Vitacost - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
50 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Deceptive Advertising Practices to Get or Increase Orders
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- They may have low prices but I get a slew of deceptive and outright lying 'coupons' and 'codes' in my email and on their website. They refer to discount that are legalistically worded to suggest savings and discounts, and then when you are done with your purchase, you realize most of what you were lead to believe is EXCLUDED!

My latest experience was on the website it said $10 off on orders of $50 or more of Vitacost products...most people would assume that items bought on the website would qualify as this is Vitacost...but, no.

You needed to purchase actual Vitacost 'BRANDED' products...of course their offer didn't state the word brand or branded...so after adding things to my order to hit over $50, it wouldn't take. Assuming their customer service would apply the discount after the purchase, that it was a failure of the website, I made the purchase anyway.

Of course their customer service said they meant Vitacost BRAND products even though their ad didn't say that...so for $10 they had about 4 agents message me that they wouldn't give me a discount.

I don't care what the prices are, when a website uses deceptive or borderline deceptive advertising practices to bump an order, and then spend voluminous amount of customer representative time to back up the deception, they have not only lost a customer, but gained someone who will spread the word about their deception and anti-customer practices.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Great Experience.
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I have placed three orders over the past couple of months and could not believe how quickly they arrived. The items were large and fairly heavy but were packaged perfectly with care. Don't know who their mail service is with - couldn't read the name on the truck. Wish I knew because I would use them myself. I have had so much trouble with UPS and FEDEX taking my packages to wrong addresses and sometimes just disappear (this has happened four times with orders from Amazon). I do a lot of mail orders and I will definitely use this place again and again. The products are great and their service is amazing. I've read some very negative posts on the one in Nevada and I can't speak on that one but this main website in NC is the one I'll do business with again. Their prices are unbeatable and shipping is free mostly - don't buy the extra fast shipping because the regular shipping gets here faster!
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Be Careful With This Store
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- The first time I ordered some items from this store, everything worked fine. I ordered only 3 items and everything worked perfectly. They delivered it to me, in Sweden, in a very reasonable time.
However, in my second order I wasn't lucky and they simply did not deliver anything. I never received my order and when I asked them what could possibly have happened, they answered that they would refund me immediately. I suspected of their easy refunding policies, but after talking with some friends that faced the same problem, I concluded that they didn't have the items I ordered and simply did not send anything.
Be careful with this store and, like some other reviewer said previously, avoid it if you are ordering from somewhere out of the USA.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Beware Of This Company
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- Decided to try out this company by placing a small order--no problems. Order was shipped and received in less than one week. Second order--not so good. Still waiting, even though they sent me an email 3 days ago saying my order had shipped and provided me with a UPS tracking number.

When I click the tracking number I get this message from UPS:

A UPS shipping label has been created. Once the shipment arrives at our facility, the tracking status--including the scheduled delivery date--will be updated.

This will be my last order with this company. I'll stick with Amazon, pay a few bucks more and know that I'll receive my order and excellent customer service.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 2013-03-19:
You may pay a bit more by using Amazon, but, as you point out, at least you'll get your product. Looking at the complaints about Vitacost, both here and on other sites, they do seem to have service and shipping problems. Thank you for the warning.
Tabitha on 2013-03-20:
Wish I had seen this before ordering. I ordered on Saturday. It's Wednesday night and no message that my order has shipped. Very frustrating.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Vitacost - Misleading, Poor Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Paid for Priority shipping but they are shipping using Global shipping (which is cheaper, slower). They also estimated a delivery time of 5-10 days when I placed the order, but the confirmation email says it could take over four weeks. I attempted to cancel the order when I found out they had been extremely misleading with the estimated shipping time, but they ignored my emails. They have only replied to tell me they shipped my order via Global shipping (the incorrect, cheaper option) and have ignored all other enquiries. Avoid this company, particularly if you are an international customer.

Possibly the worst company I have ever ordered anything from online.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 2013-03-18:
In most cases, products comparable to anything Vitacost offers can be found at your local stores at the same cost or cheaper. Thanks for the warning about this company.
trmn8r on 2013-03-18:
You appear to be in France. According their webiste the options are as you state:
http://www.vitacost.com/international-FAQs-France

Sounds like they ripped you off, and their customer noservice is poor. Thanks for warning others, and sorry this happened to you.
Paul on 2013-06-27:
Disappointed too.Ordered early June 2013.Chose the mid option.DHL post no tracking.Said 5 to 10 days.I was sent a new delivery date of August 1,2013.What the ....."US post quicker.I didn't pick the boat option!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Great Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
I purchased several dog treats and dog-related supplies such as ear and eye wash from this vendor a couple of weeks ago, and I was happy with their packaging and delivery time. What made me want to write this review was the fact that my puppy didn't like a couple of the treats so in accordance with their return policy, I contacted them for a Return Authorization number to return the packages she didn't like. These were opened but she tried a couple and just didn't like them, and as long as its just one open package of an item, you are allowed to return it if not satisfied. Of course, had I ordered two of each item, you can only return one open package and the other would need to be unopened to qualify for the return.

Well, I wrote them the email and they responded telling me they would credit my card and I didn't have to send back the treats (so no return shipping out of pocket). My dog will not eat them, but I can certainly donate them to a shelter or another dog owner. It saves me on shipping and some other dog will get to enjoy them. I love their prices, which is why I went with them in the first place. Got my treats which aren't sold everywhere (not even at PetSmart) for almost 50% off retail like at Petco. I'd highly recommend them and will certainly be returning when I run out. Plus there's free shipping if you order enough.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
jktshff1 on 2013-02-28:
Good review, thanks.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buyer Beware!
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
I've been a long time customer, and been happy until today.

They sent an email soliciting a "be well box", sort of a grab bag, for $13.99 that was worth up to $70.

Based on their own website, the value of the products was worth $7.75. And they refuse to give a refund.

They say it is "worth up to $70" not "worth $70". And even at worth about half of what they charge, they stand behind their grand lie.

Liar liar pants on fire.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
VitaCat on 2013-02-14:
We sincerely appreciate your customer loyalty. Our main goal is to take the cost out of healthy living for our customers. We do our best to do this by ensuring that we keep our costs affordable and we then transfer that savings to our customers. We continue to make improvements with the deals we offer our customers, including but not limited to the Be Boxes. I am so sorry to hear that you’re not satisfied with this item. The products you can receive will be up to $70 but is not guaranteed to be $70 worth of products each time. We care about your time and your money and would never deceive our customers. We appreciate your feedback and thank you again for choosing Vitacost.com

Catherine Corey
Customer Communications Specialist
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Beyond Horrible Customer service, charged twice
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BOCA RATON, FLORIDA -- I ordered products as I do every month. NOTE: I have been buying from them monthly for years. I ordered over $50 worth, they preauthorized charge, shipped part of invoice and PUT CHARGE THROUGH. Just now they shipped back order AND CHARGED MY ACCOUNT AGAIN!!

I called customer service...AMY was the customer service person...extremely rude, would not let me talk...
WHEN I TOLD HER THE BOTH CHARGES HAD GONE THRUOGH, SHE TOLD ME IF I CALLED MY BANK TO REVERSE THE CHARGES, I WOULD BE BANNED FROM BUYING FROM THEM!!!
is that legal??

this is not the same company it was...SHOP ELSEWHERE!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Soaring Consumer on 2013-01-09:
Go to the bank and have the charges reversed, also inform them of the threat. The intent to defraud is very apparent and threatening you like that is a violation of the merchant processing agreement with VISA and Mastercard. The card issuer will investigate and may possibly suspend or revoke the company's ability to accept credit cards. You may also need to get the account number changed to avoid the possibility of additional fraudulent charges from the company.
VitaCat on 2013-01-09:
I am so sincerely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. We do not charge for items until they are invoiced and shipped, because we don’t want to hassle our customers with refunds if it isn’t necessary. Since your order split shipped, you received a charge for the items on the first shipment and a charge for the items on the second once they released. I can assure you that you weren’t charged more than we advised you would be when you placed the order. If you would like for me to check on this for you, please email me at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com with your order information. I would be more than happy to investigate and resolve any issues for you. The reason that you were told that you wouldn’t be permitted to make further purchases is because we resolve all issues in accordance to our terms and conditions and to the best of our ability to ensure that our customers are satisfied. When we receive a charge-back, the financial institution heavily fines us which we try to prevent whenever possible. I am sorry for any and all inconveniences.

Catherine Corey
Social Media Marketing
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
At Your Service on 2013-01-10:
Thanks for your input Catherine. It's good to know you're trying to help resolve the issue.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Don't buy from these people! First they neglected to mail my order. Then they neglected to mail me the complete order. Now I'm waiting for a refund and it appears that they will neglect to do that as well.

I've filed complaints with PayPal and the BBB. Vitacost doesn't care. It used to be such a good company, but I will never order from them again!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 2012-12-23:
You can probably get products of similar or better quality, for a lower price, at your local pharmacy, grocery or health food store.
VitaCat on 2013-01-09:
I am sincerely sorry that you’ve recently had a negative experience with our company. I am more than happy to take a careful look at this order and resolve it to your complete satisfaction. Please email me directly at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to taking care of this for you; thank you.

Catherine Corey
Social Media Marketing
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
They Do Not Assist You When You Need Help Refusing to Transfer You to a Supervisor When You Ask
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- The formulation to the Green Apple and Ginger shampoo by Desert Essence has been changed. they added Aloe to it and it is a poison for Blood types O, B and AB. Desert Essence referred me to them to acquire the old formulated shampoos they had in stock. One person said she would contact the warehouse and return my call to ensure they were shipping me all the shampoos with the old formulaion. the old formulation was still on their website therefore, it was possible that they had some in stock.
1. 3 days later no return call
2. contacted 4 other reps who gave me erroneous information about the warehouse and refused to transfer me to a supervisor about this issue.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
CUontheFlipSide on 2012-09-30:
From the NIH: "According to the National Institutes of Health, or NIH, aloe gel is possibly safe when taken orally, but aloe juice is possibly unsafe at any dose and likely unsafe in high doses. Taking aloe by mouth can cause a variety of potentially serious side effects and may even be fatal."

Are you planning on drinking this shampoo?

Beyond that, you are not entitled to speak with anyone beyond the customer service rep. No supervisor is going to override their employees just because you are not happy with the answer you were given.
VitaCat on 2012-10-18:
I personally want to apologize for the lack of follow-up you experienced with our customer service department. I can report these individuals to our customer service management team, so that they may reprimand and coach them in order to prevent this from recurring. Please email me at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com and we can go from there to resolve this issue. Thanks so much, sguerrero.

Catherine Corey
Social Media Marketing
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >