Preview Review

Next Review

Dell Computer Corporation Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I have been dealing with Dell for over 30 days, and yet to have a resolution. They have been to my home 4 times, and can't seem to fix. The last visit was close, as the initial issue was resolved, but the keyboard does not function properly. The space bar does not work, nor does about 6 different keys, which tells me that the keyboard was installed improperly, and if they returned quickly, all would have been solved. Nevertheless, they have chosen not to return, or communicate in any way!

They can build a laptop in less than 60 minutes, but can't repair it in less than 30 days! I had to go to my yearly business show and carry a wireless keyboard and mouse around to function properly, which was a horrible inconvenience and embarrassing! Every time I communicate, they state that it is in the hands of the "Escalation" dept, and will be resolved. It has been 10 days and not a single call???

BTW, I was in warranty when this started, and now I am out of warranty, which is why I think they are dragging their feet! I was going to extend when this issue was repaired, but now I will donate this laptop to the Church and purchase another brand!

Replies
Advertisement
Defective Dell Tablet
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

I ordered and received a Dell Venue 8 Pro on July 8, 2015. This is my second attempt to get a Dell tablet. The first one I returned. It would not charge and I could not get it to process anything. My new tablet would not charge. Got message (plugged in not charging) even though the power button said I only had 47% power. The Dell technician said I needed bios and driver update which he installed.

I have only loaded one (1) program to the tablet. I tried to update to Windows 10. Error message, "Not enough space". Microsoft checked the tablet. It has files on it dated 2013 which could not be accessed and only 4.16 G of 18.7G available. It is also telling me there is a partition, which I did not create and cannot access. I obviously got a USED TABLET from Dell and I get the rudest tech service persons when I try to find out what is happening. Dell is sending crap to customers. This has to stop.

Replies
Don't buy a Dell TV or anything else for that matter.
By -

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- This is the longest rant I can even think of. It doesn't even cover it in full but it should cover 90% of what I'€™m trying to get across which is don'€™t buy a Dell unless you want to spend hours punching yourself in the face. I purchased a 42" Plasma TV on December 26, 2005 for $3,000 with a home install, extended warranty and mounting brackets. I mentioned that this would be installed on a brick fireplace to the sales rep to ensure I would get the correct brackets for mounting the TV. I received the TV on Jan 12, 2006 after being guaranteed a quick delivery.

I opened the product to make sure I received a complete order and noticed that the screws given for the mounting brackets were for wood or drywall and NOT concreted/brick that I had mentioned. I then proceeded to look for the number to schedule my install and correct my bracket mounting issue. No information was provided with the product so my wife called customer service to get a phone number but Dell'€™s computers were out of service and they couldn'€™t help at that particular moment.

She called back again and spoke with someone about getting the right parts for the mounting bracket which said was not part of the mounting kit and we would have to purchase those separately. Dell decided to give us a partial credit on the mounting bracket to purchase our own bolts. We then proceeded to ask for the number to the install department, we were given a number to their computer install department which does NOT install plasma TV€™s. The wife called several more times back to customer service to get the correct number and was put on hold and transferred to another department for printers and then transferred again.

I decided to call from my cell phone to the sales department because I know they answer the phone a hell of a lot more quickly then customer service. When I talked to the gentlemen on the phone I explained that we purchased a TV and it just arrived and that we had also purchased the home install but was not given the instructions or who to contact. He paused for a good long second and then informed me that to have the home install it costs roughly $150 dollars and he would gladly help me with the purchase. I asked him if he was kidding or if he wasn'€™t able to decipher what I had just told him 2 minute ago.

I repeated again, "I already purchased the install and I need the number to those individuals who will be installing it. Nothing came with the TV specifying how to go about getting it installed!" He then replied, "€œYou'€™ll have to call customer service for those numbers"€. My blood is boiling now because my wife has spent the last 20+ mins on hold while I just had that enlightening conversation with the guy from sales. So I decide to call customer service myself while she sits on the line because I may get a different result with the call. I sit for about 15 mins on the phone line and my wife looks at me and says she thinks she was just disconnected.

I wait about another 10 mins and get someone on the phone but the phone has so much feedback that it sounds as though the guy is riding on top of a 747 and I had to end the call because we couldn'€™t understand each other. My wife makes another attempt because I was going to return the TV and purchase it from somewhere else. She finally gets the correct information and we make the call to the install department and are told it will be about a week before they can have anyone come out to install it. I tell my wife not to schedule an install and that I'€™ll do it myself and we'€™ll just get a refund from Dell for the install.

She calls back to unscheduled the install appointment and they offer to have a guy out the next day to install it which she accepts because she doesn'€™t want me attempting to install a 70-lbs + expensive item on the wall by myself. I agree to let them do the work and I finally have my TV up and running on the wall. 6 days later I come home Friday from work looking forward to watching some football over the weekend on my new plasma screen TV. I turn on the TV and a large black vertical strip is present through the DELL logo that starts up when you first turn on the TV and is present through all of the TV shows.

I chuckle to myself that this can'€™t be happening, so I take a couple pictures of the TV as it is and call Dell. I get someone on the phone from Dell and we go over the basics, "Is it plugged in? Do you have all the cables connected right?" Did you have this mounted in the shower next to a heat lamp while pouring dirt down the back of it? I explain that it'€™s been 6 days and everything that has happened thus far. So the gentlemen assures me we'€™ll make it easy and it looks the return is going to be a BREEZE!!!! They tell me that a technician will call me to schedule bringing out a new TV and swap the old TV out.

I wait about 4 days and I call them back to let them know I haven'€™t received a phone call to schedule a delivery and they go over my phone information and I find out that it'€™s wrong. I remember when we purchased the TV that we had to correct the address because they had our old information from when I lived in a different city and bought a Dell laptop when my confidence was HIGH with Dell. So, they take the number and they also have a tracking number for the replacement TV. I was a little confused. They said a technician will be delivering the product and taking the old one back.

The product is scheduled to be delivered in 10 days and was shipped the same as before and I asked him I thought was to be expedited to my home and he says that it was expedited it was shipped within 3 days from our warehouse. 10 days later I get my new TV to replace my old TV. Again, I have no numbers for the technicians that will be swapping out the TVs. I don'€™t bother to call Dell. Instead, I decide to take the TV off the wall, take off the brackets and install them on the new TV that came in. I put the old TV back on its stand and put it back into the container of the new TV. Along with the shipping information was a slip to return the product through DHL.

I get everything wrapped up and my wife schedules to have the product picked up by DHL to be delivered back at Dell. They pick up the TV and I even help the driver pick the TV up and put it in the back of his truck. 2 weeks after the delivery of the new TV I get a call from the technician looking to schedule a time to come out and service our TV. They received the information from Dell and were ready to swap out the TVs. I inform them that I had already shipped the TV back to Dell with the return slip that was provided on the box. The technician is a little puzzled but not so much as he says "Dell is pretty much a bunch of idiots and expected the mix up."

I said be sure to BILL Dell for all the hard work you'€™ve provided me because I'm certainly not getting ANY benefits from purchasing from them. 6 weeks after the delivery of the new TV I get a letter in the mail stating that I have NOT returned the product and that our account was to be suspended until they receive the item. Now, I'm fuming!!!!!!! I am now getting accused of NOT doing something that I did. My own mistake was misplacing the shipping slip I got from DHL not thinking that they would lose a 70 lbs + TV in the mail!

I'€™m at work now making phone calls to Dell to clear this information up because I'€™m certain it's probably sitting in a warehouse waiting to be checked in or has been repackaged and sent out to some other unwary customer who will find they have just received a broken TV. So I ask Dell for the information on the Airbill they provided to me for the return that I sent them because I'm sure if they followed it up they would have seen that it has left my house and they need to do the work of finding it.

Unfortunately, they don'€™t have any numbers that would translate into a return number even though they provided me with the easy to return slip for the paid amount of the product to be returned. They also said they tried to contact me but the number they called which was my old number that I asked them to change was still on the account. I'€™ve mentioned it so many times that the number was wrong - that it'€™s irritating. The lady informed me that when a product is shipped to an address with a number, the number for that order cannot be changed.

So they go about it by noting the account that the number doesn'€™t match the old number and you hope that someone would do their due diligence to read over the account notes to see that the number is incorrect. So I call DHL thinking they can just do a reverse lookup or the originating address of pickup to my house. It seems that they don'€™t keep records longer than 1 month and they don'€™t tie the tracking information from an address rather the originating zip code and the destination zip code.

Here I am now, helpless as ever waiting for (2) big companies to figure out where they screwed up and it all comes down to (2) things I did wrong. I purchased a Dell product, didn'€™t keep a shipping receipt. I'€™ll even mention my calls to Dell to have my payment for the TV deferred until I actually received the product. I didn'€™t want a bill showing up prior to my product especially after all of the grief I'€™ve had on the phone. The lady that did the deferred payment said she had no problem doing it and reschedule it for the end of the following month.

I asked her to send me an email confirming the deferred payment for my records but she could not because the owner of the account happens to be my Mother and that they could not send me the information. So I asked the lady, "You can let me change the date at which my payment is DUE but you can'€™t send me an email?" She said "That is correct because I'€™m not the owner of the account". Do you see missing logic here? I work for a large corporation who purchases Dell products and I'€™m sending this story along to EVERYONE in the corporation so they do not have the misfortune that I have had from purchasing a Dell. DON'T BUY DELL.

Replies
Customer Service Worst I Have Ever Experienced
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA -- I have purchased 2 computers -- desktops and one printer from this company. All have had problems from the first day of use. The 926 All-In-One printer never worked right and support techs were never able to offer any help in fixing this. Their support department is a joke or non-existent. They all mumble in their incoherent Indian-accented voices telling you to try another department, just to hear more incoherent babbling that they know nothing about this and try another department.

I think the whole idea is to wear you down with long waits, no answers to your problems and always transfers to yet another service tech, who also does not anything about your problem. Well that is fine, because I will never buy another Dell product.

My grandson is taking marketing courses in college and he says that these computer companies do this on purpose so you will be forced to buy a brand-new computer. They have lousy customer and support service for a reason, but sometimes it backfires. In the long-run, they are losing many customers, like me who are fed up with this nonsense and refuse to put up with it. Dell you are about to hang yourself -- the sooner the better.

Replies
Advertisement
Make Sure Your Next Computer is Not Dell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- Since it is impossible to find a phone number to call corporate headquarters and the only number that is available is India with whom I wish to file my complaint before sending it to the Attorney General's Office in TX. I am addressing this to you. I feel that you should be made aware of what I encountered this month with my calls to India and I consider it a case of fraud. We live in El Cajon, CA part of the year and in Peacham, VT the other part of the year. After many years of purchasing HP products, I decided to change over to Dell after hearing good reports from close business friends. I regret to say a very poor decision on my part.

I rarely call India as most problems I can resolve either by trial and error or with the help of Google. I had no problems with your product until this month. We purchased a Dell Laptop in April of this year at the Navy Exchange in San Diego. The computer I am now using to write to you is also a Dell Inspiron purchased at Costco in Burlington, Vermont last year. I had a small problem with the software soon after purchasing it in CA. It was purchased on April 2, 2011 and the call was probably made one week later. The technical person fixed it in a very short time. However, about ten days later it reoccurred so I called Dell in India once again.

This time I was told that it would cost me $69.00 for them to repair it. I told them I had three months for software repair, but the tech refused to do anything about it. I hung up and called back the next day and this time to repair the same problem, it was $293. The tech said I would be protected for one year under this fraudulent contract. I was outraged and called him a crook and notified them I would be contacting Dell in the USA. He proceeded to turn me over to his supervisor to explain why they had to charge me. I told him that I didn't need to talk to a supervisor as I was already on to their scam and told the supervisor the same thing.

Just for my own satisfaction I called back one more time and when I was being told the same story again, I finally said, “I don't want to hear any more lies, I know what is taking place and I can fix it myself with Google.” By the time I finished speaking and in a very firm, angry voice, the man with whom I spoke told me something he said might get in trouble for and that was the repairs are made with the help of Google and I should be receiving free support for three months. Finally, an honest man still exists at Dell, India. So now we see the beginning of what I predict I shall see will be future happenings.

We outsource our business to foreign countries, and for some time we get good and polite service. However, the crooks takeover and we get what I mentioned above and this is probably just the beginning of what is to come. Of course, the headquarters won't list their phone number or a fax number and when you ask India for a number their response is “we don't know it.” In my opinion it is dishonest and I have started my goal to discourage people from purchasing DELL. It is no wonder you don't take calls, your lines would be tied up all day. If one sends e-mails or a fax, it goes to India and I am certain they go into the shredder so they continue their scam!

So now I shall have my husband make an appointment with the NEX officer when we return to share my experience and the desire to remove Dell products from all military exchanges. I will now file complaints to the BBB and the Attorney General's office in TX and hope my quest for protecting future consumers can be accomplished.

Replies
Your staff are liars and they give you a bad name
By -

SALISBURY, NORTH CAROLINA -- On March 29, 2011 before I went out to Best Buy or Walmart to get a computer, I gave Dell the opportunity so that I can get a computer. I talked with their representative for a good hour explaining my home business and the type of printers I use and that I need Windows XP because of the 32-bit drivers that I have the download disks for. Mr ID # ** gave me all the story how I had to make my PC custom for that, and that he can get it done with no problem. Lie # 1. I get my computer on April 12, two weeks later I get my computer. I was out of town and my son signed for it.

On April 14 I get home and I start to set it up and download my drivers and stuff and nothing goes through. I go to the websites of these printers and download directly from the company website and they still do not go through. Today, 8:00 am EST I call Dell and I start talking to this representative who verifies all my info and I explain to him everything I did. He then wanted to take control of my computer from where he was at to fix it and then he found out he couldn't do it... I gave him the websites so that he could download the drivers because he said he could have done it that way and he failed.

Now when all this started, he verified my two phone numbers and he told me that if we disconnect, he will call me right back. Lie # 2. I waited an hour for him to call me - nothing. I called again and got disconnected. I called again and told them I would like to talk to a supervisor but they said there wasn't 1 available, that they had to take control of the situation. Again I had to explain everything and then he got me with a supervisor who took the same info and again and told me to hold and he hung up. I'm really pissed now.

I call again and I asked for the escalation team because that is where the previous guy was supposed to transfer me to. Again I get the run around with my info and that they need it. I got so mad because of the lying that has been going on and every time I have to give everything again in detail. And like I told her that the gentleman prior had offered me a $200 printer for my inconvenience and I said "let's do this, give me a $200 credit on the Inspiron 1018 mini laptop and I will pay for the rest and also buy the Targus backpack with the accessories" and he says "No I can only give you a $100 printer."

I quoted him that he just said a $200 printer, he said "No I meant a $100 printer." See all the lies so far. Now I just got the call from the escalation team telling me they're sorry for my inconvenience and I told her to stop lying and put herself in my shoes to see if she would like it hearing that crap after all the lies I've been hearing. I told her I wish they are really recording the call so that she could become a leader and show the her escalated directors about this situation. So in short Dell, moved out of our country to get cheap labor that doesn't know how to speak the English language and take us for every thing our country has in our taxes.

This company should be banned from the USA if they can not provide the service that is needed here. Now I'm out of a computer, have to wait for another cycle to get my debit card credited but they are sorry for my inconveniences.

Replies
Dell From Hell
By -

I own a Latitude E6500 computer with a PROSUPPORT CONTRACT, that I purchased from the Dell internet site, which is an UPGRADED CONTRACT that affords one to have on-site service/parts and labor within 24 hours. This is a small-business contract. My business depends fully on the use of my computer. I have had Dell computers for ten years, after having MACs from the time they were first produced (and NEVER had a problem with a MAC!). In ten years, every DELL computer I have had has failed. Dell produces their hardware outside of the U.S. THEIR HARDWARE IS INFERIOR, GUARANTEED TO BREAK.

I have lost three spindle hard drives in a year's time - Drives that are supposed to last at least five years or more. I never lost a drive from a MAC. In the loss of those HD's, I have lost my business! The purpose of the upgraded business contract is to repair or replace to make my business run smoothly and my life easier. After the third drive died, at the suggestion of the original developer of Microsoft, who is also a good friend, I requested that Dell replace the drive with a digital drive.

Considering that I have spent countless hours out of work because of Dell's defective and incompetent equipment and people (including hours and hours and hours on the phone with tech support and waiting for new parts and then having to reinstall everything on each drive), it seemed to be a win-win for both me and Dell. The real insanity began in attempting to rectify a horrible situation of the loss of my business. I got passed onto India to a woman named **, who I could not understand her Indian accent, but discovered she was in the "€œFraud Division" of Dell. I had to have her spell her conversation because it was almost impossible to understand her.

When she slandered me by calling me a fraud, I was beyond upset. Fraud???? For what??? Protecting my clients and myself?? It seems Dell was looking for the three drives, which they were FULLY AWARE AND ON NOTICE and IN AGREEMENT that I was retaining the drives until such time that I could locate a degaussing machine to be totally 100% sure my clients' sensitive and highly personal information (including social security numbers, dates of birth, addresses and banking information) was gone to protect them and myself, as required by someone with integrity and professional licenses. Dell does not seem to think that is important.

I, however, am committed to excellence and refuse to put my clients or myself at risk. Shame on Dell. This has dragged on for months already. My business is still down. I wrote to Michael Dell and his attorneys, for which I have proof of receipt in November 2010, to attempt to get an explanation as to why Dell thinks I am a fraud. To date, I have had absolutely no response! It is a very deep offense to slander and libel someone. I will not stand for the treatment Dell has lowered itself to. The operations of Dell leave a lot to be desired.

Michael Dell and his staff sit in an Ivory Tower hiding like the children they are, fearful of dealing with their customers on a professional basis. Michael Dell and his BOD are so well-hidden, that it is impossible to get to someone in their Tower. Do they think they are GOD??? So, after many discussions with the limitless amount of overstaffed and incompetent employees at Dell, I had an agreement with a manager named ** that said once the drives were returned, I would be given a system exchange for all the hardship Dell engaged in with me and my company.

I was finally able to locate a reputable facility to degauss the drives and returned them to Dell with the provided shipping labels. Dell has had the drives for weeks, yet has not responded to the receipt of them. I attempted to contact the manager only to find he is out of the office until the end of January. I attempted to move this along faster and ended up in India again with that same dysfunctional, incompetent person, who should be cleaning bathrooms and not handling customer service as she is inept and angry at Americans, **.

Rather than keep their word, and more importantly, adhere to the contract I have with Dell, ** has taken it upon herself to cancel my contract (steal my money and kill my business) and say she is the only person in Dell (of all the millions of overstaffed, incompetent employees) that I can speak with. She refuses to put her manager on the phone. WHAT IS SHE HIDING ABOUT HERSELF? WHAT DOES SHE FEAR? How many more people and businesses has she succeeded in hurting? She refuses to do the right thing.

** has slandered me, libeled me and virtually put me out of business because Dell will not honor the contract they OFFERED TO ME AND I ACCEPTED (OFFER + ACCEPTANCE = CONTRACT), making Dell in default of the contract!!! I have attempted to contact legal and Michael Dell, to no avail. It seems legal only wants to speak with a lawyer. What happened to our Constitutional rights? There is no law in my country that forces one to hire a lawyer. We are entitled to act Pro Se. I now have a letter in to the Board of Directors of Dell. I am giving them 24 hours to reply.

My next move, and it will be destructive to Dell, as I will not let a company that does not operate in integrity get away with this egregious behavior, is to engage the State Attorney General, the FCC and the FTC, along with all media avenues including TV, radio and print. It is about time Dell gets deeply investigated for the fraud and theft they have engaged in, and that they get shut down and fined for their actions!!! I find it amazing that a company that large depends on one ignorant and mean-spirited Indian woman to make decisions that she is incompetent to do!! Anyone up for a class action lawsuit? I am! Come join me and let'€™s put Dell out of business.

They do not deserve to live the American Dream. How can they? They don'€™t even keep their business in the U.S., further putting up walls to attempt to protect themselves while they continue to defraud consumers with internet theft!!!!! Don't buy Dell. YOU WILL END UP IN DELL HELL. Buy Mac!!!!!! Shame on you, Michael Dell!!! YOU ARE A BIG REASON OUR COUNTRY IS IN THE MESS IT IS IN!!!!! When are you going to do the right thing???

Replies
Will Never Deal With Dell Again
By -

Let me start from the beginning. I purchased an Inspiron 1545 from Dell in July 2010. After a few days, the computer went berserk and I had to do a system restore. I had received a lot of issues with the computer, from it running slow, to certain computers not functioning, or crashing. And at first I thought maybe it was a bug with Windows 7, since the computer was new and hardly had anything on it (and no, I didn't download anything to get a bug or virus or anything odd). In September, I got the horrible BSOD, and finally decided to contact Dell tech support. Now, I had tried almost everything with this computer to fix it, including getting a registry program.

The Dell tech looked at the computer (through that tool that allows you to take over your computer) and told me to download a file from Dell and all should be well. It wasn't. It kept crashing, taking forever to load, and another BSOD occurred. I put in a request, and then a long, horrible interaction with Dell began. To make a long story short, Dell tech could not figure out what was wrong (and the BSOD happened 2 more times). A representative offered to give me a replacement computer. This was on October 5. I never received the computer... and when I say never, I mean, up to this point, I haven't received it.

It was sent to the wrong address, held up for unknown reasons, and I just kept getting the run around. I would be told "oh, it's in production, it will be to you in 8 days." Now this has happened quite a few times since October 5, 2010. When I contacted them for the 100th time on November 9th to see the hold up, I was told, "oh, it's coming".
By November 18, I attempted to contact Dell again. I found out the order was cancelled (and no, no one bothered to call me) because the computer was no longer in stock. Confusion!!!

I received an email that stated it was no longer in stock with a webcam in the color I originally purchased... so I told the representative I didn't care about the color as long as I got the Inspiron 1545 as I was promised to replace the defective one that was originally sent to me. The representative responded stating that the model wasn't available at all with my original specification in any color, and offered a "similar" computer, a N5030, which I couldn't even find. I explained that I've been waiting on this computer for over a month, and I didn't want a "similar" (no, not better), computer. I asked for a refund, and was told this wasn't an option.

I called customer service and was told the same thing. Then was placed on hold for 10 mins waiting for a manager. I finally hung up in frustration. This just happened earlier today. Not only did Tech Support not seem to know what was going on, but Dell refused to send the replacement computer. And now, they refuse to send me a refund because it's after 21 days from the original purchase? That doesn't make sense, they are the ones that constantly screwed up. And to top it off, the computer isn't even available anymore?!

Between being bounced around different departments in India (the only time I spoke to anyone in the US was to be transferred over to India), being hung up/disconnected in online chats and in the middle of telephone calls (this literally happened 3 times in one day and I kept calling Dell back to back to back), from constant emails, and phone calls, I find Dell to be utterly horrible in their customer service. I am currently complaining to any and everyone in regards to my situation. Ironically, from doing some research, I am not the only one who has experienced a situation like this.

Not only did Dell's laptop suck (it was defective), their customer service fails to make amends with the customer...although we know they can. Please, please, save yourself from months of stress and frustration. I've been dealing with this situation with Dell since September 2010, and have been waiting for my replacement computer since October 5, 2010, and to find out on November 22, 2010 that all of a sudden the computer isn't even available. They didn't offer a better computer or a refund, and they denied my request for one. The most they gave was "sorry for the inconvenience." Really? I'd say it is way more than an "inconvenience".

Replies
Advertisement
Dell Inc. Inspiron brand is faulty -- Please submit your experiences for a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST DELL.
By -

Dell Inc. is the worst computer/laptop company. Their customer service is atrocious. I am a Dell Inc. customer and have been years. I purchased a Dell Inspiron 1525 in 2008 that has been faulty since day 1. Dell Inc. have not fulfilled their obligations, under the warranty agreement and continue to refuse to rectify my issues with my Inspiron. I have asked them to completely replace the laptop since it was deteriorating since before I bought it. But they have refused, claiming "a replacement is not an option". If I had known that they use refurbished and deteriorating part to build the Inspiron, I would not have bothered. Who would?

Even after the laptop was sent to their depot, after telephone remote diagnostics and a replacement of the motherboard, after they claim to have "thoroughly checked and tested", my laptop is still having the same issues. I've had so many issues with my laptop (Dell Inspiron 1525), as well as issues with Dell Inc. customer services. Some of the problems are that my laptop constantly overheats (which emits a burnt wire type of smell), crashes, freezes and randomly shuts down even after it had been sent to their Depot for repair. I believe that my laptop was assembled with defective and deteriorating parts but it was passed off as brand new when they sold it to me.

I believe that Dell Inc. is a company that employs fraudulent means to make money. They do whatever they can to save costs on parts or other inventory costs, when assembling a product, then they sell it for more than it is worth. I am going to submit a complaint for over 2 million dollars against Dell Inc this week at the District Court for selling me a defective product and then sending it back to me without fixing the issues. They also put me through a data breach issue recently when someone called in asking for information about my account and they disclosed it. It was a complete stranger.

If anyone else has had similar issues with their Inspiron product, customer service or data breach, please contact me at **. I need a notarized statement/written account about your experiences with defective Inspiron product, warranty services that have not been honored and bad customer service. Your notarized affidavits will greatly help this case and it will pave the way for others to automatically file a claim for their defective Inspiron products.

Dell Inc. has been scamming customers for several years now, as evidenced in numerous complaints and lawsuits, by falsely representing the true quality of the Dell Inspiron brand and deliberately selling warranty services that are no good and do not adequately cover inherent design defects of their Inspiron products. Dell Inc. is considered a Fortune 500 but sadly they make most of their profits by selling products for more than they are actually worth. A laptop is not supposed to crash, randomly shut down or overheat! Especially if it is less than 5 years old. Motherboards are supposed to last for years.

So if the laptop is experiencing the above-mentioned issues, the motherboard is defective. Let us stand up to this company and stop them from taking advantage of the "little people". Dell Inc. cannot stand by their product because they are fully aware of the defective nature of their Inspiron but they still continue to sell them even after having received numerous complaints and lawsuits. Notice that Dell Inc. put in a mandatory Arbitration in their terms and condition. It's because they don't have faith in their products so they need to hide behind a 'binding arbitration clause'. A company who can proudly stand by their product never needs to hide.

DO NOT PURCHASE LAPTOPS OR COMPUTERS OR WARRANTY SERVICES FROM DELL INC. FROM PERSONAL EXPERIENCE, THEIR PRODUCTS OR CUSTOMER SERVICES FOR THAT MATTER ARE NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Email me as soon as you can, so I can forward the form I prepared to you. I will submit all notarized statements to the judge. I'm looking forward to hearing from you. Wishing you a fantastic day!!!

Replies
Customer Service/Support: Why Even Pretend?
By -

First off - I am posting this expression of frustration here because Dell does not care enough to provide any access point for feedback that I could find (after searching for an hour) with the exception of feedback on their website. I purchased this high-end Intel i7 based model 8100 desktop a week ago to replace a Sony Vaio desktop that had been serving me very well and without any problems for 8 years. The hardware is all that it is advertised to be. A good piece of assembly. However, yesterday for some reason all of the Application Icons went blank and became dysfunctional. This rendered my new screaming piece of hardware almost useless.

I knew it was a software issue. After reinstalling Windows 7, running Norton scans three times in an effort to detect if a virus was the cause, reinstalling MS office and surfing the Microsoft Windows 7 support website and blogs for answers to my problem, the Microsoft website stated that Dell provided support for its products. Consult them was the suggestion. So I did! By phone. After providing permission for remote access to my PC, the first guy concluded that he did not have the training to deal with the problem that I was encountering. He would need to transfer me to the software area.

After providing permission to guy #2 for remote access to my computer he looked around for about 45 seconds and concluded that it was not Dell's problem. Since my Norton registry indicated that there were two threats that were recently detected and remedied that there was obviously a major problem due to a "wireless virus." (BTW: the two threats that were detected and remedied occurred as the result of Dell's remote access attempt. Norton did its job. I authorized Norton to allow the access.) This second guy did not even look at or acknowledge my dysfunctional logo issue.

The fact that somehow link files had lost track of their respective executable files was consequential to the "virus." That was the only explanation. He stated that obviously I had caused this by using the Internet and using the wireless capability of the computer. Dell would not accept any responsibility for such a situation. Dell would not assist me (without a charge) to get the computer that I had bought just seven days ago back up and running. He could "remedy my virus problem and thus fix all other problems" on my PC but it would cost me. Forget the obvious fact that neither this guy nor the first had a clue as to what they were doing.

It was obvious that they were operating from some sort of scripted knowledge base which led to to the ultimate and desired conclusion that Dell would not claim any responsibility or at least compassion for their product or my predicament. At about this point my blood pressure began to rise. To make a rather long and painful story I finally hung up in disgust. I returned to the MS Windows 7 support website and after a few more searches was pointed to a inexpensive third party registry cleaner utility. I bought it for less than 10% of the cost that the incompetent Dell guy attempted to scam me out of. It installed and remedied my icon problem in about 3 minutes.

After 5 hours of frustration my software issue on my Dell computer was finally remedied. No thanks to Dell. In fact, I am totally convinced that Dell's lack of interest in their customer will prevent me from ever buying or recommending a Dell to anyone. Never Again! I have direct influence and approval authority for all desktop purchases in my company. Dear Dell... pick up a copy of the "Cluetrain Manifesto." The consumer world is out here talking to one another.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Dell Computer Corporation Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
689 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dell Computer Corporation
1 Dell Way
Round Rock, TX 78682-0001
800-289-3355 (ph)
512-728-4238 (fax)
www.dell.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies