Sprint PCS - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
191 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Sprint PCS
6200 Sprint Pkwy.
Overland Park, KS 66251
877-222-5006 (ph)
Compare Phone/Mobile Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service and Billing
By -

ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND -- I am writing as a very, very disgruntled customer of Sprint. I had been a customer of Sprint for years until about 3 years ago when I switched to Nextel (which had just merged with Sprint so it was basically the same company) only because they had a phone that I wanted. I've always had some ups and downs with the company but I've normally been able to get things resolved in a timely manner until recently. I was having a lot of issues with the phone I had which was the Nextel i870 and had called sometime in November 2007 to ask when my contract would expire because I was thinking about looking at some other companies.

I was told by the customer service representative that it would end in February 2008 so I figured I could wait until then so I wouldn't have to pay the early termination fee. After experiencing several more problems with the phone and not being able to use it most of the time, I went into the Sprint store in Annapolis, MD to get the exact date of the expiration of the contract because at that point I really didn't have a reliable phone to use. The customer service representative looked it up and said it wasn't until July 2008.

I told her that was incorrect and just left the store. I got into my car and called the Sprint Customer Care number and pressed the option for contract expiration/terminate service. A customer service representative answered and questioned why I wanted to leave the company and if there was anything she could do to keep my business with them. I explained to her that I had the Nextel phone which no longer worked right so I had to get a new phone whether it was with them or if I had to go to another company and that I was not paying the early termination fee or paying the outrageous prices of a new phone with them for not being a new customer.

She told me if I stayed she would let me get a new phone at the new customer price. So, I decided to switch back to a Sprint phone that I saw in the store and liked. The original cost of the phone was $399 but the new customer special they were running was for $99. I was put on hold while she connected a financial representative on the phone with us so I could pay off the remaining balance for the Nextel account which was $104.28 and then we started the process for the new phone which the cost was just added onto my Sprint account. This all took place on Friday, January 11, 2008.

I received and activated the new phone which was a Palm Centro on Tuesday January 15, 2008. On the morning of January 16th, when I went to make a call I was played a message that said I needed to contact customer care; the service had been interrupted. I called to see what the problem was and was told that I had exceeded my spending limit and had to pay $75.28 to bring it under. I just figured it had something to do with them adding the new phone on the account so I didn't really question it and just paid the money while I was on the phone with them; the service was restored.

On January 18, 2008 I went into the Sprint store in Annapolis, MD to add another line onto my existing account. I bought the phone (Palm Centro) and activated it while I was in the store... This is where all the issues begin! I told the representative I wanted to transfer the phone number I already had to this new phone. I had a Virgin Mobile pre-pay phone which is also an affiliate of Sprint. I had already called Virgin Mobile's customer service to ask if this could be done and they said yes. The representative at the Sprint store wasn't too clear on how to do it so he called customer care and was walked through the process.

I bought a couple accessories and prepared to leave the store but before I left out I tried to make a call and the phone wouldn't work. I then asked another representative in the store what the problem was and she said that it can take a couple hours sometimes for the phone to get fully activated and up to 4 hrs for all the services on the phone to work properly. I didn't see a problem with that because when I activated the other one I was told the same thing. I spent about 1-1/2 hrs at the store that night.

After two hours had passed the phone was still not working; this would be my first of MANY, MANY LONG calls to Sprint customer service for this particular line. I spent about 3 hrs on the phone with customer service that night trying to get the phone working. Apparently there was a problem with transferring the number so they gave me a temporary number to use in the meantime. I was told that because of all of my trouble for the night the first month of service would be waived for that line.

I called the next day to find out the status of the number transfer and was given the run-around. This went on for several days until I finally said just cancel the transfer request and I would just keep the temporary number they had given me. After going through all this I called to make sure they had noted the account about the waived first month bill and to no surprise there was nothing. I went back forth about this until I finally reached someone who just gave me a $60 credit on the bill. Not only had there never been a notation about that but the whole entire service plan was wrong as well.

So, she fixed all of that and I asked for some type of confirmation for my records and she sent me an email stating everything. A couple days later I go to check my balance this time on my phone and I see $399. I called to ask what was going on and the service rep said that it was a credit. Now I have no idea of where this credit came from. I figured that was for them to deal with so I left it alone. About 2 weeks later my phone is turned off again - this is the 2nd time. I call to find out why and I'm told because the phone has gone past the spending limit but they don't know why because there's a credit on the account.

I'm then told I have pending charges on the phone that totaled almost $800... stating something about charges for a lost phone and equipment as well as other charges. To kind of sum this all up, as of today, which is February 17th, I'm still battling over this. During this time I have spent numerous hours on the phone and even in the store trying to get this resolved. My phone line as being turned off 5 times and the other line once. That's 6 times we've had service interruption in ONE MONTH!

Just to really give you another example of all the headache and drama I've had; just today which again is Feb. 17th in between talking to the service rep on the phone trying to once again figure out what the problem is I've been online monitoring my account and it has gone from me owing $377.47 to $227.47 to $77.47 and the last time I checked it it said that Sprint now owes me $22.53. I also received another confirmation email from Sprint saying they have credited my account $400 which would have been the cost of the lost phone/equipment that should have never been there.

Yet, I have also once again received a text message on my phone saying I'm approaching my spending limit and need to make a payment, so I'm guessing tomorrow my service will be interrupted again! Now does this make any sense??? All I want to be able to do is use my phone like any other normal person and pay my monthly bill without any hassle. After all this it would have been worth just paying the early termination fee and being rid of Sprint!

Resolution Update 02/25/2008:

I am assuming the issue is now resolved. They have credited the account back the $400 that they charged for the supposedly lost phone which left the account with a slight credit. Hopefully this will take care of everything and I won't have any future issues with this account. I will be holding on to all of my emails that I have received from them as well as all the copies(changes)of my bill.

Sprint Wireless Svcs taking unauthorized charges out of my bank account.
By -

I discovered unauthorized charges on my bank account on October 20, 2006, all coming from Sprint Wireless Services. At that point, I closed down my debit card and told them to put a flag on the account so that no further charges were to come through from Sprint Wireless Services. I then called the 800# associated with the transactions and found out that it was the Nextel portion of Sprint.

I don't have a Nextel account. I do however, have a Sprint account, but when I make my phone payments, the transaction says Sprint Customer Care, not Sprint Wireless Services. Once I notified the fraud department of my bank (HSBC), I asked if I go further back in my bank account and discover more charges, will I be able to add to the claim.

I was told yes, I can add up to 90 days from the date of the claim, and they can enter that over the phone. Anything going further back than 90, I would have to write a letter to Corporate Security listing all the fraudulent charges, and the dates on which they occurred.

As I went further back into my account, I noticed that there were multiple charges each month from Sprint Wireless Services, and all for different amounts. I called the fraud department back and added to the claim. I also asked again if I was to write that letter to corporate security and I was told to do so, and that I should do it as soon as possible, for they only have a certain amount of time to investigate.

I was told that an affidavit of the fraudulent charges would be mailed to me, and I have to sign it and either fax it back or mail it in to the address provided. I received the affidavit, signed it and faxed it back. I then wrote the letter to corporate security. HSBC fraud department said that once they receive my affidavit, and investigation would begin, and I would be notified of exactly what is going on with my debit card.

In the meantime, I called the 800# at Sprint to find out why they were taking these charges out of my bank account. Since it is the Nextel portion and I don't have a Nextel account, they had no way of looking up any information and they transferred me to Sprint since I have an account with them. Sprint also could not find anything because these charges are not stemming from my phone account. I was then told that I had to dispute these charges with my bank and there was nothing else they could do.

About a week later, I received a credit of a little over a thousand dollars for the fraudulent claims. I was happy with that, thinking that I would get the rest that stem from January, at a later date. On December 2, I get a letter from HSBC Corporate Security, saying that they will be reversing the credit they had given me on 12/05/06. The letter also stated that I would receive a credit for $300. I didn't know why they would be reversing the credit, so I had to wait until Monday, 12/04/06 to call the department.

I spoke with ** at Corporate Sec. who was handling my claim. She said since I waited beyond the 120 days from the date of discovery, they can only refund me the first three statements worth of charges, starting with the date of the first fraudulent charge, which was January 17, 2006. There was no fraudulent activity in February or March, so I only got back January's transactions which totaled $300.08, and they reversed the one thousand dollars out of my account, making it go almost $500 in the negative.

I told ** that I received an entirely different story from the fraud department. I let her know that two different people had said that all I had to do was write a letter for the earlier charges and I would get that back as well. She apologized for me being misinformed, but there was nothing else she could do. I asked her what would happen if something else tries to be debited tomorrow, she said again, there was nothing she could do. I would have to go take this up with Sprint. I had two more charges in November on my new card, but MasterCard fraud department has helped me with those.

I spoke to an investigator at HSBC, because my understanding was that this matter was to be investigated. She gave me the same story ** gave me, about how it's past the 120 days. I let her know that I made a claim in October for charges that occurred in September (well within 120 days - these charges were current, but for some odd reason, they can only start from the date of discovery which was January).

I told her that Sprint is unwilling to help me, so I'm stuck and I don't know who I can go to next. She then offered to call the 800# from Nextel with me. We finally got in touch with a live person at Nextel fraud department, and that representative told me to file a police report. She said they were unable to do anything until they receive the papers from the police dept. and then the investigation would begin.

I took the day off (12/7) to go back to HSBC, and try some of the tactics that I read on ripoffreport.com to try to get my money back. I told the customer service rep that according to federal regulation E, I was entitled to my money back, no matter how long ago this occurred. I told her that I would have to either pursue legal action, or take this to the media. There was nothing she could do. I got ** to fax over papers stating all the fraudulent charges so that I can have evidence for my police report.

I filled out an affidavit of fraudulent activity at the bank, had it notarized and went back to the police station. I spoke with an officer who said that they can not file a police report because they do not have any proof of anything criminal. It's just my word saying it's not my account. If they had something from Sprint saying this account is not mine, however I've been charged for it, then they could process a police report. Other than that, I'm stuck again.

I was trying to get the name of the bank that is processing these payments for Sprint. Neither Sprint nor HSBC has that information. I was going to use that tactic to call that bank and let them know they are participating in illegal activity. However, I can not get the name. All I know is that it says Sprint Wireless Services, 800-639-6111 CO.

Sprint even tried taking $105 out of my account on 12/6, but they were trying to use the canceled card and it wouldn't go through. They made two attempts to take the money that day. The bad part is that they are still attempting to take money from me to pay for an account I do not have! It's not a double billing for my phone account, these are all different amounts each month (Ex. $60, $30, $294, $80 - all in one month).

As soon as I post this, I will be contacting the Attorney General's office. Something needs to be done. This is about $2000 of my money that Sprint Wireless Services has stolen from me and my bank will not investigate. I hope no one else has to go through this because this is a nightmare in more ways than one. If anyone out there has any advice as to how I can get my money back, please post a response. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Shady sales tactics - horrible customer service.
By -

I'll quickly summarize before I get into more detail. I've been with Sprint for about 6 years. For the most part I was content with the telephone service and pricing. I hardly ever upgrade my phone, changed my plan, or used my rebates so it was rare that I called in for anything other than making a payment. Although when I switched work and required some upgrades I was not pleased. I have had nothing short of a nightmare dealing with Sprint.

I wouldn't say it's necessarily their CSR's but more like the policies upper management has set up. I think many CSR's are doing what they can but I personally think that Sprint has some very shady sales tactics and billing policies. I feel the way they handle things like service changes, billing, and especially contract renewal is very sloppy and downright deceitful.

Back in June I was looking at some new phones at a local Radio Shack and perhaps maybe even switching carriers. I had an idea that my contract may be ending soon so this would be an ideal time. I contemplated switching over with Cingular while I was browsing the store. But first I thought I'd call Sprint and see what they might offer a loyal customer since 2001.

The first person I talked to was a first level CSR. I asked if I had any rebate offers for a phone upgrade. I was told 2 of the 3 lines were eligible for a $75 upgrade rebate. I explained that I could get at least 1 new $200+ phone free right now at the store if I just signed up with Cingular or Verizon. I asked when my contract was up and we both realized I was out of contract for some time now (no ETF if I canceled). She promptly said "let me transfer you to someone who can better assist you".

So I reiterate what I just explained to the rep. earlier. He seems very friendly but starts sounding like a used car salesman. He starts telling me how he would "love to make my day wonderful" and give me a bunch of discounts if I stay with Sprint. He asked me what phone I had in mind. I told him I might be interested in something like the Samsung model I saw at the store.

So after some small talk and lots of holding he says he can get me two of those phones - for free. Great! Then he goes on and begins pushing (offering really) all these cool services like Vision, Pic mail, Unlimited SMS, N&W @7PM, Roadside Assist., 10% off, etc. My interest is slightly peaked but I'm not really all that interested with that stuff. I was happy with just the phones. My primary concerned was the bill going up. So at first I said I'll pass. Although he really keeps insisting. I kept expressing how I didn't want my MRC ($100+taxes) to change at all. So I let him know (again) I'm only interested in add. services if they won't affect my current MRC (basically free).

He's like "I would love to make your day... and since you've been such a loyal customer I will gladly offer them to you at no additional charge." So he promises all the above mentioned services for FREE! So of course now I'm interested. Again, insisting ONLY if my bill would "never exceed the current $100/month". He promised multiple times that it would absolutely not. So I agreed to it all and signed up for a 2 year contract. I left the store feeling great, thinking I got a great plan and two new phones.

The next week I get the new phones. Cool. Then the next month I get the invoice and I start feeling a bit less wonderful. The bill is for about $200. I go online to check it out and see this big list of charges. $15 here for this, $10 here for this, $5 here, $4 for that...etc. I call CS and question why there are no credits or discounts for these? They said there is nothing they can do about the charges and basically I was insane thinking these services would be free. Every time I spoke to them I was calm and concise but I kept being treated like I was some kind of liar.

When I asked to speak to a supervisor I would get things like "she's at lunch - call back in an hour or so", "there is nothing they can do for you that I can't" and once a straight up "no". I was getting pretty upset. During one of that later calls I told them they can have their phones back and would love to wash my hands clean of Sprint for good, no matter what the costs.

Three hours later I finally get retentions again. I now started to get apologizes and sweet talked...into renegotiating another deal to stay with Sprint. I said, "we'€™ll see..." (being threatened with a possible $600 ETF). So I get out the micro recorder and notify them I am recording all conversations and the rep said "that's fine". I get offered back my original 2000 min shared on three lines for $100/m. On top of that we agreed for Vision, Pics, N&W @ 7pm, and 500 SMS, on all lines at no extra charge. I said I would not hang up and agree to anything unless I got something in writing.

We go back and forth about this and I keep getting "we're not allowed to do that" (any written confirmations - no letters, no taxes, no emails, nothing). So to make a long story a little shorter, three hours later I finally got them to send me an email from the rep confirming the Vision, Pics, N&W @ 7pm, and 500 SMS, free for the life of the agreement. So I saved the email, printed out a few copies, verified that they understood and agreed that the conversation was taped - finally said thank you and hung up (after the latest 2.5 hour conversation).

The next month and the bill was off - again. Another lengthy phone call (once again taped) and I was told that the adjustments have been made. Almost. It takes 2 cycles later to get an invoice that was in range (~$100+taxes) . My bill finally seems correct (for now). I will be making sure to watch it more closely from now until the end of my contract.

I find it disturbing that an established enterprise as large as Sprint is practicing sales techniques and customer service akin to that of a sleazy car dealership. There seems to be a huge disconnect between departments that deal with customers. Although, I have noticed the one thing they seem to agree on is the ideal of denial and to never admit or commit. When these two years are up I will absolutely make my best efforts to avoid Sprint for any services ever again. I can only pray that this recent lucky streak holds.

Nightmare - the Worst by Far in Customer Service & Billing - Why This Is Not Considered Theft I Do Not Know?
By -

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI -- I made the unfortunate mistake of doing business with this provider. Who knows you might be the customer they keep telling me about... that are so happy with their services?! I am obviously not one of them! And according to them, I am all alone out here! So odds are that this will not happen to you! The Phone is awesome. I loved it! It'€™s just I believe the provider cannot seem to get off the... proverbial "smoking" pipe.

Just a bit of my documented, logged experience. You happily decide this provider will be the best and least expensive provider for your needs. You order phones, a plan and pay for it on the spot. The only thing left is that you pay your monthly bill. They give you a receipt for payment in full charged to your bank account. But what actually happens is that they record an undercharge your bank account in their books (by their own mis-billing) then bill you again for the same exact amount their own receipt shows you paid. As if it never happened! When you protest? They shut your phone off for non-payment a few days after you get the phone.

When you contact them to find out what in the world is going on - be prepared to possibly be transferred many times, and at least a few times during those transfers you should be aware your call might get dropped because ironically, they have phone troubles. At least that was what they told me. And you might not have to worry about getting actual names, unless you are logging information, because there is no way to speak with the same person twice!

You might be given different numbers to different locations I accumulated about 10. You might be spoken very rudely too, condescending and argumentative. To be fair you might be spoken nicely too and told, "I just have to work here to pay my bills. I have no clue why they do what they do here. What a mess - I am so sorry for this." But this was a rare occurrence for my experience. Be prepared to spend a minimum of 1-2 hours following along with this song and dance each time you call. I have logged 6 hours with three telephone sessions. I will call them sessions because I had to make numerous telephone recalls due to their hang-ups, or inability to transfer me.

I would say it is an average of 12 transfers per session. Remember a session was an average of 1 1/2 or 2 hours of my time. You might be promised a call back when they realize it is THEIR billing error, but you might never get that call. That happened to me twice. And of course you might have to call them back to see where they are at in figuring out their mess - only to find there are 'no notes'€ on the account and have to start the whole rigorous process again.

Oh, and don't expect to get any real answers. I did not get anywhere for three months but a bonus to this you get to hear a lot of music -- sometimes. I would suggest if this does happen to you that you might just record your problem on audio and just replay it so as to not loose your voice in this ritual. Because of course, you have to tell your story over and over and over again. Oh, if this does happen? Keep the numbers on memory speed dial, so you don't develop carpal tunnel syndrome or something.

Also, don't even think about telling them a general statement to hurry matters along when they ask if they can help you, and you have already been told numerous times that their department cannot - like: "€œI paid, you gave me a receipt, yet you are billing me for this again and turned my phones off because of it. And the last CSR said your department cannot help me it is in collections now, and collections says it is a Customer Service issue they cannot help me either. So whom can I speak with that CAN help?"

Because it won't work, you might have to go through your whole story thoroughly in detail with all specifics each time because no one seems to be able to tell if they can handle your call until you do. And for goodness sakes don't let them know you are becoming frustrated, that is the best way to get hung up on! You have to be dripping sweet and nice and hand-hold them all the way through the whole grueling experience.

Don'€™t you dare get angry or upset at this treatment for they might think you to be difficult and it does get worse, even when you think it cannot! And whatever you do, don't dare to speak with a manager, at best you will get a supervisors voice mail, that automatically hangs up on you! They seem to like "control". Yeah, control by confusion... I tell you, when you have to call them - plan to brown bag it! Your time means nothing to them. And don't think for one minute that they do not have a history of all these phone calls, transfers, dropped calls etc... and the time you have invested in figuring out their problems - they do.

Knowing full well this drama of an ordeal you have been through! One CSR took a look at the record of the count of times in three months I tried to contact them on my account, apparently it logs each time your account is accessed by their system, either a rep or automated. After a second of dead silence, his response was "Oh my God!" After many apologies, and sending me to the Mis-billings Department (imagine that?) He had no clue why this did not happen sooner? He said "They should have sent you there in the beginning!" Three months of this! (I would have assumed his guess, as an employee would be better than mine? Scary right?)

I thought for sure this is one employee of the company that knows how to do their job. A literal oasis in the desert of elevator music, dead silence, or dial tone for that matter... But NO... when they transfer you to the right people, the Mis-billings department, (which truly amazes me that they have such a department?? What is that? Like a self admission that they are incapable? So I guess that I must assume their internal errors are acceptable in their eyes. Just how do you set up a mis-billing department and why?

I mean I can see the planning meeting there now... "Hmmm... Well we will have customer service, collections, and for all the screw-ups we will need a whole department to handle those issues - what do you think? We will call it Mis-Billings Department - Good Grief!")

They tell you even though it was their billing error, you will still have to pay the monthly fees, and late fees and uphold your contract for two years or pay to get out of it. Because you refused to pay the amount in duplicate from the beginning as they requested -- while they figured out the problem was theirs in the first place. So if it was their fault, they can pay you back on their own time... On your dime, with no interest! Clever eh? Even though you have a genuine receipt from them that you already did so.

Now, that total is at the tune of additional $598 after already giving them $290 (receipt) to start this service, to have it for less than a month? Fat chance they will get another penny from me at this point. Meanwhile, by then the collection department of the provider keeps calling you while you are still working with the Mis-billings department then you should expect during this same time that they might turn you over to a collection agency (within 60 days) that might try to tell you (taped) that they can call you as many times a day, week, month, etc... until you (as a deadbeat person whom does not pay your bills) pay them the total amount you owe them.

They don'€™t care either if the providers collection department is calling or if you are still negotiating with the mis-billlings department. According to them -They are immune to the THE FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT. They can do whatever they want to collect a debt. Oh and if they call you twice a day or more and speak with you... they can blame it on a auto dialer. And you should fully expect all of this to happen within a three month time frame.

Meanwhile I keep trying to pass them my reality pipe. It seems they don't want it - I believe they want to hold on to whatever they are already smoking. But of course when you live in untouchable land... why change? The attorney advised me to take them to small claims, turn them in to the States Attorney General or pay them off to leave me alone. The last time someone contacted the AG regarding this provider they apparently had been popped for "padding their revenues" by class action. Over billing their customers and taking a marked amount of time to pay them back.

Apparently numerous complaints but for some reason they continue to operate and grow larger. You could have course investigate these allegations via the net. Must be a sign of the future for our children. I find enamoring this thought to be quite sad. He said that he would have to charge me an hourly rate at the tune of $200 an hour! It would get quite expensive and not worth it - based on his experience with the hours of "elevator-music-dancing" he himself has had with them - he suggested another service. I have obliged! I don't need this headache!

If I billed them for my time, I believe they would owe me? Hmm... Nonetheless, I am tired, and I simply do not have the time of day to sit around for hours haggling over something so blatantly obvious so... But wait, theres more. I also have the unfortunate experience of having Sprint as a local service. We just won't even go into the 3 year drama there you can only imagine.

But I should have known this would happen. The first bill included a fee for someone to come out and run a line to my home, that did not happen. When I called, they admitted this was an error, but that I should pay it, because it could take three months to reflect on my account, and meanwhile if I don't I could be disconnected for a past due balance... There is simply no logic, or integrity nowadays. I am truly scared for my childrens future in this world. Big Business is getting away with way too much, too much control over our lives. If anyone decides to gather together on this type of deal, let me know!

False billing; unethical, predatory sales practices

CAMBRIDGE, MASSACHUSETTS -- Millions of us have cellular phones, and many people opt not to even have house phones as our lives are more and more dependent on cellular service. There are only few main service providers, but little is known about some of the unethical practices they use in conducting their business. Unfortunately, I had a first hand opportunity to experience that with Sprint PCS.

I have been a Sprint customer for five or more years and most of this time coverage in the Greater Boston area has been quite mediocre. Lost calls, busy network, delayed voice mail delivery. You name it. In addition, customer service was not any better: I was being sent from the phone customer service to local branches back and forth, and no one seemed to be able or cared enough to address my problems. Moreover, I was frequently misinformed and was given information that was not correct or true.

I probably became lazy over time and did not bother looking for another company immediately. This was my mistake #1 - always actively monitor your service providers, and, if not happy, replace them without mercy. After a while, I got fed up with Sprint’'s coverage and its customer services issues and wrote a letter to the company'’s COO, Len Lauer. To my surprise, I received a new phone at no charge in acknowledgement of my letter.

I called to activate that phone and this is when my real problems began. The representative I spoke with also offered me a promotion, which I was not at first interested in. However, I am ashamed to admit, word free does have a magic effect on people like me. The offer entailed my receiving two free phones with no obligation to activate and absolutely no cost to me. This was their way of saying “thank you for being their customer”. If I decided to give those two phones to my friends or family members, those individuals would establish service with Sprint and would be responsible for any charges.

I was told in plain English that, if I decided to do nothing about the offer or even if “I threw those phones away”, I would not incur any liability. The representative never said a single word about returning the sets, even if I decided to do nothing about them.

When I received that promotion package from Sprint, I found 4 (!) instead of 2 phones. In addition, 4(!) phone lines were established in my name, which I was not informed about. I called their customer service about it (I was not obligated), and another representative mailed me a return envelope. I placed the 4 phones in the envelope and requested that they be picked up by UPS. I left the package at the door leading to my apartment building. I did not follow up to verify that they were received simply because I was told over the phone that I would not incur any charges and I was never told that I was obligated to return them.

Conveniently, Sprint does not have a recording of my conversation. Neither does it have a signed or even verbal agreement. There is simply no legal precedent to demand any money from me. Perhaps, they should check with their legal counsel, which should be able to explain to them what constitutes an agreement or an obligation. Sprint has sent to me a bill of almost $1,000 for four phones - two of which I did not request and was under no obligation to return any of the four, and for four new line, of which I was not informed and never used. This bill has since been reduced to just over $600, as the line activation fees were waived.

I have been in communication with Sprint, including its COO, CEO, three members of the Board of Directors, and an executive/regulatory analyst. However, all of my efforts were unsuccessful. Sprint demands that the phones sets need to be returned, which conveniently neglects to address my claim that its representative provided me with false information, and now Sprint attempts to charge me in connection with that misinformation. The reason for doing this is simple -– Sprint has no case and its bill is absolutely unfounded and illegal. This is why Sprint is helplessly sticking to demanding the phone sets. Otherwise, its case will fall apart.

I have learnt a few lessons from this situation, which caused me lots of stress and wasted a lot of my time. Lesson #1 - always manage your phone service provider actively and switch if unhappy at first opportunity. Lesson #2 –- keep records each time you call your phone company with problems. It may take just a bit of your time but will save you a lot more should your issue get out of control. Record the purpose of your call, date and time, name of the representative you spoke with, and details and outcome of your conversation.

Lesson #3 - if you feel that the issue is getting out of control, seek legal help and notify your state’s attorney general’s office, Better Business Bureau, and other regulators. In the meantime, my saga with Sprint continues and only God knows when the situation will be resolved. I have contacted Kansas and Massachusetts Attorney General’s offices, both states’ Better Business Bureaus, and now reaching out to you my fellow readers in hopes that something like this does not happen to you. Unfortunately, Sprints of this world continue to stay in business, advertising how much they care about the customers.

I suppose that not taking responsibility for its representatives’ actions, trying to collect money for what was supposed to be a free, no obligation offer, wasting its customer’s time, and making the customer’s life more stressful is part of being a customer-centric and ethical organization. Go Sprint! I am now switching to Verizon, as many of my friends are with this company and are quite happy. I am certainly keeping my fingers cross that someone in Sprint’s senior management will wake up and sees it as an opportunity to fix its problems, before it is too late.

Does AT&T really know what they are doing
By -

Purchased support tech from AT&T. Internet Explorer can't display the web page. When I close a internet window I get a message that Internet Explorer has stopped and it repeats itself twice even after I closed it the first time. Before using AT&T/tech I could customize any briefcase that I created after I can not, but I still can only on the ones before the tack worked on my computer. I cans on my desktop will move from one point to another without my prompting - not all of them but just one or two, without my prompting.

Sometimes after closing a program, I will see my Acer welcome center program come up. Again this could only happen with me pointing to it and opening it. And it is not on my desktop, but it opens. When I am playing a game with my son, the screen will minimize or maximize by itself. It will pause without my prompting, and even end by itself for no reason. When I open up my bible verses for study, if I leave it open in one window and go to another. When I return the verse has been replace, or the entire verses that I had opened will be reduced to just one verse.

The above and more just seems to work by themselves, without me doing anything. Still my home page will change without my doing anything, nor requesting a change. Windows open when I reboot my computer, only for a second or two but I do see them open. I will get two pointers that will open, and sometimes the a page will change all by itself... Playing Real Player once opened and music started, pointer will freeze. To this date I have had only two blue screens.

On one of my sessions with AT&T support tech, the tech started to work by remote access, but to my surprise the tech was working in the background, and I was not allowed to see what he or she was doing. After the session I call back and talk to someone and asked if a tech was supposed to work on my computer in the background where I could not see what was going on. The response was no, and the supervisor wanted my permission to used what happen as a teaching tool for the tech.

There has been so many subject of concern using AT&T support tech. From the fact that they will remove a tool box from my computer, and when I ask why they say that some tool bars can cause a virus. But when I tell them that tool in question was Norton secure site they only apologies, and return it to my computer. I have had techs pretend to be supervisors, when they were not.

When I call to speak to a supervisor, I would be told that they would have one call me back. Even when I ask for a website, or a phone no. so that I could complain. No one would give me the web, nor the number in which to call someone. I have had my Acer for about 6 months, and each time AT&T support techs work on my computer they leave more things wrong that before I call. I have a computer now that runs slow, does things by itself.

They advertise that their techs will keep my computer running without all the problems that I have indicated above, and they say that they will keep me from getting virus, or if I get one that they can remove, and restore my computer back to where it was. They have place McAfee on to my computer, but when I asked them if two anti viru™s can be running at the same time. When the tech wanted to install it he said no but when I call back and question if two could be running I was told that AT&T never install one. Yet I did see McAfee on my computer before I call, but after I ended the support tech session it is not there.

The pointer stills freezes up when I am trying to move it. My download speed has change, to the point that its sometimes impossible to download music, or even play it. I have gotten nowhere dealing with AT&T support tech., but I have money coming from my checking acct monthly, for a product that is only causing me more problems than before.

My printer works when it wants to. At times the printer will cycle on and off for no reason. Computer will freeze forcing me to shut it down and open it up again. And I believe that doing this has cause a problems with some of my printer drivers. USB ports work sometime, and sometime not. Over all I have a computer that I have only had for less than a year, and after purchasing AT&T support tech package, my computer is worse off than ever.

Terrible Customer Service
By -

I have been a Sprint customer for about 6 years, and I absolutely cannot wait to terminate the relationship. I will spare you as many of the details as possible. Suffice it to say, over the years the service has been low average at best, and very disjointed. Each time a simple situation would arise (activating a new phone, purchasing an upgraded phone, swapping out a phone, getting a return envelope), it required hours and hours of dealing with Sprint employees - many of which are unfriendly and inefficient.

There is no synergy between departments and I never felt any true concern from any representative or supervisor or tech that I have dealt with. I actually get a little sick to my stomach when I know I have to call and deal with Sprint for any reason. I push it off until the last possible moment because it is always so unpleasant; you have to be ugly in order to get the help you deserve.

Here are some of the issues we have dealt with over the duration: Sprint sending replacement phones that were broken themselves. Sprint unable to activate my brand new, upgrade phone, telling me it was because my MSID # had already been assigned to someone else. How was that possible on a brand new phone? After 3 hours some supervisor figures it out and activates it in 10 minutes.

Sprint putting an $80 credit on our account without our permission or awareness in order to ‘sell' us an upgraded phone. This caused major billing issues later, which required hours of my time to rectify. Sprint sending me a Nextel phone for my free upgrade, only realizing when I called to activate it that it was not a device compatible with our Sprint plan. Another night of talking to Sprint for hours. Local Sprint stores refuse to ship back defective devices. Local Sprint stores unable to assist in matters beyond simple new plan/upgrades and purchases.

Sprint billed us $275 for unreturned equipment, on a phone they are selling for $179. Not only is that ludicrous in itself, but there is another example of Sprint's poor service. Our HTC Hero stopped working, so we took it to the local Sprint store. They advised us it was broken, and arranged for a replacement phone and return kit to be sent. They would not, at the store, take back the defective device. The phone and kit came, and within the 30 day return window, we called Sprint to let them know we had lost the return envelope and needed another.

We were on the phone with Sprint reps for hours, and after several attempts to ‘email' us a new return label, there was still no success. The area where the image of the label should have been was blank, with a small red X in the top left corner. We were advised the situation would be elevated. Nothing happened. We went again to the local Sprint store and tried to return the Hero - they would not take it. We went again to the local Sprint store when another employee was working, and he agreed to call customer service for us.

Again a new return label link was emailed - this time directly to the Sprint store employee. When he tried to open the label, the image again was missing. He told us they would elevate the situation, again. Last thing he said as we were walking out was ‘Good luck with that'.

When we got home I called customer service, and after 2.5 hours, 5+ people, and repeating my story about 8 times, we have this solution: Someone in the ‘tech' department is supposed to physically mail us another label, today. Also, we have been billed $275 plus tax for this phone, and won't see a credit for that until our next bill.

Both of these solutions require me to do work, and follow up, versus Sprint doing those things for me. I have no choice - my money is at stake here. There is nothing anyone at Sprint could even do or say that would prevent me from cancelling my contract. I have an estate in probate that will pay out soon and dumping this company will literally be one of the first things I do.

Sprint wants me to Pay for their Mistakes
By -

OVERLAND PARK, KANSAS -- I had a Samsung Moment that I purchased at a corporate store. Several months later it stopped holding its charge. I went to a repair store not knowing it was actually an independent repair store and was told it could not be fixed. They exchanged the phone instead of having a new one mailed to me because it was unsafe for me to be without a phone for days. Within 30 days the new phone malfunctioned and its start and end call buttons did not work properly.

I called Sprint and was told that they would not exchange the phone because it was from an independent store instead of their corporate store. I tried to explain that I couldn't return it to the store it had come from because they had exchanged it as a favor to Sprint's corporate office and weren't going to take it back. The person on the phone started yelling at me. I asked if I could cancel my service and send the phone back to Sprint in exchange for having my termination fee waived. An accounts representative got on the phone and yelled at me. I was nearly in tears and got off the phone.

I later spoke to a representative who told me I could call Samsung and have them replace my phone under manufacturer warranty. When I spoke to Samsung they said I had to send my phone away for three weeks and that if the phone was irreparable then the warranty was voided. I am a Mayo Clinic patient and a young disabled veteran and can't be without my phone. My only option was to find a new phone carrier. It was a huge issue to change service and to go through all of this. I also had to pay connection fees at T-Mobile and pay part of the cost of a new phone all because of Sprint's bad service.

I later spoke to ** in Sprint's Executive and Regulatory Services to ask that my $160 early termination fee be waived and was informed that this was not a possibility. He says that they told me to take it to a Sprint repair store but refuses to provide me with copies of the notes from my own account documenting that saying they are proprietary information and would require a subpoena. I spoke with ** today, a higher level executive, and she told me they would only drop the early termination fee if I moved my service back to Sprint. No way!

Sprint Willful Overbilling
By -

More than a year after spending $300 for a wireless pc card and agreeing to pay $60 per month, I lost the pc card. After searching in vain for six weeks, and of course not using the device, I called Sprint and reported the dongle lost or stolen. Sprint told me that they would list the device as lost or stolen and block its usage. I was told that the only way I could close my account was to pay the bill including early termination fees in full. And so even though I had not used the device at all in six weeks, I did pay my bill in full for $168.34.

Then, the following month, I got another bill from Sprint for an additional $120. When I called Sprint to ask about this bill, I was told that even though the device was reported lost or stolen and blocked from usage, Sprint charged me for another month of usage, plus other fees that I had been previously told were paid in full. When I replied that it made no sense that I was being billed an additional month for a device that was blocked, Sprint said that they would get a supervisor on the phone.

I held on the line for an hour and twenty minutes until the battery went dead on my phone. I called another time to resolve the issue, but was left on hold for 40 minutes that time. I realized that not only was Sprint intentionally charging for services that were not delivered, but they were intentionally avoiding all attempts to get a resolution to this matter. For all I know Sprint is going to try to bill me again next month for another month that the device was blocked.

Sprint did tell me that if I don't pay the bill, they will send it to collections and ruin my credit. I pay my bills. But, out of principle I'm going to fight this one. $120 is not a lot of money, but if Sprint rips off a million people for $120 that is a lot of money. I have filed a complaint with the FCC. I have filed a complaint with the BBB. I have filed a complaint with the Arizona Attorney Generals Office. I have mailed two certified letters to Sprint (with no response).

The terms of the contract state that I have given up my right to civil litigation, and must submit to binding arbitration. I have requested binding arbitration from Sprint, with no response. I have contacted two local television stations (ABC 15 Investigates, and 3 On Your Side) and hope to get an on screen interview with both. I am now in the process of posting my story on 30 different complaint forums like this one. Sprint does this because they know that these corporate practices will be profitable to varying degrees in 99.99% of the cases. Unfortunately for Sprint, I am that 1 in 10,000.

Horrible Customer Service & Get NOTHING RESOLVED!
By -

I bought this phone back in '07, had problems with it, took it to the service repair center and they told me I had the wrong warranty and my phone was not repairable. The girl who sold me the phone at Sprint gave me the wrong one and obviously was not Intelligent in Sprint Warranties! So I got screwed over due to the stupid customer service. Anyway I got my old Sprint phone turned back on that I used in previous years since the stupid RUMOR phone WOULD NOT WORK! It turned off randomly. The keyboard didn't work. The volume button did not work, neither did the camera. So I paid a warranty for nothing.

Well luckily 2 months later my Rumor started working and it was hell all over again. On this past Sunday my Rumor came up with a white screen and made it not usable and therefore I could not read anything on my screen except for just a few centimeters of room at the bottom. So I went into the store - first the guy was a jerk to me, talked down to me. Trying to get me to upgrade instead of fixing the issue with my phone. I HATE SPRINT SO WHY WOULD I UPGRADE AND BE STUCK WITH THEM FOR ANOTHER 2 YEARS!!!! STUPID PEOPLE!

Anyway so I left the store after the guy would NOT give me Corporate's number and called the claim number he gave me only to be given the wrong number and then had to deal with Customer Service, Account Services and Tech Support. The first 2 people I spoke with actually understood what I was saying and when the other representative from tech support got on she talked to me as if I was mentally challenged and was NOT helpful in any way!!

I just wanted my phone replaced - I didn't want to upgrade or get a new phone. I just wanted the same Rumor phone-- turns out they stopped making it (Not shocked by this) and came out with the LG RUMOR 2 that sells for 29.99 and you buy one get one free. Hence I paid $96 in warranty and they could not replace it with the old phone! The new phone would cost way less for them but nope they wanted me to pay a $50 deductible to get the stupid phone that didn't work. What is the point of a warranty oh yeah so when I took my phone in yesterday to get the other phone turned back on they flagged my warranty and didn't tell me!

So I got screwed over and currently on the phone with them for another 2 hours-- getting nowhere. They just want me to upgrade and I'm NOT ready! I am so tired of Sprint just beating around the bush - its so annoying. SUCH A LONG STORY BUT OVERALL SPRINT DOES NOT WANT TO REPLACE THE STUPID PHONE - JUST WANT TO UPGRADE AND I FEEL AS THOUGH THEY DON'T GIVE A CRAP ABOUT THE CUSTOMER - just in it for money money money! Never ever buy the Rumor phone. It is a waste of money and will fail you.

Top of Page | Next Page >