Preview Review

Next Review

Staples Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Computer Easy Tech evaluation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EASE WONDSOR, NEW JERSEY -- I was sold a service that did not deliver and that removed programs from my computer without consulting me. The result was that I could not do my work because all connections to servers were destroyed. I also was told to purchase the Staples anti-virus product which did not work. I had texts from cookies floating all over my screen no matter the program.

I tried to resolve the problem and was insulted by the tech who said that I had signed a paper saying that I accepted that things would go wrong. Wow! That is a real reason to return to Staples! Untrained, unsupported and no service! I paid more than $275 for this few hours of assessment and assurance.

Lack of Integrity
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

I recommend that everyone stop shopping at Staples. The CEOs letter identifies that the organization is about integrity and customer focus, that was the farthest from my experience. My situation was that a Supervisor (Anthony) indicated they would match a price at a competitor (we spoke about every specific, he identified the exact next steps I would need to take and I followed them precisely). I was instructed to return to the store on the Friday after Thanksgiving with my receipt.

Upon return, the store manager (Ryan) indicated that they would not match pricing. Had I known, I would have taken another approach (based upon timing that option was no longer available). What I would emphasize is that the multiple individuals agreed that I was given information, but they would not stand behind it. The outcome is a loss of $162, plus tax. More specifics - I did speak to Brett ** of their Office to President and he also confirmed that policy supersedes the information that was clearly represented by the Staples supervisor.

Shady Advertising and Poor Customer Service Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEDINA, OHIO -- Saw an online price for an item and was informed it can be picked up in store as well. Got to store and item was priced $10 extra. Spoke with front staff and was told they would price match their own website and items? Like that's giving the customer a deal? Then was told there was a sale on the item for a buy 2 and get one free. So we bought 3. Took items to car and decided to go back in and get 3 more.

Was confronted by manager and was told the clerk made a mistake and that we got lucky. He would not honor the same deal again that we got less than 5 minutes earlier. I told him that was poor business practices and that it was dishonest. He didn't care and told me I was wrong. Still shaking head. That it was one or the other. The online price match, again with their own store, or the in store sale. Again, with their own merchandise???

Called corporate and was told the same thing. Not once did anyone apologize. Just assumed I was an idiot and that I did not read all the fine print, which I never saw. Nothing was printed about any of this. They just assume the customer will just go with it. I will NEVER spend another dime at Staples.

Staples and UPS Not a Good Team to Work With!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNIONTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- Dear Staples, I sent a UPS package from your store and also got insurance for peace of mind. When going through the process at the Uniontown, PA Staples store I received the very best of customer service and rate that experience A+. The package was sent and in a few days I received notice that the package when received was damaged. UPS states that the box that it was shipped in was not up to UPS standards and will not honor the insurance that was purchased for that item. I then called the CEO of the manufacturer of the item, he stated and that the box that the item was initially shipped in and was designed for that item.

The manufacturer stated that they had no problems or issues with that shipping box. However that is the same box with a Styrofoam mold to hold the item in place while shipping it to the receiver and UPS stated that it was not up to their standards, will not honor the insurance that was purchased for that item at the Staples Store in Uniontown, PA.

I am calling the president of Staples this morning and I feel most certain that he will look into this matter and resolve it very quickly due to this has been going on for 60 days after I have sent this item and purchased insurance on this item. Staples in Uniontown Pennsylvania have always given my company excellent customer service for the past 21 year. And I feel confident that I will be writing about my great customer service experience later today. Thanks and God bless.

On 1/20/2015 at 9:05 am till 9:52 am I spoke with Staples employee **, the Executive Customer Service Assistant to the President of Staples. Mr. was very kind and listened to my issue. He then said that he was not able to contact UPS, however he would reach out to the Staples UPS team of specialists and said that I would receive an email within 48 hours concerning the conversation between UPS and the Staples UPS team. Also Mr. gave me his word that he would call me to read what UPS wrote on the claim website in no more than two days.

I also asked Mr. if I may speak with the President of Staples, he told me that the Staples President does not speak to anyone with a problem at Staples. I am reaching out to the president to call me about this matter. It would make me feel a whole lot better that Mr. conveying to me that he would not be able to speak to anyone at UPS. And when I call UPS they tell me that I must call Staples because that is where I purchased the insurance to send my package. I will keep you posted on Mr. phone call, Staples UPS Team's email and if the Staples President calls to ask about this matter.

Unethical Refund Policy and They Sell Products They Don't Have
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAKELAND, FLORIDA -- On December 13, 2014, I paid Staples $1028 CASH deposit they required to purchase a new laptop. They promised delivery in 3 business days. The sales persons name was **. His manager was also involved in this transaction. I received an e-mail informing me that the order had been canceled on 12/22/2014. So, I made a special trip to the store where I purchased the laptop on South Fla Ave in Lakeland, Florida and ** assured me that the order had not been canceled and that it would in fact be delivered on 12/26/2014 and he promised he would call me on that day.

I received a phone call on 12/29/2014 from ** informing me that the order had in fact been canceled and that I needed to come in and look at the available options. December 30, 2014, I went to the store to get back my CASH deposit and was informed that their corporate office would mail me a check within 2 weeks maybe, by their team supervisor, **. At this time, I was also told by another employee that they had personally told ** several times that he should call me and inform me of the cancellation. This person was present when ** promised the 12/26 delivery and that he would also call me on that day.

The team supervisor gave me a phone number to call for the Staples office of the president and called and spoke to a person named ** at extension 31515 in customer service at length. She asked for my number promised to call me back the following day. I repeated the number to her twice. I have yet to hear from her and I have left several messages.

I am a local business man and have dealt with all kinds of businesses in the last 32 years and I have got to say that these are the shadiest bunch I have dealt with in a long time. They will have use of my money for a month or longer because they could not deliver a product THEY sold me. I didn't even go in there to buy a computer but they sure painted a pretty picture so I bought it. What a bill of goods huh? I need to purchase a computer but they have my money so I can't.

Coverage Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I purchased a printer on 10/28/2011 and when the sales person asked me if I wanted to purchase the coverage plan for 2 years, I asked if the 2 years started after the 1 year warranty that printer was under, sales person told me yes it was, so I would have a total of three years.

Fast forward to the present, I brought the printer into the Staples store on Alafaya Trail, Waterford Lakes and went over to the Easy Tech support desk. I showed the tech the printer and told him that I was receiving a message error that implied something was stuck in the printer and I couldn't find it. The tech asked me for my receipt, called someone because the date was 2011, came back and told me the printer was still under warranty. The tech couldn't figure what was wrong with the printer, so he told me to call the 1-800 number for Customer Service and they would assist me.

I called Customer Service all ready to receive my postage free box to send out the printer for the support people to fix and was told that my warranty had expired. I went over the whole conversation that I had when I brought the printer into the store and all Customer Service could say to me was, “I'm sorry, but your coverage started the day you purchased your printer, not a year later.”

I went on to tell her the story again, where the tech called and asked if the printer was under warranty (which he said it was), so I said, “the sales person sold me a protection plan under false pretenses and the tech person wasn't truthful when he told me the printer was still under warranty – you're Customer Service, what are you going to do to correct the situation?” A sorry was all I received!

I called the store, talked with the manager and told him that I never shop at Staples, I was in another store nearby and decided to go in and look around. He told me I was under the old coverage plan… And that matters how? This incident confirms why I don't shop at Staples and never will again! I'll shop where I always shop – Best Buy – where the sales people are honest with the customers, because they want you to come back.

Staples Refusing To Sell To Customers Who Won't Buy Their Service Plan!
By -

NEW JERSEY -- I had an appalling experience in not one but TWO different Staples stores yesterday, and I feel I have no choice but to formally notify you of this matter, as it has made it impossible for me to EVER shop in a Staples store again. I also will be asking my friends, family, and corporate associates to switch to one of your many competitors as well.

Staples featured an Acer laptop advertised in the Sunday newspaper insert yesterday (3/8) for $449. Now, clearly, this was a very low price on a laptop. This laptop typically retails for the price of $599 at Staples. Upon reading this early Sunday morning, I drove over to the nearest Staples store, which was store 0019 in Milltown, NJ. I was in the store just after the store opened (the store opens at 10:00am, and I was there no later than 10:05).

Upon my arrival, I found an associate who informed me that the laptops were in stock. However, before he would get me one, he proceeded to try to sell me his "protection plan". Now, for a number of reasons, including my own knowledge of computers as well as ready access to free computer repair services, I declined this. The sales associate indicated that it was OK, and then walked away to, I assumed, get my computer. He returned with the store's general manager who again proceeded to aggressively push the protection plan onto me. He was EXTREMELY rude, implying that I was "cheap" and for not adding the plan.

He walked away when I finally maintained I did not want it. Then, I heard him call the sales associate over and told him something. Moments later, the sales associate informed me that the laptop was not in stock after all. Just to summarize the timeline... it was available. I declined the approximately $150 protection plan would have boosted the price of the laptop to the regular sale price, then suddenly it was unavailable. They also refused to contact any other Staples stores to help me find out whether it was available elsewhere.

I then went home and called a 2nd Staples store, this one in East Brunswick (store number 1755). I asked the gentleman who I was transferred to in Electronics if the Acer laptop was in stock. He checked and came back to say they were in stock. I told him I live less than 10 minutes away and could be please hold one for me as I was on my way. He indicated that he could not hold a sale item, but that the store had multiple laptops and they should definitely be there when I arrived. So I immediately left, I arrived exactly 8 minutes later at the location.

I walked in and found the exact person who I had spoken to 8 minutes earlier. The store was virtually empty. I asked him if I just spoke to him about the Acer laptop and he confirmed that he was the person. I asked him if they were indeed in stock, and he indicated that they were. I then asked if he could please go get one, because I definitely wanted one. And then, before he goes back to get one, he asks me if I want the service plan.

I suppose I should have lied and said yes and then said no when I had the laptop in my possession, but I did what I thought was the right thing, because I could not imagine that this guy would try to pull this same scam only minutes after implying there was plenty of stock of this item. I responded, "No thanks... I went over this all at the last store, I know what it covers, and I am not interested."

He said "fine" and walked away. 2-3 minutes later he walks back and, just like the last store, the inventory suddenly has vanished. I angrily confronted him regarding our conversation and, half smirking (obviously knowing that what he was saying had no truth to it), he implied that all of them had been sold in the last 8 minutes. Mind you, when I arrived, the store was nearly empty and no one was checking out buying any laptops.

I was and remain STUNNED at the lack of customer service that is being displayed in both of these stores. For all I know, this type of "bait and switch" is being done at Staples stores across the state and across the country, and as a freelance journalist, I believe that it is a story that merits more investigation. You cannot make it a standard practice to deny people products because they will not pad your profit margin with questionable (and supposedly completely optional) service plans.

I cannot believe that, in this economy, Staples would so readily shun previously loyal customers (I had shopped your stores for years, as its roots, I believe, are in New England, where I am originally from). Our dollars are limited, and there are MANY other places to go for the same items that Staples sells at similar, or lower, prices. To that end, following the service I received at this second Staples store, I walked right next door to the Best Buy, paid only slightly more, got a vastly superior laptop, and was treated with the respect that the sales teams at these two Staples stores could use a lesson in.

I can assure you that none of my friends, family, and work associates will be frequenting ANY Staples in the future, at the very least.

Shipping Via USPS
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHUA, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- The worst experience ever - shipping a package through Staples/USPS. I shipped a package from Staples store via USPS on the 17th of June 2015. Almost a month now, there is no track of the package. When I called Staples, they blame USPS for the missing package, and when I call USPS they redirect me to Staples. This happened for 2 weeks straight, then I decided to conference both the parties, and the story remains the same... They blame each other on the call and drop off. Heights of pissing a customer!!! None agree to accept the blame and the customer loses the package. Sick of Staples for their customer service.

Used Merchandise Sold as 'New'... Error on Credit card... Poor Help
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51 - Consumer improved rating by 4 stars

MAINE -- I bought a "new'' computer for $550 and it arrived in a box that did not have that smooth cardboard box. The box had nips and punctured holes and a weathered look to it. Additionally, the computer base had what appeared to be fingerprints on it. Within the 14 day return policy, I took the computer into the store with a receipt, showed the manager the box and he said they did believe it was not a used computer and refused an exchange. The computer had a one year warranty. Electronics can be funny. They can be defective, have been dropped, abused, but it may not show up for a year or two later.

Ok, I go into Staples again on Nov 28. A Samsung 24" monitor was on sale for about $100.00. The store had about 7 of them on a high riser in the store, none on the floor. I asked 3 salespeople for help to get one down to buy it, all 3 said they would get someone. After about 20-30 minutes of waiting, I walked out. Now there are issues with not being credited $50 after opening up a Staples card and making a purchase. I used to shop at Staples every other week for years. Those Staples boxes used to be .25 when they first open, that's how long I bought many computers, GPS, other items. Not going into a Staples again.

Update 06/12/2015:

Went to Staples about the issue, they took care of it. Made me very happy. Excellent customer service. Something happen that was out of the whelm of Staples

Item Not in Stock at Store; supposed to Ship to Home
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLOOMINGTON, MINNESOTA -- I saw an iPad on sale on Sunday 12/7/14. Basically the store was empty but waited for the lone salesperson to help me. He said they did not have the item (of course) but he could order it for me and will be delivered to my home. Great. When he was confirming, the price had magically went up $75. I said I only want the item for the advertised price, which he asked the manager if they could do and they complied. It was to be delivered 2 days later. After 3 days I called the customer service number and she said my item was on backorder and they don't do backorders so I need to go into the store to process a refund. Stupid.

When I arrive at the store, the obviously sick girl at the register said she can't refund my money for an item I don't have. After explaining to her that is the problem...I'm not going to get the item....she informed me I have to call the same customer service # that just sent me to the store!! What? I have never heard of such nonsense! The manager was no help except to apologize. They said it would be done in two days. Four days later, still no refund and when I call again they now say it was submitted but the refund will not arrive for 10 business days.

This company is so awful. I will NEVER shop there and of course I am telling everyone I know to not shop there. They all seem to know that already. I do not know how they are still in business. I hope I get my $300 before they shut their doors though!!

Top of Page | Next Page >

Staples Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.7 out of 5, based on 139 ratings and
267 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
500 Staples Drive
Framingham, MA 01702
508-253-5000 (ph)
508-253-8989 (fax)
Compare Office Supply Stores