Toyota Motor Corporation - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
100 reviews & complaints.
www.toyota.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Misrepresentation of sales of a Vehicle and Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MATTESON, ILLINOIS -- November of 2006, a 2007 Toyota Solara, was purchased by My selfish(a single mom of (4)) and a Cosigner was used. 3yrs into having the Vehicle, the Engine began to smoke and I was stranded on why !57 expressway, Toyota scion of Matteson Auto mall was contacted and there service dept, immediately sent a Tow truck to retrieve me and the Vehicle, they suggested and assured me that the Vehicle was under Warranty and was fixable, called me a few days later, told me my Vehicle has been successfully fixed!! M car had no problems for 1 1/2yrs, then this same problem reoccurred, I immediately called Toyota, and they refused to retrieve me off the expressway this time with my kids, I paid to have my car towed to Toyota scion in matteson, it stayed there 1 1/2mths and then I was told that the warranty dept had come out and said there was slug in my engine, and that I had no warranty, I've always had a warranty, then once they found the warranty, the service mgr at the Time, a Caucasian gentlemen that stated he was the mgr, told me there were 2 dates missed for oil changes and if I had receipts that I [brought] my car in, they'd help me otherwise come get my car!!! VERY RUDE!! we were unable to retrieve those receipts and ended up towing the car home, and not driving the car while paying 636.00 ea month, for the next 2yrs!! I called several time aft leaving with my Vehicle, about dropping my warranty, and was given the run around from the Warranty department at Toyota scion in matteson as well as The car company I was paying my car notes too. every month I was complaining about my vehicle that wasn't running that I had to pay for, they(the Toyota company I paid my car notes too) would suggest, I contact the store I bought the car from (Toyota scion, in matteson) and I did, (Toyota scion in matteson) redirected me back to the car company instead of assisting me,. Its now 4/45/2012, and Today is the first time I was told by a John(jb) fro Toyota scion in matteson that I have a little less than a year and I would come into The matteson store to discuss, discontinuation of my Warranty!!! My warranty hasn't been any used to me for well over 3yrs and for 3yrs I've been getting the run around. I AM RESPECTFULLY REQUESTING MY MONEY BCK, I HAVE THIS VEHICLE DWN TO 8 THOUSAND DOLLARS FROM 36,000, AND FEEL I HAVE BEEN CHEATED, OVERLOOKED, LIED TOO AND DISCOURAGED INTO CANCELLING MY WARRANTY! I AM A SINGLE MOTHER OF FOUR AND FEEL TAKEN ADVANTAGES OF. PLS CONTACT ME AT tracy. walker52@Yahoo.com, or MS, TRACY WALKER 8 APACHE ST PARK FOREST I'LL, 60466, (708) 790-2183/(708) 8567216. THANK you FOR YOUR PROMPT ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER, I'VE BEEN IN DISTRESS ABOUT THIS MATTER FOR 3YRS!!! THANK U

     
Replies
Toyota Service Department
By -

;TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased my 2005 highlander with a extended warranty 2years ago. My first problem was a year in to owning the car the door handle came off you could see a screw came loose inside Toyota refused to fix the problem saying the lack of a handle was cosmedic are you kidding if I was in an accident my passenger would be trapped in the back a rescue unit could not get the door opened there was no handle to open the door, so to protect my family I paid for the repair myself, On November 12, 2010, Friday. I took my car in the cd/radio would not work when I put a cd in it poped right back out. I was told 2 days to repair, I thought great. I was promised a up date so when I didn't hear any thing on Monday, Tuesday, I called on Wednesday it took 4 call to learn the service person was not in and would call me the next day, he called only to tell me maybe a week. that was not exceptible so contacted the manager of the torrance, ca dealer ship I explained the situation to him I had the extended warranty why would it take so long, when I contacted the extended warranty the informed me that they would repalce the unit if they had the model for that year, or repair the unit when I explained this to the manager he said he would check in to it I never heard from him again, so on Friday November 19, one week later I contacted the Toyota corporation to file a complaint after the weekend I was contacted and told I would have to wait until December 10, 2010. and that is no guarantee that the unit will work my question was why does it take so long in the mean time I've paid thousands of dollars for this car only to have to see a big ugly hole in my console every day. when I contacted the Toyota corporation and explained that that was unexceptible a month without a radio its horrible pure torture for me I was told too bad live with it Toyota doesn't care what can I do how long should someone wait I'm sure they could put a complete car together in less time than it would take to repair my unit
WHY WHY WHY DOES IT TAKE SO LONG TO REPAIR A CD UNIT A WEEK OK BUT A MONTH WAY TOOLONG COME ON TOYOTA YOU ARE NOT GOING TO GET REPEAT BUSINESS WITH THIS HORRIBLE SERVICE. A NOTE TO ALL TOYOTA DOSENT CARE THEY LIE
IF I HAVE TO HEAR ONE MORE SORRY FOR THE INCONVENIENCE I MIGHT GET SICK
JUST FIX MY UNIT NOW IM TIRED OF WAITING NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO WAIT A MONTH FOR A CD UNIT COME ON THEY SHOULD DRIVE AROUND IN A CAR WITH A BIG GAPPING HOLE SEE HOW THE LIKE LOOKING A THAT EVERY DAY ITS UGLY NOT TO MENTION THE SILENCE NO MUSIC NO NEWS NO WEATHER REPORT TERRIBLE SHAME ON YOU TOYOTA

     
Replies
Thanks to Chris Pappas, Mr. Cooper, and Ms. Casperbauer
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- Hello, I'd like to compliment three members of Toyota of Lake City for taking a rough transaction on a new car very easy to handle. My wife and I purchased a 2010 Toyota Matrix on June 24, 2010. I noticed the very next morning that I had trouble with the side view out the windows when I was changing lanes on the freeway. I attempted to return the car on the 25th of June, less than 19 hours after the purchase. Mr. Cooper was very patient and empathetic, yet could not undo the deal. My wife (Stephanie) and I left very disappointed and a bit angry.
The next morning I was able to speak about the situation to the dealerships Customer Relations Manager, Ms. Casperbauer, who was very empathetic, and assured me she would speak to the General Manager (Mr. Pappas) about this matter. Several hours later Ms. Casperbauer phoned me and let it be known Stephanie and I could meet with Mr. Pappas on Monday June 28th at our convenience. Ms. Casperbauer was very nice during our conversations and instilled in me the knowledge that Mr. Pappas was very interested in resolving the issue the best he could. That was indeed very encouraging.
On June 28th Stephanie and I were introduced to Mr Pappas who was very polite throughout a meeting that did not go very well because Stephanie and I could not understand why the deal could not simply be undone. After several explanations by Mr. Pappas, we still couldn't understand why it couldn't be reversed. Stephanie and I left very disappointed in a car that was not truly safe for me to drive due to the visibility while changing lanes. We hadn't been home more than five minutes and Mr. Pappas called and spoke with me and presented an opportunity to come back the next day to see if the issue could be resolved. We were not being forgotten purchasers. He was genuinely wanting to make us happy and that was very clear over the phone.
At 2:00 on June 29th, I returned to Lake City Toyota and was greeted by Mr. Cooper who had been our salesman from beginning to end. He was very supportive of us threw out the process and was the sales person I requested to work with Mr. Pappas and me. The three of us sat down and discussed my options. When I mentioned that getting into a base 2010 Matrix wouldn't eliminate the visibility issue, there was a moment of silence and it was clear to me both gentleman were mulling over another option. When I mentioned that I could not get into a car with a trunk because of my back, and that I truly need a hatch back or a truck to remove items safely. They contemplated this a moment. I then mentioned looking at a Scion. Both men perked up and Mr. Pappas thought that could be an excellent fix.
Mr. Cooper remained very supportive through this process and took me on a test drive in a 2011 Scion XB. Mr Cooper encouraged me to take the XB onto the freeway to see how well the auto would work for me. It was wonderful. I did not have to crane my neck to see the side view. In fact, my analogy of the view is that "... it is like being on a bicycle.."
When Mr. Cooper and I returned to the showroom, there was no doubt that the XB was the solution. Mr Pappas helped us get a nice, low interest rate and very nice monthly payments. Mr. Cooper was simply very honest and supportive throughout the process and yes, I would go back to Toyota of Lake City because of Ms. Casperbauer, Mr Pappas and Mr. Cooper. If Mr. Cooper hasn't moved on to other pastures when it is time for Stephanie and I to buy a Tundra or Tacoma, he will be who I seek out to assist in the purchase.
These three employees were very instrumental in turning an uncomfortable discovery into a very manageable solution. I truly think the Toyota Corporation should acknowledge their fine work as exemplary employees. I am very grateful for Mr. Pappas' patience and professional approach, even with customers who were as unhappy as Stephanie and I originally were.
With Great Appreciation,
Marcus Scoville

     
Replies
Toyota financial is incompetent
By -

Bought a brand new FJ Cruiser in 2007. Never bought a new Toyota before, always heard about their reliability, etc... At 3822 mile the clutch went out. Left me stranded out in the middle of nowhere with my young grandkids in the backseat. Towed it to the dealer, had it fixed and they said it was a defective part. Showed me the broken part and it looked like it came straight out of a box. It was just "broke". And believe me, we were babying that thing up to that point. I've been driving manual transmission for 40 years and never had a clutch fail on me. A little disappointed in Toyota products at that point. Never liked the way their case manager handled my case, in fact I was lied to. I had been tracking the progress of my vehicle repairs with this kid they put in charge of my case with their customer service. Wasn't very happy with the way things were going, but I wasn't belligerent or anything to the kid. Then one day he won't take my call. He has a coworker tell me he is not in. After insisting repeatedly to speak to his manager, suddenly the kid picks up the phone and asks me what he can do to help me. He was sitting there the whole time and just didn't want to be bothered with his job.

But my real complaint in the fiasco of an experience I've had dealing with Toyota is with Toyota financial. What a bunch of incompetents these people are. I've been trying for months to correct a discrepancy on my monthly statement, and each month I'm assured that it will be taken care of. In fact all they've done is make things worse, and I fear it may be affecting my credit. And it's ALL their mistakes. They can't seem to do anything right at all, and I'm to the point that I fear any more communication with them may only make things more of a mess. Even worse, I can't get any information to circumvent them and let an adult in the company know that their financial service is dropping the ball. I write this in hopes that I can warn anyone out there that is thinking of buying a Toyota that they are very overrated and you'd probably be better off going in a different direction. They made me feel like they were doing me a favor to buy the car, then they made me feel like they were doing me a favor to let me keep the car and continue to pay for it.

Well, Toyota, as far as I'm concerned you can pack all your belongings and head for Japan. I can't wait to get rid of this vehicle I know longer trust fearing another "design flaw" that many of their other cars are experiencing. Going to get rid of it and get me a Jeep, and Toyota won't have to worry about doing me a favor by letting me buy any of their cars in the future.

     
Replies
Wish I would be offered some help and assisted like a valued customer
By -

STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA -- I frankly do not understand as to why it has been so difficult to be assisted like a good customer should be at the Toyota Dealership located on 2150 East Hammer Lane, Stockton, Ca. 95210. Especially since that is the location where I purchased my first car, and then 2 years later went back to upgraded to a newer model, which I have now (2005 Scion XB to a 2009 Scion XB), and recommended my mother as well, who also purchased a 2008 Camry. Today, my sister went into that dealership to drop off my car for me during her lunch because I commute 1hour out of town due to the left brake light going out. I had previously brought this car in for the same reason; difference is before it was the right brake light that went out. The appointment had been scheduled at 9:30am on 09/15/09, and she had been told a shuttle was available if a ride back to a location was needed. Upon dropping off the car my sister was instructed to wait because the shuttle would not be back for another half knowing she had already requested one the day before because she stated she would need a ride back, she ended up having to find a ride to avoid being late back to work. Before leaving she was instructed by David Hampton that she will be contacted once the analysis for the repair was determined. No one contacted her. So she then contacted the dealership in the customer service department around 1 PM an hour before her shift ended, depending on the feedback they were to provide her because the car was her means of transportation home. On that call a representative told her that a part would need to be ordered for the repair to be made, and that the part is on back order for at least 1 week and a half. No loaner was offered or any type resolution to help, until she requested it, even after explaining to representative that I needed a car to commute and that I had previously been pulled over and given a fix it ticket because of this issue before 2 months ago with same turnaround time to be fixed. Having to pay a fee out of my pocket to have the ticket written off after my commute late from work, and still nothing was done. She was just told that they again would be calling her back, and once again an hour later no one called back. Finally she spoke to another representative when she got off of work after finding a ride home, and finally was told that a loaner would be provided, but it wasn't guaranteed due to another customer using it that had been waiting on a car repair as well, and the car would only be available if the car was repaired today. The only other option offered would be to rent a car. Finally around 330PM she was then instructed by David that a car was available at the dealership and she could go down there to pick it up. She had to find another ride, when she arrived nothing was provided to her, she was told that the only way the loaner car would be released was if she had a big corporate car insurance listing names like AAA, 21st Century, ETC... That would cover the loaner. Pretty much stating, that the full coverage insurance Titan Insurance, currently covering my car, which I have had for over 3 years, was not good enough for the car to be released to her. She became upset and said well what are you guys going to do for me, and no response was provided, other than having them request an Enterprise rental car in which they would only provide a purchase order for in the mean time, and that she had to leave a deposit for a hold of about 250 dollars apart from that pay for insurance to cover the car too. At that point she had had it, requested to speak to a manager for assistance because all David kept saying to her was it was policy and he couldn’t do anything to help other than give her back the unsafe car that I would have to drive with one brake light and commute with at 3 AM every morning until the part was received, and with her luck the manager was nowhere to be found. All David said after no attempt to help was, “Do you want me to go get your car,” so she finally said yes and now I’m stuck having to drive my unsafe brand new 2009 car illegally AGAIN with another brake light out in and out of town with no other options. I purchased that car because I wanted a reliable means of transportation, not a vehicle that I would continuously have to keep bringing in for repairs. I think I was better off with my older car, I’m so unhappy with their services, do not feel like a valued customer, and hope no one else has to go through this experience or that at least they redeem themselves in same way to show me some type of willingness to assist now that I’m having to wait almost 2 weeks to have my brake light repaired. I'm requesting a response to this email with a resolution to this complaint. I am sure that Toyota Motor Corporation does not want to be held responsible for "God Forbid" an accident of any sort due to my missing brake light in addition to any additional traffic fines that I may incur during these 2 weeks. If I don't receive a response or any assistance from Toyota I will have no other choice but to contact my attorney, the BBB, and share my story on every complaint board possible.

     
Replies
Terrible Service experiences in metro DC area
By -

WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- I have a 2005 Toyota Matrix. I am happy with the car itself for its utility and gas mileage, however, with two different Toyota dealerships that I have been to for regularly scheduled service, as well as for warranty items, my experience has been terrible

My first experience was with Jim Coleman Toyota located at 10400 AUTO PARK AVENUE
BETHESDA, MD 20817. I went in for my 30,000 mile service, along with a warranty issue (interior moon roof trim coming off). The service representative was polite, but was giving me completely false information. Of course they were "all booked" even when I made the appointment a week in advance. They charged me $150 ABOVE every other dealership in the area (I checked afterwards) for a total of around $550. I had also complained about a noise coming from the clutch. of course, everything was found to be "to factory spec" even though the noise continues. They also added all sorts of extras (wiper blades, air filter for cabin and engine, etc. etc. that I had not requested). To top it all off, when I went to pick up the car, I had to wait over 1 hour to get my keys back. The moon roof trim was STILL the same. I showed it to the person and he said well lets reschedule another time for you to bring the car in and we'll take a look at it. I decided never to go back

My second recent experience was with 355 Toyota located at # 15625 Frederick Rd.,
# Rockville, MD 20855. This experience takes the cake!. I took the car in for three things, all covered under warranty: 1) the moon roof trim still unfixed 2) a side body kit panel coming lose (stock Toyota part, not aftermarket) and 3) a rattling sound coming from the undercarriage when going over bumps. I dropped the car off early in the morning and showed the service representative all three issues in the car. The gentleman told me that the car will be ready by 8pm that night, and that he will call me if anything changes. I waited until 9pm and didn't get a phone call. Of course they were closed by then. The next day, I had to take a day off of work. I call them in the morning and no one could tell me where my car was, what work was done, and what the resolution was. I had to call back six times within 45 minutes (two times, I was just dropped after being put on hold). When I finally got a hold of the gentleman who I had met the previous day, he said that he had other customers at the moment and he will call me back within the next couple of hours. He couldn't tell me what was done to the car, if anything. I decided to just go there and meet with a manager. The manager listened to my story, checked his computer and told me that the car is to be sent to the body shop and will not be available for another 3 days. When I asked for a rental car in the mean time, he refused. He told me that they had made a determination that the damage (undercarriage and the body trim) was due to some accident (entirely untrue) and that they won't be fixed under warranty. When I told him that I needed the car to go to work, he said well then I can give you the car back, but you will have to take it to the body shop yourself and figure it out. When the car came around and I sat in, I noticed that the moon roof trim was STILL untouched. When I complained and showed him the problem, he said that he will have to order the part (it just needs to be glued back) and that he will call me within 4-6 weeks once he gets the part. When I complained that the car will probably go over its warranty mileage by then, he said that I was being rude, that he didn't want my business and to "Get out".

Please never give these people any of your business. On a related note, does anyone know of a good Toyota dealership in the area that I could go to?

Thanks

     
Replies
This is Ridiculous!
By -

This is ridiculous! I'm typing this up for my husband. He went into the Toyota City two weeks ago to buy his dream car - a Toyota Tacoma 05. We just got done refinancing the truck, put our downpayment down, all psyched to bring the truck home. The truck was the only left on the showroom floor, the only color available left in this state. One of the service guys was backing the truck out of the showroom for us to get ready to drive home when suddenly we heard a "BOOM!" We didn't think anything of it, because they didn't tell us anything for at least two hours. All they told us was that the truck was still being cleaned out for us.

Then after we did all the paperwork, financing, they finally bring us out to look at the truck. BIG ASS DENT on the side! My husband looked sooo furious. The service guy said that while backing it up, the guy hit the back side against the door, which caused the dent. I'm not just talking about a small dent, it's a big dent. I knew my husband was really disappointed. But we had no choice, we needed a car to bring home to get to work. They offered to fix the dent for free (of course they have to) and the guy said all he has to do is pop out the dent and it will look like new again. So they said for my husband to bring in the truck next week.

So my husband brings the truck in next week on a Wednesday. They said they will be able to pop out the dent in one day should be ready. Comes Thursday, no call. My husband is worried. He finally gets through really late on Thursday. They said that they had to take apart the back part of the truck and install some new parts, repaint it, and refinish it. My husband is so mad by now! I mean, all they said was that they were going to pop the dent out, not take the whole truck apart and repair it like it got into some accident right? My husband was frustrated because he said they didn't even call him to notify him of that change of plans and he was mad also because he tried to call all day and could not get through to the service department.

My husband mentioned either order a new truck or throw in something. I mean, he did go in there to buy a new truck not a truck that got dented after we signed all papers and all already, do you agree? All they said was "We'll throw in a free oil change." My husband was still not happy.

I told him to ask them to order a new truck, he went in there to buy a brand new truck, we paid full price. Instead, we're getting this truck that got dented that wasn't even our fault, and it's just not the same, you know? What if they repaint it and it doesn't match? What if it starts to rust because they took it apart? It was practically damaged good.

Anyway, our options right now is:

1:Have them order a new truck. They said it will take at least one month and we still have to pay for freight fee's equalling $400. Ridiculous?

2:Have them throw in some free things, such as free resurfacing, and knock off a few hundred bucks off the truck.

3:If they don't agree to any of this, my husband get his refund back and go to another dealership.

The problem is, Toyota has the worst service department ever! They treat your car like it's not even important.
My husband was just upset because he was in the unknown about his car for days. He bought it about two weeks ago and his car has been in the shop for at least two weeks now. Ridiculous?

I really just want him to ask them to order a new one and we don't have to pay for any shipping costs. We went in there to pay and buy a new Tacoma truck and instead, we got all of this, a dented truck no calls back, bad service. It was a really bad experience.
Our sales person was great but the service department, thumbs all the way down.

     
Replies
Severe Hesitation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have a 2001 4runner. In June 2012 it began to hesitate upon acceleration. It would bog down then accelerate like there was an invisible turbo. Also a severe highway shake. I took it to the dealer North Hills Toyota pgh pa. Paid 120.00 for diagnosis. They told me my emergency brake was probably hung up causing the hesitation and shake. They wanted 100.00 per side plus labor to replace the bell cranks..I opted to have them rebuilt because its a common but cheap fix. Free to be exact.. So needless to say the hesitation/ shake is still there.. Took it back and left it for 5 days. Finally they said I had a broken belt in rear tire.. Bought a brand new tire mounted and balanced all four tires. 85.00. and they finally diagnosed the hesitation.. said it was the TPS. Throttle Position Sensor. OK fine.. Problem is that you can't just get the sensor you need whole throttle body. So I bought the brand new Toyota throttle body.850.00 dollars..Guess what? NO FIX.. Exactly the same.. so called them back and now there is nothing they can do.. Spoke to a technician supervisor who told me its time to buy a new car.. Very funny. NOT!!!! So now I am out over 1300.00..

     
Replies
Overfilled Tires
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I recently had some work done on my 2004 Corolla at the dealership. Upon checking out I noticed that the workorder showed that they filled my new tires to 32 lbs. I questioned the service representative ( Lisa Kline ) about this, and was told that this was the correct pressure for my car/tires, I told her that the plate in the door read 30psi. I was also told that it was not necessary to check my tires pressure every week as I had been doing, but that once a month was fine.

Three weeks (1,100 miles) later I noticed uneven wear and went back to the tire dealership to have them checked, only to be told that the tires had been overinflated and had caused premature wear. I went back to the dealership and complained, where Ms Kline apologized and said that they usually inflate to tires to "comfort" level for customers, Even though the work order specifies that it is a state regulation that they fill the tires to the car manufacture's spec and not their own.

I spent over $700 on these tires expecting them to last for several more years. Now that Toyota has damaged them I may not get that and don't seem to have any recourse.

     
Replies
Highlander hands free phone system
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

I purchases a 2012 Highlander limited approx 1 week ago with hands free phone capability system. When trying to enter names AND PHONE NUMBER IS WHERE MY problem starts. The system will take the number and when entering the name, it shows NO NAME, I took the vehicle back to dealer and one of the young sales person tried them same thing and came up with the same problem. He then stated that I need a NEW PHONE???????? WHY I used the SAME PHONE IN MY 2009 Highlander and also in my 2011 Toyot Avalon. IS THERE SOME THING WRONG WITH THE SYSTEM IN THE VEHICLE OR WHAT.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >