Preview Review

Next Review

Window World Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Service and Install
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I am so disappointed in the service we have received from Window World. We ordered replacement windows and a replacement sliding door from ** on 3/15. The installation was on 4/14. The crew who was supposed to show around 10 am ended up at our house to start installing at 4 pm. One of our windows was ordered incorrectly by ** (salesman) so they cut the window they had up and jammed it in the opening. We were told that a rush order would be put on the replacement window and we would have it in 2 weeks. After the rest of the windows were installed the crew left at about 10 pm.

The next day I look at the windows and my window sills are torn up, caulk isn't even filled in properly around them, they completely forgot to caulk one window (and left a drop cloth), and there's an exposed screw where they drilled through the frame. I called ** (field supervisor) the next day to explain the issues, he said that he would get someone back out the following day. The crew member shows up finishes the job from the initial repair and tells my husband they're not responsible for fixing the window sills! I talked with ** again on 5/15 inquiring about the replace my window we were supposed to receive.

** tells me he will look into it and call me the following day. No response. ** finally calls me on 5/21 and leaves me a voicemail that they have the window and need to set up installation date. That was 2 weeks ago today. My husband and I have both called multiple times to try and set up a date for installation with no response. My husband called the corporate office to advise of the situation, their response was: "we'll call the local store". Still no idea when we'll get our window installed.

I hate to resort to social media, but, I feel there is no other outlet at this point. We bought this house on 3/12 and knew we wanted to update our windows. I would like to have a house warming party but we have a window that is cut up and looks awful in our kitchen. How can this be resolved? Please advise.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Installation - customers are last
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- Window World expects customers to wait around at Window World's convenience for installation. Customer is stuck after putting half down. Require the customer to be home all day and say they will call with a estimate of time but do not keep their promise. Would not order again. What business model requires the customer to just hang out all day with no reference of time? Finally called the corporate office and had to wait on a call. Was finally called by installers on job site using his cell phone with a bad signal saying 5 hours later. I had requested a morning install. Very bad experience all around.

Replies
Poor Service After the Sale!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA -- I contracted with Window World of Tallahassee to replace 14 windows and a door in our newly purchased home. Initially I was satisfied with the timeframe and quality of the job. I still believe the actual windows are a quality product. A period of time later when replacing the siding on our home extensive rot was discovered around virtually all of the windows that has either A) started since the completion of the job or B) was noticed but ignored/covered up with extensive wood putty and caulk to make it LOOK like a quality job.

Window World of Tallahassee refuses to accept any sort of responsibility for the rotting wood (even though it was understood in the contract that any rotting wood found would be repaired or replaced during installation at an additional cost to me). I am now having to remove the windows, replace all of the rotten wood and reinstall all of the windows at a cost of thousands of dollars to me.

Don't be fooled by their pricing. If you have to re-do the job in the near future because of their shotty workmanship it will cost you much, much more than getting a quality job done the first time. I have reported to the BBB and am writing negative reviews, but Window World doesn't seem to care. They got my money... They're done!

Replies
No Response After A Month Of E-Mails Calls And Texts
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- Approximately 1 month ago, March 21st, 2014, a Window World representative from the Pensacola, Fl store came to our house after we requested a quote for all new windows (will be about 25 in all). He spent about an hour and a half at our house. He told us that he would get us a quote in about a week (we have some unique windows he has to figure out) so I figured that was about right. The following Friday my wife receives a call from Window World's quality assurance office (or something like that) asking if we were going to purchase from them. My wife told them that we are not sure because we hadn't received a quote yet.

The representative told my wife that she would get on that right away. Fast forward to Tuesday, 15 April, 2014 still no word from anybody at Window World. My wife even e-mailed and left text messages for the man who came out to measure them and he has not responded. This is kind of weird because he was a very nice and knowledgeable person and we were excited about getting new windows. On 15 April I e-mailed the office in Orlando Florida and stated that I was not happy with not receiving any response from Window World.

I explained all of the above to him and also said that if I did not hear back from him that I would e-mail the corporate office, this was Tuesday night at 8 p. m., I received a response within 5 minutes from a ** in Orlando asking that I please give him a call so he can look into this issue and said thanks for my patience. I did not call that night because I was at the bowling alley. I phoned him the next morning at 11:30 a. m. His secretary said he was not in yet and asked if I wanted to be sent to his voicemail. I said yes and I left a message to please call me with my cell and office number.

Tomorrow will be a week and still have not heard from him. Friday night I e-mailed the corporate office in North Carolina, again explaining the above and also asked if this is Window World's standard operating procedure (not calling back customers) told them I would never buy from them and that I would not refer them to any of my friends and acquaintances. I also said that I was going to start leaving negative comments as well but was giving them an opportunity to rectify the situation. Well, I've still heard nothing.

Window World, what is your problem? If my house is too much of a hassle to put in new windows all you have to do is say so. Not returning calls or e-mails is pretty [upsetting]!!! I would have been spending quite a bit of money on you. Oh yeah, I just remembered, the rep who came to my house was also going to have their vinyl siding person get a hold of me. Well guess what?? They've never called either. So I guess what I really need to say is that this is one unprofessional company and I'm really surprised they are even in business!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Buy Anything From Window World seriously
By -

CHANTILLY, VIRGINIA -- I have had the worst experience ever with Window World of DC. First of all they say the sell a 189 window installed, that's a lie. Yea sure they will install it for 189 but you got to get this and that (you have to get the ext. Trim and low/e argon gas and any other options more $$$) and the 189 is their low end window... So right off the bat it's more like 400 per window minimum. OK so that isn't the bad news... Oh and the sales people will show you reviews and comments from previous customers raving about the company but I think that's total bs probably just made it up themselves.

The sales people tell you "oh you'll get a call in a few days 3-5 at the most and someone will come to measure your windows"...Another lie. Nobody calls you. No one. You have to call and practically beg and complain for someone to come out. And when these people who work over there answer the phone they have this attitude like why are you calling me? What's your problem? Customer service really really really sucks. The people who work there must be miserable. It's like you're calling the morgue. You got to be courteous, have a smile in your voice but more like they're angry that you called.

Oh and when this measurer does call you he doesn't speak English. Yea so you have a really hard time trying to communicate and the caller gets upset with you and yells at you. Umm hello I'm the customer I should be upset not you. And the installers don't speak English so you got to call the office and go through hell just to communicate. I mean they speak very limited basic English. And I got no problem if you can't speak English but if I'm paying you guys thousands of dollars I shouldn't have to go through that to ask questions during install.

Cheap windows cheap labor a friend told me. So they say 4-6 weeks from time you sign a contract to the time you get installed another lie. Took 3 months. It was a nightmare mismeasures, order wasn't placed correctly, oh the truck from the factory didn't bring the windows blah blah blah excuses excuses.

And they rave about their lifetime all inclusive warranty. Yea if you call and complain 10 times and put up with their horrible customer service. If you ever call them they'll say I need to take a message we'll call you back... Yeah next year. I had to drive to their office just for them to listen to me when I had a warranty issue and when I just wanted to know what the hell is taking so long for you guys to call a customer back. Look if I wasn't so upset with their product, service, and just the way they treat people I wouldn't be wasting my time putting this up. I just don't want anyone else to go through this nightmare because they say they're great but they're not.

Company Response 04/01/2009:

This review was written by a previous disgruntled employee that was terminated from our company.

Company Response 04/03/2009:

The attorney for Window World of DC is in the process of pursuing this former employee to the fullest extent of the law because of acts committed while in the employ of our company. Further, he will challenge the site to remove these lies and inuendos.
We take customer service very seriously. We have grown our business in the DC metro area to be one of the most successful window replacement firms in this area. We install over 20,000 units per year with approximately 40-50% of that coming from referrals. Obviously that would not happen if we were not satisfying our customers.

Replies
Shame On Window World, Shame Shame Shame!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- First like many, estimate was bait and switch. If you are attempting to save money... you get what you pay for with Window World. Four Grand, 20 calls, one year later and still waiting on a refund for an "odd" (their term) - hexagonal shaped window. The installer measured the window more times than I can recall, and ordered FIVE different windows at FIVE different times and still couldn't get it right. Management has done everything to avoid me and to send someone to repair masonry that was loosened and damaged by the pushing and forcing of the FIVE different windows that were ordered.

One of the windows installed is defective and water seeps in slowly when it rains hard. Imagine how much air is escaping! So customer service "ordered a replacement four months ago. I have come to the realization I will never receive it. SAVE YOURSELF FROM THE ANGUISH THIS COMPANY WILL BRING. THEY ARE A FRAUD. Shame on Window World, shame!!

Replies
Was Lied to and Took Payment for Window That Was Never Ordered
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VOLUSIA, FLORIDA -- We ordered a replacement window on 2/25/2015 and paid over the phone with a credit card and was told by Harold that the window would take 2 to 2 1/2 weeks. When we called a week in for a receipt for payment and wanted to confirm payment and order received invoice. Called the next week to see if it was on the truck and was told they were checking. No luck and no phone call back. Now almost three weeks in and we are being handed around on phone from Melissa to heather to dawn to Harold and find out the window was never ordered and that they would gladly cancel order because they would not make any money on one window.

Wow. I mean wow. What kind of business is that? They also said reason it was not ordered was they were remodeling and the order was pushed to the side. They have many excuses and many lies. We are getting ready to remodel a house with 21 windows and to sliding doors. I guess they will not be the company we will call for those windows.

Replies
Exceptionally Satisfied With Experience.
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

CHESAPEAKE, VIRGINIA -- After consulting a different company and getting a $26K estimate on 21 windows, we called Window World. The salesperson was superb, explaining the product before showing us the cost: $8,400...less than 1/3 of the price of an Anderson window. We were told it would be 4-6 weeks before the windows were ready. Only 3 weeks later, however, we got the call that the windows were ready. WW sent a team of 6 friendly guys out to the house. They had all the old aluminum windows out and the new vinyl windows installed in 1 hour...then they spent 2 hours on the trim, finish and cleanup.

When they left, I was amazed. Great looking windows, a clean house with NO debris, and no damage to my window sills or walls. Other people may have had bad experiences, but in Hampton Roads, VA, Window World rocks. I would strongly recommend them to ANYBODY.

Replies
Advertisement
Appreciate the Follow Up
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- We had 11 windows and 1 patio door replaced last year by Window World of Edison, NJ. They were quick, efficient and clean. I was impressed with their work. This week I received an unsolicited follow up call with regard to our satisfaction. I appreciate their interest. Having just gone though a very unsatisfactory kitchen remodeling project it's encouraging to see a company stand by their work.

In speaking with the Window World representative I mentioned that the door handle on the patio door had loosened up. We arranged a mutually agreeable time for an installer to look into the issue. The installer arrived within the appointment timeframe and quickly resolve the issue. Any company can provide sales, it's the install and servicing which is important. Thanks!

Replies
The Worst Nightmare We Have Ever experienced... Horrible Work and No Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUPELO, MISSISSIPPI -- We contracted about 16 months ago and they are still not finished. They have butchered up our house and all the windows are leaking air. The gas has escaped and the windows are not energy efficient. They have been out here so many times that they become a pest. They put screws in the weep cavity in the twin windows and now water will leak down into the interior walls creating mold.

They have hundreds of unresolved complaints. The picture window is all scared up and they used a crowbar and made chips in the window frame. They cleaned the windows with mineral spirits which left a dull finish. There are air leaks in all the windows and we have been very cold this winter because our house is cold. Don't do business with this rogue company of unprofessional duds.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Window World Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
79 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Window World
118 Shaver Street
N. Wilkesboro, NC 28659
1-800-639-8946 (ph)
www.windowworld.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies