Preview Review

Next Review

Purity Products Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Sent Unauthorized Automatic Shipment
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

For the last few years I had been managing my mother's and my sister's Purity Products accounts. Neither of them really take the product anymore, but wanted me to keep their options open for later and preserve their pricing (which you only get if you are on auto-ship). Purity wouldn't let me suspend the auto shipments, so I had to move the shipping date every 3 months. In the beginning I had to call in and talk to a representative to do this... a hassle... and then later I changed the date online. My shipping date was August 5th and I went online on July 28th and moved the date ahead as usual.

This morning I was awoken by my bank telling me I was overdrawn. I don't keep much money in that account, but I knew I wasn't overdrawn. I went online and saw that Purity had sent my order even though I had changed the date. When I contacted a representative (and then a supervisor) they said I hadn't changed the date and they sent out almost $130 worth of products. They offered me 25% off or a shipping label to send it back. All fine and dandy, but that means a refund weeks from now and no reimbursement of the $70 bank fee they caused.

I usually take a screen shot of every time I move the date but this time I didn't. Of course... they told me that their system tells them when someone logs in and it didn't show that in July. Well, if that's the case how come only one of the orders shipped, my mom's, and the other order, my sister's, was accurately canceled????? Sorry guys, that one obviously doesn't fly. So anyhow... I finally got them to cancel my accounts and they are sending me a return postage. Refund hopefully to follow in a few WEEKS (If not I will post it here). SOL on the bank charges.

Told them I would review the company - they didn't care - so here it is for what it's worth. Just remember folks, any company that lures you in with a free sample and then requires you to do auto-shipments is usually not reputable and you WILL get sent something you don't want sooner or later. Save yourself a lot of hassle, and possibly bank fees - go down to a good health food store and buy what you need, when you need it. I have no indication that their products are superior to anyone else, or that their prices are better. Save the hassle, the unwanted shipments and possibly the bank fees.

Company Response 01/30/2015:

We apologize for this experience. We hope everything was resolved. If not, please call our Customer Care Coordinator, Joel Joseph, directly at 516-301-5023 or our customer care line at 888-769-7873.

Replies
Advertisement
My Experience With Purity & Their Products
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

CALGARY, ALASKA -- As a company Purity Products has screwed up in their service to me. They've occasionally sent me stuff I've either never ordered, in a way I did not order it, and during periods when I've voluntarily suspended my shipping. The later was usually due to not taking the prescribed daily amount daily while being on the Super Saver program with auto shipments. Each time any of the above happens I find it a pain to have to deal within the first place. On the other hand, each time I've contacted them regarding these matters they have corrected the situation in an agreeable manner. I've dealt with them for years.

These so called "pain" incidences might occur a couple times a year. They should correct these shipping situations so they don't happen. Regarding their product HA (Hyaluronic Acid). Speaking of pains: Years back I would awake in the middle of the night with a sharp stabbing pain in my knee. The regular routine was to get a frozen gel pack from the freezer, go back to bad, put the gel pack on my knee, and eventually go back to sleep. I bicycle and, since knees are important to cycling, I wanted it fixed. I went to my GP, physiotherapy, chiro, had infrared radiation, but they didn't work. (No disrespect intended toward people in these respected professions.)

Eventually, I came across HA as a potential solution. I signed up with Purity Products Super Saver. In two or three months no more pain. I've since bicycled across the continent on a loaded bike. Never have I had a recurrence of that sharp pain, or anything like it, since taking HA. I realize this is designed to be a whining site. I think it's better to solve a problem. Yes, I too would like Purity Products to de-bug their shipping issues to absolute perfection. As it currently stands, I have to ask their customer service agents to fix these things - and they do. HA tablets probably do not cure baldness or poor life choices, but they did fix my issue.

(Speaking of bugs that can be fixed, I think this very site could easily accommodate Canadian addresses.) With respectful regards.

Replies
Beware of All Mega-Potency Products!
By -

Most companies selling nutrition supplements create marketing programs to exaggerate the potency and usefulness of their products. For example, this morning on the car radio I heard a Purity Products "expert" waxing eloquently about the multi-health benefits of AFX. He stated that this product has 6,000 times the antioxidant value of vitamin C! If that is factual, then this product is possibly poisonous to your body! Whatever antioxidant potency nature created in food for your body is what is RIGHT for your body! That goes for ALL nutrients! Do not ingest multi-potency anything. Need extra vitamin C? Eat more foods containing vitamin C.

The supplement industry mostly sells you synthetic nutrients. They are chemicals. The FDA authorizes the industry to claim ascorbic acid as being vitamin C. It is not! That is a lie. It is merely a single factor of the vitamin C complex. When you consume 1,000 mg of ascorbic acid as vitamin C it acts as a drug in your body. It might make your infection symptoms cease, but it won't answer your body's deficiency and need for vitamin C complex. All symptoms are the body's communication that you have a deficiency, or toxic overload.

Self-disciplined people who do detox programs twice a year, eliminate addictions to carbs and sugar, and consume wholesome foods, tend not to have disease. There are genetic issue exceptions, of course. "Eat to live--not live to eat." "Eat only food that spoils, and eat it before it spoils." This Purity AFX product, and all others in the industry similar to it, are counterfeit - all their study claims notwithstanding. American society has a "disease"-care system, not a "health"-care system. Do you know that the FDA is registered as a private corporation? It is not a people's regulatory agency. It's management staff mostly all come from the industry it supposedly regulates.

Speak to your congress representative about that. He or she may or may not be on the take, but speak up anyway. The entire system is in serious need of detoxification!

Company Response 10/18/2010:

When it comes to antioxidants – the more powerful the better. Like Vitamin C, the AstaREAL Astaxanthin in our new Asta FX formula is derived from natural sources such as salmon and shrimp. Our formula contains 4 mg of Astaxanthin per serving and has also been proven to be up to 6000 times more effective than Vitamin C and significantly more potent than Vitamin E, Alpha Lipoic Acid, EGCG and Co-Q-10! Why is this so important? Antioxidants are nature's way of fighting “free radicals” in our bodies. Free radicals are molecules that are destructive to our cells and tissue. Antioxidants neutralize free radicals, so the more potent the antioxidant the more beneficial it is to our bodies.

As for vitamins, minerals and other nutrients, we agree with you that a person who eats a well balanced diet every day would most likely not need to take nutritional supplements. Unfortunately, for most, eating a well balanced diet is not always possible or practical. For example, according to the Vitamin D council, many people have Vitamin D levels in the winter months that are 1/3 of what they are during the summer months due to a lack of sunshine, which is a natural source of Vitamin D. That's why nutritional supplements are so important, they help fill in the gaps when we fail to get all the nutrition our bodies need every day.

Yours in Good Health,
Lori Michel
Quality Control Manager

Replies
Don't Order Any Sample Nor Product From This Company
By -

PLAINVIEW, NEW YORK -- I made a big mistake by ordering their free sample which I paid $9.00 Canadian dollar. I received my sample which I started to use. Less than two weeks later, I received, to my surprise, three more bottles and charged 100$ to my Visa. I spent one day on the phone and was told to take it back to Purolator and return it and they would refund half of my money and after they received the product they would refund the other half. I went back to Purolator and I was told that I had to get the account number of the Purity Products. I called back to Purity Products customer care and was put on hold 30 minutes for them to find the product number.

After another 20 minutes a manager named ** answered me and gave me the tracking number and his extension number. He told me that the tracking number would be adequate for Purolator to return the product to them. I went back to Purolator and they laughed at me because they had no idea what I was talking about. I feel like a fool. Without their account number, I could not ship back. I came home and called them again, I was told that they were in a meeting and customer care would not answer phone calls until after one hour. At this time, I had spent more than 5 hours to deal with this matter and it totally ruined my Saturday.

Around 4 o'clock, I called again, I was put on hold another 40 minutes to listen their commercial, one of manager named ** answered the phone and told me that I had to cover the shipping to ship it back, period!! What a scam. Don't trust this company. I even don't trust their product anymore. Please make sure read the paper with free sample, you will be surprise that it doesn't matter how many times you told them that you wouldn't order anything until you call them, they ship to you automatically and charge your Visa right away.

Company Response 11/8/2010:

First let me start by saying we take your complaint very seriously. The order you placed was one of our free bottle promotions. This program is successful because it allows customers the opportunity to try a product before they purchase it. Joining the super saver continuity program is a great option that we make available for customers who want to continue using a product after evaluating it. Super saver offers significant discounts, free shipping and guaranteed reships on a predetermined schedule. It is a practical choice for anyone using a supplement on a regular basis. However you are never obligated to continue receiving orders. As a matter of fact, all of our phone conversations are recorded for quality assurance so if you believe that we sent you a shipment you didn't ask for, we can go back and monitor the call to make sure the offer was presented accurately. If you still have an unresolved issue I ask that you please contact our Customer Care Management Team directly at toll free 1-888-769-7873, they will make sure this matter is taken care of to your complete satisfaction.

Yours in Good Health,
Lori Michel
Quality Control Manager

Replies
Advertisement
I Did Not Sign Up for Purity Products Super Saver Program
By -

On 12/29/07 I heard an infomercial about Purity Products' HA Joint and Skin Super Formula. They advertised a free trial as long as you paid for shipping. I called the number, ordered and as the Customer Service rep went through my order, she mentioned that I would be enrolled in the company's Super Saver Program. I stopped her and asked for details. She said the program would allow me to receive the product I was trying for a discounted rate that would be received in a 3-month supply amount. (3 bottles @ $39.95 each in one shipment) I informed her that I did not want to be in the Super Saver Program.

She tried to get me to consider it as I would be afforded great savings. I told her that I would be giving the product to someone that I thought could use it and if, upon using it, he found it to be effective and a good product, then he could order it on his own. After going back and forth several times on this I finally was satisfied that I had gotten through to her and even made sure at the end of the conversation that I was NOT enrolled in the Super Saver Program.

On 1/19/08 I received and email from Purity Products informing me that my credit card that I provided was about to expire and that I needed to contact them so that I could make sure that my next Super Saver shipment was not jeopardized. It said that 3 bottles of the HA Joint and Skin Super Formula was scheduled to be charged to my credit card and shipped on 1/21/08. On 1/21/08 (which was the next business day from when I received the email) I called Purity Products first thing in the morning. The man that answered the phone told me that I was scheduled to be charged for the 3 bottles as stated above and that it was also scheduled to be shipped that day.

I informed him that I did NOT want to receive the order. He told me that I would be receiving a tremendous savings by being on the Super Saver Program. He also asked me if I wanted to order other Purity Products instead of the one I had ordered and a few other things that I am unable to recall - to which I kept saying that I wanted to be taken off the Super Saver Program and not be charged or shipped the product. I felt like he was not listening to what I was saying and kept trying to get me to order something else or stay on the program.

Needless to say I was frustrated and finally raised my voice to say once more that I wanted to be taken off the program and not charged or shipped the product. HE got rude with me and said to me: "Ma'am, I'm not the person who took your order." To which I said again what I wanted. He then gave me a cancellation number. 1/22/08 I decided to check my credit card to see if Purity Products charged my account anyway. Sure enough - THEY DID! I wrote an email to them that day and got an auto-response saying that someone would contact me in a few days.

1/24/08 I received an email from ** who told me that it looked as if my inquiry was handled so if I needed further assistance I could contact customer service via email. 1/25/08 I received a box in the mail from Purity Products. It sits here unopened and I am furious at the fact that they charged my account and sent me the product. I wrote to the company and ** and am awaiting a response. This company's consumer practice is less than ethical and I expect a full refund and don't expect to have to take my time to send back their product that I did not want in the first place.

They have cost me time, money and they have cost themselves a customer and then some as I will make sure to share this with everyone I know. I am the editor of a natural health magazine and so welcome any emails from consumers out there who have had similar experiences with this company. As I plan to look into their ethics and fiscal practices and will no doubt publish my findings if they turn out as I think they will.

Replies
Satisfied Customer
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

PLAINVIEW, NEW YORK -- I've been a customer of Purity Products for a couple years now and I think their products are of far better quality than any local drug or vitamin store, as evidenced by the way I feel when I use them. As a health care professional, I'm aware of the importance of taking daily vitamins and supplements. I must admit that I did stop using their brand of vitamin D and C, and Omega 3's, opting for the cheaper ones at The Vitamin Shoppe and GNC, but I didn't get the same results. Those vitamins in your local food market and drug stores are full of fillers, which is why they don't cost much. I had one small billing issue using the super saver program but it was resolved promptly.

The company offers incentives to keep your business by sending the super saver coupons to use towards a free bottle and $20.00 off coupons to used to purchase a new product. Side note, I am not an employee or affiliated with this company in any way, but I felt led to write this because I believe in the product, not to minimize or rebuke anyone else's opinion or complaint.

Replies
Purposely Make It Difficult to Cancel Automatic Shipping
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

It is almost impossible to cancel their automatic shipping/billing. You can tell it's a scam when: You send them an email, and they tell you can't cancel by email - why not? You can't cancel by calling the "order" number - why not? The only way you can cancel is by calling the "customer service number". The automated customer service system will allow you change your automatic shipping quantity, etc, but it won't let you cancel. For this you have to speak to a "customer service rep". I was on the phone for 15 minutes before anyone picked up. I'm sure this delay is purposeful also.

The customer service representative wouldn't stop talking - told me all sorts of BS: account was fully customizable (who cares?). Told me they just wanted to make sure that I got all the CO-Q10 I needed, and since it was a "natural" product I may need more than the free 30 day supply for it to take effect. I said no thanks. Then began all the other offers and discounts. I had to be rude, and said I want to cancel and I don't want to buy anything! This is the worst high pressure, dishonest experience I've ever had with Internet/Mail Order products. My advice is don't do business with these people.

Replies
Even They Know Their Prices Are High!
By -

Yesterday I called to cancel my subscription for their Omega3 and Vitamin D supplements. After trying them for a month, I decided they were not worth the $55 per month cost and I could do better elsewhere. The customer service representative put me on hold while she got a confirmation number from her manager. When she came back on the phone, she said that they really wanted to keep me as a valued customer, so her manager authorized a special lower "super-saver" price for me. I declined, and then another, even lower price was offered, which I again declined.

Finally, because they really wanted to help me so much, I was told I would be given the vitamins at the same, even lower price, that employees pay. I said I don't like dealing with companies that keep lowering the price when you want to discontinue their products, I would rather deal with a company that offers the same always-low price to everyone, all the time. And I feel incredibly stupid for paying the inflated price for the 3 months I had already purchased. If you want to do business with a company like this, just be aware that they have many different price scales and you probably aren't getting the lowest without considerable dickering. Good luck!

Replies
Advertisement
Purity Products HA Formula Scam: Credit Card Billing Fraud
By -

MICHIGAN -- These people are liars. We tired this product one time, called them back and said thanks but no thanks, it did not help with the joint problems ad advertised, and we told them in no uncertain terms to not ship us any more product. Months later, out of the blue, they shipped again, and billed our checking account 80 bucks! Now we have to wait two weeks to get our money back and they have the gall to lie to us and tell us that we authorized delayed shipping which is total BS, and an outright bald face lie.

The customer service department told us that we would have to pay for return shipping if we wanted to get our money back. What a bunch of liars. This company engages in highly unethical and in my opinion illegal activities - if they take out money from someone's checking account without permission that is nothing less than stealing. We have to waste valuable time on the phone trying to get our money back and waste more time going to UPS to ship back product. Don't trust these telemarketing scammers, if you call them after hearing their ad radio ad as we did, you will be on their list and they will lie and ship your product you never ordered if you choose to not order again.

Replies
SCAM! Once They Have Your Credit Card Number, You'll See All Kinds of Unauthorized Charges!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Like everyone else, I heard the "free" offer on the radio. The products sounded good so I called to order (April 2014), knowing there was a $4.95 shipping charge. I was informed of future automatic shipments for the same product and a $49.95 charge, but I figured I'd deal with that once I got to try the product. After 2 weeks, I hadn't had a chance to really try the product like I wanted, so I phoned them and canceled any future shipments. Everything seemed great... until I noticed an unauthorized charge a few months later for $49.95 to Alpha Clean. I had no idea what this was, so called my credit card company to dispute the charge.

Two month later, I noticed another unauthorized charge of $49.95 to workoutdaily.com, so I again called my credit card company to dispute that charge. While combing through my bills, the representative also found a $49.95 charge from the previous month that I had not caught - to raspberryhealth.com.

Now the pattern of the scam was obvious, and as we sought to take action against the fraud, yet ANOTHER charge of $49.91 appeared from something called Simple2Pay. The Credit card company immediately closed my account and set me up with a new credit card number. So beware people - Purity is like an octopus with many tentacles on its arms and you won't even know what got you! SCAM! SCAM!!!

Company Response 01/30/2015:

We're sorry you had that experience. You have confused us with another company though. We do not sell "Alpha Clean" or bill under "workoutdaily.com," "raspberryhealth.com," or "Simple2Pay." These charges are not from our company or any company affiliated with us in any way, shape, or form.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Purity Products Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.2 out of 5, based on 32 ratings and
52 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Purity Products
200 Terminal Drive
Plainview, NY 11803
1-888-769-7873 (ph)
www.purityproducts.com
Compare Health/Fitness Companies