Toyota Motor Corporation Camry - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
18 reviews & complaints.
www.toyota.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Toyota Camry - Transmission Died @ 54,000 Miles
By -

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I purchased a Toyota Camry in Sept 2006 and it had around 40,000 miles on it. As per records of Toyota Motors, this car was first sold to an end customer on Aug 12th 2002. But as per DMV records, this vehicle was first sold on Sept 15th, 2002 (09/15/2002).

Recently, I noticed a problem in the car. The Check Engine light came on and the speedometer died. This car now has 55,000 miles on it. I called Toyota Motors customer service on 09/11/2007 to see if this car was still under warranty as it had less than 60,000 miles and was still within the 60-month warranty period, according to the paperwork I had from the DMV. But I was told that this car is out of warranty and Toyota would not be able to help in any way.

When I asked the service representative to put me through to a manager so I could ask if Toyota could help me in any way, she bluntly told me that she was the final authority in this matter and there's nothing that Toyota can do. She was kind enough to let me know that she'll make a note of the fact that I'm not happy with my car! I must say I was very upset and disappointed with Toyota's indifferent behavior.

I then took this car to the nearest Toyota dealer (Expressway Motors, Dorchester, MA - United States) and they replaced the transmission speed sensor. It cost me US $430. But the check engine light came on again same day while the car was still at the dealership. Expressway Motors said the transmission is damaged in this car and would need to be replaced. They gave me an estimate of approximately USD $3,600.

When I bought this car last year, I spent US $11,000 in the hope that this car would not give me any trouble for at least 5-6 years if I take care of it and get regular services done on it. But I'm sorry to say that I regret my decision. Toyota has not lived up to it's name and it's reputation. The transmission of my car died in less than 5 years of operation and within 55,000 miles. I fail to understand how Toyota can claim to be making the most reliable cars when the Toyota car that I have, needs a new transmission after 55,000 miles.

So, in my opinion, Toyota should now start advertising that the most reliable car is "most reliable for up to 55,000 miles, but after that please be sure to replace your transmission with a new one from Toyota." Customers are entitled to complete and accurate information about the products of a company. THIS WAS THE LAST TOYOTA I BOUGHT. HYUNDAI IS A MUCH BETTER VALUE FOR MONEY.

     
Replies
NO HELP
By -

DENVER, COLORADO -- I am glad Karma has come back to haunt Toyota. We had issues at a dealership when we bought a new Camry. We contacted customer service and of course they said "We're sorry. We can't help you." (Larry Miller dealership Colorado). I will never buy another Toyota product again with that kind of customer service. We paid cash for the car. (Over $25,000.) I am glad Toyota is getting some karma back. End of story.

     
Replies
Gas Mileage
By -

I leased a Camry last October and am still waiting to get close to the 31 mpg highway you advertise. Please tell me the test conditions that enabled you to achieve this. Someone told me that you run the car in a wind tunnel at 50 mph, no stop and go's. However you achieve that, it is your obligation to reveal that data to the public, otherwise you have no credibility and I will never buy another Toyota again.

     
Replies
Toyota Camry Condenser Hose Never Installed Properly
By -

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- We purchased a 2005 Toyota Camry with an extended Platinum warranty and the air conditioning condenser hose was never installed properly. The car was flooding slowly but took sometime to finally have the water actually go through the carpet and come up on the passenger side in the back. Our car was flooded and the Torrance Toyota dealership where we purchased car refuses responsibility, as does the service department and the extended warranty company.

Since it is not something that we caused we feel that someone at Toyota should accept responsibility and replace the wet pad and carpet so that there will be no mold associated with this problem. Where can we go to get help in this matter.

     
Replies
Have a Toyota Camry and Lexus Transmission Hesitation and Acceleration Problem? Request for a RECALL in This Government Site
By -

Toyota can't fix the transmission problem for hundreds if not thousands of cars and said it's a normal feature for Camry and Lexus since 2002. Well, it's not normal, it's dangerous and it's not right. Go search in google, it's all over the net that their transmission is horrible for new Camry and some Lexus. File your complaint on government web site http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/ so that your problem is not ignored. It's National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Their mission is to save lives, prevent injuries, reduce vehicle related crashes. When there is enough complaint, they will force a recall!

The online complaint form has some problem processing when you are in one of the page. It doesn't allow to proceed, you have hit back button and couple times and make sure even the not required text boxes have something or click on the box at least a few times to proceed to the next page. If you do not know how to play around it (can be very annoying), I suggest you call them to file the complaint:

NHTSA Headquarters 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE West Building Washington, DC 20590 Toll-Free: 1-888-327-4236. Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-424-9153. Mailing will take 6 weeks to process and you have to add Attn: Associate Administrator for Safety Assurance.

     
Replies
Original Tires Put on Car
By -

FAIRFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a 2004 Camry LE in October of 2003. I had all of the recommended services done at the dealership, including rotating the tires. When I went to have my car inspected in November 2004, my car had 26,000 miles on it and it wouldn't pass because the tires were worn out. I contacted Toyota and they told me it was a Firestone problem. They said they warranty the entire car, except for the tires.

So, I went to Firestone and discovered that the tires I had were only expected to last 30,000 to 40,000 miles. I ended up having to buy new tires, not Firestone. I called Toyota to complain. They couldn't care less. I told them that this is my 3rd Camry and I expected a quality car. I asked why they would put inferior tires on a good, quality car and they couldn't answer. It doesn't make sense. I also have a Honda Civic with 86,000 miles on it and I haven't needed new tires yet. I haven't decided whether I will ever buy a Toyota again, but if I do, I will be sure to check the tire warranty first.

     
Replies
Toyota Financial...
By -

CALIFORNIA -- Came into a situation where a family member's car was going to be repossessed. Called Toyota Financial and they were extremely rude and not sensitive to anything that was going on. The collections representative read from a script the whole time and could not answer any questions because she didn't know a thing. I spoke with a "supervisor" who appeared to be nicer and empathetic, but that changed once we asked for payment arrangements. Don't finance through these people.

     
Replies
Toyota Part Unavailable Anywhere in North America for Over Eight Weeks
By -

I was in an accident in my 2004 Toyota Camry on July 21, 2004. As of today, August 30, 2004, Toyota is still unable to provide me with a driver's side seat and airbag. The estimated date the part will be available is September 13, 2004. I called Toyota Customer Service and was basically told "Tough Luck" September 13 is the earliest date that the part will be available anywhere in the United States. I asked to speak to their supervisor and was told NO. Meanwhile, I am paying for a rental car. This is the 3rd Toyota I have owned... it will be the last. They would not provide an email address either.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >