Preview Review

Next Review

Guardsman Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worthless Warranty not honored - SCAM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased 5 year chair warranty. Around year 4.25 we filed a claim because the chair finish did not hold up; nor did the fabric covering. After taking lots of pictures to their very precise specifications they simply sent an email denying all coverage for being out of warranty when a 5 year warranty was purchased. Let's get an attorney and do a class action lawsuit against these crooks and the furniture stores that sell these garbage policies.

Replies
Advertisement
I Was Denied a Claim Due to an Arbitrary Deadline in an Email.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I bought a dining table from Drexel Heritage in Raleigh, NC. The salesperson told me that it was solid wood. It turns out she was incorrect. At this point I had already ordered the table so I kept the order. I was also convinced by the salesperson that I should buy the Guardsman extra warranty for scratches and marks. Since it was an expensive dining table I figured I should buy it for $199.00 and get the insurance. The salesperson assured me it was worth it.

I was very careful with the table and used it rarely. After our first Thanksgiving meal on it I noticed some marks on table, so I called it in to Guardsman that following Monday. I then sent in all the paperwork including a sketch. The women informed me that a technician would be contacting me to schedule a visit. I never got a call, which is what I was expecting. I did get an e-mail asking for further follow up. Why? I'm not sure I provided them with all of the information they originally asked for. That e-mail also stated that if I did not reach them back by 5 days my claim was VOID. I was on vacation, so I did not see the e-mail until after the arbitrary date imposed on me.

I called the customer service number to see what I could do. But the agent informed me that there is nothing I could do. My claim was void, since I missed the date. I spoke to managers and sent letters, but to no avail. I even involved Drexel Heritage and the manager there told me that she could not help me. I was left very frustrated by this experience. I feel taken advantage of and vow never to buy from Drexel Heritage or buy insurance again. It's a SCAM!!!

Replies
BEWARE - Do Not Bother With the Protection Plan!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I contacted Guardsman in the summer with a claim. My kids had spilled a drink and the color completely was removed from the leather sofas. This is the second time this had happened. The first time they sent someone out and the woman did an amazing job. This time however, the first person I talked to told me to just send pictures and the claim since they had my invoices on file. I complied. A week and a half later some guy left me a voicemail letting me know they could not dispatch my claim until I sent the invoice. He then said he had no idea why the girl told me they had it on file, because they didn't.

Fast forward several months and I finally find the original receipt. Excited to get this addressed I called Guardsman again - the woman said she had no idea what I was talking about because she was looking at my invoice in her system. She transferred me to my claims representative - I left a voicemail. She left a voicemail back stating it was not covered because cracking and peeling of the leather is not covered. I called back and they said the same thing. When I explained that this type of thing was handled a previous time and it was the same thing, the guy starts telling me "look I can submit it again, but there is no way you are going to get this covered. It isn't in the plan."

I argued stains and damage from them are covered. He said they aren't and back and forth we went. I think the plan price is a percentage of what you paid. We purchased high-end furniture and the plan for me was not cheap (upward of $500), but worth it considering I have two little kids. :) This time around they were just plain HORRIBLE. Save your money and buy some furniture covered. :) It saves you from feeling completely ripped off. NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY GUARDSMAN!!!

Replies
They will not honor warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- They denied claim because they say paper work was not submitted in a timely fashion. So they say they have no obligation to stand up to their warranty. Purchased Guardsman warranty from Gardner-White Furniture on 5/19/09. The framework in the chairs I purchased on 5/19/2009 began to break and crack. I called Gardner-White and the said to contact Guardsman Service Center. I contacted service center on 9/23/13 in which they promptly sent me a email to file claim. The email text body said you have two methods to complete form, electronically or by mail. The suggest in bold to complete electronically for fastest service.

I completed and returned form to their exact specification on 10/28/13 to exact specification. I heard nothing from them so I emails on 10/25/13 and never received return response. I called and spoke to representative and he informed me that a hard copy has to be mailed and submitted with electronic claim. The representative then sent me email a new set of forms on 12/23/13. I completed the forms on 12/25/13 and mailed to the Guardsman address in Grand Rapids Michigan. I received an email on 1/14/14 stating that they received my claim.

I received a call today from Montgomery stating that they would not be honoring warranty because it was not submitted in a timely fashion. When I asked to talk to a supervisor I talked to ** who also said claims were not submitted in a timely fashion and they would not honor their warranty. I said I had saved all emails documenting communication. She told me that did not matter because they did not have any record of them. No I am stuck with a warranty I paid for and a company that won't honor it. As a result I have 6 chairs that have broken frame work and are not usable.

Replies
Advertisement
Waste of $$
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Guess I'm another unfortunate victim of the scamming company. I purchased the protect-a-bed through Nebraska Furniture Mart, which then uses Guardsman, to carry out their warranty of the product. The damage occurred on the protect-a-bed in October of 2012, but I was pregnant with serious complications at the time, that I missed my 10 day window to return the service request form back to them to get it replaced. When I finally got settled back in at home after the very early and problematic birth of my son, I called Guardsman to make sure I could still submit the paperwork, to which they agreed I could.

Today, I received an email from them denying the request to replace the product due to the service request form not being turned in within the 10 day window of the original damage. So, I called them to explain to them why it took so long and they still said there was nothing they could do. So, I decided to call Nebraska Furniture Mart's furniture department to try to get it replaced or resolved with them. **, said NFM could and would not replace it, and also called Guardsman to try to have them resolve the issue with them directly, but they refused.

I paid for this service expecting that if I submit the necessary paperwork, that the product would be replaced. I paid for the 3 package of the protect-a-bed knowing that with a 20 year warranty on the bed itself, that I wanted to keep the mattress in tiptop shape to prevent damage with life's events that could damage it. I didn't expect to be so poorly treated by NFM and Guardsman on this issue.

The day of the damage, I washed the protect-a-bed as directed but forgot to change the temp on the dryer from high heat to medium heat until minutes later. By then, the damage had been done. A hole was ripped in the fabric and the two layers of fabric came apart, making it no longer able to protect the mattress from stains, etc. When ** from NFM called Guardsman, they changed the reason they gave me for denying the replacement from missing the 10 day window to submit the service request form to "it improperly being dried." So, they said the warranty was then voided and I was "out of luck."

I never received any paperwork stating what was and was not covered for warranty claims either. I have since filed a BBB complaint on them.

Replies
Guardsman-Cheap Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSION VIEJO, CALIFORNIA -- We bought all house furniture from Ashley and they sold us GUARDSMAN Protect Plan. Beware... this is CHEAP company and their policies are CHEAP as well. We file a ticket with GUARDSMAN 9/20/13 and we have to run to hospital for deliver premature baby. Our baby will be in NICU for 90 days till end of December. With all this changes and hospital was 2 hrs drive one way from our house, we missed 30 days window to send some paperwork. We explained all medical history, but management don't care. As per GUARDSMAN policy, since we missed 30 days window, GUARDSMAN rejected our claim. Such a horrible company. Lessons Learned:

  1. Never ever take Furniture insurance.
  2. GUARDSMAN is cheap insurance company.
  3. People work in GUARDSMAN claim center are not nice.
Replies
Follow Up To My Previous Post From 3-7-13
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I wanted to do right by individual (and the company) who helped me resolve my issue in a favorable way. Yesterday, I wrote to complain about the inability to "go over" the CSR who denied my claim. I did some research and found the parent company who owns Guardsman. I contacted the corporate office and received a contact to escalate my issue. I was pleased with their (her) quick turnaround time to call me and to resolve my issue. I received an approval notification this morning and should be expecting a local technician to call me early next week.

I hope that the main reason for my rant (the poor customer service experience) gets resolved as that was the primary reason for my frustration. To employee #** and all the other CSRs that I spoke to and refused to transfer my call, you may never read this, but whether you're happy in your role or not, please know that the customer experience is what matters most to an organization. Know that I would have been satisfied if I was able to speak to a supervisor and plead my case. If the answer was still "no" then at least I knew I had a chance to escalate and speak to another individual a rung higher on the ladder.

Again, to corporate management and the individuals involved in my situation, I hope there is additional customer service training provided. Also, the corporate script (handbook) are "road maps", and are not finite, and that your role is to do what you can do to provide a pleasant experience for the customer. I live in a world where escalation of customer issues are welcomed and perhaps that is a key reason why our sales 200% to $5B over the last 8 years.

Replies
Scammers! Scammers! Scammers!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MI -- SCAMMERS! SCAMMERS! SCAMMERS! SCAMMERS! First of all, visit the Grand Rapids, MI Better Business Bureau (BBB) and "enjoy" the 956 COMPLAINTS AGAINST THEM! This means, THEY DON'T CARE! They will do everything they can to confuse you on the claims process to "cheat" you of the timeline!

My idea? I will research every single furniture store that offer their Protection Plan Services and I will "inform, educate and WARN" customers on those companies' websites and review boards. Once these furniture companies learn they can't sale this protection plan package to their customers, they will simply dump them for someone less toxic!! Sounds like a plan? Join me!

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Buy!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, ILLINOIS -- I discovered a tear on one of the sofa cushions so I followed all of the requirements as far as taking several pictures, filing a claim online, printing and signing the required documents and mailing it to the company. We were told that they would not cover rips on seams, any damage more 5 days old, and even though I purchased a 5 year plan, they said they would only cover the furniture for two years. This was a complete ripoff and a huge waste of money. I will also complain to the Better Business Bureau but I'm sure that won't help either. If I can save one person from wasting their money then it will be worth it.

Replies
Waste of Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was sold this plan by Jerome's furniture. I was told that it was a wise investment because if ANYTHING ever happened to the outdoor furniture set I purchased that I was covered 100%. I filed a claim after discovering that all the seat cushions were full of water & mold a couple weeks after one of the few rain storms we have here in California.

My claim was denied because it was deemed an act of God & was therefore not covered by their plan. So, outdoor furniture that I can't leave outdoors & a protection plan that denies my claim. Give me a break. I am working with someone at Jerome's who is trying to get the manufacturer to replace the cushions. We'll see.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Guardsman Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 68 ratings and
94 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Guardsman
4999 36th St SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2005
800-516-0195 (ph)
www.guardsman.com
Compare Furniture Stores