Preview Review

Next Review

Allstate Insurance Auto Insurance Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Sabotaged and Trapped
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Over twenty years with no accidents, then had someone hit me from behind. She was given five tickets and arrested for having no registration, driver's license, and no insurance. Even though I was hit from behind by someone doing over 55 mph--medical damage backs this up--I was accused of being responsible. Since there were no witnesses and the police could care less, Allstate held the power to trap me in my policy because (now) other insurance providers look at me as high risk. Frankly, the adjusters are scammers.

Furthermore, no one is in good hands with Allstate because they do not listen and they'll RAISE your insurance because they can. I moved shortly after and they raised it again. I hadn't signed up for the auto withdrawal option so they changed my due date without telling me, then tried to cancel my policy when I didn't pay on time because I didn't know my new due date. In turn, they forced me to pay two months of payments in order to keep auto insurance. The customer service agent agreed that this was sabotage. For anyone reading this -- RUN, RUN, RUN!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Policy Cancelled With No Notice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YORK, NEW JERSEY -- After over 15 years with Allstate my wife passed away late in October who happened to manage our finances. On any account after this it took me a few weeks to get on top of the bills one of which was Allstate for our Auto Insurance. I noticed that the payment was past due so I called Allstate to sort things out, the agent had me pay $204 for the November Payment which was past due. It was now November the 16th. OK, so a few week later I drive 4 hours away from home to pick up a new truck, part of the transactions was to transfer my insurance over to the new vehicle.

When Allstate was called I was told that my policy had been cancelled in November because of non payment of the October bill. I explained my circumstances to the agent on the phone who basically said there was nothing he could do because the October Bill wasn't paid. So I said I can make payment for whatever was past due, his response was that he could not help me because of a history of missed payments. Now we'd never missed a payment in 15 years till the one the was apparently due right when my wife passed away so how we have a history of missed payment baffles me and now I was stranded 4 hours away from home with no insurance.

I still have not received any kind of notice of cancellation, in the mail or via email. Gee. Thanks Allstate, I wasn't really in good hands. An any account a call to Geico from the Dealer got me on the spot insurance for 40% less than what I'd been paying Allstate.

Replies
The End Is Not Good
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- Good people bad company. To see if a person is of a good character or bad takes very long relationship. You come across lot of people with very impressive first impressions that people tell even tell their deepest secrets but end up having a huge scar for the rest of their lives. Even if their first impression appears hard hearted, the more you get to know the person, you see them with sincere heart, trying their best to keep their promises, always thinking about the other person over self, and doesn't change their mind is a person of good and beautiful character.

You can tell by a person by the way they use the bathroom. There's a saying that person is different before using the bathroom and after using. There are people who clean up their mess after the use so others who follow will use clean facility. These are people with good character. But there are people who use the bathroom as if they're never going to use it again, spilling water over the sink, wasting papers and water since it's not their money. These are people who has two different mistrustful characters.

This is my story. Three years ago, 10/26/2010, I've injured my knee as the other driver illegally made a quick U-turn. He was carrying AllState auto insurance. I went through physical therapies, cortisone injections, surgery, acupuncture but I'm still limping. I've hired an attorney but we ended up firing him as he lied about his work and we ended up getting bills through the collection agency.

June 2013, AllState called me to notify that the agent who's handling my case, he was changed. He started out saying the agent who was handling it before didn't offer you enough and depicted he will compensate for the time loss and all the treatments. I told him I'm still limping so I need more treatment. He said go ahead and get all the treatments I needed and just send them the bills. As of this date, I am still being treated by UW physical therapy.

On 10/23/2013, when I was home, I've received a call from AllState so I answered but I don't know how that's possible but it went to voice message. Immediately after, AllState called my home phone so I answered but they terminate the call as soon as I answer. So I called AllState 5 times and left two messages after but no one answered or returned my calls. I found that after 3 years passed, legally AllState is not responsible for me. I did call many times and left messages but no response after their call to me on 10/23/13.

At first, they sweet talked to me in believe that they will do their best to be there until I am finished with my treatment and empathized with my pain but at the end they refuse to respond to any of my phone calls or messages. If they don't give me any settlement then they will have some profit but it's not forever. You need to wait until the end to make any decision to see if a person is of a good character or bad, company with a good standard or bad.

My story part 2. For the past three years, I have been limping severely. My legs are very weak that I am constantly bump into things so I have bruise everywhere. My two toes are bruised and black color as I put lot of pressure on it to make my balance. I constantly wake up in the middle of the night to take pain medication. Due to my physical health, I am deeply depressed and easily irritated about everything. I had a small restaurant but due to my injury, I had to hire more people so I didn't bring enough to pay for the bills. Consequently, I had no choice but to close my business a year ago. I am currently in physical therapy at UW.

Three years after my accident date, on 10/28/13, I've received a call from AllState. He said he will compensate for the past three years I was in pain and having to hire more employee with $8.50 per day but only if I sign it by today. I didn't sign since the promises they have been telling me is different from that they're offering. I have been suffering from this excruciating pain for the last 3 years, unable to walk straight, not to mention the mental health and financial hardship. I am still limping. AllState is very inconsiderate for people with pain, adding great stress and mental health issues.

Why didn't AllState respond to any of my call before the 3 years is up? I consulted with a lawyer but was told they can't help me since it's been 3years since the accident. Even if I need more treatment, there was no way for me to extend and if AllState refuse to pay any, there is nothing I can do. I believe strongly that AllStates purposely avoided my phone calls and didn't return call until a day after the 3 years. They're still hurting the people who are hurt even more.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GWINNETT, GEORGIA -- Allstate is saying that I still owe them nearly 100$ after I cancelled my policy in June of 2013. First off, let me say that I asked my agent before I cancelled if she thought I would owe any more money because I could just go ahead and pay it while I had money in my account considering I'm a college student on a very strict spending limit. She had told me that I was fine and would not owe anything; I was happy with this statement. I thought all was well and taken care of. Not even two weeks later, I received a letter in the mail saying I still owed them money and every two weeks since then I've gotten that letter.

I called my former agency first and spoke with them and was told that "no one in the office would've told you that you didn't owe any money because we don't handle that kind of stuff here" and that "when you pay your statement every month you're actually paying for coverage of the previous month."

A) how can you say that you're firm doesn't deal with accounting issues when I can call and make a payment over the phone with you, therefore, you handle money and can do the math to see if I will still owe money or not. And B) how does that make sense? Why would I pay after the fact to have my car covered? I would be paying to insure my car for the upcoming month.

After this I called 1-800-ALLSTATE (the customer service line) and was connected with two difference foreigners whom I could barely understand and one of them supposedly being a supervisor. The "supervisor" proceeded to YELL at me and tell me that I was wrong and when I make my payments on the 11th of every month to cover the 25th-25th of every month that it's actually a late payment. How?! That makes no sense. That should be considered an early payment if anything.

He then told me that "you should just pay the money because it's really not that much." Maybe for the supervisor of customer service that isn't a lot of money, however, for a college student who is paying her own way through and buying/renting my own textbooks, that's a lot of money! That's one of my textbooks alone! What ever happened to "the customer is always right"? I feel like I have been constantly lied to, cheated, and robbed from this company. I will never use this company ever again and will never recommend this company to any of my family or friends.

For minimum liability on a 1998 Acura, 130$ a month is outrageous and my premium continued to climb even with the Good Student and Good Driver and Automatic Payment discounts. The representatives in this company are miserable at customer service or providing any form of help to customers. I had been with the company a full year, my parents for over 20 years, my grandparents for nearly 40 years, my boyfriend for 6 years, and my brother for 5 years. They have just lost themselves a whole family of valuable customers and many more to come as soon as all of this comes out.

Replies
Advertisement
It Took 8 Times and Months for Them to Write Our Home Owner's Correct!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HAMILTON, OHIO -- I told the agent what I needed in a homeowner's policy and paid for it in cash for the year (In full)! Then we got the policy, and it had all kinds of mistakes on it! I called to get it done right and they said "ok no problem". It took them 8 mailings to get it right! I had to hold them by the hand so much and put up with so many excuses for their simple basic mistakes! Then they raised the cost of the policy without even telling us, during the year, when it was almost up a year later. The policy was paid in full when I took it out. So I checked on the reviews, and I couldn't believe how bad Allstate was, so I didn't renew the home owner's policy.

I wrote them to inform them. Then Allstate sent us our bill for our auto's insurance. We paid it even though it was higher! Then, one month later they sent us another bill after we accepted the policy and paid for it in full! They wanted more money, so I called and no one at Allstate knew anything! They would send me from dept. to dept. and even billing dept., didn't know why!

We never had any claims of any kind and I thought they would get back with me when they said they would. I got tired of all the phone calls to them and every time they were nice but they didn't know anything! I realized they were going to never know anything about my bill or anything else. I am not sure they know who they are! I have been getting insurance for 40 years and I never had so many problems with an insurance company not getting anything right on its own paper work and policies.

After all that is their product that you pay for! I thought I was dealing with children! It's like they don't want your business. I just paid the extra money, because after reading the reviews I knew they wouldn't return our prior payment! So when the Auto insurance policy ended, I called the agent: E-mailed and U.S. Mailed them that I would not be renewing our auto policy with them! I don't know if they understood but time will tell! I am so glad we never actually need to make a claim, and I would like to thank the people who take the time to write a review on All STATE! What a lousy insurance experience with All State and I would never trust them to cover us ever again!

Replies
Insurance Fraud
By -

My claim was filed on 10-17-09 and I am now going to a 3rd party to appraise my truck. They won't do agree on anything to get my truck fixed. When I Filed my claim on 10-17 I went to have my truck appraised and they told me they could not properly estimate the damage to the truck because it was too old and to take it to a paint shop and have it estimated.

I have a 63 Ford F100 unibody that has been restored with a new paint job only on the truck six months when it was vandalized and keyed the entire way around the truck. I then took the truck for the damage to be estimated and the business estimated the damage and repairs at $7600. My agent then told me this was not reasonable and I would have to take it to the original person that painted it. According to Tx state law an insurance company cannot tell a customer where to take their vehicle to get it fixed.

She then called my body shop and told them their services were not needed and that I was going to take it back to the guy that painted it the first time, without even talking to me. After fighting them on this and telling them I would take my truck to this body shop and not the one they were trying to force me into they set me up with another agent to do another appraisal.

Allstate's appraiser did not look at the truck for more than a couple of minutes and did not take into account anything that had been done to the truck. I had a new paint job, new upholstery, new stereo system and many other new parts.

I have since had two other appraisers look at the truck and they estimated it at around $15000. Her estimate had my truck at around $5000, there is no reason for there to be this much difference. She then went on to tell me my truck was going to be totaled out and that I was to drop it off at an auction warehouse. This truck means a lot to me and I want it fixed. I have comprehensive full coverage just in case something like this happens. I chose to fight them on this and take it to a third party according to Allstate's terms and conditions.

I have my appraisers and Allstate hired their own and both sides have to choose a third party mediator. My side requested a county judge and Allstate refused. They would not allow a judge as the third party. They gave my side a list of 3rd party people to choose from. I don't understand why both sides could not agree on a county judge except for the fact that they want to use someone that they know will side with them. Judges have to and are sworn to uphold the law.

I have called Allstate again issuing complaints because of this and that have told me they cannot contact their appraiser and I cannot do anything about it because when they start a third party both sides are left out. They are not doing anything to resolve this and have now told me I cannot either. I just want my truck fixed and repaired properly.

Replies
Horrible, Negligent Customer Service
By -

OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- Where do I begin? Well in 2004 after being with GEICO for more than several years, at the suggestion of my dad, (he himself being an Allstate customer since 1979), I contacted a local Allstate agent, met with him, discussed the terms and conditions and benefits of being one of their auto insured, and I made the switch. MY agent and his staff could not have been nicer and were always friendly and helpful with any and all of my policy needs.

Fast forward to this year, to my shock and dismay, after no tickets, or no claims of any kind, instead of my bi-yearly renewal being discounted, they hit me with an additional 60.00/MO charge for my monthly premium. When asked why, my agent told me it is not for anything that I have done, but due to the number of claims in my area of town, they raised rates across the board for all of their insured. Naturally this didn't sit well with me, as I could not fathom paying 220.00/MO for car insurance in addition to a 500.00/MO car payment. AND I AM 34 YEARS OLD!

Needless to say I dropped the policy and switched to Progressive this past September. I received a final bill in the mail from Allstate in the amount of 354.20. It wasn't until this past week that my finances were properly aligned to pay this bill off. So I went into another Allstate office that is much closer to my home, and owned by one of my fellow CHURCH members, to pay this bill off so that I could get a receipt. Bear in mind that I have paid my bill at this office numerous times with no issue. UNTIL THIS PAST WEEK!

Tuesday 12/2/08 I went into the Allstate office, (once again near my home, owned by my fellow CHURCH MEMBER), and one of his staff, who is also a member of my church, took my payment. Here is the clincher, after she asked me for method of payment, I told her I was going to use my credit card. Instead of confirming which credit card, she assumed I was going to use my DEBIT card that was on file which I did not want to do. So, she tried to cancel that transaction and sent through another payment on the credit card I actually wanted to use.

Wednesday 12/3/08, I called that office and left a voice mail for the owner to call me back, to which he didn't do until damn near 6pm, he apologized, okay fine. But now the NSF fees were starting to hit my checking account, in addition the 354.20 payment was paid to Allstate out of my checking account, and the Credit Card account that I wanted to pay within the beginning. Also on that same day I gave the fax number to my bank so that the church member agent could fax a request to release/cancel the hold on my checking account.

Thursday 12/4/08 the payment could not be stopped because the funds were already released. After I left work I went to his agency and talked to him directly. I even showed him the printouts from my checking account showing my account in the red. He called and explained the situation to whoever and they told him the soonest he could put in for a refund would be NEXT MONDAY! He told me that he would make some more calls and he apologized again, but offered no real solutions.

As of today, Friday 12/5/08 there are now 127.00 in NSF charges tacked on to my account, and my checking account is 481.00 NEGATIVE! He has not called me as he said he would, when I went to his office at 3:45pm it was closed, although their hours are from 9am - 6pm! I called his cell phone, I texted, and as of right now as I am writing this he has not responded in any fashion!

I called and got a customer service representative in IL, and she informed me that they sent a credit through for the 354.20, to you guessed it, THE CREDIT CARD I WANTED TO PAY FROM!!! When asked how and when I can get my checking account cleared up she told me that I would have to make the payment first, then they would refund my checking account!! REALLY?!?!?! ARE YOU ** KIDDING ME?!?!

I told her, not only has the credit not hit that credit card yet, but why should I make a RE-PAYMENT to them when I am in the quagmire of not having any money on either my checking account nor my credit card? How am I supposed to get gas? Pay bills? I can't write checks, and there has been no discussion of who is going to reimburse for those NSF fees! But you want me to send through another payment to ASSURE you if you will that you will get the money, before you refund me the money you shouldn't have taken in the first place?!?! REALLY?!?!

So in conclusion, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH ALLSTATE!!! They are obviously insane, and they obviously have no sense of responsibility when it comes to their screw ups!!! I wish I could use the name and address of the CHURCH member here in Omaha that screwed me, but I will abide by the rules and not do so. But I am sure the BBB will be interested in this. And that is where I am going if this is not fixed post-haste. Wish me luck!

Replies
Allstate Said They Would Cover My Rental Car and Did Not Cover It!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- My car was parked in my work parking lot and was hit by someone with Allstate Insurance. Allstate assured me they would pay for my rental car while it was in the shop. After I returned the rental car, they said they were not going to cover all of it. I had to pay part of the repairs for my car and $222.14 to Enterprise for my rental car. I would have found other means to get around had I known I was going to have to pay. I will never recommend Allstate Insurance to anyone. Claim # **.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Rates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I had Allstate home and auto insurance for three years. Each year my rates went up for no reason. I had never filed a claim for home or auto. In those three years I received only one safe driving check for $19 and when I questioned the agency I was told they would look into it but they never contacted me. I have now changed my insurances to a competitor and received much better coverage and at much lower rates. Allstate lies! I warn everyone I can to never insure with Allstate. This company has no integrity whatsoever.

Replies
Allstate Is Crap. Bottom Line You Are Not in Good Hands.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RENO, NV -- My vehicle was in an accident. The police stated the other driver was found 100% at fault at the scene. I contacted Allstate and talked to my adjuster who informed me that I was 20% neglect and I was also at fault. Really, what the heck, really. Bottom line you are not in good hands. Allstate is crap. If you are reading this then do not use Allstate as your insurance company.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Allstate Insurance Auto Insurance Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
35 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Allstate Insurance
2775 Sanders Road
Northbrook, IL 60062
1-800-255-7828 (ph)
847-402-0165 (fax)
www.allstate.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies