U-Haul Truck Rentals

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
109 reviews & complaints.
www.uhaul.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
UHAUL
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- 2 Weeks ago 1/20/2004 I personally went to the Company owned/operated UHAUL to reserve a truck for an upcoming in-town move.

I made the reservation for pickup 1/30/2004 5:00pm and Return due date no later then 1/31/2004 5:00pm. The location that I went to make the reservation/pickup was at:

UHAUL Co. of I45
16405 I-45 NORTH
HOUSTON, TX 77090
(281) 440-5113

I have the Reservation contract ‘RENTAL CONTRACT ADDENDUM’ with me and I was billed $100 on my credit card for reservation deposit (this was for 26 ft truck, moving pads and dolly). I have a witness who was present with me and can vouch the reservation.

Now on the day of 1/30/2004, I got at the store at 4:50pm to pick up the rental and once they looked up my reservation, I was informed I had to return the truck prior to 7:00am next morning.

The person who had taken the reservation informed me that they had a new manager that had just started after my reservation had been made. And that he had made this change so the truck that I had reserved is supposed to be in prior to 7:00am and out for next reservation, and then back by 3:00pm for the next reservation. I was not informed of this change and no reason was given to me as to why this change was made.

And off course the manager was NOT available to comment.

I informed that my reservation is until 5:00pm next day, not 7:00am, I can not move middle of the night, plus I informed the desk employees that I had made arrangement for some Friends to help me move and they are coming at 7:00am 1/31/2004. Not at middle of the night.

So at around 5:25pm finally I get the truck and the following morning I get a call from the Manager, telling that the truck should have been back at 7:00am and that he was going to charge my credit card $100.

I and few of my Friends worked really hard to get the work done early, because we felt sorry for the other renters. So finally I returned the truck at 11:35am 1/31/2004, and the manager had charged $10,000 on my credit card. He gave a credit of $9,725.52 (after taking $100 late fee).

I have a witness from all 3 occurrences:
1. reservation
2. pick-up
3. return

Not only that the manager tried to snatch my original reservation contract from my hand. He was very rude and abrasive. When I tried to take down his name he immediately took off his name tag, I was only able to get his first name Jacob.

Also the trucked given to me had bare metal on the clutch and break, the shift stick groves was all worn out, very difficult to shift the gears. Basically the Truck was a Road Hazard to the public. I was shocked and astonished that such a Vehicle would be allowed to operate on the road.

This has been a nightmare move in part because of the location I rented the truck from. I am still recovering from that move. I was hoping by renting from the company owned location, this would be smooth uneventful move.

I sent the above information to U-Haul Co. 'Uhaul Customer Service' via the Web and received the following email.

-----Original Message-----

From: Uhaul Customer Service [mailto:uhaul_customer_service@uhaul.com]

Sent: Wednesday, February 04, 2004 7:02 PM
Subject: Re: Internet Customer Action Form

Thank you for your communication received by our Customer Service Department.

Reservations are based on availability according to the number of reservations scheduled at each location. The scheduling of equipment is based on available time frames ranging from 1 hour up to a 24-hour rental period. Demand for renting equipment is higher Friday-Sunday, at the end

of the month and during the summer. Renting Sunday through Thursday

during off peak times allows more flexible scheduling and for a longer rental period. U-Haul schedules more than one family to use the equipment during the day on Friday through Sunday.

When a location is not able to assist you with your rental needs, they should refer you to the Regional Office for additional help. We apologize for any breakdown of communication.

Our locations assist many families in moving across town and across the country. These families, like yourself, rely on previous customers to return the equipment within the scheduled time on their contract in order to make their move. We are sure you can understand how important it is to return the equipment on time.

When signing the contract you agreed to the Terms and Conditions of the Rental. Document Holder on back "# 6-Customer will return the Equipment to U-Haul at the time agreed and within the allowed mileage stated. A fee will be charged for any days or mileage over those stated in the contract." We can understand you are not happy with the late charge, however, no adjustment is warranted.

You are a valued customer and we want to send you $40.00 in VIP Certificates. The certificate is valid for two years and can be applied

towards any future rental or purchase. Please respond with your

acceptance and a current mailing address so that we may mail out your certificates.

We look forward to your acceptance and our efforts in the future will be guided by this experience.

Sincerely,
Pawlla Johnson
U-Haul Customer Service

=================================================
And this was my response to them:

Ms Pawlla,
Thanks you for the prompt response.

Having read your email below; let me make a point in reference to:

"# 6-Customer will return the Equipment to U-Haul at the time agreed and within the allowed mileage stated."

"The AGREED TIME", at the time of reservation was 5:00pm 1/31/2004 and As per my email I have the "RENTAL CONTRACT ADDENDUM" with me, which The manager tried to abruptly snatch from me and I have a witness In regards to the conservation at the time of the reservation.

And the witness can testify that the employee agreed on a RETURN 1/31/2004 5:00pm.

Also one other major factor that you have overlooked the manager that made this change, should have notified the customer in advance so as The "CUSTOMER" can make other arrangements. Let me point out in your RENTAL CONTARCT ADDENDUM you charge the customer $50 cancellation Fee if cancellation is not received AT LEAST 24 HOURS prior to the schedule.

So by giving me the $40 in VIP Certificate is not acceptable, since I would not step into this location in my lifetime again. So please reconsider your offer.

Thank you in advance

     
Replies
Never again use UHAUL
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I surely do hope this letter and statement reaches the attention of people who can change the way you do business....because your company is no longer about customer service. A month ago I had made a reservation for a truck, knowing full well Memorial weekend was going to be a busy one, but confident a month planning was plenty of time. About a week to go I decide to email and make sure my reservation was still on for sat, May 29 and was told yes. On Friday though, when I was supposed to get a call before 5, I decided to call myself and had learned the following: UHaul overbooks all trucks, reservations online do not reserve anything and the so called area managers are nothing more than a glorified operator. I was told I might not have a truck because of the busy weekend and yada, yada, yada......which is why I booked a month ago. I decided to talk to a supervisor and let her know that I was flying into Houston a few hours later and needed to know fairly quickly if I was not going to get a truck. She Guaranteed me a truck sometime sat, but was not sure what time and would call me back....of course no call back and I had to go catch my flight. Saturday morning arises and I was told I would get a call before 9 am. Of course no call again, so I call and get told the same thing....sir, this is a busy weekend and we cannot get everyone who booked a truck in one, so if you wait by the phone we will call you by 5. Being as patient as possible I wait and actually call a few UHaul places in town and learned a few things from 6 different UHaul employees: UHaul employees know that everything is overbooked, they all know the internet reservation system is false and they are not pleased with the way things are handled.....5:30 rolls around and I finally get a call, but am told there are no trucks and have to wait until Sunday. Well, half the weekend is gone and I am stuck in Houston with no truck and getting irate with your so-called area managers. I am told that they are working on getting people who reserved a truck a year ago and cannot handle people like me who reserved a month ago. I am not that stupid, no one in their right mind could know they are moving out and need a truck a year in advance....maybe one or two. So I decide to call Penske....who helped me out of a jam and got me a truck...a company who knows what is available and were easy and pleasant to work with. What really got under my skin was we passed a UHaul place heading out of town and saw at least 25 trucks sitting in the lot. Well Sunday rolls around and I get a call from UHaul about 11:00 am telling me they might have something later in the afternoon......and I said to cancel because I already had other means and was on my way to san antonio. Supposedly it was noted, but then get another call from UHaul around 5:30 on Sunday and this time am told that there are no trucks available and have to wait until Monday. Apparently your company's system of reservations is not a good one and there are numerous folks, including UHaul employees that agree. Not only do I plan on never using another UHaul truck, but am telling everyone I know about the ordeal, as well as sending out letters like this one to all those who will listen. I thank you for your time in reading this.

     
Replies
Ridiculous Cleaning Charge; Attempt at Overcharge for Mileage and Gas
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BETTENDORF, IOWA -- $28 (almost $43) of b. s. charges: Upon my timely return of the truck, I forgot to take out three very light and compact items that were nicely placed near the overhead door of the back of the truck (items that I’d intended to place back in my car; it had been a long hot day, it was late at night. I was very tired, and I was distracted by having to write a note regarding U-haul’s incorrect mileage and gas gauge readings—more on that below).

Nevertheless, I should have not have left them in there. I did call them first thing the next morning about this, but it was too late. They charged me $26.75 to “clean” it, which is ridiculous and frankly downright dishonest; it could not have taken more than one to two minutes to reach into the truck from the ground, pick the items up with one hand, and throw them into the nearby dumpster.

This would not have been so bad were it not for the extra charges I would have incurred had I not spotted the errors and had them corrected by the reps earlier in the day: the mileage and gas gauge readings had both been off—in U-hauls favor for approximately $15. The manager’s attitude at that time appeared to be such that I was making a fuss about nothing.

His last words about the matter were that the $25 cleaning charge was going to stay, because he had taken care of the mileage and gas gauge problems. Excuse me, but those were your errors, not mine, to take care of; they should not have reflected poorly upon me and influenced you to make an unfair decision regarding the other matter of “cleaning” the truck.

I’ve been going to this company (Bettendorf, IA) for over 20 years. This is the last time.

     
Replies
Worst Moving Experience Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HARDEEVILLE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- About a month in advance, I reserved a truck and car transport to be available at 8am in Hardeeville. When I called the morning of my move to check and make sure that the truck was ready for pickup, the dealer "had no reservation under my name and no available trucks". After spending all morning on the Uhaul hotline, I found out that Uhaul changed my reservation location and time at the last minute. They did email me this information but only about 12 hours before I was scheduled to pick up the truck! Because my computer was already packed, I hadn't seen it.

Now, I had to drive about an hour North of my home to pick up my truck, and THEN drive about an hour south of my home to pick up the auto transport in a different location! Also, my truck would not be ready until 5:30pm! They also did not have any dollys available, which I had also reserved. Because of all these changes, I was not ready with the truck in time for the movers that I hired. I spent my entire day driving around to different Uhaul locations trying to get my equipment, when it should have been ready at 8am! When I actually got to checking out at Uhaul, the experience was just as bad. The server was running so slow that it took me two hours to check out. The computer denied 2 of my credit/debit cards which had PLENTY to cover the cost. Finally the man told me "Oh, on the last day of the month the server is so busy it usually just denies all credit cards".

When I asked him what to do, he told me to go to the bank and get cash. This was on a Saturday afternoon when banks are not even open, and why would I want to carry thousands of dollars in cash? If this happens every month on the last day of the month, shouldn't that be something Uhaul addresses and fixes? Finally after many tries, the card randomly went through and was accepted. When I tried speaking to the regional manager in Savannah about the hundreds of dollars of costs I was incurring (movers cancelling, another night in a hotel because of the late pickup, gas to drive the Uhaul several hours out of the way) she simply told us that the reservations are only a "preference" and are not guaranteed and she could not discount or compensate us in any way.

I moved last year with Penske and the whole thing ran so smoothly, it makes Uhaul look like a joke. Avoid this company if you can- they are unprofessional and they will inconvenience the customer without a second thought, even when it is costing you hundreds of extra dollars.

By the way- the poor employees of the "neighboorhood dealers" were mostly nice. Its the corporation as a whole that screws you.

     
Replies
Thievery of Gas Mileage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DESOTO, TEXAS -- I rented a truck today at the U-Haul in Desoto, Tx. A 10' truck. I unfortunately did not request that the clerk show me the mileage inside the truck because I didn't know I needed to verify what the clerk had written on the contract (too trusting. I forgot people tend to not be honest nowadays).But after this experience I know better.. because when I returned with the truck my correct mileage was 7 miles....this is all I went...U-Haul charged me for 37 miles.

I will never use their services again, I believe the clerk was attempting to make up for some used mileage she had to account for and chose to account for the mileage by over charging me. Before I left with the truck I had asked the clerk for a van, she became very insistent that I drive this truck. Hindsight now tells me there was something screwy about that.

Food for Thought: Please make them verify mileage before you use their rental equipment. It may save you being overcharged (theft by person). I do plan to inform other authorities of this matter.

     
Replies
U-Haul Is Absolutely Awful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPORATE -- This is my second bad experience with U-haul. The first was just dealing with a jerk at the pickup site, which I didn't blame on U-haul, so I chose to use them again. Very bad choice.

When we picked the truck up the windshield was filthy, and we found out a few miles down the road that there was no washer fluid.

Then, the truck died - multiple times - during the trip. Once on a one lane mountain road with no shoulder and no cell service. The only blessing is that after sitting a while the truck would start up again and allow us to continue, until the next time it died.

But the biggest reason that I will NEVER use U-haul again is how they handled all of this. When we called during the trip, the one time we had cell signal when it died, we spent over ten minutes on hold with their 'emergency' line, before giving up and driving on. I called customer service after the trip (the woman on the phone was very pleasant), and I was told that senior management would get back to me within three days. They didn't.

After a few weeks I then sent an email via the U-haul website. I did receive a call then, from a man who was prone to interupting me, claimed there were no problems found with the truck, and offered me a $50 U-haul credit. He could not have made it any more obvious how little he cared.

     
Replies
First the A/C, threatened beating & death, then serious illness including heart attach
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMECULA CA, PRESCOTT AZ, CALIFORNIA -- I’ve got a Whopper of an abuse case; was even threatened with death and a beating. I’m 73 and rented 3 trucks for my move from CA to AZ. The air conditioning went out on the lead truck, the one I was riding in, as we filled up to make the drive. I suffered indescribably and have respiratory and vision problems ending in a heart attack last week. I couldn't reach their ‘hotline’ until the dealer finally called for me and they called me.

I was reaching the Palm Springs area, with my driver and dogs suffering; we even had to turn on the heater full force to avoid overheating. Amazing. They directed me to their Palm Desert area shop, where the owner stopped everything to work on ‘my’ truck, resented it and it showed. He wouldn't tell me anything about his progress, then after about 4 hours I called Uhaul to tell him to release the truck; I could wait no longer. He threatened my life then said he would ‘beat me up’ when I left his ‘office’. I called the cops for police escort off the premises.

The grades out of Phoenix were as bad, and I moved the dogs to the 2nd truck back; they were dying, and it took a lot of box moving but we saved them. We were extremely late arriving in Chino Hills, I had to hire a LaboReady crew to offload and send the drivers back in an expensive Avis one-way rental. We had to stay overnight in a hotel but got no rest. The entire schedule was woven to include my wife driving a truck and trailer with our livestock, but that went all to Hell also, needless to say. It was an absolute fiasco, and physically harmful at many levels.

The ‘regional manager’ doesn't respond to my emails or calls and I’m going after them in Riverside CA Superior Court for actual and punitive damages.

Can you help me post this on your site?

Tony & Lynda Ruiz
[snip]

     
Replies
U-haul Useless Roadside Assistance and un safe truck
By -

STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA -- Useless Roadside Assistance and unsafe truck

On Nov 2007, I was helping my friend move to the Bay Area and told him I would drive one of the U-Haul trucks. The truck that I was assigned was old and somewhat beat up, but I assumed would be in good working order. The trucks 'check engine' light was on.

The problems started when I was traveling down the hill to I-580 when I applied the brakes and the pedal hit the floor. I pumped the brakes and the brakes and the truck slowed down just fine. As I was traveling on I-580 I heard a loud pop from the left rear of the truck. The pop was the inner left rear tire. I immediate pull off to the shoulder, where I notified my friend and U-Haul emergency roadside service.

At approximately 1030 am I contacted the U-Haul roadside emergency service and explained to them about the flat tire and my concern with the brakes. I gave the operator my location W/B I-580 in Livermore. That stretch of I-580 is a three lane Highway posted 70mph. The operator was polite took my cellular phone number and told me that help would be on the way.

At approx. 1130hrs I re-contacted the emergency roadside assistance and was told that they were working on the problem and they would call me back. As I was standing alongside the freeway I noticed a yellow truck about the size of the U-Haul driving towards at me at approx. 25mph. I soon realized that that the driver was looking into his side mirror and talking on a cellular phone. At the last minute the driver saw my disabled truck and swerved into the highway causing a non-injury auto accident. He could have easily hit the U-Haul or run over the two working safety triangles supplied by U-Haul. The third triangle was broken. I believe Federal law requires three working safety triangles. After helping the people in the accident and calling Highway patrol I received a voice mail from U-Haul emergency roadside service. The operator told me that they were unable to finding anyone to help me and that they would be calling me back in 30 minutes. Time approx. 1230 to 1240 pm). After waiting for over 30 minutes and failing to hear from U-Haul I recontacted the road side service and asked the operator what was going on. The operator told me that they were trying to get a hold of a supervisor who could authorize a mechanic or tow truck to help me. The operator said they were having a hard time getting in touch with an on call supervisor. I ask the operator if I could speak to her supervisor, at first she told me that he was not available then connected me after I pressed the issue. The supervisor was polite but was unable to help me. I told the supervisor that I was concerned for my safety and if I could move the truck off of the freeway. Closest exit was approx. 1 mile down the freeway. The supervisor told me that they were doing the best they could and call back when they knew someone was en route to help me.

During the 1 o'clock hour I again recontacted U-Haul and was told that they were trying to get someone out to my location to help me and that they would call me. The operator did agree with me that the wait time was unacceptable and that she would not want to be in the same situation. The operator did advise me that if I left the truck on the freeway it would be concerned abandoned, even though I told her I had given them the location of the vehicle. I again expressed my concerned for my safety about being on the side of the freeway with traffic driving by in excess of 70 mph. The operator told me that U-Haul was concerned for my safety and that they were doing the best they could to get someone out there to help me.

At approximately 214 pm I re-contacted U-Haul roadside assistance and was told that they a tow truck was en route and should arrive to my location in 90 minutes. I again asked to speak to a supervisor and was told that one was not available. Again after pressing the issue I spoke with a supervisor who told me that the tow truck was coming from San Jose. Livermore and Pleasanton are closer to my disabled vehicle. I again explained to the supervisor that I was concerned for my safety and had not eaten or used the restroom since 800 am. He was polite and apologized fort the inconvenience but told me that was the best they could do. The supervisor said they would check back within 90 minutes.

At approximately 4 00 pm the tow truck arrived. The tow truck driver was unable to tow the U-Haul truck because U-Haul roadside assistance failed to tell him that the truck was loaded. After waiting for approx. 30 minutes I was told I could drive the vehicle to the closest U-Haul. The closest U-Haul is in Livermore.

Note: U-Haul failed to call or check on my status.

Upon arrival at the Livermore center and after telling them what had happened they were more than helpful and apologized for the U-Haul roadside assistance had handled the incident. After replacing the tire and checking the brakes (low brake fluid) the supervisor told me that the Stockton U-Haul should not have let the truck leave the lot. He assured me that the truck would be taken out of service once it reached Fremont U-Haul center.

I was very disappointed in the U-haul Roadside Assistance because of the horrible way this whole situation was handled. The operators were polite but did not seem to care about my situation.

Here is what was especially upsetting:
1. The U-haul Roadside Assistance was useless and could not offer any kind of help in getting the tire replaced or me to a safer location.

  1. Having a customer wait 5 1/2 hours along the side of a busy freeway for a tire replacement or tow truck is absolutely unacceptable and shows that U-haul does not care for the safety of their customers.

  2. That U-Haul would let an unsafe vehicle leave their lot.

In the end I (Do to time constraints) was unable to help my friend unload the other two trucks. Through U-Haul overall incompetence I will never do business or recommend others to use their services.

Thank you for your anticipated assistance in resolving my problem. Please contact me at if you have any questions.

     
Replies
Horrible Customer Service
By -

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I will never as long as I live use a Uhaul Truck to move any of my things around so help me God.

I was moving out of my apartment July 31 and I did not get the keys to my new place until August 1st. My only option was to get a Uhaul, load it up, let it sit over night, and then unload it the next day.

I used the easy to use Uhaul.com website to reserve my uhaul with no problems. It allowed me to reserve a UHAUL for 24 hours and gave me the closest location. I put this reservation through and then called the location to see if it would be a problem to extend it from 24 hours to 48 and explained my moving situation. The guy who answered assured me this would not be a problem at all. I also at this time changed my pick up time from 8 am to 10 am and the drop off to reflect the same time change.

I arrived at Uhaul at approximately 10:15, as we all know nothing goes as planned on moving day. After standing there for several minutes while the THREE employees (one of which being the manager) chatted amongst themselves I was beginning to be annoyed. I was finally acknowledged (did I mention I was the ONLY customer in the store?) and as he was pulling up my reservations I made small talk and apologized for being a little late. He get real short with me and was like "yeah two hours late, your reservation was for 8. You're lucky we held your truck with it being the last day of the month" I responded with "No I had that changed to 10 because I knew I would never make it here by 8" What will follow here will be an accurate retelling of the conversation to follow:
him: Yeah. Sure. OK anyway. License?
I handed it to him, he doesn't make eye contact, and enters stuff into the computer.
him: OK, sign here
shoves pen and paper across the counter, tosses keys on counter beside it
him: this is due back tomorrow at 8 am.
me: oh? I reserved it for two days, it shouldn't be back until the 2nd and I should be for 10
him: nope. tomorrow. 8.
me: that's not what I reserved though.
him: well, that's what it says here.
me: I reserved this at least two weeks ago, called in and talked to someone about this. (I explained key situation to him while he stared at me and ROLLED HIS EYES, no lie)
him: well, I don't know what to tell you, the computer doesn't lie. it's due the 1st
me: fine, whatever, there is NO way I can get it back to you the first
him: then you cannot have the truck.
At this point the manager walks over
Manager: what seems to be the problem?
the other guy just sighs and WALKS away!
me: I reserved this uhaul for two days, not one. 10 am, not 8 am.
manager: WE don't do that, 24 hours at the end of the month. no more.
me: I called and made these reservations. I have no alternative to moving my stuff. this is why I took care of it well in advance. I reserved it for two days. The website allowed me to do 24 hours. I needed 48. I called. Whomever I spoke with said he made the changes to the reservation and it would be fine.
Manager: who did you talk to? Was it this location?
Me: I don't know, and yes it was here.
Manager: Yeah, well no, my people are trained. at the end of the month NObody gets it more than 24 hours. Nobody. It just doesn't work that way.
Me: Then why did he say it was OK?
Manager: I don't have any trucks to give you for 24 hours. It's not going to happen.
Me: You have to! That is what I made the reservations for! What is the point of making reservations if you aren't going to honor them.
Manager: If I give you a truck for 24 hours, I'm not going to have any trucks for the people that reserved them tomorrow...
Me...blank stare.. OK?
Manager: so it's not going to happen.
Me: I'm not leaving until I get what I paid for
Manager: you haven't paid anything yet.
Me: I paid a five dollar reservation fee for the reservation I made
Manager: From the business side it doesn't even make sense to give you this truck for your situation. It is going to sit with your stuff in it over night. Over that 48 hour period, I could rent that out at least 4 times.
Me: that's my problem how?
Manager: Fine I'll give it to you. I'm just not coming in tomorrow. I'm calling in sick. I'm not dealing with this. I wish I knew who you talked to. I'd fire them.
Me: Fantastic. Good for you. I need to start loading this truck. Can we get this over with?
We finish the paperwork in silence he hands me the keys, briefly goes over the fuel policy and I leave.

I am quite upset about this as you can imagine so after I am done moving I write a "contact us" on Uhauls main website. I get the automated "thanks for contacting us" message telling me someone would contact me in 2 business days. 2 weeks go by, I respond to the auto message saying I still haven't heard anything from them. I get another response back apologizing and I should receive a call the next business day. It's now another week later. I have heard nothing.

I refuse to give money to a company that flat out called me a liar, didn't want to give me what I paid for, and then doesn't care enough to try to contact me.

Never again Uhaul!

P.s. This was the Washington Blvd office in Pittsburgh and I believe the managers name was J.D or something similar.

     
Replies
Service Sucks!
By -

CALIFORNIA -- To Whom it May Concern,

I am writing to file a complaint with Uhaul, to let you know that I am disappointed with my experience with your company on my last move. I am so disappointed in your reservation process and customer service, in particular with the regional manager I spoke with, that I never intend to use Uhaul services again, and intend to explain this to everyone I contact that is planning to move.

I reserved a moving truck about a week before the move date. I reserved it for 2/13/06, and chose the 6 AM pick up time on your website. I realized at the time that the pick up location was a preference only as clearly indicated below.

Critical reservation advisements
Before confirming your reservation, please read and check each one of the advisements below to indicate that you understand them.

I understand that my pickup location is a PREFERENCE ONLY.

I understand that the U-Haul regional office for WEST VALLEY CITY, UT will be in charge of my reservation.

I understand that they will call me by 5PM on the day prior to my pickup date to schedule my exact pickup location and time.

I understand that to change or cancel my reservation I will contact U-Haul no later than the day prior to my pickup date. I understand that reservations cancelled on the day of pickup are subject to a $50 cancellation fee.

I understand that U-Haul reserves the right to substitute equipment of equal or greater size at no additional charge to me.

However, as you can see above, it is not so clearly written that the pick up time is also only preference. This would not have been any problem for me had I been contacted to let me know of the change.

In fact, I was told three separate times that I would receive a phone call the day before the scheduled pick up time to confirm the exact location and time. The first time was on the confirmation page after I MADe the reservation, the second time was in a confirmation e-mail, and the third time was when I called 1-800-go-uhaul on 2/11 to confirm the reservation. I was told that I would have to wait to confirm the time and location until the following day when the regional manager would call me by 5 pm.

On 2/12 at approximately 5:30 I called again to confirm the time and location. The representative told me that someone should have called and that she would have someone call me between 7-9AM the next day- the day I had reserved the truck for. I explained to her that I was expecting to pick the truck up at 6AM and couldn’t wait until 7 or 9 AM to hear from them. She apologized and told me that I would have t wait to get that call.

The next morning I found an e-mail letting me know the pick up location had changed, and I tried to call to find out when I could pick up the truck. I called the location until 9:30 AM and could not get a hold of anyone, so I called the regional manager over the pickup location in West Valley City, Utah. As bad as I thought that the reservation process had been to this point, It was speaking with this regional manager that made me decide to never use UHaul again.

I told the regional manager that I was upset because I had scheduled the truck for 6 AM and it was now 9:30 AM and I still had not been able to pick it up. She told me that the location opened at 9 AM and there was nothing she could do. I explained to her that I expected to pick up the truck by 6 Am since no one had told me otherwise, that I could not make the move in the day I had to do it, and asked what could be done about it. She then accused me of trying to get something for free, and told me that it was clearly explained before I made the reservation that the pick up time is only a preference, which you can see from the pasted portion from your website above that this is not the case. I told her that it did say that the time and location would be confirmed, but since I had made the reservation a week in advance I would have expected someone to let me know beforehand. She said that there is no location in her region that opens at 6 AM and that there is nothing she can do about it. I asked her if I could speak to anyone else about it, but she refused to give me any information about someone else I could call. I told her that if I had known that there was no way that I could have gotten the truck at the time I reserved, I would have been able to go with someone else, but in fact no one had ever called me- not on 2/12, or on 2/13 like I was told. She asked me what I wanted her to do, and I told her that I thought that an apology and some sort of discount would be in order. This upset her more and she told me that nothing had gone wrong. She did apologize that I did not get a call, but it was not a genuine apology- it was more like she was sorry that she had to talk to me. I asked her if she cared that she lost a customer, and that I would tell everyone I know about the horrible experience with UHaul and she said that was my choice and she wouldn’t do anything.

Is that the kind of company that UHaul is? I have known UHaul since I was a little kid, when my dad rented trucks and trailers. It was in fact the first name I thought of when I was planning the move. But, I think it is reasonable to expect that if you make a reservation a week in advance, the company has enough time to contact you and let you know if it will not work beforehand. By the time I was actually told that I could not get the truck when I needed it, I would have been charged $50 to cancel it. Is that the plan? To charge people $50 for believing that you will deliver the goods they need when you have no intention of delivering? That is how it appears when the regional manager can tell me off the top of her head that no office is open at 6 AM, but she cannot call me to let me know that until it is too late. If that is not the intention then I think you need to work on the reservation process because it allows for terrible things to happen.

Furthermore, your customer service is horrible. Every person I spoke with at UHaul was annoyed to have to deal with me, even when all I was asking for was information that I had been told to expect. I had been told repeatedly to wait for a phone call- in fact two calls on two separate days- I didn’t receive even one call. This meant that the day I had planned to move was now two days off work and a night on the road. I would expect the regional manager to do whatever she could to make me a satisfied customer. Instead she accused me of trying to get something for free- even before I asked for anything. Although I did ask for a discount later, I think it is reasonable. UHaul knew for almost a full week when I needed the truck, and also knew that there was no way that I could pick it up at the time I reserved it on the website. Yet I was not even given the common courtesy of being told that you cannot provide that advertised service in my area. Instead I had to pick up the truck almost 4 hours later than I had scheduled. If I brought the truck back 4 hours late I am sure I would have to pay extra. Isn’t it reasonable that I expect you be held to the same standard? The discount I was asking for was simply to cover the motel room I would have to rent overnight- probably $40. Instead I was mistreated for expecting the services you advertise on your website, and that I had been told by your representatives to expect.

I am writing you this letter out of courtesy to you so that you know how your reservation process and customer service lost you future business from me and everyone in my sphere of influence- which I might ad can be surprisingly large in a services and sales business like I am in. I am not as upset with the whole process because I understand that there will be problems with anything. However, I refuse to do business with a company with such poor customer service representatives and management, and that would rather lose future business over a dissatisfied customer than to give up even just $40 of their profits.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >