Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- No phone and internet connection for 5 days. Called tech support, waited 40 min. for answer. Again put on hold every 5 min. "We will fix tomorrow." Next day the same thing. Kept asking me silly questions over and over like "is the light solid, blinking. Hold the line," balaaa balaa. The fifth day a guy called JC ext. ** said, "Wait a minute. Where is your cable from the modem to the adapter goes to ie the port. Does it says LAN or WAN?" I said, “LAN”. He said, “Ahaa that is the problem. It has to go to the WAN on the adapter and LAN on the modem!!!” Rocket Science ha...

Can you believe, techs for 4 days could not figure out a wrong cable connection. This gentleman said it is a common mistake so they should ask you first all the cable connections to rule out basic common problems especially when all the lights are solid like DSN etc. The second last guy was talking to me more than 2 hours. I do not wish trouble for him but hey smarten up bro. This is your job. JC for president/prime minister after Trump/Trudeau. This is horrible company. My days are numbered. By the way why should I pay a service which I did not use for almost a week? See you.

Company Response 10/19/2017:

Please allow us this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. Please send me a message to social@comwave.net if you require further assistance ~Lisa

Replies
Advertisement
Extremely Helpful
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WELLAND -- I was having issues with my internet. There was a known outage over the weekend but my representative did not just brush me off as part of the known issue. He went through checking everything and changing some settings to be sure I was getting the best quality internet. He even checked with his tier 2 support to be sure everything possible was done. He was kind and polite. He never had me on hold for more than 2 minutes without coming back to let me know what was going on. I'm very pleased with his assistance. His name was Jerry. His code was **. He did amazing.

Replies
Amazing Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

BRAMPTON -- I called in today to speak with a representative regarding my internet because I have not been able to connect to the internet for the past few days. I was assisted by Gerry, who was extremely helpful. He was able to provide me with an explanation as to why we were without service and promptly assisted in rectifying the issue. After troubleshooting, and helping me to reset my box, to continue with troubleshooting, Gerry was able to provide me with instructions to change my password and SSID. Overall, he was extremely patient and very helpful. I was able to leave the call completely satisfied with the service and the assistance provided. Thank you Gerry!

Replies
Phone Line Never Works With Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARKHAM -- To keep it simple, if you do not wish to read everything. LET MY MISTAKE BE YOUR LESSON!!! This company has the MOST terrible connection for phone service possible. For many, many months we complained about the service. They attempted to "fix it" and then a few days later the service was down. Our phone never worked. We could not receive any phone calls or make calls.

If you want to set up an account, they do it within minutes. If you want to cancel, they keep you on the phone for at least 1 hour, just to hear that you cannot. When they help you, the customer service person always says "I am doing you a favor" because they sent us a new wire of box. BUT IT IS YOUR JOB TO PROVIDE A SERVICE! Prices may be cheap, but it is like paying money for a service that does NOTHING.

Company Response 10/02/2017:

We can imagine you felt disappointed when you did not have the opportunity to make use of the service you have paid for. Furthermore we are saddened to hear that you wish to cancel. Please send us your account details to social@comwave.net so we can look into your case and solve it for you. ~Lisa

Replies
Advertisement
Service Call To Technical Support
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

My Comwave home phone suddenly stopped working. I could get a dial tone, but any number that I phoned rang busy, even though I knew they were not engaged. I phoned Comwave on my cell phone. It was answered quickly. I spoke to Lewis in Technical Support, Employee Number **. He ran through a diagnostic protocol with me, and then diagnosed that my cable and phone modems needed to be reset. After he did that remotely, my home phone worked again. Thanks, Lewis!

My only suggestion would be for Comwave to maintain a record of all the tiny numbers that Lewis asked me for today... the phone modem model number, the input and output variables, the serial number on the power supply, etc. They were extremely hard to read (I had to use a magnifying glass), and I know that I gave those same numbers to the last representative I spoke to a few months ago, when I had another problem with my modem. It would have saved me from crawling today on the floor with a magnifying glass in one hand, the Comwave part in my other hand, shouting out the numbers into my cell phone which was on the floor beside me. Not comfortable.

Replies
Best Person From Technical Support
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TORONTO -- My home phone had not been working for 2 days. I called Comwave technical support department for help on September 26 at night, the person answered my call, his name is Boris, he is very talented, professional and polite. Because of my language barrier and unfamiliar with the electronic device, I was not able to understand some of test he asked me to do in the beginning. He was very patient and explained to me again and again with some easy words and nice tone. In the end he is able to use his expertise to fixed my phone. I am really impressed by his knowledge and amazing customer service, totally made my day!

Replies
Comwave Home Phone Service, Ie Phone Over Internet (VIP) Is Deplorable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BROCKVILLE, ONT -- My pensioned 76 year old mother, signed up for Comwave, which never really worked. Very spotty service, she didn't realize she was missing calls, because her Comwave phone was working. People would tell her on the street couldn't phone you. She finally gave tech, support access to her internal router, to which they deleted all her port mappings and deleted internal security to make their phone service work. Their response was completely unwarranted and shows a complete lack of knowledge of their service and the ports they require.

So to be fair as a network engineer and understanding the difficulties of remote service; this action was completely ridiculous - reducing her internal security (she banks online). She finally said cancel her account after a week of zero service and signed up with a local provider in her area, which has been seamless. Then Comwave demands an early cancellation payment - multiple hundreds of dollars, which she paid. Guessing they write this into their contract to cover their ugly service. BBB should investigate and, they should learn more about what they're trying to do. This forum is called 3 cents and that's mine; dupe an elderly person out of money for simply put crap service.

Replies
Destroy My Credit Cost Me Thousands
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NIAGARA FALLS -- I have a phone line with them for couple of years once. I want to switch. They start sending me bills beyond my monthly payments. I paid all the bill to get rid of them. Finally I switch the company and send them back the equipment. After sending them back the equipment they send me another bill for $236.81 for the same equipment. I was tired paying them the money that I don't owe them but Comwave want to punish me hard. I said, "I will not going to pay for the equipment that I already send you." They put $236.81 toward my credit score.

I went to the bank to take out the mortgage. The bank told me that Comwave destroyed your credit score and I have to pay higher interest on my mortgage, that cost me thousands of dollars and still costing me money every month. My banker told me that, "It is a small amount. If you pay Comwave you will save some money toward interest," but I took a emotional decision and decided not to pay these ** my hard earn money. I argue all of you don't join these monsters. You will not be able to leave without getting rob from this Comwave. My client number with Comwave was **. Never join them.

Company Response 09/26/2017:

I'm saddened to hear about your unfortunate experience. Please send an email to social@comwave.net with your account details. I'd love to take a look to your account and see how can we work this out. ~Lisa

Replies
Advertisement
Routing Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- I am a former Comwave customer and had left because of what seemed like constant service interruptions. Got tired of having to reset the modem over and over. I am now quite happy with Telus - I pay more but if reliability is paramount then you can't really skimp.

Anyway, the reason for this review is I got a call from a customer today who said that she had been trying to reach us for days and kept getting an error message from Comwave that the number she dialed was "not in service at this time". She was beginning to think that we were no longer in business but thought she would try one last time. Fortunately she had decided to use her regular cellphone (Bell) this time and got through. Makes me wonder how much business I've lost because of this.

Company Response 09/13/2017:

We're sorry to hear you are having issues and we're here to help! Please send us an email to social@comwave.net to share your contact details, so we can have this investigated for you. ~Lisa

Replies
Bad setup, but great perseverance.
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

A big thank you to Alex and Carlos (El Sal). Carlos managed to assist in getting the config server values for the home phone GrandStream HT-502 system configured (minus a typing error on my part) so the system could obtain the configuration after I had factory wiped the unit.

We had ended the call, and Carlos arrange a replacement. After the call, I noticed my typing error and corrected it. Once corrected, the HT-502 pulled the correct configuration file from Comwave's management server. I called back to get Carlos, but he was busy. Alex assisted me then, and he corrected an oversight on mine and Carlos' efforts. The analog phone connects into the second telephone cord port on the HT-502. We were able to confirm the phone line is working. Alex was able to put a stop order/ship on the replacement HT-502.

This was a very bad install from the beginning with Dependable HomeTech damaging the cable line to my house. Created a bad connection or ground. I tugged on the lines going into the exterior cable box and managed to get TV and Internet working. Go figure. The Comwave team of support for one aspect are scripted in their support, but they are patient and really do try to help. Thank you. P.S. Never accept a weekend (Saturday) installation.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
3.0 out of 5, based on 278 ratings and
294 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services