Preview Review

Next Review

United Parcel Service Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
UPS Delivery: Reliable in its Unreliability
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA -- A huge problem lies in the fact that UPS doesn't seem to uphold its own delivery standards, to the detriment of its customers. I'm expecting a time sensitive package that was supposed to arrive yesterday. As of this review, the package is still delayed with no signs of progress. It originally shipped on November 2nd. UPS Worldwide Saver was the service used and the package originated from China. Don't 'guarantee' delivery within two business days if you consistently fall short of that promise.

This is not the first time that I've had this sort of problem arise, and from other reviews I've encountered online, I am certainly not in the minority. Extremely frustrating and just as disappointing. I wish I could say that phone calls to customer service are of any help, but in my experience, the people on the other end could not care less.

Replies
UPS Sucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DEERFIELD BEACH, FLORIDA -- 1st Mistake: So unfortunately I ordered something on eBay that required a signature when delivered. 2nd Huge Mistake: Wasn't able to answer the door when UPS arrived with the package at 2:30 in the afternoon. Spent the rest of the afternoon talking with UPS representatives who assured me I could pick it up that day at a location they drop off packages for this very situation near my house. Common theme that they always tell you “someone will call you within the hour to let you know where your package is and where it will be dropped off”. THIS NEVER HAPPENS! This is all BS. They tell their phone reps to say. This is why I kept calling back, because no one ever called me.

So the third time I call they tell me that it has now arrived at the location near my house and I can pick it up. So I get there and it of course is not there. I call again, now they tell that it instead was delivered to their Deerfield Beach, FL location which is way too far from my house to go pick up before they close at 7 pm. I tell the person how important it was for me to get the package today, and that is why I have been on the phone all day with them to insure that this wouldn't happen. He apologizes and says he sent a note to prioritize the package and that I should receive it by 9 a.m. tomorrow.

So I wait until about 12 p.m. the next day and call to vent to the next UPS customer service agent and explain everything that happen and that I was told the package would be here today a 9 a.m. I'm giving more lip service and told the same line about being contacted within the next hour about my package. It is now 5:15 and UPS still has not shown up with my “prioritized” package that I really needed yesterday. So the bottom line is UPS's customer service have no power to change anything regarding your package and anything they tell you is just lip service to keep you calm and get you off the phone. They will get your package to you if and when they feel like it, regardless who you talk to. Really, just an incredibly terrible company.

Replies
Destroyed Shipped Box
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ASBURY, NEW JERSEY -- I shipped a vintage computer and monitor from NJ to Conn. which is not very far. The main box was brand new. The computer was wrapped in bubble wrap. The monitor was wrapped in bubble wrap, placed in a separate box and placed in the larger box with packing around it. The box looks like it fell off the truck going 60 mph. The monitor was completely destroyed. They had to put tape around the whole box to keep it together. UPS said I did not pack it well enough. Check out the photos. Think twice about using UPS.

Replies
Horrible Company to Work With; Awful Customer Website; Awful Customer Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOVELAND, COLORADO -- Spent over an hour on trying to change my package delivery date. Did everything their tracking email told me to do. Logged into "MyChoice" UPS. Nothing worked. Nothing was accurate. They have an awful virtual help button that gets you nowhere. Finally reached a support representative on the phone. She couldn't explain exactly why it doesn't work to track my package. She was very difficult to understand and still not sure what she said. Some gibberish about how I couldn't change my delivery date because it was going from UPS to the US Postal Service. Of course, nothing on my email from United Parcel Service (UPS) told me anything about that, and nothing online told me any such thing. WHAT A MESS OF A BUSINESS!!

Replies
Advertisement
Cannot Be Trusted
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Unreliable Parcel Service. Local UPS delivery drivers refuse to follow simple delivery instructions as provided on their own website. "UPS My Choice" provides instructions to deliver to my front door and also provides a code to open a gate on my driveway. I have been told by UPS that they will follow these instructions, but the drivers don't care. This is an ongoing problem. I tried talking to the driver supervisor at the local distribution center, but will never do that again. She was the rudest person I have ever encountered....extremely unprofessional.

A few months ago I found the business card of the manager of that location in my mailbox. That violated federal law. The gate does not reduce the width of my driveway and in no way prevents the delivery trucks from reaching my house since they have the keypad code to open it. It opens automatically for exit. They know all of this. They also know that we are both handicapped, which is the reason for the delivery instructions to our front door.

Replies
Another Lost Document, for Document Envelopes, Always Use FedEx
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I had a simple shipment of a legal document shipped from a Canadian office. UPS delivery in Atlanta couldn't figure out the address they inputted, so the document ( 3 day delivery) sat at a UPS facility in Atlanta for two weeks. I called and they adjusted the address ( a suite number) and promised next day delivery. It's been 10 days now, and counting. I call every day to track it. They write a report/request and promise me that I will get a call back that day.

Every day I call, and every day they promise someone will call. Nobody from UPS ever calls. As of today, the new commitment is it will be resolved in 8 days. I tried to call a real person at UPS in Atlanta, but there is no phone number to a person, only a machine. This has cost me big time. I'll never trust them again. I wish they would just admit they lost the envelope, or least actually follow up in some way.

Replies
Overnight Shipping Not Delivered 8n 2 Days, Lost Package
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALASKA -- I mistakenly thought UPS was a reputable company. I just sent 35 lbs of frozen meats from Alaska to Arkansas for next day delivery guaranteed! Package dropped off on 10/9/18 at 8:30 am when UPS opens. Package is nowhere to be found, 250.00 later. I have been told it missed a flight but there have been no updated scans. I was told once today, package will be delivered by end of today, 2 day delivery. I called again today, 10/11/18. I was told it is to be delivered on 10/12/18. 3 day delivery. Meats will be no good if they the package is even found! Maybe someone got hungry huh? Seriously, UPS has horrible customer service! Never use UPS. I saw UPS reviews on this website and figured I best add to them. People not to use UPS!

Replies
UPS Lost Package. Took 10 Phone Calls, Still No Refund
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HAWAII -- I was moving from one island to another in Hawaii and an administrative assistant at my company offered to ship a couple boxes for me. After 2 weeks, one box had still not arrived and she called UPS who sent her paperwork to initiate a claim. I also called but they would not give me information because I wasn't technically the sender. I explained that it was all my things just being shipped by my company but that didn't seem to matter. Assistant did send the paperwork to me which I sent back to her and we thought that would be the end of it.

When nothing happened I called back again and was told to call a different number for the claim and I was told the claim has been closed. When the assistant checked on it they said they never received the paperwork and closed the claim. I filled out the paperwork again, send it back to the assistant to send it in again. When I called several days later to check the status I was informed the claim had been closed and the money has been paid to my company. I need to contact my company to get the refund for the missing package. When I called my company they said there is no such thing.

The admin. assistant called UPS again and this time they told her again the claim has been closed because they never received the paperwork AGAIN, which both her and I had emailed twice and she had also faxed. This is after I was just told by a customer service representative that the claim been closed because payment has been made. So I called back again, had to explain the whole situation again was directed to call someone else explain the whole situation again.

I was told then they didn't know why someone had said the claim had been paid, but that the claim was not processed again because of the lack of paperwork which should already been sent and twice. I asked to speak to a supervisor, explained the whole situation again. He said he would send the paperwork back out to the assistant since I was not technically the sender and he would call me to follow up the next day. I filled out the paperwork out for the third time and my assistant sent it in.

The next day I received no follow up call from the supervisor and I had to call again for the sixth or seventh time now where I was told that a refund has been processed and my company should receive a check within 10 days. I was also told they only pay up to $100 which was never known before so this was news to me, but at this point I'll take whatever I can get. The payment has not arrived yet but I'm hoping that this will finally settle that it has been over a month now and I have neither my package nor any refund and I have spent hours calling and emailing trying to get someone to help me with this.

This is the worst customer service experience of my life. Both myself and my assistant wasted so much time and no one did what they said, often giving me false information. If you place any value on your time, I definitely lost money due to all the time spent calling, telling them the same information over and over again, being directed to call other departments and other people, and filling out the same information 3 times. Next time, use Fedex and save yourself hours of headache and frustration.

Replies
Advertisement
UPS - Deny All Claims - Crawford Insurance Here to Screw You
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- I have been through this song and dance with UPS claims before, so I knew from the beginning what I was in for. Previously, I shipped items when I was an employee of a big company, and they would not spend the time and energy to appeal this claims process that UPS and Crawford Insurance want's you to go through. However, I am now self employed, and I am going to go the distance on this just on principle alone. Enough is enough.

We need national exposure on this scam, and ultimately a class action lawsuit as this is a clear cut case of defrauding the customer. This is because UPS and Crawford Insurance conspire to either deny every claim, or undervalue every claim. It is a conspiracy to defraud and needs to be prosecuted as such, both at the criminal level, and civil process.

I prepared 2 shipping labels where I paid for the "insurance" at an amount that was clearly under what it would take to replace the items if lost or damaged. And, I was fully willing to accept that amount when UPS lost my package. However, Crawford Insurance, as usual undervalued my claim, and did not "make me whole" as required under the law. Then they jump you through hoops when you try to appeal the decision in hopes you will just go away, and most people do. That's why they get away with it.

I finally get a return call from a "supervisor" with Crawford & Co. by the name of ** with a caller ID of **. She was snotty sounding from the start and talked down to me like I was stupid. (I'm not by the way). She tried explaining that this was NOT "insurance" that I purchased, but rather "declared value". (Semantics). This person sounded like she is like 12 years old.

I declared the value of that package at only $195 (trying to be fair and reasonable) even though the items could never be replaced for $195. Crawford went ahead and processed a payment for like $101 total! I was given the amount over the phone, and have not received the check yet. My total claim amount was only $231.59 which I WAS fully willing to accept, but now, that offer is off the table. I reside and do business in Florida, which to the best of my knowledge (from past experience) is a "make whole" state which means they are required to pay me at least the declared value OR they must actually replace what I lost.

I am now going for nothing less than full replacement of my lost items, as that cannot be done for less than $1000. These idiots think that just because I paid a certain amount for something, that is all they are required to pay. The part these mental midgets cannot comprehend is that the lost items cannot be replaced for what I paid for them. BUYER BEWARE!! When you purchase "insurance" from UPS you need to understand that they have no intention of paying you the declared value that you are paying for.

I must now proceed against the seller on Ebay on this although he did nothing wrong, just so there is another party involved against UPS... Although I purchased the UPS labels on my UPS account and sent them to the seller (that makes me the shipper, legally).

These lowlife already tried using that angle..."well you are not the shipper"... WRONG! Crawford & Co. / Crawford Insurance/UPS will do whatever they can to get out of paying a legitimate claim. These arrogant fools are willing to go to court and possibly have a legal precedent set over a measly $130.00!! How stupid is that! We really do need a class action lawsuit on this of every single person who has ever been shorted on a claim with UPS or any claim that Crawford ever processed and shorted. Any lawyers out there want to tackle this? If not, I have enough experience to prepare and file my own complaint and it will be filed in FEDERAL COURT.

It will be filed against UPS as they are the ones who actually lost my items, and then they can deal with Crawford so they can see how they like it! I printed the labels on 3/19/2012. The Ebay seller dropped them at a UPS Store on 3/26/2012 in Edison NJ. My package never made it past that location as per the tracer. 3/31/2012 UPS declared the package lost and this nightmare claim process began.

Replies
Aerator Touring Midwest!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBIA, MISSOURI -- March 11, 2013 I ordered a Lawn Aerator for a Zero Turn Mower, The unit was shipped by UPS Freight with a 2 day in transit time. The unit was picked up by UPS freight on March 13, 2013. Friday, March 15 at 7:50 AM I received a call from ** in the Columbia Terminal that my freight was there and would be delivered by noon. At that time I checked my tracking number and showed it was in Columbia. 3 hours later I get a call they can not locate it, "got the paperwork but cannot find the freight."

I called back and spoke to the terminal secretary and she said, "we do not know where it is," I received a phone call approximately an hour later and was told that it was in "Springfield." At that time she said would have for Monday delivery. As a result of this snafu on their part I lost over $500.00 in wages as could not aerate yards at $00.08 a sq ft. No call Monday morning from the Columbia Terminal. So I call the 1-800 number and am connected to someone whose English is so poor thought I was in a preschool class listening. I gathered my aerator had been shipped to Wichita then Kansas City, Ks and would be here tomorrow as needed an extra day.

The representative was to also send an "urgent message" to the terminal manager to contact me. Tuesday morning I have not received a peep from UPS. On Monday the pallet was 140 miles from its destination terminal. It would make sense that it would be put on the truck to Columbia, MO to be delivered on Tuesday, No that is not the UPS way, that are backing tracking it and as I write Tuesday Afternoon it is back in Springfield, MO awaiting a fateful trip through the St Louis Terminal once again.

If I enter the Tracking Number it has not changed since Friday, March 15. It show Shipment Has Arrived at Service Center. What a joke it should read "Paperwork has arrived at Service Center whereabouts of package are unknown." It's trip to Springfield, Mo, Wichita KS, Kansas City Ks and back to Springfield, MO is yet to be documented let alone it's trip back through St Louis and to Columbia, Mo. No one at UPS can tell me why it was not routed back Friday through St Louis from Springfield as it appears now to be. No one at UPS can tell me why it was not put on a truck for Columbia when in Kansas City, Ks instead of be routed back through Springfield.

A rough calculation is that it has traveled an extra 1000 miles more than it should have been had it been placed on the right truck Thursday evening in St Louis. Final thoughts: Never trust UPS Tracking, it is just paper work and not the actual parcel. If UPS loses your parcel only the Gods at UPS can figure out how to get it to you the most uneconomical way. Never trust your parcel to UPS in any way, shape or form!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United Parcel Service Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 99 ratings and
326 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United Parcel Service
55 Glenlake Pkwy. N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30328
404-828-6000 (ph)
www.ups.com
webmaster@ups.com
Product/Services
Compare Delivery Services