Preview Review

Next Review

Lumber Liquidators Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Customer Abuse
By -

NEW CUMBERLAND, PENNSYLVANIA -- I went to Lumber Liquidators on the recommendation of a colleague. During my first visit, I explained that I was going to floor two levels of my house. Due to budget constraints, I would buy enough flooring at the end of each month to complete one room. Any remaining flooring would be saved for the next room. Below are details of my experience with Lumber Liquidators (New Cumberland, PA) that have frustrated me to the point that I will no longer do or recommend business with this company.

June, 2011 - I opened up the first box of flooring to start the first room. The box was in rough shape and it appeared boards were missing. Since this was my first-time installing wood flooring, I thought maybe Bellawood packed their boxes loose. Though, and with hindsight, this box was suspect since it was wrapped in plastic. As I opened other boxes, I realized the boxes are packed tight and indeed the first box was missing approximately 33% of the boards. I absorbed the loss and learned my lesson: check boxes carefully before they are loaded into my car.

July, 2011 - I unloaded flooring for the second room. I discovered one of the boxes labelled as 'Odd Lot' (mixed mills) with a reduced price. I had paid full price for all of the boxes so this caught my attention. I called and was informed that mixed mills means the differences between board could be up to 1/8 inch. I was further informed that these differences are typical with wood floor.

Reading the companies website, I learned that installing 'Odd Lot' flooring voids their warranty. I had to return to the store to replace this box with the correct box. No apology, but a clear message that I was lucky that I was not being charged a restocking fee. Strike two! I was starting to feel that perhaps this was not an accident.

August, 2011 - I went to store to get flooring for third room. It was not in stock and had to be ordered. I was informed I would be called the following week when the shipment arrived. No phone call. I called two weeks later, I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived. A month later I called, I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived.

November, 2011 - I contacted customer care with the concerns I listed above. The next day an e-mail alerted me they were looking into my complaint, but they had contacted the store and my flooring was in. That evening, there was a message on my answering machine from the store that my flooring was in. When I arrived at the store to get the flooring, I learned that the floor was not in because what was sent did not match the correct mill code.

November 23, 2011 - After three months, I finally got my flooring. I explained my frustration to the store manager. I am halfway through my remodeling and stuck with a decision to finish the project with this product (feeling that the company does not treat customers with respect) or throwing in the towel and finding a different product that is a close match to finish the remaining rooms.

The manager did not resolve any of my concerns and stated he called me last week to inform me that the flooring had arrived. I check my phone log for the entire month. He did not call my phone number last week. He either lied or misdialed. Based on my experiences to date, I doubt it was a misdial. I also have not yet heard back from their customer care.

It is my opinion that this company does not want my business or value - and respect - its customers. I will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission. Hindsight is 20/20. At least I know to avoid this company for any future building or remodeling projects.

Replies
Advertisement
Company Won't Stand Behind Their Work
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORMAN, OKLAHOMA -- This company is awful. In spite of documented problems with the crew that installed my mother's floor, and in spite of the evidence their investigator found showing almost no glue used to prevent moisture from hurting the floor, Lumber Liquidators won't fix my 76 year old mother's floor because she called in her complaint 3 DAYS after their 1 year cutoff date. 3 DAYS.

The crew they used has since been fired for poor workmanship, with several floors they installed having been replaced, however rather than do the right thing for an elderly customer, they hide behind their deadline. While they may be within their legal rights, they are unethical and have the worst possible customer service. Spend your flooring money elsewhere. DO NOT SUPPORT THIS COMPANY WITH YOUR HARD-EARNED MONEY!

Replies
Will not stand behind their products
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

SANFORD, FLORIDA -- I just had a run-in with LL. We bought some expensive engineered hardwood from LL. We used their installers to install a floating floor on top of a concrete floor. We brought the flooring home and opened all the boxes for 10 days before it was installed. Right after it was installed (in 2 rooms) the floor squeaks and pops every time you step on it. We called LL and they said that was not normal. Wait 30 days and see if it gets better. It did not and we called back several times and each time we were told this is not normal.

To make a long story a bit shorter, we had two separate inspectors come (both were arranged by LL). They finally sent out the installers to remove a part of the floor for the second inspector. We got a letter of explanation about 30 days later saying that they do not warrant squeaks and their product is not defective. I have never heard of this type of floor making the noises it makes. This was verified by some builder-types that have seen lots of flooring. Do not use Lumber Liquidators - you will regret it like I have.

Replies
Terrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I tried to get my basement floor done. I placed my order and paid in full in Ann Arbor store. They came in, took measurements, and delivered the product within 2-3 weeks. For installment, they stood me up for first time citing a family emergency. When I tried to reschedule, I had to call a minimum 5-6 times in 2 weeks period. Finally, I got scheduled on Monday at 8:30 am. After numerous calls, they showed up at 1 pm. only to find out that it was not the right product delivered at the first place.

Now I am waiting for them to come pick up their stuff and get my money back. In the meantime, I started looking on the internet and found two other installers who agreed to perform the same job for half as much!!! I do not recommend their service at all.

Replies
Advertisement
Morning Star Bamboo Click
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- We purchased the bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators on July 18, 2015. When we were installing it I noticed the annoying cracking noises it made when you walked on it. I thought it would subside after a few weeks. Big mistake. The floor is scratching very easily and two boards split and the finish is dull. The have no customer service. Won't send anyone out to look at the floor. They sent a form to fill out and to take photos. How can I send the cracking sounds it makes without having someone take a look at the floor. They are just blowing people off.

Replies
Stranded Bamboo Flooring Failure
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- We installed 3/8" x 3 stranded bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators. Our floor got wet maybe a 4 oz of water, and now it is cupping, this flooring is no good and is NOT WATER RESISTANT. Plus talked to sales representative at Lumber Liquidators and they do not warranty the floor if it gets wet! This should have never happened if it was a quality bamboo floor! The sell of this floor was that it can be used in kitchens, bathrooms etc, but don't get it wet? Crap!

Lumber Liquidators says these floors do cup and should not get wet. Funny, they say it can be used in bathrooms & kitchens. Hmmm, think water is in these rooms?! Like I said, DO NOT BUY 3/8" STRANDED BAMBOO FLOORING FROM LUMBER LIQUIDATORS. They do not back the product as advertised!

Replies
"Unstable" Bamboo...Claim Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LANSING, MICHIGAN -- Well, to sum it up, I got screwed and they did not buy me dinner first! I purchased 1400 sq ft of bamboo in May 2013. I received the flooring in June. The flooring sat in my home acclimating for approximately 6 weeks. My licensed and experienced contractor (who works for LL) laid the flooring and it looked beautiful.

About 3-4 weeks later it began to gap AND cup, not just a little bit. I notified my contractor and the Lansing, MI store manager and they came together to inspect my floor. After humidity readings and looking at the floor, everyone agreed the floor looks terrible and there is "something very wrong" with my flooring. I was reassured that LL would stand behind their product and replace the flooring. Ha Ha Ha!!

I filled out the standard claim form and March 17th I received a denial letter regarding my claim stating it was instillation and or environmental issues. I also received a lovely Xerox copy of "Flooring 101" which I will be sure to forward to the Lansing, MI store to give to their installers. I am now in the process of the "licensed flooring inspector", which is not cheap, and a litigation attorney. This company is the worst. NEVER USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS.

Replies
Absolutely Avoid This Store -- They Sell Absolute Junk And Rejects
By -

AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- This is a very brief abstract of my experience with Lumber Liquidator (LL) here in Auburn WA: Last year I purchased a 3" Patagonian Mahagony that came with worm holes, splits, and bad milling (almost 1/16Th milling difference). When I went back to tell the about it they told me "oh nobody told you that this is a cabinet type Hardwood?" I said "no and I'm half way through installation" (do it your-self-er). I tried to return the defects but they would not refund it. They said they would sell me more of the better quality, for a Dollar less per Square foot. The one they gave me was of the same bad quality.

My next experience happen this year helping a friend to purchase about 600 sq ft of Brazilian Teak. We took a sample from the wall priced at $5.99 per Sq ft and liked the color and called to place the order. When we placed the order they did not say anything about "seconds" or "Odd Lot" or "reject", we ordered what we have taken as a sample and the salesman/Manager ** told me, due to my past unpleasant experience with the "Patagonian Mahogany", he will give my friend a special discount ($2.99/Sq ft) and he said "but it will take three weeks to ship from VA."

Three weeks passed and no Teak. He ** apologized that the truck was to full to ship and it would take another two to three weeks. The delivery came after 16 days with 400 Sq Ft instead of 530 sq ft and being SO GRACIOUS he delivered them to the House last Thursday. Yesterday we examined the boxes and found a label on every one of them saying "ODD LOT", we open three of them and pull few from each, and to our HORROR we found every plank with a WAX Marker mark right where the defect is.

The Defects are ranging from bad Surface Milling's to bad finish, to cavities...YOU NAME IT! We pulled more from other boxes only to realize that all the boxes contained REJECTS by somebody who bought them and returned them all marked. We contacted the store (** who was not available) and we talked to ** who said he cannot do anything about it and we should call tomorrow and talk to **, even though he located the order ** and can see all the details.

My friend received a call back from ** who, when confronted with the quality of the Teak, did not even offer to rectify the order, he listened silently, then he indicated he will get the trucking co. to remove the boxes from the house and just a minute ago my friend called me confirming the credit refund. We will be contacting all who have similar experience with LL to file a Class Action Lawsuit and joins other Class Action Lawsuits nationally listed by Googling "Class Action Lawsuit against National Lumber". Our goal is to stop LL from deceiving customers as to the quality of their product and prevent LL from damaging others in WA and other States.

Company Response 03/15/2010:

Our company sells a large variety of products from top of the line flooring, to odd lot flooring, but the consumer is never misled and the prices and policies are clearly marked.

The complaint does not match the stores accounting of the transaction and our invoice clearly states what to do if you feel dissatisfied with service, price, or quality.

I would like to add that ODD LOT stickers require no examination of the box to find them - They are bright fluorescent green and clearly visible. The markings on the boards are from quality checks performed at the time of production identifying less than perfect material.

Your invoice clearly states the quality of the product purchased and even though this is a non-returnable item, the store not only delivered product, but also collected the return in an attempt to work with you because you were not satisfied. The store clearly divulged proper information at the time of purchase with a signed invoice, so your claim goes back to reading the invoice. If you want a high quality product we suggest you avoid the odd lot section and buy first grade material.

We sell to thousands of satisfied customers everyday and encourage customers to make an educated purchase by looking at prices, quality, warranty information, and reading the invoice so you know exactly what you're buying. We're sorry to hear your experience differs from that of many others and LL absorbed the $500 delivery / collection expenses in your case seeking your satisfaction.

Replies
Advertisement
Would Not Take Back Unopened Flooring Packages of Laminate Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHEEKTOWAGA, NEW YORK -- We were happy with the product and pleased with the installation of our flooring, but were astounded that they would not take back 3 unopened packages of flooring because 32 days had passed from delivery of the product (only 21 from installation.) We contacted the main company and they said it would be at the store's discretion. The staff would not take the return, and just suggested we sell it on Craigslist. They were not at all accommodating and have lost any future business from us. We will not be recommending them to anyone.

Replies
Defective Bamboo Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a floor in May 2014 and it's still not right. It has gaps, cracks and bumps in areas where it is not attached to the sub floor. They have been out multiple times to "fix" it - worse than ever. The product is NOT AS ADVERTISED. BUYER BEWARE. I will never do business with this unethical company again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lumber Liquidators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 46 ratings and
70 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lumber Liquidators
3000 John Deere Rd
Toano, VA 23168
1-800-366-4204 (ph)
www.lumberliquidators.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies