Preview Review

Next Review

AT&T Wireless Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Deal Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- Absolute worst company to work with. Every interaction with them has been a total nightmare. Initially, I switched over my wireless service after browsing online and going into the store with a chat transcript of the offer I was interested in. The sales representative confirmed the deal was valid for what I wanted, and stated that I would be receiving a $200 credit on my bill over the course of 3 months. This was a lie. I spent over 4 months battling this, with the transcripts as proof. Instead, they would tell me it's not a valid deal, and that the salesperson must have informed me incorrectly. I ended up giving up on this one.

Two years later when my contract ran out, I called to cancel the tablet that I received when I purchased my phone service. I noticed a few months later that I was still being billed for this service, and called back in to correct this. The agent stated that the note on my account said I decided not to cancel the tablet after all. Then, the agent proceeded to sell me on DirecTV. He said that I would be getting free HBO, a $15 credit on my phone bill, and all of channels that we watch basketball/football on, all for $40 per month including the taxes.

He also said that I qualified for the Unlimited data plan on my cell service, and that I would see a lowered monthly payment on my wireless bill for making the switch. I went over the details of this agreement - because it seemed to be too good to be true - extensively with both the sales agent and his supervisor. This turned out to be a lie, as my bill went from $77 to $144.

I called in about this, and the AT&T reps told me the best they could do is switch me to an $85 plan - still higher than what I was paying - and that I would have to talk to DirecTV separately. So, they transferred me to DirecTV, not even 2 weeks after the service install, and I wasted over an hour on the phone with Danielle, who refused to cancel my service for me. I begged her several times to stop trying to sell me and cancel my service.

After about an hour of this, she finally agreed to cancel, but said it would be $480 in cancellation fees. I wanted to cancel this service because it was affecting my phone bill, and to change my phone bill to a reasonable plan, AT&T said it would increase my DirecTV service to $65/month. She kept repeating that any changes I made to my AT&T wireless service would have no impact on the price I paid for DirecTV which would still include free HBO, and refused to let me speak to a manager. So I gave up, and decided to keep the $40 package.

Side note: Having DirecTV installed was a nightmare. I told them a handful of times before they arrived that I did not want anything put on the roof. When they arrived, they refused to set it up any other way, and I wasn't at home to stop it. Then, the technician told my boyfriend he had to have someone else come out to install it, even though my neighbors on the other side of the duplex got DirecTV with no issues. I called in about this when I got home from work, and they told me the technician "did not want to do his job," and that he marked us as "not home" on the work order.

A week or so after speaking with Danielle, I received an email stating that my DirecTV service was in fact increasing to $65/month - not the promised $40. I called in and spoke to DirecTV yet again. The gentleman this time proceeded to tell me that the "permanent $15 credit" on my account, was actually conditional of having the unlimited data package, however still calling it "permanent." He told me that Danielle had misinformed me, that the package was actually going to increase, and I was going to lose my HBO.

He offered to add HBO back on for $17.99 per month, when it only costs $15 from HBO directly, and it's only $5 additional on the DirecTVNOW app. DirecTVNOW also provides a cheaper rate for the same package as regular DirecTV, but does not include a contract. The app is also not made available to DirecTV customers, you have to purchase it separately. I am infuriated by the level of service I have received from this company. It is clear to me that they do not operate with integrity. As a consumer, I have rights that include not being misinformed and then bound to a contract because I did not get "Buyer's Remorse" within 24 hours of install.

Replies
Advertisement
Stole My Money
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

CALIFORNIA -- In May 2017, I paid my cellphones (Two) over the phone in the amount of $224.75. I have a AT&T account and my boyfriend has the DirecTV account. AT&T somehow placed the $224.75 toward the DirecTV account. Now, the DirecTV account is only 97.00 per month and is taken out the account per month from my bank. I called them and told them about the mistake that they made and asked them to forward the monies to my AT&T wireless account. I went back and forth with the both the whole day. AT&T said that I would have to take that matter up DirecTV, and DirecTV said that I would have to take that matter up with AT&T.

A few days later my boyfriend received a text stating that the matter was taken care of. On May 5th, 2017 the funds were taken out of my account. I didn't think anything else of it because I thought the problem was solved. In June, I called 611 because I had a payment arrange to pay 150.00, which I paid by phone. Two days later my phones were shut off... I called the 611 number from my phone and the automated voice said, that I owe $600.00!!!

I called AT&T 1800 number and they said they reversed the 224.75 back to my bank in May. I told them I never received anything and that AT&T took the money out of my account. The lady that I spoke with told me to go to my bank and get the bank statement and take it to one of the AT&T stores... which I did. I explained to the MANAGER of the store on Lakeshore in Oakland and he himself said there was a mistake. He called AT&T reps, finance departments trying to help me as much as possible. He even asked them to turn my phones back on until they solve this problem... and they did.

On July 3rd, 2017 my phones were off again... 6 days after the I was with the Manager of the Oakland store. I spoke with AT&T again today and they sent me through the runaround again. Rep told me to go to my bank again but this time have them to fax my statements with the letterhead so that they can see if they reversed the payment. The banker at my bank faxed the statements and nothing on the statements show that they reversed the payment. I then went back down to the AT&T store and no one was able to help me with this problem... again.

I then went home and went online to file a complaint when the popup chat person came on and asked me can she help me. I told her my problem and she told me to hold one minute and she sent her manager to chat with me. He then gave me the runaround saying they reversed my account. So now I'm back to stage one. I'm frustrated, I feel like AT&T stole my money out of my account and placed it on someone else account. I've been a customer since 1990. I feel like I can't do anything about this. I need help!!!

Replies
Horrible Coverage, Dropped Calls, Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

REDMOND, WASHINGTON -- I left Verizon Wireless to go to AT&T Wireless because they were offering a deal to lock in a special DirecTV rate for two years. I had assumed (incorrectly) that Verizon and AT&T's networks were essentially the same regarding coverage area, speed, and customer service. Well, I was wrong on all fronts.

Let's start with their coverage area. There is no comparison. AT&T's coverage is horrible. I would have three bars and be talking on my phone via Bluetooth in my car and then drive less than a mile and be down to one bar. Next thing I know, the person on the other end keeps telling me I'm cutting out. Finally, the signal dropped altogether, and I lost the call. The coverage inside of buildings was horrible as well. I was lucky if I could even get one bar. Many times, I wouldn't have any service. I couldn't make a call, send a text, or browse the web. It was extremely frustrating.

Did I mention their customer service is horrible? The people that answer the phones have heavy accents which makes them very difficult to understand. I'm sure you get where I'm going with this. When I called to complain about the problems I was having, they told me there was nothing they could do about the coverage but asked me if an extra 4 GB of data each month would help. I thought they were joking. What good is an extra 4 GB of data if you can't get any service?

It got so bad for my wife and I that we left AT&T after less than six months. We knew it would be costly. We had Samsung Galaxy 8 phones to pay off, and we no longer had the DirecTV price locked in for two years. But what is the point of having cellular service if it doesn't work? The whole point of having a cell phone is so you can make calls when you need to.

So now we are back with Verizon and my wife and I couldn't be happier. The problems we had with AT&T have all gone away. It wasn't a fluke. I proved to myself that AT&T is incredibly inferior to Verizon. I will never leave Verizon Wireless. I hope my poor and expensive experience will prevent anyone from using AT&T for anything. They are a horrible company.

Replies
Vacation Mode for Land Line and Internet. Getting a Call Back at All?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAFOX, ILLINOIS -- The unfortunate event that sparked these conversations was that my Dad passed away on 1/31. I called AT&T about putting Dad's home phone (the number of which has been in the family for 50+ years) into vacation mode while we figured out what we were going to do. That was early February, and I didn't keep good notes as it seemed pretty straightforward. Received a bill in late February for the full amount again. Called on 3/4/17 explained the situation and was told that the phone would be put into vacation mode and that the DSL would be unaffected.

Called again on 4/3, spoke to Kevin, then Mark, and then Tamra and was told that the transaction wasn't completed because we became disconnected (from the Feb call). I was on the call, the conversation was completed successfully. Full bill again, phone not in vacation mode and was informed that DSL would be affected. I said, "Fine, put everything in vacation mode." I was assured (once again) that the account would be credited and services were in vacation mode.

On May 3rd, same thing, only spoke to Loqueshia this time. Home phone still active as was DSL. Still getting billed - no credits applied. Was instructed to pay the bill to avoid late fees, and that the account would be credited. Still nothing. Same story in June, and still no call backs as promised (from April, May or June). Ultimately my Dad isn't coming back, and I've informed AT&T again by online chat that I am done writing checks to them as truly they owe me a few hundred dollars; and that I will be taking my home phone, internet and TV service elsewhere asap. I asked that a Manager or higher reach out to me should they wish to pursue this - still nothing.

Replies
Advertisement
AT&T's Consistently Erroneous and Unfair Billing Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AT&T provided good service and accurate billing for my cell phone for many years. In late August 2017, I added AT&T Internet Service. Every month since then there have been repeated billing errors and confusion which have necessitated lengthy monthly phone calls to AT&T. In January 2018, AT&T's unfair billing practices went a bridge too far. AT&T billed me for this month and billed me again for December, despite the fact that my bank has established that AT&T cashed my check for the December 29, 2017 bill on December 20, 2017. I have called AT&T 4 times in the past 3 days.

I have reached AT&T call centers in the Philippines, Guatemala, and Mexico City. I have received misinformation and bad advice. The last call center representative demanded that I give him my bank account number, over an unsecured phone line, to a stranger in a foreign country, who works for a company that has already cashed my check and failed to credit it to my account.

When I explained that I had no confidence in AT&T's accounting procedures or their ability to maintain the confidentiality of my banking information under the awkward circumstances, the AT&T representative in Mexico City did, at least have the good grace to say he understood my concerns. Perhaps I shall be able to find a live human being at an AT&T office or facility in the town where I live who will help me resolve this matter.

Replies
Horrible Reception and Multiple Outages!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JACKSBORO, TEXAS -- After 5 outages both landlines and cellular service out 5 hrs at a time, you couldn't even call 911! We are completely done with AT&T. The service is 1 bar poor most of the time when it is actually working! Customer service is horrible with almost intentional hang ups or transfers! No one will admit or recognize the problems and deny all!

We along with others have finally had it and switched to Verizon. The Verizon has 4 full bars of service and the customer service is a pleasure to deal with! AT&T after 15 yrs as a customer, has lost my business for good! The last year has been a horrible experience with AT&T and they just have no answers and apparently don't care about their longtime customers, by my experience! Highly disappointed with AT&T!

Replies
Misleading Pricing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANYON COUNTRY, CALIFORNIA -- Let me start with my wireless phone, I switched carriers and wanted the same service I had, a limited data plan and insurance on my phone. First, I was talked into an unlimited plan and an iPhone watch I really did not want but was told they would take the cost of the watch from my TV plan. That did not happen, they give me a credit of $25 on my TV plan but the watch is $50. Also, I just found out I do not have insurance on my phone and the screen is cracked. Next, I wanted to cancel U-verse because it is so bad and was told they could give me the services I had using U-verse for $80 per month. I had all the movie channels and internet. I accepted.

When I received my first bill it was for $185, the same price I was paying with U-verse, and when I called to ask about the difference in cost no one knew what I was talking about. I urged them to listen to the recorded call, that they are always warning you about, but was told they did not have access to the recordings. So, that meant they would have to take my word for the pricing discrepancy, they didn't. Now, I am stuck with a $165, they gave me $20 off my $52 internet bill for my trouble and a $185 cell bill. I am totally disgusted with their shady business practices and will switch to someone else as soon as possible.

Replies
Without Sending My Online Form to Request a Service AT&T Did a Hard Credit Inquiry on Me.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I started my application for a service but did not send it. After having some answers from their customer service chat on att.com decided not to go with the purchase so I did not send the form. Just yesterday my credit monitoring service notified me that AT&T actually did a hard inquiry on my credit meaning once they got mine SSN on the second page of the form they started using it to inquiry about me. It is incredible. I'll complain about this and take actions accordingly. Any data that you enter in a multiple page form should not be used by any company until you hit the final "SEND", after the final review, until then IT IS MY DATA. That is illegal.

Replies
Advertisement
Leydi ** and Anthony **
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

BREA, CALIFORNIA -- Roughly two months ago, I went to the Brea retail store in order to become an AT&T Wireless customer. Leydi ** was very very helpful. In my personal opinion, Leydi ** is the number one employee at the Brea retail store. When I walked into the Brea retail store around 12:30 in the afternoon on Monday, July 10th... Leydi greeted me by name. Leydi ** is truly an asset to the Brea retail store and to the AT&T Corporation. Leydi ** should be highly commended for her helpfulness and for always providing excellent customer service.

I walked into the Brea retail store around 12:30 in the afternoon on Monday, July 10th because I wanted to put myself on a lower rate plan for my cell phone service. Anthony ** patiently helped me explore all of the options that were available to me. Anthony ** should be highly commended for his helpfulness and for providing excellent customer service.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service :(
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALISO VIEJO, CALIFORNIA -- I have four devices that are no longer on contract. We have been loyal customers for over 20 years and we paid the $125 penalty per device to get out of the contract—all of which were up in 2 months. We have also paid any outstanding payments due for all of our devices. American Express has confirmed that the charges have gone through. We were sentemails regarding 3 of our 4 phones after 48 hours. One email said that there was an upgraded made within 14 days. Not True.

Another phone said that it was out of contract and didn't need to be unlocked. NotTrue...but not complaining. Another phone said that it was under contract still and payments were outstanding. NotTrue. I have called customer service, and they are not able to tell me why our phones have not been unlocked. They told me to speak to a manager in the AT&T Store in Aliso Viejo. They tried to help and then finally said that they were not allowed to help me. I cannot get through to anyone that can help me.

I have been re-routed to sales multiple times and have been hung up on. (Please know that I said nothing to warrant that kind of treatment. I believe that they were equally frustrated and just gave up.) I also was told that a manager in the Mobility Department would call me within one to two hours. It never happened. It just seems that AT&T is too big, for any reasonable customer service. It has now been over 72 hours. What am I to do?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AT&T Wireless Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 84 ratings and
228 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AT&T Wireless
7277 164th Ave. NE
Redmond, WA 98052
800-888-7600 (ph)
www.att.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services