Preview Review

Next Review

Toyota Motor Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Toyota Tacoma- Chipping Paint, Bent Tailgate
By -

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- 5/20/05 - 4080 miles. Chipping paint- on hood, roof, front quarter panels and in front of rear wheels on bed. Took vehicle to Toyota of Nashua (Nashua, NH) for evaluation. Toyota personnel told me that these were rock chips. I agreed, but stated that the paint was brittle and should not have chipped. Other Tacoma owners with Speedway Blue trucks complained about paint chipping.

I read about these cases on the Internet site TundraSolutions. ** (Service manager) and ** (Regional manager) offered to repaint the bed, but required that I spend $400 for Toyota running boards. I told them that this was unacceptable and that I should not have to spend any money, as this is a Toyota paint defect issue. Issue not resolved.

9/14/05- 10234 miles. Bent tailgate- Approximately Mid-August 2005, I was loading a riding lawn mower into the back of the truck when I felt the tailgate give way. After removing the lawn mower and ramp, I saw that the left side of the tailgate was bent outward. The tailgate did close properly. Tailgate had NO labels that told of a weight limit, nor were there any labels in the truck. The Owner's Manual did not have any warnings of tailgate damage due to excessive weight. I found out soon after that the tailgate can only hold 200 pounds. This is totally unacceptable for a vehicle that is designed to carry ½ Ton.

My 1996 Tacoma could easily load & haul the riding lawn mower. Took the vehicle to the dealer (Toyota of Nashua) on Sept 14, 2005. I showed the vehicle to ** and **. I explained that there was NO warning labels in or on the truck, nor in the Owner's Manual that stated a 200LB weight limit. ** left me outside in 90-degree weather while they went inside to find documentation that states that the tailgate only has a 200LB rating. They came back in about 20 minutes and told me that they could not find any documentation, but reaffirmed that I was at fault for the damaged tailgate and that I abused the truck.

I told them that they were wrong and that this is a Toyota manufacturing defect. And that the problem needs to be corrected AT NO COST TO ME! ** and ** asked me why Toyota would make a cheap tailgate? I said, you should know, you work for the company. I then explained that the light tailgate and composite bed were to save weight, thus increasing gas mileage.

I explained that my family ALL had Toyotas, Father- ‘89 Xtracab Pickup/ '94 Celica ST, Mother- '95 Avalon XLS, Brother- ‘'96 Tacoma Std Cab, Sister- '97 Tacoma Extra Cab, Sister- 2000 RAV4, Me- 1989 Deluxe Pickup, 1996 Tacoma Std Cab V6 and the fact that this is my third Toyota should mean that they would want to take care of my issues to keep a customer happy. All of this fell on deaf ears.

In any case, the truck was not repaired. ** and ** did not give me a receipt to show that my truck was in the shop for this issue, as they felt that the issue was caused by me and that I was wasting their time. I called Toyota Customer Care that evening and let them know that I am a VERY UNHAPPY customer. Issue not resolved.

7/31/07- 36682 miles. Bent tailgate- I had my truck in for other warranty service. I asked Service Advisor ** if Toyota had acknowledged that there were defects with the 2005-2007 Tacoma tailgates and provided a Technical Service Bulletin. He replied that Toyota had no technical service bulletins regarding the tailgate. Furthermore, the dealer (Toyota Of Nashua) had never heard of any other incidents of Tacoma tailgate failures. I explained my situation and he told me that there was nothing further he could do.

The warranty service included- replacement of a rear shock absorber and the main wiring harness ( Air Bag light was on). I have some other wiring passing through the firewall. This wiring consists of a remote radar detector and an Amateur radio antenna cable. I let ** know that this wiring was in place, and could they please be careful to put it back the way they found it. I was assured that the top accessory technician at the dealership would put everything back together correctly.

When I picked up the truck, the radar detector powered ON, but it indicated that the remote sensor was not connected. And the wiring for the Amateur radio antenna was too short to connect to my radio. The antenna wire was coiled up behind the dashboard and was tie-wrapped to an air conditioner Freon line. This line was HOT and it would have melted the insulation on the antenna cable had I driven the truck for more than the 10 minutes it took to get home.

I drove back to the dealer and told them of these problems. ** did not seem interested in helping me, he told me that they could take a quick look at the problem, but that was as far as they would go. I told him that this was unacceptable and that he just lost a customer. I went home and fixed the problems with the antenna and radar detector myself. Later that night, I called the Toyota Customer Care line and I spoke to **. He was no help and he refused to let me speak to his boss.

5/21/09- 51703 miles. I now live in Tucson, Az. I brought the truck to Precision Toyota in Tucson to have an ECU update done (starting issues, cranks for a long time), to look at the tailgate and the paint chipping. I worked with Service Advisor ** and Service Drive Manager **. Point of note- Technical Service Bulletins. This is the second Toyota dealership I have been to that acts like they never heard of a Technical Service Bulletin until the customer shows them a hard copy. Toyota of Nashua also responded in this manner when asked if there was a TSB concerning an issue with a vehicle.

ECU Issue- The truck does have the latest ECU code so there was nothing that could be done regarding the ECU. The tailgate issue is still not resolved, I was told that they need proof that the issue was brought to Toyota's attention before the 3/36 warranty was up. The Paint Chipping issue was not diagnosed in the shop, but I was told by ** and ** that it was road debris and there was nothing they could do about it. ** told me that his '07 Tacoma has rock chips. I still contend that the paint or the painting process is inferior.

They suggested that I call Toyota Customer Care to see what assistance Toyota Corporate could provide. I called Customer Care and spoke to **. My case # is **. I explained to her about my visit to Precision Toyota a few hours earlier. She told me that under the history for my vehicle, **, the New England Regional Service manager, did look at my truck back in September of 2005 concerning the tailgate. At that time, I was refused assistance.

** had determined that I abused and damaged the truck. There was no technical service bulletin at the time. There is now a technical Service Bulletin (BO018-07) dated 11/13/07 concerning the tailgate. Because ** claimed that I was at fault back in 2005, Toyota still refuses to fix my truck. ** reiterated that once a Regional Service manager makes a ruling, it cannot be reversed or superseded. Also, she told me that Toyota would not help me because I admitted to bending the tailgate.

My Response- Toyota did a poor job engineering the tailgate and the problem lies with Toyota manufacturing and customer service. The '09 Tacoma has a heavier tailgate than my truck, and by coming out with a TSB, they acknowledged that there is a problem with the tailgate. Toyota should be fixing ALL defective Tacoma tailgates, regardless of mileage. I will be speaking with the customer service representative at Precision Toyota in the next week.

5/26/09 - I did speak with **, the customer relations from Precision Toyota. He told me that Toyota would not warranty my tailgate. I explained the tailgate issue to him. He made some notes, then told me to call the Customer care line again. I told him that they had already denied my claim. He told me to call again.

I spoke with Toyota Customer Care Line **. She was very pleasant, but offered no help. She told me that the Denver regional office reviewed my case and denied any assistance. 7/24/09- I received a call from Toyota Customer care on 7/23/09 and returned the call on 7/24/09. I spoke to **. I gave her my case number. She looked at the notes and asked if I had been contacted by the Western Regional parts manager.

I told her that I had not been contacted by any representative from the regional office. She told me that the Regional parts manager has declined my request for service. I explained that I will not buy any more Toyotas and I will tell anybody that asks about my truck not to buy a Toyota until my vehicle is fixed to my satisfaction under warranty. She then said “ I am sorry that you are having a problem with your vehicle. Thanks for calling Toyota, have a nice day.” She then hung up on me.

Replies
Advertisement
Harassment to No End!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAPEVINE, TEXAS -- Current customer who will never be one again. They call relentless even when its current, calling 10-15 times per day. on the due date, Rude beyond believe it. Absolutely beyond harassing. Trading the car to get away from them.

Replies
Toyota of Lewisville Sales Associates Offer Fake Quotes to Lure Customers Into the Dealership!!
By -

LEWISVILLE, TEXAS -- THESE PEOPLE ARE HUSTLERS AND SNAKES... STAY AWAY! My wife got a quote on a car over the phone from one of their sales associates. After the offer was made, she took our baby twin girls to the bank to get a cashier's check, and we drove 45 minutes to get to the dealership.

We show up, check in hand, and tell them exactly what we were told on the phone. They say, “Great, why don't you test drive the car before you buy it.” And then, after my wife had driven the vehicle, they explain that they were NOT WILLING TO HONOR THE PRICE THEY OFFERED OVER THE PHONE!

And then the sales manager proceeded to lie through his teeth, claiming the sales associate who made the offer "wasn't answering his phone". But the guy who made the offer was clearly in the building--we were told as such by other employees.

This was a massively painful ordeal, shuttling our baby twins around to get a cashier's check and driving up to the dealership, and we wasted four hours that I wish we could have back. These people don't seem to care at all that they wasted our time.

They don't care that what they're doing is unethical. And they don't seem the least bit troubled by the fact that they lied to a mother of twin babies to lure her into the building so that the sales manager would get a chance to hustler her. These people have no shame, no scruples, and no dignity whatsoever.

Replies
Car Engine Light on My Toyota 2000 Keeps Going On
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DARTMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS -- I got my new Toyota Carroll at the Dart Toyota in Dartmouth in the year 2000. 6 MONTHS after I got it, the engine light went on and they fixed it but it cost me some money. They said that I had to replace the Gas cap. They did but a few months later came back on again. This went on for years. I did not know why it did but they always said they could fix it.

Later one of the guys working there said to me that they told him when I came in for the oil change or came in because of the engine light was on just to reset it and that was what they were doing. He said that they did not know what really was wrong with it and He ask me not to let anyone at the Toyota Dealer know what he said to me but he wanted me to know it. He was so sorry that I was being lied to.

I needed new tires and they put them on and a week later when I went to have my Oil change in the Toyota they said that I needed new tires. I ask for the manager and he apologized and told me it was a misunderstanding. I always went to them for all repairs on the Toyota Carroll and I always thought that they were doing a good job but sometimes I did not like the way they talk to me. I was lied to so many times that I do not want to take my car there anymore.

I am still trying to find out what is wrong with my Toyota Carroll Light engine. I am always taking the car in to the Garage because I am still having problems with the engine light coming on and it is costing me lots of money for the repairs. Can anyone tell me what is really wrong with this car. I have replaced so many parts in this Toyota Carroll and every few months the engine light comes on .

Replies
Advertisement
Misrepresentation of Sales of a Vehicle and Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MATTESON, ILLINOIS -- November of 2006, a 2007 Toyota solara, was purchased by myself (a single mom of 4) and a cosigner was used. 3 yrs into having the vehicle, the engine began to smoke and I was stranded on hwy 57 expressway. Toyota scion of Matteson auto mall was contacted and their service dept immediately sent a tow truck to retrieve me and the vehicle. They suggested and assured me that the vehicle was under warranty and was fixable, called me a few days later, told me my vehicle has been successfully fixed!!

My car had no problems for 1 1/2 yrs, then this same problem reoccurred. I immediately called Toyota and they refused to retrieve me off the expressway this time with my kids. I paid to have my car towed to Toyota scion in Matteson. It stayed there 1 1/2 mths and then I was told that the warranty dept had come out and said there was slug in my engine and that I had no warranty. I've always had a warranty.

Then once they found the warranty, the service mgr at the time, a caucasian gentlemen that stated he was the mgr, told me there were 2 dates missed for oil changes and if I had receipts that I [brought] my car in, they'd help me otherwise come get my car!! Very rude!! We were unable to retrieve those receipts and ended up towing the car home, and not driving the car while paying 636.00 each month, for the next 2 yrs!!

I called several time after leaving with my vehicle, about dropping my warranty, and was given the runaround from the warranty department at Toyota scion in Matteson as well as the car company I was paying my car notes to. Every month I was complaining about my vehicle that wasn't running that I had to pay for, they (the Toyota company I paid my car notes to) would suggest, I contact the store I bought the car from (Toyota scion, in Matteson) and I did, (Toyota scion in Matteson) redirected me back to the car company instead of assisting me.

It's now 4/45/2012, and today is the first time I was told by a ** from Toyota scion in Matteson that I have a little less than a year and I would come into the Matteson store to discuss, discontinuation of my warranty!!! My warranty hasn't been any used to me for well over 3 yrs and for 3 yrs I've been getting the runaround.

I am respectfully requesting my money back. I have this vehicle down to 8 thousand dollars from 36,000, and feel I have been cheated, overlooked, lied to and discouraged into cancelling my warranty! I am a single mother of four and feel taken advantages of. Pls contact me at **. Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter, I've been in distress about this matter for 3 yrs!!! Thank you.

Replies
Transaxle Whine Noise 2006-2010 RAV 4s
By -

I purchased a 2010 Rav4,V6 engine and 5 speed Transmission. After 8,000 miles it started with a transmission whine at 40 mph. Then it did it when I started from a stop, and grew worse up to 60 mph. Took it to the dealer I brought it at in Leesburg, Florida. Was told there was nothing wrong with it. I called Toyota customer service and told them about the whine, was only told to take it back to the dealer. There was no mention of any memo's to dealers.

Took it back to the Toyota dealer, transmission man took it for a ride with me. He heard the whine and we went back to the dealership. At the service department he plugged in a laptop to the computer, said the computer shows trany was OK. I don't know a computer that will show a whine. The whine got more and I was disgusted with the Rav4,traded it for 2011 tacoma. Was told I could get up to 25 mpg. Went on vacation to upstate New York but only got 20 mpg, stopped at a Toyota dealer to get it checked. Was told it was only rated at 21 because it had a 3:73 rear.

Ask them if they had any complaints Rav4 transmissions. The service man looked it up on his computer and showed me a memo # T-SB-0192-10 sent to dealers in July 15,2010.The memo showed service departments what parts to replace, with part numbers and time to replace parts. Showed 11 parts to replace, if that failed replace the transmission. I was angry that my Rav4 was never fixed and I was never told about this memo by Toyota customer service.

When I got home I went to the Toyota dealership I brought it at and talked to the owner as to why I was lied to by his transmission man. He told me he would look into it and call me, to this date he has not called. Called Toyota in California and asked why I was never told by them about the memo send to the dealers. I asked for someone in charge, was told he was in charge {I don't think he was}.

The answer I got from him was "We didn't tell you to get rid of your RAV4." I was forced to get rid of a good RAV4 because I was lied to and it cost me good money to replace it when I should not have had to get rid of it. Toyota and their dealerships couldn't care less about customers complaints and don't want to repair cars if they don't want to. I will never ever buy another Toyota. I have told my family and friends what Toyota and the dealer did to me.

Replies
Outdated Navigation Disk
By -

19001 SOUTH WESTERN AVE, TORRANCE,, CALIFORNIA -- Purchase 2011 Camry XLE with navigation 09/24/2010 came with 2009 navigation disk. Camry that are being sold now 2011 have a 2010 navigation disk. Company wants to charge 200 to 295 for update on car because I purchase car in 2010. Same car now has updated disk install no charge, if purchase a 2011 no matter when you should have 2011 navigation disk. Incident # **. Toyota is doing this to all 2011 sold in 2010. Big rip off. The Toyota company and probably all other car manufactures are doing this charging customers for update.

When new model start production usually in February of that year they do not have that years update so they install the previous year navigation disk. So a 2011 manufactured in 02/2010 will have a 2009 navigation disk. So everyone who buys a 2011 in September through December of 2010 will have the old outdated navigation disk. Then when the auto manufactures upgrades lets say June of 2010 to the new navigation disk you will have the latest upgraded. When you purchase vehicle after January of 2011 that same car will have the upgrade disk at no charge.

How long have the auto manufactures been doing this? That is ripping people 200-295 dollars a person, we are talking millions here. Bottom line is you purchase a 2011 it should have 2011 navigation system in it, if not upgrades to 2011 should be free. You should not be charge twice or three times depending on what month and year you purchased that new vehicle.

Toyota response was "Congratulations on the purchase of your 2011 Camry. We are sorry for your dissatisfaction with the Navigation System DVD. We are sorry to learn that Camry DVD did not meet your expectations. Toyota does not have a program in which we are offering free DVD updates to customers. We have documented your observations and comments at our National headquarters under file # ** where they are reviewed by management.

"Although we cannot guarantee a change like you described would be made, we do know if it were made, it would be because of customers like yourself that provide honest and candid feedback. Comments such as yours provide us the insight necessary to improve our products." All I want is, I purchased a 2011 Camry I want updates till my Navigation Disk is 2011. To get what I paid for not being charged every time there is a new update before 2011.

Replies
None Caring
By -

CAROL STREAM, ILLINOIS -- I was a co-maker for my son on his Toyota auto loan. Things started out good but then he moved to the east coast and got an apartment with friends. The friends all bailed and left him with an expensive apartment. It took most of his money to have a place to live and he stopped making payments. He was 3 months behind when I found out about the situation.

We got the loan caught up quickly. I asked Toyota why I didn't receive a notice at the address they had for me, they told me that they are not required to notify me at all. That that is my problem not theirs. They refused to correct my credit and therefore crushed my credit that I had spent years correcting after a tough financial divorce. I filed a complaint with the BBB and after months received a notice that they would do nothing.

I understand that my son should have told me that he was behind and I would have made the payments on time. So out the door went my credit. My son moved back to the midwest after a year away and continue to make his payments. Then he lost his job, so I started making his payments. Having to give him money to survive until he could find a new job (he started back to school so he wasn't eligible for unemployment), the payments were made before it would go past 30 days.

Once he paid online and hit send, a few days later he looked and they said the payment didn't go through so therefore again, another 1 times 30. Now they start calling after it's 2 weeks past due and I tell them that the payment will be made by the 15th of the month. His payment is due on the 19th. That way he won't go past 30 days and show as a negative on both of our credit reports.

Trouble is that after I tell them when it will be paid, they continue to call and call and call. Asking me the same questions over and over again. I tell them to look at the past payments and they will see that the payments have been made on the 15th for the past months. I was told by their representative that they can call me up to SEVEN times per day!!!

According to the Fair trade commission, they cannot MAKE FREQUENT CALLS TO HARASS YOU. To me to call so many times, this is harassment!!! They basically show that they don't care, you would think that with their recalls they would try a little more to be consumer friendly!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Experience at Toyota of Carlsbad Service Department
By -

CARLSBAD, CALIFORNIA -- Firstly, I was forced to take my Tundra with 40K miles on it in for a defective Fuel Evaporation System leak which is a known faulty component on Tundra's. I was then forced to pay almost $400 out-of-pocket for Toyota's defective part. After 4 trips to the dealer because of this issue I paid for the repair even though it had nothing to do with 'normal' wear on the vehicle. The work was done, I paid and drove my truck home.

Next morning, my truck won't start! I check the battery and my battery is completely dead. Interestingly enough, I had never had this problem and then all of a sudden once Toyota of Carlsbad services my truck the battery is deemed useless. So an hour later Toyota has my truck towed up to their dealership. I receive a call later this day saying that Toyota of Carlsbad will NOT pay for the towing fee of $80 and it will cost another $200 for a new battery because they "feel their repair had nothing to do with your battery issues."

I priced a new battery and battery terminal at my local Napa Auto Parts at $89.00. Toyota of Carlsbad not only attempted to double the price of a simple car battery on me but they are now going to make me pay for a towing bill of $80 because of their faulty repair/repair procedures. So is it just a complete coincidence that my battery, with zero previous issues, is all of a sudden not usable after Toyota of Carlsbad's service team does work on my truck?

The service personnel at Toyota of Carlsbad were not only rude and demeaning to me but also had the nerve to jump start my truck in the service area of their own dealership. They obviously don't have any regard for showing all of their past, present and future customers that they have to jump-start an infuriated customer's vehicle. From a customer service standpoint this is EXACTLY why this dealership had to lay off over 30 service employees 2 weeks ago.

Even one of their own service employees was disgruntled with what had occurred with my vehicle because of his own team's actions as he gave me my truck keys after a jump-start in the parking lot. Ted, thank you. You made a horrible experience just a little bit better.

If you are reading this as a customer I have heard horrid stories of this dealership and went there anyway and look where it got me. I will NEVER go near Toyota of Carlsbad again and I think they are a liability to Toyota's good name. Toyota you need to step in and reevaluate this particular services team's goal, which should be to keep your customers content and not having to share stories like this with potential customers. Thank you.

Replies
Make Sure You Check Your Entire Car After They Provide Service
By -

HACKENSACK, NEW JERSEY -- I have owned new cars for over 30 years and never had a complaint about a dealership till last week. I brought my 2008 Scion xB into the dealership on a Friday for 15,000 mile service as most new car owners do, and the next day noticed a hole in my bumper. It looked as though someone had backed my car into something.

I called the dealership up on Monday morning to complain about the hole and they basically did not want to hear my story. I was immediately told by their service manager Sean to have my insurance company contact theirs. No apology, nor did they want to even see what was done. They did not want to hear about it. I was amazed; I called back and asked to talk to the GM or sales manager. I was told by the switchboard that I should talk to the service manager. I told the lady that I had just talked to the service manager and did not like his response. She said "I'm sorry but he is the man to talk to."

I was furious so I called the Scion 800 number and told them about the incident. They were shocked also but told me the car dealerships were independent and handles things their own way. I talked to my insurance company and they told me to get an incident number. But since I did not report this to Scion when I was picking up my car, the service manager did not open an incident report.

I guess I was wrong about car dealerships. I now know that every time I leave the dealership I need to walk around the car to see if anything had been damaged. I have not done that before in 30 years but guess I have to start doing that now. I will never buy a Scion again and will definitely not give Toyota of Hackensack any more business.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Toyota Motor Corporation Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
99 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Toyota Motor Corporation
25 Atlantic Avenue
Erlanger, KY 41018-3188
800-331-4331 (ph)
www.toyota.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Manufacturers