Home BudgetingWarranty Services

Choice Home Warranty Review

, Editor | Updated November 19, 2018

Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Posted on 07/19/2018

EDISON, NORTH CAROLINA -- Your claim will get denied every time, save your money! And if you try to actually talk to a live person, good luck. Emails, they're automated so forget trying to get an actual answer... Complete waste of money. No AC in July in NC...

Posted on 07/17/2018

CHESAPEAKE VA -- Oct 2017 Purchased a 3 yr contract paid in advance. A few months after called for service to change a light switch. I received an email that night stating a service provider would arrive the next day between 11-3pm. Took off work and one showed up. Called the electrician and when he finally answered he said he didn't have me on his roster. Called CHW and that took over an hour to get through. Issue was fixed. Just to make a point, this was a ON/Off switch. I called again for another claim and again no one showed up.

In total 4 days I took off work and the provider never showed up. I decided I cancel. The person I talked to was hostile from the word hello. In the end they said the total refund was less than 1 year. They incurred $318 for sending out the electrician administrative fees etc. With only 9 months with the company I was expecting 2 yrs refunded back to me, instead it is less than 1 years. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. HORRIBLE SERVICE.

Posted on 07/15/2018

RED OAK, TEXAS -- Filed claim in May 2018. Policy in effect for over 3 yrs. No other claims. Could not get through on phone lines, after pick up, phone lines at company lots of static while on hold. After several tries, filed online. Finally get a person to respond who stated they were not covered. I told them it was the diverters or something inside which are covered.

After a few days I cancelled as they were not going to honor claim. Got a call from supervisor who stated she was going to cover the claim as we had been with them a long time. The most they would pay was 500 dollars. We told her we already had the job done and it cost us 1300 dollars. I sent the proof for the claim and was told it would be 30 days. That came and went, no check.

6 wks later I emailed them again regarding the status of the check. Stated they cancelled the check as I was not current in payments. Informed them the policy was in effect and paid up when claim made. Requested appeal of decision. A case manager called and said I would have to pay 75 plus dollars to bring me up to date on payments. It is now 7-14-18. Then they would release the check. She said the only reason they were going to pay the 500 dollars was because I agreed to continue the contract. Told her that I never agreed to such a thing.

She put me on hold and then came back and said, "Well there will be no check. Your account is deleted now and we cannot issue you a check and will not". I informed her just before in the same conversation, we were told we would have to pay 75 dollars and continue the policy to get the check and now it is just gone.

Dishonest company and a waste of your money. All the warranty companies are scams and with little recourse when they take your money. We had been with another warranty company (AHS) for over 25 yrs, which is just as bad before we were promised better service with Choice. Do not let it be your Choice. Complete waste of money.

Posted on 07/10/2018

LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA -- All I can say is that this is the worst company to do business with. On multiple occasions I have had to find my own repair service, and hope for a refund which is impossible to get. Do not buy a warranty from this company.

Posted on 07/10/2018

EDISON, TEXAS -- My air conditioner compressor was not working. After their technician came the first time, he replaced the compressor. The unit worked for a day and when the technician came again, he said it is normal wear and tear for a 11 year old unit.

After waiting for 12 days in Texas heat to contact the case manager, I spoke to her and her reasons were as follows: Locked and open winding which is not correct since the compressor is working but not circulating Freon. The normal life of a compressor is 14 years and since mine stopped working in 11 years so it not normal wear and tear. She had no other reasons and when I tried to get more specific answer I was told by her that she is not a technician.

Posted on 07/09/2018

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- If you business with this company you're stupid. If you contact with this company you're stupid and you won't get paid! As a contractor for this company I got burned, we have over $1500.00 in unpaid invoices. They pay so little for their contractors. It's a magnet for poor workmanship.

Posted on 07/07/2018

TEXAS -- Put in a call for my A/C not working. Tech came out and said the system was leaking and would need to be replaced. He submitted his report to Choice. They immediately came back within a claim denial because they said it was due to corrosion which was excluded. I appealed and they just said I was not covered. Very happy to take your money but won't pay out. Wish I had read other reviews before signing up. Don't waste your money - SCAM.

Posted on 07/04/2018

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- Never make a mistake buying warranty with this company. Neither they come on time nor anything is covered. I want to let all know I bought full coverage but in reality they will not cover anything. It a total waste of your money and you will be fooled. You may no regret my biggest mistake in life but will regret for buying Choice Home Warranty. I don't want other to lose your money like I did.

Posted on 06/30/2018

MARYLAND, MARYLAND -- I have had a horrible experience Choice Warranty. I called to place a claim for my dishwasher and the technician came to my home, took the service fee, claimed the issue was resolved and when he left I tried to use the dishwasher and it was still leaking. I called Choice to voice my concerns and I was told they couldn't help me. I will be cancelling my warranty plan. They are the worse.

Posted on 06/25/2018

MISSISSIPPI -- So I bought a 3 year warranty with this company a year ago because the deal was just too good not to. I've used them when my clothes' washing machine went out, and rather than fix my machine, they agreed to pay me the cost of what a replacement machine was worth. Not disappointed there except that it took a long time to get my check, but HCW did come through for this incident.

However, today they did me wrong!! I live where triple digit temperatures are the norm, and today there was a heat emergency warning for the area. My AC went out last night. I immediately put a claim in this morning (it's Monday). My service technician was scheduled for Friday between 3 pm and 8 pm!!! UNACCEPTABLE!!

When I called, I was given an unsympathetic excuse that they "are not an emergency service". What **!! I don't mind waiting a little while for a washing machine repair, but AC and heat are essential. Just not to them. Ironically I have two more years left on my bought plan, but when they start hounding me about a renewal in 2021, I think I'm going to play the "it's not an emergency" card!!

Advertiser Disclosure:

The information we provide and the analysis we share is always free. So, how do we survive? We get compensated by our partners, which may sometimes influence the products or services we review and the order in which they appear. Our suggestions and guidance are unbiased and are based only on our thorough research.