Preview Review

Next Review

Travelocity Airline Bookings Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Customer Service in PI Are Nasty!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- 1 Star experience. Horrible Customer Service. It took me approximately 2 hours to finally reach someone in Vegas that can speak English. Then, after all that waiting and call transfers, I explained that I needed to reschedule my return flight due to illness. The BS Flight Insurance is another Scam. This Company must be shut down!

Replies
Advertisement
Travelocity Idiots
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have spent the last 3 weeks trying to get a refund for my airfare from Travelocity. I scheduled a flight that had a significant schedule change that I did not accept. According to airline policy I am entitled to a full refund. I have spent countless hours on hold and have received numerous emails from Travelocity disputing my entitlement to a full refund.

I finally received a refund for one ticket and am now in dispute with them once again for a full refund of the other ticket that was part of the original itinerary. They continue to make mistakes with this account and are not owning up to it. It is ridiculous that I have had to argue about what is rightfully mine. I have received authorization from the airline and still Travelocity, as the middle man, continues to argue with me.

Replies
Flight Cancellation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- Travelocity really sucks. I got a ticket for a business trip. Knowing that the trip might be delayed or changed I opted to get the trip cancellation insurance that was $50 more. When I had to cancel over a week prior to the departure I was able to do so but they hit me with a $200 cancellation fee. Plus they did not refund credit it card but rather gave me a credit that I must use within the next 12 months. I can't give the ticket to my wife, kids, or anyone. Just a real scam. The fact I paid extra for trip cancellation insurance is just a joke. I will never use Travelocity again.

Replies
Poor Experience With Travelocity
By -

I'm writing because I've had such a frustrating experience with Travelocity. I feel I must share it to warn others about this company. I booked a flight with them and never got any type of confirmation email. I waited several days and until a few days before my flight, and finally had to call their customer service department to get it. I couldn't use the online option because the only search criteria were trip ID, which I did not have.

I call customer service and am directed to someone in India who I finally get to understand that I don't have a trip ID and never got a confirmation email. He is finally able to understand and send me my trip information. He also tells me I should receive trip updates from now on, even though there's a banner on the email that says Travelocity doesn't have my email address so won't' send any further updates. "No worries," he says; I'll get them.

A day before the flight, where I normally expect to receive advance check-in notices from the airline, I've received nothing. I try to search for my trip via the website and my trip ID, and I'm advised I have no trips booked. Not wanting to deal with their customer service in India again, I resort to going to the airport and going to a kiosk to print my boarding passes and hoping for the best. Thankfully I'm able to get my passes, but find out one of the seat assignments has been changed. I've been moved to the back of the plane, just outside the bathroom. Lovely.

A month after my flight was charged to my credit card, I open my subsequent credit card bill and see another charge from Travelocity for trip insurance to the tune of $19.95. Upon calling customer service (in India) about this charge, I find out that you are automatically enrolled in and charged for trip insurance - you must deselect it in order to avoid being charged! This, in my opinion, is a sleazy and misleading way of doing business.

I did verify the email confirmation noted I was being charged, but who reads all the fine print? I've never had any type of insurance automatically added in booking any flight with any other airline, or rental car place for that matter. My fault; they took advantage of a sucker. Calls to their customer service dept in India and US-based customer relations department were answered, but they would not credit this charge, even given the poor experience all the way from start to finish.

I simply would advise others to be wary. The trip confirmation email problems, lack of direct check-in emails for flights, lack of trip details when searching on their site once I had my trip ID, and automatic charges for insurance unless you specifically say you don't want it were a pain in the rear for me and enough that I had to notify others. Finally, hope you enjoy seats close to the bathroom no matter what you choose because that's what I got.

Replies
Advertisement
I'll Never Book With Travelocity Again!
By -

TORONTO, CANADA -- Hi fellow travelers! I am writing from Toronto, Canada. Sorry about the long review, but it was necessary, in order to illustrate how INCOMPETENT, UNHELPFUL and probably even DISHONEST Travelocity customer service agents are. I booked two round-trip tickets with Travelocity.ca for my wife and son on Dec 30, 2008. Nothing fancy - no hotel bookings, no car rentals, just two simple return tickets, yet Travelocity managed to screw them up royally.

The trip will only take place in July 2009, but I decided to book early. The trip is from Toronto, Canada (YYZ) to Bacolod, Philippines (BCD). The tickets were booked through Travelocity and issued by Philippine Airlines. The Toronto, Canada to Vancouver, Canada (YVR) leg of the trip is an Air Canada flight, and Philippine Airlines will take them the rest of the way. Two weeks after my booking, I received an email from Travelocity, indicating that due to flight changes made by the airlines, my wife and son would no longer be able to catch one of their connecting flights, therefore I needed to call Travelocity "€œurgently."

I called Travelocity and the customer service representative told me that she must change the last leg of their return flight which is from Vancouver to Toronto. Instead of Air Canada flight #100, she must re-book them on Air Canada flight #132, which leaves Vancouver two hours later than flight #100. After half an hour of putting me on hold while she was supposedly contacting Air Canada, she finally told me that everything was OK and that she cancelled the booking for flight #100 and booked them on flight #132. The next day when I logged into my Travelocity account to check the itinerary for the trip, it still said flight #100.

I called Travelocity to point out the error and they changed my itinerary to show flight #132. Two days later, when I checked my Travelocity itinerary again, it showed that my wife and son were apparently booked on both flight #100 and flight #132! Worried, that Travelocity apparently booked my wife and son both on two separate flights and that I would eventually be charged for the two extra plane tickets from Vancouver to Toronto, I called Travelocity again to straighten things out and so they removed flight #100 from the itinerary and all was well, or so I thought!

About two weeks later, I got another email from Travelocity saying that due to airline schedule changes, my trip would need to be changed (again) and that I must contact them urgently. After calling Travelocity, the agent changed all three legs of the return flight and gave me the new flight numbers as well, but after I got off the phone with her, the ENTIRE RETURN FLIGHT FROM BACOLOD TO TORONTO DISAPPEARED FROM THE TRAVELOCITY ITINERARY!

Three more phone calls to Travelocity, each lasting from about 30 minutes to one hour (!) because of them putting me on hold for a long time "while €œthey are contacting the airlines€," the customer service representative claiming that they could not contact Philippine Airlines because the "€œticket office is closed"€ or "€œit is taking too long to get through€," they finally managed to get in touch with them and the Travelocity customer service representative reassured me that he got confirmation from Philippine Airlines indicating that my itinerary was good and that my Travelocity itinerary would be fixed up immediately and that it would accurately reflect the flights that my wife and son were booked on. Well, guess what?

I got off the phone with Travelocity, logged into my Travelocity account to check my itinerary again and two legs of the return trip was still missing. I called Travelocity again (this time, I got the same customer service representative I spoke with earlier), and he simply told me not to worry about the Travelocity itinerary since he already told me that he checked with Philippine Airlines and they reassured him that my itinerary was OK. He however offered no explanation as to why my Travelocity itinerary was all screwed up. He told me that it was a "€œcomplicated situation"€ and that a supervisor would call me back.

I should mention that until this point, I had been very friendly and patient with all the customer service representatives at Travelocity, but by now, I've had enough! I told him that I paid over $4,200 for the two airplane tickets so Travelocity should treat me as a valuable customer and help me out, instead of giving me the runaround. I also told him that Travelocity is severely incompetent and I have absolutely no confidence in their booking if they cannot straighten out a simple error in an itinerary after three days worth of phone calls!

Therefore, I told him to cancel the tickets! (This seems to have gotten his attention!) He put me on hold again for about 15 minutes and when he came back on the line, he told me that he contacted Philippine Airlines and that they were going to email the trip itinerary to me directly, so I could be reassured that everything is OK. Well, I immediately received the trip itinerary from Philippine Airlines by email (Thank you Philippine Airlines!) and guess what?

THE PHILIPPINE AIRLINES ITINERARY SHOWS THAT MY WIFE AND SON ARE STILL BOOKED ON ALL THE EXACT SAME FLIGHTS (INCLUDING THE AIR CANADA FLIGHT #100 FROM VANCOUVER TO TORONTO) AS THEY WERE BOOKED ON THE ORIGINAL BOOKING DATE OF DEC 30, 2008!!! This means that apparently, Travelocity made no changes whatsoever to my booking, except to screw up my Travelocity itinerary! Incredible! The story does not end here. Here comes the best part!

I called Air Canada reservations just to make sure that the Philippine Airlines itinerary was correct. I was told by Air Canada that we were not booked on either flight #100, nor flight #132, BECAUSE TRAVELOCITY COULD NOT MAKE UP ITS MIND AS TO WHICH FLIGHT WE SHOULD BE ON, SO FINALLY AIR CANADA STOPPED SAVING THE SEAT FOR US! With the trip being still six months away, however, there were plenty of empty seats still on both flights, so I asked the Air Canada customer service representative to please book us on flight #100, which he did. Thank you Air Canada!

So, there you go. Air Canada fixed in 1 two-minute phone call what Travelocity could not fix after 3 days of phone calls. Looking at my whole trip itinerary on his system, the Air Canada agent even told me that there was enough time to catch all the connecting flights. So why did Travelocity want to change my flights on a trip still six months away? Oh yes, and Travelocity still cannot explain why my Travelocity itinerary has two legs of my return trips missing. One Travelocity customer service agent told me, that it was just a "€œcomputer glitch€".

One strange thing about Travelocity customer service representatives (all located in India as far as I know) is that they don'€™t want to help you with your problem, unless you threaten to cancel your booking. Talking to them is like talking to a robot. They give you "€œscript-like"€ responses without answering your question. At times, they pretend not to understand your question. Trying to get help from them is like banging your head against a brick wall.

A big part of the problem in dealing with Travelocity is that each time you call, you get a different agent so you could end up with more than one agent trying to make changes to your booking at the same time, which needless to say, will lead to a lot of confusion and a lack of accountability on the agent'€™s part. OK, let me finish my review on a positive note. What did I learn from my experience with Travelocity and what advice can I give to my fellow travelers?

Never book with Travelocity again! Booking with Expedia, CheapTickets.com or any other online travel booking service for that matter, won'€™t solve your problem either, since judging by some of the reviews, they may be just as bad. (Although it is hard to imagine that anything can be as bad as booking with Travelocity.) Instead of booking online, go to a "€œreal"€ travel agent who is accountable to you, or if you must book online, book directly with the airline. Do not book a trip more than 6 to 8 weeks in advance, in order to minimize the chance of airlines making changes to your scheduled flights.

If Travelocity screws up your itinerary, try to get them to request the airline itself to email your itinerary to you directly. Threaten to cancel your ticket if Travelocity refuses to help you with this. Once you have your itinerary from the airline, it should have your e-ticket number on it. With this e-ticket number, you can now contact the airline at anytime before your flight in order to make sure that you are booked on a specific flight or even request changes or cancellations to the booking yourself.

Replies
Travelocity Does NOT Honor Their Own Cancellation Credit Rules
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I had to cancel (or rather postpone) a flight I'd booked in April 2012 for a flight scheduled to depart May 2012. Per the emailed restrictions, I made note to rebook within the year, i.e., prior to the date I booked the flight. Well, when I went to re-book, I was told the credit had "expired" as I had to FLY by the date the flight was booked, not just re-book as the restrictions sent to me at the time of cancellation had stated. The wording in the email provided was unclear and incomplete at best, intentionally misleading at worst. Here's an excerpt: "Carriers either require you to re-book before your original departure date or may allow 1 year from the date tickets were originally issued."

As I read it, the wording states that carriers may require the customer to RE-BOOK, not FLY within the one year from the date tickets were originally issued. Flight was scheduled to depart in May 2012 with the ticket booked/issued in April 2012 so one would assume that re-booking within the year of the date that the tickets were originally issued would mean prior to April 2013. It does not state anywhere that one would need to fly by April 2013.

I also spoke with a Travelocity representative at the time of cancellation and no additional info was provided other than what I emailed to myself immediately following the conversation with the Travelocity representative so that I made note of those additional restrictions, i.e., the $130 change fee, that re-booking had to happen through Travelocity, that it had to be booked over the phone not online, and that the flight had to be with the same carrier with the same person travelling. All reasonable and understood.

However, neither the email sent nor the Travelocity representative that I spoke with that day made any mention that when I re-booked, I would have to fly by or before the year anniversary of the date the ticket was issued, only that the ticket needed to be re-booked by that date. As many have done before me, I got on the phone with a Travelocity representative - today he was going by the name of "**," a supervisor from a call center abroad who unfortunately was of no help whatsoever.

Instead, simply resorted to repeating whatever "policy" that was placed in front of him which of course did not address the poorly worded restrictions noted in the email sent to me by Travelocity, i.e., the "policy" that he kept repeating was information NOT included in the email restrictions sent to me at the time of cancellation so how is a customer to know about these 'new' restrictions until they attempt to re-book their flight? Wholly frustrating and unacceptable as I was simply trying - as it was explained to me both over the phone and in writing at the time of cancellation - to use the credit to book another flight with the same airlines within the year deadline.

Attempting to address this directly with Travelocity was a complete waste of time so I am now trying to find a solution via the credit card company as one would assume they have more influence than a lone customer. Needless to say, I will NOT be using Travelocity ever again unless this formal dispute via the credit card company is resolved to my satisfaction. Until then - I give you fair warning - AVOID TRAVELOCITY at all costs!!! I lost over $700 and far too much time and aggravation for the few dollars I may (or may not) have saved going through them.

Company Response 05/09/2013:

Hi! We're sorry for the problems you've experienced and want to help. Please send an email with your Trip ID to mediacustomercare@travelocity.com.
Regards, Lawra A, Travelocity

Replies
Complaint - Notification Procedures
By -

Here's my statement I wrote to consumer.relations@Travelocity.com. In September, 2011 I booked a round trip to Las Vegas for myself and ** through you (Travelocity). The trip included 2 round trips on American Airlines (AA), and 3 nights hotel at the Cosmopolitan. The outbound leg and the hotel stay were both fine and I have no complaints, it's the return flight that is the issue here.

On December 3rd I looked on AA's website just to make sure everything was good for our travel on the 12th, and I found a significant problem. It showed our return flight was on the same day as our inbound flight (both Dec 12th). I called AA to fix this and they did, by booking us on an earlier flight (1450, as opposed to 1745), on the original date (12/15) which I knew would be an issue, just wasn't sure how much of an issue. They could not issue seats due to the flight being fully booked and was told by AA to check in 4 hours early to see if any exit row seats were available (they only issue exit row seats at the airport 4 hours before flight time).

I now was booked on the return flight, but with no guarantee as to seats being available for us. I asked who rebooked us for the same day (Dec 12th) and they told me you (Travelocity) did. In addition to no seats being available for us, we needed more time in Las Vegas, which is why I originally booked the later flight, but AA had no more flights to ORD on 12/15. I found out yesterday by speaking to AA that it was AA that canceled the original flight, which is why you rebooked us.

AA also said it's not their responsibility to inform us of a change when the flight was booked through and agent, it's the agent's responsibility, which leads me to my next problem. I was not informed by anyone (AA or you) about this! That's why the outbound flight was changed to late. It was canceled in early October, and rebooked by you at the same time, but nobody informed me. Had someone informed my about all this, other alternatives could have been made, but when we tried to re-book and another airline, yesterday (12/15, at 1400hrs) all were sold out, except on flight on Spirit Airlines flight 356 at 1845hrs.

The cost of this rebooked flight was $549.38, but was necessary for the 2 reasons I stated above, which was rebooked, and paid for by us over the phone with Spirit Airlines. The receipt was faxed to you at 210-764-4772 this morning. My basic issue with all this is that NOBODY informed me of this at the time the flight was canceled. Had I been informed in early October when it was canceled I'm sure there would have been many options for rebooking, but when you rebook 4 hours prior to your flight time, the options are limited at best.

I called a representative of yours and was told an email was sent to me when the original flight was canceled. An email? No phone call? No letter? Just an email? I didn't not receive your email probably due to it being sent to my junk folder, so your solution was just the email for contacting me? It went until December 3rd when I found out about all this, on my own, with your solution of just rebooking our flight for return on the SAME DAY as our arrival, with zero confirmed notification. I find that thoroughly unacceptable for you to just send an email with no confirmation that I actually received it.

What should have happened was I should have been called by phone, or barring that, a letter to my mailing address. You have all my contact information. I was told yesterday by your representative to write this statement and fax the receipt for the new flight on Spirit in order for you to look at the facts of this case and make a determination as to whether we should be reimbursed for your expense of the new flight.

Based on the facts I've laid out for you here, I think this should be a case for reimbursement because you had ample opportunity to rectify this but didn't, other to rebook us for the same day as our arrival and sending an email that I didn't receive. This whole thing caused a ton of problems for us yesterday and none of this was our fault. I fault AA for canceling the original flight, and you for not contacting me properly.

Replies
No Help & No Customer Service
By -

My friend and I recently traveled from LaGuardia airport to Las Vegas. We arrived at LaGuardia to find out that our flight to Oregon would be delayed and that we would miss our connection flight to Las Vegas; we wouldn't be able to leave Oregon until the next day. We both had to be at work the next day so we had to cancel our flight and book through another airlines ourselves. We talked to our first airline (the one we booked through Travelocity) about a refund. They told us we needed to contact Travelocity because they can't issue a refund. I called Travelocity and spoke with someone who put me on hold to verify the flight delay with the airlines.

When he came back on the phone he told me that Travelocity can't issue refunds, we have to go through the airlines that can either refund us or give us another flight. I'm not sure why he had to verify the delay with the airlines if he knew he couldn't give me a refund anyway, but okay. So I call the airlines 1-800 number. They tell me again that I need to speak to Travelocity. I call Travelocity again only to have to repeat my story 3x and then the same thing happened. I was on hold to "verify" with the airlines what happened and so I contacted the airlines customer relations number.

I finally received help and was told that the airlines don't receive anything but our names and flights from Travelocity and that the tickets are paid for by Travelocity so they cannot refund me. But, they authorized a refund and I just needed to speak to a supervisor at Travelocity and give them a number I was given to authorize the return from the airlines. So, I came home and immediately called Travelocity. I immediately asked for a supervisor and the girl on the phone insisted that I had already called them and they told me multiple times I could not get a refund.

I tried to explain to her that I had finally gotten approval and had talked to the airlines and she would not listen and I had to ask for her supervisor repeatedly until she finally took my phone number in case we got disconnected and put me on hold. The supervisor came on and told me I would have to be on hold for another 10 to we got disconnected and he called 20 minutes later. He said we are able to get a refund but that I won't get it for another 6 to 8 weeks so we'll see how that will turn out.

I'm more upset with the run around that I received from Travelocity and that they are no help to you at all. Had I not spoken with a helpful person from my airline I would have gotten no where with Travelocity. This is the second time I have had problems with them and will not be using them in the future. The customer service is non-existent and they keep you going in circles and I never seem to get the full story.

Replies
Advertisement
Misleading
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Warning, their services are charged in USD. The flight I booked was within Canada. Nowhere was there any indication that they were charging USD until I reviewed the itinerary i.e. too late. This is underhanded and I won't use them again.

Replies
Travelocity Now Charges a Booking Fee on Airline Tickets
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased two round trip tickets on Travelocity, and was charge a $41.00 booking fee. I purchase your tickets from other travel sites or directly from airlines to get cheapest tickets.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Travelocity Airline Bookings Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 42 ratings and
79 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Travelocity
4200 Buckingham Boulevard MD 1400
Fort Worth, TX 76155
1-888-709-5983 (ph)
www.travelocity.com
Product/Services
Compare Travel Services