Lumber Liquidators - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
54 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The worst customer experience
Posted by on
BURLINGAME -- Here is my experience:

I arrived at Lumber Liquidators to pick up my hardwood. I went to pick up 19 boxes of flooring. Only 18 boxes are loaded. Chris explains to me that one box is beat to hell and that I could either 1) Buy the smashed box at a discount or 2) Have a new box drop-shipped to my residence. Since I need the full 19 boxes I choose to have the box shipped to my house. So far sounds fair.

On a side note when I show up LL has absolutely no twine or rope to tie my SUV hatch closed so I can accommodate all of the long boxes. They tell me that I have to use the hard plastic "wrappings" to tie my hatch closed and that usually customers "shop up with a truck" to pick up the flooring. In my entire life I have not seen a hardware store, tile shop, lumber yard ever that could not give me a 10 cent piece of twine to secure the product.

Anyway, when I get home and unload the boxes I notice immediately that another of the boxes is beat to hell along the side with a huge rip in the box and splintered flooring coming out the hole. I immediately called back and talked to Chris. Chris said he would tell Daniel (the "customer service" representative that we dealt with for the flooring) to order a second box to be shipped out to our house. He explained that when we receive the new box to simply bring in the damaged box for an exchange.

Well Friday comes and only one box arrives. It is pretty late in the day so I wait to call until Monday. On Monday I speak with Daniel and he tells me that there is nothing he can do. He explains that he shouldn't even provided me with the first replacement box and that everything is "as is". I explain to him that the damaged box was hidden when it was loaded and there was no way I could have inspected it before it left the store.

Long story short is that LL took my money for useless wood. They are extremely rude in person and on the phone and have no interest in helping the customer. The manager, Gil almost made my wife cry.

I understand that this is a liquidation out the door type store and their prices reflect it and that they can't be as flexible as a full retail store. However, they surely shouldn't be able to rip you off and they certainly don't have to be JERKS about it!!!

Avoid this store at all cost.

Company Response 03/22/2010:
I would have to agree that your accounting of a visit to this location was not in line with our expectations for service after the sale. The store should have been more accommodating and helpful, including the way we handled your damaged box issue.

On your invoice there's a number to call LL Customer Care. When a negative experience occurs we're here to help overcome these types of situations so we can learn from the experience and make changes. I will note the issue and share it with the person responsible for store operations and would like to have you call our CC department and let an agent know you need two boxes of material. Provide the label information and we'll help you. You'll need to show proof the boxes were damaged and a photo will suffice. We're sorry to hear this happened, but a call to Customer Care would have been the right step to take in this situation. We hope the rest of your project goes well and sincerely appreciate the feedback so we can do better.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Defective Bamboo flooring
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
ST PETERSBURG, FLORIDA -- I purchased Morning star Bamboo strand flooring from Lumber Liquidators in 2012, in 2014 I had boards that were seeping a resin like substance and were curling and the top coat was cracking.

I have dealt with the customer help people and I was denied any help right away after they looked at pictures. I got the flooring 101 install sheet and was told it was moisture and because we had a dog, no one even came to look at it. then I complained more the sent "Their" inspector out and he looked at it and wouldn't say any thing to me. It took a few weeks later after many calls to come to get an answer. They denied me again, said it was moisture that was the problem. I used the "moisture barrier/glue" they recommended but it was the installer they said. Well after 35+ years in the home improvement field I think I know how to install a floor. My claims were shot down and basically told "too bad!"
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
"Unstable" Bamboo... Claim Denied
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LANSING, MICHIGAN -- Well, to sum it up, I got screwed and they did not buy me dinner first! I purchased 1400 sq ft of bamboo in May 2013. I received the flooring in June. The flooring sat in my home acclimating for approximately 6 weeks. My licensed and experienced contractor (who works for LL) laid the flooring and it looked beautiful.

About 3-4 weeks later it began to gap AND cup. Not just a little bit. I notified my contractor and the Lansing MI store manager and they came together to insect my floor. After humidity readings and looking at the floor, everyone agreed the floor looks terrible and there is "something very wrong" with my flooring. I was reassured that LL would stand behind their product and replace the flooring. Ha Ha Ha!! I filled out the standard claim form and March 17th I received a denial letter regarding my claim stating it was instillation and or environmental issues. I also received a lovely Xerox copy of "Flooring 101" which I will be sure to forward to the Lansing Mi store to give to their installers. I am now in the process of the "licensed flooring inspector", which is not cheap, and a litigation attorney. This company is the worst. NEVER USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS
     
Replies
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I'm Glad I Read These Reviews First
Posted on
Rating: 3/51
BANGOR, MAINE -- I was literally 1 week from going to Lumber Liquidators and buying 700 Square feet of Hickory hardwood flooring until I read this.

It makes me sad because they seem to have nice wood at a good price, but there are just too many bad reviews and the milling issues mentioned regarding width variances concern me greatly. I guess I'll look elsewhere because the LAST thing I want or need is a nightmare company to work with when installing a hardwood floor. Why is it so [snip] hard to find a good company these days that cares? It never used to be that way in my pappy's day.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buyer Beware!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LINCOLN, NEBRASKA -- Spent $3,500.00 on a "crap-tastic" bamboo flooring and another $1500.00 for a qualified wood flooring professional to install it. Shortly after it was installed it began contracting an alarming amount. So much so, that I have 1/2 gaps at the doorways and it has pulled away from under the woodwork in several rooms. I explained the situation to the guys at the store and they told me that there was NO WARRANTY since I didn't have their breathtakingly expensive installers put it in. They agreed when I showed them pictures that it was bad, but their advice was to put transition pieces in where the floor has separated between rooms, which of course looks terrible, (speed bumps everywhere in the house) and when it warms up, the floor expands according and begins to buckle. I am going to end up throwing it all away and buying flooring from a reputable source. Note: if you don't write a positive review on their web site, they don't publish it. The flooring has since been discounted. I have had two wood flooring experts over and they just felt bad for me that I got ripped off. Both agreed the issue was defective material and can not remedied.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANFORD, FLORIDA -- After searching the Lumber Liquidators website I found the following flooring on sale for $2.96 a sq ft: http://www.lumberliquidators.com/ll/c/Fengtai-Strand-Handscraped-Bamboo-Major-Brand-PRBAMHSFT/10026736

So we hopped in the car and drove 20 miles to the nearest store which is in Sanford, FL. "We don't have it." says the salesperson, and after a few minutes on his computer he says he can't find a purchase order for it and the soonest he could probably get it is April. APRIL?!!! Then he tries to up-sell us to Anji Bamboo which is listed @ $4.99 sq/ft but says he can do $3.59 sq/ft. Fine, we'll take it. Then he asks how much we need and I tell him 480 sq ft. After another few minutes on his computer he says he doesn't have it and he "might" be able to get it from Texas. TEXAS?!! This despite the sign posted on the display of the Anji Bamboo saying "Best Seller" and "In Stock". We left in disgust over what can only be described as borderline switch-and-bait tactics and then poor customer service in response to what I imagine was viewed as a small order from the salesman's perspective.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very Poor Floor Install
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LONGMONT, COLORADO -- On 09/12/2013 we purchased a bamboo floor from Lumber Liquidators for just under $2,000. It was installed by their installer on 10/18/2013 - 10/19/2013. We were told that it would be a one day install, which turned out to take two days after the installer left the first afternoon to go to another job. When he left the first day, I looked over what he had finished and found many chips, cracks and splinters in the boards. When he returned the next day, I asked about the problems I had found and was told that he could bring in a circular saw and cut out all the bad boards and glue replacements in. We would need to buy another case of boards and we decided against spending the time and expense plus having the inconvenience and mess all over again. We are now looking for a nice big area rug to cover up most of the new floor's many problems. I have seen many bamboo floors that were installed perfectly smooth without any chips or splinters so I know our job was very shoddy. Lumber Liquidators was recommended to us, but we will NOT be passing on any recommendations.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service And Support - Make Sure Your Warranty Has Substance To It
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TOANO, VIRGINIA -- We purchased roughly 1,200 square feet of really affordable laminate and had it professionally installed. Within months of installation, we started to experience buckling in the material, creating trip hazards throughout the house. Unsure whether we had an installation or materials issue on our hands, we sought the assistance of Lumber Liquidators to get to the bottom of it.

Our hope was that they'd send someone to our property to take a look at the floors. Instead, after weeks of dodging our emails and phone calls, we received a generic response indicating our warranty was void for any number of reasons and that the matter was closed. I'm preparing to dispute the charges on my credit card, to initiate contact with the Better Business Bureau and potentially to sue them in small claims court.

I don't know whether it's the cheap product or the installation that's caused the safety hazards we're dealing within the house, but I do know that Lumber Liquidators doesn't care one way or the other. So what's their value proposition?
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK LAWN, ILLINOIS -- I ordered stair noses and have been told on three occasions the wrong date for delivery. I am still waiting. This is the worst service I ever experienced and I will make sure that I and no one I know order from this place. Home Depot and Menards are factual and reliable. This is the worst customer service I ever experienced in my life.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Stay Away!!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WESTBURY, NEW YORK -- Unfortunately, I wasn't samrt enough to read the reviews before placing my order, because now I see how many others around the country had a similar experience.

Oversold product based on the square footage I provided. Brought back sealed unused boxes. Refused refund or even store credit--very narrow window vis-a-vis returns.

I see that others as far away as Seattle had the same experience.

They are real nice until they get your money, but watch out, once they have it - - Rude and discourteous

Company Response 02/09/2012:
At the point of sale we disclose the return policy clearly on the invoice; in fact customers are required to initial the policy to avoid this exact situation from happening. You either chose to ignore the policy, or the item purchased is one noted on the invoice as follows:
Returns/Exchanges: Returns or exchanges are not permitted on opened boxes, close-outs, odd lots, final sales, special deals, special orders, clearance items and laminates. To be eligible for a return or exchange, the product must be in its original condition and have been properly stored. Installed product is considered accepted by purchaser and may not be exchanged or returned for any reason. Shipping and delivery charges are non-refundable. Any additional shipping costs relating to a return or exchange are the sole responsibility of purchaser.
Exchanges are permitted within 30 days of receipt of the product without a restocking fee. Defective product may be exchanged, prior to installation, within 90 days of receipt.
Requests for returns must be made within 30 days of receipt of the product. Approved returns are subject to a 20% restocking fee with the exception of moldings and trim. Special orders are not returnable unless the product is defective.
Without knowing who you are makes it difficult to tell if the policy applies to your purchase, but we make every accommodation possible not unlike other sellers. We apply the policy equally across the country and you’ll never see the millions of people who buy from us post because they reviewed the policy, understood what their responsibility was for returns, and what is allowed for returns and happily installed their floors without concern. If you would like to call Customer Care and share more information we may be able to help you, but this type of posting is one sided and does not fully expose the facts of your purchase. Our policy is written on the invoice, on our website, posted in the stores, and accompanies any online orders. We’re not in business to upset customers, but we also realize some customers may post in this way to get a reaction. We present the above facts and invite you to call Customer Care – the people who can best listen to your grievance and provide solutions based on facts of your purchase. Slow down, read the information we provide, understand what you’re buying, follow the warranty, read the installation instructions, follow the care instructions, and you’ll be assured a great flooring experience.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >