Lumber Liquidators - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 47 ratings and
71 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Lumber Liquidators
3000 John Deere Rd
Toano, VA 23168
1-800-366-4204 (ph)
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Stay Away From Lumber Liquidators
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My wife and I went to Lumber Liquidators in Norwalk Ct to buy Bamboo flooring for a Salon, the salesman, who was a very nice man, told us we didn't want Bamboo, we would be much better off with vinyl for what we were using it for, we still wanted Bamboo. My wife went back again a couple of weeks later to order, another salesman, pushing the vinyl also. They decided to give my wife the number for a installer so he could come out and look. Again, another really nice man. He tells my wife, she doesn't want Bamboo, I quote, "I've done many Salons, you definitely want vinyl". She finally agrees to take their advice.

They show up just like they agreed, the guys were great and the job was complete in a day. Here comes the trouble. Right away the floor starts getting scratched, within a week it's not good at all. We call the installer who does come out to look, he tells her he's never seen anything like that and the material must be defective, he says to put in a claim with LL. Well, they send someone out to look, a couple of weeks or so she gets an email more or less saying that it's not their fault, that people shouldn't be wearing certain shoes on the floor, also they shouldn't be using carts either. The carts have hardly any weight them at all.

In other words, they don't want to know anything!! And this flooring was totally what they told her she needed for a salon. I feel really bad for her, she finally saved up enough money to get new floors and now this. Now, maybe two months later they look terrible for new flooring. Oh, and one of the planks are lifting already. We put cheap flooring down in the break room and dressing room from Home D. It's been down for over a year or two. Not a scratch!!! Thumbs down to Lumber Liquidators!!

Now she's going to have to pay an attorney to get somewhere with them. We should have gone to a local reputable company that would have taken care of the problem. You think you're saving money but that's not always the case!! Thank you so much for listening everyone!!!

Poor Quality Produce, Even Poorer Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- In late 2013 I purchased Lumber Liquidators Bellawood engineered hardwood flooring and made arrangements for installation with one of their staff installers. The work was sloppy with poorly installed transitions at doorways and a bowing gap around the fireplace. Within a couple of weeks the floor began to creak in spots when it was stepped on. The condition became so bad my 12-pound cat could make it creak when walking across it.

Contacting Lumber Liquidators resulted in many forms to complete requiring so much general and very technical information many hours and back and forth communications online were required to complete the process. After several weeks an inspector finally came and agreed the floor had problems. The final evaluation from them revealed they claimed no responsibility for the floor itself but blamed problems on the installation. They contacted the installer and he called and said he would replace the floor, nothing about parts. His exact words were THE FLOOR.

When he arrived, he instead brought only 2 boxes of boards and said he needed to level the concrete under the worst area. He then tore open a roughly 4-foot square area of a much larger room and used a power tool to basically make a mess. Watching him work it was clear the area was not level when he finished. He stuffed in different underlayment and closed it up. The floor creaked immediately when stepped on. He shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't know what else to do.

In less than a month the area was no better than before. When I attempted to contact Lumber Liquidators again they would not respond. A few months ago another company installed a Shaw laminate floor in an adjacent room. The floor is thicker and sturdier than the Lumber Liquidators engineered hardwood and feels very solid underfoot. Best of all there is no creaking anywhere. It is true. You get what you pay for.

Defected Stair nosings, Absolutely NO Warranty, Won't Stand Behind Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- I am a professional licensed contractor out here in Arizona. I had a client I installed 1700 sq feet of "Remington Oak" Schon engineered wood flooring for. The project included upstairs, downstairs, and the staircase. All the leading edges of each stair tread received a stair nosing. Well after a year and a half, I returned to my client's residence to give an estimate for some cabinetry. My client points out "6" stair nosings with hairline cracks going with the grain.

All have these cracks in same location, on the back section of the nosing. These were installed with polyurethane construction adhesive, and one finish nail on the left and right side of the "Leading edge" (meaty part of the material) no fasteners anywhere near crack locations. 6 months or so prior to this discovery, we had one with a much more noticeable crack in same location. I replaced the nosing under "My" warranty and paid Lumber Liquidators full price for the unit. This was the last one they had (they were discontinuing Remington Oak).

I called their "Customer care line" and filled out the claim form and was assigned to **. Well, I sent the letter via certified mail, and got confirmation of delivery. No response for a couple weeks. I had to call back, complain, then magically received an email. I got excuses like, the weather, busy, etc. Then miss ** states she never received the form. I provided name of individual who signed and photo of signature. I was avoided repeatedly, like many other people on here.

Case in point, they don't stand behind their product. The stair nosings are meant to be on the stairs, and should perform in a reasonable manner. My clients are middle aged folks with a cat, and are very neat people. I feel the product is sub par, something in the milling process, drying process, is to blame. Very weak along the grain. Don't sell something if it doesn't stand up to its purpose! The customer "care" and I use that term loosely, is a bunch of mediocre wage kids, who have a check list of questions and excuses in front of them. I think Lumber liquidators got greedy, blew up too fast, and won't last much longer.

Bait and Switch
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANFORD, FLORIDA -- After searching the Lumber Liquidators website I found the following flooring on sale for $2.96 a sq ft: **. So we hopped in the car and drove 20 miles to the nearest store which is in Sanford, FL. "We don't have it," says the salesperson, and after a few minutes on his computer he says he can't find a purchase order for it and the soonest he could probably get it is April. APRIL?!!! Then he tries to up-sell us to Anji Bamboo which is listed @ $4.99 sq/ft but says he can do $3.59 sq/ft. Fine, we'll take it. Then he asks how much we need and I tell him 480 sq ft.

After another few minutes on his computer he says he doesn't have it and he "might" be able to get it from Texas. TEXAS?!! This despite the sign posted on the display of the Anji Bamboo saying "Best Seller" and "In Stock". We left in disgust over what can only be described as borderline switch-and-bait tactics and then poor customer service in response to what I imagine was viewed as a small order from the salesman's perspective.

Horrible experience!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- I'm a contractor and was recently introduced to manager at 540 Old Brookpark Rd, Cleveland OH. Purchased floors for couple of jobs at store already. Sales people could barely close order and loading material was real adventure, but I did not think much of it. However on my next visit after waiting in line for more than an hour (three customers in front of me), manager enters the store and picks person behind me in line to help.

After I politely stated that it was my turn, he started yelling and lecturing me in front of everybody and asking: 'Who am I to come to his store and tell him how to do his job?' Actually I had to agree to his terms so he would finish my order and my time would not be wasted, but needless to say I'm never going back there again.

Lumber Liquidators Hires Hack Installers Leaving the Customer High and Dry
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PETALUMA, CALIFORNIA -- I am having a nightmarish experience after selecting LL to install a pre-engineered maple floor. From the git-go it was a disaster. The installer for the job did not correctly estimate the job (he missed the second story of our house) I had as-builts and provided a copy so he could finish his estimate. 2 days into the job he says he doesn't have enough wood and blames me!

It gets worse, he runs out of wood and leaves the master bedroom floor unfinished! I trip over loose, unsecured boards getting to my dresser every morning. We can't get more wood for 3 more weeks, installer says it's not his fault, Lumber Liquidators just shrugs. We knew he installed it wrong so we hired a 3rd party inspector who verified the installer voided the pre-engineered wood warranty by installing end joints less than 6" from an end joint.

Again Lumber Liquidators shrugs and tells us to work it out with HSS the company who hired the installer. The only remedy is to pull up the flooring and start over. 2 months have gone by and we are no further from getting a resolution than the day the installer walked off the job. Avoid Lumber Liquidators and pay a little extra and get a local flooring company. I know I wish I did!

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

S. HACKENSACK, NEW JERSEY -- We had this floor installed last year upon their recommendation. We followed all instructions and used installer they suggested. Our floor is cupping, squeaking and coming up. The 30 yr. warranty and their customer service is a joke. They have done nothing and blame it on moisture even though they used moisture barrier. I have researched and found hundreds of complaints online. STAY AWAY from them. Be like us and use all possible outlets to warn consumers. Since they fail to respond to customers, warn others and maybe they will wake up to customer complaints.

Resolution Update 03/16/2013:

I have received a full store credit to replace the floor.

Floor Buckling After 7 Months of Being Installed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- Last year Lumber Liquidators installed 8 areas in my house with the thick flooring. In April noticed an area of the floor buckling. Contacted customer service and they forwarded the information to warranty. Now this next decision was made from the pics I took, no one had been out to even look at the floor. Warranty dept said it was an install problem. ** sent out another partner company to look at the floor last month. They are saying there is too much moisture in the floor area, of which is the computer room.

I made the comment that apparently the installer did not do the proper test for moisture and went ahead and did the install anyway. By the way the original installer has to this day never contacted me. As for the outcome after spending $6000.00 I have no resolve on this problem, not even a call back from ** with what will be done about this. I sent her an email and still not response. Do not buy from Lumber Liquidators their warranty is crap. I actually am considering on suing this company for their negligence in this.

Company Response 07/09/2012:

LL Response: The installation concerns are upsetting and we've asked The Home Service Store to reach out to you. Keep in mind moisture intrusion can occur and there can be many causes that have nothing to do with the installer, so please keep an open mind as the warranty covers any concerns where the installaiton is at fault, but does not protect against issues that are not installaiton related in nature. We agree this must be frustrating, but to make a blanket statement about the warranty like you did ignores the possibility that the problem may be your own and not a product, or installation concern at all. We appreciate your shopping with us and the floor looks great from the photos I viewed. No matter where you source materials from, if there's a moisture concern within your home it would react this way until the source of the problems corrected. A representative from HSS will be contacting you shortly.

Worst Customer Service/Worthless Warranty
By -

STAY AWAY FROM LUMBER LIQUIDATORS. Bought 700 SQ Feet of Summer Retreat Teak Laminate Flooring. Here are the highlights of my complaints. GAPS were forming only after few weeks of installation. Had a professional with 20+ years of experience inspect the flooring and he concluded that the locking system in the flooring is very very weak and that might be causing the gap. Called LL to file a claim. The claim representative never answered any of my calls, voice mails or emails. The only way to get through to the claim representative was to call the 800 number and ask for the claim representative.

With the case not going anywhere after a few weeks, I had to threatened the claim representative with my intention to file a complaint to BBB, FTC and Attorney General to get the case moving. When I was finally able to get through, I was told immediately that they had determined that gaps were caused by installation error or humidity just by looking at the pictures. After me further question on how they determine that, they finally agree send an inspector to examine my floor. Hm...I wonder why they agreed to an inspection.

The inspection report was pretty bias. It was pretty obvious that the inspector are looking for any slight installation error and blame the gaps on that. In this case, the inspector said the gap was caused by no joint stagger and support it by including selective pictures. The inspector took a lot of pictures of the gaps and many of them do show joint stagger in it but was not included in the report and made no mention of it. The whole process took 2 months and that's after many many calls.

WARRANTY IS WORTHLESS. Only covers Manufacturing defects and you will only get STORE CREDIT back. So if your flooring is defective then you get store credit and chances are you will end up buying more defective flooring. Their warranty process is a sham. See above.

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. Had to return some product and was told that corporate will send out a check for the refund in 3-5 weeks. IT TOOK 7 WEEKS just to get my refund and that's after a few calls to their 800 number to push for the refund. If I had not called, I wonder if I would have still gotten my refund or god knows how long it would take. The only explanation that I got was that their Accounting department had technical difficulties.

I have read hundreds of COMPLAINTS on Lumber Liquidators and they have much commonalities in them. Very Bad Customer Service, Worthless Warranties, Quality of the product is not consistent (you might get quality flooring if you are lucky).

Bad Wood and A Terrible Install
By -

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I bought the wood from the LL store in Pensacola FL. I picked the wood up and put it out for seven days as instructed. The installers (hired through LL) showed up and said the wood was bad (warped and cut to differing widths). They delivered new boxes and assured me that this wood was good. After 7 more days, the installers showed up and began the install. I told them three times which way I wanted the wood to run. They still started putting it down the wrong way. I told them to change it and one of them went off the handle and argued that I told him to do it that way. I said no I didn't and told them to do it the right way.

He got so mad that the other two guys had to take him home for the day. His home was over an hour's drive one way from my house. The other two returned and started putting down the wood. The wood they pulled up was thrown together in a box with glue all over it. It was ruined. The next day they returned with the hot head and put the rest of the floor down. They did a poor job. Some of the wood was cut wrong and was not covered by the quarter round. There are defects in the floor. One of the boxes suffered from the same problem as the first (warped and miss cut wood). The installers installed it anyway. You can see the bowed and miss cut wood in the floor.

I bought enough T-Molding to do all the doors and they failed to do three of them. They did however take the extra T-Molding with them when they left. The worst thing of all is the glue they got all over the floor. It will take months to clean it all off. I notified the regional installer manager that I wanted my T-Molding back and she assured me she would have it returned. Never heard from her again.

I also sent this message to the Lumber Liquidators Store Manager who assured me he would send the message on to his regional manager. I doubt if he ever did because I have not heard anything from them. I do not recommend Lumber Liquidators to anyone who cares about the quality of their floor!!

Company Response 04/05/2010:

Boards will vary in width as you cannot measure each individual board since wood is a hydroscopic product, it will take in and release moisture changing the dimensions of the boards, so a more common and acceptable practice is to lay out (rack) one box to see if there are milling issues. If there's a problem, we'll take them back and hold the manufacturer accountable as we did in your case.

If you used the installation services through HSS and were not happy with their work, the installation comes with a warranty and you should call the number provided and file a complaint. There's always two sides to every story and we can appreciate you may not have had a good experience, and I'll use the points you made about the direction of the flooring as an example. Installation wise it may have made more sense to install the flooring a certain way considering doorways or long runs, so the rub here may have been the installers trying to protect your investment over a personal preference regarding direction.

Either way it sounds like this was not a good experience and store as well as Customer Care will always do what they can providing assistance to help your project go smoothly. If you're missing material - Call the store or Customer Care and we will expedite delivery for you. Always participate in the installation process so the final quality is exactly what you want and you'll have a better experience in the future.

Top of Page | Next Page >
[ X ]

Find the Right Company for Your Home Improvement Project

Get a Quote