Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The worst experience I've ever had
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

I had Comwave service for about five years and finally decided to cancel as I never used the landline. I was on the phone for 20 minutes trying to cancel but they simply would not accept my cancellation. It took a full 20 minutes to get them to accept my cancellation. I have never had such a bad experience in my life. Stay away from this company. Absolute nightmare.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO ONT -- Their policies are a joke. They make you wait nine day, then try to blame the wait on the banks. Today's bank payments does not take more than a day. My experience with Comwave wasn't a good one. I canceled the service. They better get their act together because people will not stay with a company that cannot stick to a day given by them. Like mine, October 6, 2015 to October 13, 2015, the middle of the month without any notice of change. Great job, Comwave! Unbelievable thumbs down to the staff!

Replies
Stay Away Avoid at All Cost
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO, OHIO -- Warning! Warning! Warning! They are scammers, they lie and it's almost impossible to cancel through them. You have to go through sending a letter via Canada consumers' protection services..... Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! The line is horrible, the service is horrible and you pay cheap for no service at all.

Replies
Stay Away From Comwave
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO -- I had scheduled installation for the trial period of 30 days on April 25, 2013. I told Comwave that I am only available 7-9pm and this was what we have agreed upon. I called them four time prior to installation just to make sure that our agreement on schedule would be followed. Still they installed something outside the house in the afternoon without my presence and permission. I complained because they have not completed the installation and testing of the modem. No one knows here how to install them.

After my complaint they are now charging me a miss appointment fee. Now they started invoicing me for the internet that was not installed. I was surprised because during our discussion about phone and internet bundle trial for 30 days and they said it was for free. When I complained they said it was only for the phone which was on free trial but not for the internet. Even if I still don't have my service, they are offering me a $2/mo extended warranty.

Then they tell me that I have to deposit $100 for the phone & modem security fee (refundable). I was so surprised because these has not been discussed with me even when I called them several times prior to supposed installation. With these bad reviews about Comwave, I decided to cancel my trial period which I never used because phone and internet were never installed.

They can charge whatever amount they want to charge me and I will raise dispute with my Visa card for these charges. I strongly not recommend Comwave. I am expecting the following invoices from Comwave: handling fee - $12. Installation fee- $50. Miss appointment fee- $50. Internet fee - $50 plus tax... Then I will have to send back asap the modem- $12. All these charges for nothing!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Never use Comwave, It is the worst telecom company ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRAMPTON -- I changed my service provider from Bell Canada to Comwave to save few dollars. It was my biggest mistake. In the beginning they told me I have to pay $50.00 for the modem then the modem sent to me by mail, and I suppose to connect it to my telephone network by myself since they do not have any technical department to do so. I have to hire a technician cost me $185.00 to do so. The voice quality was terrible. I had to wait on line waiting for customer service to answer in order to tell them I cannot hear the caller due to the noise on the line. It took them three months to make some fix, not very good fix anyway.

One day I called them to make some changes in my account, and the customer representative told my I am on three month contract. I said no one told me that in the beginning, so I asked them to listen to the call we had in the beginning. They said this would cost me $25.00. I said this is not fair. I pay to make you listen to your record.

I can not go any longer with this horrible company. I wanted to go out and move back to Bell Canada. They did not release my number till I pay $285.00 as cancellation fee. I refused to pay any cancellation fee since it is not my fault. They threaten my to send this amount to the collection agency. I never been late in my invoices and that was my reward with this crock people. The story did not end at this point. They start trying to get any money out of me by bargaining the cancellation fee for lower amount 20% off, believe it! Now I am using my cell phone for all my call, since I lost my home number with Comwave.

Company Response 03/25/2015:

Hello,

It is true that all of our 6 month free promotions come with a 3 year term. All of our sales calls are recorded for our customers protection and if a customer was never informed of the contract then they are not obligated to it.
The recording are stored offsite by a third party and their is a charge to review that recording. If it is determined you are correct and were never informed of the contract then that charge to review the recording is also waived.
It sounds to me like you were not informed, please feel free to reach out to me at letushelp@comwave.net and I am sure I can help with this.

Thanks,

Dave
Comwave

Replies
Possibly the WORST Service I Have Ever Used.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRAMPTON, ON -- Comwave is possibly the WORST service I have ever used. The low rates look good on paper, but it really is a matter of getting 1/1000 of what you pay for. Both my internet and phone service went down Saturday morning – I called tech support, was unhelpfully informed that Comwave would not do anything about it until Monday. 48 hrs with no phone or internet. My weekend deadlines and social calls out the window.

After waiting a full 48 HRs with no/unusable internet or phone service, Comwave resumed with the most shoddy service ever: 10 minutes on, 10 minutes off, connecting and disconnecting at random. Tried to use the internet, and couldn't get anything done. Tried to use the landline, and was repeatedly dropped from calls from clients and family – and in a nail-bitingly frustrating way in which I could not call them back. Called support for the third time from a cell, and was told that they'd “already fixed the issue.” Requested that they reopen the case. After nearly an hour, they finally got some semblance of a stable internet going, and I tried to get back to work.

Ten minutes later, I notice that the internet's restored, but the VOIP service was completely dead. Called support again. Reset VOIP box. Requested a talk with upper management - the shift supervisor promised they would call me at 7 pm. It is now past 11 pm. The internet became unusable again in the evening, and I had to call support for the fifth time to get a temporary fix. I'm nearing 72 hrs with no/unreliable service from Comwave. I'm tearing my hair out over here. Buyer beware. Comwave is a HORRIBLE company with the most unprofessional service ever. Save yourself the sweat and tears, and just stay far, far away.

Replies
Do not, I repeat Do not, sign up with Comwave.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- Comwave Networks have charged me more than twice the amount they quoted me. I trusted them and did not take a close look at my invoice for the amount they were charging me per minute. The quoted .059 per minute for one of the countries I call frequently but charged me 0.16. Another country that I called was quoted .049 but charged me 0.14.

The rates they had mentioned on the phone was on their website as well but they were actually cheating me by charging me more than double. It was almost 12 months when I discovered what was going on as I began to wonder why was my phone bill so high every month. In total they had overcharged me over $70.00 over the 12 month period.

Be ready to have 1 hour or more to waste on the phone if you are trying to reach their customer care reps. It takes less than a minute to reach a sales representative but takes at least 45 minutes to get through to customer care and then it takes almost the same amount of time to figure out how to fix the problem. Almost always you have to call a couple of more times to see why they haven't fixed the problem as promised. I told them to cancel my account and returned the Voip device.

It is confirmed that they received it but now I receive a email (no reply email address) from them saying I have to return the device within 30 days in order to get my deposit refunded. It is extremely, I repeat extremely frustrating to deal with this company. It is the worst in the telecommunications industry. I have dealt with 5 companies over the past few decades but never had this bad a service. Save your time and money and don't join them. I am still waiting for my refund. I think they will drag it for 30 days so they can get out of refunding my money.

Replies
False advertisement and cheating customer
By -

MONTREAL, MINNESOTA -- COMWAVE.NET a subsidiary of Roger advertise in internet that home phone is $14.95 monthly and also 6 months free. They do not tell the customers that this phone service should be used with internet and if you want to use the phone your internet should be open 24 hours. Also they advertise if you are NOT satisfy with service cancel it in one month with no charges. People who used the service said that you can NOT use the phone and internet at the same time, one should be disconnected.

They took your credit card to charge for devise over 13 dollars. When you receive the device and want to send it back give you wrong address and device get back to you and you try again with another address and pay twice postage plus $13 nonsense in advance. (Their address and place they send the device and returning place is not the same.)

This period you do not have home phone line and when you contact the old supplier to get back the number comwave.net asked for $57.50 to give the number back to old supplier. Your phone number is blocked and you BLACKMAIL, to release the number for previous supplier you have to pay another $57.50. I did not use their service and according to their advertisement you are eligible to cancel the deal without any charges, but I lose around 90 dollars and still I don't have phone line.

When you talking with their representative you are contacted with India and do not understand the language. Also they said if customer do not sent back the device in 30 days we charge credit card $50. But on my case I send it back in one day. They took my phone number on Jan 02 and cancel it few days later but up to 12 March 2013 Videotron was NOT able to get back the number and fix the problem.

COMWAVE.NET phone number in internet is 1-866-769-8710 & 1-866-5181049 and their e-mail for cancellation The service is here as a witness and testimony. False advertisement and stealing money from people look like is an ART in this country that. Should be stop. I sincerely recommend all the people do NOT go for cheap and fishy business. To lose your times and money then learn an experience. Read it to believe it.

Replies
Advertisement
My 10 Months Experience With Comwave. Warning: Do Not Rush to Sign In
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO, ONT.CANADA -- Before signing up for Comwave VOIP Telephone Service - Read first: Comwave customer reviews on internet. Read also text below that highlights my own personal experience during the year 2012 with Comwave. After 10 months of frustrations with low quality and 2 times total disruption of service with 3 weeks of unsuccessful attempts to get my telephone service restored, I decided to return back to Bell Canada for telephone service.

They closed my account and are asking $584.92 as a penalty for wanting to leave Comwave and get phone with Bell. The fact that my telephone was totally dysfunctional during the month of December 2012 means nothing to them. Some say that Comwave is an East Asian company established, managed and financed by people from Pakistan.

In their promotional video they make many promises. Unfortunately these promises were broken in my experience. They didn't accept responsibility for poor quality of service and poor customer and technical support. Every time I phoned to get tech. support it took often 30 to 45 minutes or even more. Because VOIP phone was not working, I had to use my Cell phone to call customer support tel. number. Many attempts were made but finally it came to the point that it was my modem, my Internet or my DECT 6.0 telephone that need to be replaced and not their VOIP adapter.

Here is a summary of my experience with Comwave VOIP telephone service during 2012. Rating scale: Poor 0 1 2 3 4 5 Excellent. Comwave Sound quality = 2. (bad) We got too many complaints from friends and family about Voice ECHO, static noise, broken words, long pauses, Many missed and dropped calls. Call display did not work reliably. Answer from Comwave? We are working on improving sound quality.

Comwave customer and technical support = 2. (bad) Long wait times (10- 25 minutes.) After waiting for 15 or more minutes connection is often cut off. Customer Support Reps do speak English the best they can often hard to understand but worst they give inaccurate information just to get rid of you. Customer support people are spread across East Asia and South America. (To name just few: Philippines, El Salvador, etc.). All tech support is done by phone from far way. If your phone is not working then you must get another phone to call them. I was put on hold for the next available representative and 20 minutes later connection was cut off.

Their only advice 99% of time is: reset your modem and VOIP device by disconnecting from power, wait few minutes and problem will be solved. In my case it did not work and I told the person: "This was done many times. It does not solve my problem." 17 days of continuous calling for tech support and they never solved my problem. I was not able to make phone calls and I was not receiving phone calls.

All incoming phone calls were going directly to Voice mail without ringing. They blamed my Internet service provider (BELL), my new telephone was defective, my modem was defective etc. Yet, they expected to be paid even when they were not able to deliver normal telephone service.

Comwave Voicemail service = 1 (bad). All incoming tel. Calls were going directly to Voice Mail but telephone did not show that I had a message. It was necessary to check e-mail. Cancelling service and switching to another service provider = 0 (bad). When I ask to cancel my subscription for tel. service after nearly a month of being without phone service I was told about major hassles ahead that I will have go through.

Once you subscribe to their service, You no longer have freedom to choose another service provider. You will lose your tel. number and with new service provider start with new tel. number. Comwave hides their Legal Disclaimer into tiny size print that new subscribers do not get to see. Once you sign up after 30 days you into a 3 years long term contract without you knowing it. If after many weeks of frustrations with the poor telephone service you wish to cancel and move your telephone to another service provider like Bell or Rogers.

First, they will tell you that you cannot cancel the service because you have a contract. Contract is by default the moment you sign up and not cancel the service within 30 days. Customer enters into the contract by default after 30 days but verbal only. They are recording your answers to certain questions. They say that they have a recorded message saying that you agree to their conditions before they sign you up. The word contract is never specifically mentioned.

When I asked Comwave to cancel my service subscription within 3 months by default you automatically enter into a 3 to 5 year contract. There are no documents to sign. Your communication with the Comwave sales department is recorded. For cancelling my subscription to Comwave because of the poor service I received, they ask to be paid sum of $587.00 with no explanation. One can see that it is the amount customer would pay if he or she stayed for the duration of contract.

MY OVERALL SATISFACTION WITH COMWAVE SERVICE = 1 (very bad). It seems to me that their primary purpose is not to provide excellent service serve but to recruit new subscribers by making big promises and then they will to get your $$$$ whether you stay or you cancel subscription. This company lures people to sign up with cheaper price and many promises.

When you are not satisfied and want to cancel they will insist on payment of the amount for the full contract duration. Thus they win the moment you bite on their hook. We DIS-SATISFIED CUSTOMERS NEED TO FILE A CLASS ACTION AGAINST Comwave.com and get Investigative reporters to look into Comwave business practices.

Replies
Do Not Sign Up With Comwave, Save Your Sanity
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- DON'T EVEN THINK TO SIGN UP WITH COMWAVE!!! Comwave is absolutely the worst telecom company when it comes to customer support and trust me you will need it very soon. I had to call them on my 3rd day of service. February 7, 2015 I woke up to no internet whatsoever. I firstly called Rogers because I was told by Comwave account manager that I can call *8 directly because they are their resellers. (Lie number one). At Rogers I found out that they don't even have my information and I was told to call Comwave. I had to wait until 10am and then called.

First time I waited for 50 minutes in queue, listening how Comwave is striving to provide quick customer support. I hung up, called in 20 minutes again and again waited for 30 minutes. I hung up again and called back in another 20 minutes. While waiting I "took advantage" of their call back service and hung up. I received an automated call from Comwave scam squat immediately and automated message told me I'm number one in line... do not get too exited. I was back to infinite waiting in queue for the last time. After another 30 minutes of waiting I realized that nobody is going to pick up the phone today at all.

I do not understand how telecom company can have such poor communication service. Do not sign up with Comwave. YOU WILL BE PUNCHING BRICK WALL WITH YOUR HEAD!!!! THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU!!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 61 ratings and
77 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services