Feather River Doors - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Made good on a problem
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
TACOMA, WASHINGTON -- Yesterday I posted about a problem I was having with the Feather River front doors I purchased through Home Depot. At the time of the posting I had been told by the Feather River Warranty Department that the warranty on my doors had been voided because the one side was off by ¼”. After hearing this needless to say my blood began to boil.

I systematically went through all of the issues trying to be just factual an unemotional. I also sent a copy of the posting to the manufacturer. I am happy to report that yesterday evening I received a call from a manager at Feather River who informed me that not only will they honor the warranty but they are going to send a complete new replacement unit.

I know this will still cost me a few hundred dollars to have them installed. To be assured that they will be installed per the factory recommendations I am going to pay Home Depot to do the installation.

I am extremely pleased that this American manufacturer has stood behind their product and is trying to rectify what was a bad situation.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
The Bitterness of Poor Quality
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- I have a Fiberglass Feather River French Entry door. These are full glass doors with the blinds inside the glass panels. It is no more than 5 years old. First thing we noticed was the finish peeling off. We called Feather River to see if there was any warranty against this. We were told there is not, and they offered instructions on how to refinish them ourselves. This past weekend we installed a storm door with low E glass hoping to protect the doors after we refinished them. During this process we discovered that the fiberglass panel on one of the doors was coming loose. This was the working door. Upon further inspection we discovered that the same thing was happening on the stationary door. And not only that, but the trim that holds the glass in place was also loose. The screw holes on the opposite side are rotted and there is no way to fix this. We talked to Home Depot about this and they offered their sincere apologies and nothing more. Our only choice is to replace the doors, jambs and everything.

These doors face east so they are somewhat exposed to the sun in the morning but not all day. We also live at high altitude, around 7000 ft. so the sun is a bit more intense. But this kind of thing should not happen to any door in any location. There is another steel entry door on the same side of the house that is over 10 years old and no problem with it, We are replacing these Feather Rivers with the same type of steel door.

Bottom line is that if you have to replace a door with any sun exposure, don't buy Feather River.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

r_jablonski on 2013-12-03:
Thanks for the review...I wouldn't buy Masonite doors either. They don't honor warranty and they are poor quality.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Expensive Door, Poor Quality and Customer Service Doesn't Stand Behind Their Product.
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LACEY TOWNSHIP, NEW JERSEY -- My $4000.00 Fiberglass front door from Feather River and bought at Home Depot has been problem since I have had it installed. The first year the glass and sidelights leaked water with rains. The covers for inside screws didn't fit into the holes either. Had a horrible fix it man come out, very unprofessional, sent by the company. Another couple of rains and water still coming in all over my kitchen floor. Had to put down towels around the door whenever it rained hard. I sent pictures in to company of the door leaking. They sent out another repairman. he replaced frames and showed me that the last repairman never caulked the windows under the frames and that is why water was coming in.

We also discovered that the wood jam is now rotting in places and mold is growing on the bottom of the jam where it had been getting wet forever( over two years now) I have a claim in again but the manager says my door isn't under warranty due to the jam not having been caulked on the outside. The door has been caulked with clear seal from the time it was installed. They don't think that the previous problems caused the damage to the door? Seriously? I have many general contractor clients and construction workers to tell about my complaints on this companies way of handling product defects.

If its not taken care of then I will pass on my experience to them.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

ok4now on 2013-05-08:
The timing of your review could not have been better. Just this week I went to H.D. and priced a Feather River Door and almost bought it. After your horrible experience I won't be buying it.
Karen K on 2014-05-03:
I saw a Feather River fiberglass door on sale in this weeks circular and I was going to look at it tomorrow but now, after reading all these problems..am hesitating. I had a MAJOR issue with a Masonite 9 light door several years ago that just fell apart..and that was after HD installed it. In fact the door was less than the cost of the install..I had to email the top guy at HD to get the door replaced..took 6 months but they did do it..but I don't know if I want to go through that again..doesn't anyone make a good, decent product? I have also priced a Therma Tru door but that door is 2200 , not including the installation..now I am not sure what to do...the install is another 500.00, no matter which door I choose..tired of being ripped off by crappy products!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
No quality control!
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
I read the varying reviews before buying, but I wanted to buy doors at Home Deport after an excellent experience purchasing kitchen cabinets and countertop there.
Big mistake. I bought 2 Feather River exterior fiberglass doors and an Andersen storm door. Two of the three doors were OK. One of the Feather River doors came with a gouge. I agreed to its installation while new "slab" was ordered. This took over a month, and the replacement came with more gouges than the first.
Obviously there is no inspection of the final product.
I am still waiting for the next replacement.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never Buy Feather River Doors
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
We bought our Feather River Door through Home Depot and the warranty said it was manufactured by Trinty International. They tell us they don't sell doors in Florida. We called Home Depot who contacted Masonite who sells the door, so I am assuming it is a Home Depot product made by various manufacturers.

The two supposed warranties don't match. Masonite warranty that the customer service doesn't match what came with the door. They told the Home Depot customer service people here in Orlando that they would honor the warranty and repair the door, and they tell us they won't.
They don't honor their warranty. Their customer service people are rude.
It has taken over three weeks to resolve the problem that still isn't fixed.

I asked the customer service person for parts number to repair the door, and they have never given me the parts number to order or how to order the parts after three attempts. They just tell to go to the store.

Moral of the story is go with Anderson or another brand name company but stay away from Masonite and Feather River Doors.



Company Response 10/25/2012:
Hi, This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Katie Shuford on 2012-10-23:
Hey - Just curious, which Home Depot did you buy from?
Thanks.
~Katie
Masonite.Doors on 2012-10-23:
Thomas - My name is JoAnna and I am with Masonite Doors at our corporate office in Tampa, FL. I would like to help resolve your situation and clear up any confusion on your warranty. Masonite does sell doors in the Florida Home Depots through the Special Order program. If you bought a stock door (off the shelf), then it is either a Feather River door (Fiberglass) or Jeld-Wen door (Steel). If you could email me your purchase information at MasoniteDoors@masonite.com, then I would be happy to look up your order to see if it is a Masonite door and make sure that the right people follow up with you. Thank you, JoAnna
Rebecca on 2013-12-03:
In my experience, I would never ever buy a Masonite door. They look good, but they don't last. I'm a single professional woman and I bought an outdoor Masonite front door and the bottom fell out within 2 years and Masonite would not honor their warranty even though the door was in immaculate condition. The warranty states 15 years and I even wrote the company and they didn't cover it. They have horrible customer service and I will never buy another Masonite door. You know why they said they wouldn't cover my door? Because it wasn't painted and the door is white fiberglass what has nothing to do with the bottom falling out and exposing the insulation.
Close commentsAdd reply
REVISED!!! Do Not Buy This Door!!
Posted by on
After posting my original negative experience about Feather River doors, a company representative contacted me today to offer assistance. Evidently, they are willing to stand behind their product and have offered to replace my door!! Yahoo!

I am very hopeful that everything goes without a hitch and I will be sure to follow up with additional info once my claim has been honored.

I originally purchased my Feather River Door on the advice of Home Depot. I have had issues with all wood doors that required constant maintenance and wanted to simplify my life. I was told that with their lifetime warranty I could rest assured that I would never have to replace my door again. Well... after six months the stain started to fade. This was AFTER I applied a layer of marine grade poly to protect it from the elements. As time passed it only got worse.

When I finally called their customer service department to take advantage of their warranty, they informed me that their warranty had changed and that my finish was only warranted for two years. They were polite, but absolutely unwilling to stand behind their product. In fact, they even sent me a copy of their new warranty and informed me that the new warranty would pre-empt anything that may have been provided earlier - isn't that special?

Trust me on this. Don't waste your time spending $1500 on a door from a manufacturer that doesn't even believe in their own product.

Company Response 12/02/2010:
Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our finish warranty has always been two years however, we would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.


     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Toxic smell when sun hits door
Posted by on
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- This front door looks like wood grain style, as a installer I notice a few things wrong with this door, fist the hinges are not installed corectly they stick out at least a 1/8 inch each and won't close corect, second the stupid screw plug caps don't fit and probally never were meant to. or they would have put them at the factory. and most of all when the sun hits the door the tempature between the storm and the door itself heats up so much that this toxic plastic smell starts to fill the inside of the house so bad that it makes the kids sick. what the hell, they tell me to vent the storm door, and this fixes it. oh and to refer to the warranty. why would I have a storm in winter if I have to vent it. I think If this company wants to stay in buisnes they need to seriosly fix these many problens!!!!!!!!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2010-03-04:
Plastic smell...did you remove the plastic coating over the glass part of the door? As to the size: is the door a special order by your measurements or did you buy it precut?
localgod on 2010-03-05:
Feather River Doors are made of fiberglass, which explains the smell...the hinges are set for the jamb the door comes with, if you used the previous jamb, they may not line up with the old holes...the screw plugs are installed after the installation (which is why they are not installed at the factory), they cover the holes after installation...as a self-professed installer, you don't have much luck with millworking, do 'ya?
Close commentsAdd reply
Feather River Doors
Posted by on
We just installed a Feather River, full glass entry door. It was ordered on Nov 11, 2009 and charged to our charge card for $1750. It is a full glass door, and two side lites. The special order was delivered to HD at the end of November, and it was DAMAGED. They sent it back, and ordered another one. It came in 3 weeks later, and it was DAMAGED, they ordered it again, and it came in before Christmas, and it was DAMAGED. It finally came in on Jan 27, and it appeared OK when we looked at it at the store.
We had it delivered, and upon installation, discovered a few things that really made us question the quality of this door.
#1. The screw cap covers are not manufactured propery. There is an extreme amount of flashing left on the plastic from the moulding process.
#2. Why do we have to install these anyway? They should have been installed at the factory.
#3. We paid extra to have the door primed. There is BARE pine visible on the outside of the door
#4 The weather strip at the top of the door is torn
#5 We paid extra to have the deadbolt holes drilled, and they were 1/8" off. It made it extremely difficult to install the deadbolt and lock.
Overall.....................NOT happy with this door.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Feather River Door
Posted by on
Three Feather River Doors were bought from Home Depot. The double doors had the following discrepancies:
1) Sill plates - screws were high, sill plate not level.
2)Astral strip locks: one missing grommets. Unable to move top and bottom locks without using a screwdriver and plenty of force.
3) corner seal pads not installed.
4) Sill squeaked when walked on
5) a 3/8 x3/8 hole in the bottom area where the doors met.
6) movable door - bowed, did not seal at the weatherstrip.
7) Sealant not removed from picture frame at glass.
8) movable door - bottom weatherstrip came off.
9) Astral strip not finished by manufacturer. Does not match door finish.
10) Routing of hinges in door and door frame inadequate to allow hinge to seat completely.
11) The Home Depot installation resulted in: Unit was not square, unit was not plumb, not properly shimmed,
Single door:
1)mini blind does not retract when it is < 32 degree F.
2) Three hinges had four of the 12 screws missing.
3)Picture frame was white, but door is off white.
4)1/4 to 3/8" gap at top of door.
5) Installation was not square. Adjustable rail and sweep not installed properly.

Home Depot and Feather River replaced the double doors and realigned the single door. The single door miniblind failure to retract just started - time to talk to Feather River again-argh.

Overall poor quality from FR and sloppy installation from Home Depot.

I would never recommend Feather River to anyone...a considerable amount of time and effort was spent with FR and Home Depot to get the doors replaced, reinstalled and fixed properly. Spend a few more dollars and buy elsewhere. Feather River warranty claim # 563301.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

SadSackSam on 2009-12-17:
Oh so did they do anything right? How many poor people did you go off on during this process? And as far as the blinds they almost never work at or below freezing. try Micheal from the other post he might help you.
homedepot_michael on 2009-12-18:
Hi this is Michael from Home Depot Customer Care. I’m sorry about your experience with us. I would like to offer my help. If you would like to share more details, please send an email to michael_care@homedepot.com

Michael
The Home Depot
Atlanta, GA 30339
Close commentsAdd reply
Fiberglass Entry Doors
Posted by on
BADA BING, NEW JERSEY -- Being in the door business for many years, few companies come along and change things for the better. Having the opportunity to order and install many doors, I have found that the Feather River Door Company is one of the best door manufacturers to deal with. Every door I purchase has the quality you look for in a fiberglass door. Some of my customers ask for Thermatru doors but when I show them the price and the fact that they would need to stain that companies door, it is an easy sell to Feather River. I am told that every one of their pre-finished exterior doors are all stained by hand. All I can say is, WOW!!!. I have to pay my painter $600 to stain a door and don't get the consistency that Feather River offers for a lot less money. The finish is warranteed too.

Out of the 30+ Feather River orders I make per year, I have to say every single door except for one came in on time. The one I waited for was that new Mahogany grain door. It turns out, the lead time was 28 days but the store guy told me 14 days like the OAK grain doors so it was not Feather Rivers fault. I had to hear it from the homeowner though. Home Depot now stocks these mahogany grain doors too. Once, I needed to get a replacement part for a damaged sill (probably hit by Home Depot fork lift guy) and I spoke to a sweetheart in customer service that sent me the part free of charge in just a of couple days.

Easy installs too.

I would recommend this company any day of the week and I would even put one in my mothers house.

THE DOOR GUY
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Principissa on 2007-11-28:
That is good to know. The house we are buying has a seriously old door that needs to be replaced.
Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
$600 to stain a door?
grandma005 on 2010-12-17:
I have had a Feather River door for five years and could not be more happy with it. Highly recommend.
Thomas32828 on 2012-10-17:
Sorry. I have a very bad experience with them and their customer service never again.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >