Preview Review

Next Review

Lumber Liquidators Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Stay Away From Lumber Liquidators
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My wife and I went to Lumber Liquidators in Norwalk Ct to buy Bamboo flooring for a Salon, the salesman, who was a very nice man, told us we didn't want Bamboo, we would be much better off with vinyl for what we were using it for, we still wanted Bamboo. My wife went back again a couple of weeks later to order, another salesman, pushing the vinyl also. They decided to give my wife the number for a installer so he could come out and look. Again, another really nice man. He tells my wife, she doesn't want Bamboo, I quote, "I've done many Salons, you definitely want vinyl". She finally agrees to take their advice.

They show up just like they agreed, the guys were great and the job was complete in a day. Here comes the trouble. Right away the floor starts getting scratched, within a week it's not good at all. We call the installer who does come out to look, he tells her he's never seen anything like that and the material must be defective, he says to put in a claim with LL. Well, they send someone out to look, a couple of weeks or so she gets an email more or less saying that it's not their fault, that people shouldn't be wearing certain shoes on the floor, also they shouldn't be using carts either. The carts have hardly any weight them at all.

In other words, they don't want to know anything!! And this flooring was totally what they told her she needed for a salon. I feel really bad for her, she finally saved up enough money to get new floors and now this. Now, maybe two months later they look terrible for new flooring. Oh, and one of the planks are lifting already. We put cheap flooring down in the break room and dressing room from Home D. It's been down for over a year or two. Not a scratch!!! Thumbs down to Lumber Liquidators!!

Now she's going to have to pay an attorney to get somewhere with them. We should have gone to a local reputable company that would have taken care of the problem. You think you're saving money but that's not always the case!! Thank you so much for listening everyone!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Defected Stair nosings, Absolutely NO Warranty, Won't Stand Behind Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- I am a professional licensed contractor out here in Arizona. I had a client I installed 1700 sq feet of "Remington Oak" Schon engineered wood flooring for. The project included upstairs, downstairs, and the staircase. All the leading edges of each stair tread received a stair nosing. Well after a year and a half, I returned to my client's residence to give an estimate for some cabinetry. My client points out "6" stair nosings with hairline cracks going with the grain.

All have these cracks in same location, on the back section of the nosing. These were installed with polyurethane construction adhesive, and one finish nail on the left and right side of the "Leading edge" (meaty part of the material) no fasteners anywhere near crack locations. 6 months or so prior to this discovery, we had one with a much more noticeable crack in same location. I replaced the nosing under "My" warranty and paid Lumber Liquidators full price for the unit. This was the last one they had (they were discontinuing Remington Oak).

I called their "Customer care line" and filled out the claim form and was assigned to **. Well, I sent the letter via certified mail, and got confirmation of delivery. No response for a couple weeks. I had to call back, complain, then magically received an email. I got excuses like, the weather, busy, etc. Then miss ** states she never received the form. I provided name of individual who signed and photo of signature. I was avoided repeatedly, like many other people on here.

Case in point, they don't stand behind their product. The stair nosings are meant to be on the stairs, and should perform in a reasonable manner. My clients are middle aged folks with a cat, and are very neat people. I feel the product is sub par, something in the milling process, drying process, is to blame. Very weak along the grain. Don't sell something if it doesn't stand up to its purpose! The customer "care" and I use that term loosely, is a bunch of mediocre wage kids, who have a check list of questions and excuses in front of them. I think Lumber liquidators got greedy, blew up too fast, and won't last much longer.

Replies
Poor Quality Produce, Even Poorer Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- In late 2013 I purchased Lumber Liquidators Bellawood engineered hardwood flooring and made arrangements for installation with one of their staff installers. The work was sloppy with poorly installed transitions at doorways and a bowing gap around the fireplace. Within a couple of weeks the floor began to creak in spots when it was stepped on. The condition became so bad my 12-pound cat could make it creak when walking across it.

Contacting Lumber Liquidators resulted in many forms to complete requiring so much general and very technical information many hours and back and forth communications online were required to complete the process. After several weeks an inspector finally came and agreed the floor had problems. The final evaluation from them revealed they claimed no responsibility for the floor itself but blamed problems on the installation. They contacted the installer and he called and said he would replace the floor, nothing about parts. His exact words were THE FLOOR.

When he arrived, he instead brought only 2 boxes of boards and said he needed to level the concrete under the worst area. He then tore open a roughly 4-foot square area of a much larger room and used a power tool to basically make a mess. Watching him work it was clear the area was not level when he finished. He stuffed in different underlayment and closed it up. The floor creaked immediately when stepped on. He shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't know what else to do.

In less than a month the area was no better than before. When I attempted to contact Lumber Liquidators again they would not respond. A few months ago another company installed a Shaw laminate floor in an adjacent room. The floor is thicker and sturdier than the Lumber Liquidators engineered hardwood and feels very solid underfoot. Best of all there is no creaking anywhere. It is true. You get what you pay for.

Replies
Bait and Switch
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANFORD, FLORIDA -- After searching the Lumber Liquidators website I found the following flooring on sale for $2.96 a sq ft: **. So we hopped in the car and drove 20 miles to the nearest store which is in Sanford, FL. "We don't have it," says the salesperson, and after a few minutes on his computer he says he can't find a purchase order for it and the soonest he could probably get it is April. APRIL?!!! Then he tries to up-sell us to Anji Bamboo which is listed @ $4.99 sq/ft but says he can do $3.59 sq/ft. Fine, we'll take it. Then he asks how much we need and I tell him 480 sq ft.

After another few minutes on his computer he says he doesn't have it and he "might" be able to get it from Texas. TEXAS?!! This despite the sign posted on the display of the Anji Bamboo saying "Best Seller" and "In Stock". We left in disgust over what can only be described as borderline switch-and-bait tactics and then poor customer service in response to what I imagine was viewed as a small order from the salesman's perspective.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Abuse
By -

NEW CUMBERLAND, PENNSYLVANIA -- I went to Lumber Liquidators on the recommendation of a colleague. During my first visit, I explained that I was going to floor two levels of my house. Due to budget constraints, I would buy enough flooring at the end of each month to complete one room. Any remaining flooring would be saved for the next room. Below are details of my experience with Lumber Liquidators (New Cumberland, PA) that have frustrated me to the point that I will no longer do or recommend business with this company.

June, 2011 - I opened up the first box of flooring to start the first room. The box was in rough shape and it appeared boards were missing. Since this was my first-time installing wood flooring, I thought maybe Bellawood packed their boxes loose. Though, and with hindsight, this box was suspect since it was wrapped in plastic. As I opened other boxes, I realized the boxes are packed tight and indeed the first box was missing approximately 33% of the boards. I absorbed the loss and learned my lesson: check boxes carefully before they are loaded into my car.

July, 2011 - I unloaded flooring for the second room. I discovered one of the boxes labelled as 'Odd Lot' (mixed mills) with a reduced price. I had paid full price for all of the boxes so this caught my attention. I called and was informed that mixed mills means the differences between board could be up to 1/8 inch. I was further informed that these differences are typical with wood floor.

Reading the companies website, I learned that installing 'Odd Lot' flooring voids their warranty. I had to return to the store to replace this box with the correct box. No apology, but a clear message that I was lucky that I was not being charged a restocking fee. Strike two! I was starting to feel that perhaps this was not an accident.

August, 2011 - I went to store to get flooring for third room. It was not in stock and had to be ordered. I was informed I would be called the following week when the shipment arrived. No phone call. I called two weeks later, I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived. A month later I called, I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived.

November, 2011 - I contacted customer care with the concerns I listed above. The next day an e-mail alerted me they were looking into my complaint, but they had contacted the store and my flooring was in. That evening, there was a message on my answering machine from the store that my flooring was in. When I arrived at the store to get the flooring, I learned that the floor was not in because what was sent did not match the correct mill code.

November 23, 2011 - After three months, I finally got my flooring. I explained my frustration to the store manager. I am halfway through my remodeling and stuck with a decision to finish the project with this product (feeling that the company does not treat customers with respect) or throwing in the towel and finding a different product that is a close match to finish the remaining rooms.

The manager did not resolve any of my concerns and stated he called me last week to inform me that the flooring had arrived. I check my phone log for the entire month. He did not call my phone number last week. He either lied or misdialed. Based on my experiences to date, I doubt it was a misdial. I also have not yet heard back from their customer care.

It is my opinion that this company does not want my business or value - and respect - its customers. I will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission. Hindsight is 20/20. At least I know to avoid this company for any future building or remodeling projects.

Replies
Defective Bamboo Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST PETERSBURG, FLORIDA -- I purchased Morning Star Bamboo strand flooring from Lumber Liquidators in 2012, in 2014 I had boards that were seeping a resin-like substance and were curling and the top coat was cracking. I have dealt with the customer help people and I was denied any help right away after they looked at pictures. I got the flooring 101 install sheet and was told it was moisture and because we had a dog, no one even came to look at it. Then I complained more. They sent "Their" inspector out and he looked at it and wouldn't say any thing to me.

It took a few weeks later after many calls to come to get an answer. They denied me again, said it was moisture that was the problem. I used the "moisture barrier/glue" they recommended but it was the installer they said. Well after 35+ years in the home improvement field I think I know how to install a floor. My claims were shot down and basically told "too bad!"

Replies
"Unstable" Bamboo...Claim Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LANSING, MICHIGAN -- Well, to sum it up, I got screwed and they did not buy me dinner first! I purchased 1400 sq ft of bamboo in May 2013. I received the flooring in June. The flooring sat in my home acclimating for approximately 6 weeks. My licensed and experienced contractor (who works for LL) laid the flooring and it looked beautiful.

About 3-4 weeks later it began to gap AND cup, not just a little bit. I notified my contractor and the Lansing, MI store manager and they came together to inspect my floor. After humidity readings and looking at the floor, everyone agreed the floor looks terrible and there is "something very wrong" with my flooring. I was reassured that LL would stand behind their product and replace the flooring. Ha Ha Ha!!

I filled out the standard claim form and March 17th I received a denial letter regarding my claim stating it was instillation and or environmental issues. I also received a lovely Xerox copy of "Flooring 101" which I will be sure to forward to the Lansing, MI store to give to their installers. I am now in the process of the "licensed flooring inspector", which is not cheap, and a litigation attorney. This company is the worst. NEVER USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS.

Replies
Buyer Beware!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LINCOLN, NEBRASKA -- Spent $3,500.00 on a "crap-tastic" bamboo flooring and another $1500.00 for a qualified wood flooring professional to install it. Shortly after it was installed it began contracting an alarming amount. So much so, that I have 1/2 gaps at the doorways and it has pulled away from under the woodwork in several rooms. I explained the situation to the guys at the store and they told me that there was NO WARRANTY since I didn't have their breathtakingly expensive installers put it in.

They agreed when I showed them pictures that it was bad, but their advice was to put transition pieces in where the floor has separated between rooms, which of course looks terrible (speed bumps everywhere in the house) and when it warms up, the floor expands according and begins to buckle. I am going to end up throwing it all away and buying flooring from a reputable source. Note: if you don't write a positive review on their website, they don't publish it. The flooring has since been discounted. I have had two wood flooring experts over and they just felt bad for me that I got ripped off. Both agreed the issue was defective material and cannot remedied.

Replies
Advertisement
Very Poor Floor Install
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONGMONT, COLORADO -- On 09/12/2013 we purchased a bamboo floor from Lumber Liquidators for just under $2,000. It was installed by their installer on 10/18/2013 - 10/19/2013. We were told that it would be a one day install, which turned out to take two days after the installer left the first afternoon to go to another job. When he left the first day, I looked over what he had finished and found many chips, cracks and splinters in the boards.

When he returned the next day, I asked about the problems I had found and was told that he could bring in a circular saw and cut out all the bad boards and glue replacements in. We would need to buy another case of boards and we decided against spending the time and expense plus having the inconvenience and mess all over again. We are now looking for a nice big area rug to cover up most of the new floor's many problems. I have seen many bamboo floors that were installed perfectly smooth without any chips or splinters so I know our job was very shoddy. Lumber Liquidators was recommended to us, but we will NOT be passing on any recommendations.

Replies
Absolutely Avoid This Store -- They Sell Absolute Junk And Rejects
By -

AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- This is a very brief abstract of my experience with Lumber Liquidator (LL) here in Auburn WA: Last year I purchased a 3" Patagonian Mahagony that came with worm holes, splits, and bad milling (almost 1/16Th milling difference). When I went back to tell the about it they told me "oh nobody told you that this is a cabinet type Hardwood?" I said "no and I'm half way through installation" (do it your-self-er). I tried to return the defects but they would not refund it. They said they would sell me more of the better quality, for a Dollar less per Square foot. The one they gave me was of the same bad quality.

My next experience happen this year helping a friend to purchase about 600 sq ft of Brazilian Teak. We took a sample from the wall priced at $5.99 per Sq ft and liked the color and called to place the order. When we placed the order they did not say anything about "seconds" or "Odd Lot" or "reject", we ordered what we have taken as a sample and the salesman/Manager ** told me, due to my past unpleasant experience with the "Patagonian Mahogany", he will give my friend a special discount ($2.99/Sq ft) and he said "but it will take three weeks to ship from VA."

Three weeks passed and no Teak. He ** apologized that the truck was to full to ship and it would take another two to three weeks. The delivery came after 16 days with 400 Sq Ft instead of 530 sq ft and being SO GRACIOUS he delivered them to the House last Thursday. Yesterday we examined the boxes and found a label on every one of them saying "ODD LOT", we open three of them and pull few from each, and to our HORROR we found every plank with a WAX Marker mark right where the defect is.

The Defects are ranging from bad Surface Milling's to bad finish, to cavities...YOU NAME IT! We pulled more from other boxes only to realize that all the boxes contained REJECTS by somebody who bought them and returned them all marked. We contacted the store (** who was not available) and we talked to ** who said he cannot do anything about it and we should call tomorrow and talk to **, even though he located the order ** and can see all the details.

My friend received a call back from ** who, when confronted with the quality of the Teak, did not even offer to rectify the order, he listened silently, then he indicated he will get the trucking co. to remove the boxes from the house and just a minute ago my friend called me confirming the credit refund. We will be contacting all who have similar experience with LL to file a Class Action Lawsuit and joins other Class Action Lawsuits nationally listed by Googling "Class Action Lawsuit against National Lumber". Our goal is to stop LL from deceiving customers as to the quality of their product and prevent LL from damaging others in WA and other States.

Company Response 03/15/2010:

Our company sells a large variety of products from top of the line flooring, to odd lot flooring, but the consumer is never misled and the prices and policies are clearly marked.

The complaint does not match the stores accounting of the transaction and our invoice clearly states what to do if you feel dissatisfied with service, price, or quality.

I would like to add that ODD LOT stickers require no examination of the box to find them - They are bright fluorescent green and clearly visible. The markings on the boards are from quality checks performed at the time of production identifying less than perfect material.

Your invoice clearly states the quality of the product purchased and even though this is a non-returnable item, the store not only delivered product, but also collected the return in an attempt to work with you because you were not satisfied. The store clearly divulged proper information at the time of purchase with a signed invoice, so your claim goes back to reading the invoice. If you want a high quality product we suggest you avoid the odd lot section and buy first grade material.

We sell to thousands of satisfied customers everyday and encourage customers to make an educated purchase by looking at prices, quality, warranty information, and reading the invoice so you know exactly what you're buying. We're sorry to hear your experience differs from that of many others and LL absorbed the $500 delivery / collection expenses in your case seeking your satisfaction.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lumber Liquidators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 43 ratings and
67 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lumber Liquidators
3000 John Deere Rd
Toano, VA 23168
1-800-366-4204 (ph)
www.lumberliquidators.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies