Time Warner Cable Internet

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
140 reviews & complaints.
www.timewarner.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Took 30 Days To Set Up My Phone/Cable/Internet Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KINGSTON, NEW YORK -- We just built a house and planned to move early in the morning April 30, 2013, and since I work in communications full-time out of my home, I wanted to make sure I had Internet and phone up and running by the time we moved in - without phone and Internet, I can't work. On April 10, my builder said it was time to call Time Warner to get a tech to bring out cable to run in a conduit between the cable box by our driveway up to the house's cable box. Everything else had been installed by the developer and builder, and the builder had just done the same thing with the house next door (which took about two days).

My builder said that if it was going to take too long, Time Warner could just drop off the cable, and he would run it up to the house. When I called Time Warner April 10, the woman who handled the call took directions to our house down several times (since we're not in GPS currently, it can be hard to find), and said a tech would be out “in two to five days” and that we should have no problem getting our triple play system up and running by April 30. She also used my cell as the account number, and I said that if the tech had any trouble finding the house, feel free to call me. Then she gave me a work order number, and said she'd call me once it was installed to set up our triple play account.

By April 15, no one had shown up at our property, so I called Time Warner and was told that a tech had been dispatched April 11, but couldn't find the house. Apparently, the tech hadn't bothered to try to phone me to get directions and no one at Time Warner was going to call me to let me know of the problem. And when I asked why the tech didn't just use the directions on file. The man handling the call, **, said there were no directions on file. So he set up another work order with a different number, put the directions into the file (which I made him read back to me), and said it would take another “two to five days” for someone to run the cable.

The next day, April 16, I received a call from the original woman who set up the work order at Time Warner, demanding to know why I had called Time Warner. I was absolutely flabbergasted and said I called Time Warner because no one had shown up at our property! She seemed angry that I'd called, and said I should have waited for her to call me. I couldn't believe there appeared to be some sort of infighting at Time Warner about who was setting up our account!

Around April 22, I called Time Warner because again no one was showing up at our house. I got a guy named **, who was able to see both work orders, but couldn't put me in touch with anyone I'd spoken with previously. Even though he said he knew ** and the division that ** was in. Nor could he give me any idea of how long it was going to take to lay this cable.

He described a process, that included getting permits, etc., that might take several weeks. I was almost speechless, since I had originally been told it would take a few days. So I repeated that really all we needed was for Time Warner to DROP OFF the cable, and we could do the rest, but he said again that was not possible. I reiterated that no permits were necessary, but he didn't seem willing to listen to me.

At this point, I was so busy trying to move that I was only able to call Time Warner a couple times to try to straighten this out, to no avail. Nobody could tell me when someone would show up, why Time Warner couldn't just drop off the cable, or exactly what needed to be done. Yet, even on Friday, April 26, I was still being told that Time Warner would probably have the service up and running by April 30.

On April 30, the day of our move, Time Warner finally came to life, called me and said it would take two weeks to lay the cable! No explanation given. I was angry – originally, I had been told service would be up and running by April 30, and now it seemed the process was only being initiated on April 30, and it was going to take much longer than anyone had ever said it would to date.

I told the woman who called that if Time Warner could just drop off the cable, our builder could get it up to the house himself in less than a day. FINALLY, she agreed that Time Warner would do that. So she asked for our builder's name and number, which I gave her. She said Time Warner would call him to find out when he would be there so they could drop off the cable. (Time Warner never did call our builder.)

Instead, on May 1, a tech finally showed up at our house! It took about an hour to pull the cable from the box at the end of the driveway up to the house. I told the tech, Rich, who was very sympathetic, about what had happened, and he said it never should have taken Time Warner THREE WEEKS to run a 50-foot cable. That afternoon, I called Time Warner to set up our triple play and was disappointed that the earliest they could come was FIVE DAYS LATER, on Monday, May 6 in the morning. Still, I was thrilled we finally had the cable laid. It was a week of lost work (about $1,000), but at least I'd be up and running the week of May 6, I thought.

Little did I know.. On May 4, Time Warner called my cell, which my husband picked up, and a woman told him she was confirming that Time Warner would be by on WEDNESDAY, May 8 to set up our triple play. When he told me, I hit the roof, and called Time Warner to find out why they were delaying the installation of our triple play by two days. The woman who took the call said that Time Warner had cancelled Monday's appointment, and that she would call me back within two hours to resolve the situation. She never called back, so several hours later, I called Time Warner again and got another operator.

This is what she told me: “We never do installations on Mondays.” And I said, so why did the agent who set up our triple play schedule an installation time on Monday? And she replied: “Well, we DO do installations on Mondays, but we really don't, and we don't have any available technicians right now.” I said, “WHAT are you talking about? What kind of a system is that? DO YOU or DON'T YOU have techs available for installations on Mondays?” Then she said she'd note in the file to expedite our installation if a tech became available, but the installation appointment was now for Wednesday. So another half a week of work lost ($500).

On Monday, May 6, I was at a local shopping center and got a call on my cell phone from a Time Warner tech who said he was going to install our triple play but needed directions to our house. He was about two minutes away, he said. Overjoyed that Time Warner had apparently rescheduled the Monday appointment, I gave him directions and said I'd meet him there in five minutes. But as I raced up our driveway, the tech called again and said, “I'm sorry, ma'am, but I just got a call from my supervisor telling me that Time Warner has cancelled the installation appointment.”

I was so angry – but I stayed calm. I said, “You mean to tell me you're about 30 seconds from my home, and now Time Warner has again cancelled the installation appointment, despite the fact that A) you're available, and B) I've raced back here to my house to meet you?” His answer: “Yes, ma'am, I'm sorry. There's nothing I can do about this. I'm very sorry.”

On Wednesday, May 8, I was in the driveway around 9 a.m., and a Time Warner truck drove up. I thought it was the installation tech, but it was instead Rich, the tech who pulled the cable up the driveway. He was aghast that I still didn't have service and couldn't figure out why it was taking Time Warner a month to do all this. He said he would call his supervisor to put in a report about it. He said he had come by to make sure the installation tech had done the work right and closed up the cable box.

Finally, at 11:30 a.m., the installation tech showed up. ** was very nice and installed everything. He groused quite a bit about Time Warner, and how they overwork their techs, setting up piggyback appointments that were impossible to finish in the small amount of time given. Then there were problems with the Internet service, which was supposed to be “Turbo,” but was taking minutes to download a page.

** said everything was set up correctly, and he couldn't figure out what the problem was. He spent an hour on the phone with a Time Warner tech, but they still weren't able to resolve the problem completely. Then ** said he had to leave, as he was already two hours late for his next appointment, but that he'd call me later to make sure it was working. He never did call, and it wasn't working.

On the afternoon of Thursday, May 9, after struggling with the internet all morning, I called Time Warner yet again, and finally got a tech named ** on the phone. He spent an hour with me, trying to figure out what the problem was. Finally, he was able to figure out that I was in a “bad channel.” He switched me from channel 1 to channel 7, and that fixed the problem. By then it was 5 p.m. It had taken exactly a month, with eight work days lost ($1600), from when I made my first call to Time Warner to get a routine triple play system up and running – something that normally takes, what, a few hours?

Then, of course, there's the fact that Time Warner installed a corrupted cable box and/or wire so our TV cable system didn't work for another week, necessitating a call of an hour and a tech visit, but I don't even care that much about that. At least I didn't lose any work (or sleep) over that one! But I really do wonder what I'm paying sky high rates for here?

     
Replies
Poor service/inaccuracies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- I am writing to complain about your company's€™ severe poor customer service and ineptitude regarding how to treat clients. My family and I moved to Los Angeles from Chatsworth June 11th. We ordered Time-Warner Cable basic. We had the service for several weeks when suddenly we had no cable but Internet. We called and after some time were referred to ** at ** extension ** at Credit and Compliance Department, 14079 Senlac Drive, Farmers Branch, Texas, 75234.

We were advised that there was a past due balance for equipment and "bounced checks" from account in 2006 ending in #18. We explained to ** that we only paid in person and in cash or card because we had no checks to write from and that we did not use checks. We also informed him that the equipment had been personally turned in as well in Topanga in 2006. ** told us it was "no problem with the equipment"€ and that the only thing that "€œmattered"€ was the unpaid balance. We asked ** for proof. ** sent only old bills. When again we called him to advise him to prove the bounced checks he told us he had. We explained that these were copies of old bills.

** stated he would again send us proof. We received two letters stating we owed nothing yet all our service had been cancelled and a bill for the new equipment had been issued for account ending in #83. Again I called ** and in my conversation with him. I again advised him that he had not sent proof and that again he sent old bills and 2 letters stating we owed nothing. ** told me he had made a mistake, human error. I explained to him that that was the case in 2006, which he promptly told me, that couldn'™t happen twice in a row and that now the burden of proof was on me. He said he would send a correction stating we did owe and to promptly return all new equipment.

I asked to speak to his supervisor and ** asserted that he was judge and jury and that there was no supervisor to discuss this matter with and that he was the last word. Since then we have had four letters all time stamped August 21, 2012 and stating the same thing, that we owe $0.00. (Proving my assertion of human error.) I am angry and annoyed by this inconvenience. Your company'€™s lack of good customer service and fair treatment is astounding. In retro spec, there were never any letters or warnings from Time Warner or ** warning of us of any issues. We also passed all background checks to initially receive cable as well.

I have grievance with your company because of these and many more reasons: Our account was interrupted with no prior notification. I was told that the old account ending in #13 was first in the rears for $700. Later I was told that the equipment didn'€™t matter, whether we turned it in or not just pay $300. ** then sent me a latter stating I owed nothing. Four times!!! (Each statement mailed to us contained 2 months different months billing, spanning from August 2006-August 2007 with no proof of any bounced checks). I was also sent a bill requesting $492 for the account ending in #83. ** told me that the letter was a mistake. A mistake he made four times!

** told us that a new bill was issued for the equipment because our account was cancelled. (With no notice!). ** was condescending. ** accused us of stealing. ** accused us of trying to get cable for free without paying. ** told me he did not have to prove anything. ** told me to prove I paid in cash in person on Topanga in 2006. ** denied my access to speak to his supervisor. ** told me he was the final say in maters such as these. I found ** to be vindictive, rude and not very professional.

I may not be ale to stop your company from having customers or making millions off of unsuspecting people but I have decide to do my best to tell everyone I know about your egregious errors, poor service and lack of customer care. I will tell them of the extreme levels of ineptitude you allow with your employees. I will describe the horrendous buffoonery as to which you allow your employees to run your company. I will do this until the day I die or until I feel that Time Warner has fully compensated me for my troubles and apologized.

     
Replies
Bad Product, Bad Customer Service...Bad Mistake!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- There isn't enough space to accurately describe all the problems, broken promises, outages, horrible service, hours on the phone and wasted money I have spent on Time Warner cable. I have been a customer for 14 years...don't let the amount of time I was a customer fool you into thinking it was because I liked the service. I did it out of convenience- I didn't want to lose my email ( I had it for a very long time), I also didn't want to have to pay a down deposit for installation with another company.

Time Warner cable has never been a company that is known for their reliable and trustworthy product. For me, making a weekly (or often more) call a week to technical support was not a rare event. Eventually I realized that not only was their product not very good- but either was their customer service. It is expected when calling Time Warner cable that you will speak to someone different every time that will will tell you something different than the person that you had talked to before, that will talk to you as if you have no idea what you are talking about (even if you are repeating what the representative you talked to before said), that no one ever documents things- ever and they can pull recorded phone calls if you make a big enough stink, but will not hold anyone accountable for what they promise or say.

I am a divorced mom of four and on a big budget, so all I get now is the Internet- because I am getting my Bachelors degree online. It is crucial that I have reliable Internet- and while Time Warner is anything but reliable, the fixes had always been quick and easy (no matter how frequent and tedious). Although, recently there was an outage that did not quickly come back up. The outage of course occurred during my finals week, and my grades greatly depended on having internet service. I called Time Warner and the soonest they could get someone out to fix it was a week...which made it impossible for me to be able to finish my class online. In addition once they finally did make it out to fix it they found that I was getting a speed of only 5...not the 100 I was paying for (I was paying $72 for a speed of 5- and had been for over 6 months). It amazes me it took them that long to figure that out since I called weekly (or more) to complain. Not to mention that I don't have money to throw away on a service I am not getting. They did end up getting me a discount- which helped a little, but didn't improve the product or the service.

The last straw was a few weeks ago when I went to sign on to my email account (like I have for 14 years) and I was told that my email or password was incorrect. After many attempts I decided to reset my password- maybe there was a chance I had forgotten it. However, when I reset the password, I was told that the email didn't exist. I called Time Warner and spent almost 3 hours on the phone being transferred from one tech to another (I literally spent almost all my monthly minutes on hold). After being told my email didn't exist by everyone I talked to...a tech went ahead and set it back up. They were able to use my pre-existing email address- however EVERYTHING in my email account was gone (my bankruptcy & divorce emails, school papers from my kids, pictures, my school paperwork, all my email addresses....you name it, it was gone!). It took them several days of going back and forth to determine that they were unable to retrieve any of my information because they had some how deleted my entire email account from their database/servers. I was furious, I couldn't understand how this would happen...not to mention all the people I talked to acted like it wasn't a good deal, and no one knew how it had happened. I ended up speaking to a manager who gave me 2 months free service....which sort of- eased a little bit of the pain of losing everything. I figured this would help give me time to look for another service provider. Of course the next month I received a bill...and upon calling Time Warners wonderful customer service department they informed me that it wasn't documented that I was supposed to get 2 months free, but only one. They are in the process of pulling the calls ....again, and I am finally in the process of dumping Time Warner for good.

If you want a reliable product, fast internet, honest, quick and helpful customer service....Time Warner is not the place for you. However, if you want broken promises, dishonest reps, poor service, expensive prices, an email that can automatically disappear at any given time and an overall feeling of being taken advantage of....they will be the perfect match!

     
Replies
Friendly Service but Empty Promises Won't Run a Successful Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I'm going to detail out the experiences I've had cancelling TWC's service, because the amount of time I've had to spend ensuring the job is getting done by TWC has been absolutely unacceptable. The reason I cancelled is because I was moving to an area that had Verizon, which I feel is a better service as far as technology goes.

I called a week or two before my move date of 9/24 to schedule my service to be disconnected (trying to be proactive). I was very clear with the representative that I needed the service all the way through 9/24. The representative assured me that the service would be disconnected on 9/24. Great, I wouldn't expect to have to call again at all after this. Just receive the final bill with charges through 9/24, and then turn in my equipment and done. Not quite.

On 9/19, my service was disconnected early (physically unplugged). I called to have it corrected and had to wait until the following day for a tech to come reconnect it. I asked to speak to a manager, and was told that he would call me within 30 minutes of my call with the rep, and I never got a call. One of my biggest peeves is when a company says they'll call me to resolve my issue, then doesn't call. This is embarrassing since it was even a manager.

I need internet because I work from home, so this was quite an inconvenience. It was then disconnected early again on 9/23, so I had to call again to get it reconnected. The representative assured me that I shouldn't have any more issues because they had noted it in the system. So my service then stayed on through my move date, 1 more day.

Then, I receive a bill for $382, which was apparently because each time the service was restarted, I was billed for a full month. I called again, and the representative adjusted it and I paid my final (so I was told) bill of $18.92. I was told that all I needed to do at that point was turn in my equipment and I was all set, I also asked what the time frame was for returning my equipment. I work a lot, so it's hard to get to a physical location to drop it off, so wanted to know if there was a due date so I could plan my schedule.

I had the equipment for about 2 weeks because I was moving and thought I had some time to return it (after being told there was no due date at all). I then get another email from TWC saying I owe $380 dollars again, after squaring this away previously. I call again to find out what happened. Turns out that they wouldn't take my call because I'd already been sent to collections for a balance that I thought was removed from my account and was charged for "€œunreturned equipment"€ after only a couple weeks.

I get that I probably should'€™ve returned the equipment earlier, but I was told I had no due date for turning it in so I was taking my time. I immediately took the equipment into a physical location in Plano thinking that I could resolve all my billing issues in person and be done. Well, they told me to call customer service to get the balance resolved, and that they couldn't do it in store. Seriously? TWC doesn't allow their employees to resolve customer issues face to face? Ridiculous. So I call again on 10/14 and spent 30 minutes on the phone with a representative trying to convince me I owe the money.

Apparently the service wasn'€™t physically disconnected until 10/7, so they tried to charge me through then when I moved completely out on 9/24, as I had stated several times with each person I talked to. She finally reads through the extensive notes for my account and sees that I don't actually owe anything, and adjusts my account, but said that there was about $18 in fees that it wouldn't let her adjust, so she said to wait and she would call me back on Wednesday to confirm that the fees had rolled off my account. I never received a call. This was the second time in this experience that I was told I would receive a follow up call and didn't.

I got an email 10/18 saying that I still owe $18 to TWC because obviously the fees identified by the representative on Monday had not rolled off my account. At the time I wrote this review, I was on hold with yet another TWC representative (identified as a "brief" hold) for the 25 MINUTES so I decided to write how frustrated I am with their service. I was told that the balance was now zero and I would receive a final bill stating that I don'™t owe anything. I have yet to receive this final bill on 10/25. If this is how other customers experience this service, frankly, I'm surprised they'™re still in business.

I'm hope this is the last time I ever have to speak with a TWC representative to resolve an issue that should've taken one phone call. So far so good, but it'€™s only 10/25. I sent this review to TWC and said that I would make sure I would post this anywhere I could to ensure potential customers knew what they were getting into. I'€™ve never written such an extensive review on customer service, but this whole experience made me so upset that I really want TWC to read this and hopefully improve their processes so this doesn'™t happen to anyone else in the future.

     
Replies
Time Warner Has No Shame
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- Time Warner has no shame. My beloved cousin died in early November, and I have been trying to close out her account since then. She had a bundle package with internet, television, and a landline home phone. We cancelled some of the service shortly after my cousin's death. We also returned two converters at this time (I have a receipt for these returns). We chose to retain the cable coverage till the 15th of January. I called Time Warner on the 16th to cancel the remainder of the service. They stated they couldn't cancel the service till the modem was returned.

I returned the modem to one of their stores on the 19th of January. I asked the person receiving the equipment if this was all I needed to cancel the account, and he said yes. I asked if I would be receiving a credit on the account and he said yes. On the 10th of February, I received a bill for $81.36 still showing that the modem was not returned. My account has a $98.07 credit without the modem and card. I was told that the account did show that the modem was returned and that it "just had not been put into the system" and that it now had and that a credit would be issued shortly. They further stated that nothing was owed on the bill.

On March 1st, I received a bill from a credit collection agency for the $81.36; I had received no other notification between the 10th of February and this notice. I immediately called Time Warner and was assigned a case number. The representative again stated that it was clear I had returned the modem, but that they would need to verify that it was in their facility. I don't know what that has to do with anything since they noted that the modem had been returned. He stated that I would receive a call back by the 5th of March letting me know what the status was. I did not receive a call yesterday so in the afternoon I again called customer service.

Again I was told that it was clear that I had returned the modem. This representative stated that the previous representative should not have told me I would receive a call by Tuesday because it would take up to 8 business days to research the situation. I asked to speak to a Supervisor and was placed on hold for a long period of time. When the representative came back on the line, she stated there was a backlog of calls (not surprising after looking at all the complaints) for supervisors and someone would give me a call back within 24 hours. In one hour it will be 24 hours and not surprisingly I have not received a call.

     
Replies
Service Appointment Lies and Deception (Rectified Incident)
By -

NORTH CAROLINA -- I have been jerked around and deceived by Time Warner Cable's call centers about setting up an appointment to transfer service. The issue was remedied after a long struggle on my part and being on the phone all morning, including with my cellular phone dropping calls *and* phone system problems with Time Warner Cable.

I called Time Warner Cable the morning of 08/26/2010 to transfer service within North Carolina. The phone number that I used was 1-800-TWCABLE, which is advertised on TWC's Website, including for matters of service disconnections. I am an undergraduate starting school on 08/30/2010 and was getting my apartment lease on 08/26/2010, so I wanted either the earliest possible appointment on or before Sunday the 29th, or if that was not possible, I could only do evenings between Monday-Friday.

The first agent was able to give me an appointment for 08/31/2010 for 7-9 p. m., which was the earliest time that would work for my schedule, but unfortunately after Sunday. 7-9 P.M. is the latest possible time slot on any day. Because I asked to be put on the waiting list for 7-9 P.M. on Monday or anytime Sunday or sooner, the agent said that, because she is a Sales agent, she would need to transfer me to Customer Service to be put on the waiting list, but did still confirm my Tuesday evening appointment. (I don't even know why I had gotten the Sales department instead of Customer Service.)

After being transferred I spoke with a Customer Service agent, who said she could put me on the waiting list, but also searched for an earlier time for me. She found that 7-9 P.M. on Monday actually *was* available (even though it wasn't when I spoke with the Sales agent), so she was going to set me up for that Monday time slot instead, but unfortunately, my cellular phone dropped the call right as I was confirming this change. Up to this point, I had recorded this first call -- both the Sales and Customer Service agents. Because the call was dropped, I tried to call back on my landline (on which I couldn't yet record the calls).

For some reason the phone system had problems at the point where it routes the caller to the department they want; for example, I would say "Customer Service" then "Appointments" or just "Appointments", and sometimes it would drop my call or give a busy signal after that. When I was transferred to someone, after waiting some time, for some reason I got the "Retention" department, and the lady was going to transfer me back to Customer Service because "Retention" couldn't help me.

This time the call accidentally went into a dead queue (error on their end) and the Retention agent called me back while I was in that queue, but I had to answer on my cell phone and was stuck with the call on my cell again. I asked her if she could call me back again so I could answer on my landline, but she said she could only call me back once because the error was on their end. So I was transferred to Customer Service again. This time, I gave the agent my callback number and said it's very important that she calls me back if we get disconnected.

The agent I spoke with said she couldn't do anything with my account because another agent was modifying it. I explained my situation, that I wanted the Monday appointment 7-9 P.M. which I was told was available. This agent was going to call me back once she could get into the account, but eventually it was unlocked, and she saw that it popped up that I did have an appointment for 08/31 7-9 P.M. However, I accidentally lost the call from my unreliable cell phone again. The agent did not call me back as I had asked.

I called back to Customer Service and spoke with a man, but this time he said that he saw my appointment as being for 08/31 from 3-5 P.M. I inquired why it was 3-5 instead of 7-9, but he insisted that he saw nothing for 7-9 p. m., even though the other agents I had spoken to were aware of the Tuesday night appointment. He said that the earliest available evening appointment was going to be 09/03. I was very upset, and I made it very clear that I had recorded the initial phone call in which the first (Sales) agent confirmed my appointment for 08/31 7-9 P.M. I argued with the agent at length that it was wrong for my appointment to be mysteriously revoked like this.

He said that the maximum relief that he could provide me would be one day's service credit. He gave me some flak about my dropped calls that I had mentioned, but to prove what I was saying, I even played Bits and Pieces of the call recording in which the first agent confirmed the Tuesday 7-9 P.M. time before transferring me to the Customer Service agent to be put on the waiting list. (Also, each agent said that if a call is dropped, the previous agent would have to undo or drop all of their changes on the account.) The agent I was speaking to said that without a confirmation number, which the Sales agent did not give me, there was no way he could look up the original appointment.

He asked for the Sales representative's name, and when I gave it, he said that agent doesn't work for Time Warner Cable but for some 3rd-party contractor or something. I pointed out the phone number that I was using to call TWC and asked if I had been scammed; he said no. He wasn't being helpful at this point, and I was persistently upset and wanted to know what happened to my original appointment. After quite a long runaround, he eventually finally resolved to call the dispatcher to ask if they could make this situation right by squeezing me in for the same day that I was calling, 08/26. This was put in place, and he still agreed to the one day's service credit.

I was finally relieved at this improvement, and to get accommodated on the same day. He gave me a confirmation number, and I remarked that apparently it is *very* important that we customers make sure we get a confirmation number (which I never knew about) and to record the phone calls. The dispatcher and I agreed for 4 P.M. -- the time that I actually had a meeting with my property manager to see the apartment for a final time and to sign my lease and get my keys. I did have to take care of both matters at once, and the signing of the apartment lease was the priority, but the service technician was patient, courteous, and understanding of the situation.

After I was finished with my property manager, I completed the appointment with the technician and the service was in place. Thus the end result was pretty good, though this accommodation was a side-effect of being on the phone all morning and having to go through the stress of being deceived about my scheduled appointment time, which never should have happened. If I had not recorded my initial phone call in which I was promised the appointment, and not made such a compelling argument, I would have been ripped off and forced to go with a much later appointment, and only one day's service credit to make up for it.

When I called up my phone company (not TWC) to transfer my phone service thereafter, I also asked them to add the paid feature of unlimited 3-way calling (the feature that I need to use for my method of recording calls), so that I can more reasonably record calls on my landline. That's what I'm going to do, both with Time Warner Cable and my phone company.

This situation evidences that when customers are promised appointments, they may be ripped off by Time Warner Cable as their appointments may mysteriously "disappear" or be changed without communication. Apparently everybody needs to know to ask for a confirmation number if they are not automatically given one. I am also encouraging people to record phone calls with telecommunications companies, especially in one-party consent states.

     
Replies
"Sorry There's Nothing I Can Do"
By -

RICHMOND, KENTUCKY -- Absolutely the worst company that I have ever dealt with. I suppose this is what happens when a cable provider monopolizes a town. Any call to Time Warner goes directly to their corporate lines and the "Supervisors" that you need to speak with to get anything done are MIA. I have tried for three weeks - no exaggeration, literally three weeks to the day - to get television and internet service through these guys. I honestly need internet service to do my job and I am a graduate student - so I am in a bind to have it. One would think that they would want our business as we plan to be here a few years and have perfect credit.

My wife called on a Friday, and the soonest that they could get to us was in two weeks. They only offer hours from 8AM-5PM and being working people it was hard to fit in their schedule. The only opening that was available was for a 3PM-5PM time slot. We asked if we could make it about 3:15 as my wife is a teacher and would be able to make it by then. The lady on the phone said it should be fine.

Two weeks later, I get a call from my wife (who was supposed to meet the Time Warner guys) that there was a note on the door saying "Sorry We Missed You." The note was half-filled out, as the cable guy's ink pen had run out mid-sentence. That guy must have been ecstatic to get an early start on his weekend.. as he didn't have time to find another ink pen. I looked at my phone to see the time of the call, and it was 3:06PM.

She immediately called Time Warner to try to get the guys to come back, as they couldn't have much more than pulled out of the driveway, but the number sent her directly to a touch-tone corporate pass-around. Finally she was able to reach customer service and they considered it "unfortunate" but since she had admitted to being late for our 3PM time slot it was our fault and all she could do was reschedule. In technicality they were right on this one. We had a 3PM-5PM time slot and my wife was 5 minutes late. I think that it is rude, frustrating and stupid - but TECHNICALLY they are right. Although the lady told us that 3:15 should be fine - it was informal and not corporate policy. So, OK.

When I get home I immediately called the number, which sent me back to the corporate touch-tone pass-around and I explained the situation. The lady on the phone was exceptionally nice and said that she would set us another appointment for the next Friday (the once-again nearest open date), but would elevate our status so that if there were any cancellations we would be contacted. She stated that we should get a call the next day - but, worst case scenario, they would be there the next Friday in the 8AM-12PM time frame. I explained to the lady that my wife could not make that time frame, but that I would take off of work.

By now you've guessed that I did not get a call throughout the whole week, and Friday morning I was up and ready at 8AM to let the cable guy in. He arrived at 10AM and spun a big rut in my drive-way (I'm not really mad about that, just had to include it). I went out to greet him, and he immediately began questioning my name and address. Turns out, the account was in my wife's name, and therefore he was not allowed to talk to me.

He repeated that he was "sorry" but there was "nothing he could do." I tried to reason with the guy; I explained that I had made the call to schedule the appointment and I had clearly told the lady that I would be there. The guy was not open to reasoning or even willing to listen to me - he was seemingly thrilled to have found a reason to leave the appointment early. I tried to show him a check that had both my wife and my name on it, he would not look at it.. just continued to mumble "I'm sorry - There's nothing I can do."

He said that the only exception would be if I had a signed letter written from her with a copy of her driver's license. Typically, I don't carry things like that with me on a daily basis and I was never told that I would need anything like that. I asked if I could call my wife or drive to her work (5-minute drive) and he shook his head "No." At this point I was frustrated and I told him to just leave.

I called Corporate to complain, but I just got passed around on the phone and had to explain my story in excess of a dozen times. Literally. And after an hour of trying to get something done on the phone, they said they would "see what they could do" and would call me back immediately. After another hour and a half, I hadn't been called.

So, I drove to the local office and attempted to explain my situation to the lady there. She wouldn't make eye contact with me. I will admit that I was frustrated, but I didn't raise the tone of my voice, use strong language or anything remotely unreasonable. I made sure not to pin my frustration on her as she was inherently innocent. No matter - she couldn't have cared less about what I had to say, and repeated the official Time Warner motto "I'm sorry." She said that she would make a call to the guys in the field and "see what she could do" - and then would call me back directly.

A few more hours pass - and it is now almost closing time for Time Warner - and I haven't gotten a call. I made another trip to their office, but it was to no avail.. same response from another lady. I requested to speak to the Supervisor, but he/she wouldn't come out to meet me. I'm now waiting on a call from this "Supervisor."

I have never been treated like such trash in my life. The Richmond Time Warner Office couldn't care less if they get your business or not. Luckily for them - they have a monopoly on high-speed internet. The only other options are satellite internet and DSL.. so even though Time Warner treats everyone like dogs - we all keep running back to them asking for more. If there is an entrepreneur out there looking for something to get into - consider becoming a cable service in Richmond. I'll be knocking on your door the minute you're open for business.

     
Replies
Time Warner Cable is a Scam
By -

Already having had home phone service and cable TV through Time Warner for several years, I decided to switch my internet as well for increased savings as a bundle package with a 2-year agreement. It turned out to be a huge mistake. The internet service was intermittent to say the least, but was far too unreliable, I could stay connected on a neighbor's unsecured network easier.

After weeks of complaints to customer service and visits from technicians, I spoke to a retention agent within the 60-day trial period, who begged me to have a technician come out one last time to try to fix it. I agreed, and just like before the technician was unable to make a difference, so I called the retention department back and cancelled the internet the same day. I kept the phone and cable TV service, since I had them before and never had a problem with them; I had not been given any new equipment for the internet service, so there was nothing to return with the cancellation. I should have just resumed month-to-month on the prior services like I had before.

The next bill came out and was still charged for the bundle, but like most people unfamiliar with subscription billing, I didn't instantly assume what I had believed was a reputable company had made a mistake, I could probably get a credit for it on the next bill. The next month I was charged for it again, as I was on auto-bill, and when I called they first informed me that they had no record of my cancellation and that I was bound by a contract now so if I cancelled I would be subject to an early termination fee.

I checked my records and called back, and the next representative even agreed that I had called back to cancel my service that day and was within the 60-day trial, but because I hadn't reported the error within 30 days they would still hold me to that contract. They tried every excuse to keep me in that contract, suggesting that the cancellation wasn't official because I hadn't returned any equipment, even though I never received any equipment.

There were the predictable mishaps of getting disconnected when requesting to speak to a supervisor. I was repeatedly lied to, and finally, I had had enough. I already had a new service provider and wasn't going to continue to pay Time Warner since they never provided me with service anyway, so I cancelled.

The only promise they ever kept was to penalize me with the early termination fee, which I am still disputing. Their customer service reps were reluctant to or not empowered to assist or research any further. I called to request the recordings of all the phone calls I had made that month, yet their customer service reps don't even have access to listen to their own recordings of customer service calls, and instead referred me to a legal department to make that request.

There seem to be no checks and balances in their company to prevent a dishonest retention representative from getting credit for a save by lying to a customer, and even worse, nobody in the company seems to think that's a problem; instead they all appear to support it. All the reps seem to have been trained to deliver fake apologies, like "I'm sorry you feel that way", which is about as apologetic as saying "I'm sorry you're an idiot."

Once their mistake had been pointed out, and they even admitted to it, there is no reason why they should not be able to correct it, unless they were deliberately making mistakes as a means to profit. As far as I'm concerned, Time Warner Cable uses unethical practices to enforce fraudulent contracts, and their policies and procedures are designed to shield those practices.

     
Replies
Deceptive Marketing Or Classic Bait & Switch Kings
By -

NEW YORK,, NEW YORK -- I signed up for an $89.99 bundled service package. Time Warner Cable (TWC) required that I pay up front for the first month as well as the installation. It seemed like a good deal and I verified on two separate occasions (prior to installation) that my service would be no more than $90 per month. I didn't receive a bill so I called Time Warner to inquire and pay the bill. Here's where the nightmare started.

First, getting a live person on the phone is nearly impossible. This is of course by design as I later made aware by two separate TWC customer service employees. What happens is you dial their number (1-888-TW-CABLE)and reach a recording. The recording asks you several different questions and gives you options to select from. You'll never hear an option to speak to a customer service representative. So you keep trying to pick the right answer to get to a live person. The only way to get a live person is to not push any buttons and let the recording ask you questions over and over and over again. If you do that, you'll eventually get transferred to a live person.

Once I got a live person, he supposedly looked into the computer and found that my bill was $195. When I told him there was no way my bill could be that much, he stated that I had three services and gave me prices for each one. When I told him that I had signed up for a bundled service package that was $89.99 he told me that was impossible and they didn't have a package for that price.

I then asked for a direct callback # so I could gather all of my original documentation and call back in 20 minutes without going through their awful phone system. They said that the number I called was the only number they had. I then asked if they could have a manager call me back in 20 minutes. The customer service person told me they would have their supervisor call me back in 20 minutes. I of course didn't receive a return call.

I called the national sales team that initially set up my new service and they said I would need to call the customer service line. The representative I talked to agreed that the phone system was "the most awful thing ever" and sympathized with the situation. I then called the TWC customer service line again. (It should be called the LACK OF Customer Service Line after the service I received.) Once I reached a live person **, I immediately exclaimed that I was highly irritated and I wanted to speak to a manager.

** responded with "Managers do not speak to customers directly". When I demanded to speak with a manager, he responded with the same statement again! I then asked who his immediate supervisor was and told him I wanted to be transferred to that person. ** told me that his supervisor's name was ** and said he couldn't transfer me until he made notes in the system regarding my account. During the time it took him to enter the notes there was laughter in the background, this of course added to the lack of professionalism. After being held idle by ** I demanded again to talk to his supervisor and he said he couldn't transfer me until he was finished with his notes.

When he finally finished and transferred me, I got ** voicemail. I HUNG UP! Since TWC is set up to avoid it's customers and their managers do not speak to customers directly I will resort to posting this message on poster boards such as FTC.gov, ComplaintBoard.gov, RipoffReports.com, BBB.org and placing fliers in my neighborhood, malls, gas stations restaurants, and new housing tracts.

Maybe if I warn enough people in a concentrated area about TWC's deceptive practices, false advertisement and lack of care or concern for their customers it will deter others from being put in the same position I'm in. Until someone within TWC's management team decides that their customers are worth talking to and calls me, I'm making it my mission to find two ways each day to communicate my experience to others.

     
Replies
TWC Is Just Money Hungry
By -

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- In these hard times for everyone do you think that big business would be a little understanding, you know in all that we the people just got done giving dozens of them billions of dollars so they, the big business, can keep on giving us, the people, there services. Well that is not the case with TIME WARNER CABLE. I just now spend twenty minutes with customer service trying to resolve a disconnect issue. I had in front of me a bill stating I owed $81.75. so my wife went down to put $50.00 on it and told them we will pay the rest next week. Nope they wouldn't have it. pay all the bill now Because we were scheduled to be disconnected today.

Well upon seeing the receipt it showed we owed $137.75. Well to all those who know TWC bills you ahead. for those who don't know that means TWC bills you for services you haven't used yet. A lot like going to the store to buy milk for $2.50 and being changed $5.00. Cuz the store knows you'll be back in 2 days to get another gallon. once more if you're later paying the pre-billing they charge you an Administrative Collection Charge. A fancy name for usury fee. Anyhow the collection site for TWC gave us a # to call to set up an agreement for payment. Cool. Nope.

I was told the same thing the collection site did. pay the $37.28 or get disconnected. What? this is there form or payment agreement. My way or the high way. I tried getting this woman on the phone to see it my way. Just wait a week for the rest of the money. Because I didn't want to pay the $25 re-connect fee. Would you? something needs to be done to these people so they see the big picture.

An attorney would have a field day with this company. Just look at all the complaints. But TWC is still on the BBB's award list. How? people listen to me. TWC hides behind policies and regulations. Don't let them con you. You have rights. If you are not satisfied with the company call them and complain. Daily. Weekly. Monthly.

If they wish to hide behind utility status and policy. Be smart. Would you let the power company do this to you? How about the water department? Nope, didn't think so. Use the info to your Advantage. If you have one static channel or phone interruption or even internet drops off, complain. Daily if you have to. They offer you a contract that they see as binding.

So see it that way too. You pay for constant service good service. Get it. All cable companies have a list of customers they see as problem. Yeah that is right if you call too much or are loud on the phone, you get marked as problem or disgruntled customer. Once on you never get off of it. I should know I worked for both the big companies. Comcast in Chicago and Time Warner Cable in Oregon. Oh and if you're an attorney, look in to this because there is a case action suit in all these complaints. I see it can you.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >