Netflix

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
37 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Bad For The Price!
Posted by on
My wife and I never have time for movies any more. Between work and the kids we just find enough time to eat, sleep and sometimes get dressed.

Our thing is we love shows. We like movies, TV shows, documentaries. You name it. We finally bit the bullet and got Netflix. I think we pay like $9.99/month or something like that.

So far I have been pleasantly surprised by how well the service works. For our priced package we can have unlimited movies per month, but you can only have one in your possession at a time. You can go online and fill up your "queue" and the movies just show up in your mailbox. Once you are done you drop it back in the provided envelope and drop it back in your mailbox. A few days later whatever movie is next in your queue arrives. You keep them as long as you like. You just won't get another movie until you return that one.

Beyond the DVDs, also included in the price is access to watch movies and shows online through your computer (or in our case, we use our iPad or iPhone). Not all movies are available to watch online, but they have a decent selection. New stuff seems to only be mail-order disc, but they have a pretty decent catalog of older movies & shows. We can pull up a cartoon for our kids at anytime/anywhere. It lets you stream up to 2 movies/shows at one time, so sometimes I will be watching something downstairs and my wife will have a show on with the kids upstairs. It also remembers where you left off in a movie if you leave or close it down. Next time you pull up the Netflix app on your iPad you can just start up where you left off. Pretty cool.

If you spend any amount of money at brick and mortar movie rental shops I would recommend looking into Netflix. Saves you so many last minute trips to return a late movie. You only need to walk out to your mailbox. =)
     
Read 19 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 02/26/2011:
Nice! My sister has had Netflix for several years and finds it very convenient.

Anonymous on 02/26/2011:
I agree. I know several people who use Netflix and also like it.
momsey on 02/26/2011:
I love Netflix.
clutzycook on 02/26/2011:
I love my Netflix. I finally sucked it up last month and upgraded to two discs at at time (at least until I finish watching Six Feet Under). Having an extra disc for an extra $5 a month is worth it!
Anonymous on 02/26/2011:
I have the same plan. I love it! I can watch movies on my TV (through the Apple TV box) or my laptop, and the kids use their ipods, ipads or iphones. VERY wise investment!
Anonymous on 02/26/2011:
That does it. When I'm home permanently, I'm signing up!
unhappy999 on 02/26/2011:
I too am a Netflix customer. Have not had any problems and figured out that if I return the DVD at my post office which is 5 minutes away by 4:00, they get it that night and check it in, the next day the next DVD is sent out. The service is good. A few times they had to send my a DVD from another area because it wasn't available in this area, so they also sent me an extra one to watch in the meantime.
Skye on 02/26/2011:
Great review Sparticus!

I bet Jake has some favorite movies :)
DebtorBasher on 02/26/2011:
Thanks for the review Sparty!
Starlord on 02/27/2011:
We had Netflix in Arizona and loved the company and the service. We got one DVD that for some reason stopped at the same point every time we tried to play it. We went online and let them know, and we got a replacement of it in the next mail. In addition, they sent us the next movie in our queue at no charge. Great people.
Venice09 on 02/27/2011:
This review has perfect timing. We've been seriously thinking of trying Netflix. My daughter has been using it for a long time and loves it. From what I've read, they have great customer service. Thanks for the review. It puts me one step closer to making a decision.
Alain on 02/27/2011:
Thanks for the tip & review, Sparticus! Very useful!
jktshff1 on 02/27/2011:
good info
Anonymous on 02/27/2011:
Great review! I often find myself renting a movie from the local shop, and it will sometimes sit on my mantle for several days before I actually get the time to watch it. By then, I've racked up late fees. I think this may be the review that pushes me over the edge and allows me to plunge into the world of Netflix. Again, great review!!!
Anonymous on 02/28/2011:
I don't watch much movies at home, But I know people who have Netflix and they love the service (VH).
ok4now on 02/28/2011:
I have Verizon Fios which offers outstanding HD picture quality. My premium channels include HBO, Cinemax, Showtime and Encore. With all of these extra channels you would think that there would be a huge selection of new movies to watch. Wrong. Most of them span the past 10 years and I've seen them all several times. I had the same problem with Comcast. The good movies that you really want to watch are On Demand and cost $5.00 to $8.00 a movie. This can get expensive. Netflix offers a cheaper alternative. For $10 bucks a month you can see a wide variety of recently released movies. The snail mail delivery is a little slow but for the price I'm not complaining.
yankeefan! on 03/01/2011:
You really can't go wrong with 7.99 unlimited viewing
Venice09 on 03/02/2011:
I agree, ok4now, the premium channel lineups are a joke! Not only are the movies old, but most of them weren't very good the first time around. And I would never pay $5.00 to $8.00 for a good movie. I'd rather just buy it!
chrissiann on 03/10/2011:
I totally LOVE Netflix!!! It is afforadable as my boyfriend and I only pay $9.99 per month and can stream as many movies, TV shows, cartoons as we want. They even have great educational shows from NOVA, Animal Planet, Discovery, etc. Some shows are DVD only, so the ones we don't stream we have on our queue. As soon as we're done watching one DVD, we put it back in the mail and the next one is in our mailbox in a few days. I recommend Netflix to anyone!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
FAQ Suspiciously Incomplete About Gift Subscription Policy
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INTERNET, MISSOURI -- Below is my chat conversation with Netflix customer service (you can only contact them through chat or phone, no email). There is nothing in the FAQ about this being how the subscriptions work (I checked, read, searched etc before redeeming.... just had a bad hunch it was going to be something like this). Just wanted to put this out there. If Netflix is going to do this it should be written and made plan and obvious- not only something the customer learns about after the fact.

Just wanted the fact of this out there, so others were aware if they found themselves facing a similar situation. Nearly $100 potentially wasted depending on how long my house takes to sell.

Also, the fact that Netflix has no real customer service should be noted. All Cheryl did was say how the system worked, tell me there was no one else I was allowed to talk to or who could contact me except her supervisor that she could 'Transfer me To' who could tell me no more anyway, and she never offered a solution except... sorry to see you go. That's unbelievably awful customer service. Even without the issue of wasting the money spent on my gift this customer service set up would make it unlikely I would ever consider using Netflix again. There are plenty of possible solutions for this sort of situation, that Netflix has chosen to just go the route of, if it's messed up its messed up don't let the door hit you on the way out- is appalling.

*****
Netflix Cheryl: Hello my name is Cheryl, is this Trevor?

You: Hello, I received a gift subscription I added to my account, but was hoping I could have it paused.
You: Yes, Trevor.
You: We are in the process of selling our house and not there at the moment, so it would be wasted

2 minutes pass

You: Hello?

Netflix Cheryl: Hey! Nice to meet you! Let me double check on that for you.

You: Thank you.

3 Minutes pass

Netflix Cheryl: Okay so since the gift has been redeemed all at one time there isn't a way to pause it. Pretty weird if you ask me, if you have a phone that has Netflix you can still watch there, I know it isn't quite the same, but there are cords that will connect certain phones to your TV if you wanted to look into that temporarily.

You: We are at my in laws who already have Netflix, so really this just means it's being wasted. Is there anyone else who might be able to place the account on hold. Surely there are other times a subscription has been needed to be placed on hold. Seems more than weird that the option is not there at all.

Netflix Cheryl: There isn't our system is automated, once you redeem the gift it just keeps being used up. I totally agree that it is weird, the gifts are tricky sometimes. I checked with a few people higher up then me and that is just a bug we haven't been able to fix yet.

You: The account itself cannot be placed on hold?

3 Minutes Pass

Netflix Cheryl: I can transfer you to my supervisor if you would like, he will tell you the same thing though.
Netflix Cheryl: With the gift subscriptions you can cancel to hold your account but it will continue to use, since technically when you redeemed the gift it was for the entire year so basically you paid for the year already so your streaming goes for a year, there isn't a way to stop it.

You: If your supervisor cannot help I would like the email for his supervisor. I would like to inform them that because they insist on wasting the money spent on our gift for a year we will not be spending any money with them again.
You: That is just bad business practice, it's not a bug, it's simple coding to be able to just hault an account. That is done on purpose for obvious reasons. Bad business.
You: Thank you for your help Cheryl

2 Minutes Pass

Netflix Cheryl: I don't have anything like that, we are the customer service so we take all complaints and then send them up to our tech team that runs the site. I totally agree with you and I will send this up to them. I am not sure how all that stuff works I don't make websites so I am not sure how much goes into making a large change like that.

You: It's not a large change to simple place a stop on an account, every other business in the world does so for subscriptions. There is always someone higher up. If your supervisor doesn't have answers then there is someone else I need to talk to.\

2 Minutes Pass

Netflix Cheryl: Yes but if we do it for you, then we have to change the entire way our system is set up for everyone. It really isn't that simple. I personally do not have any information. I have one person higher than me then our tech team they do not have an email or number all complaints go through the representatives.

You: Can you have them call me?
You: The system should be changed if that is the case, but I still disagree that would be the case.
You: It sounds more like a decision that was made, that Netflix decided since the someone else paid for the subscription the recipient probably wouldn't be too put out if they wasted it if extenuating circumstances came up. I also checked your faq before redeeming, no where did it say that this would be the case. Had it I would not have redeemed.

3 Minutes Pass

Netflix Cheryl: I totally agree that it should be changed. I am not able to take any personal information over the chat due to privacy policies. I can promise you that we do not want waste your money we are a company that strives on giving everyone the best service, this is how our billing is set up. I totally am on your side on this and if there was a way for me to put your account on hold I totally would, I do not like having upset customers. I will let them know that the FAQ should be more concrete on what is allowed and what isn't trust me I want to help you we don't want to see you go over this.

You: So how can you help? This will be a deal breaker for me. That's quite a lot of money that is potentially just down the drain depending on how long it takes my house to sell. The faq is not just not concrete, it says nothing about the fact that the account cannot be held, and since you can hold your account otherwise (as we already had) there was no reason to believe this would be different. That is not just not concrete, that is suspiciously incomplete on the topic for something that it's obvious a customer will assume works the way the site normally works.

3 Minutes Pass

Netflix Cheryl: It is JUST on the gift, if you had a card used every month we could hold it but even then, lets say you pay on the 13th and then you want to cancel on the 25th, because you paid your streaming will still continue, same here you have paid for a year so even if you cancel your streaming will continue. We want NON STOP service for all customers, it is inconveinent in some isnstances such as this one I agree I would be just as upset. I really want to help, if I could but in this situation there is no way to pause your streaming and hold your account. The only reason accounts go on hold is for nonpayment. That is it. I totally understand you wanting to leave because of this I wish I could change your mind but if this is the deal breaker I am not too sure what else to do, honestly there ins't a way to do that. I will let our tech team know that we NEED to update this feature.
******

As you see there is no actual customer service at work here. Just- yeah it's messed up, yeah we should change that, I understand, don't let the door hit you on the way out. No solution offered. No way to talk to anyone or have anyone contact you who could help. Just an unbelievably bad customer service set up. That alone would make me steer clear. Just wanted to put that out there. Hopefully Netflix will at least update their faq, but I rather feel that this is a big thing to have left out on accident.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
leet60 on 02/28/2013:
"I can transfer you to my supervisor if you would like, he will tell you the same thing though."

I was amused by that response. Having worked in call center customer service for years, I can attest to the fact that this is a canned answer used to avoid getting a supervisor - generally because engaging a supervisor is considered a negative mark on individual performance.

The entire issue is ridiculous on the part of Netflix. They could have easily issued you another gift card for the balance not used on the one that was previously redeemed.
Close commentsAdd reply
Netflix Milks its Customers Some More, Service Offerings Continue to Decline
Posted by on
Netflix announces that it is splitting its unlimited DVD and Streaming services and somehow believes that they've lowered costs to its customers in the process? These people are smoking something again! My subscription began at $13.99 when I started as a Netflix customer and it has continued to increase every 6 months while I've seen tools, features and availability of movies decrease significantly. After the latest price increase, I would be paying $23.98. I say "would" because this is the 4th price increase and I believe my last to enjoy. They've also been notorious for providing tools and features, such as allowing people to see member reviews for helping to select movies, and them taking them away. Movie selection is through a ridiculous process whereby they attempt to make the selection process of equal fairness to paying customers at every level, but instead, through a ridiculous and not very well thought out movie selection and delivery scheme, they end up frustrating everyone by causing people to wait several months to receive a single movie title. Yes, the movies from 1970 and before, which predominaitely make up the streaming movie list, are available without much delay. Some of the new encryption technologies that they use on DVDs has been unplayable on my Bose Surround system and after updating the streaming movie selection by adding a "guide", streaming movies now stop and start continuously during movie playback. I have numerous friends who agree and have experienced this same issue but it's been going on for more than a year without acknowledgement from Netflix. Customer service is only available by telephone and they are not capable of handling technical issues. They are there mainly for moral support. This is by far the most frustrating, poorly managed, customer service running on auto-pilot company you will EVER come across. Hopefully, they will have some direct competition and these ridiculous price increases and monopoly they enjoy now will be smashed right back in their faces for how they've taken advantage of their community.
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
groveman55 on 07/13/2011:
My Netflix rate will go down six dollars a month. They are doing a great job of working for their customers. I get both streaming and dvd.
MDSasquatch on 07/13/2011:
I get both as well and my cost is going to double; I am canceling on August 31st and will start getting my movies free from our local library. Who at this company thought this was a good idea?
MRM on 07/13/2011:
MDS, I got to try that sometime, forcing myself to rent movies from a local library.
trmn8r on 07/13/2011:
I borrowed from the library once or twice, a LONG time ago (VCR tapes). I'm a bit surprised that they still do it.

Netflix seems like it has captured a large portion of the market, but I don't know anything about the user experience.
Churro on 07/13/2011:
At first I was outraged by the increase. Spitting nails man. Ranting and raving and shaking my fists in the air at the evil corporate monkeys. Posted about it on a public consumer gripe site. Then when I cooled off a bit and gave it a good thinking it's only a seven dollar a month increase. Big whoop. In the grand scheme of things I'll never notice that seven dollars one way or the other.

Bottom line Netflix is still worth it to me. Ya know since I can quit and re-join anytime without penalty if I discover a better offer I'm free to say bye-bye Netflix. You got to love the free market.

I do think however NetFlix could have thrown a bone to its long time subscribers. A little something to keep ya from hitting that cancel button.

Good review!
Anonymous on 07/13/2011:
Just as the sun, everything must rise before it can fall. ~ A riptism
PepperElf on 07/13/2011:
in all honesty I think some of these new rental companies (like Netflix and red box) are taking over out of the fact they're like mcdonalds.... fast and cheap movies.

the problem is the selection. It's rather limited. Latest DVDs? O yeah, no worries... but if you want something a bit older your mileage may vary.

I'm looking now and yes I found a couple of movies I like that are harder to find but... nope, they don't have "Bloodbath at the House of Death". Pity. Vincent Price rocks.

and of course I hate recurring bills. so even if they did have a couple of movies I like... I'd rather just get those separately vs paying constantly to get one or two movies
SteveWiginowski on 07/13/2011:
My wife wanted to watch all of the Harry Potter movies, so we recently changed our plan from streaming (on PS3) to streaming and 1 DVD at a time. We've watched 2 DVD's a week for the past 3 weeks.

I think once September comes around, I will change the plan to streaming only. If there comes a time where there are a lot of movies that I want to watch and they aren't available on demand or streaming, then I may upgrade to the 1 DVD again. I'm trying to re-watch the entire 24 series on the streaming Netflix, so that should take me quite a bit of time.
Anonymous on 07/13/2011:
I watched a streamed movie via video chat, it was an interesting experience to say the least. I was wondering if anyone else has done that, watch a movie with someone without being with that someone.
MDSasquatch on 07/13/2011:
my wife gets new-release DVDs from our library (Maryland) faster than I can get them from Netflix and they are free. The only reason I kept the service was for my son to stream the occasional movie.

I urge everyone to at least visit their local library, most have more than just books now-a-days.
Whiteduck on 07/13/2011:
I have had no problems whatsoever with Netflix. I only stream and the price is low. The selection sucks though, but that's not Netflix fault. Most movie companies want to bleed all the cash they can from their stuff (understandable) and don't let Netflix stream them. For the $8 a month, I get access to a whole slew of movies I probably wouldn't see otherwise, and I can watch an entire season of a missed TV show without commercials.

Worth it to me...
saj80 on 07/13/2011:
Netflix is doing this as a proactive decision due to upcoming negotiations with studios. When Netflix last negotiated prices with studios, they were able to obtain the rights to movies for approximatley $20 million. Many in the industry are now saying that to retain these rights, it will probably cost Netflix in excess of $1 billion for the next five years. Sony has already backed away from offering Netflix new releases until negotiations are completed, and Netflix can not continue to offer their services without a subscription increase, due to what it will cost them to retain the rights from the studios.
MRM on 07/13/2011:
MDS, but before I could rent movies from the library, I need to update my library card as it has been 14 years since I've used the card.
trmn8r on 07/14/2011:
I've heard a bit more about this since yesterday.

Sounds to me like a good business decision by Netflix. Obviously it will tick off a segment of their customers, but in the long run it is the best thing to do. Their stock had a nice bounce yesterday, which means investors believe it is a good move that won't send the business into a tailspin through lost customers.
pipewelder on 07/14/2011:
Guess I'll be cancelling Aug.31st also. I really don't use it much in the summer anyway and we very seldom stream and there is REDBOX which I will start using. It was fun while it lasted, but all good things must come to an end. Bye Netflix.
Kurizumaru on 07/14/2011:
You can also check out Hulu plus, I don't know what all they have though, but they're another pay for streaming without commercials service. Let us know!
Close commentsAdd reply
Netflix's big rate increase marketed as lowest price ever? Huh?
Posted by on
LOS GATOS, Calif., July 12, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Netflix Inc. (Nasdaq:NFLX - News) announced today it is launching new unlimited DVD-only plans in the U.S. at their lowest price ever– only $7.99 a month for the 1 DVD out at-a-time plan and $11.99 a month for the 2 DVDs out at-a-time plan.


New members can sign up for these plans by going to DVD. Netflix.com.

Netflix also announced it is separating its unlimited streaming and unlimited DVD plans in the U.S. to better reflect the costs of each and to give members a choice: a streaming-only plan, a DVD-only plan or the option to subscribe to both.

With this change, Netflix will no longer be offering unlimited plans that include both streaming and DVDs by mail. The unlimited streaming plan will remain at $7.99 a month. The price for getting both unlimited streaming and unlimited DVDs will be $15.98 a month ($7.99 + $7.99).

For new Netflix members, the changes will be effective immediately. For existing members, the new pricing will start for charges on or after September 1.

"Netflix members love watching instantly, but we've come to recognize there is still a very large continuing demand for DVDs by mail," said Andy Rendich, Netflix Chief Service and Operations Officer. "By better reflecting the underlying costs and offering our lowest prices ever for unlimited DVD, we hope to provide a great value to our current and future DVD-by-mail members."

Netflix introduced streaming to its popular DVD-by-mail business in 2007. Since then, membership has climbed from 6 million to 23 million in the U.S. as people have embraced the idea of watching instantly an ever-expanding library of movies and TV shows on the hundreds of consumer electronics devices capable of streaming movies and TV shows from Netflix right to members' TVs.
     
Read 29 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 07/12/2011:
My boyfriend will not be happy about this. He has both the streaming and the mail order plan. Good review Churro
Churro on 07/12/2011:
Wow this is a big price increase. I'm on the $9.99 a month plan for unlimited streaming and one disc out at a time. Now it's going to be $15.98? Heck, it's time to drop down to the $7.99 streaming only or suffer a 60% price increase.

Why is it the more things change the more they suck?
madconsumer on 07/12/2011:
great review Churro (not charro)

I found this very helpful!!
BEJ on 07/12/2011:
It will be interesting to see what my rate will be. I get unlimited 3-dvd at a time plus streaming. Might have to change my plan.
Thanks for the review!
Churro on 07/12/2011:
BEJ, If you log into Netflix then click on your account -> change rate plan ... it will explain your new rate.

Thanks shorty, mad and BEJ.
MRM on 07/12/2011:
So far, I haven't had the need to sign up for NetFlix as I go to my local video store and rent movies. I only rent 1 or 2 movies a month.
ktisnumeroUNO on 07/12/2011:
Yeah I got the email about this today.. we were on the 1 DVD at a time with unlimited streaming for $9.99. Now I downgraded to streaming only because I totally refuse to pay $16 for Netflix. Its so bogus. I'm also irritated that long standing customers aren't being grandfathered into their plan, and are being forced to switch. Boooooo!
Churro on 07/12/2011:
MRM, You're all the time bragging on here about pirating movies off the internet and you advocate it for others as well. Basically you're a freeloader benefiting from the rest of us who are willing to do the honest thing by paying for content. So of course you have no need to sign up for Netflix.
kinthenorthwest on 07/12/2011:
The reason there is such a demand for the DVDs by mail is that 90% of their streaming videos are like a year or so old...
I figure for the price and the turnaround..I will either rent from one of my other applications, my local store or wait...
Turn around for many ends up with you getting maybe 2 dvds with the cheaper plan and just maybe 4 with the next step up a month.
I have some friends that said there can be a wait of a month or two for the newer shows too.

So figure it out guys I have...

Might want to ck into VuDU, which is a pay as u use streaming..
It has a $2 for 2 nights which ends up being much better....Also VuDu has this daily $1 a day that changes..I actually got some really good bargains on that part of VuDu, once it was one that had just gone into the DVD circulation.
Except for the $2 bargain part, you don't have to watch it that day, but if you start watching its only good for 24 or maybe 48 hours.
Just for added info...VuDu had Part I of the latest Harry Potter for streaming, about a week before Netflix had it by mail.
Vinnie11 on 07/12/2011:
I think this is outrageous. I am going to cancel it. I have Amazon.com Prime shipping. I shop on Amazon quite a bit and when you purchase Prime, you get unlimited 2-day shipping. They recently added free streaming videos and for streaming, I can usually find what I want to see there more often than Netflix. They will probably find this is a very bad move for them as a business. I didn't mind the $2 increase we had just a few months ago but not biting on this one :(
kinthenorthwest on 07/12/2011:
Vinnie I saw that ... How is that working out.
I was thinking of dropping my Netflix in favor of it when I found it..
Vinnie11 on 07/12/2011:
I enjoy Amazon. Sometimes it isn't available on the free side and if Netflix didn't have it either, I would pay for it on Amazon but the costs are low. I think $3.99 is the highest I've paid for something and $1.99 is the lowest. So if Netflix is going to be $16.00, I could rent about the same amount of Amazon movies that I watch through Netflix and even better if they were included free through Amazon Prime. They have a decent selection.
Old Timer on 07/12/2011:
Cox on demand isn't bad if you don't rent to many current titles a month. You only have to pay for what you rent. The year old stuff is often free or $1.99 - $2.99. Movies get in the way of sports broadcasts so I'm not a good potential customer for any of the movie rental houses.
Vinnie11 on 07/12/2011:
I have Cox. I'll have to check them out!
madconsumer on 07/12/2011:
mrm it is not good to brag about pirating software and movies.
MRM on 07/12/2011:
You are right, MadC. From now on I shall deny everything and burn my stash of movie collection.
Vinnie11 on 07/12/2011:
MRM, you know that's illegal. Right?
MRM on 07/12/2011:
Its only for personal use. As long as I'm not selling softwares or movies I'll be alright.
Anonymous on 07/12/2011:
Don't worry MRM. Nobody will find you. You're safe in mommy's basement
Anonymous on 07/12/2011:
Hush now MRM, baby, don't you cry.
Mamma's going to check out all your girlfriends for you,
Mamma won't let anyone dirty get through,
Mamma's going to wait until you get in.
Mamma will always find out where you've been,
Mamma's going to keep baby healthy and clean.
Oooh MRM, Oooh babe, Oooh babe,
You'll always be baby to me.
Anonymous on 07/12/2011:
Love Pink Floyd, rip
Casper on 07/12/2011:
My cable provider warned me that Netflix was going to raise their rates but I never expected a 60% price increase. I wish I had known of their underhanded intentions before I invested in the extra equipment required to use their service. I'll use their $7.99 streaming service just until I can find a more honest company to do business with. Unforunately I've been recommending Netflix to all my friends. I guess I've got some calls to make and perhaps a few apologies.
raven2010 on 07/12/2011:
This also annoyed me when I read my email today. I had the unlimited streaming plus one DVD (for those things I want NOW that are not yet available on streaming)

So sure, I go from 10 bucks to 8, but I lose the DVD. I refuse to increase my bill by over 50% for the same exact service.
clutzycook on 07/13/2011:
You know, I never got the email about this from Netflix. I heard about it via Facebook (and then Hubby heard about it on the radio and called me). You should see the backlash they got on their Facebook page about this. Within 3 hours, they had over 6000 posts basically telling them where they can stick their plan changes. By the time I went to bed last night, there were over 10,000 messages telling them to shove it. As of right now, there are over 27,000 posts. I tried several times to call them yesterday but they just disconnected the calls because they had too high of volume. I'm on hold with them right now and they say my average wait time is 27 minutes. I may or may not stay on the line.
Anonymous on 07/13/2011:
We have Netflix ( streaming only )...We found that when we did receive discs at home they would just sit forever unwatched, so we cancelled that part of the service..
Old Timer on 07/13/2011:
Even with the 1,000's of complaints everywhere on the web, mostly on FaceBook NetFlix stock is up today. Wall Street must have liked the move.
Anonymous on 07/13/2011:
good review. I used Netflix for a free trial period. I'm not sure how long ago, but found renting at the library or streaming them on youtube more convenient $$
Vinnie11 on 07/13/2011:
Clutzy, I just got the e-mail this morning. They must be sending them out in batches.
clutzycook on 07/13/2011:
Could be, Vinnie. Of course, if you haven't heard the news by now, you're probably living under a rock and don't even get email :). The internet: better than the small town grapevine :).
Close commentsAdd reply
Netflix "Special Deal" Is Same Rip Off That Drove Me Away
Posted by on
LOS GATOS, CALIFORNIA -- I have been a loyal customer and evangelist for Netflix for years. I was happy to take the stress of returning movies "on time" out of my life, even though I ended up paying more for Netflix movies than I would to see movies in the theater (I only watched one every two or three months). I was a satisfied customer, getting the service I paid for.

In December I canceled Netflix, and I left angry. I joined Netflix because it was the most convenient way to watch and return DVDs. Netflix decided to shift focus to "online viewing" without considering how many people use their computer for other things and prefer to watch movies on television. Instead of giving a discount to loyal customers, Netflix RAISED the price on everyone who had built their customer base on DVD subscriptions. Then Netflix offered the streaming service cheaper, which made all the DVD customers feel like Netflix was manipulating them and insulting their intelligence. Customers like to choose their products, not be herded into them.

What Netflix should have done was keep the DVD price the same while offering the cheaper online-only option. It's the fact they RAISED their prices on the loyal customers that built their business which is so insulting.

But that's not even the most outrageous thing Netflix has done. Today I got a "special offer" in the mail, supposedly to tempt me back to Netflix. For a minute I thought it might be an apology to their old DVD customers and some discount to lure me back.

What is Netflix's idea of a "special deal"? It is...NOTHING! NO DISCOUNT AT ALL! THE REGULAR PRICE PRESENTED AS A "SPECIAL DEAL"!

What the Heck?!

Netflix "offered" me the online-only package for the exact same price as they advertised in December, when I said no thanks and slammed the door. Moreover, they "offered" the same DVD service as I had before for two dollars more - the same RAISED price Netflix wanted me to pay in December?

So an offer is "special" just because Netflix says it is? They might be able to fool new customers with that crap, but to send that kind of phony "offer" to former customers is just going to piss them off further.

But perhaps that is the secret plan of Netflix: cash in on the IPO, "fire" all the previous customers, declare bankruptcy, and all the top executives that get away with the spoils will vacation in the Cayman Islands.

I hope the FCC is keeping a very, very close watch on all their shenanigans.
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 03/17/2011:
Here is a financial firm's analysis: "The average number of DVDs mailed each month to Netflix(NFLX_) subscribers has seen a consistent decline over the years, reflecting the increasing popularity of lower-value subscription packages that offer subscribers a limited number of DVDs but unlimited online streaming.
The company recently introduced a streaming-only plan in the U.S. to capture this demand, for $8/month, after releasing a similar product in Canada. We expect the trending decline in number of DVDs mailed per subscriber to continue as online streaming gains popularity and expands internationally."

A few observations. I don't think any company cares much about how former customers will react to anything. Also, customer loyalty doesn't trump a major shift in customer demand.
momsey on 03/17/2011:
What shenanigans are they involved in that the FCC would be interested in? They are a for-profit company, they will inevitably raise their prices.
Anonymous on 03/17/2011:
I've had Netflix for a couple of years and as far as I can tell I haven't had a rate increase. I still pay $9.99 a month for instant viewing and one dvd out at a time.

I'm curious as to what the rates used to be? How much of a hike did you experience?

I'm no futurists but the DVDs movie medium days are numbered. Streaming video and iTunes like sales/rentals are the future. As Block Buster learned if you're not the future then you're the past.

Good review.
MRM on 03/17/2011:
DVD medium are here to stay!
ChuhBaca on 03/17/2011:
I was with you until the conspiracy tangent at the end. I was a Netflix customer a couple of years ago and we were able to have multiple movies out at a time. After a while, we watched far fewer movies and cancelled for lack of use.

Now we have Netflix streaming with 1 dvd out at a time. We tend to use the streaming more. I will say that we were a little disappointed at how many movies and tv shows are DVD only. Also, they could really use a better interface to browse what is available to stream. Basically, you have to either know exactly what you are looking for to search, or browse the limited number of titles in each category they provide. It's hard to wander into those hidden gems, or good titles that one has just forgotten about.
As for your preference for DVD over streaming, I'm afraid the demand is moving away from a physical disc. Netflix is trying to keep up in order to keep from going the way of Blockbuster and Hollywood video. Plus, I'm sure it's much cheaper to accommodate the streaming customers, then to maintain and pay for 2-way mailing of DVDs (and blu ray discs). So, yes, you are correct in that their pricing model is not intended to make more profit from DVDs, but align consumer behavior.
azRider on 03/17/2011:
Its clear DVD's are in decline, its not just Netflix. look at blockbuster, they have closed stores and declared bankruptcy. Hollywood video is gone, most mom and pop DVD rental stores are gone. DVD's have been going down each year while steaming services increase. what Netflix is doing is good management by trying to reduce cost and increase profit by using new platforms to serve from. now you can get Netflix on Wii, Xbox, PlayStation, ipad, Iphone, and several other devices. so I don't think its big deal, they are just trying to push the old customers into the new world. time to give up the DVD, cassette tapes, and Sony Walkman and get with the move. else your dvd and 33 1/3 records will have to share closet space.
MRM on 03/17/2011:
DVD medium is here to stay! Keep hope alive!

Several reasons why I prefer dvd over streaming media:
- no internet connection needed
- copy movies for friends and family
- you can play movie anywhere in the car on a portable dvd player.
- dvd quality is more supererior than streaming
trmn8r on 03/17/2011:
ChuhBaca - if it costs more to handle the DVD's as it almost assuredly does, isn't it possible the pricing of DVD vs. streaming reflects profit margin requirements, and isn't necessarily an effort to align customer behavior?
MRM on 03/17/2011:
The bottom line is dvd is more versatile than streaming media. Keep hope alive!
Whiteduck on 03/17/2011:
I agree MRM that DVDs are convenient. But saying an advantage to them is making a copy for friends and family sounds pretty lame. Stealing is one of the things they are trying to fight... And, yes it is stealing, no matter what silly spin you put on it.
MRM on 03/17/2011:
How is it stealing when you rent or own a dvd in your possession? I'm making personal copies for friends and family. When you have purchase a dvd movie you can do whatever you like.
Anonymous on 03/17/2011:
if you rent a DVD its not yours its the stores unless you purchase it from them.
jktshff1 on 03/17/2011:
MRM, it's copyright laws. It's yours to watch, not make copies of.
Anonymous on 03/17/2011:
Next time you're watching a DVD, don't fast-forward past the FBI warning during the intro.
MRM on 03/17/2011:
Good tip, DIRM! Most of the time when you copy dvd, it doesn't include the FBI warning. Just to satisfy My3Cents curiousity, the last movie I have copied is Megamind. Good movie indeed!
stopthefraud on 03/18/2011:
First, Blockbuster was driven out of the mail-DVD business because Netflix won the price war with them. This probably contributed to their later bankruptcy as well, since Netflix picked up many customers at the time. The video store business is not a valid comparison because people have to pay late fees on videos, and they originally turned to Netflix to avoid those fees.

Second, I very much doubt the "market" has aligned toward streaming: only the Next Big Thing hype aligned that way. Most people already use their computers for work,shopping, web site development and tech stuff, multimedia editing, and games. If you have limited RAM or if you're using a laptop with a small screen, you aren't going to be able to have so many windows up. Streaming is convenient, especially if you want to catch up on the show you missed *right now*, but most people still prefer to watch their DVDs on TV while doing other things on their computer.

If Netflix *can't afford* their mail-DVD model (which they may have under-priced during the war with Blockbuster) they should just say so. Customers prefer honest pricing to attempts to trick them into purchasing something they don't really want. But, as mentioned above, Netflix could have weaned people to streaming if they had simply offered the streaming discount without raising the price on the DVDs at the same time.

To those who are confused about the price raise: at Christmas the 1-at-a-time plan (with streaming) went up from $8.99 to $9.99. The alternative to the price hike was the new $7.99 streaming-only deal was offered as the only alternative to paying more: both the DVD Mail price and streaming price are EXACTLY THE SAME in the new "Special Offer" that's supposed to lure me back. The price and package changes were broadly announced in the media and led to weeks of stock speculation.

For anyone who has come here looking for complaints about Netflix, beware of the first couple of comments: they reek of astroturf, probably by Netflix employees.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Charged for Free Trial
Posted by on
Rating: 3/51
LOS GATOS, CALIFORNIA -- I have been a member of Netflix before after starting one of the free trials and continuing on as a regular member. However, until recently, I did not have an active membership. I received an email that allowed me to get another free trial as a returning customer. I immediately jumped at the chance because I love being able to watch movies online. However, I found that I had pending charges for the streaming plan 2 days later. I immediately contacted Netflix and talked to CSR on the live chat and she told me that the charges were "pre-authorization" and had been reversed. I kept an eye on my account to make sure the pending charges were deleted, but they changed to actual charges. I went to live chat again and the new CSR did some research for me and found that I was, indeed, charged by their system for the free trial. She reversed the charges manually and my bank account was credited 2 days later. This was very worrying to me because I only started the free trial to use Netflix for a month and then I plan to cancel it. If you get one of those free trial offers, make sure to keep an eye out so you don't get charged!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Netflix Charged for Streaming, When I Cancelled DVD Plan
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INTERNET, FLORIDA -- I have used both Netflix for both DVD and live streaming. I never had both streaming and DVD service at the same time. However, when I cancelled DVD service in August 2013, my account was billed for streaming through the end of November. I called customer service and they told me they would only refund me for one month of service ($8.62). I told "Bill" in customer service that I haven't streamed anything from August '13 through the end of Nov. '13. He said, we don't keep track of streaming.

So, I am out $25.86! Watch your bank statements! They, Netflix, will continue to charge your account, WITHOUT your consent!

Signed, Kieran J. O'Hagan (Panama City Beach, FL).
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
NetFlix Unreliable
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I registered for the one month free trial back in February and proceeded to login on the smart TV. The movies didn't work, the streaming was terrible, within 5 minutes the selected showing froze. I proceeded to cancel my account online [and little to my knowledge... you are supposed to receive a confirmation email]. As far as I was concerned my account was terminated.

We are now in July and my account has continually been charged every month. I called Netflix and spoke with customer service who confirmed there was no activity on my account and that this miscommunication when cancelling the account online is common. I was credited back July and told there would be no problem crediting back the other 4 months but that he needed to transfer me to corporate in terms to do so. Upon speaking with corporate I was told nothing could be done that they see activity on the account for March. When I asked them to state for me what the activity was and to send me a record they refused to do so. As a customer I am entitled to this information, especially because I never used the account.

How can customer service see no activity but corporate office state something different and not be able to back it up with facts?! What kind of customer service is that? At this point I don't even care about the money they basically are scamming from me but I want to make people aware that this company is unreliable and not reputable.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Can't be trusted
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Yesterday I decided to temporarily suspend Netflix since my wife and I will be gone for at least 3 months off and on for the next 5 months or so. I suspended my account and received an e-mail from Netflix stating that we can watch their service until October 26th when my current subscription runs out. The e-mail also stated they would hold my current programs in the menu until I restarted their service. Last night my wife and I were going to watch a movie and low and behold, they went ahead and stopped the service immediately. Since I was paid until the 26th it only shows their contempt for their customers. It was Netflix that stated they will continue to allow us to view programs until the current subscription runs out. Needless to say, we won't be returning to them after the holidays.
     
Add reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
CALIFORNIA -- I have been a Netflix member for over 10 years. In the previous 9 1/2 years I have received excellent service and recommended several customers to their service. (about 20 or 30 have joined Nertflix) No More!

In the last 2-3 months they have put all the new release movies on very long wait status even though I had the release at the top of my queue when released. I have been complaining to them during the past week. Today I talked to a supervisor who accused me of trying to get a free DVD because I pointed out to her that their policy used to be when they messed up they would send an extra movie to make up for their mistake. I wasn't asking for anything, just pointing it out. Rude, very rude!

She ended up hanging up on me saying I wasn't listening to her when the fact is she wasn't listening to me. Netflix is obviously experiencing financial difficulties and is trying different procedures to save money. Why don't they just tell the truth instead of making up lies? (I owned Netflix stock for several years because of their excellent customer service. I would not recommend the stock or the service to anyone at this point!)
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Suzy on 09/21/2012:
It isn't only new releases, I have several older releases in queue that have been there for several months on very long wait and have never gotten off even when moved to the top of the list. These are movies that are only available by disc also, so I can't even stream them. I've about given up on ever getting them. I think with Netflix wanting to get away from discs they have decided to push people away from them this service by giving such poor customer service to this side of things. But in spite of wanting to go to only streaming eventually I don't see them improving their streaming selections quickly enough to make this their only option anytime soon if they want to stay in business. In the meantime it just makes them more likely to lose customers by lowering the quality of what the disc customers receive.
BigAl on 09/22/2012:
I have found their streaming selection to be very disappointing.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >