Preview Review

Next Review

Jennifer Convertibles Inc Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Experience With Jennifer Convertibles In Boca Raton
By -

BOCA RATON, FLORIDA -- I bought a sofa "full sleeper" on 08/28/08 for $299.99 + Tax. The salesperson, who happens to be the manager told me that it would be delivered on 09/03/2008 between 1-6 pm. At 5:00 pm on 09/03 I called him because the delivery people haven't arrived and he said they should be at my door any minute, they never did, instead a not very nice woman called me on the phone and told me that the truck broke down (she did not even apologize) she just said that it would have to be rescheduled for 09/12/08. I said OK cause I did not have any choice.

I told the manager that the girls at the condo office would open my door for them. But somehow he did not tell them, so, supposedly they came in the morning and I did not picked up the phone and they could not deliver. There is no sign that they came at all. They did not even left a message.

So I called the manager that same day and he was not in the office and he would not pick up my calls so I talked to his co-worker instead and he said that he is not a manager and there is nothing he can do. I stopped by their store at 5:30 pm that afternoon and the employee told me that I wasted my time coming by because the manager was not there.

So I called them again on 09/16 and they both said I should call next day 09/17 around 2:00 pm so I did. And I asked when would he have my sofa delivered, he replied that I needed to pay another $99.00 for delivery fees. I said "no way". It is not my fault that you guys cannot communicate with your drivers. He told me that the drivers are sub-contractors and he has nothing to do with them. So I asked him to give me a refund, cause I did not want to pay the extra $99 and go trough all the ordeal again.

He said that he would charge me 30% of the total (including the $99 delivery) which came to $120.00 that I would have to give them in order to receive a refund. So far they have got my $419.47 since 08/28/08 and I have no sofa and I am very upset and disappointed (no refund and no sofa).

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Business Practice and Communications
By -

BRONX, NEW YORK -- 7/25/2008 -- picked and purchased sofa in about 20 minutes. Sam, the store manager quoted a 2-3 week delivery. 8/16 -- called Cynthia from the store and still no word on when we would receive our sofa. 8/27 -- Anthony from the store said he would email the warehouse regarding our order and that they would contact us the next day. 8/2 --Anthony from the store repeated the exact same story from the day before. 8/31-- spoke to Sam, no news. We had to call back on Tuesday (after Labor Day Holiday). After Labor Day -- Sam finally informed us of the "slight delay". Our sofa would not be delivered until OCTOBER 8-10!!

I asked to speak to someone else that can take better responsibility for this lack of business etiquette. The number he gave me was useless. Nobody ever answered at the District Manager's office. Upon entering an extension or the number zero even, the call was dropped. Called Anthony the next day and he had no better news or alternative to give me than to phone the district manager's office, which he admitted he could not get through to himself and phone the 1-800 number which puts customers on hold for 15 minutes plus. Lastly he said he would email the District Manager and have them call me with some sort of alternative. Have not heard from them yet.

9/8 -- requested a full refund and Sam accepted it very rudely. There were no further questions or expectations other than that the refund would be in around 2-3 weeks. Again a very vague time frame. In conclusion, we are very upset that our purchasing of a sofa would turn into such an ordeal and that businesses, so popular as Jennifer Convertible, cannot keep their word and continue to conduct business as they do. Damage Resulting. Because that we need to wait a vague time frame of 2-3 weeks, we cannot make another sofa purchase. Therefore it is a charge on our credit card for 8 weeks for something we do not own.

Replies
Excellent Value and Delivery
By -

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I was extremely taken back the day after I purchased my sectional and THEN decided to google JC for some reason. I almost tried to call and cancel my order, but I'm glad I didn't. The set delivery date was 5 days after I purchased the sectional. They called the night before and gave me a 4 hour window. The drivers showed up on time in horrible rain/lightning storm. Were very careful with our new hardwood floors. The head guy was extremely nice and we asked him about all the stuff we read. His response was that he knew of it and that he prided himself that you wouldn't read much negative in the Boston area.

One of the 3 delivery guys got a wet hand print on the fabric. They dabbed it, we got out a hair dryer and it was gone. The driver said that even though we couldn't see it any longer, he would write it on the delivery receipt and told us to call corporate and they could send out a technician if we wanted. We decided not even to deal with calling as it was unnecessary. Turns out the driver called for us after he left and we received a call from corporate 20 minutes after delivery by a nice woman who said that she knew about the wet hand print and did we want to schedule a technician. We said we didn't need to and were happy.

Sat on the couch with friends all weekend and so far I am extremely happy. Obviously the $159 delivery fee is very high, but when the sectional only cost $599... how can you complain. It's obviously not a $3,000 sectional, but if it holds up well for a few years... then it's well worth the investment. So far, in the Boston area anyway, a big thumbs up, especially if you have little kids that are probably going to spill stuff on it eventually.

Replies
Thanks to everyone who has reviewed Jennifer Convertibles
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- Thanks to all of you who have sent in your reviews about Jennifer convertibles. I live in California, and my parents live on the East Coast where I grew up. I have just moved into a new home, and my parents being the great people they are wanted to buy me some living room furniture as a housewarming gift. My mother had very nice experiences dealing with the sales people at Jennifer convertibles, but they did try to push her into buying some items "before the prices change from the Columbus day sale!". She hates being pushed, and was told she could "keep the prices as they were" if she put down a "small deposit". While she became even more suspicious, she didn't have any real issues handing over $40 to "hold the prices" because she liked what she saw, thought I would, and was okay if she did lose the $40 if I didn't like the items she had looked at.

I got online here in California and looked at Jennifer Convertibles site, and saw what she saw. Liked them; they looked nice. Thought it was a bit strange about being able to "hold the prices" if I couldn't get in before the Columbus day sale ended, but was ready to go look at the items in person at a local store when I started looking at the additional postings through Google.

Well, that changed my mind! I forwarded the info to my parents, who agreed wholeheartedly with me. NO Jennifer Convertibles! They only managed to make off with $40 of my Mom's, and you always know a deposit is forfeit if you end up not buying the items in question. I believe all of you out there saved me and my wonderful gift-giving parents a lot of money, time, and some serious pain! Thanks again to all of you ( and no thanks to the unscrupulous person at Jennifer Convertibles who probably took the money from my mother without any plan on honoring his word, because as we all know, a verbal agreement is worth the price of the paper it is written on, but then again so are written agreements apparently from what I've read about Jennifer convertibles!)

Replies
Advertisement
COMPLETELY DISSATISFIED CUSTOMER
By -

20TH & BROADWAY, NEW YORK -- as of 7/2/06 I have received my furniture...still no compensation for my troubles as promised!

I expressed my dissatisfaction with the company twice with no satisfaction. On April 14th I ordered a tribeca style sofabed with supersuede willow (color) material. on May 31st the wrong sofa (a bulky beige sofa with black polka dots - a real eyesore)was delivered. Since then it's been going on 4 weeks of me waiting on the sofa that I ordered to be re-made as well as any compensation due to me for my troubles. During this time I had a gathering at my home and had to entertain w/o a sofa which was very uncomfortable and embarrassing. I would like to remind Jennifer Convertibles that throughout this entire "waiting" period I have paid for my furniture IN FULL! I would also like to say that I did request a substitute piece for my living room until the delivery of my sofa arrived and was told that that is not Jennifer Convertibles policy. I think it should be and if it was I probably would recommend Jennifer Convertibles to others, since the situation has been handled in an unsatisfactory manner, I will not do so. I am frustrated in keeping up with the showroom calling for updates on my sofa with no real time frame or success in when I will can expect to receive my furniture. AGAIN I STRESS THAT MY FURNITURE IS PAID IN FULL AND JENNIFER IMMEDIATELY REMOVED MY FUNDS FROM MY ACCOUNT and is slow to deliver my compensation refund or my furniture. While the showroom may be frustrated in my calling daily I would like to remind everyone that when they leave the showroom for home they have a place to sit unlike myself. I don't think my complaints have been taken seriously by the company as they never responded to the "customer care" section of their website that I formally posted my complaint to.

Replies
Letter Written to Main company
By -

VIENNA, VIRGINIA -- I'm actually taking Jennifer Leather to court and filing them through the BBB (well if they don't respond to me by March 31st, but, since this has been going on since Nov 23rd, I've already started pushing forward). This is my letter if any one is going through similar problems.

Dear Mr. Massaro [Regional Manager] -
This email follows up on my voice mail to you on March 15, 2006.
On November 7th of 2005, Michelle purchased a leather sofa, two chairs and two ottomans from your store located at 8150 Leesburg Pike, Vienna, VA 22182. She paid a total of $_2469.92_, which included the costs for optional insurance, leather protection, and a delivery fee. Her sales person was Mr. Sam Oji.

One day after delivery on 11-23-06, she requested that the two chairs and ottomans be exchanged for a love seat, with a corresponding adjustment to the purchase price. Mr. Oji agreed and said he would arrange for the exchange within a week or two. After Mr. Oji failed to satisfy his promise of exchange within a reasonable time, Michelle began visiting your Virginia store at regular intervals to request status updates on the exchange.

Mr. Oji provided Michelle with numerous excuses and attempted to deflect any responsibility for the failure to deliver the purchased goods from himself by blaming on his co-workers, as well as citing a lack of responsiveness from his supervisors at corporate headquarters, including yourself. He also blamed various corporate headquarters exchange policies and clerical mistakes.

Nevertheless, Mr. Oji appeared apologetic and continued to promise Michelle that the exchange would occur. It never did, and, after three months of being ignored, Michelle asked for a full refund in exchange for a return of the furniture.

Mr. Oji again agreed and said he would arrange for the return of the furniture and provide a full refund of the entire purchase price, including the optional insurance and delivery fees, for a total of $159.99. He said that it would take up to fourteen days for corporate headquarters to issue the refund.

Until this day, Mr. Oji, as an agent and representative of Jennifer Leather, has failed to fulfill this promise.

Michelle hereby requests that Jennifer Leather issue a full refund, in the amount $2469.92, no later than March 31, 2006, or she will have to pursue other avenues to resolve this dispute.

Thank you for promptly resolving this issue.

Sincerely,

Replies
Don't Waste Your Money
By -

We were pitched the warranty plan, heavily. It actually sounded like a good deal. From what was explained, all damages were covered for life. Yes, we were told multiple times by the sales representative that ALL damages were covered. Of course we didn't read the paper work when we were completing our transaction, but I wish we did. Unlike the sales representative told us, this warranty hardly covers anything. Four years later, the leather is peeling apart in chunks, the leather is splitting where my elbows rest, and the leather is splitting on the seat.

We called to have it repaired, and after several cancellations and reschedules, a guy shows up and takes pictures. We were told that the only damage they fix is "customer caused" damage. We explained that this was customer caused damage from sitting in the chair and couch, but they didn't see it that way. Basically, they saw it as wear-and-tear. I have never seen a couch wear like this one before!

This warranty is a scam and a waste of money. Not only did they convince me to never again buy a warranty, they convinced me to never again shop at Jennifer Convertibles. From the amount of complaints about this terrible product and the company's failure to repair the damages, I could see a class action lawsuit in the near future. I would be willing to get involved if anyone wants to speak to me. This is fraud, plain and simple. We were sold one thing by the representative but given something entirely different.

Replies
Enraged and unhappy
By -

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased a convertible sofa from this company several years ago. It arrived the day before my husband's return home from the hospital post hip surgery. It was what he would be sleeping on for a while as he could not climb stairs.
When the delivery people discovered I did not have a bank check they refused to bring the furniture in. Would not take a credit card. Would not wait the ten minutes I needed to go to the bank for cash.
When I asked whether they ever took personal checks the guy said 'yes, but only in better neighborhoods.' We live in an upper-middle class, racially mixed neighborhood.
I had to pay extra for a postponed delivery because I had already paid most of the price prior to delivery and that was non-refundable.
When I complained to Jennifer management about that rather bigoted remark he basically told me that it had been said by 'some truck driver' and that Jennifer Convertible would deny it.
The sleeper, by the way, fell apart within 4 years.

Replies
Advertisement
Stay Away
By -

HUNTINGTON BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- Unfortunately, I purchased a sleeper, loveseat and table at the Huntington Beach Jennifer Convertibles. I will never step foot in the place again! When I first walked into the store a lady was screaming at one of the clerks. The lady seemed a little out of line, but now I understand why and I should have taken the warning.

My delivery took place on the day they initially indicated. However, there was no call prior to delivery like they promised. The delivery guys unwrapped the sleeper and it was broken. I was then told that the piece would be taken back and arrangements would be made to replace the broken piece. This took a couple weeks and the person at the store had no control over anything and had no information to provide.

After waiting to have the sleeper redelivered, the driver came again with a broken piece. Just fantastic! Since I was stuck with the other pieces, I finally decided to go with a loveseat rather than a sleeper. Obviously, that was less expensive. The store after more than two weeks of knowing this change still cannot figure out how much to credit back.

This place is an absolute joke! Oftentimes, their phones are busy or go unanswered. The local store has no control or input over any processes.

There is much more, but in summary this has been one of the worst customer service experiences I have ever had. These problems start at the top of the food chain with Jennifer Convertibles and work their way down.

STAY AWAY!!!

Replies
Cheap Sofa Material Poorly Done
By -

LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK -- I bought a sectional from Jennifer in December of 2010. I notice that the sofa had come apart I called to have them send a tech to exchange the furniture the tech came to my home on March 31 2011. The tech told me it was poorly made and that they would reorder the material or exchange the sectional. I call the VP Les he told me they will send the material to my home wait for it and they fix it. You can see how poor this material is and so cheaply made. He told me they stand by there product but will not in no way shape or form exchange it.

How does a big company like this say they stand by there product and does not want to satisfy the customer and exchange it what the tech said would happen. And yet nothing is going on I have a rip sectional and still no contact and was told by the v. P. That it's his final word no other above him that can change his mind, I am so unhappy I save 1 yr to buy a living room set and this happens and I get no where speaking to hire up.

How does a company like this stand by there products? How can they say that? How does the v. P. Les tell me that we can help you but we stand by our products? Please help me in the sectional problem that has me so stressed out and no one to turn to. I don't have the money to go buy a new set I am a single parent. Don't know who to turn to.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Jennifer Convertibles Inc Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
46 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Jennifer Convertibles Inc
419 Crossways Park Dr.
Woodbury, NY 11797-2061
516-496-1900 (ph)
516-496-8380 (fax)
www.jenniferfurniture.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores