Priceline Hotel Bookings

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 45 ratings and
142 reviews & complaints.
Priceline Logo
Company Profile
Priceline
800 Connecticut Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06854
203-299-8000 (ph)
203-299-8948 (fax)
www.priceline.com
executive.services@priceline.com
www.priceline.com
executive.services@priceline.com
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Use Priceline For Your Hotel Bids
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I was a first time user of Priceline - and how very disappointed I am about their rating of the Best Western Hotel in Bossier City, Louisiana on Lake Street. Priceline rated this hotel with two and a half stars and I bid on this hotel ending up with a fair to high price for this hotel. With the events that unfolded once we arrived vs the money I paid .... I thought I was in a SciFi movie.

Priceline took my hard earned money and misrepresented a "good deal". Priceline spends millions of dollars on advertisement and then just a few blogs with photos can put the kibosh on all the wonderful marketing efforts they just spent - if you will take heed from me. The Best Western you sent me to had roaches, a bad clogged hairy shower drain, a rip in the sheets a foot long and a big cigarette burn on the bedspread. I am not exaggerating - I have photos. This was supposed to be one step below a three star hotel like Wyndam or the Hilton.... are you kidding me.

The staff was very polite and tried to accommodate us for what had to be embarrassing as I had photos to share which will back up all the above but.... it is what it is.

Priceline - you - should be ashamed of yourselves. You also included a hidden charge in your service that I am very upset over not to mention the misrepresentation of the hotel rating.

William Shatner shame.... shame ... I would have expected more from Captain Kirk. Pull yourself from this debacle .... Mr. Spock would be proud.
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
olie on 08/13/2013:
Picard over Kirk, any day!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Charged even though transaction was never completed by me.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
A few days ago I tried Priceline.com to get a reservation for a hotel in NYC for 3 days. I entered a price and location. The site could not find a hotel for me at my price in these areas. They kept seining me back to my original screen and asked me to change my parameters which I did, four times. I changed neighborhoods, raised my price, lowered the star rating. I finally got to a screen that told me to check back in 15 minutes. When I pressed the CHECK YOUR PRICE button it came back with my original screen again. It could not find me a hotel. So I logged out and went to Hotwire where I immediately found what I wanted. When I went to get the confirmation email I found I had communication from Priceline as well. When I opened it up it said they had found a hotel and my account was charged $600.00. I almost threw up I was so freaked. I immediately called the 'Philippines' and spoke with 'Chris'. Now I have A LOT of Phillipino friends and none are named Chris. Anyway, I might as well have gotten a recorded message. I explained the situation, that I had never confirmed the deal and had actually logged off. She read me a script and said there was nothing I could do. So I ran crying to my husband, the master debater. He called, went up the food chain and got the same message with each person. So I called Mastercard. I love that company. The agent calmed me down, told me not to worry they would take care of it. Apparently this happens quite frequently. She deleted the authorization nd it never showed on my bill.

Lesson learned...don't bother with Priceline.com customer service, it is nonexistent.

* Don't bother with BBB. Or rather check their website on all companies you've never purchased from before. That was my big mistake AND I should have known better.

*Do file a report with your state and the federal consumer affairs division. They can't/won't do anything for a few years but it will be on record. You can try writing directly to your state attorney general though that did work for me once with a contractor.

*Do contact your credit card company immediately. They can't do anything then but the complaint will be on record. Then call them back in 48 hours, that is when the charge gets authorized. Ask them to remove the authorization and explain why. This too will be on record. Then check your account online if you can. As soon as it appears on your bill call again and make your formal complaint. They will send you papers to be notarized. DO IT ASAP! The fee will be removed immediately and the review will start. 9 times out of 10, for Priceline.com, they will reject the charge and you will be home free.

*Do keep a detailed record of who you talk to, date, time, what you said and what they said. You'll need it for your dispute. Send a COPY of that along with your notarized paper to the CC company.

*Do not use Priceline.com again.
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Dell Hell on 07/01/2012:
That is pretty crazy. Priceline's sight shows nothing but later after you log out they find a room and hit your credit card. That is just plain not right! Stay far, far away from these 3rd party sites unless you can afford to get ripped off or end up with nothing for your hard earned money. Use someone like Kayak, then book direct. You can even use the compare Priceline option to show you're getting a better deal than Priceline. (Bottom left of the page, just check Priceline) http://www.kayak.com/hotels

If the Priceline pundits wonder by, they will twist this around that you did something wrong. Ignore them, they probably travel once a year on Thanksgiving.
Digi on 07/01/2012:
I just wanted to let you know, my brother-in-law's name is CRIS (Chris)...and he's Filipino (all of them were born in the Philippines). FYI.
Baffled on 07/02/2012:
I have read complaints about priceling, hotels.com and all of the other online booking services and I still wonder why anyone would use them or think they are getting some kind of a deal through these services. Call the hotel's local number, speak with the person at the desk or in reservations, ask about discounts (AAA, AARP, Military, Corporate, whatever), talk about room types, amenities offered, parking, and whatever else you need to know. You will get the room type you need, on the date you want (if they aren't sold out), and you won
Close commentsAdd reply
Draconian customer service
Posted by on
Here is a chronological example of how Priceline customer service treats its customers.

:I have used your service for the past four years and have
> booked hundreds of Hotel stays through you. I have been extremely
> pleased until last night. I booked a room for a friend who needed to
> stay overnight in Sumter NC. I booked her the highest possible star
> hotel which was two stars. She was traveling with her Son age 12 and her
> daughter age 6, They arrived at the Hotel at about midnight. The area
> that the Hotel is in is so dangerous that they decided not to stay at
> all. I'm very surprised and very disappointed with this experience and I
> wanted you to know.

> Dear Martin,
>
> Thank you for taking the time to send us an e-mail. We understand that
> your friend did not stay at the Econo Lodge Sumter due to the location
> of the hotel.
>
> Please note that the itinerary number for the reservation is 15143910358
> and 45640432 is the confirmation number number.
>
> Per our records, you selected the Econo Lodge Sumter while submitting
> the request and the reservation was booked accordingly.
>
> However, your pre-paid reservations at this time are non-refundable.
> When you selected a hotel and asked us to book your reservations, we
> immediately charged the card you provided in order to lock in your rate
> and secure your reservations. The terms of your reservation are outlined
> on the website on your itinerary page. At this point, your reservations
> cannot be changed, canceled or refunded.
>
> We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you find this information
> helpful.
>
> Sincerely,
>
> Abhinav P.
> Customer Service Specialist

Dear Abinav P.,

Your response is even more disappointing than the Hotel room in Sumter. As I mentioned in my first correspondence, over the last four years I have used your service approximately 6 or 7 hundred times and I am fully aware of the terms of the contract that I sign each time. I was not writing to you to have you point out the terms of the contract. I was writing to let you know of my deep disappointment and to see what remedies' you would make. Based on your response it appears that my issue is of no concern to you. Apparently you will be continuing to sell this Hotel to your customers regardless of the danger of its location.

I find your response and lack of concern completely unacceptable. It is my intention to contact Jeffery Boyd, Lisa Gillingham and Susan Johnston to make them aware of this issue. Please forward a copy of this correspondence to them, as I will also be phoning and sending hard copies to them via USPS.

Regards,


Thank you for taking the time to contact our corporate office in reference to the hotel reservation that was purchased at the Econo LodgeSumter for July 4, 2010. This email is response to your phone call to our corporate office and in particular with the problem you encountered with this booking. We appreciate your concern and feedback regarding the safety of the location where the hotel is located. We take your comments very seriously and would be shared with the appropriate personnel for consideration. Priceline is unable to determine the crime rate or dangerthat is taking place within the city at any given date or time. Neither the hotel or Priceline have the ability to control what goes on outside the hotel premises. Once again we thank you for your concern and appreciate the time you took to inform Priceline of the situation regarding the safety of the area where the hotel is located, your concern will be documented for future reference. Regards, Guillermo LopezExecutive Offices

Dear Mr. Lopez,

Thank you for the prompt response to my concerns. I must say however that I am still very disappointed with the handling of this problem on several levels. firstly, it took two emails and a phone call to your CEO to get a response that was even partly acceptable. Secondly the supposed resolution to my problem hardly seems like a resolution at all. I hate to say it but the treatment that I've received, after being a loyal Priceline customer for many years with hundreds upon hundreds of hotel bookings, I have no choice but to join the growing chorus of voices that ply the internet with negative comments about Priceline. I consider myself to be in partnership with those with whom I do business. It is very apparent that Priceline doesn't consider me a partner nor does it care very much for my business.

This issue for me is far from resolved.

Regards,


In your first email you were able to address your concern and mentioned that the purpose of the email was to notify Priceline of the current issue and to share your experience. Our customer service personnel replied to your email stating the terms and conditions of the booking and advising you that the reservation is non refundable. Unfortunately, thinking that you were asking for some type of compensation or refund asmost customers would be looking for our agent fell under that impression. In response to his email you mentioned that you did not need to be pointed out the terms and conditions to our policies as you are fully aware of our agreement and procedures. Again, you mentioned that you wanted to share your disappointment and see what remedies would be takento resolve the issue. We acknowledged the seriousness of your complaint and brought to the attention of the appropriate personnel in corporate for proper handling and consideration. What ever remedies or actions are taken within our company to provide the best resolution to this particular issue would behandled internally. We are truly sorry but can you please inform Priceline of what you are requesting or expecting as a proper resolutionto this matter? We have long term contracts with our hotel partner the Econo Lodge Sumter and would require far more time and work to come to a conclusion. We will work on the issue and see what needs to be done in reference to this matter with the help of the feedback that we obtain from our customers such as yourself. We really appreciate your business and hope that you understand how thisproblem outside the hotel can really be a hard issue to address and evenmore to control. Sincerely, Guillermo LopezExecutive Offices

Dear Mr, Lopez,


Pricelines business model as it pertains to customer issues could not be more apparent. Every email that I've received thus far from Pricelines customer service department essentially reads the same way. The fact that I booked a dangerous and unsatisfactory hotel room for a female friend who was traveling alone with her two young children from New Jersey to North Carolina is my fault and my fault alone. The fact that I had to spend money for a second hotel room is simply a financial consequence of doing business with Priceline. These are the facts as far as Priceline is concerned. This opinion comes across in every email. Priceline bears no culpability, offers no apology and would never think of offering or sharing in any financial restitution.

I don't subscribe to this way of doing business, my first concern is for the satisfaction of my customers. I believe that the public and Pricelines stockholders should be made more aware of Pricelines draconian customer service business model. I have been an extremely loyal Priceline customer for many years, just check my record for the past three or four years and I'm sure you'll find that I have been one of your best individual customers. This one incident and the handling of it has changed that. Not only will I move my business to one of your competitors but I also feel obligated to make what has transpired as public as possible.


Regards,

Our records indicate that our office has already addressed your concern. We understand that you are not satisfied with the resolution. We reviewed your issue again to confirm that we did not overlook anything that might support a more favorable resolution. There is nothing we can add to what has already been stated in our previous correspondence. Although we empathize with your situation, we are truly unable to assist you further in this matter. We apologize for the inconvenience and regret being unable to assist youfurther. Sincerely, Guillermo LopezExecutive Offices





Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Weedwhacked on 07/08/2010:
If you claim to know the terms and conditions then why did you call them? It seems like they kept their part of the deal.
FlShopper on 07/08/2010:
What is it exactly you were trying to get them to do?
momsey on 07/08/2010:
What do you want from Priceline? You said yourself that you know the terms and conditions. So you wanted to let them know of the situation. They thanked you for the feedback. What more are you looking for?

You have used Priceline hundreds of times over several years. Yet one time it doesn't work out, you'll jump ship to one of their competitors, even though you were well aware of the terms and conditions when you booked the hotel?
goduke on 07/08/2010:
That answer is called a "template." It wasn't even responsive to the concern raised by the customer, ergo, the hotel is a dive (its 2 stars are probably well deserved).
Close commentsAdd reply
Priceline's Fraudulent Practices - Beware!
Posted by on
I used the "name-your-own-price" service of Priceline.com and named a price for a 4-star hotel in Las Vegas of $69 per night for five nights. I received a confirmation for the Luxor Hotel at $69 per night and was informed that there were "Taxes and Service Fees" of $55.20 per night and I was charged $400.20 for the five-night stay. The confirmation informed me that any other incidental charges, such as room service, parking, telephone, minibar, etc. would have to be paid by me to the hotel at the time of my stay. When I arrived at the hotel, however, I was informed that there was a mandatory "Resort Fee" of $14.50 per night that I would have to pay (in addition to the $55.20 of taxes and service fees for the five-night stay). I was informed that it covered free local phone calls, admission to the health club and a free daily newspaper. I told the hotel that I did not want any of those additions to my hotel room and that I had named a price of $69 per night plus taxes and that was all that I wanted to pay. I was told that I did not have a choice and that I must pay the $14.50 per night. I said that I wanted to cancel my reservation because I was tricked into believing the room would be $69 per night and it was in fact going to cost me $83.50 per night. I was told that the room was not refundable.

When I returned home, I contacted prceline.com's customer service and customer relations (apparently the company's higher level of customer relations) departments. They were completely unhelpful and just kept saying the same thing over and over again - there was a statement in the small print that said that you could be charged by the hotel additional incidental fees. I said that I read that statement to mean optional fees that I choose to incur such as parking, telephone, Internet, movies, minibar, etc. I argued that if its a mandatory fee than its part of the cost of the room and should be part of the price of the room and not HIDDEN from the purchaser. I noted that I was never informed that I would be charged a mandatory $14.50 fee per night until I arrived at the hotel. I was not informed of this charge on-line, nor in my confirmation that I printed out, nor in the email that I received the next day from Priceline.com. The "customer service" personnel just said that there was nothing that they could do because I had been given all of the terms of the deal. I argued that if they did not inform me of a $14.50 per night mandatory charge in addition to the taxes and the $69 price I had "named", than I was not informed of every material item. Like robots, they kept saying that I had been given all of the material terms of the deal.

To me, Priceline.com is a scam in that it deliberately and knowingly uses hidden fees to misrepresent the cost of the price of a hotel room. It deceives you into believing that you are paying one price when in fact you will pay a much higher price. They think that its OK to do this because they warn you in small print that there may be additional fees that you may be charged without stating what those fees are. This is fraudulent activity and Priceline.com should be ashamed of itself.
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ben There on 08/31/2010:
Many hotels in Vegas and Orlando charge these resort fees - they are always paid at the hotel when you check in regardless of how you book.

Here is where Priceline spells out these fees right above where you initial and pay for the trip:
The reservation holder must present a valid photo ID and credit card at check-in. The credit card is required for any additional hotel specific service fees or incidental charges or fees that may be charged by the hotel to the customer at checkout. These charges may be mandatory (e.g., resort fees) or optional (parking, phone calls or minibar charges) and are not included in your offer price.
Carrie on 07/15/2013:
I agree Priceline scams it's customers. I,too, had the same experience. I agree optional fees should be charged but mandatory should not be allowed. Our hotel was40 percent higher when resort fees were added. There is no way to know in advance what resort fees will be. Priceline can make any excuse but they simply don't care about customers. Beware of Priceline.
Danny on 09/13/2013:
I was about to make the mistake of "naming my price" scam. I filled my info out until I reached the credit card info part. I stopped and started thinking: If I write my cc info down I will have more chances to loose than win. I search for reviews and "bingo", found all this helpful information. Sorry all of you had to go through that. Thank you for your posts.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Booking Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Priceline is the worst if you are going to book using a third party please pick a good and reliable company like Expedia for example and you won't have to deal with this people. I booked a hotel using Priceline just to save a few bucks over Expedia, thinking I would have the same experience....BIG MISTAKE...I spend over $1500 on my booking to Cancun, to get there I had a connection flight and unfortunately my first flight got delayed and I missed my connection and since it was the last flight of the day I had to be rebooked for the next day. I have traveled all over the world and things like this happen that's just a fact of life, so I called Priceline to see if they could call the hotel and advised them of my predicament, and to let them know that I would get there the next day and to either help me extend my stay for one day since I was getting there a day after or just refund one night stay, obviously customer service is not a priority to this company, first the girl kept saying no you have to call the hotel directly and see what they can do, lady if I wanted to deal directly with the hotel I would have made my reservation directly with them I'm in the us and I don't have an international plan please help me, and all she kept saying was no, I cannot do that, it was so ridiculous. Them she said oh but if you don't get there tonight the hotel will charge you for the first night as a fee for being a no show, so I said great so then I will be refunded the remaining balance right...she said no there's no refunds on your booking, so them I said OK so can you guarantee me that I will be able to check in when I arrive at the hotel tomorrow for my remaining nights, again, she said no I cannot guarantee that. Unbelievable. I said, so to make sure I get this right, you are saying that you took my $1500 and you cannot call them to help me, you cannot change my reservation for the next day, you cannot guarantee that when I arrive I will get a room at the hotel since my reservation will cancel since I won't arrive today and you cannot refund my money? Wow.. I had a similar situation with Expedia and the experience was the complete opposite, they showed they care, they call the hotel for me and everything was worked out in a fair way....how was this fair Priceline???? That's my question. In conclusion I had to buy an international calling card call the hotel on my own and the hotel was great about it they help me with my reservation....I would never book with Priceline ever again...lesson learned. From now on I will only book directly with the hotel or with Expedia or similar companies that are there for their customer that truly care about providing you a great vacation. Priceline never again...and I will tell my story to everyone I can to try to make sure you don't ruin anyone's vacation again. Shame on you!!!!
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
BEWARE Using PRICELINE for Room Selection With Its Hotel Partners. You Are at the Bottom of the List!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- Using Priceline primarily for all our travel arrangements within the US and abroad, we actually selected our stay with Hilton Americas (Houston) as we have done several times before and completely satisfied, Priceline's hotel partner. This was perfect for the long anticipated Buble' Performance at the Toyota Center which is adjacent to the Hotel. We confirmed our reservations for a non smoking ($350) room well in advance, mid-August through Priceline for the October performance.

Upon what we thought to be our seamless check in, we were provided a room on the 9th floor. Exiting off the elevators one could not mistake this was indeed a "smoking floor". Walking through a there was hallway glass door thinking this to have separated the smoking from non smoking rooms. It was quite evident passing through that, this actually was indeed the sectioned off smoking rooms. The nicotine stench was so incredibly bad I seriously doubt this to be acceptable for those who smoke. Don't misunderstand being the type that is totally appalled, or think that smoking is reprehensible, I/we are not. This was completely overbearing and quite honestly certain a health consideration at this point, seriously.

We returned to the front desk to have a room change with our provided confirmed reservation in hand of a non-smoking room as indicated on our confirmation, black and white "2 Queen Beds Parkview Nonsmoking L-Shaped Work Desk/Serenity Bed-Lux Linens Mp3 Clock-Peter Thomas Roth Bath Amenities". Our representative indicated that the hotel is fully booked and does not have another available room. We're not talking about an ocean front room here much less park/city view, but something that deal directly with health considerations.

Being that we have arrived early, my suggestion to the front desk, certainly there are non-smoking rooms available to those who have yet to check in? "This is correct, however those are available for reservations made directly through us, and our contractual agreements made through the attending conference NOT through a "third party" such as yours in which case we treat that as a "request" ".

We then get to the "manager" level to which the response was, "we do have available rooms, and can accommodate your stay, however available non-smoking rooms are for those guests who directly secure that through us and are "reserved". You will need to contact your "third party" This is not my problem, we're done (as he throws up his hands)!

With that, we were "kicked to the curb" with no accommodations, nor alternative arrangements made by Hilton or Priceline. Needless to suggest, they couldn't have in part to other hotels in the immediate are being fully booked the same.

So, here we are on the streets of downtown Houston, no room, hours before the performance, separated from our group, transportation issues, missed dinner reservations and yes, late to the performance having to seek out other arrangements on our own.

Of course we follow up with Priceline who actually provided an immediate refund and get this, a "$25 token" of their sincere regret of how we as a Priceline client was handled as this is not in accordance with partnering hotels and advised that their executive services department who follow up with Hilton Americas.

So who is actually at fault here? Priceline, hotel or equally both. To be quite honest, and will contradict myself, but when a large company as Priceline throws out $25 voucher to its client for the misgiving.... Well, it's quite insulting. I show up with my Priceline confirmation in hand that clearly indicated "non-smoking" and there is available non-smoking rooms, yet the hotel says I'm "third party", thus provided what the hotel wants to offer with no remedy to have immediate resolution than leaving it up to the hotel and so sorry after the fact, here is your $25 token and refund and wipe their hands clean of it, just as the hotel. This leaves a lasting impression of what both these companies did to ruin what was thought to be a memorable evening.

Now then, since they are partners in crime in this respect and it's not about the monetary expense, I would rather have these two companies attempt correct the matter in providing an experience that was originally planned.
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 10/24/2013:
What surprises me is that you have not run into trouble with PL before. Read through complaints - many are similar to yours. These third parties have a bad rep for the customer not ultimately getting their room selection.
jim.keller on 10/24/2013:
We've actually had very good luck with Priceline in the past and had confirmation in writing the hotel dismissed altogether. The point I guess is that Priceline does NOTHING to those partnered hotels for the agreements they have to generate bookings they would not otherwise have. Hilton accepted the non-smoking reservation, they should have honored that. the customer gets the "shaft" from both sides.
dan on 10/24/2013:
What you should realize is the hotel is pricelines customer, you are not. You were very fortunate to get a refund from Priceline. Unfortunately sometimes hotels will assign their less desirable rooms to PL guests. I think they were being generous. As in similar complaints it sounds like you didn't even get to the room before you decided its not for you? Perhaps with the a/c on you may not have noticed any smoke once inside your room
jim.keller on 10/25/2013:
Complete contrary, we did in fact open the door to the room which I assumed to have made the hallway stench as bad as that was. Who really smokes in hallways anyway? We about fell over. A/C and/or smoke ventilation would not least minimize this, I assure. Actually, at this point both Priceline and the Hilton are attempting to make this right. We'll see.
Old Timer on 10/25/2013:
It's not just 3rd party vendor guests that get the lower grade rooms. If you're using say Amex points to book a stay, you may end up next to the elevator or worse. Cash is king, those paying the full rack rate are going to get the better rooms, just a fact of life.

We used some Hyatt points at a stay in San Diego. At check-in the clerk said you have a lower floor room next to a dock area. She suggested that for $20.00 since we were Gold members were could by an upgrade. We paid the $20 and ended up in a corner mini suite on a higher floor. Sometimes you can work the system a bit for something better. This Hilton had no more rooms, so the OP was sol.

Booking direct with Hilton probably would have ended up with a better room, with a better price. Stay far away from PL and all the other 3rd party travel sites. They offer very little that you can't do better on your own.
jim on 10/25/2013:
OK, we are getting somewhere, let me add....The Hilton's management has followed through with a with a very positive outcome and at least on their part made a repeat Hilton customer. I think some reading the post missed the point that the hotel only had non-smoking rooms available to those who booked through them. We even had written confirmation and their available rooms to boot for those who have yet been checked in, but chose otherwise NOT extend that to the Priceline client. Now then, actually Priceline is also following through as well, perhaps they are truly partnering up making a positive outcome out of all of this crazy mess that could have otherwise and easily been avoided by simply extending a room as being reserved.
Close commentsAdd reply
Consumer Fraud: Priceline misleading the consumers.
Posted by on
Priceline advertises best price guarantee you can save up to 60% when you name your own price on a hotel. When I saw the Advertisement, I thought my dream would come true to save money on a trip. Then I submitted an initial bid $250 to bid a resort at Wailea area in Maui for 6 nights in August 2011. The median price at Wailea area is $569 per Priceline.com. I had searched before I bid. I found out that only 3 resorts available at Wailea area at Priceline.com. These resorts are:
(1) Wailea Beach Marriott $249 per night
(2) Grand Wailea, A waldof Astoria Resort $569 per night.
(3) Ho'olei At Grand Wailea $1495 per night.
I thought my chance to get Grand Wailea was high if I submitted the bid highter than $249. If Grand Wailea could not accept my bid, Priceline should give me a resort with retail price higher than $250.

My initial bid $250 was accepted without any counteroffer. Unbelievable that Priceline gave me a resort, Wailea Beach Marriott, with retail price at $249. As a result, I am losing money to bid a resort. I paid more than retail price. I had no choice to get what resort I wanted even though I paid more. If I book a resort at retail price, I have choice to choose which resort I want.

I called Priceline several times but they refused to cancel the bid. They could only able to refund $1 per night back to me. Also, they refused to refund the tax and fees for $1 x 6 nights to me. However, I paid the tax and fees for the amount of $250 x 6 nights.

Priceline told me that the vendor is the one to accept the bid. For example, vendor A (its retail price $100), vendor B (its retail price $400), vendor C (its retail price $500) all present at the bid. If the bid is $200, vendor A has the right to accept the bid even though its hotel retail price is $100 because vendor B and vendor C both are not interested at the bid $200.

Priceline is a public company with huge revenues. My $1750 means nothing to them. But it means a lot of things to me. I was raised up in a poor family. I ate the first lobster when I was 25 years old. I have to work everyday in order to save money to my trip. I don't earn much because English is not my primary language. This is my first time to Maui. Now Priceline ruined my vocation. I promised my 8 years old daughter that mommy will bring her to a big resort with several pools and slides. She was very excited and very happy at the beginning but now my dream cannot come true. She asked me why I did not book Grand Wailea. If I had money, I would book Grand Waile at retail price $569. Since I have little money, I wish to use little money to bid my hope.
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
BEJ on 07/21/2011:
How is it fraud if you used the "name your own price" option and your bid was accepted. You acknowledge that you have no choice in the resort using this option. You risked getting the lower priced hotel/resort by using the name your own price option.
Close commentsAdd reply
Priceline does not post all consumer hotel reviews
Posted by on
I received a follow-up email about my stay and filled out Pricelines review of my hotel stay... My review was NOT posted (as I am sure many others were not, as if were I NEVER would have booked hotel)
MY EMAIL TO PRICELINE: I booked a hotel in Florence SC (travel inn) though Priceline, and was VERY dissatisfied with it. I received your email asking me to review hotel, which I took time to do. Review is not showing up. WHY? Why would my review not show? because it was bad? I wish I had been warned that this hotel was NOTHING like pictured. And now it is appearing like Priceline only puts favorable or semifavorable reviews? I will think twice before ever using your service and forward my complaints to my brother in law, who uses Priceline all the time and told me to use. I would appriciate a response as to why my comments were not posted on my horrible stay. I was trying to WARN others the hotel and area could potentially put their families in a dangerous situation as we were put into unknowingly.
PRICELINE RESPONSE:
Thank you for taking the time to send us an e-mail. We understand that
you are dissatisfied with your reservation at the Travel Inn Florence
and that your review were not posted.

We apologize if you are dissatisfied with our service. Customers are our
number one priority, and we work hard to make your experience with us a
positive one. Your feedback is appreciated.

When you filled out your survey, we disclosed that your review of your
recent hotel stay may be posted on our website; however, we did not
guarantee that it will be posted. All reviews are first read by the
appropriate department, and then they will decide which reviews to post.


Please note that we do update reviews frequently, and encourage you to
check back often to inquire if your review has been posted or not.

Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope you find this
information helpful.

Sincerely,

Varis K.
Customer Service Specialist

OUR FAMILY WAS APPROACHED TWICE AT THIS HOTEL BY "GROUPS" OF PEOPLE DEALING DRUGS AND/OR SETTING US UP TO ROB US--- I WANTED THIS POSTED TO WARN OTHERS BUT PRICELINE DID NOT... THEY MUST BE GETTING "GIANT" KICKBACK FROM TRAVEL INN IN FLORENCE SC FOR NOT POSTING NEGATIVE REVIEWS
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ben There on 06/30/2011:
I suggest that you post your complaint on tripadvisor.com as that seems to be the biggest website that consumers use when booking hotels.

One thing to note, though, is that most hotel review sites - including tripadvisor and even my3cents.com - will remove or not post a review if you do things like include names like "the front desk clerk Mary Clark was very rude" or imply criminal activity like "I think the maids were smoking weed".

If trip advisor refuses to post your review as well, you might want to rewrite it.
Close commentsAdd reply
First Time User Couldn't Be More Disgusted
Posted by on
We wanted a certain star hotel because that it was walking distance to the attractions we were visiting. They were lower starred hotels. It does say that when you name your own price they can chose your star or a higher star, however when we originally bid on the higher stars it did not accept our bid. We talked it over and decided there were only 2 hotels at the lower star and both were walking distance so we would try that, we did and that is when the acceptance came back with our 'upgrade', like they were trying to play hero. I think their website is rigged because it made absolutely no sense. We then saw the new hotel it reserved us for and we did not like it as much and figured we would call and see if they could give us the lower stars.

Their customer service was probably the MOST rude I have EVER dealt within my life. In total I talked to 5 people, none of which actually helped me, but all of which were extremely rude. In fact the last person I spoke with originally gave me the name of Manual or Emanual. I document everything so at the end of the call I asked for his name so I could verify which of the two names it was. He then, in a most rude way, said "Tom". I pointed out that is not what he said at the beginning and asked for a reference number for the phone call. He told me there is no reference number and that "Tom" is his name. For someone who spoke broken English and said something different at the beginning I knew he was telling a lie but I didn't reply to it. He then said "well you have no more concerns so goodbye" and hung up on me! The girl before him hung up on me as well, but that was after I said that the company was a scam and I would be reporting them. This was after they explained to me that there was a way I could switch, but it sounded like a gamble. I would be charged $25 for switched hotels but I would need to use the website and bid again within 24 hours. I explained that the website only lets us bid once in 24 hours so if I don't get it accepted then that is my 1 shot. I never got a straight answer on how to go about doing that and how that worked exactly because once I started asking questions she quickly cut me off. I then asked if we could just switch over the phone and they said that is not possible, only over the internet.

After posting how upset I was on a social networking site I received tons of feedback from people who have had horrible experiences with Priceline.com themselves, with all different issues ranging from hidden fees to booking with the wrong number of beds and rooms.

This company obviously does not care about their customers. When people travel it is supposed to be a good experience and Priceline.com has put a dark cloud on our trip that we have not even taken yet, and have totally ruined other peoples entire trips. We consider ourselves lucky to have only a minor problem with them. We will never use this service again, and I recommend to everyone to look elsewhere when traveling so nobody has to experience what myself and many others have.

Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
raven2010 on 06/25/2011:
It sounds as though they followed their policy to the letter. No offense, it is all laid out clearly in their terms of service.

That said, there was no reason for the employees to be rude.
trmn8r on 06/25/2011:
If you use a social networking site, I'm surprised you would use Priceline. I see so many complaints about Priceline, Orbitz, etc etc I would consider using any one of them a gamble.

If you told an employee you thought the company was a "scam," and that you were reporting them, I would have expected her to be a lot more cheerful to you. There's no call for that.
bob93 on 06/26/2011:
My understanding is a bid is for a specific date and stars at the bid price with no changes once the bid is accepted by PriceLine. If you wanted a specific hotel you should not bid on any hotel PriceLine wants to give you. I believe PriceLine did exactly what is expected. Your bid gave them permission to pick any hotel they wanted,based on the criteria, not what you wanted.
Close commentsAdd reply
Filthy Hotel Room
Posted by on
SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- Me and a friend booked rooms through Priceline for a recent roadtrip to San Antonio. Below is a letter I have forwarded to Priceline THREE times with no response. I have also left voicemails, no response.

To whom it may concern,

A friend and I embarked on a trip to San Antonio this past weekend. Prior to leaving, we booked our hotel rooms through Priceline. We had used your web site before and trusted it, as well as trusting in a national hotel chain. We booked our rooms (2 rooms with 1 queen sized bed in each) at the Rodeway Inn on W. W. White Road in San Antonio. My first concern was that my debit card was debited for the amount before I had even left Indiana, let alone laid eyes on the hotel room. We drove 1200 miles and 17 hours, arriving in San Antonio around dinner time. Upon entering the office we were greeted with some unidentifiable foul odor. The desk clerk spoke very little intelligible English. He was unable to answer the questions we had about the hotel or the surrounding area or city. We checked in, received our keys and headed to our room.

Upon entering, both rooms were very warm as the air conditioning had been turned completely off. The rooms were unimpressive, but not unbearable at that point. As we began unpacking and getting around, it became apparent that things were headed downhill. Below is a list of "offenses" in each room.

My room (141): The carpet appears unvaccumed. There are black shoe prints on the bathroom floor. There is a small smear of what appears to be blood on the wall by the TV. There is no alarm clock. There is pubic hair all over the toilet, under the seat. The counter is dirty. The mirror is splattered. There is a lot of hair behind the door in the corner. The tub is very dirty. There is a ring in the tub, about 6 inches from the top. The shower curtain is so moldy and dirty, it is stiff at the bottom (I took a shower with the shower curtain open so as not to come in contact with it). The bathroom fixtures are grimy. There is a buildup of dirt on things such as light switches and door handles. There were long black hairs on the towels. The bed is poorly made. The linens and pillows have seen better days. There is also an unidentifiable substance dripped down the side of the toilet bowel. We are unable to connect to the Internet via the advertised high speed. There is a large gap around the door, you can see the light come in around the door.

My friends room [NAME REMOVED] : Most of the above, she did have an alarm clock. Plus there was also a crusty white spot on the floor. Upon inspection, it seemed to be vomit. There is also old food in the refrigerator.

Before leaving for dinner, I called the front office about the condition of the room. The manager was abrupt and unwilling to hear me out. Just said "I will take care of it." We stopped by the desk on our way out to pick up a map, and I repeated my complaint. Once again, he was unwilling to hear out the specifics.

Upon returning to my room, I found they had wiped up the footprints and cleared the hair off the toilet. The rest of the items were untouched. I called Comfort hotel's 1-800 number and spoke to a reservations agent there. He offered to move us to another hotel that night, but we were too tired to think about that. We booked 2 nights in a Comfort Inn around the corner and we bunked down for the night. I hardly slept at all, as my air conditioner started making a strange noise in the night. Also there was an ongoing commotion outside.

That morning, I attempted to contact Priceline, I left a message on a voicemail I finally made my way into but my call was never returned. Upon attempting to get the 2 nights credited to my card, the hotel manager stated he was unable to do so. I had to go through Priceline. This was a frustrating situation, as now I had to pay for ANOTHER hotel room. He was unwilling or unable to tell me who had taken the money out on my card.

Upon checking in at the Comfort Inn (Big Improvement!) I attempted to contact my bank. Finally they were able to tell me that a company named "Travel Web" was responsible for the funds transfer. I attempted to contact the 1-800 number the bank had for Travel Web, but after 25 minutes on hold, had to give up. I was now $150 short in spending money.
I am extremely disappointed in my entire experience. I am especially disappointed in my inability to get through to a person at either Priceline or Travel Web. I am also disappointed in the fact that the hotel was located in such a bad area. We were 2 single women traveling alone and did not feel safe at this hotel. When I book through a respected company such as Priceline, I expect better. I certainly do not expect the surprises that I received. This experience definitely put a damper on the vacation, and I was unable to buy the souvenirs I had hoped to purchase due to my funds being tied up. I have contacted Comfort Inn regarding the condition of this hotel, and have plans of contacting the health department, as well. I have told this story to anyone that will listen, and have warned them about booking with Priceline. I want to deal with a company that will take care of me, not leave me high and dry in a scary hotel room. Comfort Inn did more to make the situation right than anyone connected to Priceline. I will NOT be dealing with Priceline again, and would like to take steps to be reimbursed for the night I stayed there (I feel that if I am in a hotel room that is so bad I can't sleep, the purpose of having a hotel room has been defeated), as well as the two nights I didn't.

My friend will be starting her own paper trail regarding her stay.

Thank you,
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
viperpa33s on 04/09/2006:
You didn't say if you took pictures or not. Next time you see something like this, run to the store real quick and buy one of those disposable cameras if you don't own one. This way when you dispute the charge you have proof how disgusting the room looked.
Shakra on 04/09/2006:
I just looked up the hotel and it is listed as a one-star hotel. Stop with your frivolous complaints. This was bad judgment on your part and has nothing to do with Priceline. I'm sure your friend loves the fact that you have named her on the internet. Another bad judgment on your part.
Anonymous on 04/09/2006:
Priceline took your money and your card information, that in itself is a crapshoot for you if you don’t check the ratings on the hotels and/or the places you want to go. Even after all that checking the hotels are a crapshoot anyway. “It’s like a box of chockalott, you never know what you’re going to get”. Sorry about your experience.
Doe3001 on 04/09/2006:
These online travel agencies suck. I’m spreading my horrible experience I had with EXPEDIA. Please read my case to avoid being the next victim of EXPEDIA:

http://www.geocities.com/humbaba2000/BadExp.htm


and http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=12466
Anonymous on 04/09/2006:
Doe, we don't care about your "travel experiences." Stop posting your garbage. (tr)
wearecruisers on 04/09/2006:
There goes pirate/biz trash talking again. Go outside in the rain, do a handstand and drown.
Anonymous on 04/10/2006:
Sorry WeirdCruisers, but maybe you're not aware that DOE keeps cutting and pasting the same "advice" on every thread he posts on. Why don't you take a long walk on a short pier!
Doe3001 on 04/20/2006:
BUt it is working. I'm spreading the facts about EXPEDIA. Visit www.victimsofexpedia.com and then tell me if you want that for you.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >