Preview Review

Next Review

Kia Motors Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Financing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- Purchased a Kia Sedona, financed a quarter of the total to get the thousand dollars off. I have no problems with the vehicle, my first payment to the loan I put $3000 down, only required $158.00 per month so I can pay as I want. But the second month payment which was covered, they put down on my credit report as being late. I called them up to get this corrected. They said they did and then found out they reported twice as two late payments!! So I paid off the entire loan, now they are reporting I'm late again with a zero balance. And let's talk about the harassing phone calls and auto redial's. I will never finance through these people again!!! I give them a -0.

Replies
Advertisement
Acceptable Kia Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAKVILLE -- With my new purchased 2016 Kia Sorento, the body lines do not match up where the driver's door meets!! The bottom half of the rear edge of the left front door sticks out and I couldn't get it fixed at your Lockwood Kia service. This is a big deal to me on a brand new $30k car. After a month and bringing car to the service 3 times, I am told that couple of inches is acceptable both from Lockwood Kia and Kia Canada customer service. They expect me accept this and I have questions for them. What else acceptable on Kia cars? What does bumper to bumper warranty means? Stay away from Kia. They can't even adjust a door.

Replies
100K Warranty Is a Joke
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Covered as part of the drive train. Odd, given that no idler pulley equals inoperative engine. They went on to say that if it were the idler pulley that serves the water pump it WOULD be covered... leaving me thinking, "Doesn't that serpentine belt serve the water pump?" I took it straight from the dealer to our local independent repair shop, where the mechanic looked at it and said, "There is only ONE idler pulley; the only other related device is a tensioner."

He added that he would have thought it would definitely be covered by a drive train warranty since I wasn't going to be driving it without it! This was followed by a call to the Kia consumer service number, where the gent I talked to informed me that NO idler pulley (whether there be one or a hundred of the little suckers) is covered. My conclusion is that the 100K drive train warranty is a sham, and this is one family that won't be replacing its Kia with another Kia product.

Replies
GM No Help to Frantic Owner
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HUBER HEIGHTS, OHIO -- Sat. 8-24-13, around 3:20 pm, I went out to my 2012 Kia Soul parked on the street, in part-shade, in a residential area of Centerville, OH. The windows were cracked, and the temp outside was in the mid-80s. I opened my front door & put in my beach bag. I then opened the back door, and closed the front door, when I heard a 'boom'. The back glass on the hatch back exploded from the middle & laced everywhere else, leaving a hole in the middle about 2 feet wide. Everyone at the scene stated that they had never seen a window break in that way, from heat or whatever, and it was their feeling that it had to be a 'defect' in the glass.

I wasn't quite sure what to do, so I called 411 & asked for the Kia Dealership in Centerville. They gave me the number to the Dealership in Huber Heights. I spoke to the GM, who answered the phone & explained the situation. Kia has a 60,000 mile, bumper to bumper warranty, that is boasted about as one of the best in the industry. I figured with it being a fluke, and not like brakes or tires that had normal wear & tear, that it would of course be covered.

The GM proceeded to tell me that it wasn't, and that they couldn't help me but that I could bring it in on Monday, as the service center was closed at this time. I asked if he could give me the number to the Centerville dealership, as they gave me the wrong number. He stated that he didn't have their number & that it wasn't convenient for him to get it either.

I stated that it was less convenient for me, as I was on the side of the road. He still refused to help me in any way get the number to the other dealership where I purchased my car. If they are that unhelpful in time of a crises, then I would never step foot in their dealership to purchase a car from them on a good day!! Shame on them!! The back window will cost anywhere from $265 - $440 to replace. WOW!!

Replies
Advertisement
Astonishing How Kia Motors and Parent Company Hyundai Has Achieved Growth the Last 5 or 6 Years!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- My entire family has just finished converting all of our Ford, GM, Chrysler vehicles over to KIA and Hyundai cars and SUVs. Most of this was attributed to the poor customer service and warranty service we all experienced, and add that to the shoddy quality of the vehicles we had. Collectively we now have no issues with the Hyundai/KIA vehicles we have now... But the dealer experience was a breath of fresh air... No scamming, no lying or hidden agendas. Every buying experience was great.

The vehicles themselves are well-assembled, quality is obvious a real value with these cars, and the amenities and standard level of unexpected equipment is quite unusual in these price ranges. The paint is perfect... deep and rich and applied perfectly. Issues are non-existent as far as things we had to take the cars back to the dealer for corrections.

Over all, quite a good value, and 4 of these Hyundai and Kias are made in the USA! We are satisfied and pleased, and will continue to purchase these fine cars and SUVs into the future. The dealer we purchased at, is not high pressure. They are honest and above board, have a huge selection, will let you drive anything on the lot without showing an attitude, and really appear to know their cars very well. We live in Orange County, California.

Replies
Starter Unreliable in 2012 KIA Forte 5 door Hatch Back
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- On June 5th, 2015 my wife had problems starting her KIA Forte 5 door. It finally started and she took it to the Concord, California KIA Dealership. Kevin was the trouble writer and accepted the car for repair. He worked on it for the day and was unable to replicate the no start problem. The car was released without repair. It only has 25,550 miles on it.

On June 9th, 2015 my wife was stranded in a remote Sierra mountain town. Her car would not start. I drove over 50 miles to rescue my wife and the car was towed to the Folsom Lake KIA Dealership for repair. Jeff wrote up the trouble and accepted the car for repair. Two separate tow companies attempted to start the car. The second tow company took the car to the dealership. The dealer kept the car three days and was unable to replicate the no start experience. We were denied a loaner car and (you guessed it) the car was released to us without repair.

In both cases, KIA Corporate refused a loaner car and refused to let the dealership repair or replace any part until the non-start could be replicated. We are left with an UNRELIABLE CAR that may strand us at yet another location to be towed to yet another dealership to experience a non-repair. We do not fault either dealership. We fault KIA Corporate for a warranty policy which serves their bottom line and leaves their customer in an unsafe car, stranded in a yet to be determined location to be towed in once again.

We will continue to take the risk for KIA Corporate's unresponsive warranty policy. Guess What? On the 4th attempt, California Lemon Law applies; we will prevail in court. We love the car, but KIA Corporate needs customer service lessons. They will get some of these lessons in California Lemon Law Court. The message to potential KIA customers is don't buy a KIA unless your state has strict Lemon Laws. Happy with our KIA, but mad as hell at KIA Corporate.

Replies
Leasing / Service / Finance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Let me start by saying I have purchased 5 Kia vehicles. They have all been great cars. I just turned in a lease vehicle but did not buy another as I am in the process of building a house and can't change my finances right now. The dealership told me an independent appraiser would inspect the vehicle and send a letter if there were charges. There were scratches on the vehicle and I will gladly pay to have them repaired.

I was told by two different mechanics/body guys that it would cost around $300. The appraiser quoted $1,640! The scratches were $900! They want to charge me for indentations from a car seat which I never had in the back seat. They want to charge me for "dirty" sun visors! The charges are extremely outrageous.

I have ten days to have a private appraiser licensed by the New York DMV to inspect and submit a new appraisal. Problem is, I now live in Georgia. Second problem. When I moved to Georgia they raised my payment by $17! When we asked why, we could not get an answer. 20 months at $17, $340! Third, my wife had a flat tire on her Soul. No spare. She called Kia roadside assistance and waited five and a half hours for a tow truck! We had to wait another three hours at the dealership because they didn't have the right tire even though my wife called them 5 1/2 hours earlier! Great service!

I looked at a new SXL Optima at the Savannah dealership where all this great service has been happening and the sticker said $38,000. The salesmen said that was a great, already discounted price. I went to their website and the same exact car was listed at $32,000. Do NOT deal with the Savannah Kia dealership. My opinion. It's a shame because I do like Kia vehicles.

Replies
Miserable Customer Service/Business Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I would give them zero stars if that were an option. They mistyped my address and my husband's name on some paperwork. When I called to get this fixed, I was able to get the address corrected but they refused to spell my husband's last name correctly unless they talked to him personally, even though they have the leasing paperwork right in front of them and can see that his last name and mine are the same. They absolutely refuse to fix their mistake.

The documents they sent me are something they filled out with an incorrect address and incorrect last name and expect me to get it notarized and send back to them. Otherwise, I will have to pay taxes on a leased vehicle. I honestly think they did this on purpose hoping that I would not notice, or that the time would be up and I would have to pay the $1500 for the taxes on the car. I can't believe anyone can be that ignorant when typing in names and addresses.

The customer service person and supervisor that I talked to just kept saying the same thing about how my husband would have to call and get his name corrected even though they knew it was incorrect and it was their fault. This is ridiculous and there is no reason they could not fix a simple misspelling and send me the correct paperwork.

Of course this is the just one of a number of problems I have had with the financing department and Kia motors. I absolutely will never get another Kia. And I advise anyone thinking of dealing with Kia to seriously investigate other options. I like the car I have but despise the customer service and how they do business. As soon as I can get rid of this leased vehicle, I will never do business with this company again.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Service - Felt They Tried to Intimidate Me- Gender /Age
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARBONDALE, ILLINOIS -- Kia 2009 Sorento had new tires installed and back brakes 1-27-2014, & at that time the oil pan gasket and value gasket was replaced. Had been notified of the oil seepage in Dec. 2013 and since they said not urgent I had work done in Jan. 2014. In Feb. 2014, noticed what I thought was oil leaking on my carport; took car in to dealership and was told they had failed to reconnect a coolant hose. April 8 2014, took car in for regular maintenance, oil change and lube; checklist and computerized invoice was folded in half and handed to me with no comment made about any problems.

The next day (4-9-14) I reviewed the inspection checklist and saw the notation that there was an oil leak from the oil pan gasket and the value cover gasket; these had been replaced 1-27-14. On the computerized invoice it stated that work was recommended but not performed that I would have work performed later. This statement was untrue, I had not been notified of the problem. I talked with Ser. Dept. Mgr. 4-9-14. Made arrangement to get loaner car when work could be scheduled; the gaskets had to be ordered. I told him of the false statement on the invoice. He questioned the tech and was told "he thought he had mentioned it to me".

Finally got car in for repairs 4-14-14; drove loaner home, got call car was ready at 245p. When I got home, I compared the inspection sheet from 4-8-14 and 4-14-14... Tire tread depth and remaining brakes front and back were grossly off... From 4-8-14 to 4-14-14 I had only driven 154 miles (mileage is noted on the inspection sheets). I called again 4-15-14. Excuses were made but tech finally said the inspection 4-8-14 was correct. They had hurried to get my car finished and had not done measurements correctly. Things went downhill from there, was contacted by a Manager later that day and told him the entire problem.

On 4-16-14 was contacted by Public Relations who tried intimidation by asking several times "what would it take to make you happy." The third time, I said "pay off my car and give me a three year lease on a new Kia Sorento (no, I did not want or expect that at all but was really tired of this conversation)." I was told, "let me see what I can do."
Long and short is, as of this date have heard no more from that Kia dealership.

Replies
Car Shot at 123,000 Kms
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA -- My elderly grandparent's KIA Rondo just threw the connecting rods at 123,000 kms. Garage said its the 7th KIA they have had in within a year with similar low kilometer shot engines. Contacted KIA customer relations to see if this is a known flaw and all they had to say (paraphrased) was "you had a warranty for 100,000 kms, so we fulfilled our obligations." Has anyone else had a car that was essentially useless after only 120,000 kms? Looks like I am headed back to the domestics. I can't fathom wasting money on a new car that will be useless that fast. At least now I can understand why KIA received an F from the Better Business Bureau.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Kia Motors Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
79 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Kia Motors
111 Peters Canyon Rd.
Irvine, CA 92606
800-333-4542 (ph)
949-468-4905 (fax)
www.kia.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Manufacturers