Preview Review

Next Review

Levitz Furniture Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Faulty Merchandise from Levitz
By -

ISELIN, NEW JERSEY -- In October I purchased a sofa and loveseat from Levitz Furniture in New Jersey. After waiting 2 months for same to be delivered, it finally arrived on December 3, 2005. After sitting on the loveseat, I realized that both sides were broken as they wobbled and made a popping noise when one sat down. I immediately called Levitz and a service technician was sent to the house on December 17, 2005. After turning the loveseat over and inspecting it, the service technician determined that indeed the loveseat was damaged and advised us that he would put in an order for a new loveseat to be delivered within ten (10) days.

Ten days later, I received a letter from Levitz postmarked December 27, 2005 advising me that they were ordering a part to fix the loveseat and it would be delivered to my home. After calling Levitz customer service on January 2, 2006, I was told that indeed a part was ordered and that I would not be receiving a new loveseat, but they would be fixing the broken one. I requested to speak with a manager and was told that one would reach out to me, but to date, have yet to receive a call.

On January 4, 2006, I once again called Levitz and finally got through to Orlando who stated he is the Customer Service Supervisor (888-538-2558) and was told that the “old” Levitz no longer exists and was bought out on December 17, 2005 by the “new” Levitz, and that the new Levitz will not be honoring any of the old Levitz contracts, repairs, products, etc.

The only thing they could do for me is to offer me a 50% discount and I would have to keep the loveseat “as is.” This is ridiculous as the letter I received from Levitz Furniture Company is postmarked December 27, 2005 well after the “supposed” new company took over and in that letter they state that a part is being ordered and delivered to my home.

I am both frustrated and disappointed with Levitz as I went to your store because I believed it to be a reputable place, but am now in a predicament I never believed possible. I cannot understand how Levitz expects me to pay $803 on their charge card for something that they delivered to me broken and now even refuses if anything, to fix the loveseat.

I could understand if the loveseat was 6 or 8 months old and needed servicing, but “supposedly” the loveseat came from the warehouse and is brand new. Therefore, it is unfathomable how I am being told to keep a product which I paid hard earned money for that is not in top “A” condition. I am now stuck paying for a broken loveseat. Please do not shop at Levitz.

Replies
Advertisement
Frustration!!!!!
By -

BREA, CALIFORNIA -- I purchase an entertainment center from Levitz on August 31st (which was paid in full at time of purchase) with a delivery date of October 8th (merchandise had to be ordered). I received via email and form letter that my delivery date had been rescheduled to October 16th, then October 26th, then November 12th, then November 23rd. When calling to confirm the new date, I was informed that it would be "sometime at the end of December".
I contacted the store for assistance, the saleslady Ann told me she would find out what was up and call me back. Four days later, not hearing back from her, I went into the store. She acted like she had never even met me!! (I spent over $6000.00 with her).

My husband and I decided it was not worth it and cancelled the order on November 13th. I received a refund receipt from the store stating that the check would be cut and mailed out on November 28th. The store manager ** informed me that that was the soonest a check could be cut. But wait, it gets better!!!!!

On December 12th I contacted customer service to find out where my check was, I was told that there was no refund scheduled in the month of November, was told that the check would be cut on the 20th of December. When I called again on the 20th, I was told that the refund would be issued on Jan 3rd 2006!!! I insisted on speaking with a supervisor, I was put through to a ** who told me that checks weren't cut on Tuesdays, only on Thursdays. She ASSURED me that the refund would be processed on the 22nd, which is today.

I called this a.m to confirm and she wouldn't ever come to the phone, they dropped me in her voice mail, I asked her to please return my call. HA HA HA HA!!!!!!! After 4 hours I called back and was told again by yet another person that the refund was scheduled for Jan 3rd, I asked for ** again and was told that they didn't know her or her extension. Amazingly, no other supervisors were available to speak to me. The customer service rep then told me that he called accounting and got the date moved up to the 28th! Boy do I feel special!!! They have had my money since August 31st!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUYERS BEWARE.

Replies
READ ALL before you buy-Thank you everyone!
By -

SANTA CLARA, CALIFORNIA -- My husband and I moved here in October with a transfer through the military. We had zero furniture as we are newly weds and we were very excited to begin the process of furnishing our new home. So we decided to give Levitz Furniture a try, despite the one bad review on Yahoo.com (I had not seen this site yet, I'm sorry to say.)
We purchased a sofa set at $2000.00 and waited for our delivery set for mid-November. It wasn't but a week later that we received a notice about our delivery date changing to December 8, 2005. I called this week to make sure and now they're saying Jan. 4, 2006.

I called customer service and, you guessed it, no one new a thing. They offered a $175.00 gift certificate for another purchase and I said, "For what? Another 3 month or so wait?" I talked to a Miss ** claiming to be Assistant to the President and she said there was nothing she could do but offer the gift or we could pick out another couch in stock or we could cancel the order. When I called back to cancel the order, she refused my call and had a CSR tell me I had to go to the store to cancel the order even though she said she would cancel it if I called back.

I gathered all the information I could before driving to the store and made an appointment with a JAG Lawyer just in case I needed some back up. To shorten the story, we received a full refund on our cancellation (They hired at least one intelligent person) after many attempts on their part to assure us it would PROBABLY only be two weeks until we received the furniture but we weren't going to risk it with all of these reviews!

Thank you to all the others who wrote about their experiences with this company. It just may have been too late if we wouldn't have been able to cancel the order before they delivered it (most likely damaged). If you're considering Levitz Furniture, do your research and trust your fellow consumers. Levitz is filing bankruptcy according to their website as part of a restructuring plan, but I will never put my money where there mouth is!

Replies
I wish I had seen this site in April!!
By -

NEWARK, DELAWARE -- Well, I am just adding to the numbers. My husband and I went to the Levitz near our home to purchase two sofas. We saw something that we liked but it was a sofa that had a "movable chaise". What that boils down to is that there is a longer cushion that sits on top of an ottoman with two normal cushions. They are all interchangeable. We did not want the chaise - just a "normal" sofa with three cushions the same size. This became a special order and it seems that this special order is being made on the space station!

We were told 4-6 weeks. I even though that was a long time to come up with two "normal" cushions but I could live with that. At five weeks, we started disposing of the furniture that occupied the room that would house the new sofas. At six weeks we received a letter apologizing for our inconvenience and it offered us 10% off a future purchase of $1,000 or more that needed to be used by Aug 15th. This was their attempt to help me regain my confidence in the store. Oh, OK, I will give you $900.00 more to make me feel better! When I looked up my order on the computer it gave Dec of 2049 as the expected delivery date and I am beginning to believe it!!

I got in touch with corporate and the woman there thanked me for my information and told me special orders can actually take 12 weeks! This is for two cushions!!!! We just got back from the store and after dealing with an ever so pleasant salesman (yes, that is sarcasm) I know nothing more than I did the day I walked out after placing my order. He has no way of knowing much of anything!

This is so frustrating and now I am really worried because the "in stock" sofa with the chaise is not even on the sales floor anymore. My husband asked what happens after 12 weeks if this is not in and his response was "that never happens." I am going to print out all of your nightmares and storm the fort for sure!! Corporate in Woodbury, NY will probably gain the honor of becoming a speed dial number on my phone! This is unbelievable!

Replies
Advertisement
Very poor customer service
-

FAIRFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- How can a company maintain good customer service relationships without employing customer service representatives? I recently purchased a number of items at your store in Fairfield, NJ, and had a pleasant experience during my visit; however, I first received a message that two of the chairs could not be delivered because of 'illegal practices by the vendor.' What does this mean? I received a phone call from the shipping department the day before the other items were to be delivered, and they gave me a SIX HOUR window to be at home from work to wait for the furniture.

When the furniture arrived, one piece was severely damaged and one was missing. When I called the customer service number, I had to wait an hour and a half on hold. Again, when the shipping company called to notify me of my '4 hour delivery window' as is stated on the contract, I am told to be at home from 8am to 2pm on a week day.

I have a job, as I assume most of your customers do, and to stay home two full days because of your mistakes and bad business practices is a lot to ask. The shippers told me to call the customer service number to schedule a Saturday delivery; however, when I called, I waited another hour on hold. When I asked the operator how many representatives were working, he replied 'not very many.'

I used to like to shop at your stores, because I could pick the furniture up myself at your warehouse. Now, with your new policies, you state you must deliver. I haven't even mentioned the fact that I am being charged an unbelievable amount for the convenience of home delivery. I think in the future I will go somewhere else for furniture. At the very least I would like a response from your company regarding this incident. Thank you for your time.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
By -

SAN DIMAS, CALIFORNIA -- I went to a Levitz store about mid-may and found some couches I really liked, but they were a little expensive so I decided to go home and talk to my roommate about it. The sales person said I could order online so I went home and ordered the sofa and love seat a few days later on Levitz Website.

Almost 6 weeks later Levitz called with a delivery time: 11:00-2:00. I got the time off work and made it home by 11:05 but as I walked through the door I got a call saying that Levitz had already come and gone. When I called customer service they said that their records showed that I had received my couches. After arguing for a half hour that I had in fact not received my couches they said someone would call me from the delivery warehouse within 30 minutes. 2 hours Later no call, so I called them back. I had pretty much wasted an entire day of vacation time by now.

When I called customer service again they said they could not deliver my furniture for almost 2 more weeks! After speaking with many different customer service people (all of which were very rude) I decided to cancel my order. (When I told them their customer service was terrible, one guy had the nerve to tell me he always gave excellent customer service! When I asked for a corporate number they said there was no corporate office!) The person I last spoke with said I would have e-mail confirmation of my cancellation in next 12 hours... well I didn't.

So I called the next day and they said it had not been canceled and there was no record of me calling, my file said the furniture was already delivered. So I canceled it again and was told that I would get an e-mail confirmation within 12 hours... and it wasn't. This went on for a few days until I decided to call my bank and have them dispute the charge (they have yet to get me my money). 2 weeks later I got an e-mail asking me how I was enjoying my furniture so I called Levitz to see if they had ever canceled the order. They said that they had canceled the order and refunded my money... but they had not refunded my money.

They said someone from financial would call me back within 24 hours... and guess what? They didn't. So I am still waiting to get my money back. In the mean time, I went to living spaces furniture in LA and they had excellent customer service, reasonable prices, and they delivered my furniture 2 hours after I bought it! Bottom line, I will never to business with Levitz again and I beg everyone out there to do the same!

Replies
On Sale in March - Not in Stock till June!
By -

ROHNERT PARK, CALIFORNIA -- In one of Levitz's March ads inserted in our newspaper, they advertised an outdoor bench we were interested in. That same weekend the ad ran, we went to the store, but were told they had not received them yet and to come back in a week. Now usually, that would be enough for us to just walk away, but we really liked this bench so we came back the following weekend. Surprise - still no benches in stock, but they could order one for us. Only problem was, we either had to drive to their warehouse in Dublin (several hours away)to pick it up or it could be delivered to our house for only $35 (the bench cost $120)!

When we asked if they couldn't just deliver it to the store for pickup, they said they could but that would be another $25. Frustrated, but determined we stated we would buy the bench, but would like it delivered to the store. The very apathetic sale person started to enter the order into the computer and lo and behold the benches were on back order till June.

However, we could pay now and wait till June to get one. Knowing how easily furniture stores go out of business, we were not about to do that. At that point, we asked if we could buy the floor model and were told by a manager that they needed it on display for future customers. Yes, that would be those same customers that find out it's an extra 30% for delivery (not mentioned in the ad) and that they would have to wait at least 4 months to receive their purchase (also not mentioned in the ad). By the way, we were the only customers in the store on a Sunday afternoon and yet they sent us away empty handed instead of making a sale.

Replies
Negative service
By -

I second the feelings of the writer of the complaint regarding Levitz's insurance company Stainsafe. I signed up and sure as the sun rises. A problem arose on the leather chair. After lots of calls, someone finally came out and replaced it. Wow it works. Or so I thought, a tear was found on the leather couch, though it was small, I called and called and called. I thought they were out of business. I gave up calling. So after five months I tried it again. I got through I gave them the info filled out their claim form and was advised that because I hadn't reported it to them in five days of it happening my claim was disallowed... never mind I couldn't get through for five months..

Put on a supervisor. Sorry.. see line 10 ( five days or too bad). A lesson learned. Lots of months later I found a tear on the top of my leather ottoman. I was on the phone and stayed on it for six hours of steady, every 3 to 5 minutes of dialing. I finally got through did the paper work and was advised if my paper work was not to them in thirty days the whole thing would be tossed. I had it in the mail the next day. I have waited for 3 months with no reply, no service technical, no nothing.

On June 25 (Sunday they are closed) my wife said look the couch is peeling in an area you couldn't see without lifting the cushions. I was on the phone Monday at 7:30am Calif time, again, calling every 3 to 4 minutes. Finally at 3:20pm I got through. I asked about my claim on the ottoman I was advised to write a letter to check on it... NICE. I then asked to put in a claim for the peeling on the couch and was advised it was also disallowed because I didn't notice when the damage started so it must be out of the five day period. I found it the day before. What a bunch of **. I asked to speak to a supervisor. They advised that they were all busy. No ** doubt.

I called the Florida / Better Business Bureau and via a recording. They advised" this company is "negatively rated" with eight complaints about their service being lodged". All of which have not been responded to by the company. My thought.. burn any money you contemplate spending on the boiler room insurance plans. This insurance is crap.. Even Levitz advised me that this company is no longer used by them due to their service make that non- service...

Replies
Advertisement
Nightmare Delivery Service and Quality
By -

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- My sister and I purchased 2 orders for a bedroom set for my parents. It was supposed to be delivered 9/13 from 8a-12p. Delivery was not made until past 2pm. Delivery guys spoke bad English were rude to my mother on the phone yelling at her to just "listen to me" and to "just forget about it". When they finally arrived they complained they had to pay for their own food and drinks then lied to my mom telling her she needs to pay more money for it to be assembled.

Chest was scratched and all the pieces have tiny holes that my mom tried to point out but the men wouldn't listen. SHE DID NOT SIGN for the delivery. Also instead of a king size center support for the bed they brought a queen--wrong size! Called the warehouse, customer service, and the store and am getting no where. They don't believe the guys left without the signature and are taking forever to send someone to look at the pieces... not offering much to rectify situation. Offered a $100 merchandise credit for next purchase. I want the delivery charges on both orders refunded and want new replacement sets in exchange for the defective ones.

Was told several times a supervisor will contact me and they never did. When I called the store the third time to speak with the manager they told me he was not available even though I spoke with him only 1/2 an hour ago. One lady in particular ** very RUDE... said wasn't sure when I could contact him and when I asked for the manager's supervisor's name she said she didn't know. It is appalling to pay thousands of dollars for this kind of merchandise and customer service.

Once Levitz sets a 4 hour window for delivery the customer can't change it or they get charged an additional delivery fee. Why can't they follow their own policy and deliver in that window. (So in fairness my delivery fee should be refunded). And their policy states that the delivery men will assemble and set up the furniture where you want it. The delivery men tried to CON my mother out the more money!!!

Doesn't refusing to SIGN for the DELIVERY count for anything? I've spent hours on the phone with different departments in the company and am getting no where. Just to speak to a service rep you are on hold for 20 minutes! This is turned into a complete nightmare! Anyone else with bad review in Levitz in DE email me at **.

Replies
Warning About Levitz
By -

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- "Levitz is the best store ever. The furniture is of superb quality, and the customer service staff is of the highest professional standard. I recommend Levitz to all my friends." If you read or hear anything like that, then you should know it is likely from some poor soul working on behalf of Levitz, or someone with a severe mental disorder.

My experience with Levitz was no better than many of the reports you may have already read. I purchased an entertainment center for about $1700. As it was being delivered, the delivery guy said in broken English "it has a scratch". The "scratch" was actually lying on the ground in the form of a chunk of particle-board, about 2-inch square, and a half-inch deep; it had broken from the side of one of the two towers. I rejected that piece, in lieu of a replacement.

But I soon realized that I had purchased glorified junk from just south of the border, composed of: particle-board, the cheapest hardware that one can imagine (not likely to be found at any reputable hardware store in the U.S.); poorly fitting parts; and very sloppy workmanship. I spent about two weeks replacing cheap - and often misapplied - hardware, applying touch-up stain, and reinforcing the particle-board material to make the pieces less rickety. By the time the replacement tower arrived, two months later, I had noticed that the TV base doors were warped and did not shut well, so I requested replacements for them as well.

On the day we received the final replacements (it always takes at least 2 months), and completed the assembly, it became apparent that the stains used on the separate pieces were of varying color and tone - some were semi-gloss Mahogany Red, and others were a dull brown. So, I had to beg for more replacement parts.

Nine months after placing the initial order, I continue hoping to get satisfaction from Levitz's "Customer Service" department; which is another topic of its own. My notes show that I have made no less than 18 calls to Levitz concerning the problems, and each call seems to have a minimum mandatory waiting time not less than 20 minutes, before a person answers.

A few of the personnel in the "Customer Service" Department try to be helpful and courteous, to some degree. But they do not represent the majority; many seem to be carrying on other unrelated activities (e.g., muffled laughing and whispering) as they listen to the caller, and some seem to take pleasure in irritating the caller by reading scripted lines in condescending tone, and talking over the caller.

Of course, they have probably had an abundance of experience irritating dissatisfied customers - so that they will go away. So, heed the warnings, and save yourself from the disappointment & headache. Don't try to save money by making yourself miserable for months to come. THERE ARE MANY BETTER PLACES TO SHOP!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Levitz Furniture Corporation Rating:
34 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Levitz Furniture Corporation
7887 N. Federal Hwy.
Boca Raton, FL 33487-1613
561-994-6006 (ph)
561-998-5617 (fax)
www.levitz.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores