Preview Review

Next Review

Dish Network Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
False Promises
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PFLUGERVILLE, TEXAS -- Don't ever EVER use Dish. They promote a bundle that's supposed to be all inclusive including the internet and then after they install it they tell you that the internet they provide won't work for the on demands so you would need to find your own server jacking your price up. Their customer service, if that's what you want to call them, are absolutely worthless.

Next is the account specialists they connect you to who are twice as worthless. They proceed to tell me that they never promised anything, they are right, you are wrong, too bad, so sad, then it's on to the elite 'president's office' which is the upper echelon of all problem solvers but really not. They basically say the same thing as if reading from a script.

The bottom line, they lied to get their sorry product in my home. They act stupid when you call them on it and then they want to penalize you for wanting to cancel them. If that is not enough, they went into my husband's social security disability and took out 500.00 dollars they said was a disconnect fee without authorization. That card was never given as a payment method for their services but they took it out anyway.

When I asked if they were going to pay for my husband's medicine or food, they completely blew me off and could care less. I have never encountered a more unprofessional, uncaring, rude, lying group of people like I did here. If Dish come knocking, run the other way.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Service and Billing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROMNEY, WEST VIRGINIA -- I have been a Dish customer for 4 years. The service is terrible, the TV goes out often and the internet is almost as bad as dial up. Now, for the billing, all thru the 4 years, they have added charges to my bill, with no explanation, just a few dollars every couple of months. Most are under 6.00. Last month I accidentally paid the bill twice. I guess I hit the pay button 2 times. I contacted Dish and they WOULD NOT reimburse me. I called my bank and they stopped the second payment.

As soon as my bank did that, Dish sent emails and put things, like your account is past due on my TV screen. Mind you, I did make the payment and on time. They just wanted that second payment. After that, I got a notice saying, I had gone over my usage on the internet and charged me 10.00. Now, in 4 years, I have never, ever, come close to going over my limit. The month they picked to charge me for this was a month that I was gone for 8 days.

THEN, when I got online to pay the next month's bill, I was informed that I could no longer pay online because of the 2nd payment that was returned to me. If they would just get someone in there, who knows what they are doing, the service/billing might and that's a big might be better. I have since changed my service to Frontier. The price is 30.00 a month cheaper and I have 12 gb instead of 10.

Replies
Worst Experience Ever!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I am beyond disappointed with Dish. I NEVER in my life experienced anything so foolish. I had to take off two days of work and had two different technicians come out to my house just for them not to install my service. I called and spoke to the manager and he was very nasty with me and kept cutting me off and talking over me. The technician that came out told me she wasn't an electrician but ran throughout my house taking nails and plates off of all my outlets!!!

I only been a Dish customer for 3 days and experienced the WORST encounter ever with a cable company!!! Please don't be a fool like me and waste your time or money. I'm going back to Comcast where they treat you with respect!!!

Replies
Unfair Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEABROOK, GEORGIA -- Dish cost continued to increase in a short period of time. Couldn't get bundle with TV, Internet, and phone. Took money from my bank account without my authorization. Requires customers to disassemble outside dish to return parts. Could be difficult for many people forcing additional cost to customer.

Replies
Advertisement
Buyer Beware Awful Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

USA, IOWA -- This is worst company, buyer beware. Bait and switch on prices, breaks down, installer had fresh from prison look was casing out my house and my young daughter. Get cable or DirecTV. Just whatever you do not them!!! Every channel you want is extra and ads everywhere!!!

Replies
Undisclosed Fees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- Beware of this company. They tell consumers one thing and then charge completely different amounts. We had to cancel our service and we got charged two cancellation fees as they are now considering TV and internet as two separate contracts and therefore charging fees for both. Service is spotty at best and customer service is non-existent. With a 95% negative review rating, it is questionable how they still have a A+ business rating.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

MINNESOTA -- Terrible customer service. I questioned my bill and the rep, her name was Ian (hard to understand) was very rude and was raising her voice at me!! When you pay over $100 for a service you should have some respect! After this phone conversation, I will be cancelling my service with them!

Replies
Being Charged for 2 Years When I Had to Move Out of Residence!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- On March 26, 2016, I moved into an apartment that was misrepresented to me as a nonsmoking unit. I noticed a slightly stale smell during the walk-through, but attributed it to the unit being closed up for a few months. It was not evident it was smoke, and I had no reason to assume it was, due to the unit being advertised as a nonsmoking unit. The smell was nothing. It thought wouldn't go away with some airing out. However, the smell persisted, and after a mere three days of living there, my towels, clothes, and even hair were starting to smell of it.

Upon my mentioning the smell to the maintenance man when he came to hook up the washer and dryer, he admitted that the previous tenant had indeed been smoking in the apartment. I cannot tolerate cigarette smoke, so I contacted the landlord and made arrangements to leave the property. I promptly cancelled all utilities, none of whom gave me any trouble whatsoever except for Dish Network, and moved out of the property on April 10, 2016.

I was recommended Dish Network as a cable provider when I started electric service with West Penn Power and they transferred me to First Energy. The woman I spoke to who scheduled me for installation never mentioned a contract, length of service agreement, or any kind of termination fee. She only mentioned the low price per month of roughly $32.

March 26, 2016 was also the day a representative from Dish Network came to the unit to install the satellite dish and hook everything up. Again, he never mentioned a contract, length of service agreement, or early termination fee. Once he was finished, he explained to me how to work everything and had me sign a few lines on an iPad, much like someone signs for a package. He scrolled through the iPad for me, simply showing me where to sign. He said I was signing acknowledging that he HOOKED UP MY SERVICE and EXPLAINED TO ME HOW TO WORK IT.

It was not explained or made obvious at all that this was a contract, which I fully believe was intentional. As he was holding the iPad and doing the scrolling, I had no reason to take it from him and do it myself – or assume that very conveniently and deceptively hidden in the corner of the screen was an outrageous early termination fee. As stated above, he scrolled through, only stopping where I needed to sign, and stated that I was signing acknowledging he hooked up my service and explained how to work the remote/TV.

I cancelled service with Dish Network on April 8, 2016, and got nowhere when speaking to a representative. After asking for a supervisor, whose name might have been Julie but I can't be certain, I got the same robotic, rehearsed monologue. Customer service was frustrating, to say the least. No one had any understanding or sympathy, or even deviated from their monotone script.

I explained my situation tirelessly, just as it is explained above, enforcing that I hadn't even used the service during my short stay at this apartment, and that my lease was only to be for a year, so there's no way I would have signed up for a two-year agreement. Nobody listened and they proceeded to charge my account the full amount. After this phone call, I did some research and stumbled upon the horrific reviews of this company. I am utterly shocked they are still in business.

On May 11, 2016, I called Visa/Bank of America to dispute this charge on my card, and I believe I spoke to a girl named Sarah from Maryland or Virginia. After explaining the story above, she removed the charge and I received a letter in the mail notifying me of the credit to my account. Then I found out Dish Network is disputing my complaint and trying to make me pay, and Visa has basically washed their hands of it. (So guess who will be changing card providers? Hello, MasterCard.)

My main dispute is the outrageous early termination fee. My main complaint is that I should not have to pay for a service I AM NOT GETTING AND WILL NEVER GET. I did not buy something and then refuse to pay for it. I am expected to pay for two years of a service I am not getting, through no fault of my own. I did not just decide I didn't want Dish Network or didn't like my new apartment. I was deceived about the apartment's condition and had to move out.

This was an unfortunate situation all the way around, and a financial burden for me already, with the cost of moving twice in two weeks, money that I paid in rent, etc. Dish Network has shown no human compassion, understanding, or appeasement to try to keep me as a future customer. All they have done is give me a massive headache and more problems to deal with.

Everyone avoid these liars, scammers, crooks, and thieves like the plague. If I wanted to waste $534.37 I'd just light it on fire. They deliberately deceive good people who work 2 jobs and 50+ hours a week (me) for their hard earned money. Everyone, warn everyone you know. If enough people hear and heed the warning, maybe these con artists will finally be out of business and actually working for a living like the rest of us.

Replies
Advertisement
Did not receive help with troubleshooting and bad customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERETT, WASHINGTON -- I called Dish customer service about two days ago because my search options for my DVR was not working correctly. I couldn't browse through categories of movies to record at a later time as I have so many times before in the last year. Keep in mind this is a service that has never required internet service. I was told by the first Rep that it was because I needed internet service to operate. I said that wasn't true. I've had to call in 3 times before with this same issue and the first time they sent a tech out and he fixed it right away.

The second time it was a different tech and he could not fix it. Instead he thought maybe it was a box problem so he switched it out. I lost all the movies I ever recorded in a year and it still didn't work. I was quite upset. But, within a week it miraculously started working again. All these things I kept updating Dish about so they knew about this problem which seemed to happen every time they cancelled my cable due to a payment not being received. I would pay the bill, the service was turned back on and lo and behold I couldn't use my browsing options again.

Anyway she asked if I would like to speak to her supervisor. I said "if that's all you can help me with then yes." He got on the phone and keep calling me sir, I am a woman! He basically said the same thing that it's because it needed internet service. After I explained to him that I've been operating this option for over a year without internet he laughed as if I were a moron.

I begged him to send out a tech, that I would pay the 10 dollars if they would send one because obviously we we're not on the same page. He only answered with "we are on the same page" and "a tech could not fix something that needed internet to work." I asked him if he thought I was stupid not to know when something needed internet to work? I know for a fact that when it requires internet, it says this option requires internet! I am technically inclined! Plus I've had this service for over a year. I know what needs internet and what doesn't.

I couldn't talk to him anymore. I was about to start yelling so I handed the phone to my husband to talk to him. He told the supervisor the same thing I did and that he wasn't listening to me at all. The guy then tells my husband that I am a problematic customer and that I am irrational and frantic. My husband hangs up on him. Now the only reason another person would tell a customer that is to get them upset. I still got no help and my cable still isn't working right. I am paying full price for a service that I can't even operate and there is nothing I can do about it cause I am stuck in their contract for another year.

Oh and I'm a frantic problematic customer so I can't receive any help or respect. I feel like crying. As soon as my contract is up I am canceling this nightmare once and for all. My advice is to seek satellite cable from a different company. I've heard many negative issues with Dish and I have had Xfinity, Directv and now Dish and the only company I've had any problems with is Dish. No way will I ever refer a friend to them. Bad product and bad customer service.

Replies
Canceling Service Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CINCINNATI, OHIO -- After 6 years of service I decided to switch providers. The Dish phone rep's speech was quite difficult to understand. After complimenting me on being a good dish customer she tried to upsell me on the Hopper, movie channels, etc. I replied I just wanted to discontinue service. She wanted to know why I was stopping the service and who I was going to use. I told her this was not her concern and that I just wanted to discontinue Dish. She kept asking why so I finally said I've had to replace 3 receivers and 4 remotes in 6 years, 300 channels of absolute nonsense wasn't a service I wanted to pay for anymore.

When I called in financial distress a year ago I was told there was nothing to be done about my bill other than going to basic service or canceling. In fact, that sales representative a year ago was snarky as hell as she said maybe I shouldn't have pay TV service. I also asked for a refund on the unused month of my service but was told no, they would not refund any money.

But here is the really good part. This nutcase told me I was responsible for returning the receivers, the remotes AND the satellite dish! She said I would be charged $10 to return each piece of equipment as well as penalized $299/month for every month the equipment wasn't sent back. She suggested I just ask a friend to go on the roof and remove the face of the satellite. I could keep the part that's bolted to the roof. She told me to send everything back FedEx within 10 days.

I got stuck on the satellite removal issue and kept asking, "You really want me to go on the roof and remove the dish?" She kept saying, "Yes, just ask a friend to do it". Then she hung up on me!! I called back and got another difficult to understand representative. She laughed when I told her about the satellite retrieval. I wonder how funny it would be when a wrongful death lawsuit is filed. She said, "We never ask customers to return the satellite dish, we don't want the responsibility." I said, "Well, I was just told to do just that thing, how do you explain that?" She thought it was hilarious and kept laughing.

After she tried half-heartedly to get me to re-up on the service, she asked for info to send return boxes to me. She said, "There are no charges as I was told by the first representative." She told me to mail a letter of waiver saying I cannot retrieve the dish. I said, "To who?" She said, "There would be a form in the box." "Ok, a form will be sent to me." "No," she said, "you have to mail a letter". "Ok, I have to mail a letter to whom?" "No letter," she said, "a form will come with the box."

It was like a Who's On First conversation. She also informed me I would not be getting any refund from the bill I just paid. If I had known my SO was ordering new service, I never would have paid the last bill for this shoddy, conniving, ill-trained reps company offering crappy reception (watch out for rain, clouds, a little snow or a whisper of wind). Oh, and as an aside, I had a repairman here 2 years ago who informed me the satellite was installed upside up which is why the receivers kept blowing out. He said it wouldn't happen again since he had the brains God gave him to re-install the damn thing.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Dish Network Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 526 ratings and
1330 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dish Network
9601 S. Meridian Blvd.
Englewood, CO 80112
1-888-624-3474 (ph)
1-720-514-5140 (fax)
www.dish.com
pedersenjason@echostar.com
Compare Cable/Satellite Services