Dish Network - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 465 ratings and
1270 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
DISH NETWORK Racketeering Scam
Posted by on
9601 SOUTH MERIDIAN BLVD -- Dish Network Corporation
9601 South Meridian Blvd
Englewood, CO 80112

Dish Network Corporation defrauded my Senior Citizen Father, in an Organized Scam using deceptive trade practices. I’m trying my best as a son to protect my father from the Dish Network Scam by helping him in complaints and dealings from him being a further victim of Dish Network Scam and related issues.

In July, August of 2010 through misleading Marketing ads and deception, Dish Network and Authorized Dealers targeted my Retired Senior Citizen Father, in good standing within our community and a longtime Time Warner cable customer for their Promotion of $24.99 / month for Americas Top 120 channels (for 12 months) and the remaining 12 months the price being locked in at $39.99,(Copy of Ad available) in joining them by signing under Undue influence a contract AFTER the Dish system WAS INSTALLED and pressure inserted towards my father in signing. Complaint was made on that day to the authorized dealer retailer of Dish Network and Dish Network .The original verbal agreement was done on August 19th 2010 the day before with the for the promotion with payment made. The contract was backdated by pressure from the Dish Authorized installer since my senior citizen father was misled in signing the local authorized Dish Retailers workorder copy also which signed under undue influence which pressured himin signing the other copy. No signed copy was also given on the day and received from Dish later in the mail after complaint. (transcripts /documentation/other evidence available only for criminal proceedings and court order). Dish Network Corporation was fully aware of this act which was the backbone to their future criminal activity against my father.

On January 5th, 2011 As a new customer, under this promotion, contacted Dish Network for advice as their client and new customer if there was any option that he could freeze account by holding it while we were on vacation( a Hindu Pilgrimage in India), and resuming it when we got back. Dish Network advised on Dish Pause as the best option, stating that it would only cost us $5.00 monthly charge for Dish Pause duration. The account would remain active and resume back when we returned. (Transcripts available). (NOTE: dish Network did not advise, that it would forfeit our $24.99 rate and our lock in rate for the remaining 24 months of resumed service). They knowingly omitted this key piece of information.

On March 11th, 2011 Contacted Dish Network for resuming services and shockingly find out that previous promotion was forfeited due to Disk Pause and the terms of the promotion had been changed. His monthly bill now was almost doubled from 24.99 now to 44.99 for Americas top 120 package.
We Protested to Dish Network why they did not disclosed to us on January 5th. They were apologetic but the situation was not resolved. They did not resume my original service due to the situation not being resolved. (Transcripts available)

On March 12th, 2011 Again Contacted Dish Network in verifying and stating his original pricing before service is resumed, the issue was resolved and his original service was resumed at that original promotional pricing of America top 120 package that he had before. (Transcript available).

On April 6th, 2011 After checking the bill and noticing that prices were doubled and overcharged. They have removed 24.99 monthly price ($15.00 remaining monthly credits from the $39.99 per month) and started charging $44.99 per monthly charge, plus advanced monthly charge for the same amount which is locked in for the remaining term of the 24 months of the promotional months without the promotional pricing that he had signed up for. He Contacted Dish Network. They stated that his original agreed upon promotional price was forfeited. Again complained and protested. (Transcripts available) related to the current dispute of overcharged billing and what the current bill should be. Also advised them that the future automatic withdrawals if not corrected with the promotional pricing that was agreed upon will also be overcharged and be in dispute every month.

On April 9th, 2011 Sent a letter of Complaint to Dish Network, and their Corporate Officers via email system. (email transcript available)
On April 9th 2011 Received short email back from Dish Network stating that the complaint has been addressed however Dish did not give any proper explanation in their deceptive trade practices against senior citizen consumer in wrongfully charging. (Email transcripts available)

Since then till now, Dish Network is continuing to violate my Senior Citizen Father and enslave him with a bogus contract of August 20th with their wrongful practices while stealing from his Account. Complaints were made to the FTC, BBB, and Attorney Generals as well as the Credit Card Company. Dish Network, Corporate Policymakers/ employees seem to operate with Immunity from any serious federal / state criminal Prosecution. My Senior Citizen father's Rights were violated; He is a victim and is continuing to suffer in health and welfare due to Dish Networks Scam. He is a responsible consumer we have done everything reasonable to resolve the dispute. The Corporation has received only "slap" on the wrist from previous federal and state litigation and settlement. I pray for sincere stronger punitive action that results in criminal conviction for the policymakers at the highest corporate level in the Dish Network organization in this fraudulent racket. Also since this is a public corporation, and behalf of Investors and the public I hope the SEC also takes action for them violating their public status. I hope also the Department of Justice Civil Rights unit takes action to investigate my father’s civil rights being violated. I also hope the FCC takes action for the Dish Networks proxy Internet Sites use deception against consumers including complaints. I expect the Government using all tools necessary including the Rico Act under organized crime to prosecute the Corporate Executive Officers / employees in criminal prosecution. I hope also Consumer/Government Advocacy Organizations/ Pro-Bono Legal Councilors to defend and protect Senior Citizen / Minority Consumers from predator corporations such as Dish Network from any fraudulent and deceptive trade practices from their current, past and future actions. This is organized Crime perpetrated by Dish Network Corporation / their associates and their policy directed by their corporate officers. The company is getting away with wrongdoings against my father and many other consumers.
BTW: DISH NETWORK EMPLOYEES : I Wish for more Dish employee whistleblowers to become STATE AND FEDERAL WITNESSES in Criminal Prosecution cases against the Dish Network and Corporate Policymakers who commit fraud against the American Public.
     
Replies
Service Termination/Equipment Return
Posted by on
Oooh Dish Network gets mad when you cancel their service. Well guess what guys? Don't tell me on three separate occasions I can get something, then after you install tell me I don't get it. I cancelled this awful service after only two hours. TWO HOURS! Let the nightmare begin. I was informed by the gentleman who was oh so sweet until I stood firm in my decision to cancel my service that I had 15 days to return the equipment or be charged for it on the credit card I provided to pay my installation fee. Hmm okay. Since he said they'd send out boxes for the equipment to be returned that I should receive in a few days, I didn't think much of it. What about the equipment on the roof you ask? Dish Network doesn't pick up their equipment so I can either climb up there or hire someone to remove it.

Fast forward 6 days (no boxes) I receive a missed call from Dish Network. I call the number back and the representative doesn't know why I was called. Okay. I suggest that may be someone was calling to see if I'd received the boxes to return the equipment. The representative says that is why I was called, that the boxes were sent out the day I cancelled and that I should receive them 7-10 days after the ship date. That's odd because that doesn't leave me much time to return the equipment. Fast forward one day (one week after cancellation) I receive a call from their account specialist who tried to get me to return to Dish Network by saying their customer service was superior to my cable company.

After arguing with this guy, who was incredibly rude after I didn't budge (sound familiar?), I again try to confirm that my boxes have been sent. Guess what? There is nothing in the system that says boxes have been shipped. Hey, guess what again? The boxes are a courtesy, Dish Network doesn't have to provide boxes, and I have to return the equipment one way or another or be charged according to this specialist. Nice. Guess what one more time. I live in California. The address to send payments is in California. The address to send the equipment back? Colorado. Of course. So now I have to pay my hard earned money to send this crap back to the worst company I've ever dealt with AND pay for insurance AND pay to get it there in 4 days or be charged. I'm not even sure I won't be charged after reading all of these complaints!

Dish Network: I learned about your tactics the hard way. You purposely don't send return shipping labels/packaging and/or send it out too late for the customer to get it back to you in time not to be charged. Then you charge their cards and send them through endless loops to get charges reversed hoping they'll give up. If there were some way to go about filing some sort of lawsuit against you for being a shady, disgusting company, I would. I hope to be done with you once I ship this equipment off. I can only imagine what people who had your service longer than the two hours I did have to go through. You make me want to bow down and kiss the feet of my Comcast service.

To anyone who has to deal with this same issue of returning equipment, think how they do. Be sure to include your name, account information, etc. in every box you send them. Insure your package, get a signature for confirmation of delivery/receipt and remember to protect the contents with shipping bubbles or those annoying pieces of foam whose name escapes me. You don't want them saying they received equipment but didn't know who it belonged to, that the package never reached them, or that it was damaged during shipping. Can't you just see that happening?

To anyone who is thinking of switching to Dish Network, think again. It's one thing for a company to have complaints about breaks in service due to the satellite but this company has complaints in the worst possible departments! They have awful customer service representatives, take your money, and hassle you on reversal charges. Take the hints and stay away.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Dish Service
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
WEBBERS FALLS, OKLAHOMA -- I had been with Dish in Grayslake in Illinois for over 17 years when I moved to Oklahoma. I called dish and took a leave of absence from their service till I could buy a house here. Once I found a house I called Dish for new service. They first sent out a female contractor who set the dish on the eve of the home and found she could not get a signal. She had trees in the way she told me and that four trees needed to be removed. I called a handyman and he came over and cut the trees but still no signal. After almost 12 hours she gave up and said she would have someone come back the following week.

The office then sent out a tech who got out of the truck and said there were too many trees, I would never have tried to hook up service for you. Let me walk around with my scanner and see if you have a better spot. He then told me he could get me a signal if I would allow a couple of post to be placed in my front yard. After I agreed he said I will call Okie dig and get them out early next week to look at the yard before we can dig. I understood and agreed to wait.

The next week I had a third tech come out who said that Okie dig had never been called but he had notified them and they would be next week and the office would have to send out someone again.

The next week Ron, a tech came and complained he was only given 15 minutes to do the job, and that the contractor had used the wrong line to install and it all needed to be replaced. He then called his office and started to work. After about two hours he came outside and said well bad news. I asked him what was wrong and he showed me in his haste he had pulled my TV off the TV stand and it had broken plus it put a hole in my wall. He was real upset and kept saying he hoped he would not get fired over it or at least written up.

I called his boss the next day and was assured they would pay for the set. After 7 months I did get a check for about half of it's cost. If I had to charge them for my phone time it would have been six times that much.

All the time I had been waiting to be paid I complained the Internet was slow and horrible. Dish finally sent out a tech, Ron again. He told me he had been written up but he guess he deserved it. He then went outside to look at the system. After five minutes he came back inside and told me he had repaired the slow Internet. He said he had to cut a ground for the phone which was not used anyway but was too close to the Dish install.

A few months later their was a lightning storm a few miles away. I went to bed because my signal was gone. When I woke up the next morning all three TV's were dead. I called Dish and they said for $10 they would send out another tech. I asked them to send someone other than Ron. I wanted another set of eyes on this problem.

Brian came out that Saturday and after about two minutes found that Ron had cut the wrong ground. He had cut the one for the Dish system. He told me he had it in his report and that Dish would have to replace the TV's. He took photos and checked everything including the TV's. He also installed new Hopper as well as the Joy boxes. I boxed up the old units when he was here and called Dish to request the labels to send back the old equipment. I was told to write Attention Dave Wisecamp on the boxes.

The following week Nick the lead technician came over to look at the boxes and look at the system. I told him that Tffiany [Snip] from Colorado Corporate was assigned to me as a claims adjuster. After a half hour or so Nick said he had moved the direction of my Internet dish because it was pointed in the wrong direction. And that sometimes even if the Hopper systems are UL listed they give you problems and can not be grounded. He also told me that I had a reversed wire in the master bedroom which could account for the one TV blowing out.

After he left I called my electrician Lonnie who has been licensed for over 40 years. He came over and checked the line. He told me he could not find a problem. I told him Nick had showed me his tester and it said it was bad. He pulled out the tester he carried and it showed good. He then took the outlet out and examined it and put it back. Shook his had and said they are trying to pull a flim flam on me. He did not charge me because he had checked the electric out for me before and installed a new 200 amp breaker box a few weeks earlier.

I made several calls over the next weeks to Tiffany and to the local office. Just before the two month date of loosing my TV's the manager, Gary [snip] told me that he could offer me $450 for the sets. This is again close to half of the price I paid for the three new TV's all purchased in the last year. I told him you do know these were all three TV/DVD Combo units. He said I know but you do not have to agree. Finally I told him fine send me my money and we are done I am tired of fighting for this money which is due me. If it were reversed and I owed Dish you would have been paid the full amount quickly.

He then sent me a form to fill out that reads:
By your signature, you agree that you are completely satisfied with the resolution of this damage claim. You understand that DISH Network Services and affiliate consider this claim to be closed and will not accept further liabilities regarding this claim. You agree that the existence of this claim and it's terms and conditions are to be kept strictly confidential by all parties involved.

I refuse to sign this agreement because it is a hush order and there are several litigation's that could happen if it were signed. He agreed to call corporate legal and ask to have the document changed to read from this day forward. Today 9/26/2014 we talked and he told me that the legal team refused to change the form at all. And that the ball was in my court. If I want paid I will have to sign it.

Well the form as I told him says signed on this date so in a couple of days I will sign it but not till I have let the world know what a horrible service I have received and the way they treat customers. I could not even get a call back from Stephanie [Snip] so I am writing this for all to see before I sign.
     
Replies
Discontinue Services and You Get Stalked
Posted by on
As long as you a customer you are OK. If you want to discontinue Dish services, Heaven help you. They will harass and threaten you to no end. I am not sure why they have taken this course of action. I have kept my bill paid ahead at all times, yet due to financial problems needed to cut back.

I just discontinued my service with them & they have been horrid. I have been getting hang up calls from then and threatening calls from them about their equipment which I will ship once I get the boxes they are supposed to send me. I have had to document so much it's not even funny.

Since my service ended less than a week ago I have gotten over 1/2 a dozen calls from them. 2 with no person at other end, one was a sales representative who hung up after identifying himself, one was another sales manager, and just today I got another call; a recording threatening to charge me if they did not receive their equipment. I am beginning to feel like I am being stalked. I see their number come up on my caller id and I don't know whether to run or answer.

Be careful of trying to end services with Dish Network. Below is my story that started on June 11, and I'm not really sure it has ended yet.

On June 11, 2011 I called Dish to cancel my account at the end of my billing cycle. I gave them two reasons; High Cost and outsourcing of their customer service department to countries outside of the United States.(Have you ever tried to talk to a customer service representative from another country. 75% do not actually understand English, even though they might speak it decently ).

They gave me no alternative to the high cost except to return the DVR and save $5 a month by not using their DVR plan.

Between the 11th and 27th I did receive two calls that hung up on me and a couple of survey calls. On the 27th a manager called inquiring why I was leaving, yet did not offer any type of solution.

I woke up on the 28th at 5:30 am to find they had disconnected me, even though I was paid up through the 28th. Between the 28th and the 1st I received three more calls that hung up on me. The one on the 1st identified himself as Alex from the sales department and was trying to get me back as a customer. I not only told Alex but another Customer service Representative that I did not wish to receive anymore sales calls from them. Yet after Alex I received another sales call who hung up right after give his name and company.

After receiving an email on the 1st demanding I immediately send back their equipment I I promptly called their Customer service representative to inform her I had not received the boxes yet. She told me no sweat that I had 30 from the date of disconnect. I documented the call to the best of my ability.

On July 3, I got awoken to yet another call from Dish. It was a pre-recorded message tell me that if I did not return their equipment immediately they were going to charge any account of mine they had access to . Realizing that I could document their online chat easier I used that and documented.

Again I informed that agent that I had not received the boxes. At first he asked me to turn on my TV so they could trouble shoot the problem. I again repeated that I had disconnected my services. I was again told I had 30 days. This I again documented.
As I told a friend I feel as if I am being stalked by this company. I have been and am doing my best to end this in a friendly manner in case I might like to use their services again in the future. Right now I see no reason to ever use their services again. This has been a very horrid experience so far and actually a bit scary.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
They Rip People Off!! Do Not Get Dish Network. You Will Be Sorry
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHICOPEE, MASSACHUSETTS -- If I could rate Dish Network with negative 5 stars I would
This company is a joke! I 1st signed up in February of 2013. When I singed up I ordered the everything package
Because I'm a new customer I was SUPPOSED to get a special rate of $73.00 a Month for the 1st year. They promised me I would have l my local channels including FOX and ABC and WB. We'll guess what?! After the guy came and set everything up for me he then tells me I won't be getting All my local channels! I should've know better when I asked them to email me my contract and they said no, they don't do that. That was a red flag. And it gets better. After 3 months they started charging me the regular rate. I refused to pay it because that's not what I signed up for. (And I have always paid my bills on time, never once late) so They fixed it. A few months go by and they screwed it up again and again and again. Now my bill is 120 something dollars when it shouldn't be and they won't give me the everything package for that price. They will only give me the top 240. I also was supposed to have ALL the movie channels as well with my package, They still try to charge me every month for them. Again I call them up and have to get it fixed. Every darn time I call them each person is telling me something different. They make up stuff just to shut you up but never fixes the problem or they say that I'm wrong. I literally have 3 pages of notes from every conversation I have with them. I write it down, I repeat back what I write, I've even gotten employees names and badge numbers. Which didn't do any good. For them to say that I heard them wrong every time they must think I'm pretty stupid! That's why I document everything from the time and date as well. Wait it gets better. So I complained about how they lied to me about getting FOX & ABC. They told me to go buy an antenna so I could get the channels. So I asked how can I DVR my shows then using that. They said you just hook it up, so I did that. There was no possible way to do so. So I called them up and complained once again.... The guy I spoke with had no clue what I was talking about. So I said screw it. Well a few months later, again I was being charged more than I should've been and mentioned how they told me I could DVR from the antenna. They said I needed a device. Then they wanted to charge me $50 bucks for!! I flipped out and she finally said they would send it to me for free. So I get that a few days later. I don't have the right kind of antenna!! No one ever told me to buy a specific one. I emailed them asking if they will credit my account if I buy the one I needed. They said no! They did credit my account for the 1st antenna . $30. But it's the wrong kind!! All these people do is stress everyone out. I'm so sick of them!! I'm about to threaten them and bring them to court for FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!!! I have all the proof I need by printing out everyone's complaints. My family has a few lawyers so that's not going to cost me anything. So if they try to charge me all these fees that everyone is talking about I will fight them! And I have no doubt in my mind, I will win. And from now on I will record every conversation I have with these people. It's not illegal as long as you tell them. And that's another thing! They say they record they're calls. That's a fat lie! I've told them numerous times to listen to the conversations if they don't believe me. Then they come out and say they don't record them. There's so much more to complain about but I'm sure your sick of reading this. Needless to say DON'T USE THIS COMPANY! If it sounds too good to be true is really is. All they do is lie. The 1st time you talk to them they're really sweet and conniving. Then the next thing you know they're screwing you over repeatedly and don't care! I haven't been with them for not even a year yet and I don't plan on continuing my service. I've never had as many issues with one company. I really wish I read the reviews online before committing to a two year contract. This has been a terrible experience. Don't be fooled by the good reviews. Companies actually pay people to write good reviews. It's all made up. They need to start making laws to protect people. I don't know how these people can do this to innocent people. Anyway I hope this helps with your decisions. And please go with a different company and save yourself the headache and hassle.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Outrageous Cancellation Fees
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CLERMONT, FLORIDA -- My husband and I decided to go with Dish Network when looking to change cable companies and were somewhat happy with it even though we would loose reception anytime is would get cloudy outside but continued to stay with the company. After a period of time they raised our rates with no notification, I found out when I noticed the auto debit from my checking account was double what it had been previously. My husband called to inquire about the increase and was told that the price we were paying was only good for a certain period and we were now being charged double what we had agreed on so we decided to cancel after another cable company was charging the same price but it included internet service so we cancelled the service. My husband made sure that we were paid up in full and was told we had a zero balance. We were told that they would send us a box to ship back their equipment after about 2 weeks we called back to find out about the box that we had not received to be told that it was on it's way and there would be a shipping label with it for us to use, but we would be charged that fee on our debit card. My husband told the customer service person that they were not to charge our card anymore than that fee and were assured that was the final charge. We finally received the box about a week later and sent all equipment back using their shipping label. A couple weeks later we were surprised to find our debit card had been charged $207.00, when we called about it we were told that was the charge for early cancellation, that we had broken our contract with them.

Well if were where really under contract how could they just increase our rates, when we asked that question we were told that our rates had nothing to do with the contract, that's funny when the only paper signed included the rates on it. People need to beware Dish Network is a very corrupt company who doesn't care about their customers they only care how many of them they can screw over and I am guessing they thrive on people canceling their service early because they like taking peoples hard earned money it a time where the economy is very poor and only getting worse.

I have one better, a couple months prior to us cancelling our service I was watching TV on a Sunday evening around 11:00 pm to have my service go off, when I called about the problem I was told that they disconnected the service per my request which I had not done and why would I do that at 11:00 pm on a Sunday night, when they couldn't find any notes on the mishap they reconnected my service how crazy was that but we get charged for cancelling, what a joke. I hope they choke on this money.

Everyone please beware, Dish Network is a terrible company and I would never recommend them to anyone.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
High Pressure Sales Tactics, Lies About Service, Failure to Correct Problem and Refund Money.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- I initially contacted Verizon to find out if FiOS service was available in my area. It was not, but they said they partnered with Dish Network for cable TV and Internet service and I might want to talk to them. I really wanted a bundle to include phone service, but this was not available to me either through Verizon or Dish Network.

I asked Dish for information on their cable and internet services. The Dish salesperson described what they had to offer, and when I hesitated, they improved the offer. I already had a phone/internet/cable package with another company, and when I told them the Dish cost for cable and internet was about the same as my current company, they improved their offer again. I said I wanted to discuss the offer with my husband first, and they told me that if I didn't sign up right then, and called back later, the offer would probably not still be on the table. They also told me that with the Internet service they offered Internet support through Geek Squad. I told them that I didn't want the Geek Squad service as I really had no problems with my Internet currently, and currently had free support through my provider. They told me I had to take the Geek Squad service but that it was free for the first month and I could cancel at any time and not be charged. I told them I didn't like to sign up for anything billed as "free" but that would require me to cancel in order to avoid charges. They again told me I had to take the Geek Squad service with the internet. I again said I wanted to discuss this offer with my husband, and was again told that the offer was not guaranteed if I didn't sign up then and there. I agreed, thinking I could just go ahead and cancel if we decided not to proceed. Dish gave me two phone numbers to call if I wanted to cancel, one for the cable and Internet and one for the Geek Squad service.

We did decide not to proceed and two days later, I called Dish to cancel everything. There was never an installation of any equipment. They did refund my fees, but my bank statement showed a charge of $19.99 for Geek Squad. I called the number given to cancel the Geek Squad service, which turned out to be a Dish phone number. Dish told me they could not cancel that service or issue a refund, and that I would have to contact Geek Squad myself. I said that I called the number the salesperson gave me to cancel Geek Squad and they said that was incorrect. I also told them that I never had any dealings with Geek Squad, never authorized Geek Squad to charge my bank and that all of that was apparently done by Dish, so why couldn't Dish cancel it since they, not me, initiated it. They continued to tell me they could not do it.

At any rate, they gave me another phone number to call "Best Buy", which was somehow associated with Geek Squad. Again, wrong number. I was given 5 wrong phone numbers. When I finally got the right number to call Geek Squad, they told me that they never offer a free month of service with the right to cancel during that time without incurring any charges. They told me that Dish lied to me. Geek Squad was very professional, and handled my request for refund and cancellation of service in a very friendly and agreeable fashion, I have no complaints about them, and might consider their service (separately) in the future. I believe the Dish salespeople will say anything to make a sale.

I had Dish service for cable only in the past, and was pretty satisfied with it. However, I didn't like the fact that customers have to pay for any repairs to the equipment, which Dish maintains ownership of, and customers have to pay to return the equipment, which is owned by Dish, when the customer cancels their service. I found a better deal for my cable which was a package deal with phone and internet and cancelled the Dish service. When I said I wanted to cancel, they offered all sorts of incentives to stay, incentives that were never offered to me while I was a customer for three years. I still cancelled. Like others, I didn't receive the return boxes in a timely fashion but returned the equipment as soon as I did receive them.

This is not a customer friendly company. If you deal with this company, I would suggest getting any offers in writing (in great detail).
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Terrible Customer Service, Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
We switched to Dish from another satellite company because of their unethical practices after being a decade long customer. Less than a year after installation, our receiver stopped working. No amount of resetting would restart the equipment. Found while speaking with the representative that we were not receiving HD for life as offered during our signup, as well, which was rectified by a customer retention representative Since I wasn't 100% happy with the current equipment we had, the customer retention representative offered to upgrade us to a new receiver (remember, the old was was DOA so needed to be replaced regardless) for no charge in exchange for extending our contract for 2 years, which we agreed to.

Installation was great, accepted 2 year extension. A month and a half later (which is now), we were charged a fee for the receiver, and discovered that we were billed for a protection plan that I never requested or agreed to add.

Called and spoke with three different agents, including a manager. All three claim that there were no "notes" put in our account about upgrading our equipment, and without these "notes" there is no way they can refund the fee. In addition, there is a fee for canceling the protection plan that I was never informed of. A protection plan that the customer is expected to pay to cover equipment that doesn't even belong to them. If they didn't charge me the protection plan, they would also charge a fee for the tech to come out to replace their equipment that didn't even make it a year that was sitting in a protected piece of furniture.

Also, because I did agree to the extension of our contract, and they made no notes about their offer, we will be charged early termination fees if we cancel our service. So Dish has created a method for breaking their contract with their customers, all while ensuring the customer can basically to ensure Dish provides their promised service.

I was, until today, extremely happy and satisfied with Dish. Now I am a disgusted, dissatisfied and certainly no longer loyal to Dish.
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Setting the Record Straight
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
Pending the arrival of a Service Tech to provide and install a second DISH receiver, I read some of the posts here for info concerning The DISH network's business practices. I believe there is reason for concern.

I decided to document my understanding of the agreement reached with The DISH Network for provision of the second receiver.

I feel fortunate that I am a former customer of Time Warner Cable and still use them for Internet access. I also feel that being in the 11th month of a 12 month agreement with DISH provided me with some valuable leverage.

The DISH representative I spoke with tried to get me to agree to a 24 month contract for "new services". I politely declined. I was offered the option to purchase the new receiver for ~$450. I declined that offer as well. It was at that point in our conversation that I asked the representative if they thought I should contact Time Warner to determine if they would want me back as a customer. My question resulted in my being handed off to a supervisor.

The 2nd DISH representative was more interested in my way of thinking.

I was offered my second receiver at no cost and with no contract. It will add $7 monthly to my bill as a second source of programming within my home. I'm fine with that.
The $15/month discount that I "received" upon initial set-up 11 months ago has been extended another 12 months. The bundle for HBO, Cine Max and Showtime has been given ~50% discount to cost about $18/mo. I'll be paying almost $100/mo. + taxes for my selection of programming.

I took 1 additional step today to forestall any quibbling with Service Rep's in the future. I summarized my understanding of the agreement reached by phone and opened a DISH Chat connection through customer service. I copied and pasted my understanding into the cordial conversation with customer service. I explained my reason for doing so as to "document my understanding of our current agreement in order to avoid misunderstandings in the future".
I think it took the customer service representative a few exchanges of info to wrap their head around what I was doing...that's fine, as well. I was given 2 e-mail addresses for future use, if needed.

Upon conclusion of this DISH Chat exchange I copied and pasted it into Word, then printed it. DISH now knows my understanding of our agreement, I have a written record of it and it is documented before installation of the new equipment.

I will assess in the coming months the value of my efforts today. HTH
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Return Equipment Scam!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CENTRAL POINT, OREGON -- I cancelled my account in July, I was sent one box to return 2 receivers, in the box was a letter that said something about not receiving a box for obsolete equipment and there was a list of equipment. I sent back the receiver and remote that was on the list. I held on to the other receiver to make sure that there wasn't going to be an issue later. In OCTOBER I get an email and a bill in the mail stating that my account will be charged $250 bucks for unreturned equipment! I called and spoke with a representative who told me not to worry about the charge that he could see that I received an email that showed that my equipment was returned successfully. I wanted a confirmation number and he said my name is Neil, and you won't have a problem as he laughed... He again said, " you will not be charged, I took care of it." I was hesitant, but I wrote down his name and then finally took the receiver that had been sitting on my kitchen table for over 2 months and put it in the recycle bin. I did not get charged for it and I kept checking my account to make sure. My account was locked and I could no longer log in without restarting the service.

So yesterday I get an email that simply said, " Your account will be automatically deducted for $250." It did not say why or anything. I clicked on the link that was supposed to take me to billing and again it will not let me log on to my account. I called and got no where. They stated that the receiver was not obsolete and the best the could do was take $50 off for the chip on the dish itself.?? I was never told that I would even have to climb on the roof and remove some piece of the dish and return it. I told the representative that I have the dish still in my back yard and I will send that piece to them. Then the representative tells me that it's not necessary and they don't need it and it would cost more to return it than its worth!!!! So, they are charging me for a receiver that they said was obsolete, then they changed there mind 3 months later and want it back, then they add $50.00 for a part that they don't really want!! WTH??

All I can say is the whole company is based on trickery, deceit, and lies! Why would I purposely keep their stupid receiver? If they had sent me the box I would have sent it back to them. Grr.. I'm so very frustrated. I wish there was a lawsuit that I could be a part of.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >