 check for the work and rented a trencher machine from my work for 79.00 per weekend - have receipt. Also bought the Comcast cable roll for $50.00 in check. It took one day to do it.

Also the Technician came to my House on Saturday and said "Oh I've could have done it for free," to my son, then I've came to talk to him said, "This is my cable line." He can't do it because it not the right cable line and it has to be 350 feet from the pole. Always Different answers from different representative. Why??? He made a call - said the survey will come to measure it first before doing it... he said they will call me, so I've heard from them... I want my money back - $255.86 for refund and my work cable $299.00 and for all time with difficult years for this Comcast to get bundle. I'm between Dogwood Road ## Cedar Creek Road. They have Comcast...

I'm getting my refund for what I paid to Comcast for hook up in mail that what the representative said on Nov 4th, and this representative, Lady @ Comcast said that she will get the manager and investigator to look on what we did. I want my refund if they are not going to hook up the bundle.... I'€™m tired of this bull crap for 8 yrs of waiting for Comcast and AT&T with the bundle. I want my refund of 299.00, to hook up the cable line as told.

Replies
Wanted to Get Rid of My Premium Channels to Save $... Oh But This Will Cost More Money!!!
By -

NEW HAMPSHIRE -- I'm trying to grasp how Comcast can deliberately deceive, trick, con, scam, and rip off customers the way they do and get away with it! We have had our cable and internet with Comcast back when they were road runner... Forever! This past summer I finally took the plunge and added our phone; this was a huge mistake!

Someone from Comcast called me with a deal that my bill would be $10.00 Less by 'bundling' my phone. Well, I thought I'd do it because I wanted to get the DVR box and that was $12.95 per month for that box/service. Plus I'd be saving the $48.00 from our monthly Verizon home phone bill! After it was all said and done, the guy mentioned that we would be receiving the Starz channel, free for 2 months and I would need to call to cancel it. I marked this date on my calendar and later when I called I was told that if I take Starz off, then I will lose HBO and a boat load of regular cable channels.

I also found out that my HBO was now bundled up with the Starz channel and instead of the $10.00 for my one HBO premium channel, it's now called preferred with HBO {or something like that} and it's $28.45!!! And there's more... If I take off my 'brand new I never wanted preferred bundle premium package' I would be paying more money because they would need to charge me separately for all my bundled up services... This was never told to me and what does this have to do with the 3 services? Nothing what so ever... This is nothing but a scam!

I'm paying about $170 per month! So without the premium channels which is $28.45, One would think it would drop down to $140.00... Not!!! Oh no I would be paying over $180.00!!! Regardless of what I tried to do or say, they would make it so you or I would be paying more than what your current charges are even though your 3 services are still bundled! And then they have the audacity to tell me that I'm saving money by keeping it the way it is!!! And not to change that promotion... What promotion? $170 is not chunk change!!!

With the economy in a downward direction, prices going up all around and my husband's company having layoffs... I figured that Comcast must have changed things to accommodate for many people losing jobs and what not. So once again I called Comcast a few days ago to have HBO and Starz {premium channels} removed. Even after I elevated this, they are all trained to screw, manipulate, defraud, rip off, cheat and monopolize hard working people... How could any company make it cost more for less service? This is outright scamming, trickery, and disgraceful!

I'm looking for a new home phone company and a new internet provider. There is no other option for cable since it's too windy for us to get the Dish... But let me tell you that I'm going to unbundle my 3 services and then I'll have my basic cable with my stinking DVR box!!! And last but not least, I'm telling the world how nasty and greedy Comcast is and bad news travels far faster than their internet anyway! Please tell anyone thinking about getting Comcast!

Replies
Comcast Crappy Services
By -

LAKE BLUFF, ILLINOIS -- About 3 or more weeks ago I decided to take on a home-business call center job since I was off from work for 3+ months with my hand broken in two places and no money coming into the house. I finally passed all of my qualifications to work for this company so I decided to call AT&T to put a "dedicated phone line" into my computer room area so that I could make some money typing term papers for students (very slowly because my hand was broken and still is) and doing some call center services just to have some sort of money coming into the house because I am a single mother who lives in a $900,000 home.

And since I had no money coming in I was using all of my saving to survive. Anyway after speaking with AT&T they gave me some crap about it taking almost 3+ weeks to put in my phone because there were rains all across the United States, and a lot of phone lines were down. I asked AT&T what that had to do with me??? I also told them it was sunny and not raining where I lived. The operator told me that there were no technicians to put in a line for me.

I didn't want to wait, so my next decision was to call Comcast since I already had their cable and two cell phones with Comcast. When I called about 3 or so weeks ago, the operator told me that I was in luck - that I could have something called the Triple Play at approximately the same cost. He said that I would get lot more cable channels, a higher wireless speed on my computer and a dedicated phone line put into my computer room.

On that Friday, a guy (who had no writing on his truck and no credentials to present) said that he was from Comcast and the only reason I let him in is because I did in fact call Comcast. When he came into my house he was very rude to me. He asked me where were my telephone wire connections within the house and I replied that I didn't know. He looked at me in disgust and said that "Everyone should know where the things in their houses are." I was very insulted but I needed to have my phone line put into the house so that I could help support myself.

I asked him if I could show him around the house and he said no, he could find himself around and that he knew how to turn on the lights. I found that to be a rude statement as well. He asked me if I was using cable or wireless on my computer. I told him that I didn't know because my daughter took care of all the electronics but she was at work and I was letting him in her place. Finally after not finding whatever he was looking for, I volunteered to call my daughter so that she could tell me if our computer was wireless or using cable (or whatever).

After I called my daughter to have her explain to him, he walked away and said, "I don't want to speak to her; I didn't ask you to call her, you speak with her." After a while he asked me where my attic was. I showed him that my attic was located in my clothes closet and I left the room. After some time of going from the attic and back and forth to the basement, he put in a cable box, and drilled a whole into my wall saying that someone else would come out and take care of the wire/cord because he didn't know how to fit that. He also told me that I had a speedier internet.

I asked him if I also had a dedicated phone line. He said, "Don't you know what you want - you should have told me that in the first place." I was furious but I still didn'™t say anything. I just wanted him to do his work and leave. He started walking out of the door, signaling that he was finished, when I noticed that he hadn't even connected the phone line to the telephone so I asked him if he wouldn't mind doing so. He didn't even check the line to see if it worked or whether I could receive or make calls.

Later, after he left, I went outside to empty the garbage. I cried. This guy had drilled a whole completely through my house, dug up the front of my yard to hide the wire into the ground, dug up another part of my front lawn to bring the thick cable wire to the other side of the yard. I also noticed that while stepping into the dirt, he took the dirt off of his shoe by rubbing his shoes onto my sidewalk. I have my house up for sale so everyone that came by to see the house was stepping into mud. If that was not enough, he left the cable wire wrapped around my house, which proceeded to wrap around a HUGE spool where the rest of the cable wire had wrapped.

As of today, 9/16/07, the spool still sits on the side of the house, I still have no phone line. I had to pay Dell Computer over $125.00 to put my software back into my computer after this idiot did something to my cable connections or wireless connections that wiped out my software. If that isn't enough, since that cable wire has been sitting right in front of my house where my 5 year old grandson plays at, my grandson tripped over the cable line and busted his lip.

I am very scared that I am going to be sued if someone else trips and falls onto my property, so I am losing time and money because I couldn't work on my computer, I still don't have a phone, my front lawn is torn up, there is a live wire crossing my yard, hanging off of a spool. When I went back into the house I found out that guy had stood on one of my designer chairs to hoist himself into my attic. He didn't even ask to use a ladder.

I called all day Friday, from the time he left until late Saturday evening. I was hung up on by operators. I was told my operators that they could not send anyone out right away because there was other people waiting for services that were already in line. One SUPERVISOR told me that she didn't have to listen to my frustrations and that she would hang up on me, so I hung up on her first.

On WEDNESDAY of the following week, I got a knock at the door. A Comcast employee showed up to my door. Comcast didn't even mention that they were sending anyone out. Anyway, he presented his credentials, proceeded to fix the cable (which was not working properly), repair a few problems with my computer that Dell forgot to fix, he put the door back onto the attic ceiling which the other guy had left off.

I asked him why the other guy didn't have credentials and no Comcast written on his truck and the new Comcast guy told me that sometimes Comcast does not send real Comcast people out to fix problems that they sometimes send out contractors. I was so pissed I didn't know what to do. I told this guy my story and he was utterly flabbergasted. He was very nice, very helpful, and extremely sorry that I had been put through the wringer.

He compared what he could and said that someone would be out to deal with the hole in the wall, hide the cable wires that were sticking out of the ground and wrapped around my house, and to pick up the large spool of wire that was still sitting on my lawn. I called Comcast right away and thanked them for sending in a wonderful repairman. I was told that someone was going to come out and inspect the sight and correct all of the mistakes.

I Want Comcast to pay for my lawn, to give me a dedicated line with several months off of my dedicated line, my cable TV and my cell phones. I also want them to pay for the monetary employment I might have had if I had a telephone to use.

On September 19, 2007 my contact with the call center has said that my contract will be voided because I have not kept up with my part of the bargain and worked as an employee on behalf of their company and that my credentials will not be restored without requalifying after 1 year. My mortgage is behind, as are the rest of my bills, I still don't have the "Triple Play." Comcast operators are rude.

I called Comcast from Lake Bluff, Illinois, which is where I live, and I was still speaking with them on the telephone when I got to Chicago, which is about 50 miles away. I have been lied to, cussed out, hung upon, and told off. I don't have anything else to say. Comcast services speak for itself.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Service
By -

MINNESOTA -- On Saturday, June 9th an installation was scheduled for the Comcast bundled services between 11:00 and 2:00. The tech showed up at 10:45 and did call first. His order did not call for a wireless connection to the second computer as I had requested. He returned to his office to get the equipment, promising to return that day and complete the installation. He did not return and did not call with an explanation.

I was left with a computer that could not access the current internet provider and I had to spend several hours reconfiguring and updating a laptop to access the dial up service. My basement (main) TV was not working with the partially installed system, 2 other TVs were not installed with the new system, and my house was littered with debris and materials. No one from Comcast ever apologized or provided an explanation for this action.

I called to reschedule to be told that the only options were the following Thursday or Sunday – no attempt to do anything extra to make up for the bungled installation. I selected Sunday from 8:00 to 11:00, so I could be present to oversee the project as confidence in Comcast was declining. After not hearing anything by 10:00, I called and attempted to get a time and confirm that the installation would still occur. I was told that they could not do that until 11:00. After being persistent and finally getting a supervisor, he said that he would check and get back to me. He did not.

Several other frustrating phone calls resulted in a “supervisor” calling me to say that he would be by at 3:00 to finish the installation. His attitude was that he was doing me a favor and seemed more interested in dominating the conversation than obtaining or giving information. At 3:00 he had not shown up and I called again. This time he was supposed to be there at 4:00. He finally showed up about 5:00. The first thing he said was that he was afraid of my dog (the first tech had no problem), turned around and with a big smile returned to his truck and left – He had just gotten out of finishing an installation late on a Sunday afternoon.

At this point, I was livid and called again to speak to a supervisor. He promised that a tech would finish the installation between 8:00 and 11:00 the following Monday. I stayed home from work for understandable reasons. I called at 10:30 to see what was going on and again was told that I had to wait. Again going to a supervisor, he agreed to contact the tech for a status.

While I was waiting on the phone for this status, I considered how the Comcast service would be once I was just another customer if it was this bad while I was a new customer. When the supervisor returned, I asked him to change the work order to have the equipment removed as I was cancelling the installation and I considered it to be a breach of contract by Comcast and therefore I owed nothing. I am sure that I will be billed, and it will be paid after I finish ice skating in Hell.

The tech came and started removing the equipment and did not reattaching the system as it was prior to Comcast mucking everything up. I instructed him that he was to leave the system as Comcast found it. He sullenly complied for the most part. He attempted to give me a change order receipt that did not specify what had occurred, namely the return of said equipment. I insisted that he write and sign (employee number) that the equipment was returned. Again, he sullenly complied.

As he was removing the equipment, I was on the phone ordering the Verizon fiber system. At no time in this process did Comcast do any more than say the right words on the phone. There was no real attempt to rectify the bad situation. There was no real attempt to provide customer service. They have totally lost control of what is happening in the field with their techs. The whole operation can be summed up in one word – DYSFUNCTIONAL.

Replies
Comcast Has the Worst Customer Service EVER!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA -- I was thinking about becoming a new Comcast customer and made a call to XFINITY. I was routed to the Richmond Virginia office and reached a lady that had no business working anywhere let alone in a customer service call center. I have rocks in my garden that have more signs of intelligence than this person. Not only was she rude, laughing and couldn't answer ANY questions, but she flat out lied. Disgusted with this person I called XFINITY again to reach someone else and asked for a supervisor ** who flat out lied and was just as ghetto spoken as the first individual.

I was looking at a Triple Play package and was curious about two things. My first question to her was in this package it states "A Digital Voice modem is necessary to bring XFINITY Voice from Comcast into your home. Add $7.00 per month." I asked if this was included in the $199.99 or would this be in addition to my bill. She said it is included in the $199.99 which is a lie - it isn't.

Second question was in the check out it says that the package prices do not include applicable taxes and fees. So I asked her if I could get an approx. price of what these taxes and fees might be monthly. After her telling me no 20 times she finally goes hold on and 1 minute later gave me a figure of $18.28 and said we looked it up.

Why wouldn't you do your job as a supervisor in the first place and look it up. So instead of just the 2 questions I decided to ask her a final question and said to avoid the $7.00 monthly rental (the one she said was included) can I just purchase a voice modem and use it? Her answer was, "No you can't purchase a voice modem and use it," (another lie). I called back in hopes of getting someone with some kind of brain and got lucky. I was routed to a person in Washington state and she was able to really answer my questions in 30 seconds.

Replies
Comcast Promo Pricing
By -

BLOOMINGTON, INDIANA -- During these hard economic times shouldn't we be able to trust our service companies we have had for years? I have been a Comcast Cable customer for years. Comcast had this new deal called the Triple Play that was going to save me lots of money. I signed up for it and had explicitly asked for how much each service was going to charge. I wanted the cheapest charges for every service, cable, internet, and phone. I was given cable service at 49.99, phone service at 19.99 and internet service at 24.95. This is going to be my prices? Yes, I was told. My bill would be around $115 a month. Great sign me up.

When the installer came out to hook up my phone and internet services I specifically asked him to go over my pricing again. He called his manager and we all went back and forth until I was promised the same prices as on the phone. OK install it then. My first bill I received was $240. This is for prorated month charges. Fine. I paid that bill. Two more bills came for the promised $115 a month. Everything was fine and I was now a happy customer. Bill number 4 was for $137. Why so much higher than my promised rates?

I called and was explained that I had all promotional pricing. My phone service had just reset to 39.99 and my cable was going to be setting in two more months to 74.99. The customer service agent explained to me that I had a great deal because I have unlimited long distance calling. I do? I was never told of this and I had never used the unlimited long distance in the three months I had service.

Now I am very upset because I no longer trust Comcast as a company. They can not tell you of their special "promo" pricing when you set up your plan and let you be surprised every time you get a bill. I email "Rick" the CEO or whatever of the company. I received a call today from Comcast telling me they will put me in a new promo pricing for 6 months. What happens when that pricing is up? "Oh you just call and get new promo pricing." So every 3-6 months, depending on how long your pricing is good for, you get to call the customer service line and beg for new pricing.

Why should we, as "valued" Comcast customers have to do this? Just give me one price. Just say this is what it is going to be. I don't have time to call every few months and wait on hold forever to try to get new pricing. My time is valuable. I'm calling Dish Network and AT&T back!

Replies
You Can't Cancel Your Service on ePayment
By -

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND -- I have been with Comcast for 3 years and decided to cancel and move to Verizon Fios, good deal so thought why not... Take extreme care with Comcast for you will have issues canceling your service if you're on the ePayment options (auto pay). According to my bank the ePayment option gives only Comcast the option to cancel taking the payment from your bank, in other words you cannot cancel Comcast until they decide they are going to stop taking funds from your account. I canceled over 2 months ago and they are still continuing to take the usual payments, so I have called them over 10 times no one at Comcast can help.

I visited the offices, but no one can help, no one cares regards the plight of corporate theft from my bank and hard earned cash. When will they stop this theft, well no one at Comcast can tell me for there is no defined status for canceled customers. They will eventually refund the extra non-service charges but can't tell me when, can't tell me when they will stop charging me and don't have a facility to return payments to my Bank. The bank has give me one option, to close my account and open another..

But they warned me that Comcast will try to take the amount and if not possible will issue a non payment charge against me, add this to my credit record and it will cause more issues than its worth. So basically if you decide to cancel Comcast for whatever reason, make sure to come off the ePayment option months and months before you stop the service.

I talked to someone confidentially who worked for Comcast and he told me that it's a standard abuse tactic, they do it because they can. It is theft but you're totally helpless to do anything about it. They are a bunch of scammers and thieves and get away with this type of tactic because there is no option for a non customer like me to get to anyone that can sort this mess out... Again, extreme care if you cancel Comcast. They will continue to bill you for service you no longer have, and you cannot do jack about it... tell your friends, tell your family and tell anyone you know who has Comcast to watch out... I got screwed but make sure you don't.

Replies
Advertisement
Inaccurate Bills
By -

I'm a long-term (many, many years) customer of Comcast. I recently made changes to my Comcast service, downgrading my cable and internet. This should have resulted in a significantly lower bill (according to the phone rep). I just received my monthly bill and the amount of the bill was $20 higher than the previous month. Based on the bill and Comcast Customer Service, the reason for the higher bill was Comcast billing me for a particular month of service, totaling over $25. The intersting part is that the dates of service for the particular month were the same as a bill which I had already paid (the previous month).

I also noted that Comcast also tried to stick me an HD/DVR Activation fee of $17.73. I've had my Comcast DVR for well over 2 years. So, that was interesting. After 2 phone calls (first call - I was put on hold for 10+ minutes and disconnected), I finally got a billing supervisor on the phone to review the bill. She almost immediately reversed the DVR Activation fee noting this was a mistake generated by the billing system. So, if you have a Comcast DVR and you change your service be on the lookout for this one. Apparently, Comcast's billing system is adding this charge and you can bet it won't be reversed unless you call.

After many minutes on hold, the supervisor also has applied a $20+ credit for the partial monthly bill. Apparently, the billing system doesn't take into account promotional rates. So, Comcast will charge you for a particular month at non-promotional rates (which is significantly higher than the promo rate). I'm no legal expert, but Comcast is systematically overbilling customers. Apparently, Comcast's billing system cannot account for customers with existing DVRs nor can it accurately prorate particular monthing fees for promo rate customers. Lawsuit anyone....

Replies
Worst Experience Ever
By -

TUSCALOOSA, ALABAMA -- After 7 years with my previous provider, with hurricanes and tornadoes I never lost service. To save a few bucks in these trying times I decided to bundle my package with Comcast. What a mistake that was. I received service on Thursday and 3 days later had no phone or internet. Called cus service and was informed that it would be 3 more days before a tech could be sent out. I explained to the cus service representative that I have 4 children and that my parents are in their 90's and either they send someone out the next day or cancel my service. The response was "does that mean you want to cancel service sir," yes was my answer.

Also at time of ordering the triple package we were told that we were to pay the installer $174.98 when he got there, which we did. Three days later we received a bill from Comcast for $508.70 including the $174.98 and had no service. While waiting for a week for our previous provider to hook us back up we had intermittent phone service or we couldn't hear the person we were calling but they could hear us. As far as the internet service goes the devices were installed in the garage and we had to constantly go down the steps outside to unplug and plug it back in to get on the internet. We were told that once we turned in the equipment that we would be refunded the $174.98.

It's still on the bill and now they are saying they have no record of it to be refunded. It took 45 min on my cell phone to get Comcast cancelled and service back with AT&T, who were very understanding considering the Comcast installer cut all the wires coming into the house and had to be spliced back thank goodness by AT&T at no extra charge. All in all out of 13 days we had service less than half of it. Worst experience ever. Tuscaloosa Alabama.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comcast Corporation Triple Play Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
37 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comcast Corporation
1500 Market St FL 33e
Philadelphia, PA 19102-4782
215-665-1700 (ph)
215-981-7790 (fax)
www.comcast.com
Product/Services
Compare Cable/Satellite Services