Lumber Liquidators - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
51 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Absolutely Avoid This Store -- They Sell Absolute Junk And Rejects
Posted by on
AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- This is a very brief abstract of my experience with Lumber Liquidator (LL)here in Auburn WA:

Last year I purchased a 3" Patagonian Mahagony that came with worm holes, splits, and bad milling (almost 1/16Th milling difference). When I went back to tell the about it they told me: "oh nobody told you that this is a cabinet type Hardwood"? I said no and I'm half way through installation (do it your-self-er). I tried to return the defects but they would not refund it. the said they would sell me more of the better quality, for a Dollar less per Square foot. The one they gave me was of the same bad quality.

My next experience happen this year helping a friend to purchase about 600 sq ft of Brazilian Teak. we took a sample from the wall (priced at $5.99 per Sq ft and liked the color and called to place the order. When we placed the order they did not say anything about "seconds" or Odd Lot" or "reject", we ordered what we have taken as a sample...and the salesman/Manager (Arron) told me, due to my past un-pleasant experience with the Patagonian Mahogany", he will give my friend a special discount ($2.99/Sqft)and he said:but it will take three weeks to ship from VA. Three weeks past and no Teak. He (Arron) apologized that the truck was to full to ship and it would take another two to three weeks. The delivery came after 16 days with 400 Sq Ft instead of 530 sq ft and being SO GRACIOUS he delivered them to the House last Thursday. Yesterday we examined the boxes and found a label on every one of them saying "ODD LOT" , we open three of them and pull few from each, and to our HORROR we found every plank with a WAX Marker mark right where the defect is.

The Defects are ranging from bad Surface Milling's to bad finish, to cavities...YOU NAME IT! We pulled more from other boxes only to realize that all the boxes contained REJECTS by somebody who bought them and returned them all marked.

We contacted the store (Arron who was not available) and we talked to Jim who said he cannot do anything about it and we should call tomorrow and talk to Arron, even though he located the order#1277154 and can see all the details. My friend received a call back from Arron who, when confronted with the quality of the Teak, did not even offer to rectify the order, he listened silently, then he indicated he will get the trucking co. to remove the boxes from the house and just a minute ago my friend called me confirming the credit refund. We will be contacting all who have similar experience with LL to file a Class Action Lawsuit and joins other Class Action Lawsuits nationally listed by Googling "Class Action Lawsuit against National Lumber". Our goal is to stop LL from deceiving customers as to the quality of their product and prevent LL from damaging others in WA and other States.
Company Response 03/15/2010:

Our company sells a large variety of products from top of the line flooring, to odd lot flooring, but the consumer is never misled and the prices and policies are clearly marked.

The complaint does not match the stores accounting of the transaction and our invoice clearly states what to do if you feel dissatisfied with service, price, or quality.

I would like to add that ODD LOT stickers require no examination of the box to find them - They are bright fluorescent green and clearly visible. The markings on the boards are from quality checks performed at the time of production identifying less than perfect material.

Your invoice clearly states the quality of the product purchased and even though this is a non-returnable item, the store not only delivered product, but also collected the return in an attempt to work with you because you were not satisfied. The store clearly divulged proper information at the time of purchase with a signed invoice, so your claim goes back to reading the invoice. If you want a high quality product we suggest you avoid the odd lot section and buy first grade material.

We sell to thousands of satisfied customers everyday and encourage customers to make an educated purchase by looking at prices, quality, warranty information, and reading the invoice so you know exactly what you're buying. We're sorry to hear your experience differs from that of many others and LL absorbed the $500 delivery / collection expenses in your case seeking your satisfaction.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Defective Bamboo flooring
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
ST PETERSBURG, FLORIDA -- I purchased Morning star Bamboo strand flooring from Lumber Liquidators in 2012, in 2014 I had boards that were seeping a resin like substance and were curling and the top coat was cracking.

I have dealt with the customer help people and I was denied any help right away after they looked at pictures. I got the flooring 101 install sheet and was told it was moisture and because we had a dog, no one even came to look at it. then I complained more the sent "Their" inspector out and he looked at it and wouldn't say any thing to me. It took a few weeks later after many calls to come to get an answer. They denied me again, said it was moisture that was the problem. I used the "moisture barrier/glue" they recommended but it was the installer they said. Well after 35+ years in the home improvement field I think I know how to install a floor. My claims were shot down and basically told "too bad!"
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
"Unstable" Bamboo... Claim Denied
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LANSING, MICHIGAN -- Well, to sum it up, I got screwed and they did not buy me dinner first! I purchased 1400 sq ft of bamboo in May 2013. I received the flooring in June. The flooring sat in my home acclimating for approximately 6 weeks. My licensed and experienced contractor (who works for LL) laid the flooring and it looked beautiful.

About 3-4 weeks later it began to gap AND cup. Not just a little bit. I notified my contractor and the Lansing MI store manager and they came together to insect my floor. After humidity readings and looking at the floor, everyone agreed the floor looks terrible and there is "something very wrong" with my flooring. I was reassured that LL would stand behind their product and replace the flooring. Ha Ha Ha!! I filled out the standard claim form and March 17th I received a denial letter regarding my claim stating it was instillation and or environmental issues. I also received a lovely Xerox copy of "Flooring 101" which I will be sure to forward to the Lansing Mi store to give to their installers. I am now in the process of the "licensed flooring inspector", which is not cheap, and a litigation attorney. This company is the worst. NEVER USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
byteme520 on 07/12/2014:
I can't believe what a racket this company (Lumber Liquidator) has going on. They've protected themselves in every way because they know they sell junk. No reputable company would treat their customers this way. I have never seen anything like it! They make it so easy for themselves. 90% of the time they get out their "magic denial humidity wand" and blame you or the installer. It doesn't matter if you have a justified complaint because they will find an excuse to deny you! And don't be fooled by the inspector they send out.....they may be an independent inspector but Lumber Liquidators use them all the time and they are paid by LL. I too am talking to a Consumer Fraud lawyer! Anyone reading this and considering buying from Lumber Liquidators DON'T DO IT, unless you have thousands of dollars that you want to throw away!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I'm Glad I Read These Reviews First
Posted on
Rating: 3/51
BANGOR, MAINE -- I was literally 1 week from going to Lumber Liquidators and buying 700 Square feet of Hickory hardwood flooring until I read this.

It makes me sad because they seem to have nice wood at a good price, but there are just too many bad reviews and the milling issues mentioned regarding width variances concern me greatly. I guess I'll look elsewhere because the LAST thing I want or need is a nightmare company to work with when installing a hardwood floor. Why is it so [snip] hard to find a good company these days that cares? It never used to be that way in my pappy's day.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buyer Beware!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LINCOLN, NEBRASKA -- Spent $3,500.00 on a "crap-tastic" bamboo flooring and another $1500.00 for a qualified wood flooring professional to install it. Shortly after it was installed it began contracting an alarming amount. So much so, that I have 1/2 gaps at the doorways and it has pulled away from under the woodwork in several rooms. I explained the situation to the guys at the store and they told me that there was NO WARRANTY since I didn't have their breathtakingly expensive installers put it in. They agreed when I showed them pictures that it was bad, but their advice was to put transition pieces in where the floor has separated between rooms, which of course looks terrible, (speed bumps everywhere in the house) and when it warms up, the floor expands according and begins to buckle. I am going to end up throwing it all away and buying flooring from a reputable source. Note: if you don't write a positive review on their web site, they don't publish it. The flooring has since been discounted. I have had two wood flooring experts over and they just felt bad for me that I got ripped off. Both agreed the issue was defective material and can not remedied.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANFORD, FLORIDA -- After searching the Lumber Liquidators website I found the following flooring on sale for $2.96 a sq ft: http://www.lumberliquidators.com/ll/c/Fengtai-Strand-Handscraped-Bamboo-Major-Brand-PRBAMHSFT/10026736

So we hopped in the car and drove 20 miles to the nearest store which is in Sanford, FL. "We don't have it." says the salesperson, and after a few minutes on his computer he says he can't find a purchase order for it and the soonest he could probably get it is April. APRIL?!!! Then he tries to up-sell us to Anji Bamboo which is listed @ $4.99 sq/ft but says he can do $3.59 sq/ft. Fine, we'll take it. Then he asks how much we need and I tell him 480 sq ft. After another few minutes on his computer he says he doesn't have it and he "might" be able to get it from Texas. TEXAS?!! This despite the sign posted on the display of the Anji Bamboo saying "Best Seller" and "In Stock". We left in disgust over what can only be described as borderline switch-and-bait tactics and then poor customer service in response to what I imagine was viewed as a small order from the salesman's perspective.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very Poor Floor Install
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LONGMONT, COLORADO -- On 09/12/2013 we purchased a bamboo floor from Lumber Liquidators for just under $2,000. It was installed by their installer on 10/18/2013 - 10/19/2013. We were told that it would be a one day install, which turned out to take two days after the installer left the first afternoon to go to another job. When he left the first day, I looked over what he had finished and found many chips, cracks and splinters in the boards. When he returned the next day, I asked about the problems I had found and was told that he could bring in a circular saw and cut out all the bad boards and glue replacements in. We would need to buy another case of boards and we decided against spending the time and expense plus having the inconvenience and mess all over again. We are now looking for a nice big area rug to cover up most of the new floor's many problems. I have seen many bamboo floors that were installed perfectly smooth without any chips or splinters so I know our job was very shoddy. Lumber Liquidators was recommended to us, but we will NOT be passing on any recommendations.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service And Support - Make Sure Your Warranty Has Substance To It
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TOANO, VIRGINIA -- We purchased roughly 1,200 square feet of really affordable laminate and had it professionally installed. Within months of installation, we started to experience buckling in the material, creating trip hazards throughout the house. Unsure whether we had an installation or materials issue on our hands, we sought the assistance of Lumber Liquidators to get to the bottom of it.

Our hope was that they'd send someone to our property to take a look at the floors. Instead, after weeks of dodging our emails and phone calls, we received a generic response indicating our warranty was void for any number of reasons and that the matter was closed. I'm preparing to dispute the charges on my credit card, to initiate contact with the Better Business Bureau and potentially to sue them in small claims court.

I don't know whether it's the cheap product or the installation that's caused the safety hazards we're dealing within the house, but I do know that Lumber Liquidators doesn't care one way or the other. So what's their value proposition?
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
dan on 10/04/2013:
I worked for laminate floor mfctrs for many yrs. Buckling is caused by either moisture or installed without an expansion gap. Either one would void a warranty. Floors don't just buckle. There was either water spilled or app
trmn8r on 10/04/2013:
The tipoff off me was the words "really affordable laminate". Laminate under the best circumstances is an iffy proposition, but "really affordable" laminate sounds scary. Many of the complaints, and there are many, against LL aren't a lot different than yours.
Old Timer on 10/04/2013:
We purchased a very high quality laminate (not from LL as I don't think they even sell the good stuff). It was something like six ply etc. Then we used our own installer. He laid down a vinyl base and left a pretty large expansion joint under the base boards. It has been down for years now with no issues, knock on wood. Reason for my posting the comment is you really do get what you pay for, both with the laminate and labor.

That being said LL are pretty sleazy and will deny claims just about every time. Their terms get them out of just about every claim filed. Terrible company to deal with.

Best of luck in small claims, LL is going to show up with their terms and conditions that you agreed to when you purchased the flooring.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK LAWN, ILLINOIS -- I ordered stair noses and have been told on three occasions the wrong date for delivery. I am still waiting. This is the worst service I ever experienced and I will make sure that I and no one I know order from this place. Home Depot and Menards are factual and reliable. This is the worst customer service I ever experienced in my life.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
leet60 on 02/20/2013:
Helpful review and voted as such. This is why I hesitate to shop at retailers with names that include "liquidator", "discount", "bargain" and the like.
face it on 02/22/2013:
Sorry you had to find out the hard way Hobsjohn8963 that this is just business as usual for Lumber Liquidators.
face it on 02/22/2013:
You may also want to consider having the formaldehyde and Urea levels checked in these stair noses before you install them.
Arlene Wisti on 06/14/2013:
I'm not giving myself a chance for experience. Considered going to LL. Reading these reviews changed my mind.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Stay Away!!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WESTBURY, NEW YORK -- Unfortunately, I wasn't samrt enough to read the reviews before placing my order, because now I see how many others around the country had a similar experience.

Oversold product based on the square footage I provided. Brought back sealed unused boxes. Refused refund or even store credit--very narrow window vis-a-vis returns.

I see that others as far away as Seattle had the same experience.

They are real nice until they get your money, but watch out, once they have it - - Rude and discourteous

Company Response 02/09/2012:
At the point of sale we disclose the return policy clearly on the invoice; in fact customers are required to initial the policy to avoid this exact situation from happening. You either chose to ignore the policy, or the item purchased is one noted on the invoice as follows:
Returns/Exchanges: Returns or exchanges are not permitted on opened boxes, close-outs, odd lots, final sales, special deals, special orders, clearance items and laminates. To be eligible for a return or exchange, the product must be in its original condition and have been properly stored. Installed product is considered accepted by purchaser and may not be exchanged or returned for any reason. Shipping and delivery charges are non-refundable. Any additional shipping costs relating to a return or exchange are the sole responsibility of purchaser.
Exchanges are permitted within 30 days of receipt of the product without a restocking fee. Defective product may be exchanged, prior to installation, within 90 days of receipt.
Requests for returns must be made within 30 days of receipt of the product. Approved returns are subject to a 20% restocking fee with the exception of moldings and trim. Special orders are not returnable unless the product is defective.
Without knowing who you are makes it difficult to tell if the policy applies to your purchase, but we make every accommodation possible not unlike other sellers. We apply the policy equally across the country and you’ll never see the millions of people who buy from us post because they reviewed the policy, understood what their responsibility was for returns, and what is allowed for returns and happily installed their floors without concern. If you would like to call Customer Care and share more information we may be able to help you, but this type of posting is one sided and does not fully expose the facts of your purchase. Our policy is written on the invoice, on our website, posted in the stores, and accompanies any online orders. We’re not in business to upset customers, but we also realize some customers may post in this way to get a reaction. We present the above facts and invite you to call Customer Care – the people who can best listen to your grievance and provide solutions based on facts of your purchase. Slow down, read the information we provide, understand what you’re buying, follow the warranty, read the installation instructions, follow the care instructions, and you’ll be assured a great flooring experience.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 02/12/2012:
(Company response:At the point of sale we disclose the return policy clearly on the invoice; in fact customers are required to initial the policy to avoid this exact situation from happening.) Lets take a look at that. First off the customer is waiting in line, then dealing with an employee whose only objective is to collect the money and get the people out the door. Most of the time ( as I have witnessed ) the customer is frustrated/fed up/or innocently never expects any sort of "issue". After paying for your purchase the customer is given a receipt and on the last page of this receipt are columns of "policy" set forth by Lumber Liquidators. I would say it is safe to say that if the customer could see the conditions/policies before making the purchase that most of them would walk away. And rightfully so!! In other words most people do not read the fine print. You are not dealing with a friendly local guy/business that you can come back to when you have a problem, you are dealing with a faceless corporation that has no concern about there customers as long as they get paid. They can sugar coat it all they want, it is plain to see where the paying customer falls in there list of priorities. Dead last , if the amount of concern for customers even makes the list.

Companies/organizations such as this need to be boycotted by all Americans!! There objective is 100% profit, all else is a calculated loss. And if your issue does not meet there ridiculous "policies" you, the paying customer, are left holding the bag. The largest percentage of what they sell is imported. They do not participate in the common good. And they request you to call them, on there terms, to fix there problem. Something sounds SO WRONG with that? or is it just me?

Starlord on 02/12/2012:
Sorry, I see nothing wrong or 'sugar-coated' about the comapny's response. Just because you purchaqsed clearance mqaterial or for whatever reason, then chose to ignore the stated policy, it is not LL's misdeeds that created this situation. This appears to me to be a standard policy for returns of materials. Deal with it.
trp2hevn on 02/12/2012:
"Oversold product based on the square footage I provided"... Curious about what this means. Sounds like the OP gave them a number and they provided product based on that number given to them.
Also how long would be an appropriate return window?
I can understand the company asking the OP to call them since there is no mention of who, what, when or how the OP made the purchase. How are they supposed to help this particular OP if they don't even know who SWD is? I believe the company's response is appropriate for this situation. Now when someone reads the review, they have a preview of what the policies are ahead of time.
Texas Dan on 07/10/2013:
Wow! I'm really surprised at LL response
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >