Qwest DSL

95 reviews & complaints.
TalkToUs@qwest.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Everything about Qwest and now ... I cannot even email someone there, wow, what a shocker !
By -

Dear Quest,

Recently My internet was shut off for non payment.
I called to see if there were payment plans avail but there were not.
I begged to at least have phone service as I had sent in enough to cover that at least.
They left my telephone on. (Uhm because I sent $75 a week prior)

Later I called back to humbly beg and ask for some type of help as much of my University homework is done online as well as my banking and other business (items for sale, my only income) My daughter has online work as well.

Nothing could be done and no one was able to help me. Finally my mother helped she had the credit card and I scrambled to find some money and paid the entire bill - I owe her now. Either way
The internet was restored. I was able to use it for approx. One day.
I was behind in my homework and business dealings online (due to the original problem, but able to catch up IF Qwest restored service like they said they would)

BUT... the next day, the Internet was shut off again ! For non payment!!??
I called quest only to be linked to some guy in the Philippines. I could not understand him. Nor do I understand why if you want our American dollars to pay for your American business, you would outsource to some poor sap that can hardly communicate with your customers. It is a slap in the face as I see it. Especially after your automated system repeatedly tells me what a valued customer I am or when one of your representatives tell me 'we appreciate your 7 years of loyal service' (considering they keep shutting me off) EVEN after I begged borrowed and stole to PAY YOU and you had no other options for me - a struggling single mom, going to college, trying to save my aunts home, mortgage and taxes (as I live here) etc...
It seems arrogant and thoughtless, redundant even to have an automated system continually tell me that I can 'easily go to the wonderful web site to fix any quest issues', WHEN IN FACT THAT is the reason I am calling to start with.
So I finally call back, but this time I get smart. Instead of pushing 5 for tech support or help, I push #1 (purchasing ordering new products and services) Knowing that if there is money involved (incoming accounts rec) Someone WILL answer and it will be someone who speaks English.

So I do get some decent help (again the good help seems to come from Logan Utah) I am not partial by the way, I don't particularly love Utah, but your call center up there in Logan - ROCKS and I am sure it has nothing to do with you or quest.
Either way he tells me that there is a problem with my account for non payment. I tell him that even though I have used the library, computers at school etc ... I paid for the Internet and was depending on it for several reasons, DEADLINES FOR DESPERATELY needed scholarships and entries that I CANNOT MISS...but now have, as I waited all night hoping they would turn it back on as promised.
You see .... there was NOT or at least no longer a problem with my account, it was indeed PAID.
The problem was on your end, it seems 4000 people were referred to collections today and no one knows why or how, but several reps told me after several calls that I made to them - that my account should be fine and it will be restored soon. 2 - 24 hours. But that 24 hours would be almost out of the question and not to worry.
1. don't try to sell someone something if their account is supposedly in default ????
or if they are having serious issues with services, there has got to be some discrestion don't you think?
2. I see that if you are tech a non paying customer (on your comp records at least) one will be sent to another country for crappy service.
3. and don't it just beat all hell that you would continually suggest using the web, OVER and OVER again when the majority of people are trying to call and get help with just that?
4. another thing, your automated system sucks. I am a mom with kids and dogs and TV's going, homework and cars that pass by on the street, so if or when I breath deep, or the automated phone system hears the neighbors dog bark it gets the wrong message and forwards to wrong departments, starts the menu all over again or simply hangs up on the person. can you imagine how frustrating that is on call 5 or 6 and you are really trying to get someone before 5pm, or you have already been patient for 30 minutes and heard enough 'buy Qwest, buy big, buy now, go to the website, we value you, so buy Qwest and buy it now, bla bla bla".

  1. Of this crazy stressful insane and sad week, I have spent approx 6 hours wrestling with your company, your automated system, your reps and their fake apologies and AND their suggestive selling as well as reps that I cannot even understand, nor do they understand our language and slang - not even some of your own terms. I think you owe me, really ! I think you owe me a paycheck and one for damages as well.
    One of your reps offered me free 'faster' Internet service for ONE MONTH. That was funny to me - there is nothing free with you people, heck even what I paid for I can't get today and I know ... oh boy do I know ... that if I DID accept that offer and was unable to CANCEL it at the right time (you know ... between 3 and 3:10, on Sunday) I would end up paying for it one way or another.
  2. On top of that, even though I used other computers and recourses, I missed out on several thousands of dollars for scholarships, awards and the like because I was dumb enough to believe quest, to believe that when I paid you good American cash money that when I got home I could finish my much needed requirements for school and the scholarships/awards.
    The bill was paid on or about the 28th of this month, and today, this morning, the 31st it worked so why would I even imagine it wouldn't (that it would be sent to collections AGAIN and shut off) be able to use the same Internet 3 hours later ? Losing all of those potential opportunities and monies???

You are so out of touch with reality, so out of touch with your actual customers and the view from this end of the business transaction. You are greedy or too busy or something. You must be listening to 'advisors' and statistics and advertisement agencies all of whom are out of touch as well.

Just the thought of calling quest for help is overwhelming and a pain in my ass !!
You are probably losing so much money for the transfers, the outsourcing that we Americans will refuse thus calling quest again several times that day and adding to the workload of others etc ....
It probably takes 7 outsourced employees to do the job of one American - really !! so in effect you are losing far more than you think in my opinion. Just no one is telling you that because they are profiting off of you somehow.
*Don't tell people they are 'valued' if you will not work with them on a payment plan.
*Don't thank them for their loyalty before during or after you are denying them service they have paid good money for.
*don't use the same 'sell sell sell ' recorded message on your damn automated 'on hold' recordings - it really doesn't help, it makes people desensitized and angry. I have a few better Ideas that would double your profit in 2 years.
By the way, have you ever heard the ''Xerox, Bill Gates Microsoft'' story? I am sure you have, you haven't heard though that my grandmother worked for Xerox in those days (one of the first female tech's) anyway, she was a direct witness - rather primary source of information concerning that terrible mess. I just wonder how many up and coming people you are really patronizing and irritating with your spearmit-ment.

I have lost much due to you and your company this week, even AFTER I busted my butt to make sure the money was in your pocket and I was doing what was required of me. I don't have any other place to go in order to get my work done, apply at these deadlines, submit the required things AND I spent most of my time on the phone with your people (scratch that) with your computer systems and foreigners as well as your automated system and 'on hold' message.......

So it is about 10:00 pm and I am watching a lot opportunities go down the drain - I cannot even send this to you (It is in word pad and I will send it via email when - IF my Internet is restored)

My problems are monumental, just in general and I cannot believe this is happening.

Cut to this morning... Feb. !st, Still no internet and I had to call AGAIN, and be on hold, AND talk to the financial dept AND be apologized to as well as have someone try to SELL ME SOMETHING AGAIN !! Making me late for school. Is there no common sense in your company? Do you skip that part when you are training them to sell sell sell, apologize, 'understand' sell sell sell? AGAIN I am told there was yet another mistake and that she would make sure it was turned on today, I come home at 1:00 and yes, it was on, but not after missing several homework assignments, only after my bank account gets in trouble as I could not manage it from the online account I set up. Only after my daughter missed a few of her home work assignments and we both missed deadlines. Most extremely important as I NEED the grants for college (I live below the poverty level and what I did have for gas money and school needs, was sent to your pocket - (I get that, I really do, business is business right?
So let it be that, business and keep the financial and social advise to those experts, I don't need your reps telling me to borrow money or take out loans, first of all : Uhm like it was a news flash to me that borrowing was possible, second it's none of their damn business and three, if it is obvious I cannot pay bills, do you suppose it should be the advice of your Christian based company to tell me to go into more debt? Or ..... the worse and later, try to sell me something after 4 days (2 weeks actually) of not being able to get the basic services from your company that I ordered in the first place ... having them shut off for non payment twice, after the bill was paid.
Yes there are 'glitches' in the system, in life for that matter so you may want to just blow this whole incident off and blame the glitch, but meanwhile, what unfolded while trying to fix the glitch should be your major concern...........

Long story short - You guys really aren't paying attention and your technical stuff it is only costing you money, your scripts are bull and unwillingness to work with people in hard times will be remembered for eons.

I write for a local paper, a good one and I am moving up in the 'world' :)
getting my degree and I have written in the past about charity, forgiving of debts, good companies that help the community, where and how to contribute, who to pay attention to etc ......
I am just a 'little head' on the totem pole right now, a single broke mom going to school and still succeeding (even though I had to deal with you all week)
I thought some of you might like to actually know the real statistics, the real story and how it sounds on 'our' end, the customer, and what your lack of actual business sense is doing to so many people.

Is someone playing games?

Patty Musgrove

Resolution Update 02/04/2011:

well it seems enough people at quest have read this and addressed it. so I say it is resolved. but I don't know how to find the 'contact us' or 'talktous at quest' whatever - another hour or so of my time .... so, and ... yes ,my account is challenging (rocky history) always struggling to pay the bill .... at least I was heard. I complain (not for ego sake) but because I assume companies want to know where there are issues. Some of the answers I have heard are just more 'lip service' some are excuses like - 'well if you press #1 you will get the wrong dept." and I am like : well DUH... did you not see my whole entire point? the small business dept at quest was very helpful :) very helpful. He seems to be a smart guy and really actually did something that helped ME.
so yes... I guess it is resolved .
Thanks
PS The people/reps in the Logan Ut office ROCK ! They are sincere, courteous, and get things done without 'ego' games or taking a call personal (yes, omg some call centers do that... use customer irritation as a way to get their rocks off for the day) but Logan rocks :)

Company Response 02/04/2011:

Dear Patty,

Please accept my sincerest apologies and I want to let you know we do appreciate your patronage. Although with out your account information it is challenging to comment on your specific situation and I would LOVE the opportunity to address it and get a fix in our process that obviously failed you in your time of need. If you will email me at TalkToUs@Qwest.com “Attention Rich” in the subject line, I will contact you directly and review all the details personally for full resolve if you are willing to do so. As a company obviously we want to grow our business but recognize that nothing is perfect and there is always room for growth, thank you for bringing your situation our attention so that we can do so.

Rich @TalkToQwest

     
Replies
Qwest Sucks....Sucks Hard
By -

I ordered Qwest WIFI service for a small apartment complex that I manage - was told that all they could do was 3 megs @ $90 per month. I agreed to that - no worries.

Got the bill - they tapped me for $372.65.

Here's how it broke down:

Qwest Installation charge + Qest Office Basic (whatever that is): $149.99
Service charge for First Jack (wtf?...): $110.00
Broadband BUS 3m/640k: $9.99
Charge for service not previously billed: $8.50
Charge for service not previously billed (again!): $0.53
Qwest Broadband: $93.00
Taxes: $0.64

I called them up. I explained that I had not been quoted anywhere close to $279 just for the friggin' install. Mr. Useless (name changed to protect the idiot) explained in so many words that I could either pay my bill...or pay my bill, and go away.

I just got a quote from a competing company - $25 install.

Qwest.com: You got me. You got me good you [bleepers]. But one good lick is all you're going to get. I'm canceling your sorry arses before the next bill comes due. If you're thinking of buying anything from Qwest, do some homework. You can get a better product for less elsewhere. I learned that just a little too late.

     
Replies
Stay Away From Qwest!!!!
By -

We have been a customer of Qwest since 2007. When we first moved into our apartment we were told we had to use Qwest. No big deal, right? Wow, if I would have known how horrible it would be to deal with Qwest there is no way I would have signed a lease to move in the first place. They are absolutely unresponsive, rude and terrible. To begin, we first used Qwest internet in our home office. The internet was constantly down, and it would take forever to get someone on the phone, and if you could sit through the 20-30 minute wait you would typically get transferred around to several representatives that "were sorry for any inconvenience" but couldn't help you with any solutions.

Further, we also bundled my business phone line through Qwest. Since then we have discontinued the phone service because of the terrible representatives. We continuously had billing errors. And when I did finally disconnect the service, they tried billing me twice. Thank goodness I kept good notes.

They also decided in 2009 to provide our complex with a "complimentary internet upgrade", but what they didn't tell us was that it would take 5 visits to get it right, and that you didn't have a choice. Our internet was down for several days, which they said they would reimburse us for (still haven't seen that credit), and I had to take 2 days off of work to sit at home for a 4 hour period waiting for them to show up. The first appointment of which they showed up an hour and a half late to, but tried to justify by saying "they were with other customers".

Not too long ago my husband bought at HD TV. Since we utilized Direct TV for our television services this wasn't an issue. Come to find out that for HD TV there were centralized dishes around our apartment community that we had to use. Oh no, call Qwest for TV too. Well, unfortunately we didn't have a choice and now our TV is through Qwest as well. We had never before had a problem with Direct TV, until now. Qwest yesterday provided our complex with a "complimentary upgrade" and needless to say our TV isn't working today and the quickest they can get someone out is on Tuesday of next week, and we have to be home between 8-12. So once again I get to take time off of work so Qwest can fix another problem. The first representative I spoke with this morning was rude, wouldn't give her name, and hung up on me. I spoke with our leasing office who also called Qwest and told me that she fared no better. She was also a product of the Qwest solution of "I don't know what to do and I don't want to deal with this, even if it is my job, so I will just hang up on you".

I called back a second time and spoke with a gentleman, Curtis, who was pleasant and put me in touch with his manager Tony. Tony assured me he would look into it and would get back to me. He did call back to say that they had to switch out the boxes at our home (which we have had less than 2 months), but he didn't know when they would be doing that and that he would call me back later. However, it has now been 3 hrs without a call back. Tony has left for the day, and there is no manager on duty. I spoke with another rep, Jeff T. in Boise, ID who was absolutely worthless, and kept trying to tell me my problem was with Qwest not with him and not to take it out on him. Someone really should explain to him that he works for Qwest and is a representative and all the customer is asking for is solutions. I didn't raise my voice, but did repetitively ask "what they were going to do to make this right" and all he kept telling me was that he wasn't authorized to do anything, and there was no one working at that time that was authorized. Fortunately, we are moving into a house in less than a month. There is no way I will use Qwest for internet, phone or TV. I can't wait to go back to cox for internet and phone service and Direct TV for TV. I can't wait to get away from this terrible company, with their terrible customer service. If you have a choice... stay away from this company. They will give you nothing but headaches, and cost you money.

Thanks for letting me vent.

     
Replies
What's Going On Here?
By -

LOGAN, UTAH -- Here is a copy of the email messages between me and Qwest and I wonder why it has esclated this far.

RE: Qwest.com Customer Support (Phone)‏
From: ****** ****** (******_******@msn.com)
Sent: Fri 5/22/09 1:25 AM
To: corresp@qwest.com

Sue,

Thank you for your prompt reply of only waiting ten days before providing contact of any sort. A Qwest technician already came to my apartment complex and repaired whatever was wrong by fixing something in the box outside of the building.

If an email address is john_doe@msn.com then you should be able to figure out that the person's name is John Doe and if your system will not allow you to find a phone number and other contact information by referencing a name then Qwest is in more trouble than I thought. If you are to thick to figure this out then you shouldn't be working in customer service and if you're just being obnoxious through procrastination then you shouldn't be working in customer service either. Maybe another career might fit better. Can you say "Do you want fries with that"?

****_******@msn.com

From: corresp@qwest.com
To: ******_******@msn.com
Date: Thu, 21 May 2009 14:25:38 -0500
Subject: RE: Qwest.com Customer Support (Phone)
******
Thank you for your recent e-mail inquiry to Qwest. I apologize for the delay in responding to your e-mail. Please provide your telephone number plus the 3 digit customer code and I will be glad to help you.
Sue
Qwest Customer Care
Consumer Markets
www.Qwest.com
-----Original Message-----
From: ****** ******[mailto:******_******@msn.com]
Sent: Monday, May 11, 2009 4:41 PM
To: Qwest Support
Subject: Qwest.com Customer Support (Phone)


First Name: ******
Last Name: ******
Primary Phone Number: --
Am I a Qwest Customer? Yes
3 Digit Qwest Account Number:
E-Mail Address: ******_******@msn.com
Contact Preference: Phone
Description: 5/11/2009
Customer service representative:
Last Friday night I noticed my internet connection was slow and my land line telephone had static so today I called the customer service department for Qwest and it turned out to be a real headache.
Getting past the automatic phone reception system, the static on the phone lines, giving your representative the wrong number, being transferred and put on hold numerous times, and finally being disconnected when I was trying to talk with a representative who had a strong accent was a little too much for me. I called back on my T Mobile cell (which has always worked fine) and was transferred again until I talked with someone at the ****** office.
Now I could be wrong because of the communication difficulty but think I was told that an eighty-five dollar fee is applied if the technician has to come into my apartment for repair. That's understandable but think I was also told that it couldn't be determined if that fee would be assessed or not at the time the request was made. What I don't understand is why a check can't be done to your equipment outside at your expense without charging me. I had this same problem before and it was repaired by Qwest without charging me. After asking to have my telephone disconnected I was told that would increase my internet service bill by five dollars a month because of a discount. Great discount! It's more of a customer service return guarantee for you than a discount for me.
I'm not responsible for the phone bill now so the least expensive and best option for me is not to use Qwest except for contracted internet service. I'll be ending my telephone and internet service as soon as my contract expires and referring everyone to any company but Qwest. T Mobile has been good for me so I think I'll refer everyone to them.
Land lines are becoming dinosaurs and soon will be extinct as will your
business with me and probably many other current Qwest customers.
I hope your day is as bad as mine has been.

     
Replies
Shocking Experience
By -

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I have encountered a similar shocking experience with the Qwest service as the writer of another review!

After I had ordered a bundle for HD TV, Internet and Phone service from Direct TV (who had no problem with my request!), I had to call Qwest to inform them of the installation date - Qwest had to come for the internet part of the bundle. I already had Qwest telephone service but, with the bundle, my cost would not have been as much.

All I was seeking was an alternative service to replace the expensive Comcast that I was signed up with.

When I called Qwest, the associate told me that Qwest could offer me the same package at a lower cost. I was told that it was because Qwest had better promotions than Direct TV and therefor I should order the package from Qwest. This meant that I had to cancel the order with Direct TV (will not get into that conversation!!!!!!!!!) and needless to say, they wanted to convince me to stay with their order. After a conversation of almost 90 minutes, the associate cancelled my order.

When the technician arrived, he walked in with a problem. Only 4 receivers instead of 5 like my order was! I had to call Qwest to check their order but, the phone number that was left on my message, was not the right number. I had to talk to the Business Office. They could not talk to me for at least another 30 minutes because of other customers who was calling in! (most probably more complaints!) The request to me from Qwest "please call back in at least 30 minutes!" How ridiculous to have the Technician hang around for 30 minutes!????

In the meantime, Mr Tech called Direct TV and they were kind enough to let me have the fifth receiver installed for free. Mr Tech could proceed.

After 4 hours of installations, he explained to me how to operate the remotes. I asked hom about the extra sport channel that I ordered and, (was I surprised?) it was not on the order! Another Qwest mistake. Also, the sport channel that the Qwest associate recommended (with rugby and cricket, that is why I want it!) did not have either of the two sports! He told me what to order.

I asked him about the internet service and he said that UPS or FedEx would most probably deliver a modem within the next day or two. However, my gut feeling told me to call Qwest and check with them what the next step would be to have the internet service in place so that I could cancel Comcast. Again, first call was to the wrong phone number (provided by Qwest!) and eventually I spoke to the next "wrong" associate/department for my inquiry. He did however tell me that there was no order for internet service on my phone number! (another Qwest mistake!!!!) He got the Business Office on the phone who then told me that internet service was not available at all!!!!!!! This was what she said: "How do you expect us to give you a service that we do not have and does not exist?" I told her that it did exist a week ago when I spoke to an associate who gave me a confirmation number for the order of all three services! At this stage the Qwest problem was made my problem because now, I was the one that was stuck with a 24 month contract with Direct TV without internet service - this I had to get from Comcast and then, my monthly cost for the three services, would have been more than my cost with Comcast! After another conversation of at least 30 minutes, I was put on hold while she was going to find out if they could find a solution. In that time (waiting) I had time to take a shower, get dressed and do my make-up!!!! I was still listening to the advertisement recording! She eventually came back and suggested that they would (mind you!!! the voice tone made it sound like a favor!!!) ask Direct TV to remove the equipment without any cancellation cost to me!!!!

Before I could ask her to please call me back with the rest of the information, she put me back on hold and that is exactly where I was when I had to leave for my appointment. In total my hours spent on telephone conversations amounts up to at least 5 hours and the installation this morning was from 11am until 3pm.

Please just take a hint from my experience and be extremely careful when you deal with sales people that work for companies without being fully informed about what they can offer potential customers. I have had it! Enough is enough! I will definitely change my telephone provider. I would be surprised if I end up without any cost for the disastrous incident!

Seems as though, "The customer is ALWAYS WRONG" is the motto!

     
Replies
Working with Qwest is akin to embracing Murphy's Law
By -

I would like share my extremely frustrating experience with Qwest with you. First let me preface this letter by stating I have been a loyal Qwest for 5 years and have moved frequently and successfully with their service.

This year I moved in May 2007 and have had nothing but frustration with Qwest. My new housemates and I decided that we wanted to share wireless internet in our house. We order Qwest wireless the first week of June 2007.

When I received the modem and start up disc, none of the codes would work for my computer, nor my housemates. I called Qwest and was told that it was because I had a MacBook. During the month of June I called Qwest over nine times, and was repeatedly told in both polite and in rude terms that the problem was my Mac, not Qwest. During one call to Qwest, an employee told me that he could get it up and running in 30 seconds if my computer were a PC. When I asked him if any of his colleagues were trained for Macs, he told me that hardly anyone uses macs and Qwest should not have to train its employees in a practically obsolete system. He then transferred me, against my will, to the apple support line.

My computer is a 2007 Macbook that receives wireless at every coffee shop or business with wireless; I is not a problem with my computer. The apple support line should not have to pick up the pieces for Qwest employees.

The amount of time spent on the phone with Qwest in June, transfers directly to my cell phone bill. I went over my minutes for the first time in my cell phone contract by exactly the amount of time I was on the phone with Qwest. I admit, I do choose to have a cell phone instead of a landline. This means that 1-800 numbers cost minutes on my plan, yet if Qwest employees had been trained sufficiently in both Macs and PCs, I should have only had to make one phone call, and thus not go over my minutes. I do believe that part of my $57.54 monthly Qwest bill is to having access to customer service.

After this cell phone bill, I asked Qwest for a new modem to rent. I was sent a non-rental and charged roughly $100. I did not learn this until my bill at the end of July.

After receiving the new modem, I had the same series of problems with wireless not working in the household. After three more phone calls, I got a Qwest employee that knew Macs. He got the wireless up and running in under 30 seconds.

Shortly after the wireless got working, I got the bill for the charged modem. I immediately called billing and asked if I could have it transferred on my account as a rental. The first person I talked to did not think they could do it, but then I got them to transfer me to the Loyalties Department. The first person I talked to in loyalties, told me that they could change it to rental status, and because I was a loyal customer, he would give me three months for half price in recompense for all the pervious trouble. He told me to wait three days to pay my bill, because he would start the discount that month. I was much relieved. Yet when I called to check on my bill five business days later, it had not changed.

When I called to check with billing they had two different computer profiles for me, one gave the information that loyalties had told me, the other had the higher bill. They could not rectify it, so instead of Qwest figuring it out its own internal error, they forced me to talk to Loyalties, billing, and customer care. I spent over two hours on the phone that day. I should not be the one communicating to each department in Qwest about Qwest’s own internal error on my bill. Qwest should be taking responsibility for making sure their profiles on the customer’s is correct. I believe this is what customer service entails.

I canceled my service that day. This was the middle of August. I was told by Loyalties that my plan would be terminated, and essentially erase a month of service from my bill for all the inconvenience, and that she would send me a label with reference number for the modem, so that I wouldn’t have to eat the cost of the modem. I never received a reference number. It took the final bill until mid-September to arrive. Loyalties was able to give me the one month discount. Yet the modem had not been credited. I had to call again for a reference number to send the modem back. Again I was told not to pay the bill for the modem.

I sent the modem back near the end of September. On September 26th, I received notification that Qwest was going to send my bill to a collection agency if I did not pay or make arrangements for payments. The bill in question was the combination of the $100 erroneous charge for the modem, the non-credited month of service and a partial month of service. All of these charges I had been told by three separate employees to wait to pay, yet apparently interdepartmental communication had failed again. I called on the 26th and paid everything except for the modem cost, asking if that would stop them from sending it to collections. The Qwest employee told me it would.

One week later, I got another notice to pay the $100 for the modem, or it would be sent to collections. Again, I called and asked to put a stop on the transfer to collections. Again, I was told it would not be sent. Yet today, I got both a collections notice for the $100, and a phone call from collections. It was both the rudest letter and phone call that I have ever received, and it was because that I waited to pay the bill because Qwest had told me to wait. I paid the collections agency in order to save my credit rating, then called Qwest. I was told that the $100 had been credited to my account and the collections notice was a mistake.

I am dumbfounded that this went to collections despite my communication with Qwest. I feel harassed by this continued ill treatment, and blatant irresponsibility by Qwest. This irresponsibility has added up to a $100 collections bill, a threat to my credit, a $89 charge in overage minutes on my cell phone, and two months of bills paid to Qwest for wireless service when no wireless service was being received in our house. My main complaint is that as an individual paying for a service, I should receive that service in exchange for my payment. If that service should malfunction or not perform within the bounds of its contract, then the company should be responsible for fixing it. It is not the individual’s responsibility to call every department of a corporation to make sure they are getting proper customer service; it is the corporation’s responsibility in exchange for monthly payment to give proper service to the customer.

My house has switched to Charter and they had us up and running immediately. The one time that we have had a problem, Charter came to our house, and fixed it for us, free of charge. They did not force us to stay on the phone for multiple hours, or try to tell us that it was our computer’s problem.

Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Lindz A

     
Replies
Disgusting lack of customer service provided
By -

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I would like to share my recent experiences with Qwest “Spirit of Service” customer service…

We recently moved into a new home and decided to make Qwest our telephone and internet service provider. We were particularly motivated because we noted on the website that high-speed internet was offered in our new area by this provider. After hearing about a bundled package, we also decided to change our mobile phones to Qwest and add on Direct TV Satellite Service.

Unfortunately, the internet was not accurate in that our area is not covered by high-speed internet. Still, we decided that this move would be the most appropriate for our needs. Much to our disappointment, we have come to learn that the customer service with Qwest is severely lacking. If we hadn’t already invested in the change, we would gladly transfer to another provider. As it is, we are currently exploring our other options.

My husband set up service for almost an hour and a half with a customer representative a few weeks before our anticipated move. We were told that our new mobile phones would be delivered within the next few days. When we didn’t receive them, he called back to inquire. Apparently the order was cancelled because the “database” used did not show a match for his social security number or date of birth. He asked where this database originated and was unable to get an answer. He spoke with Lucia who was both rude and took an accusatory tone telling my husband he would have to call the social security office to clear this discrepancy. She ended up calling the social security office with my husband on the line to establish that the information provided was in fact correct. Our biggest problem with this issue was that we were never contacted and let know that the order was cancelled. My husband was informed that he would need to call another number to set up service again.

My husband called and left numerous messages for an associate at the number given. He was finally able to reach someone who could reorder the service. He was on the phone for nearly an hour with them. Much to our amazement, we were charged twice for the cellular phones. Another call had to be made to get a credit for the cancelled order. We are not wealthy people that can have nearly $200 withdrawn from our account unexpectedly without financial ramifications.

Had there only been one incident, we could certainly understand that unforeseen events happen with even the best of companies. Unfortunately, this was only the tip of the iceberg. We were told that we would be able to activate our cellular phone service on Sunday, September 3rd. I called on Saturday to verify this information since the activation information stated that this service was not available on Sundays. The representative I talked to said that she thought maybe some offices were open and that is why I was told that. Of course, they weren’t available on Sunday. Monday was a holiday, so we weren’t actually able to activate service until Tuesday, September 5th. This wouldn’t have been so bad if we could rely on our previous provider, but Qwest diligently cancelled that service on the 3rd. So we were left without telephone service for two days. I find this unacceptable. Especially considering that I have three small children and do not live in a highly populated area where telephones are easily accessible.

We were also told that our land-line telephone service, internet, and satellite service would be connected on Saturday, September 2nd. Direct TV came and were very polite and helpful. Qwest did not come. We were home all day waiting. When they did not arrive, I called to inquire. I was informed that new service is never set up on the weekend and that we were scheduled for Tuesday, September 5th before 5:00 pm. I again waited at home all day with the kids. I called at 4:15 to make sure that there were no problems with the address and that we were still on the schedule. I was told that yes, we were scheduled and that someone should be here before 5:00. I waited until 5:00 and called back again. I was told that the technician was running late but we were still in line for service. I then called at 6:15 and was told that we weren’t set up for jack installation though it was in the comments section. Unfortunately, we were disconnected so I called back. I was then told that jack installation was part of the order but since a technician did not come, we were going to be rescheduled for Saturday, September 9th. First, I was astounded that we were never called and notified that nobody would be coming out. Second, I was in disbelief that it would be rescheduled for four days later and on a Saturday (which, if you will recall, I was told they never set up service on the weekend.) I told them that this was unacceptable and requested to speak with a supervisor.

The supervisor I spoke to was named Lucas. I explained my situation and he told me he was sorry, but that there was nothing he could do but file a formal complaint. After a long conversation with him, he contacted scheduling and was told that one of the technicians called in sick, that another went home early, and the third didn’t realize that the first had called in sick. He said they might be able to fit us in on Wednesday, September 6th and that someone should call in the morning to let us know when they would be out. I asked if we should have been notified the same today and he said yes. Again, we were never contacted at all. I asked if there was anyone else I could contact to share this information, and Lucas gave me the address for the Executive Office. He asked if there was anything else he could do and I asked him to make the formal complaint formally offered. His response to me was, “I thought you were going to do that.” I couldn’t believe that he was pawning this responsibility off on me.

I am completely astounded by the poor customer service and complete lack of accountability met in these exchanges. It does not appear as though any department knows or has access to knowledge of what the other departments are doing. This is particularly frustrating in that this company prides itself on combining services which is supposed to benefit its customers. I would not recommend Qwest to anybody I know and do not plan to be a customer for long. I am dreading future interactions with Qwest and can only hope that our telephone and internet services will actually be connected soon without further difficulties.

     
Replies
Complaint
By -

Qwest technical support is awful and the customer service is just as bad. I mistakenly decided to upgrade my internet, since the one I was using with QWEST was soooooo slow even though it was DSL. Within a couple minutes of my signing up online with Qwest to upgrade my service, I notices my pages taking an eternity to open only to get an error message saying the connection timed out or the page just NEVER opening. I found this odd, but my upgrade it said wouldn't take effect until 3 days later, so I thought it must have just been a coincidence. That was Aug 2nd. To this day, I still have problems opening certain pages on my intenet to include my MSN. COM homepage, Hotmail, several of my credit card companies pages, and sooo many more. When I contacted Qwest several days after the upgrade to tell them I wanted to cancel my upgrade because of the problem, they wouldn't let me and told me it must be MSN or my computer that is messing up. They contacted MSN, called me back and said it was my computer. So, I contacted Toshiba, and they couldn't figure out the problem, saying it must be my modem. I called Qwest again, they said NO! Toshiba said restore to factory default. I did that but it still didn't work (only made it worse because the connection at my house won't let me do any of my updates or download drivers and software, to include my antivirus program and print drivers) I called and emailed Qwest, the one guy hung up on me!! I took my laptop to a coffee shop and EVERYTHING works fine! - Proof it is my home connection with Qwest...it has been almost two months; Qwest is still charging for my Internet and my upgrade, but they haven't even tried to help resolve the issue. I even got an advertisement in my mail saying I am eligible for a free upgrade!!! Woohoo...we know where that got me in the first place. DON'T USE QWESTTHEY WON"T HELP YOU IF THEIR SYSTEM MESSES UP!

     
Replies
Qwest Internet quality
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I recently had a horrible weekend of operations at my company. I am a Cloud Computing consulting firm and as such we rely heavily on the internet. We recently ran past our 30 day money back guarantee and in return we got almost 52 hours of degraded quality of service.

As of current and since service connection, we've have their 7Mbps/896Kbps Service and we pretty much always got those speeds until recently. It first started on Friday night, I noticed it first when I was downloading a new Cloud Computing OS to review for a client, my download started at 124KB/s and was Falling! It finally bottomed out at 18KB/s. I thought to myself, oh, well it must be the web server this file is on, so I went on to check my hosted server I have with 1&1 hosting and sure enough, downloading from that server was effected too.

I went on to perform a speed test that Qwest has (speedtest. Qwest.net) and it told me everything was fine (5.6Mbps down and. 67Mbps Up which is within normal range). I then went and performed a speed test with speakeasy and speedtest.net and there it was, 1.24Mbps download it reported, even down to 0.94Mbps. I wanted to do the due diligence and test a few other sites to make sure things were just being weird and the results didn't change. I even tested with different computers and cables and tried using wireless. I tried turning off wireless and unplugging everything except one computer, still no good.

Next, I call Qwest Technical Support and then of course, they want to do testing that I've already done. That's OK, I understand ITIL and MOF so I indulged them. They tried a few things and the results didn't change. So they dispatched a technician to my office the next day. The tech gets here and what do ya know, nope, nothing. "Nothing is wrong" he tells me. Well, we argue back and forth about it because the tenant next to me has the same setup and so I tested my computer over there and everything's OK. Finally he tells me he's sending me a new modem (I roll my eyes).

So Sunday is here now and so I just decided to test again to see if anything has changed. Now the Qwest speed test is showing the real picture (2.9Mbps download). SO, I get back on the phone with Tech support and again, they don't know what's going on. But they suggest they send out another tech the following Wednesday and I was like Next Wednesday??? What's the Mean Time to Restoration here guys??? anyway I was tired of fighting so I said sure, fine, send another tech, it's your money.

No more than 2 hours after that call, everything is fixed (and might I point out it was 12:30am). So, I called Tech support again and told them to submit an internal inquiry with their supervisor and include me in the email. It's been 30 minutes and still no email. Wow, customer service is not synonymous with Qwest.

SO, let's think about this one for a minute. Hmm, issue started late Friday Night. Issue automagically resolved late Sunday Night - Hmm - Gee, this sounds a lot like a maintenance window here. "No record of maintenance" is the response I got from Qwest, which I believe because what tech support agent would ever have access to the real info - I mean, that would just make too much since.

All-in-all, I'm pretty upset here that nobody for 52 hours could tell me what was going on with my connection and now is back to normal. 99.9% uptime, well BAAM, blew that one right out of the sky. Maybe they should rethink that one and go with 99% uptime.

Now, let me clarify uptime, it's when a circuit is up and running with no fault. Degraded service - That's a fault and was their fault, not was through no cause of my own.

Word of advice, Go with Speakeasy if you can, I never had any downtime with them. I had their service for over a year. Wow, a company keeping good on their uptime promise, what a concept. Come on here folks, this is 2010 not 2000.

     
Replies
Unethical and dishonest billing, horrible customer service, the list goes on and on
By -

I have had problems with Qwest since DAY ONE. Never in my life have I seen such a corrupt and deceiving company and I would honestly rather pull my own fingernails off with a pair of pliers than to call their customer service line!

I was FORCED to join Qwest for internet when I moved into my apartment complex because they were "contracted" through Qwest. Every single bill was wrong. I was promised a certain price and then my bill would come in nearly $30 more than what was discussed! Their bills are like hieroglyphics to decipher and calling their "customer service reps" is a waste of time because 50% of them are the rudest bunch I've ever come across, talking over me and ignoring what I am trying to explain...the other 50% are just as dumb as can be and seemingly tell me false information just to get off the phone with me. At the apartment complex we were charged a "BSI" charge because to get our DirecTV service we were all using a communal satellite on top of the building. This charge was $6.24. This past fall I bought a house. I called Qwest's customer service number, the number that is right smack dab in the middle of my bill on page 1, and requested that they complete all the necessary steps to get my service transferred. They assured me it would all be switched over and that service at the old apartments would be disconnected. In the following months, I kept getting that BSI charge. I called in each month to inquire about it and was told each time it would "fall off" and that "information was probably still getting sent over" or "that was from the previous month and it will be credited back to you once information is updated." All sorts of excuses. I also was promised 2 free months of internet for upgrading my service. I only ever got 1 free month and from what I can tell on my bills...I am being double billed for about 5 days on each bill. There are also several charges on my bill that say "Other charges-5.99" "Current Charges-0.25" with absolutely no explanation as to what they are! They're scamming the unsuspecting general population and nickel and diming us!

Bottom line...go with Comcast. They're cheaper than DSL and I am sure that their bills aren't 6 pages long for a simple internet service!

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >