Lumber Liquidators - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
54 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bad Wood and A Terrible Install
Posted by on
PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I bought the wood from the LL store in Pensacola FL. I picked the wood up and put it out for seven days as instructed. The installers (hired through LL) showed up and said the wood was bad (warped and cut to differing widths). They delivered new boxes and assured me that this wood was good. After 7 more days, the installers showed up and began the install. I told them three times which way I wanted the wood to run. They still started putting it down the wrong way. I told them to change it and one of them went off the handle and argued that I told him to do it that way. I said no I didn't and told them to do it the right way. He got so mad that the other two guys had to take him home for the day. His home was over an hour's drive one way from my house. The other two returned and started putting down the wood. The wood they pulled up was thrown together in a box with glue all over it. It was ruined. The next day they returned with the hot head and put the rest of the floor down. They did a poor job. Some of the wood was cut wrong and was not covered by the quarter round. There are defects in the floor. One of the boxes suffered from the same problem as the first (warped and miss cut wood). The installers installed it anyway. You can see the bowed and miss cut wood in the floor. I bought enough T-Molding to do all the doors and they failed to do three of them. They did however take the extra T-Molding with them when they left. The worst thing of all is the glue they got all over the floor. It will take months to clean it all off. I notified the regional installer manager that I wanted my T-Molding back and she assured me she would have it returned. Never heard from her again. I also sent this message to the Lumber Liquidators Store Manager who assured me he would send the message on to his regional manager. I doubt if he ever did because I have not heard anything from them.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND LUMBER LIQUIDATORS TO ANYONE WHO CARES ABOUT THE QUALITY OF THEIR FLOOR!!!!
Company Response 04/05/2010:
Boards will vary in width as you cannot measure each individual board since wood is a hydroscopic product, it will take in and release moisture changing the dimensions of the boards, so a more common and acceptable practice is to lay out (rack) one box to see if there are milling issues. If there's a problem, we'll take them back and hold the manufacturer accountable as we did in your case.

If you used the installation services through HSS and were not happy with their work, the installation comes with a warranty and you should call the number provided and file a complaint. There's always two sides to every story and we can appreciate you may not have had a good experience, and I'll use the points you made about the direction of the flooring as an example. Installation wise it may have made more sense to install the flooring a certain way considering doorways or long runs, so the rub here may have been the installers trying to protect your investment over a personal preference regarding direction.

Either way it sounds like this was not a good experience and store as well as Customer Care will always do what they can providing assistance to help your project go smoothly. If you're missing material - Call the store or Customer Care and we will expedite delivery for you. Always participate in the installation process so the final quality is exactly what you want and you'll have a better experience in the future.
     
Replies
The worst customer experience
Posted by on
BURLINGAME -- Here is my experience:

I arrived at Lumber Liquidators to pick up my hardwood. I went to pick up 19 boxes of flooring. Only 18 boxes are loaded. Chris explains to me that one box is beat to hell and that I could either 1) Buy the smashed box at a discount or 2) Have a new box drop-shipped to my residence. Since I need the full 19 boxes I choose to have the box shipped to my house. So far sounds fair.

On a side note when I show up LL has absolutely no twine or rope to tie my SUV hatch closed so I can accommodate all of the long boxes. They tell me that I have to use the hard plastic "wrappings" to tie my hatch closed and that usually customers "shop up with a truck" to pick up the flooring. In my entire life I have not seen a hardware store, tile shop, lumber yard ever that could not give me a 10 cent piece of twine to secure the product.

Anyway, when I get home and unload the boxes I notice immediately that another of the boxes is beat to hell along the side with a huge rip in the box and splintered flooring coming out the hole. I immediately called back and talked to Chris. Chris said he would tell Daniel (the "customer service" representative that we dealt with for the flooring) to order a second box to be shipped out to our house. He explained that when we receive the new box to simply bring in the damaged box for an exchange.

Well Friday comes and only one box arrives. It is pretty late in the day so I wait to call until Monday. On Monday I speak with Daniel and he tells me that there is nothing he can do. He explains that he shouldn't even provided me with the first replacement box and that everything is "as is". I explain to him that the damaged box was hidden when it was loaded and there was no way I could have inspected it before it left the store.

Long story short is that LL took my money for useless wood. They are extremely rude in person and on the phone and have no interest in helping the customer. The manager, Gil almost made my wife cry.

I understand that this is a liquidation out the door type store and their prices reflect it and that they can't be as flexible as a full retail store. However, they surely shouldn't be able to rip you off and they certainly don't have to be JERKS about it!!!

Avoid this store at all cost.

Company Response 03/22/2010:
I would have to agree that your accounting of a visit to this location was not in line with our expectations for service after the sale. The store should have been more accommodating and helpful, including the way we handled your damaged box issue.

On your invoice there's a number to call LL Customer Care. When a negative experience occurs we're here to help overcome these types of situations so we can learn from the experience and make changes. I will note the issue and share it with the person responsible for store operations and would like to have you call our CC department and let an agent know you need two boxes of material. Provide the label information and we'll help you. You'll need to show proof the boxes were damaged and a photo will suffice. We're sorry to hear this happened, but a call to Customer Care would have been the right step to take in this situation. We hope the rest of your project goes well and sincerely appreciate the feedback so we can do better.
     
Replies
Defective Flooring
Posted by on
BYRON, GEORGIA -- About four weeks ago we bought 13 boxes of African mahogany flooring. Not even 2 weeks after completion, we started seeing markings that resembled scuff marks or scratches. There are numerous of these markings. I immediately called LL and the sales man here in Macon, Ga said he could not help us. I then sent LL an e-mail. that was 2 weeks ago, and no answer till yet. Tried to call customer service and no luck here.

I highly do not recommend purchasing any kind of flooring from this company as their warranty is a scam and falsification and have been unwilling to help resolve our problem.
Company Response 02/05/2010:
Thank you for sharing this experience with us so we can help you. The situation you described is not a common customer experience and we would need more information to research where you called, and what email address you used for contact. Calls are generally answered within 30 seconds or less and emails returned within 24 hours (most often within 16 hours or less). If you have a product issue the store can help you, and Customer Care. We woudl like to know who you spoke with at the store becuase this is not how we handle our customer concerns. We stand behind all products we sell and we can help. Please contact LL Customer Care using the number on your invoice. You can also find us online through our website. It's unfortunate to hear you've had a problem and we're more than willing to help you. Please call us as soon as possible. I will alert the Call Center Agents, so we're looking for your call! Signed LL Customer Care Manager
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Defective Bamboo flooring
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
ST PETERSBURG, FLORIDA -- I purchased Morning star Bamboo strand flooring from Lumber Liquidators in 2012, in 2014 I had boards that were seeping a resin like substance and were curling and the top coat was cracking.

I have dealt with the customer help people and I was denied any help right away after they looked at pictures. I got the flooring 101 install sheet and was told it was moisture and because we had a dog, no one even came to look at it. then I complained more the sent "Their" inspector out and he looked at it and wouldn't say any thing to me. It took a few weeks later after many calls to come to get an answer. They denied me again, said it was moisture that was the problem. I used the "moisture barrier/glue" they recommended but it was the installer they said. Well after 35+ years in the home improvement field I think I know how to install a floor. My claims were shot down and basically told "too bad!"
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
"Unstable" Bamboo... Claim Denied
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LANSING, MICHIGAN -- Well, to sum it up, I got screwed and they did not buy me dinner first! I purchased 1400 sq ft of bamboo in May 2013. I received the flooring in June. The flooring sat in my home acclimating for approximately 6 weeks. My licensed and experienced contractor (who works for LL) laid the flooring and it looked beautiful.

About 3-4 weeks later it began to gap AND cup. Not just a little bit. I notified my contractor and the Lansing MI store manager and they came together to insect my floor. After humidity readings and looking at the floor, everyone agreed the floor looks terrible and there is "something very wrong" with my flooring. I was reassured that LL would stand behind their product and replace the flooring. Ha Ha Ha!! I filled out the standard claim form and March 17th I received a denial letter regarding my claim stating it was instillation and or environmental issues. I also received a lovely Xerox copy of "Flooring 101" which I will be sure to forward to the Lansing Mi store to give to their installers. I am now in the process of the "licensed flooring inspector", which is not cheap, and a litigation attorney. This company is the worst. NEVER USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS
     
Replies
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I'm Glad I Read These Reviews First
Posted on
Rating: 3/51
BANGOR, MAINE -- I was literally 1 week from going to Lumber Liquidators and buying 700 Square feet of Hickory hardwood flooring until I read this.

It makes me sad because they seem to have nice wood at a good price, but there are just too many bad reviews and the milling issues mentioned regarding width variances concern me greatly. I guess I'll look elsewhere because the LAST thing I want or need is a nightmare company to work with when installing a hardwood floor. Why is it so [snip] hard to find a good company these days that cares? It never used to be that way in my pappy's day.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buyer Beware!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LINCOLN, NEBRASKA -- Spent $3,500.00 on a "crap-tastic" bamboo flooring and another $1500.00 for a qualified wood flooring professional to install it. Shortly after it was installed it began contracting an alarming amount. So much so, that I have 1/2 gaps at the doorways and it has pulled away from under the woodwork in several rooms. I explained the situation to the guys at the store and they told me that there was NO WARRANTY since I didn't have their breathtakingly expensive installers put it in. They agreed when I showed them pictures that it was bad, but their advice was to put transition pieces in where the floor has separated between rooms, which of course looks terrible, (speed bumps everywhere in the house) and when it warms up, the floor expands according and begins to buckle. I am going to end up throwing it all away and buying flooring from a reputable source. Note: if you don't write a positive review on their web site, they don't publish it. The flooring has since been discounted. I have had two wood flooring experts over and they just felt bad for me that I got ripped off. Both agreed the issue was defective material and can not remedied.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very Poor Floor Install
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LONGMONT, COLORADO -- On 09/12/2013 we purchased a bamboo floor from Lumber Liquidators for just under $2,000. It was installed by their installer on 10/18/2013 - 10/19/2013. We were told that it would be a one day install, which turned out to take two days after the installer left the first afternoon to go to another job. When he left the first day, I looked over what he had finished and found many chips, cracks and splinters in the boards. When he returned the next day, I asked about the problems I had found and was told that he could bring in a circular saw and cut out all the bad boards and glue replacements in. We would need to buy another case of boards and we decided against spending the time and expense plus having the inconvenience and mess all over again. We are now looking for a nice big area rug to cover up most of the new floor's many problems. I have seen many bamboo floors that were installed perfectly smooth without any chips or splinters so I know our job was very shoddy. Lumber Liquidators was recommended to us, but we will NOT be passing on any recommendations.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service And Support - Make Sure Your Warranty Has Substance To It
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TOANO, VIRGINIA -- We purchased roughly 1,200 square feet of really affordable laminate and had it professionally installed. Within months of installation, we started to experience buckling in the material, creating trip hazards throughout the house. Unsure whether we had an installation or materials issue on our hands, we sought the assistance of Lumber Liquidators to get to the bottom of it.

Our hope was that they'd send someone to our property to take a look at the floors. Instead, after weeks of dodging our emails and phone calls, we received a generic response indicating our warranty was void for any number of reasons and that the matter was closed. I'm preparing to dispute the charges on my credit card, to initiate contact with the Better Business Bureau and potentially to sue them in small claims court.

I don't know whether it's the cheap product or the installation that's caused the safety hazards we're dealing within the house, but I do know that Lumber Liquidators doesn't care one way or the other. So what's their value proposition?
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK LAWN, ILLINOIS -- I ordered stair noses and have been told on three occasions the wrong date for delivery. I am still waiting. This is the worst service I ever experienced and I will make sure that I and no one I know order from this place. Home Depot and Menards are factual and reliable. This is the worst customer service I ever experienced in my life.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >