Lumber Liquidators - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
47 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
"Unstable" Bamboo... Claim Denied
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LANSING, MICHIGAN -- Well, to sum it up, I got screwed and they did not buy me dinner first! I purchased 1400 sq ft of bamboo in May 2013. I received the flooring in June. The flooring sat in my home acclimating for approximately 6 weeks. My licensed and experienced contractor (who works for LL) laid the flooring and it looked beautiful.

About 3-4 weeks later it began to gap AND cup. Not just a little bit. I notified my contractor and the Lansing MI store manager and they came together to insect my floor. After humidity readings and looking at the floor, everyone agreed the floor looks terrible and there is "something very wrong" with my flooring. I was reassured that LL would stand behind their product and replace the flooring. Ha Ha Ha!! I filled out the standard claim form and March 17th I received a denial letter regarding my claim stating it was instillation and or environmental issues. I also received a lovely Xerox copy of "Flooring 101" which I will be sure to forward to the Lansing Mi store to give to their installers. I am now in the process of the "licensed flooring inspector", which is not cheap, and a litigation attorney. This company is the worst. NEVER USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
byteme520 on 2014-07-12:
I can't believe what a racket this company (Lumber Liquidator) has going on. They've protected themselves in every way because they know they sell junk. No reputable company would treat their customers this way. I have never seen anything like it! They make it so easy for themselves. 90% of the time they get out their "magic denial humidity wand" and blame you or the installer. It doesn't matter if you have a justified complaint because they will find an excuse to deny you! And don't be fooled by the inspector they send out.....they may be an independent inspector but Lumber Liquidators use them all the time and they are paid by LL. I too am talking to a Consumer Fraud lawyer! Anyone reading this and considering buying from Lumber Liquidators DON'T DO IT, unless you have thousands of dollars that you want to throw away!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I'm Glad I Read These Reviews First
Posted by on
Rating: 3/51
BANGOR, MAINE -- I was literally 1 week from going to Lumber Liquidators and buying 700 Square feet of Hickory hardwood flooring until I read this.

It makes me sad because they seem to have nice wood at a good price, but there are just too many bad reviews and the milling issues mentioned regarding width variances concern me greatly. I guess I'll look elsewhere because the LAST thing I want or need is a nightmare company to work with when installing a hardwood floor. Why is it so [snip] hard to find a good company these days that cares? It never used to be that way in my pappy's day.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buyer Beware!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LINCOLN, NEBRASKA -- Spent $3,500.00 on a "crap-tastic" bamboo flooring and another $1500.00 for a qualified wood flooring professional to install it. Shortly after it was installed it began contracting an alarming amount. So much so, that I have 1/2 gaps at the doorways and it has pulled away from under the woodwork in several rooms. I explained the situation to the guys at the store and they told me that there was NO WARRANTY since I didn't have their breathtakingly expensive installers put it in. They agreed when I showed them pictures that it was bad, but their advice was to put transition pieces in where the floor has separated between rooms, which of course looks terrible, (speed bumps everywhere in the house) and when it warms up, the floor expands according and begins to buckle. I am going to end up throwing it all away and buying flooring from a reputable source. Note: if you don't write a positive review on their web site, they don't publish it. The flooring has since been discounted. I have had two wood flooring experts over and they just felt bad for me that I got ripped off. Both agreed the issue was defective material and can not remedied.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANFORD, FLORIDA -- After searching the Lumber Liquidators website I found the following flooring on sale for $2.96 a sq ft: http://www.lumberliquidators.com/ll/c/Fengtai-Strand-Handscraped-Bamboo-Major-Brand-PRBAMHSFT/10026736

So we hopped in the car and drove 20 miles to the nearest store which is in Sanford, FL. "We don't have it." says the salesperson, and after a few minutes on his computer he says he can't find a purchase order for it and the soonest he could probably get it is April. APRIL?!!! Then he tries to up-sell us to Anji Bamboo which is listed @ $4.99 sq/ft but says he can do $3.59 sq/ft. Fine, we'll take it. Then he asks how much we need and I tell him 480 sq ft. After another few minutes on his computer he says he doesn't have it and he "might" be able to get it from Texas. TEXAS?!! This despite the sign posted on the display of the Anji Bamboo saying "Best Seller" and "In Stock". We left in disgust over what can only be described as borderline switch-and-bait tactics and then poor customer service in response to what I imagine was viewed as a small order from the salesman's perspective.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very Poor Floor Install
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LONGMONT, COLORADO -- On 09/12/2013 we purchased a bamboo floor from Lumber Liquidators for just under $2,000. It was installed by their installer on 10/18/2013 - 10/19/2013. We were told that it would be a one day install, which turned out to take two days after the installer left the first afternoon to go to another job. When he left the first day, I looked over what he had finished and found many chips, cracks and splinters in the boards. When he returned the next day, I asked about the problems I had found and was told that he could bring in a circular saw and cut out all the bad boards and glue replacements in. We would need to buy another case of boards and we decided against spending the time and expense plus having the inconvenience and mess all over again. We are now looking for a nice big area rug to cover up most of the new floor's many problems. I have seen many bamboo floors that were installed perfectly smooth without any chips or splinters so I know our job was very shoddy. Lumber Liquidators was recommended to us, but we will NOT be passing on any recommendations.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service And Support - Make Sure Your Warranty Has Substance To It
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TOANO, VIRGINIA -- We purchased roughly 1,200 square feet of really affordable laminate and had it professionally installed. Within months of installation, we started to experience buckling in the material, creating trip hazards throughout the house. Unsure whether we had an installation or materials issue on our hands, we sought the assistance of Lumber Liquidators to get to the bottom of it.

Our hope was that they'd send someone to our property to take a look at the floors. Instead, after weeks of dodging our emails and phone calls, we received a generic response indicating our warranty was void for any number of reasons and that the matter was closed. I'm preparing to dispute the charges on my credit card, to initiate contact with the Better Business Bureau and potentially to sue them in small claims court.

I don't know whether it's the cheap product or the installation that's caused the safety hazards we're dealing within the house, but I do know that Lumber Liquidators doesn't care one way or the other. So what's their value proposition?
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
dan on 2013-10-04:
I worked for laminate floor mfctrs for many yrs. Buckling is caused by either moisture or installed without an expansion gap. Either one would void a warranty. Floors don't just buckle. There was either water spilled or app
trmn8r on 2013-10-04:
The tipoff off me was the words "really affordable laminate". Laminate under the best circumstances is an iffy proposition, but "really affordable" laminate sounds scary. Many of the complaints, and there are many, against LL aren't a lot different than yours.
Old Timer on 2013-10-04:
We purchased a very high quality laminate (not from LL as I don't think they even sell the good stuff). It was something like six ply etc. Then we used our own installer. He laid down a vinyl base and left a pretty large expansion joint under the base boards. It has been down for years now with no issues, knock on wood. Reason for my posting the comment is you really do get what you pay for, both with the laminate and labor.

That being said LL are pretty sleazy and will deny claims just about every time. Their terms get them out of just about every claim filed. Terrible company to deal with.

Best of luck in small claims, LL is going to show up with their terms and conditions that you agreed to when you purchased the flooring.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK LAWN, ILLINOIS -- I ordered stair noses and have been told on three occasions the wrong date for delivery. I am still waiting. This is the worst service I ever experienced and I will make sure that I and no one I know order from this place. Home Depot and Menards are factual and reliable. This is the worst customer service I ever experienced in my life.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
leet60 on 2013-02-20:
Helpful review and voted as such. This is why I hesitate to shop at retailers with names that include "liquidator", "discount", "bargain" and the like.
face it on 2013-02-22:
Sorry you had to find out the hard way Hobsjohn8963 that this is just business as usual for Lumber Liquidators.
face it on 2013-02-22:
You may also want to consider having the formaldehyde and Urea levels checked in these stair noses before you install them.
Arlene Wisti on 2013-06-14:
I'm not giving myself a chance for experience. Considered going to LL. Reading these reviews changed my mind.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Stay Away!!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WESTBURY, NEW YORK -- Unfortunately, I wasn't samrt enough to read the reviews before placing my order, because now I see how many others around the country had a similar experience.

Oversold product based on the square footage I provided. Brought back sealed unused boxes. Refused refund or even store credit--very narrow window vis-a-vis returns.

I see that others as far away as Seattle had the same experience.

They are real nice until they get your money, but watch out, once they have it - - Rude and discourteous

Company Response 02/09/2012:
At the point of sale we disclose the return policy clearly on the invoice; in fact customers are required to initial the policy to avoid this exact situation from happening. You either chose to ignore the policy, or the item purchased is one noted on the invoice as follows:
Returns/Exchanges: Returns or exchanges are not permitted on opened boxes, close-outs, odd lots, final sales, special deals, special orders, clearance items and laminates. To be eligible for a return or exchange, the product must be in its original condition and have been properly stored. Installed product is considered accepted by purchaser and may not be exchanged or returned for any reason. Shipping and delivery charges are non-refundable. Any additional shipping costs relating to a return or exchange are the sole responsibility of purchaser.
Exchanges are permitted within 30 days of receipt of the product without a restocking fee. Defective product may be exchanged, prior to installation, within 90 days of receipt.
Requests for returns must be made within 30 days of receipt of the product. Approved returns are subject to a 20% restocking fee with the exception of moldings and trim. Special orders are not returnable unless the product is defective.
Without knowing who you are makes it difficult to tell if the policy applies to your purchase, but we make every accommodation possible not unlike other sellers. We apply the policy equally across the country and you’ll never see the millions of people who buy from us post because they reviewed the policy, understood what their responsibility was for returns, and what is allowed for returns and happily installed their floors without concern. If you would like to call Customer Care and share more information we may be able to help you, but this type of posting is one sided and does not fully expose the facts of your purchase. Our policy is written on the invoice, on our website, posted in the stores, and accompanies any online orders. We’re not in business to upset customers, but we also realize some customers may post in this way to get a reaction. We present the above facts and invite you to call Customer Care – the people who can best listen to your grievance and provide solutions based on facts of your purchase. Slow down, read the information we provide, understand what you’re buying, follow the warranty, read the installation instructions, follow the care instructions, and you’ll be assured a great flooring experience.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2012-02-12:
(Company response:At the point of sale we disclose the return policy clearly on the invoice; in fact customers are required to initial the policy to avoid this exact situation from happening.) Lets take a look at that. First off the customer is waiting in line, then dealing with an employee whose only objective is to collect the money and get the people out the door. Most of the time ( as I have witnessed ) the customer is frustrated/fed up/or innocently never expects any sort of "issue". After paying for your purchase the customer is given a receipt and on the last page of this receipt are columns of "policy" set forth by Lumber Liquidators. I would say it is safe to say that if the customer could see the conditions/policies before making the purchase that most of them would walk away. And rightfully so!! In other words most people do not read the fine print. You are not dealing with a friendly local guy/business that you can come back to when you have a problem, you are dealing with a faceless corporation that has no concern about there customers as long as they get paid. They can sugar coat it all they want, it is plain to see where the paying customer falls in there list of priorities. Dead last , if the amount of concern for customers even makes the list.

Companies/organizations such as this need to be boycotted by all Americans!! There objective is 100% profit, all else is a calculated loss. And if your issue does not meet there ridiculous "policies" you, the paying customer, are left holding the bag. The largest percentage of what they sell is imported. They do not participate in the common good. And they request you to call them, on there terms, to fix there problem. Something sounds SO WRONG with that? or is it just me?

Starlord on 2012-02-12:
Sorry, I see nothing wrong or 'sugar-coated' about the comapny's response. Just because you purchaqsed clearance mqaterial or for whatever reason, then chose to ignore the stated policy, it is not LL's misdeeds that created this situation. This appears to me to be a standard policy for returns of materials. Deal with it.
trp2hevn on 2012-02-12:
"Oversold product based on the square footage I provided"... Curious about what this means. Sounds like the OP gave them a number and they provided product based on that number given to them.
Also how long would be an appropriate return window?
I can understand the company asking the OP to call them since there is no mention of who, what, when or how the OP made the purchase. How are they supposed to help this particular OP if they don't even know who SWD is? I believe the company's response is appropriate for this situation. Now when someone reads the review, they have a preview of what the policies are ahead of time.
Texas Dan on 2013-07-10:
Wow! I'm really surprised at LL response
Close commentsAdd reply
Bad Customer Service
Posted by on
This is the most awful company I have ever dealt with. Now I am in a battle to get my money back. They want your money up front, but then when they won't' even ship your product to you they keep you money as well. I don't understand how they can continue to operate in the State of Mississippi. From the first day when we placed our order there has been nothing but trouble. The day we placed our order had to wait 2 hours to place and then assured that it would come in the next week, 3 weeks later I am still waiting. No one will talk to you or at least give you any information if you can get anyone on the phone. They continue to treat you with disrespect and tell lies anything to try cover their butts. I am so sick of it I canceled my order yesterday. Now I can't get my money back to go somewhere else and order my flooring. They just don't care about their customers and customer service is no help at all. They won't' call you back continue to put you on hold and lie to you. How does a company get away with this.

Besides all this they let customers (as in me) drive their forklift. (can you say lawsuit), I just want my money back.
Company Response 08/31/2011:
LL Response:

We continue to investigate your concerns and the store processed your refund as requested, but it's important to note that we fully disclose the terms and conditions of the sale at the time any customer makes a purchase. If these terms are not acceptable, you have no obligation to buy and the signed invoice notes your acceptance of these terms, including the back ordered item that came with no specific promise date as our policies note “delivery dates are estimates”. If you did not have an order to pick up it makes no sense that you would be asked to drive a forklift, however we take safety seriously at Lumber Liquidators so our company will investigate your claim properly. The store is awaiting your call to provide you with the cancellation information and a message has been left with you. Taking a moment to review the information provided at the time of sale could have easily led to a more positive experience, and we stress the importance with each customer. No one tried to mislead you in any way and we're sorry this transaction did not go well and wish you the best with your project.


     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2011-08-31:
I hate to hear that yet another customer is being put through this. I am not an attorney, but I can not see how them holding your money can in any way be legal. And allowing people/ customers to operate there machinery? Good luck with that one!!

You are so correct in your description of this company, but sadly it is not just in your state. The overall lack of compassion to there paying customers is not limited to one state. It is an issue at each and every location.

I wish you a speedy recovery of your money. However much I doubt that it will be nothing short of a long drawn out and stressful process.
madconsumer on 2011-08-31:
best company response!
face it on 2011-09-09:
fully disclose the terms and conditions of the sale: actually means read the fine print that absolves LLI of any responsibility. It is pretty simple...if you buy something and you are not happy with it you should be able to return it regardless of what ridiculous fine print they claim to have given you. Not a hard concept to understand.
Andy on 2012-05-09:
Jan3812, I completely agree with you. As a business owner myself, I cannot understand how LL is still in business. They do not stand by their products at all. I have gone through the same nightmare of an experience with this company. It is unacceptable for a registered business to be operating this way and to continually treat customers with disrespect...it is borderline fraud. I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and I recommend that you do the same. It is time to take a stand against LL and prevent this from continually happening to innocent customers in the future.

Not only do they give you a hard time when asking for a refund, but they try to charge you a 20% restocking fee upon returning defective products. This behavior is beyond questionable, but it confuses me even more why they are restocking defective products. My house has been torn up for the last month and a half and we have had to return all three of their orders due to being defective. Each return is exponentially more difficult than the last and we have finally smartened up and have decided to ask for a full refund and are taking our money to a reputable flooring company that actually stands behind their products.

If anyone has questions about LL and are on the fence about doing business with them, simply google "Lumber Liquidators reviews" and look at the neverending negative reviews about their products and services. I am contemplating bringing a lawsuit against this company and if anyone else has thought about doing the same, e-mail me at andrew_sawicki30@yahoo.com.
Close commentsAdd reply
Company Responses
Posted by on
My husband and I are going to install flooring and thought we would go to Lumber Liquidators. That will no longer be the case. What really made up my mind were the responses by the company. Their responses were rude, demeaning and quite cocky.

If this is how they handle their potential clients online I don't ever want to deal with these arrogant idiots!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2011-04-17:
Revenge,

I want to say to you how glad I am that this forum was able to assist you in your decision. I wish that many more people where able to see what crooks this company is before they get drawn in by there lies and misleading advertising. You are 100% correct in your evaluation of them.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >