Preview Review

Next Review

FedEx Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Birthday cake delivered to someone else.
By -

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- I contacted "We Take The Cake" (WTTC) in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, a very nice group of people who bake wonderful things, to send to my daughter via overnight delivery a special cake to arrive on her birthday. I provided complete address information. WTTC did as requested.

I called the bakery on Thursday to determine when the cake would be delivered as it had not yet shown up. They said they would check on it and call me back, which they promptly did. It seems there was a "mix-up" at FedEx and the cake was being delivered the next day, Friday.

I called my daughter Friday eve to see if she enjoyed her gift. It never arrived. As WTTC was closed at this time I called FedEx. I was told they attempted to deliver the package but couldn't "locate the apartment" (there are no apartments, just four townhouses side by side and everyone knows one-another so it would have taken the effort of asking).

The cake, reportedly not deliverable, was then delivered to a completely different address and "left on the doorstep" as "no signature was required". There was no explanation as to why this happened. I was then told they would "investigate" the issue, pick up the cake and deliver it. I was also told that a claim could be filed but it had to be initiated by the WTTC.

My impression of the call to a pleasant and apologetic FedEx customer service representative is the representative was thoroughly trained at 'handling" me and others. I was just another client to be apologized to, passed on and gotten rid of.

Conclusions: I doubt they'll do much, if anything, except make excuses and allegations that this was someone else's error. My daughter's special gift was delivered to someone else (perhaps to a driver's friend) on a whim. FedEx has also indirectly tarnished 'We Take The Cake's' reputation because the second half of the package - the caretaking and delivery of the product - blatantly failed. Most important: FedEx failed at its, for them insignificant, for me, big, mission.

Replies
Advertisement
FedEx are Thieves
By -

On June 30th, 2009, my fiance sent a package through FedEx containing a 14K, three-stone diamond engagement ring and two lipsticks from Montreal, QC. The package was picked up from Anjou, QC, brought to Mirabel, QC, where it arrived at the FedEx Memphis, TN, facility. After a two day clearance delay in Memphis, I received the package in Kenner, LA, on Friday, July 3rd, 2009, at 8:42 A.M. When I opened package, the ring was not in the package, but the two lipsticks were. I immediately contacted FedEx about my missing ring. I was put in contact with a FedEx customer relations representative who began a search for my missing ring.

Since it was a holiday weekend, I did not receive any updates about the status of my missing ring until Monday, July 6th, 2009. As 5:00 P.M. EST, I was told by the FedEx representative that my ring could not be located and gave me the option of beginning the claim process. I was reluctant to stop searching for the ring, so I left that decision up to my fiance, since he is the one who bought and shipped the ring. My fiance told FedEx that he would like their organization to search a little while longer for the ring.

After searching the rest of that week, FedEx told my fiance that the ring could not be located and was offered to begin the claim process. My fiance started the claim process on Tuesday, July 14th, 2009 and concluded the claim process on Thursday, July 16th, 2009. My fiance insured the package for $500. Although the ring's actual worth was more than $500, my fiance was told by FedEx that this was the maximum amount the package could be insured for. My fiance received a check on Friday, July 24th, 2009 for $564.00, the 500 insurance amount plus the shipping costs.

The official story is that FedEx "lost" my ring, but obviously, one of FedEx's employees stole the ring since it was the only item that was missing from the package. After this entire experience, I have to say that I feel doubly victimized by FedEx. Not only was our merchandise (the ring) stolen from us but we were also cheated out of our money by only receiving a small portion of the ring's worth. Receiving an engagement ring is a dream for many women. Unfortunately, FedEx has destroyed that dream for me. Needless to say, I will never use FedEx again and will actively try to avoid ordering from companies that use their delivery service.

Replies
Where's UPS When You Need Them?
By -

I have a small business. I ordered supplies from a company who ships FedEx ground. I needed these supplies to complete an order, so I was tracking this package closely. Imagine my surprise when, on the delivery date, nothing arrived. I tracked the package and was even more surprised to see "customer not available/business closed" as the reason for non-delivery (I was here).

I called FedEx the next morning and was assured my package would be delivered that day. Same scenario -- no package arrived. I tracked the delivery again, and was surprised by the reason it was not delivered: "incorrect address." The address is correct on the package, by the way. I called FedEx again and spoke to a supervisor. I asked that the driver call me when he was in the area and I would give him directions to my location. "Hey, no problem," I was told.

So for the third day, I waited. I even received a follow-up call from FedEx customer service checking on the package. Unfortunately, same scenario -- no call from the driver, and no package. I just tracked this package yet again, and the reason for no delivery is "incorrect address." That tells me the driver simply doesn't care - he used the same excuse as the previous day, and never bothered to use the telephone number ON THE PACKAGE to contact me.

The package is now listed as being on the truck for delivery "the next business day." If it does not arrive Monday, I plan to instruct FedEx to hold it at their facility for pickup -- I'll send UPS to get it for me. UPS's system of assigning drivers to the same route is unbeatable - my UPS delivery driver is fantastic and even knows the names of my dogs! And FedEx wonders why their profits are at record lows?

Replies
They Lie And Do Not Care About Customers!!
By -

EVERY SINGLE TIME that I have to deal with FedEx there is a problem!!! For starters when they "miss you" and are supposed to return to re-attempt delivery on three consecutive business days, THEY NEVER DO!!! I have waited ALL DAY for them to return and then I just happened to go to my computer to check the tracking info. It said that an unsuccessful attempt to re-deliver the package had been made and I had been home ALL DAY!!! There was no new infonotice because THEY NEVER CAME.

They just issue some BS infonotice number and a BS time and then they make you drive all the way to them to get your package anyway!! Now today, I had a $1000 Dell laptop delivered to my mom's house (because she is always home and I got tired of chasing FedEx around), and the bottom of the cardboard box was totally ripped, so much so that there is no way that it held a 17' laptop!! AND the packing list on the front of the box was ripped open and the packing list was removed.

When I called to report this they were totally nonchalant and non-caring yet AGAIN!!! The "customer service" representative actually told me to just turn it on and "see if it worked". WHAT??!! It's dropped? When was it opened?? Is everything in the box? I could tell that the box had been opened and the contents removed simply by the way that the package inserts were folded inside!! They are very inconsiderate and unprofessional and I wish that companies all over would stop shipping with them!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Delivery and Condition of shipped packages
By -

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- One month ago I shipped 10 boxes to Arizona from Chicago and paid dearly for the service. I was told that my boxes would be delivered to the receiver and not just left at the address unattended. This was not true. Also the boxes were open at the seams which I taped several times when they were delivered. All of the boxes looked as though they were in a war zone, beat up, smashed, busted open in terrible condition.

WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU ALL? DOES ANYONE CARE HOW THEY HANDLE YOUR BELONGING? OR YOU JUST THERE TO PICK UP A PAY CHECK? The boxes I sent later but busfreighter (24) came in excellent condition, nothing wrong, just like I packed them, nothing wrong, and busfreighter was cheaper, which I wish I had known this at before I used FedEx.

Replies
FedEx Lost My Wedding Dress
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CAPITOL HEIGHTS, MARYLAND -- FedEx has allegedly delivered my package to me according to the tracking info. It says I signed for it and everything! However, I did not sign for anything and it is now 9 days before my wedding which will be out of the Country and I have no wedding dress or anything in my closest as a possible backup. Which means, I will have to go around town trying to find a summer white beach destination wedding dress in February!

The driver states he did not deliver any packages to this address all week, yet he scanned and marked the package as delivered. How does a company stay in business by not following the proper procedures? You're not curing cancer your dropping off packages. Is it really hard to remember not to mark the packages as delivered, until they are actually being delivered and to the right person. I ordered plenty of things online and this is the first time my package has been lost/ delivered to wrong address.

I'm scared to repurchase online that I would actually get it and would it be in time, and now have to take my chances with whatever is on the racks. My mother says it's a sign that I shouldn't even be getting married and this has added so much more stress and jitters to an already stressful time. Thanks Fed Ex for throwing such a curve ball in what was supposed to have been one of the happiest days of my life. I might even have to wait until I get there and hope I can find something.

Replies
Bad Representatives
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MACON, GEORGIA -- 6/5/13 received a phone call, between FedEx and company sending my package, they left a message on my answering machine. I proceeded to call the Macon Ga. store to talk to a young lady that ask for my physical address, and she told me that my package would be delivered on 6/6/13, upon getting home from work, still no package, so I called the Macon Ga. store again, was told that they could not help me without a tracking number, which was never given to me, and for me to call 1-800-FEDEX, they also gave me the run-a-round, long story short, FEDEX workers had me calling from one office to the other because no one knew where my package was.

Don't know what time my package arrived, I stay until 11 PM, still no package. Awake the following morning to find my package sitting on the ground near my doorstep, after it had rain all night. About two yrs. ago FEDEX was supposed to deliver a modem from Windstream to my house.

When I called to check on it, I was told that it had been delivered to my home, when in fact it had been delivered to another address, told to me by the carrier, so Windstream told me to go and purchase one from BestBuy, and they reimburse me. I hope the next time that I have to have something delivered, that it can either come to my PO Box, or go through another CARRIER.

Replies
Clean Air Health Equipment Boxes Separated
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND FORKS, NORTH DAKOTA -- I had been expecting 1 package (or so I thought) from a Air Filter company. A friend in town was accepting and signing the delivery slip for me at his residence because the apartment building that I live in is not set-up for deliveries of any kind. The reason I was getting the clean -air unit is because I was becoming very ill from the second-hand smoke coming into my apartment from other apartments.

"Time was of the essence" so to speak because I was becoming more and mire ill by the minute, with my respiratory system fully compromised and my asthma flaring up big time. On the day of the delivery, one box was delivered to my friend for which he accepted and signed for; but, upon viewing the tracking documents it seemed that there had been a second package, which contained special filters, that had been sent from the company, along with the first.

To make a long story short, the packages had been separated by FedEx, and they had been sent in different trucks with different drivers. This meant that now it was possible that I would have to wait the entire weekend PLUS the following Monday, due to FedEx delivery services not working on Mondays. This three day hold-up could have meant that I would land up in the hospital.

I was able to intercept the second delivery trucks route by making calls to FedEx and my friend was able to pick up the second package at a terminal. Of course, there should have been a message from the company to FedEx to not separate the boxes, but the onus was still on FedEx.

Replies
Advertisement
Fed Ex Wheeling, Illinois Facility
By -

If you are having something delivered via FedEx, I suggest you request it not be sent through the Wheeling, Illinois, facility. I have many, many things delivered by FedEx, and 95% of the time my items arrive promptly and in good shape. The 5% of the time when there is a problem, it's because it's "stuck" in the Wheeling, Illinois facility. Every single time. Unfortunately, I forgot that when I ordered my frozen food on 2/18.

I tracked it to Wheeling on 2/22, the date my e-mail notice said it would be delivered. It's still there on 2/23. The new date my e-mail notice said it would delivered. I just spoke to a FedEx rep, who told me my food is now scheduled to leave Wheeling 2/25. We'll see. BTW, my shipment was divided into two boxes, and for some reason box 1 did not go through Wheeling and arrived on 2/22 (semi-frozen but thawing and with no dry ice remaining).

Replies
Working Conditions
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- To Federal Express: I work as a Concierge in a condominium in Center City Philadelphia. I don't know if you've ever been in Philadelphia in August, but the heat and humidity are unbearable and doing any kind of physical activity outdoors can kill you. I found out from my FedEx driver/delivery man today that FedEx delivery trucks are NOT air conditioned; I also found out that my delivery man has to load his truck every day himself at the distribution center, which is also NOT air conditioned.

This is incredibly cruel - these poor drivers/delivery men are dealing with near 100 degree temperatures and FedEx doesn't even care enough about them to install air conditioning in their vehicles or distribution center. Yet you want everything delivered ON TIME! You're lucky things even get delivered at all! Greedy, heartless pigs!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

FedEx Corporation Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
112 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
FedEx Corporation
6075 Poplar Ave.
Memphis, TN 38119
901-369-3600 (ph)
901-397-3963 (fax)
www.fdxcorp.com
Product/Services
Compare Delivery Services