Feather River Doors - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
32 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Disappointed
Posted by on
Despite reading the reviews posted here, we decided to order 3 Feather River Interior Doors from Home Depot in Fall 2010 because I really liked their privacy glass MultiSquare pattern. We ordered two doors primed white that had the MultiSquare Privacy Glass and a primed white bifold door that had matching glass on the top half of the bifold. We discussed the negative reviews extensively with the door salesmen at our local store. They promised to check out the doors before they released the doors to the installers.

After several weeks the doors were brought to our house by the installer who installed the bifold doors in the bathroom first. We assumed the Home Depot door people had checked them first. On the bifold door, there was caulking on the glass that the installers were afraid to remove because it might remove some of the frosting on the glass. There were a few problems with the glass but we were willing to overlook it as I really liked the glass pattern. We decided to look at the full length glass doors outside before proceeding. How disappointing. Big swirls on the glass, damaged and so visible on both doors! The doors just had cardboard around the edges so it was very easy to see the damages. Home Depot never looked at the doors. We could not install these doors and called the Manager at Home Depot. Home Depot said we could reject the doors and eventually gave us a credit on our card for the doors. What a waste of our time and the installers. They had to reinstall our old linen closet door. Our Home Depot does not look at your doors at the store and depends on you to accept or reject doors at your house!

These doors were supposed to be installed before our bathroom was tiled. We had to just go with the doors we had and will have to find other doors to install after-which is not what we wanted. We were fooled by how nice the doors look in the catalog and what was hanging in the store display. It was a waste of our time ordering them and staying home to have them installed-we have nothing to show for it but aggravation.
Company Response 12/20/2010:
Hi, This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.
     
Replies
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Made good on a problem
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
TACOMA, WASHINGTON -- Yesterday I posted about a problem I was having with the Feather River front doors I purchased through Home Depot. At the time of the posting I had been told by the Feather River Warranty Department that the warranty on my doors had been voided because the one side was off by ¼”. After hearing this needless to say my blood began to boil.

I systematically went through all of the issues trying to be just factual an unemotional. I also sent a copy of the posting to the manufacturer. I am happy to report that yesterday evening I received a call from a manager at Feather River who informed me that not only will they honor the warranty but they are going to send a complete new replacement unit.

I know this will still cost me a few hundred dollars to have them installed. To be assured that they will be installed per the factory recommendations I am going to pay Home Depot to do the installation.

I am extremely pleased that this American manufacturer has stood behind their product and is trying to rectify what was a bad situation.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
The Bitterness of Poor Quality
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- I have a Fiberglass Feather River French Entry door. These are full glass doors with the blinds inside the glass panels. It is no more than 5 years old. First thing we noticed was the finish peeling off. We called Feather River to see if there was any warranty against this. We were told there is not, and they offered instructions on how to refinish them ourselves. This past weekend we installed a storm door with low E glass hoping to protect the doors after we refinished them. During this process we discovered that the fiberglass panel on one of the doors was coming loose. This was the working door. Upon further inspection we discovered that the same thing was happening on the stationary door. And not only that, but the trim that holds the glass in place was also loose. The screw holes on the opposite side are rotted and there is no way to fix this. We talked to Home Depot about this and they offered their sincere apologies and nothing more. Our only choice is to replace the doors, jambs and everything.

These doors face east so they are somewhat exposed to the sun in the morning but not all day. We also live at high altitude, around 7000 ft. so the sun is a bit more intense. But this kind of thing should not happen to any door in any location. There is another steel entry door on the same side of the house that is over 10 years old and no problem with it, We are replacing these Feather Rivers with the same type of steel door.

Bottom line is that if you have to replace a door with any sun exposure, don't buy Feather River.
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Expensive Door, Poor Quality and Customer Service Doesn't Stand Behind Their Product.
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LACEY TOWNSHIP, NEW JERSEY -- My $4000.00 Fiberglass front door from Feather River and bought at Home Depot has been problem since I have had it installed. The first year the glass and sidelights leaked water with rains. The covers for inside screws didn't fit into the holes either. Had a horrible fix it man come out, very unprofessional, sent by the company. Another couple of rains and water still coming in all over my kitchen floor. Had to put down towels around the door whenever it rained hard. I sent pictures in to company of the door leaking. They sent out another repairman. he replaced frames and showed me that the last repairman never caulked the windows under the frames and that is why water was coming in.

We also discovered that the wood jam is now rotting in places and mold is growing on the bottom of the jam where it had been getting wet forever( over two years now) I have a claim in again but the manager says my door isn't under warranty due to the jam not having been caulked on the outside. The door has been caulked with clear seal from the time it was installed. They don't think that the previous problems caused the damage to the door? Seriously? I have many general contractor clients and construction workers to tell about my complaints on this companies way of handling product defects.

If its not taken care of then I will pass on my experience to them.
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
No quality control!
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
I read the varying reviews before buying, but I wanted to buy doors at Home Deport after an excellent experience purchasing kitchen cabinets and countertop there.
Big mistake. I bought 2 Feather River exterior fiberglass doors and an Andersen storm door. Two of the three doors were OK. One of the Feather River doors came with a gouge. I agreed to its installation while new "slab" was ordered. This took over a month, and the replacement came with more gouges than the first.
Obviously there is no inspection of the final product.
I am still waiting for the next replacement.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never Buy Feather River Doors
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
We bought our Feather River Door through Home Depot and the warranty said it was manufactured by Trinty International. They tell us they don't sell doors in Florida. We called Home Depot who contacted Masonite who sells the door, so I am assuming it is a Home Depot product made by various manufacturers.

The two supposed warranties don't match. Masonite warranty that the customer service doesn't match what came with the door. They told the Home Depot customer service people here in Orlando that they would honor the warranty and repair the door, and they tell us they won't.
They don't honor their warranty. Their customer service people are rude.
It has taken over three weeks to resolve the problem that still isn't fixed.

I asked the customer service person for parts number to repair the door, and they have never given me the parts number to order or how to order the parts after three attempts. They just tell to go to the store.

Moral of the story is go with Anderson or another brand name company but stay away from Masonite and Feather River Doors.



Company Response 10/25/2012:
Hi, This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.
     
Replies
Warning! These doors peel and glass breaks - no repair possible
Posted by on
We were forced by our condo association to pay over $1000 for this door. Within a year it started to peel. The time-consuming and costly "fixes" suggested by the manufacturer did not restore the door to an acceptable condition. Then after 2 years the exterior safety glass shattered for no reason and the cost to replace the glass is almost as much as the door. NEVER get this door!!!!
     
Replies
REVISED!!! Do Not Buy This Door!!
Posted by on
After posting my original negative experience about Feather River doors, a company representative contacted me today to offer assistance. Evidently, they are willing to stand behind their product and have offered to replace my door!! Yahoo!

I am very hopeful that everything goes without a hitch and I will be sure to follow up with additional info once my claim has been honored.

I originally purchased my Feather River Door on the advice of Home Depot. I have had issues with all wood doors that required constant maintenance and wanted to simplify my life. I was told that with their lifetime warranty I could rest assured that I would never have to replace my door again. Well... after six months the stain started to fade. This was AFTER I applied a layer of marine grade poly to protect it from the elements. As time passed it only got worse.

When I finally called their customer service department to take advantage of their warranty, they informed me that their warranty had changed and that my finish was only warranted for two years. They were polite, but absolutely unwilling to stand behind their product. In fact, they even sent me a copy of their new warranty and informed me that the new warranty would pre-empt anything that may have been provided earlier - isn't that special?

Trust me on this. Don't waste your time spending $1500 on a door from a manufacturer that doesn't even believe in their own product.

Company Response 12/02/2010:
Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our finish warranty has always been two years however, we would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.


     
Replies
Toxic smell when sun hits door
Posted by on
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- This front door looks like wood grain style, as a installer I notice a few things wrong with this door, fist the hinges are not installed corectly they stick out at least a 1/8 inch each and won't close corect, second the stupid screw plug caps don't fit and probally never were meant to. or they would have put them at the factory. and most of all when the sun hits the door the tempature between the storm and the door itself heats up so much that this toxic plastic smell starts to fill the inside of the house so bad that it makes the kids sick. what the hell, they tell me to vent the storm door, and this fixes it. oh and to refer to the warranty. why would I have a storm in winter if I have to vent it. I think If this company wants to stay in buisnes they need to seriosly fix these many problens!!!!!!!!
     
Replies
Feather River Doors
Posted by on
We just installed a Feather River, full glass entry door. It was ordered on Nov 11, 2009 and charged to our charge card for $1750. It is a full glass door, and two side lites. The special order was delivered to HD at the end of November, and it was DAMAGED. They sent it back, and ordered another one. It came in 3 weeks later, and it was DAMAGED, they ordered it again, and it came in before Christmas, and it was DAMAGED. It finally came in on Jan 27, and it appeared OK when we looked at it at the store.
We had it delivered, and upon installation, discovered a few things that really made us question the quality of this door.
#1. The screw cap covers are not manufactured propery. There is an extreme amount of flashing left on the plastic from the moulding process.
#2. Why do we have to install these anyway? They should have been installed at the factory.
#3. We paid extra to have the door primed. There is BARE pine visible on the outside of the door
#4 The weather strip at the top of the door is torn
#5 We paid extra to have the deadbolt holes drilled, and they were 1/8" off. It made it extremely difficult to install the deadbolt and lock.
Overall.....................NOT happy with this door.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >