Value City Furniture - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 18 ratings and
69 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
When did Customer Service become too much?
Posted by on
CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- On 9/22/10, I purchased a bedroom suit and couch from Value City Furniture located at 9527 South Boulevard, Charlotte, NC 28273. I was told by the service associate that I purchased these items through that everything would be delivered the afternoon of 10/09/10. On 10/07/10, Value City Furniture called to confirm my delivery date for the 9th, they also informed me that the Hunter Bronze Sofa - SKU: 1334948 that I had bought had not been delivered from their warehouse yet, and that it would be 10/19/10 before I would receive my sofa.

I spoke with the manager of the store who assured me that it would be delivered no later than the 19th, and that his hands were tied as far as providing anything to keep me from having to sit on the floor of my new home. He did reduce the delivery fee 50%, and told me to call if I had any further questions. When asked if I could pick out another sofa and have them meet the already paid price, again his hands were tied. So, basically my only options were either sit on the floor and wait for my sofa, or cancel my order and be refunded. I opted to wait the additional 10 days...Big mistake.

On 10/18/10, I received yet another call delaying my 19th delivery to now take place on 10/23/10. On 10/21/10, I had not heard anything from Value City about my delivery, so I called to confirm my delivery date for the 23rd, and was told that there was no record in the computer system for a delivery to be made on the 23rd, that it was showing 11/06/10!! The lady I spoke with told me that she didn’t understand why it was showing 11/6, when there was a delivery date available for 10/27/10. So she rescheduled me for the 27th.

Here it is 10/26/10, and they still do not have any idea as to when I will receive my sofa. I am extremely livid with Value City Furniture, and will NEVER again purchase anything from their company. I have a sofa that has been bought and paid for, and yet I’m still sitting on the floor 34 days after I originally purchased it, with no information as to when my sofa will be delivered. I have been put off 4 times, and feel I am getting the run around from this company instead of any answers.

Now I see firsthand why some of the Value City Furniture stores nationwide have closed their doors. In today’s economic situation, and as desperate as companies are for people to purchase from them, logically one would deduce that as a customer you would be treated with better customer service than what Value City Furniture has provided. I have been led on and lied to for over a month now, and this is the proverbial last straw.

I am going to demand a refund, purchase a sofa from another company, broadcast this complaint on every website I can find, contact the BBB and make a complaint, as well as send this complaint to Value City Furniture’s Corporate Headquarters, and the Consumer Protection Division of the Attorney General’s Office of the State of North Carolina.

I hope anyone deciding to purchase from Value City Furniture has better luck with this company than I have had. As for me, I’ll take my business elsewhere.
Resolution Update 11/13/2010:
This issue has been resolved. Value City Furniture has issued a refund and it has been received. All matters concerning this thread have been resolved.
     
Replies
I have had a great experience with them!
Posted by on
GLEN BURNIE, MARYLAND -- I wasn't particularly set on any specific store, so my roommate and I spent an entire Saturday driving around to a number of different furniture stores trying to decide what to buy with the money I got for Christmas to buy a sofa after my poor futon fell apart. My mom bought a sofa from VCF in 2004 that I love and sleep on every time I visit her (once a month or so) - very comfy and she got it for a great deal, but they don't have it anymore; so I figured we'd try it even if I didn't really want to buy anything there. The first place we went was the VCF in Glen Burnie, MD, where in the window they had the Matera sofa in red. I had seen it online and thought it was ugly, but my roommate and I loved it immediately when we saw it in person and sat on it. We went to several different stores, but found ourselves comparing everything to the Matera sofa and knowing it all came up short. I really wanted a chocolate brown because everything in my apartment is pink and/or mahogany, but the brown was a sort of gross color so we decided that we loved how beautiful the blue was, a sort of light blue-grey that will not hide anything. So we returned, and I bought the Matera with the fabric protection (I know, it's generally stupid to buy the fabric protection, but microfiber scares me since I've been known to fall asleep with glasses of red wine...I figured I'd do my best to be careful but I'd at least try to protect my 'investment').

I couldn't really afford the $100 for delivery (with a $400 sofa, that would be 25% of the price!)I was upset when they told me I couldn't pick it until Friday because it wasn't available, though it was available in other colors sooner or I could go to another store 25 or so miles away. I don't have a car and was borrowing a truck from a friend to pick it up and save the money, so I wanted to go to the closest location because I knew he was already doing me a huge favor. Friday was my birthday and I was having a party that night, so I was very concerned about getting it as soon as possible. They told me that pickup wasn't until 12, but I could potentially pick it up a little earlier if I called and it was ready. It turned out that with all of the other errands I had to run, I didn't make it there until around 12:30. They called me around 10 to remind me I could come and pick up my sofa (do people actually forget that their sofas are in? I thought that was pretty funny).

Anyway, got there and there were 3 people standing outside chatting. They honestly could NOT have been more helpful. It's true, I was a single female picking up a sofa by myself, but those guys were fabulous. They brought it out, tied down the back gate of the truck, and really did everything to make sure I was comfortable driving it and that all was secure. I felt so guilty immediately afterwards, realizing that in all of my nervousness about driving the truck with the sofa I had forgotten to tip them.

The only hitch I had in the whole experience was my arrival back at the house. I mentioned that I was a single female picking it up...I was also a single female bringing my new couch home. As previously mentioned, I had a party that night and got home with about 4 hours left before I had to drive my friend's truck back...so I was in a bit of a time crunch. Long story short, I backed the truck in, had the sofa almost into my city apartment (into the door, but not through). I pushed and pushed, but nothing. I tried to wedge it for about half an hour, turning it in different directions) with no luck. All of a sudden, a neighbor appeared to help me, and it had been stuck on a doorjamb - I couldn't have fixed that by myself because of the basic physics of that. Either way, he helped push it through. I have to say, to Value City's credit, that there was not a scratch on the sofa. It was very securely wrapped, and it turned out just fine. All I had to do (just as they told me in the store) was screw on the legs; very easily done by myself and it was nice and easy to move all alone.

Anyway, I'm sitting on my new sofa now. I've had it a few weeks, and it is insanely comfortable. That first night, I slept on it with someone and we both woke up feeling good. It's comfortable to sleep on and to sit on. I'm taking a weekend-long exam right now (hence the long review) and everything about this sofa has been awesome. I can't speak to its longevity just yet, but at least in the short term it is AMAZING. Granted, anything would have been an improvement over what I had, but this sofa is literally everything I was looking for.

I am not the kind of person who reviews things, but I think VCF has gotten some unfairly bad reviews (although most of them are incoherent; I think mine is long but hopefully coherent. I just wanted to be clear about the fact that at every point things have gone well for me with them). My experiences have been (and for several years been!) positive. I'll happily come back and update this if I have problems; it really bugged me that I couldn't find any reviews when I was shopping so I'd really like to share the positive and negative experiences I have!
     
Replies
Value City Furniture - SUCKS!!!!
Posted by on
ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- My husband and I bought a sectional from Value City Furniture October 2007. I had the sectional not even a month a noticed the sectionals cushions and cushion covers were not holding up. The cushions and cushion covers looked as if they were old!!!!! I have called the store over the course of a year and a half and they have replaced my cushions and cushion covers four times with the same crappy cushions and same crappy cushion covers. I called the store today to speak with a manager and they now are telling me that since my warranty has expired there is nothing they can do but order us new cushions and cushion covers but my husband and I have to pay for it. I told the manager this was unacceptable since I tried to get them to take back this furniture in November 2007 and they wouldn't!!!!! Apparently when you buy furniture at VCF you have 7 days to return it if you don't like it. Seven days???? Nothing falls apart in 7 days!!!!!
I have gone to the store in person and tried to reason with these people and one of the manager's told me that the particular sectional I had purchased was one of the lower end sectionals they sell and I should have gone with the American Signature Collection. I explained to him when I bought the furniture the sales lady told me that the sectional I had bought was one of the higher end sectionals. The manager disagreed with me and told me the American Signature Collection was the best line of furniture they have. Instead he wanted to replace the cushion and cushion covers which we did again!
I've called the Headquarters of Value City Furniture and can never get a "live" person to talk to. Apparently the corporate office is too busy to talk to the consumer so they make you leave a message which I have done three times now.
You would think the store would want to keep the consumer happy and work with them however they have just been a pain in the butt! Now I need to buy another sectional from another store b/c Value City Furniture WILL NOT stand behind their products.
     
Replies
Poor Customer Service
Posted by on
HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- July 2008

Last week my husband and I purchased a desk, hutch and desk return set from Value City Furniture Store. Unfortunately, we did not read reviews of this company or we may not have gotten into this mess. We were very happy to find the kind of desk we were looking for that was actually a quality piece, made from solid wood and contemporary, yet classic in style. We had searched many furniture stores and knew we would have to pay a bit more for what we were looking for. We found similar pieces at very high-end stores, but could not quite swing those costs and they weren’t exactly what we were looking for.

My husband works in Harrisburg and went in to purchase this desk set. Of course, no one was “available” to help him so he sought out a young, not-so-professional sales associate. This young man put the sale through and at first told my husband that they do deliver to our location. Then found out that we are not in their delivery area. They deliver to a town 4 miles from our home, but not our address. So my husband asked to speak to the manager to see if he could work something out. The manager was rude and refused to budge saying, “I have to draw the line somewhere.” Even after my husband offered to pay a fuel surcharge for the extra 4 miles, he was still turned down. We still decided to purchase the desk set and just rent a Uhaul (as we do not own a van or truck) to pick up the furniture ourselves.

When my husband went to pick it up, he saw that the furniture was still boxed but looked like it had been opened (Earlier he had been told that the furniture would be inspected to make sure there was no damage). He asked and they said it was fine and packed so well, so there shouldn’t be any trouble. He brought it home and we labored to bring it into our house. As we unpacked it we saw that the hutch and return were both damaged. The wood had been crushed and split in the corner of the hutch and the same on the return. My husband made multiple phone calls asking again to have VCF come to our home and replace the furniture. Instead he was offered a $50 discount. He even called their corporate headquarters to have the same result.

I realized that VCF doesn’t deliver to our area and I’m fine with that policy. I can’t change that. We were able to get the furniture to our home on our own. My frustration with the company is their poor management and customer service. Even though we picked up our furniture, we should have received the same service of inspection and undamaged goods as that of those who can receive delivery because they live in that area. And the rebate of $50 is truly just a slap in the face in light of the fact that we spent about $1400 and were refused any other help.

In the future I will warn people of the poor service they will receive from Value City Furniture and will tell them to never purchase items from this company. Now that I’ve seen reviews from this location as well as others around the country, I realize that this is not a place of quality or service.
     
Replies
Crushing The Spirit Of A 4 Year Old
Posted by on
COLUMBUS, OHIO -- After Ordering over $1500 worth of furniture on 11/10/2007 my delivery date was explained that it would be on 1/4/08 which would be today. I would like to add that I failed to receive a confirmation call for a delivery time and window yesterday however I called Value City to confirm and was told that all of my furniture would be delivered between 9 and 12 today.

Being that I work 3 blocks from where I live, it is fairly easy to swing home to allow the delivery men (who were very helpful) into my home to assemble the furniture.

Upon their arrival, I showed them where the Camp Granada bunk bed would be assembled and one man began unloading the truck while the second delivery man ran over paperwork with me to check contents. I was made aware of two items. That the Trundle unit was apparently not with this delivery and was scheduled for delivery on January 17th (GASP), I have a 4 year old daughter who has been waiting, and we all know how patiently 4 year old girls can wait for things. So the bed is totally unusable until after the 17th bearing the risk the item would not be lost in transit.

I then was also made aware of the “extension” units which are required for the actual use of the bed with a full sized mattress were short at the warehouse and that a second trip would be required and extra time for me to request for time off from my busy day at the office. After having this explained to me by [name removed], I was directed to the back of the truck due to a problem with the Bunk itself. Once again, a problem was brought to my attention that the Bunk bed I waited a good 2 months for delivery for, was damaged upon loading it into the truck and improperly securing the furniture.

The wooden footing at the bottom of the headboard of the lower bunk was split, not only an eyesore on a $1500 bunk bed, but makes this unit physically unusable by the aforementioned 4 year old daughter and the installers themselves.

I have since refused delivery of this Damaged Goods and am on the hopeful “waiting” list for a delivery this upcoming Wednesday, of which a promise of the Delivery manager at the Broad Street Value city was not % 100 certain that this would, occur.

I am writing this letter to Value city to voice my disdain for the care and improper treatment of a clients bought goods, As I am making payments on this unit I have not even been able to enjoy the product due to a heavy waiting period, a lack of communication via the company in regards to delivery, and the incompetence of having the completed order together.

I do not understand how Value City can continue to operate with such a lack of consideration for those whom buy your wares. I have been a loyal customer for years and recommend such services to others who are looking for quality furniture and bedding. However with the loss of credibility due to this entire ordeal has been rather disconcerting, I didn’t haggle in the showroom over price due to the customer service due to the knowledge that I would expect from such a company, the trade-off would be worth it.

However now I am reconsidering any future recommendations to your company over the logistics, the communication or lack thereof, and the complications of explaining to a 4 year old girl that she will not be able to hold a sleepover with her best friend because the furniture company broke her new bed.

     
Replies
Value City Sham
Posted by on
OHIO -- After working for this company for a few years, I decided to leave. I could no longer back their product or nor their business practices. I read a comment about their "scotch guard" protection. Hardly ever did the furniture ever get treated the way it is recommended by the manufacturer. Many times it was accepted by management to hurry along and just get the furniture loaded on the trucks and out the door. They just wanted to make the sale, never worrying about service to the customer. In their mind, if a customer is unhappy, there is another customer out there that will buy. Value City Furniture also owns Value City Department Stores and is(was) affiliated with DSW shoes.

Look up info about DSW shoes and you can see what the Value City corp. thinks about your credit card information. Now back to furniture, many instances this company has gone out of its way to rip people off, even if employees would bring it to their attention. I will cite one instance since there are so many. A few years back, a customer bought a sectional and it was delivered to their apartment. Around 6 months later it was decided by management to go back and pick up the sectional at that apt. and also deliver a full refund check upon picking up the merchandise. To our surprise, the apt was empty except for the sectional and the person there to accept the refund was not the same as the person who accepted the furniture a few months ago.

So, just being curious a little we asked what happened to the person who used to live here, and come to find out the person who accepted the check was the landlord and she volunteered more info than what we asked about. She began to tell us that the person renting apt was a prostitute and they were put in jail and she is just trying to recover some of the money that by having the sectional returned to the store. When we began to get get the sectional prepared to lift, we had to tie down the sleeper part of the sectional because it will open when you try to turn it getting through the doorway. We noticed that the sheets were still on it. But we didn't think much of it.

My partner and I had short sleeve shirts on, so when we pick up the sectional, of course our arms were touching the fabric. We continued to load the other pieces of the sectional onto the truck, gave the landlord the refund and went on our way. Keep in mind that the apt and the store were only about 2 minute away from the store. When we got back to the store , our arms broke out in a rash. We washed up and nothing really came about all the rash, but its disgusting to think what could have caused that. Anyway, instead of destroying the sectional, it was decided by management to have a professional cleaner come in and clean it and place it on the showroom floor "As Is", no warranties, no nothing. To me personally, that is pretty disgusting knowing the history so far about the sectional. And you can bet management knew what was going on because they were told about it. Anyway, a short time after that a customer bought the same sectional but they bought it new.

When it was time for it to be delivered, it did not make to the store on time to be delivered, so once again management made another decision......to rip-off the "As Is" tags off the showroom sectional and deliver that one to the customer as new. I only worked for the furniture store for a few years, but I saw that was common practice, to take the showroom furniture and deliver to the customer like it new when and item does not come in on time. Also, I personally saw management alter log books on their delivery trucks to make it look like they were being serviced and that there was no serious mechanical defects. Many of their delivery trucks had serious problems that could have caused serious accidents. I had worked for the VC corporation, from the distribution centers, to the department stores, to the furniture stores.

While working for them I saw the same type of management over and over again. They want people that will do WHATEVER it takes to make a buck, to whatever it takes to save a buck, at the expense of safety for its employees and consumers, or to just downright lie to get your money. If you use a credit card with this company, beware, they will not take reasonable steps to safeguard your credit card information, unless like in the case of DSW, they were forced to. If this company goes under, it will be because of their own doing, but in the meantime, the owners of Value City( Schottenstein's) are one of the richest families in Ohio at your expense and has weaseled their way in the public spotlight by having their name on the Value City Arena.

You can be assured that the CEO and the family that has run VC is sleeping well at night, not thinking twice about how they scammed people all these years. They don't see consumers as people, just another sucker that will spend their hard earned dollars on their substandard merchandise.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Purchases, No Explanation of Return Policies, No Paper Documents Other Than Receipts
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
N. OLMSTED, OHIO -- I had done my research as far as all the nuances of mattress purchases, spring vs. non-spring, gel vs. all other components etc. I went to Value City Furniture Store to avoid the many mattress stores that are just small and only sell mattresses. You must also look into reviews of Value City Furniture before going there. I went in and laid on the different types of mattresses and was shocked by the prices, more than two months worth of mortgage payments. The salesperson was very patient and somewhat informative but did not have or want to divulge the specifics that my internet research said to look for.

I was ushered into the office to pay, given a receipt and that was just the start of my nightmare. I would probably be able to fill up and 8x10 sheet of paper but suffice to say I was not told of the haul away fee which cost extra and I did not pay for, the return information and the time frame of it, which included a purchase of the store's mattress cover. I would not recommend this store to anyone, at all, ever.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buyer/watcher/listener
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANDUSKY -- Aside from the inadequate quality of all furniture from Value City (I've purchased a couch, 2 recliners, beds), what I REALLY can't stand are their commercials! Does ANYONE else have to change the channel when they come on? For instance, the annoying and obnoxious one about the chaise lounge. OR even worse, the couple sitting on their new couch and feeling as though they're going to hurl because of the coffee table? Disgusting! I'd like to know what the executives are thinking when the advertising companies come in to make their presentations and from all they have to chose from, pick the 2 commercials I just mentioned. I CAN NOT get the commercial off the screen fast enough!! Anyone purchasing furniture from Value City based on their commercials has to be mentally deranged. I have talked to many of my friends and when I mention 2 horrible commercials, THEY come up with both of them before I even have the chance!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very Bad Customer Service!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CUYAHOGA FALLS, OHIO -- Years ago I had gone up to Value City Furniture in Cuyahoga falls. I had just paid my rent in person because the office was in the area and having just come straight from a shift of factory work I was a little dirty and I was a young woman in my early 20s. I was pressed for time and didn't have time to go home and shower or anything. From the moment I walked in the store a sales person literally stalked me everywhere I went, not to sell me anything but I think he thought I was going to steal something because as soon as I asked him questions about the entertainment center I wanted he started getting really snippy with me. I asked about their layaway plan because they did have one and he told me I would be better off just saving up and buying it with cash or borrowing money from family. Seriously he was such a jerk to me I went to leave and he followed me to the freaking door! I called back later and reported my experience and anger to the supervisor but I half believe the person I talked to was the same person. I was so disgusted by the way I as a hard working person who paid her bills was treated that I NEVER went back.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Quality Even Worse Customer Service and Warranty
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MECHANICSBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- Purchased a couch and chair. We also purchased a better warranty. Once we got the furniture home and unwrapped there were many scratches and dings on the wood. Also the chair appeared to have issue with frame. We called the store and they sent a person to our house. All he did was use a putty pencil to fill in the wood and advised us he would order a new frame for the chair after weeks the new frame still wasn't replaced. Upon a 2nd call to the store they sent a different person. There was no frame ordered and the guy was unprofessional. We also complained because the couch cushions were already flattening. Basically we asked about the warranty and they said it wasn't covered. After contacting management they refused to fix the issues and then we get a letter stating they have canceled our credit card through them
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >