Home BudgetingWarranty Services

Choice Home Warranty Review

, Editor | Updated November 19, 2018

Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Posted on 07/23/2018

IRVING, TEXAS -- Cooling failed on July 17, called this warranty company and requested immediate assistance. Said that its' not an emergency even though AC was working and with 100 degrees outside. Had no response for 2 days and on 19th they scheduled someone and finally had a person from one of their affiliated service companies came on 19th and said that the Compressor was grounded. Called the warranty company for updates on this but had no response from either the companies till 7/23 - All the while my central AC unit (heat pump ) was broken and had to buy a portable AC just to breathe and live.

On 7/23, they sent their response - They did not denied my claim, saying that the compressor was grounded due to overheating but due to debris lying nearby which occupied just 1/30th of the total space. Not sure as to why the temperatures of 110 degrees did not come into the cause of overheating but it's their way of saying that the 'Compressor failed because the insulation failed due to being overheated by the debris lying around'. A truly bad company that will do anything to avoid a claim.

BTW, trying to reach their customer service or claim representatives or claim specialists is a nightmare. It took me 1hr to 3hrs to reach their customer service reps (as only they can see the updates on the claims) and since Friday (July 20th) had no luck at all. At the moment it has been 2 hrs since I am on the line listening to the great music and their self-propelled claims that they are the best company. Used this company a few times last year - for issues with small repairs and replaceable parts this company is good. THAT'S IT.

This company does not repair anything. All this company does is take your money and send people within the first week if you are lucky and if the repair is a small part that can be taken care of by the provider sent, then they are good. Otherwise a completely hopeless company. This company is only good for small appliance repair and for bugging people to renew their warranty. That's it. Period. Cannot do anything apart from that.

Posted on 07/19/2018

EDISON, NORTH CAROLINA -- Your claim will get denied every time, save your money! And if you try to actually talk to a live person, good luck. Emails, they're automated so forget trying to get an actual answer... Complete waste of money. No AC in July in NC...

Posted on 07/17/2018

CHESAPEAKE VA -- Oct 2017 Purchased a 3 yr contract paid in advance. A few months after called for service to change a light switch. I received an email that night stating a service provider would arrive the next day between 11-3pm. Took off work and one showed up. Called the electrician and when he finally answered he said he didn't have me on his roster. Called CHW and that took over an hour to get through. Issue was fixed. Just to make a point, this was a ON/Off switch. I called again for another claim and again no one showed up.

In total 4 days I took off work and the provider never showed up. I decided I cancel. The person I talked to was hostile from the word hello. In the end they said the total refund was less than 1 year. They incurred $318 for sending out the electrician administrative fees etc. With only 9 months with the company I was expecting 2 yrs refunded back to me, instead it is less than 1 years. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. HORRIBLE SERVICE.

Posted on 07/15/2018

RED OAK, TEXAS -- Filed claim in May 2018. Policy in effect for over 3 yrs. No other claims. Could not get through on phone lines, after pick up, phone lines at company lots of static while on hold. After several tries, filed online. Finally get a person to respond who stated they were not covered. I told them it was the diverters or something inside which are covered.

After a few days I cancelled as they were not going to honor claim. Got a call from supervisor who stated she was going to cover the claim as we had been with them a long time. The most they would pay was 500 dollars. We told her we already had the job done and it cost us 1300 dollars. I sent the proof for the claim and was told it would be 30 days. That came and went, no check.

6 wks later I emailed them again regarding the status of the check. Stated they cancelled the check as I was not current in payments. Informed them the policy was in effect and paid up when claim made. Requested appeal of decision. A case manager called and said I would have to pay 75 plus dollars to bring me up to date on payments. It is now 7-14-18. Then they would release the check. She said the only reason they were going to pay the 500 dollars was because I agreed to continue the contract. Told her that I never agreed to such a thing.

She put me on hold and then came back and said, "Well there will be no check. Your account is deleted now and we cannot issue you a check and will not". I informed her just before in the same conversation, we were told we would have to pay 75 dollars and continue the policy to get the check and now it is just gone.

Dishonest company and a waste of your money. All the warranty companies are scams and with little recourse when they take your money. We had been with another warranty company (AHS) for over 25 yrs, which is just as bad before we were promised better service with Choice. Do not let it be your Choice. Complete waste of money.

Posted on 07/10/2018

LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA -- All I can say is that this is the worst company to do business with. On multiple occasions I have had to find my own repair service, and hope for a refund which is impossible to get. Do not buy a warranty from this company.

Posted on 07/10/2018

EDISON, TEXAS -- My air conditioner compressor was not working. After their technician came the first time, he replaced the compressor. The unit worked for a day and when the technician came again, he said it is normal wear and tear for a 11 year old unit.

After waiting for 12 days in Texas heat to contact the case manager, I spoke to her and her reasons were as follows: Locked and open winding which is not correct since the compressor is working but not circulating Freon. The normal life of a compressor is 14 years and since mine stopped working in 11 years so it not normal wear and tear. She had no other reasons and when I tried to get more specific answer I was told by her that she is not a technician.

Posted on 07/09/2018

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- If you business with this company you're stupid. If you contact with this company you're stupid and you won't get paid! As a contractor for this company I got burned, we have over $1500.00 in unpaid invoices. They pay so little for their contractors. It's a magnet for poor workmanship.

Posted on 07/07/2018

TEXAS -- Put in a call for my A/C not working. Tech came out and said the system was leaking and would need to be replaced. He submitted his report to Choice. They immediately came back within a claim denial because they said it was due to corrosion which was excluded. I appealed and they just said I was not covered. Very happy to take your money but won't pay out. Wish I had read other reviews before signing up. Don't waste your money - SCAM.

Posted on 07/04/2018

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- Never make a mistake buying warranty with this company. Neither they come on time nor anything is covered. I want to let all know I bought full coverage but in reality they will not cover anything. It a total waste of your money and you will be fooled. You may no regret my biggest mistake in life but will regret for buying Choice Home Warranty. I don't want other to lose your money like I did.

Posted on 06/30/2018

MARYLAND, MARYLAND -- I have had a horrible experience Choice Warranty. I called to place a claim for my dishwasher and the technician came to my home, took the service fee, claimed the issue was resolved and when he left I tried to use the dishwasher and it was still leaking. I called Choice to voice my concerns and I was told they couldn't help me. I will be cancelling my warranty plan. They are the worse.

Advertiser Disclosure:

The information we provide and the analysis we share is always free. So, how do we survive? We get compensated by our partners, which may sometimes influence the products or services we review and the order in which they appear. Our suggestions and guidance are unbiased and are based only on our thorough research.