Lumber Liquidators

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
48 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Flooring Advice from an Ex-Employee
Posted by on
I worked at Lumber Liquidators for 14 months and found out several things.

1.) Do not buy Bellawood as there are many milling issues.

2.) Any Virginia Millworks flooring is actually very good quality and affordable.

3.) SCHON engineered flooring is a decent value. Decent quality, good prices.

4.) Laminates- stay away from 6mm flooring not because of LL but because it is just too thin. St. James flooring still amazes me with quality and price.

5.) NEVER buy odd-lots you will never be happy(that also goes for anywhere).

6.) CHOOSE YOU'RE INSTALLER WISELY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 99 Percent of the issues I had at my store were installation issues and pretty much the rest were damaged from forklift or milling issues with Bellawood. Choose an installer with a warranty and check with references.

7.) The top 3 issues with a bad floor are MOISTURE(have the installer check the readings and put the proper moisture protection down- needs to be sold from LL for the warranty). Installers failing to leave an expansion gaps(the floor needs 1/4" to 3/8" gap between it and the wall, which you can cover up with baseboard or quarter round). And scratching. DO NOT BUY A SOFT WOOD IF YOU ARE ROUGH ON THE FLOOR. If you are particularly rough on flooring go with their ST. James laminate. It holds up extremely well.\

8.) They had a huge changeover in 2010 that caused thousands of customer complaints but should be over by now and safe to buy.

9.) The average customer is very unreasonable. They have an installer blame LL so they believe it when generally it is the INSTALLER.

10.) They treat their employees like TOTAL HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLL. I will not go into detail but it is not important for customers unless you like to buy from places that treat their employees good.

11.) All in all I will buy flooring from them when needed as I tend to not hold grudges. Hard to beat their prices and quality on most things. Again steer clear of bellawood.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
saj80 on 04/06/2011:
Very good review; thanks.
dan gordon on 04/06/2011:
I'd love it if you'd repost on the flooring forum. I worked for a hdwd mfctr and read many complaints re: prefinished flooring when normally its maintenance or installation related. Please repost here:

http://ths.gardenweb.com//forums/flooring/
idontthinkso on 04/06/2011:
Seriously.. yer a Bellawood rep.. aintcha??
Ex Employee on 02/07/2012:
The classic thing is that much of the Bellawood is finished in the middle of their warehouse in Toano Va 444 surrounded by dust covered boxes, forklifts driving by etc. What a joke they are!!
BEWARE on 04/06/2012:
EMPLOYEES THAT GREW THIS COMPANY BEFORE IT WENT PUBLIC ARE BEING SYSTEMATICALLY FIRED. THEY HAVED WORKED 15HR DAYS 7 DAYS A WEEK BY THEMSELVES(WHERE IS OSHA) VACATIONS CANCELLED DUE TO NO COVERAGE. THE COMPANY THEN FIGHTS YOU OVER UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS WITH THE HELP OF AN OUTSIDE FIRM CALLED TALX WHO IS ALLOWED TO APPEAR BEFORE THE LABOR JUDGE BUT NOT YOU.EMPLOYEES ARE HURT ON THE JOB. ONE WAS FIRED AFTER SURGERY SO DON'T GET SICK. THESE EMPLOYEES WERE SELLING 300K A MONTH FOR THIS COMPANY AND IT STILL WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH. WHEN THEY WENT PUBLIC (IPO) THEY HIRED SO MANY VP SUCKING MONEY OFF THE TOP WITH NO FLOORING /SALES /OR BUILDING EXPERIENCE. THERE WAS NO MONEY LEFT TO HIRE WAREHOUSE OR SALES ASSOCIATES.THESE VPs (TO JUSTIFY THEIR POSITIONS CAME UP WITH MORE AND MORE FOR THE 1 SALES PERSON TO DO THERE WAS NEVER ENOUGH TIME TO COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED AND TO SATISFY THE CUSTOMERS. ORDERES WERE NEVER SENT TO STORE SO THERE WAS UNHAPPY CUSTOMERS AND THE BACKLOG INCREASES. 3 TRUCKES SHIPPED A WEEK THAT WASN'T ORDERED MUST BE UNLOADED,FORFLIFTED INTO AN INCREASING STUFFED WAREHOUSE BY ONE PERSON. CUSTOMER SVC CUTIES WERE RUDE TO STORES TRYING TO EXPLAIN PROBLEMS. REGIONAL MGR THAT OPENED HALF THE EAST COAST STORES ,ON THE ROAD CONSTANTLY ( HAD HEART ATTACK) WAS FIRED AND REPLACED BY A GUY WHO WORKED AT GAME STOP. DOES THIS MAKE SENSE TO ANYONE. I HOPE GRIFITHS DIDN'T GET AN EXIT BONUS LIKE NARDELLI DID AT DEPOT. NOTICE ALL THE JOB OPENINGS . WORD IS OUT YOU WON'T LAST LONG.
face it on 05/26/2012:
Net sales increased $28.4 million, or 17.8%, to $188.0 million in the first quarter of 2012 from $159.7 million in the first quarter of 2011. Comparable store net sales increased 7.5% for the quarter, driven by an 8.0% increase in the number of customers invoiced at these stores. Non-comparable store net sales increased $16.4 million. The Company opened four new stores during the first quarter of 2012.


The above statement was copied from the LL web site. For all who have been poorly treated (either by working for them or spending money with them) by Lumber Liquidators, this is proof positive that some action needs to be taken to prevent them from further profiting in the "dirty" manner that they are so well known for. Please people do not support this company. A COMPLETE BOYCOTT is needed to force these crooks to close there doors.
Stella on 03/16/2013:
I also got the name and titles of heads of this company. I plan on sending cards to them and also to ty penninton, hgtv, and bob villa.
We need a good, honest lawyer to launch a class action suit. Perhaps Erin will do this.
Rob Lynch on 06/09/2013:
Most of the people work there now are coming from Circuit City (From Division Manager, Regional Manager, and Sales Manager). Anyone remember what happen to Circuit City?
Rich on 03/23/2014:
Just had St. James laminate installed a month ago. The corners are creasing and the seams are bubbling-up. I've kept water off the floor, used a Swiffer like they told me to to clean it. Contractor is blaming the floor and LL is blaming contractor. NIGHTMARE.
Riggadeaux on 10/12/2014:
We purchased 400-500 square feet of black bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators for our kitchen and bathroom. After two years, we have a MESS in our house.Our "black" floors are now streaked with natural bamboo color and the whole thing will have to be sanded to remove the finish. That will be both messy AND expensive. LL says it's all our fault because WE MOPPED THE FLOORS with something other than the product they sell. Not only were we not told about their product, there's nothing about how to clean the floors in the flooring box literature either. So we used mild vinegar-water solution recommended on lots of web sites. All we asked for was to be reimbursed for the cost of refinishing the floors. All they will offer is more of the product to replace what's damaged. Since only parts of the floor have lost their finish, we would have to trust that the rest of the finish won't fail in the future. None of this matters to LL. I have photos of the damaged areas on our floors and the letter from LL to prove they are happy to hold us totally responsible for what happened with their product.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
LIARS @ Lumber Liquidator
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHEETOWAGA, NEW YORK -- Buyer Beware, biggest SCAM operation running from the Lumber Liquidator Store located at 3801 Harlem Rd. Cheektowaga NY

Bought our flooring from LL at 3801 Harlem Rd. Cheektowaga store and had it installed this past Feb 2013. When we initially went there, we were met by the store manager "Dave" (He was very sick at the time, remember!) and informed him we were looking for a floor that would not scratch as we had two small dogs. We stressed to Dave the manager and flooring expert that our main concern was not so much the flooring or cost, but that did not want to invest in something that would scratch. Dave showed us some floor samples and said to us "it will not scratch from your dogs, I have a dog and the same flooring in my house and mine has no scratches". We trusted you Dave and being you were the manager and a corporate representative for LL and a expert in flooring, we again gave you our trust and purchased approx. $5000.00 in flooring from you.

Well not more than two weeks after it was installed, we noticed scratches on the floor. Scratches that Dave, the purported expert, said would not happen. We immediately called our installer John Minor and upon his inspection he stated “I’ve never seen a floor so badly scratched and so quickly in my 9 year career, this is bad". Folks this floor wasn't down 5 weeks. We were given some scratch removal product from LL, and let me tell you it is sh**, it did nothing to remove, fix or even hide the numerous scratches. We called LL and spoke with Dave who gave us the standard answer, “You have a problem, call the 800 number, file a claim, it's out of our hands". Thanks Dave.

Well we did contact the 800 number and spoke with the so called "Customer Relation Specialist" John (No last name given). He informed us of the procedures to file a claim, it required us to take 10 pictures of the damaged floor, fill give a detail explanation of the damage and send it to him. We did everything required. I asked John "When will someone come out and look at the floor". John said "no one will come out and look", and we should hear something in about 10 days or so. So we waited, during which time we put booties on our dogs feet and again tried to rub out the scratches with the LL scratch removal solution. Well folks guess what we received 10 days later in the mail, you guessed it, we received a standard corporate form letter from John, (no last name on letter) and you might guess it basically said "Sorry not our problem" . Comments like "No additional action regarding this matter, as this is not a warrantable claim". Additional comments in the form letter were surprising such as " A thorough review has been undertaken by LL Inc. regarding your concerns of scratches and fading within your floor" ( Riiiiiight) and " it should be noted that while laminate finishes are scratch resistant, there are no claims of the finish being scratch or dent proof".

I guess Dave's claim to us as manager within LL Corporation that we would not experience scratches is not a claim of no scratches? A corporate employee is not held accountable for direct mis-representation. Oh, wait, just say anything (Lie), for a sale and screw the customer, John (No last name) will just send them a corp. form letter later, who cares. Well folks we are just simple people here in Western NY and trust those who give their word, particularly when they represent themselves as so called experts.

Here is my advice to my fellow consumers:
DO NOT GO TO LUMBER LIQUIDATOR AT 3801 HARLEM RD. in CHEEKTOWAGA or any LL store. THERE IS NO WARRANTY WITH THIS CORPORATION, don't believe a word out of the mouths of anyone who works there, anyone who represents LL, any written documents from LL, any advertising from LL, anyone who does contract work for them, anyone who provides or calls themselves a "Customer Relations Specialist". Should you do, you too will be writing a review like I am today, $5000.00 later, heartbroken, having been treated so badly and having a floor that is a piece of sh**. Don't do this to yourself, it is your home.

Finally, you got us Dave, hope you and your pathetic staff got a good laugh at our expense or at least you spent the commission paycheck well. I can only hope that the NY State Attorney General’s Office gets people like you who lie to the public, misrepresent product and falsely make statements, people like you who support scrams like Lumber liquidator Inc. does to the good folks of Western NY and takes the appropriate legal actions. You should be ashamed of yourself.
     
Add reply
Customer Abuse
Posted by on
NEW CUMBERLAND, PENNSYLVANIA -- I went to Lumber Liquidators on the recommenation of a colleague. During my first visit, I explained that I was going to floor two levels of my house. Due to budget constraints, I would buy enough flooring at the end of each month to complete one room. Any remaining flooring would be saved for the next room. Below are details of my experience with Lumber Liquidators (New Cumberland, PA) that have frustrated me to the point that I will no longer do or recommend business with this company.

1. June, 2011 - I opened up the first box of flooring to start the first room. The box was in rough shape and it appeared boards were missing. Since this was my first time installing wood flooring, I thought maybe Bellawood packed their boxes loose. Though, and with hindsight, this box was suspect since it was wrapped in plastic. As I opened other boxes, I realized the boxes are packed tight and indeed the first box was missing approximately 33% of the boards. I absorbed the loss and learned my lesson: check boxes carefully before they are loaded into my car.

2. July, 2011 - I unloaded flooring for the second room. I discovered one of the boxes labelled as 'Odd Lot' [mixed mills] with a reduced price. I had paid full price for all of the boxes so this caught my attention. I called and was informed that mixed mills means the differences between board could be up to 1/8 inch. I was further informed that these differences are typical with wood floor. Reading the companies website, I learned that installing 'Odd Lot' flooring voids their warranty. I had to return to the store to replace this box with the correct box. No apology, but a clear message that I was lucky that I was not being charged a restocking fee. Strike two! I was starting to feel that perhaps this was not an accident.

3. August, 2011 - I went to store to get flooring for third room. It was not in stock and had to be ordered. I was informed I would be called the following week when the shipment arrived. No phone call. I called two weeks later. I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived. A month later I called. I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived.

4. November, 2011 - I contacted customer care with the concerns I listed above. The next day an e-mail alerted me they were looking into my complaint, but they had contacted the store and my flooring was in. That evening, there was a message on my answering machine from the store that my flooring was in. When I arrived at the store to get the flooring, I learned that the floor was not in because what was sent did not match the correct mill code.

5. November 23, 2011 - After three months, I finally got my flooring. I explained my frustration to the store manager. I am halfway through my remodeling and stuck with a decision to finish the project with this product (feeling that the company does not treat customers with respect) or throwing in the towel and finding a different product that is a close match to finish the remaining rooms. The manager did not resolve any of my concerns and stated he called me last week to inform me that the flooring had arrived. I check my phone log for the entire month. He did not call my phone number last week. He either lied or misdialed. Based on my experiences to date, I doubt it was a misdial. I also have not yet heard back from their customer care.

It is my opinion that this company does not want my business or value - and respect - its customers. I will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission. Hindsight is 20/20. At least I know to avoid this company for any future building or remodeling projects.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Kris10 on 11/23/2011:
have you checked online to see if "Bellawood" has a place for you to order from them directly instead of going through LL?
face it on 11/25/2011:
jpetula,

I am sorry you had to go through this. This company has an astonishingly long history of not taking care of there customers. I only wish you would have seen these reviews before spending your hard earned money with them. I can tell you that contacting the BBB will do nothing. The FTC will not do much either, unless you have a large group to support you claims. The sad thing is that each customer ripped off by these crooks knows how poorly they have been treated by this company, but as of yet no action has been taken against them to force them to either close there doors or make right the wrong they have done!
In regards to what is acceptable and what is not with the milling of the wood, you can check out www.nwfa.org but you must join to get any information. Having installed hardwood for over 20 years now, I can tell you that Lumber Liquidators is the only company out there that I have ever delt with that will not stand behind there products. They claim to take each complaint and work to resolve any issues, What's your view on this claim?
I could go on and on about the things I have seen them do over the years, but the fact remains as true today as ever...the proof is in doing business with them if you dare!
face it on 11/25/2011:
also: in regards to the milling issues of up to 1/8 of an inch. That is true if you go out and buy one brand (Bellawood) then you get another brand (bruce) and try to install them together. But for any quality milled wood products the milling difference will be much less than 1/8 inch. Yet another plain and simple truth that the products they carry are just junk.
face it on 11/26/2011:
Bellawood is manufactured directly through and for Lumber Liquidators.
another little known fact is that a store manager can order new cardboard boxes (no product just the box it's self) and then when a damaged box comes in they can re-box an item to make it appear as if it is new and unopened.
LL Nightmare on 06/09/2013:
Ask them for compensation. Bring them to a small claim court
Jerry on 06/19/2014:
My overall experience at Lumber Liquidators in El Paso, TX has been terrible. The service provided is absolutely the worst I have experienced. I cannot speak to their products as after weeks (already paid for) I still could not get them to deliver or provide the materials.

The original quote was off by 50%, terrible customer service, clearly do not know what they are doing relative to installation and cannot seem to tell the truth. I would strongly encourage AVOIDING this store in El Paso, TX!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Read warranty and understand it protects LL not you
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I waited for years to have the money to buy wood flooring for my house. I feel completely stupid and duped. Lumber liquidators sells poorly manufactured floors and does not stand behind its products.

The floor began to split on the glue line within 6 months of installation. After months of rudely worded form letter rejections LL hired Inspect Solutions who could not find anything wrong in my home or environment and therefore concluded that the installers knew the floor was damaged and installed it anyway. I hired an inspector, who stated that it is a manufacturing issue and it is not floor checks as the Inspect Solutions claimed but glue line splits. He showed me a research article by the National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA) to show what my floor is doing. LL will not even acknowledge the inspection or the NWFA article and continued a ridiculously flawed argument against the installers.

After filing with BBB, I was offered a store credit that on the face seems fair but when you consider that I don't have the money to pay 2500 dollars to pull up the floor and have it reinstalled with no guarantee that the new floor will be any better, it is meaningless. And if again, I happen to get a bad lot or poor quality floor, I can start the cycle again. BBB states that cannot compel anything beyond LL's limited warranty that states a store credit is the only remedy.

I thought I had asked all the right questions and wrongly thought that LL was a reputable company but the bottom line is that they are a big company that knows how to protect themselves so they can take the chance of selling substandard products because if it fails they don't have to accept responsibility of making it right.

The floor is so bad, I cannot walk in stocking feet. And I have to live with the constant reminder of how naive I was because it will be a long time before I can afford to replace it.

I recommend buying wood flooring from a reputable retailer who will stand by the product and treat customers with respect. Read the warranty, a store credit is great if the product is something you can simply take back but a floor should not fail in 6 months and if it does, you want a company that will make it right and at a minimum treat you with respect.

For me, I will have to see if the store credit is something I can sell so I can start to save for a replacement or determine if there is an implied warranty that will apply in my state and seek a remedy through litigation...sigh, I am so sad.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
justdoright on 11/21/2012:
I forgot to mention that this Morningstar floor that I purcashed is rated 51 out of 100 by Consumer Reports. I know I should have looked first.
bob932304 on 11/22/2012:
You might consider small claims court in your town or county.
leet60 on 11/22/2012:
This is why I don't ever purchase any item from a business that has terms in its name such as "liquidator", "discount" or "overstock". In my opinion, you only ask for poor quality or service from these businesses.
face it on 11/25/2012:
I am greatly saddened by your review Justdoitright,
Some other things you might not be aware of? Have formaldehyde and urea levels checked in the product, as these products are manufactured overseas and the requirements for manufacturing are significantly different in China than they are in the USA.
As I could best decipher from your review you have the vertical bamboo product? the most common types of bamboo are vertical grain horizontal grain and a grain pattern known as strand. As bamboo is actually a grass not a form of wood. The material has to be bonded/glued together (it is in this bonding agent that you will find the formaldehyde and urea) as bamboo is not significant enough in mass to mill into flooring planks, therefor it is essentially an engineered product. "Splitting along the glue line" I take it that you mean where the thin strips of bamboo are glued/pressed together is where you are seeing the issues of separation? Lumber Liquidators has never taken liability in regards to installation so they brought in a company called The Home Service Store to offer installation and to remove all liability in regards to installation from themselves. There warranty is set up in such a way that each and every time the liability is pushed of to the installer (either the DIY homeowner or a contracted installer) keeping them free and clear of any liabilities in regards to installation. If you used a credit card for your purchase you may want to contact that company as many of the credit providers offer assistance in situations such as yours. In regards to the store credit, I highly doubt that it could be sold. I honestly have no idea about that, I know I would not want to purchase someone else's store credit. The federal trade commission might be able to offer some assistance as well.

After installing product for Lumber Liquidators exclusively for about 10-12 years I personally witnessed a drastic decline in product quality in the past 5-6 years. I have installed countless feet of bamboo products from there, and never during this time did I see anything that would make me want to recommend bamboo flooring to any one. The main selling point for bamboo is that it's a sustainable product, "green" if you will. I have seen bamboo products that dent from dropping a writing pen on them to finish peeling away to so much bonding agent/glue used in the strand materials that the slightest dent or scratch will leave a hideously obvious "WHITE" spot due to the hardness of the underlying glue used in manufacturing.

I hope you find a satisfactory solution to your issue. Far to many times are customers put in a "Now what do we do" situation after spending their money at Lumber Liquidators.
Don Haley on 01/02/2013:
I purchased the exact same product and I am having similar issues. Mine is gapping between ends (shrinking? even though it acclimated to house for multiple weeks), there is finish coming off on ends, and some boards are higher than others (subfloor issue which was supposed to be resolved by the installer). In fact, we had the entire floor replaced one time by LL and now, a year later, are having issues again. Does anyone know at what point this could be a class action?
Barbara on 01/02/2013:
Similarly I purchased Morningstar Bamboo 3/8x3 1/14 flooring. I had significant gapping and shrinking. The product since purchase has been discontinued. When I went to two of their stores to try to obtain additional flooring to relay the floor, the asst. manager and other salesman out right told me that the floor was discontinued for this specific reason. I was then given a 1-800 number to call and complain. Of course, I went through the standard complaint route assuming that since they were aware of the problem, they would offer some remedy. To my surprise I received a letter that basically told me what gapping is, how to prevent and if interested, to pursue at my own cost an inspection (an inspection for something they are already aware of). Unfortunately when I searched on reviews for the product, it gave me the ones that were posted only on their site (which were great). I should have searched for complaints. Even the BBB has this company rated at A . I plan on submitting a complaint to the BBB next, which I sugguest all should too.
justaintright on 07/03/2013:
I've installed morning star wood in only like 6 house's. and outa 6 at least 4 had shrinking problem. I pulled up the hole floor and reset it. Now the same floors have reopened gaps.when is enough enough I say?????????
Kam on 03/14/2014:
I did contact GE Capitol who is financing my flooring. They delayed my payment 1month and then I received a letter stating that they had "released the dispute in favor of LL". Who had sent them a reply stating they had notified HSS of this issue and they will be contacting me to resolve the "installation problems." What a crock! Won't be using that credit card company anymore!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Worst Customer Service/Worthless Warranty
Posted by on
STAY AWAY FROM LUMBER LIQUIDATOR. Bought 700 SQ Feet of Summer Retreat Teak Laminate Flooring. Here are the highlights of my complaints.

**GAPS were forming only after few weeks of installation.

a) Had a professional with 20+ years of experience inspect the flooring and he concluded that the locking system in the flooring is very very weak and that might be causing the gap.
b) Called LL to file a claim.
c) The claim representative never answered any of my calls, voice mails or emails. The only way to get through to the claim representative was to call the 800 number and ask for the claim representative.
d) With the case not going anywhere after a few weeks, I had to threatened the claim representative with my intention to file a complaint to BBB, FTC and Attorney General to get the case moving.
e) When I was finally able to get through, I was told immediately that they had determined that gaps were caused by installation error or humidity just by looking at the pictures. After me further question on how they determine that, they finally agree send a inspector to examine my floor. Hm...I wonder why they agreed to a inspection.
f) The inspection report was pretty bias. It was pretty obvious that the inspector are looking for any slight installation error and blame the gaps on that. In this case, the inspector said the gap was caused by no joint stagger and support it by including selective pictures. The inspector took a lot of pictures of the gaps and many of them do show joint stagger in it but was not included in the report and made no mention of it.
g)The whole process took 2 months and that's after many many calls.

*** WARRANTY IS WORTHLESS.

a) Only covers Manufacturing defects and you will only get STORE CREDIT back. So if your flooring is defective then you get get store credit and chances are you will end up buying more defective flooring.
b) Their warranty process is a sham. See above.

*** WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE.

a) Had to return some product and was told that corporate will send out a check for the refund in 3-5 weeks. IT TOOK 7 WEEKS just to get my refund and that's after a few calls to their 800 number to push for the refund. If I had not called, I wonder if I would have still gotten my refund or god knows how long it would take. The only explanation that I got was that their Accounting department had technical difficulties.

*** I have read hundreds of COMPLAINTS on Lumber Liquidators and they have much commonalities in them. Very Bad Customer Service, Worthless Warranties, Quality of the product is not consistent(you might get quality flooring if you are lucky).


     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 04/26/2011:
This is the second LL complaint I've seen today. The previous one was about gaps/splitting with bamboo flooring. The inspector's report was similar in the other review, too.
face it on 04/26/2011:
DO NOT BUY.....I am so sorry you had this experience. As you stated in your comment, you are not alone. The amount of complaints against this company is nothing short of staggering. Having done installation for them for over 10 years. In the early days if there was any sort of problem , regardless of the cause, I witnessed the manager of the Lumber Liquidators store going way above and beyond his job duties to make sure the customer was completely satisfied. That all changed a few years back when Liquidators had an internal change and they went corporate. Now they have the worst customer service, and they border on illegal activity advertising "acceptable" product when in actuality it is nothing less than junk.
there are no inspectors out there that are going to pin the blame on Liquidators (or any other manufacturer) as it is part of there job to push any and all problems off on the installer. There are times when the installer does not follow directions and improperly installs a product. But most of the time these hidden little guidelines are not made known to the customer or installer before the installation is done, it is only afterwards when an inspector is called into the issue that these guidelines are brought to light.
I m glad that you where able to see the amounts of complaints against them I only wish that you had seen them before you made a purchase.
DoNotBuyFromLumberLiquidator on 06/09/2011:
UPDATE.....I posted my review of the laminate flooring to LL. Lo and behold, the review never made it in their website. Hm....I wonder why.
face it on 06/09/2011:
Do not buy,

This comes as no surprise, especially since there entire image is based on lies and deception. I only hope that future customers read this and take this warning DO NO BUY FROM LUMBER LIQUIDATORS!!!
Skye on 06/09/2011:
I've never read one review that says anything good about this place.
pat on 07/18/2011:
I had an experience with Lumber Liquidators-flooring coming apart, blamed everything on the installer and myself, dismissed my complaint, they looked at pics and never sent a rep to look at my floors. Also, read the warranty carefully-I have had to eat this warranty and now have a house with crappy floors-NEVER AGAIN LL!!!!!!!!!
Mam01 on 10/08/2011:
OMG, this could have been my report. We are in the same situation. They decided after looking at my pictures that all my issues are install related. We had an experienced licensed contractor insall our floor. Every package contained multiple defective pieces, we had to buy an additional 3 boxes to compensate. Warps, chips, paint stains, etc. Spacing appeared weeks after install, they sent me a letter with instructions on fixing. The 20 year warranty is bogus, it covers none of the defects of a substandard product. A total waste of money and their service is atrocious
Dutcandy on 12/11/2011:
I agree with these complaints, at first LL was all nice cause I wanted to buy flooring, then after only 3 months after I put down resilient plank flooring and joints came apart, and big black ring around braided rug, they want my house insurance info, HA big joke, they won't honor there 50yr home owner warranty. Never again!!!
ukrockhunter on 01/12/2012:
Exactly the same. I wish I found this site before they got me. HORRIBLE BUSINESS and PRODUCT please BE WARNED
Close commentsAdd reply
Lumber Liquidators Warranty is a TOTAL scam
Posted by on
TOANO, VIRGINIA -- Spent almost 10,000 dollars on a prefinished floor by Lumber Liquidators. After only a week of normal use I noticed serious scratching. I took closer notice and marked over 100 scratches on these floors, many all the way through the finish! Three salesmen we spoke to before buying this product all answered the same questions we asked....will our dogs or children scratch this floor with their normal use? They assured we would have no problem, explained how these floors are ideal with pets and even gave us promotional material that showed a large dog on this floor.

After my complaints, LL demanded pictures and samples. I sent those and they quickly sent me a letter concluding that things were not their fault and that their warranty didn't protect against scratching. I demanded an inspector whose conclusion was 'that the scratches were caused by our dog and the problems were site related NOT product related'. The inspector didn't even test any of the wood!

We have had hard wood floors and Pergo floors that last many years without a single scratch.

I would strongly recommend against buying anything at Lumber liquidators. The salesmen lie. The warranty is a sham. The products are junk.
Don't waste your money! ! !
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
dan gordon on 11/24/2009:
I'm sorry you learned a hard lesson. First of all I've spent 30 yrs as a wholesale flooring rep. NO MFCTR of any product warrants against scratching. Flooring warrantys are written to sound good but do little. LL has a horrible reputation but any prefinished floor would have suffered the same fate. Just google flooring forums or LL and you will see multiple posts dealing with flooring issues. The good news is that this type of flooring can easily be recoated down the road without resanding. Cost is pretty minimal. If you had damaged Pergo type laminates there is no ability to refinish. Buy a Dremel or dogg booties or you will have continued problems.
Ytropious on 11/24/2009:
Protip: clip the doggie nails. If you can hear them clip clop on the floor they are too long and need a trim.
Lifemates on 10/11/2010:
Sales people make many claims to sell the product, you should have asked if it was covered in the warranty.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Excessive Shrinkage & Gaps - Formaldehyde in Resin
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEW JERSEY -- Lumber Liquidators is the dollar store of retail flooring. I bought the Morning Star Bamboo and it's junk.
One of the reasons I bought this floor is because they advertise it being "green"....how can it be green if it has formaldehyde in it! So what are you saying? It's good for the enviorment but it may give you Cancer? Would you want your children playing or crawling on this floor? My husband and I have both experienced sore & dry throats and it has a very distinct smell. We were fine before this floor was installed. And another thing to keep in mind, there was no indication on the labeling or the box saying it was formaldehyde compliant. This is in gross violation of The Formaldehyde Standards Act for Composite Wood Products that was put into law by President Obama in 2010.

After 2 months when it was installed we started getting large gaps and separations that ran the whole perimeter of one wall. The installers came and repaired it and 3 months later it happened again. Called LL and they sent out one of "their " inspectors....what a joke this guy was. We went by all the guidelines, bought a humidifier, meter,....the works!
Literally baby sat this floor.....which is totally ridiculous but we did it and this guy still found fault. I have come to the conclusion it really doesn't matter what you do because they will find a reason to blame you or the installer. They have a nice little racket going on. And their 30 warranty......doesn't mean diddley squat!
That's even a bigger joke! All I can say is don't let their low prices fool you. If you buy from them and have a problem it will be the biggest headache of your life.
Just read the reviews because they are telling you the truth....I know, because I was one of their victims. If you are reading this and decide not to buy their products then you are one of the lucky ones!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ron H on 09/03/2014:
I have had the same experience with them and my Bamboo strand floor. Both my house and my customers house we have had the same issues, cracking topcoat, resin seeping out, curling of edges. We used the sealer they told me to and problems after a year and blame me who is a licensed contractor in the state of Florida. This is NOT the first wood floor I have installed. Please contact me at hrc_llc@yahoo.com I would like to know what you did because I am looking into different options for warranty help. Thanks and feel free to pass my email on to others who have had problems with them on the morning star brand.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service Abuse
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I went to the Raleigh NC store to buy in-stock flooring. I asked about the return/refund terms before the purchase. I was told by a female employee I could return the flooring as long as it was unopened. I was surprised about the lengthy multi-page receipt which included a full page of fine print though. I signed in several places on several sheets of paper for the purchase, took the flooring, and left the store. About a week later I needed to return the flooring. I was told that I would be charged a 20% restocking fee. When I questioned the 20 % restocking fee, the manager, Jason, approached me and mocked me for not reading the fine print on one of the pages of the receipt document. I was very shocked at his outrageous behavior, but continued to question the fairness of the policy which had not been fully explained when I questioned the female employee who had completed my receipt the week before. I told the manager that she had not advised me about the restocking fee, but the manager insisted in a belligerent way that I was to blame for not listening. At one point he leaned across the counter and threatened me. He kept his hands on the counter but his face was only about 10 inches away from me. He insisted I sign the return agreement but refused to sign it himself. When I asked him to sign it he placed an "X" on the signature line and threw it under the counter. One thing I don't need to find in a retail environment is an angry, obnoxious, belligerent employee behind the counter who threatens me by saying, "I know your address." This manager acted in a way that would make a customer question his psychological stability. I don't know yet if he actually refunded my purchase price as he refused to sign to acknowledge my return.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Paul on 02/05/2014:
That multi-page contract was a warning. I always try to browse fine print top to bottom before signing.anything, but especially when making a purchase. When you asked about refunds, the woman should have told you about the restocking fee - but unfortunately, she did not. After seeing many reviews of this company I am sadly not shocked at what happened to you. The worst part is that if this is surplus stock for liquidation, charging a restocking fee may not be legit.
jktshff1 on 02/06/2014:
If a csr tells you a specific policy is applicable, the reply should be..."please show that to me in your written policy statement"..if unable to, the csr's statement means nothing,.
Weedwhacked on 02/07/2014:
" I signed in several places on several sheets of paper for the purchase, took the flooring, and left the store."

You agreed to all their conditions by signing in several places.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Customer Service Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
CHERRY HILL, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased $13,000 in flooring for my second home in another state. I also used Lumber Liquidators installers - $6,000+ estimate. The order was shipped in multiple deliveries because they couldn't get the order correct. The stair treads were never completely delivered correctly. The store manager Mike refused to help us and we had to enlist the corporate customer care team. The installer thought he could complete the job in 2 days and because it is a second home we have to pay every time our caretaker opens and closes our home. He has been there 10 times and the project is not completed. We were still missing 2 stair treads. I called the store and Mike the manager told me he had 2 in inventory and because of all the problems would ship overnight for free. The package never arrived so we called on Wednesday for a tracking number and was told we would get a call back. My wife called 2x on Thursday for a number and never received a call back. I called the store later and they gave me a tracking number.

On Friday I called Fed Ex only to learn there was never a pick up. I called the store on Sat and was told Mike would call me back. The installer called and talked to Danny who said the treads were in the warehouse and I could pick them up. I called Danny to confirm I could get them and ask why I was lied to about the treads being shipped. Danny got angry, said some inappropriate things about bodily harm to me and removed the treads from their inventory system so I couldn't pick up. The installer got fed up and bought 2 treads from another store and is scheduled to come back again to complete the job. My wife returned the unused flooring and glue to the store after it was approved by customer care. They charged a 20% stocking fee and were angry at my wife saying they would now miss their quota for the month and made here wait 1 hr before they would remove from her car.

When I called Customer Care to tell them about this latest issue their response was "I never lied to you". This has taken over 45 days, I have spent 10's of hours on the phone trying to fix, and incurred over $400 in fees to open my house for the installer and is still not complete. They clearly don't care about service regardless of how big your order is if you do business with them manage your expectations accordingly.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
JoeKay on 08/02/2013:
I guess you never read all the zillions of complaints about Lumber Liquidators on this and other complaint sites. Tsk Tsk. I recently went into one while looking for flooring (just for the heck of it) and didn't see anything special and the prices were not even close to the ones I got on line with free shipping.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible experience!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CLEVELAND, OHIO -- I’m a contractor and was recently introduced to manager at 540 Old Brookpark Rd, Cleveland OH.

Purchased floors for couple of jobs at store already. Sales people could barely close order and loading material was real adventure, but I did not think much of it. However on my next visit after waiting in line for more than an hour (three customers in front of me), manager enters the store and picks person behind me in line to help. After I politely stated that it was my turn, he started yelling and lecturing me in front of everybody and asking: “Who am I to come to his store and tell him how to do his job?” Actually I had to agree to his terms so he would finish my order and my time would not be wasted, but needless to say I’m never going back there again.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
BigAl on 05/26/2013:
I have a very hard time believing that you waited "in line" for more than an hour. When you exaggerate things like this it does not help the validity of your complaint. Now if you posted "I waited in line for what seemed like more than an hour" your post would get its message across to the readers without turning them off. Just sayin.
Roger Gibson on 06/26/2013:
I hate Lumber Liquidators. They are the worst people in the world to deal with. Hope you spend your hard working money wisely and go to your local floor dealer. You will be treated much better and your warranty would mean something. Lumber Liquidators warranty means a BIG FAT ZERO!!!!! They do nothing for you if you have any type of problems with your floor, except you will get blamed from them. Be smart and go elsewhere.
Barbara Gibson on 06/26/2013:
If this is the same manager I know that runs Cleveland and Canton, he is a jerk. He is very rude with people and he acts like he is king of the world. I believe you buddy. Lumber Liquidators is absolutely horrible. Run, Run, Run!!!! Spend your money elsewhere.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >