Preview Review

Next Review

Levitz Furniture Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Frustration!!!!!
By -

BREA, CALIFORNIA -- I purchase an entertainment center from Levitz on August 31st (which was paid in full at time of purchase) with a delivery date of October 8th (merchandise had to be ordered). I received via email and form letter that my delivery date had been rescheduled to October 16th, then October 26th, then November 12th, then November 23rd. When calling to confirm the new date, I was informed that it would be "sometime at the end of December".
I contacted the store for assistance, the saleslady Ann told me she would find out what was up and call me back. Four days later, not hearing back from her, I went into the store. She acted like she had never even met me!! (I spent over $6000.00 with her).

My husband and I decided it was not worth it and cancelled the order on November 13th. I received a refund receipt from the store stating that the check would be cut and mailed out on November 28th. The store manager ** informed me that that was the soonest a check could be cut. But wait, it gets better!!!!!

On December 12th I contacted customer service to find out where my check was, I was told that there was no refund scheduled in the month of November, was told that the check would be cut on the 20th of December. When I called again on the 20th, I was told that the refund would be issued on Jan 3rd 2006!!! I insisted on speaking with a supervisor, I was put through to a ** who told me that checks weren't cut on Tuesdays, only on Thursdays. She ASSURED me that the refund would be processed on the 22nd, which is today.

I called this a.m to confirm and she wouldn't ever come to the phone, they dropped me in her voice mail, I asked her to please return my call. HA HA HA HA!!!!!!! After 4 hours I called back and was told again by yet another person that the refund was scheduled for Jan 3rd, I asked for ** again and was told that they didn't know her or her extension. Amazingly, no other supervisors were available to speak to me. The customer service rep then told me that he called accounting and got the date moved up to the 28th! Boy do I feel special!!! They have had my money since August 31st!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUYERS BEWARE.

Replies
Advertisement
READ ALL before you buy-Thank you everyone!
By -

SANTA CLARA, CALIFORNIA -- My husband and I moved here in October with a transfer through the military. We had zero furniture as we are newly weds and we were very excited to begin the process of furnishing our new home. So we decided to give Levitz Furniture a try, despite the one bad review on Yahoo.com (I had not seen this site yet, I'm sorry to say.)
We purchased a sofa set at $2000.00 and waited for our delivery set for mid-November. It wasn't but a week later that we received a notice about our delivery date changing to December 8, 2005. I called this week to make sure and now they're saying Jan. 4, 2006.

I called customer service and, you guessed it, no one new a thing. They offered a $175.00 gift certificate for another purchase and I said, "For what? Another 3 month or so wait?" I talked to a Miss ** claiming to be Assistant to the President and she said there was nothing she could do but offer the gift or we could pick out another couch in stock or we could cancel the order. When I called back to cancel the order, she refused my call and had a CSR tell me I had to go to the store to cancel the order even though she said she would cancel it if I called back.

I gathered all the information I could before driving to the store and made an appointment with a JAG Lawyer just in case I needed some back up. To shorten the story, we received a full refund on our cancellation (They hired at least one intelligent person) after many attempts on their part to assure us it would PROBABLY only be two weeks until we received the furniture but we weren't going to risk it with all of these reviews!

Thank you to all the others who wrote about their experiences with this company. It just may have been too late if we wouldn't have been able to cancel the order before they delivered it (most likely damaged). If you're considering Levitz Furniture, do your research and trust your fellow consumers. Levitz is filing bankruptcy according to their website as part of a restructuring plan, but I will never put my money where there mouth is!

Replies
I wish I had seen this site in April!!
By -

NEWARK, DELAWARE -- Well, I am just adding to the numbers. My husband and I went to the Levitz near our home to purchase two sofas. We saw something that we liked but it was a sofa that had a "movable chaise". What that boils down to is that there is a longer cushion that sits on top of an ottoman with two normal cushions. They are all interchangeable. We did not want the chaise - just a "normal" sofa with three cushions the same size. This became a special order and it seems that this special order is being made on the space station!

We were told 4-6 weeks. I even though that was a long time to come up with two "normal" cushions but I could live with that. At five weeks, we started disposing of the furniture that occupied the room that would house the new sofas. At six weeks we received a letter apologizing for our inconvenience and it offered us 10% off a future purchase of $1,000 or more that needed to be used by Aug 15th. This was their attempt to help me regain my confidence in the store. Oh, OK, I will give you $900.00 more to make me feel better! When I looked up my order on the computer it gave Dec of 2049 as the expected delivery date and I am beginning to believe it!!

I got in touch with corporate and the woman there thanked me for my information and told me special orders can actually take 12 weeks! This is for two cushions!!!! We just got back from the store and after dealing with an ever so pleasant salesman (yes, that is sarcasm) I know nothing more than I did the day I walked out after placing my order. He has no way of knowing much of anything!

This is so frustrating and now I am really worried because the "in stock" sofa with the chaise is not even on the sales floor anymore. My husband asked what happens after 12 weeks if this is not in and his response was "that never happens." I am going to print out all of your nightmares and storm the fort for sure!! Corporate in Woodbury, NY will probably gain the honor of becoming a speed dial number on my phone! This is unbelievable!

Replies
Very poor customer service
-

FAIRFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- How can a company maintain good customer service relationships without employing customer service representatives? I recently purchased a number of items at your store in Fairfield, NJ, and had a pleasant experience during my visit; however, I first received a message that two of the chairs could not be delivered because of 'illegal practices by the vendor.' What does this mean? I received a phone call from the shipping department the day before the other items were to be delivered, and they gave me a SIX HOUR window to be at home from work to wait for the furniture.

When the furniture arrived, one piece was severely damaged and one was missing. When I called the customer service number, I had to wait an hour and a half on hold. Again, when the shipping company called to notify me of my '4 hour delivery window' as is stated on the contract, I am told to be at home from 8am to 2pm on a week day.

I have a job, as I assume most of your customers do, and to stay home two full days because of your mistakes and bad business practices is a lot to ask. The shippers told me to call the customer service number to schedule a Saturday delivery; however, when I called, I waited another hour on hold. When I asked the operator how many representatives were working, he replied 'not very many.'

I used to like to shop at your stores, because I could pick the furniture up myself at your warehouse. Now, with your new policies, you state you must deliver. I haven't even mentioned the fact that I am being charged an unbelievable amount for the convenience of home delivery. I think in the future I will go somewhere else for furniture. At the very least I would like a response from your company regarding this incident. Thank you for your time.

Replies
Advertisement
Nightmare Delivery Service and Quality
By -

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- My sister and I purchased 2 orders for a bedroom set for my parents. It was supposed to be delivered 9/13 from 8a-12p. Delivery was not made until past 2pm. Delivery guys spoke bad English were rude to my mother on the phone yelling at her to just "listen to me" and to "just forget about it". When they finally arrived they complained they had to pay for their own food and drinks then lied to my mom telling her she needs to pay more money for it to be assembled.

Chest was scratched and all the pieces have tiny holes that my mom tried to point out but the men wouldn't listen. SHE DID NOT SIGN for the delivery. Also instead of a king size center support for the bed they brought a queen--wrong size! Called the warehouse, customer service, and the store and am getting no where. They don't believe the guys left without the signature and are taking forever to send someone to look at the pieces... not offering much to rectify situation. Offered a $100 merchandise credit for next purchase. I want the delivery charges on both orders refunded and want new replacement sets in exchange for the defective ones.

Was told several times a supervisor will contact me and they never did. When I called the store the third time to speak with the manager they told me he was not available even though I spoke with him only 1/2 an hour ago. One lady in particular ** very RUDE... said wasn't sure when I could contact him and when I asked for the manager's supervisor's name she said she didn't know. It is appalling to pay thousands of dollars for this kind of merchandise and customer service.

Once Levitz sets a 4 hour window for delivery the customer can't change it or they get charged an additional delivery fee. Why can't they follow their own policy and deliver in that window. (So in fairness my delivery fee should be refunded). And their policy states that the delivery men will assemble and set up the furniture where you want it. The delivery men tried to CON my mother out the more money!!!

Doesn't refusing to SIGN for the DELIVERY count for anything? I've spent hours on the phone with different departments in the company and am getting no where. Just to speak to a service rep you are on hold for 20 minutes! This is turned into a complete nightmare! Anyone else with bad review in Levitz in DE email me at **.

Replies
Warning About Levitz
By -

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- "Levitz is the best store ever. The furniture is of superb quality, and the customer service staff is of the highest professional standard. I recommend Levitz to all my friends".

If you read or hear anything like that, then you should know it is likely from some poor soul working on behalf of Levitz, or someone with a severe mental disorder.

My experience with Levitz was no better than many of the reports you may have already read. I purchased an entertainment center for about $1700. As it was being delivered, the delivery guy said in broken English "it has a scratch". The "scratch" was actually lying on the ground in the form of a chunk of particle-board, about 2-inch square, and a half-inch deep; it had broken from the side of one of the two towers. I rejected that piece, in lieu of a replacement.

But I soon realized that I had purchased glorified junk from just south of the border, composed of: particle-board, the cheapest hardware that one can imagine (not likely to be found at any reputable hardware store in the U.S.); poorly fitting parts; and very sloppy workmanship. I spent about two weeks replacing cheap - and often misapplied - hardware, applying touch-up stain, and reinforcing the particle-board material to make the pieces less rickety. By the time the replacement tower arrived, two months later, I had noticed that the TV base doors were warped and did not shut well, so I requested replacements for them as well.

On the day we received the final replacements (it always takes at least 2 months), and completed the assembly, it became apparent that the stains used on the separate pieces were of varying color and tone - some were semi-gloss Mahogany Red, and others were a dull brown. So, I had to beg for more replacement parts.

Nine months after placing the initial order, I continue hoping to get satisfaction from Levitz's "Customer Service" department; which is another topic of its own. My notes show that I have made no less than 18 calls to Levitz concerning the problems, and each call seems to have a minimum mandatory waiting time not less than 20 minutes, before a person answers. A few of the personnel in the "Customer Service" Department try to be helpful and courteous, to some degree. But they do not represent the majority; many seem to be carrying on other unrelated activities (e.g., muffled laughing and whispering) as they listen to the caller, and some seem to take pleasure in irritating the caller by reading scripted lines in condescending tone, and talking over the caller. Of course, they have probably had an abundance of experience irritating dissatisfied customers - so that they will go away.

So, heed the warnings, and save yourself from the disappointment & headache. Don't try to save money by making yourself miserable for months to come. THERE ARE MANY BETTER PLACES TO SHOP!

Replies
What ever happened to Customer Satisfaction????
By -

KING OF PRUSSIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought living room furniture 2yrs. ago from the King of Prussia store in Penna. I also purchased the 7 yr. warranty. What a waste of money!! I called the phone number on the warranty slip and all I got was ...please hold. etc. I finally spoke to someone & I explained that the finish is chipping off the surface in a few sections of all the tables. They told me that it was a manufacturer problem & to contact the store where I purchased them. I called the KOP store & they gave me the phone # for the Presidential line in NY since the store no longer has Safeguard as their warranty co. Well it was nice to know that I was never notified that this co. would no longer handle any claims for Levitz. So I called the Presidential line and they not only put me on hold for about 45 min. but the woman was rude and kept stating that it could not have starting chipping within the 5 day period that they ask you to report any incidents. Well, I told her this is the day I noticed it and I am reporting it. She still went on & on about it could not of just happened. Well it did just happened. If I was away on vacation or on business, and I called to report this, who wants to hear about this so called 5 day period they give you. She also said the warranty has expired & that it was for only 1 yr. By this time I was so hot & I hung up. I called the KOP store and spoke to Manager Deb about 2 wks ago. She assured me that she would have someone call me back that could help me. Well no one has called yet. I am fed up. I will personally go to the store this Sat. and request something to be done. At this point, what does that 5 day period mean anyway when they can't even return a phone call. So much time a wasting. I am contacing the BBB and also the Consumer Hot Line at Channel 6 News.

January 27, 2006

Well after all this time it did not surprise me that Levitz was going out of business. Since I last reported, I have received my warranty check for the cocktail tables. I am still in dispute with the credit card co. Since I received my check, they also debited my credit card. I still have a pending claim through the Attorney General's Office & I not only want the money back for the tables, but also the refund on the warranty for the furniture as well, since I see no reason to have to deal with this other company. I will keep you posted. Good luck to all of you!!!

Replies
Levitz customer service is the worst.
By -

PORTLAND, OREGON -- I placed an order on December 13, 2004 from my local Levitz retail store. The salesman was incredibly polite and helpful. That is not where the problem lies.
Once an order has been placed, you are given a date on which your merchandise will be delivered. No time window is set until 24 hours before the delivery date. Once a time has been set, you cannot change it.
My delivery date was set for 1/17/2005. I tried calling their customer service number 1-866-538-4891 on Saturday 1-15-2005. I was on hold for so long I had to hang up. I called again Sunday 1-16-2005 at 10:00am. I had to hang up after I had been on hold for an hour and fifteen minutes. I called back at noon and had to hang up 45 minutes later. I called at 1:00 and someone finally answered at 1:47pm. I asked to speak to a supervisor. Supervisor Martha Posse got on the line and was one of the most unprofessional people I have ever come across. She interrupted me not more than eight times. I asked her 4 out of the 8 times to not interrupt me.
Martha Posse informed me that the delivery time cannot be changed because it was set as of this day. I explained to her how many times and days I tried to contact them and that I am not responsible for their hold time or policies. She informed me that there was nothing she could do. Not only was she rude and unapologetic, she lacked any evidence of a supervisor on a customer service level.
True their furniture is cheap in the whole sense, but I knew that going in. What bothers me is that there is no customer service at the 800# that is worth this type of headache. Think twice before giving this company your money.UPDATEAfter all the headaches I have been through, it got worse. Less than 24 hours before my delivery was to be sent, they called. They said my couch was damaged and they would not be able to deliver it. I said "Of course it was damaged. I wouldn't expect anything less from Levitz." I told them to cancel the entire order. They were SHOCKED! Too bad. After reading other complaints about Levitz and their damaging practices, I had the good sense to turn them away. In a way I feel lucky to have the opportunity get out of dealing with Levitz. Let's see how long it takes to receive a full refund. I'll keep you posted.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service Nightmare!
By -

CONNECTICUT -- I too have had nothing but trouble since ordering from Levitz. In short we ordered a dinning room table and buffet on July 6th 2005, and after multiple delays it was finally delivered on Dec 3 2005... of course damaged. I am still waiting for a replacement glass door. I can understand delays in production, but what is inexcusable is the 1/2+ hour that I needed to wait on the phone every time I called, as well as the rude, misleading and downright lies that customer service representatives provide customers. Even at the supervisory level there is nothing but deceit.

I'm sure many of you have talked to **... well after hearing her give me the runaround multiple times I went so far as my read the companies mission statement verbatim to her in which it says customers are are #1 priority. There form of compensation... merchandise certificates for a future purchase. That really doesn't help me. This company has very misleading business practices and I urge people to think twice about ordering anything from them. In fact during the total liquidation sale at one of their closing stores I saw the exact set that I waited 5 months for with its price marked up... FOR A FLOOR MODEL!!!!!!

I do offer a suggestion... I have learned to ask to speak to the customer service manager **. He has actually been helpful and I received some positive results from dealing directly with him. I hope this helps as there are too many of us out there that have been burned by this company.

Replies
Unexpected changes and huge delays in delivery
By -

HUDSON COUNTY, NEW JERSEY -- If you are willing to buy from this store, keep in mind that they are very likely to make changes at will to the initially promissed delivery time. They may promise delivery for next month, but each time you get an e-mail from them, it is certainly bad news: last one was to "let me know" that the delivery date changed to TWO MONTHS after the originally scheduled time (which, in my opinion, was given me out of nowhere just to sell the product).
So, if you expect to have furniture any time soon, choose another place. Also, you don't want to depend on their unreachable customer service. Last time I called to cancel my order, I was put on hold for more than 45 minutes. Although I really liked the sofa I saw in the store, I am cancelling my order since I do not want to risk having to depend on them again in case the product has any defect (would probably take another 6 months to fix/replace it).

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Levitz Furniture Corporation Rating:
34 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Levitz Furniture Corporation
7887 N. Federal Hwy.
Boca Raton, FL 33487-1613
561-994-6006 (ph)
561-998-5617 (fax)
www.levitz.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores