Preview Review

Next Review

Guardsman Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Do Not Honor Service Agreement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a Guardsman furniture protection plan at Nebraska Furniture Mart when I bought my leather sectional about a year ago. When doing so I also received my service agreement from Guardsman. When I went to file a claim with them when my couch was cut by a box cutter it took them two weeks for a guy to come out and fix my couch. But instead of fixing it he just took pictures of it and left.

Two weeks later I received a very vague email from the company that my claim was denied because the damage was from wear and tear. However, it is very obviously a cut. When I tried to call the company regarding my denied claim they kept on avoiding letting me talk to a manager about it and when I finally did the manager said that the cut has to go all the way through into the stuffing of the couch in order for them to cover it.

This is not stated on their service agreement at all. "What is covered: any puncture, cut, tear, or rip from a specific incident or caused by a defective furniture mechanism." That is quoted directly from their service agreement. The company has absolutely no customer service and if you look up all of the complaints on the bbb they respond to all of them but never resolve a single one.

The only reason the company is still accredited from the bbb is because they have been in business since 1915 and always respond to complaints. However they never resolve them. That is directly why the bbb has given them the grade they have and the bbb actually tells you that! Those are the only reasons they are still accredited! This business has been in the business of scamming people since 1915! Just do me a favor google: "Guardsman reviews" and read the reviews from a site that is not the Guardsman site. This company is absolutely awful.

Replies
Advertisement
BEWARE - Would Not Go Near This Company Unless You Approve of Fraudulent Business Practices and Obnoxious Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- My claim was denied for reasons best known to them. When I called them to ask about why the claim was denied, their representative (**) told me that it is not covered under the "not covered part" of the contract. I read her the contract and pointed out that a tear is clearly covered in the "what is covered" part of the contract and that is precisely what the issue at hand was. At this point the representative ** started being rude and questioning if I knew how to read??? Great Customer Service... Did not know I was supposed to send my transcripts along with my claim?

Anyhow at this point not wanting to waste my breath and indulge a rude and belligerent person I asked her to please connect me to her supervisor or anyone else who can help me. She got ruder at this point and hung up the phone. So much for Customer Service if that's what they call it (go figure!)

I called again and this time did not want to waste my time and asked for a supervisor to talk to straight away and lo and behold was connected to her voice mail. So I left a message. Surprise I get a call a few days later at 8 am as I am driving to work. Seriously who calls you at 8 am???

Unfortunately, I could not get to the phone in time and this time get a message from Guardsman representative ** from the company saying that my claim has been denied and no reason given again. Surprise!!! Moral of the story, STAY AWAY FROM ALL THINGS GUARDSMAN. They may have gotten away with my money this time, but NEVER AGAIN. PS: Did I tell you they just lost a bigger order for my office/business which I am proud to say I cancelled with no hesitation. I do wish them all the best though, they will need it.

Replies
BEWARE - Do Not Bother With the Protection Plan!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I contacted Guardsman in the summer with a claim. My kids had spilled a drink and the color completely was removed from the leather sofas. This is the second time this had happened. The first time they sent someone out and the woman did an amazing job. This time however, the first person I talked to told me to just send pictures and the claim since they had my invoices on file. I complied. A week and a half later some guy left me a voicemail letting me know they could not dispatch my claim until I sent the invoice. He then said he had no idea why the girl told me they had it on file, because they didn't.

Fast forward several months and I finally find the original receipt. Excited to get this addressed I called Guardsman again - the woman said she had no idea what I was talking about because she was looking at my invoice in her system. She transferred me to my claims representative - I left a voicemail. She left a voicemail back stating it was not covered because cracking and peeling of the leather is not covered. I called back and they said the same thing. When I explained that this type of thing was handled a previous time and it was the same thing, the guy starts telling me "look I can submit it again, but there is no way you are going to get this covered. It isn't in the plan."

I argued stains and damage from them are covered. He said they aren't and back and forth we went. I think the plan price is a percentage of what you paid. We purchased high-end furniture and the plan for me was not cheap (upward of $500), but worth it considering I have two little kids. :) This time around they were just plain HORRIBLE. Save your money and buy some furniture covered. :) It saves you from feeling completely ripped off. NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY GUARDSMAN!!!

Replies
They will not honor warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- They denied claim because they say paper work was not submitted in a timely fashion. So they say they have no obligation to stand up to their warranty. Purchased Guardsman warranty from Gardner-White Furniture on 5/19/09. The framework in the chairs I purchased on 5/19/2009 began to break and crack. I called Gardner-White and the said to contact Guardsman Service Center. I contacted service center on 9/23/13 in which they promptly sent me a email to file claim. The email text body said you have two methods to complete form, electronically or by mail. The suggest in bold to complete electronically for fastest service.

I completed and returned form to their exact specification on 10/28/13 to exact specification. I heard nothing from them so I emails on 10/25/13 and never received return response. I called and spoke to representative and he informed me that a hard copy has to be mailed and submitted with electronic claim. The representative then sent me email a new set of forms on 12/23/13. I completed the forms on 12/25/13 and mailed to the Guardsman address in Grand Rapids Michigan. I received an email on 1/14/14 stating that they received my claim.

I received a call today from Montgomery stating that they would not be honoring warranty because it was not submitted in a timely fashion. When I asked to talk to a supervisor I talked to ** who also said claims were not submitted in a timely fashion and they would not honor their warranty. I said I had saved all emails documenting communication. She told me that did not matter because they did not have any record of them. No I am stuck with a warranty I paid for and a company that won't honor it. As a result I have 6 chairs that have broken frame work and are not usable.

Replies
Advertisement
This Protection Plan Is for Sure a Ripoff
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We purchased the 5 year Gold Protection Plan from The Dump Furniture after being told by the salesman that it covered EVERYTHING - his exact words. $329.99 for 5 years so we did it because we had 2 puppies under the age of 1. Well, those puppies chewed the love seat - I called to file a claim and it was denied because it doesn't cover animal damage. Of course you don't get your actual protection plan in the mail until AFTER you've paid for it - so you can't read all the specifics until it's too late. It's a rip-off - the salesmen must get a kick back - shame on the Dump for offering such a plan that is essentially useless.

Replies
Worst Warranty Program Ever! Rip Off Artists! Will Never Sign Up Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have bought eight couches through Gardiner's Furniture, and they offer damage coverage via Guardsman. Never made one claim. Then one of the back pillows tore off the rest of the couch, and we submitted a claim. It took hours to format the pictures correctly, lots of paperwork, time on the phone with them. They rejected it, saying we had waited too long to report it.

We had stated that the damage happened two weeks ago (we were not even sure, none of our kids would admit to it). I called the resolution department and got some idiot empty head who kept repeating that we had filled out the paperwork and signed it and it is too late to change anything. They are horrible thieves and I will never ever use them again!

Replies
Awful Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOHNS CREEK, GEORGIA -- DO NOT BUY INSURANCE FROM THIS CO, they will not honor it. I bought furniture from Ashley Furniture, got the insurance. I filed a claim May 7th, filled out the paperwork, took pictures, etc then I got a call that my dad died and everything sorta stopped for me. I had to fly out of the country for the funeral, etc. When I returned I called the company and lady said "Send it in anyway."

I did and got an email saying "The request has not been processed and is not eligible for service because the required time frame for returning the service request form, sales receipt, and/or copy of the plan was not met." I called and explained the situation, I can supply death certificate, etc. All I got was "sorry" and I am unable to resubmit claim. I am very upset! Do not waste your money with this company. Very dishonorable.

Replies
Declined My Two Broken Chair Claims With Silly Reason
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- Our two dining chairs were broken accidentally, so I called Guardsman and sent them pictures of broken chair. On March 7, someone from Guardsman called me and asked the reason for broke chairs. I said it don't know when it happened and exact reason. Based on my statement without listening or giving me chance, representative told me that "this is not accidental damage so your claim is declined."

I asked how to do know that this is not accidental damage. The person told me that I have told him. I argued with person that I told that I do not know the exact time and reason. It might be my kids broken it. Person was not ready to accept my any reason and was so rude and do not want talk to me. I guess at last he hang up on me. I feel person was rude and unprofessional. I have spoken to manager also regarding this and Guardsman had assumed that this is not accidental damage and not defect also.

My question to Guardsman as this is not manufacturing defect then how chair has broken itself. Manager has some funny reason to support claim for this logic. If chairs are broken it should be covered, it does not matter who broke it, when it was broken. I do not have video camera at home to record events how was chair broken, what time it was broken, who broke it. It is broken and Guardsman needs to cover under accidental warranty.

Replies
Advertisement
Protection Plan Is A Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRANDON, FLORIDA -- A complete scam! I purchased a policy for all my furniture and the one time I need to use it my claim gets denied. The leather is peeling as well as the finish on my table. After a month waiting for a reply, they told me peeling is not covered on the sofa, and the peeling on the table is also being denied because I didn't see it happen. It's obvious they deny every claim to avoid standing behind their pathetic scam of a policy!! From what I'm reading online, this is their common practice. Unfortunately, I trusted the furniture company and its recommendation of purchasing this policy. It's obvious both Ashley Furniture and Guardsman are in this scam together.

Replies
Power Recliner Sofa
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PLOVER, WISCONSIN -- I had a five year warranty with one year left. The seat broke somewhere underneath. I called Guardsman and they said they can't help, it would have to be an accident. I'm sure I did not do anything with it. I sent all the papers and pictures and still no help. I called the store where I got the warranty and the couch. They said they would send a man out to look at it. I have to pay $70.00 for a service call, plus have the man come again to fix it. I will not buy anything from this or any other store that uses Guardsman Insurance.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Guardsman Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 83 ratings and
109 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Guardsman
4999 36th St SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2005
800-516-0195 (ph)
www.guardsman.com
Compare Furniture Stores