Preview Review

Next Review

Lumber Liquidators Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Morning Star Bamboo Click
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- We purchased the bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators on July 18, 2015. When we were installing it I noticed the annoying cracking noises it made when you walked on it. I thought it would subside after a few weeks. Big mistake. The floor is scratching very easily and two boards split and the finish is dull. The have no customer service. Won't send anyone out to look at the floor. They sent a form to fill out and to take photos. How can I send the cracking sounds it makes without having someone take a look at the floor. They are just blowing people off.

Replies
Advertisement
Stranded Bamboo Flooring Failure
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- We installed 3/8" x 3 stranded bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators. Our floor got wet maybe a 4 oz of water, and now it is cupping, this flooring is no good and is NOT WATER RESISTANT. Plus talked to sales representative at Lumber Liquidators and they do not warranty the floor if it gets wet! This should have never happened if it was a quality bamboo floor! The sell of this floor was that it can be used in kitchens, bathrooms etc, but don't get it wet? Crap!

Lumber Liquidators says these floors do cup and should not get wet. Funny, they say it can be used in bathrooms & kitchens. Hmmm, think water is in these rooms?! Like I said, DO NOT BUY 3/8" STRANDED BAMBOO FLOORING FROM LUMBER LIQUIDATORS. They do not back the product as advertised!

Replies
Absolutely Avoid This Store -- They Sell Absolute Junk And Rejects
By -

AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- This is a very brief abstract of my experience with Lumber Liquidator (LL) here in Auburn WA: Last year I purchased a 3" Patagonian Mahagony that came with worm holes, splits, and bad milling (almost 1/16Th milling difference). When I went back to tell the about it they told me "oh nobody told you that this is a cabinet type Hardwood?" I said "no and I'm half way through installation" (do it your-self-er). I tried to return the defects but they would not refund it. They said they would sell me more of the better quality, for a Dollar less per Square foot. The one they gave me was of the same bad quality.

My next experience happen this year helping a friend to purchase about 600 sq ft of Brazilian Teak. We took a sample from the wall priced at $5.99 per Sq ft and liked the color and called to place the order. When we placed the order they did not say anything about "seconds" or "Odd Lot" or "reject", we ordered what we have taken as a sample and the salesman/Manager ** told me, due to my past unpleasant experience with the "Patagonian Mahogany", he will give my friend a special discount ($2.99/Sq ft) and he said "but it will take three weeks to ship from VA."

Three weeks passed and no Teak. He ** apologized that the truck was to full to ship and it would take another two to three weeks. The delivery came after 16 days with 400 Sq Ft instead of 530 sq ft and being SO GRACIOUS he delivered them to the House last Thursday. Yesterday we examined the boxes and found a label on every one of them saying "ODD LOT", we open three of them and pull few from each, and to our HORROR we found every plank with a WAX Marker mark right where the defect is.

The Defects are ranging from bad Surface Milling's to bad finish, to cavities...YOU NAME IT! We pulled more from other boxes only to realize that all the boxes contained REJECTS by somebody who bought them and returned them all marked. We contacted the store (** who was not available) and we talked to ** who said he cannot do anything about it and we should call tomorrow and talk to **, even though he located the order ** and can see all the details.

My friend received a call back from ** who, when confronted with the quality of the Teak, did not even offer to rectify the order, he listened silently, then he indicated he will get the trucking co. to remove the boxes from the house and just a minute ago my friend called me confirming the credit refund. We will be contacting all who have similar experience with LL to file a Class Action Lawsuit and joins other Class Action Lawsuits nationally listed by Googling "Class Action Lawsuit against National Lumber". Our goal is to stop LL from deceiving customers as to the quality of their product and prevent LL from damaging others in WA and other States.

Company Response 03/15/2010:

Our company sells a large variety of products from top of the line flooring, to odd lot flooring, but the consumer is never misled and the prices and policies are clearly marked.

The complaint does not match the stores accounting of the transaction and our invoice clearly states what to do if you feel dissatisfied with service, price, or quality.

I would like to add that ODD LOT stickers require no examination of the box to find them - They are bright fluorescent green and clearly visible. The markings on the boards are from quality checks performed at the time of production identifying less than perfect material.

Your invoice clearly states the quality of the product purchased and even though this is a non-returnable item, the store not only delivered product, but also collected the return in an attempt to work with you because you were not satisfied. The store clearly divulged proper information at the time of purchase with a signed invoice, so your claim goes back to reading the invoice. If you want a high quality product we suggest you avoid the odd lot section and buy first grade material.

We sell to thousands of satisfied customers everyday and encourage customers to make an educated purchase by looking at prices, quality, warranty information, and reading the invoice so you know exactly what you're buying. We're sorry to hear your experience differs from that of many others and LL absorbed the $500 delivery / collection expenses in your case seeking your satisfaction.

Replies
Wood Flooring Gone Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCARBOROUTH, MAINE -- In April 2008 I purchased red oak flooring (pre-finished) from Lumber Liquidators; it came with a 25 year warranty. The finish has worn off in a section of the flooring and when I made a claim, they inferred that the problem was either dampness or too dry, dirt or sand or abnormal wear, pets and a list of others. They asked for pictures, which I sent, but they weren't very good. No one ever came to look at the damage; they just denied the claim. They are a terrible company to do business with.

Replies
Advertisement
Warranties Not Honored
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STANDISH, MAINE -- Bought 25 year warranty natural oak floors and had it installed by someone Lumber Liquidators recommended. A few years later and the finish is wearing off. They accused me of abusing the floors; they never once came to look at anything. Told me the warranty will not be honored. Taking my complaint to the Maine Attorney General.

Replies
Would Not Take Back Unopened Flooring Packages of Laminate Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHEEKTOWAGA, NEW YORK -- We were happy with the product and pleased with the installation of our flooring, but were astounded that they would not take back 3 unopened packages of flooring because 32 days had passed from delivery of the product (only 21 from installation.) We contacted the main company and they said it would be at the store's discretion. The staff would not take the return, and just suggested we sell it on Craigslist. They were not at all accommodating and have lost any future business from us. We will not be recommending them to anyone.

Replies
Defective Bamboo Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a floor in May 2014 and it's still not right. It has gaps, cracks and bumps in areas where it is not attached to the sub floor. They have been out multiple times to "fix" it - worse than ever. The product is NOT AS ADVERTISED. BUYER BEWARE. I will never do business with this unethical company again.

Replies
Faulty Products. Lied to and Cheated. No Integrity.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA ANA, CALIFORNIA -- I was sold inferior floor products. Then when I tried to talk to the (Maggie) complaint department they lied and cheated me.

Replies
Advertisement
Wood Destroying Insect (Powder Post Beetle) Infestation in Purchased Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- What I originally thought was a great deal on a small lot special purchase became a huge liability when a home inspector determined that the naturally occurring defects in the wood were the result of a wood destroying insect infestation that can damage the flooring and the wood structure of the home. I spent $135.00 to hire in entomologist to determine that the infestation was inactive.

I contacted customer service to obtain a replacement for the defective product. Customer Service declared it an installation error and all warranties were thus void. They stated that the installer should not have installed any flooring with signs of infestation, this is ironic since neither the manager and assistant manager in the Lumber Liquidators store were unable to identify the WDI infestation and admitted that this was the first time they had seen a Powder Post Beetle infestation.

We all assumed that this was typical in rustic looking “trendy” hard scraped wood flooring, which brings me to my original assumption. This was an uncommon occurrence and this was a defective product. You can get a great deal at Lumber Liquidators but let the buyer beware. I suggest you check each box on the dock at time of delivery.

Replies
Excessive Shrinkage & Gaps - Formaldehyde in Resin
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- Lumber Liquidators is the dollar store of retail flooring. I bought the Morning Star Bamboo and it's junk. One of the reasons I bought this floor is because they advertise it being "green". How can it be green if it has formaldehyde in it! So what are you saying? It's good for the environment but it may give you Cancer? Would you want your children playing or crawling on this floor? My husband and I have both experienced sore & dry throats and it has a very distinct smell. We were fine before this floor was installed.

And another thing to keep in mind, there was no indication on the labeling or the box saying it was formaldehyde compliant. This is in gross violation of The Formaldehyde Standards Act for Composite Wood Products that was put into law by President Obama in 2010. After 2 months when it was installed we started getting large gaps and separations that ran the whole perimeter of one wall. The installers came and repaired it and 3 months later it happened again. Called LL and they sent out one of "their " inspectors. What a joke this guy was. We went by all the guidelines, bought a humidifier, meter, the works!

Literally baby Sat this floor which is totally ridiculous but we did it and this guy still found fault. I have come to the conclusion it really doesn't matter what you do because they will find a reason to blame you or the installer. They have a nice little racket going on. And their 30 warranty doesn't mean diddley squat! That's even a bigger joke! All I can say is don't let their low prices fool you. If you buy from them and have a problem it will be the biggest headache of your life. Just read the reviews because they are telling you the truth. I know, because I was one of their victims. If you are reading this and decide not to buy their products then you are one of the lucky ones!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lumber Liquidators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 47 ratings and
71 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lumber Liquidators
3000 John Deere Rd
Toano, VA 23168
1-800-366-4204 (ph)
www.lumberliquidators.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies