Dell Computer Corporation Inspirons Reviews

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
104 consumer reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | By Date | More Options >
More filter options:
If I Had Only Known Then......
Posted by on
I recently purchased, on the phone, the pc/printer pair selected by Dell's sales rep, who was slick as glass. I was looking for a non recreationally oriented pc for the sole purpose of creating and maintaining my own website for the promotion and sales of my current book online. I used the function on their website entitled "Everything You Want and Nothing you Don't" which seemed to be ideal for my purposes.

Actually, I have had the two items since the beginning of June 2010, about six weeks ago, and I don't know how the pc will do, other than the fact that from the beginning, a disc placed in the CD/DVD burner, which, due to the design, stands upright, and the disc is therefore standing on the edge upright, rather than lying flat, tips back and forth scraping as it is performing the current action. I have used the pc very little, as the download of Office Suite 2010 Pro Plus they promised me for accepting the 2007 version, for temporary usage, which is technically obsolete, and a nightmare to try to use, was provided to me with an invalid Product Key, which is what they call the id code for licensing. When I tried to activate it, Microsoft shut down my computer entirely, basically accusing me of being a "pirate".

This action caused me to be totally out of communications for over a week, and would still be the case, had I not been able to access one Indian "tech" who finally stayed on the phone through numerous disconnects from more "senior" techs she thought would help me, and phone me back when she had one on the line.

I had to try to reach Dell by phone, since I could not even access the desktop of my pc. The full India runaround prevailed for over a week--almost full time--in attempts to get my pc turned back on. Dell knew exactly how the shut down had been done, and turned it back on, so it was all too familiar with them to have happened the only time.

Incidentally, if they also pull this stunt on you, the way to turn it back on, is NOT to try to use your mouse to click something it won't reach, to stop a threatened reset to factory default, that will not be possible to undo; (which even has a countdown by seconds to paralyze the user) you must realize that MS--dear old MS-- has utilized an old DOS program, which is something archaic enough that most current users would not be familiar with, which requires you to use the arrow key to stop it, as it will neither recognize, respond to a mouse click, or provide you with the opportunity to navigate to select the option to stop it. That will
effectively regain you access to your desktop again. Don't mention it; it is my pleasure!

However, the 2010 Office download sits in my programs without my being able to activate it. My computer would again be shut down! If I hadn't reached the Indian representative who took my phone number, and also stayed on the line through several transfers leading to only a dial tone, and finally phoned me back, in horror of what her (new, would be my guess) employer was perpetrating upon its customers, I would still be in possession of a very dead piece of expensive decor, instead of a semi functioning device, short of the software with which to bring about the promised performance from Dell.

With the faulty Office 2007 software, I have had what would amount to full days, if the hours were pieced together, with my ISP techs trying to get the Outlook app to stay functional. It still won't let me format my outgoing email, and the block junk mail senders doesn't work. I still have mountains of the same junk mail daily, which I have to move about three times just to double delete it on each day's arrivals.

Dell, without consulting me, added a 3 yr. warranty which I never would have bought, and which I will never be able to activate, in all likelihood, as I am securely barred from reaching anyone in the US, let alone in a position of authority.

I have had to find (thank Heaven for small favors) Open Office by Oracle and Sun Microsystems (I think) which approximates the best of Word. I haven't tried the other equals, such as Power Point, and Excel. By the way, if they leave you cut off from the communications technology you've bought and paid for from them, Google a no charge email program which has been around for years. I won't list the name here, but just search for a classic email program, which can be downloaded from the web for no cost. You'll get several mentions in the top half of the first page, with links to the website. It's very much like Outlook at its best version.

It's taken me many hours with my ISP special tier tech to try to get it to work with its servers, tho, with another 2-3 hour session (I fear) scheduled 3 hours from now, to hopefully connect with their servers, as each ISP, I assume from this experience, partners with only one(major) software co. We all know who I'm referring to, I imagine. I had a very sleepless night stressing as to whether or not I will ever receive the services and equipment I paid out almost $1300 to Dell for.

Oh yes, the printer, you ask? Well, it wasn't hooked up for the first three weeks, as with no promised software, there was nothing to print or scan. About the time I began to acquire the substitute software from the web, I tried to install it. It turned out that it was shipped partially disassembled, with no instructions for the installation of what turned out to be the printhead. Who knew? Well, finally, I got it displaying some signs of life, but on a test run, the grinding sounds and shaking as if it would self destruct, were topped off by its failing to release the sheets, and holding them mangled in its clutches. I turned it off, worked the pages gently free as it maintained its deathgrip on them, to find that the ink was smeared on them. When I tried a second time, it would not turn on--even the power switch.

Now, after having been ripped off by another electronics Company, Apex, over the Christmas Holidays, in connection with two dTV converter boxes for my TV sets, which had a button on the remote, which was located closely adjoining the number buttons, and assured to be accidentally touched, likely, sooner than later, which turned on closed circuit captioning which had no method of turning off, but remained forever covering the screen with moving text of the full dialog, not just abbreviated subtitles as with a foreign movie, I have become assured of the futility of addressing the State Attorney General's Consumer Protection Department (I received a letter from them a few weeks ago--six months after the fact--that they don't do anything to assist the consumer. Same deal with the Federal Trade Commission, and this time, after being run through the wringer, as all of you contributors, only will fully understand, the local ADA from the DA's Office Consumer and Environmental Protection Unit, after three weeks of telling me that I am placing him in overkill with the details of my saga with Dell and their rotating three Indian call center "techs" and the best he can do for me is to try to access some local technician on the warranty section of my sales paperwork to come out and fix the problems, minus, of course, the hundreds of $$$ for the promised 2010 Office Suite Pro Plus.

We all know how terrified that phone call is going to make Dell, don't we, kiddies?

It is my very sad conviction that the country has become such an oligarchy that the mega corps will become even more brazen in their exploitation of the American consumer as time passes. After all, even on the small claims court level, have you ever sat and watched to see who loses and pays up?
The consumer whose teeth have been ruined by the malpractice of the dentist the judge plays golf with twice a week? Not very likely, Qui No Sabe!



Read all of the other nightmare accounts here re customer service attempts, and add 10%!
     
Replies
Absolute Worst Company to Deal With
Posted by on
NORTH CAROLINA -- In May 2008, I bought my first laptop-a Dell Inspiron 1525. Since I am a disabled single parent, it took about 5 years to be able to make this purchase.

I have never been so disappointed with a product of any kind that I have purchased or with a company's customer service.

Since the beginning of my need for a laptop, I wanted a Dell laptop (desktop computer sitting is not tolerable due to my health). I thought because of their strong advertising that a Dell was of excellent quality. Wow, was I wrong!!!!! They have a lot of false and misleading advertising.

At first, when problems began (from day 1-literally), even though I found the issue very irritating, I felt that since it was obvious that the brand new computer was defective that Dell would replace it.

And from day 1, the 1st noticeable problem was that the power cord came unplugged easily. Since I have never owned a laptop, I assumed that perhaps this was to keep from pulling on the cord too hard and damaging the plug as is so with some of my other appliances around the home.

Then I noticed that the computer would get hot but had been told at the place of purchase and by other laptop owners that laptops can get quite warm.

Then I started noticing that the fan didn't seem to come on too much but still wasn't sure how often, etc the fan should come on. Also, I have a hearing problem that inhibits hearing the fan. But, you'd think that with a brand new computer that these (along with an extensive list of worsening problems/malfunctions) would not be happening-AT ALL.

Other problems:

(I can't remember them all right off the top of my head because they are so numerous but here are the ones that I can remember right now)

Media remote control: took out to look at twice became lodge in laptop and would not come out

Warranty Issue: Bought May 16, 2008 but did not receive until May 23, 2008. Was told that warranty ended in Feb 2009, then April 16, 2009, then April 23, 2009. Warranty ends May 23 2009 because the laptop comes with a 1 year warranty.

Return in 21 days issue: Problems were not major issues until soon after 21 days (how convenient for Dell)

Web cam: stopped its one blink when logging in? or opening top cover?

Locked up: Several times. Open laptop, black screen, turn off and back on, "Windows did not shut down correctly" (wasn't supposed to shut down), System not responding, Start in 'safe mode', Lost all tabs, documents closed with some or all work missing, shows welcome center

Fonts: Some of the fonts do not show up in 'Sample' box.

Beeps: Just beeps for no apparent reason.

Charger cord: began very loose and unplugged easily from the very first day (didn't think that it was a problem) progressed to the point of barely getting the power cord plugged back in and had to tape it in place and never unplug it from laptop

Window Updates: Keep messing up computer and have to restore to previous state. At times this has somehow interfered with Internet connection taking a couple days to get the computer synced with desktop again so that Internet was available to laptop.

Volume: Unreliable. At times, it is barely audible and other times audible at maximum volume but still not loud enough. Compared this on several occasions without changes to settings and with same audio selection to listen to.

Battery: very short lived after charging even though I have followed the directions given to keep from over charging, etc. Charge might last 1 1/2 hours (that is not continuous use).

Refurbished, Used Replacement Parts: Dell maintains the right to use these types of replacements even though the part that was purchased was a brand new part and is defective to no fault of the consumer but to the fault of Dell.

After part replacement (through no fault of consumer), the 1 year warranty does not apply to that part. The warranty on that part will end at the same date of the original warranty. The warranty for that or those replacement parts should be extended if the part is defective and has to be replaced. Parts in the laptop are under a 1 year warranty when purchased. If any parts have to be replaced then those parts should be allowed the one year warranty from time of replacement since it was a defective part. What if the part is again defective and the original 1 year warranty has ended and the consumer has only has the new part for a few months and is found to also be defective (especially considering that they can use refurbished and used parts).

When the brand new laptop was purchased,
-every part was brand new and every part should be guaranteed to work and...
-replaced as needed (if fault lies with Dell-again) and given a new 1 year warranty for each part that has to be serviced or replaced.
-It is aggravating enough and unfair to go without a laptop that is bought and expected to work properly when a defective laptop was sold.
-For each day that the laptop interrupts usage and is sent in for repairs, the 1 year warranty should be extended for those days since the laptop is not able to be used by the buyer.

Searching the Internet after all these issues about my own computer, I have found many, many forums, articles and information about how Dell mistreats its customers, has about 1/2 of its employees working in India and other foreign areas (where labor is cheap and they could probably not care any less about quality) and has had many lawsuits brought against them even by its own customers for being docked hours that they were actually working and for discriminating against women.

-The last thing that I can remember right now about the problems associated with my laptop is that finally one day I opened the cover and the screen was black. I tried powering off and on, calling Dell technicians and following the very basic "obvious this isn't going to work and I've already tried that" instructions with no success-as expected. The last time that I used the computer, it worked at its regular defective state.
I already had a shipment box to ship the laptop for the other numerous problems so I arranged a time (which took 4 hours of an inconvenient wait) for pickup. When I removed the hard drive as directed previously by another technician, a small piece of broken plastic fell out of the area of the power cord plug area.

They said that it would be back in about a week but did not even call until almost 2 weeks.

Now they said that they can ship it back broken and useless or they could replace the motherboard for $358.00!!!!!!!! Now how is it my fault that the motherboard has been the problem for most of these issues and became worse and worse?

I have spent numerous, numerous time on the phone with these people-most of which are rude, hard to understand, rushed, unconcerned, not knowledgeable and I have been interrupted, talked over, ignored and hung up on many times. There has only been 1, possibly 2 service reps that have been nice and easy to talk to. I have spoken to many reps- way too many.

When you buy a brand new computer, you shouldn't have to talk to anyone about any defects or malfunctions. Everything is supposed to work. I have had very limited use of my laptop. I have lost a lot of money. I feel like I have been stolen from. I have lost a lot of time that I needed to be doing other things with my limited 'functional time' due to so much conversations with them and they have caused me a lot of frustration, sadness and anger. It just isn't fair. I can't afford to pay them that much money or any money and I shouldn't have to for repairs of a defective computer that I have already paid for. It is absurd for them to expect it. I am still under the 1 year warranty.

I don't want the laptop fixed. I don't trust Dell to fix it. I paid for a new laptop with new parts. I don't want used or refurbished parts. I want my entire purchase price returned so that I can invest it in another brand such as HP which I have never had issues with.

By the way, if you want a customer service representative in the U.S. that speaks English fluently, then you have to pay for the service-ridiculous. I assume that is because they are underpaying employees in another country and hiring people with less knowledge so communication with them is free.

I will never buy anything from Dell again and I hope that no one else does. I would like to see them go out of business. Their business dealings seem illegal and they treat the customers with so much disrespect.

I plan to contact my attorney general in NC about this issue. There have been times when Dell has had to pay much money back to the states for knowingly selling defective computers. I think that one incidence included 48 states. If you search "Dell 'name of your computer' forum" on the Internet, you will find a lot of complaints, legal issues, etc. You may want to add "complaints" and/or leave out the name of your computer for better results. I was stunned at all the negative information that I found out about a company that presents itself as the best. I think that Dell is the best at being the WORST!

Save yourself from disappointment, losing money and plenty of Anger-Don't buy Dell-even if it is a great deal because it is still not worth the price.
     
Replies
Dell Has NO Customer Service
Posted by on
KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN -- Dell sold me a defective computer with multiple problems. They keep claiming they will make it right, but then they somehow forget to.

Summer 2005

I called Dell technical support, the phone for which is very hard to find (it’s not even listed on their website under “support”) about an issue on July 12th, 2005. First off, the automated system asked me a question that required a verbal “yes” or “no” response. I said “no” clearly. The phone system said again for me to say “yes” or “no.” The third time it asked, I yelled “no.” It said it couldn’t hear me and that it would transfer me to a representative. I was on hold for about 45 minutes. The whole time I was waiting on hold, a recording said “this is for Dimension desktop support only....” Sure enough, when a representative came on the line, he told me I would have to speak with laptop support and that he would transfer me. The next representative picked up within a minute or two. He asked me if my issue was a wireless card issue. I replied that the issue was a CD-ROM issue. So, again I was transferred. Again, the recording said I was holding for Dimension support only. I waited on hold for another period. Then, finally, a representative said, “Thank for your calling Dell. This is Harry.” Then, he hung up or the line was disconnected at Dell’s end.

Next, I went onto Dell’s chat function on their website to type to a support agent. However, it said I am not a home user and, therefore, cannot access chat. I most certainly am a home user! My complaint of this is documented with eTrack # 241Y2Y3Z1YM7CKJ1.

Next, I called Dell again and provided my Express ID from the computer (so they know it is a laptop!). A representative came on and said that she would have to transfer me to Inspiron technical support. As I’m on hold, again, I hear the message that I am holding for Dimension support only. Sure enough, when a representative came on, he told me he’d transfer me to the laptop department. What does it take to speak with an Inspiron laptop representative?

Fall 2005

I was receiving memory error messages constantly on my computer. I couldn’t even use my scanner because of this issue. Dell sent me out new memory modules, but that didn’t fix the problem. Finally, I mailed my computer to Dell and was without my computer for a while. They told me the motherboard was defective and that they would replace it. They did so and then sent it back to me.

Winter 2005/2006

Ever since the new motherboard was put in, the power cord slips out very easily.

Dell technical support mailed me out another motherboard to replace it yet again on 2-2-06. I told them to only mail it out if it was something I could replace myself and if instructions were included. Before trying to install the new motherboard, I tested it by plugging the power cord into it. It was a snug fit. So, I proceeded to take the screws out of the back of the computer so I could install the new motherboard. However, there is one screw that will not come out. Furthermore, there was a CD included with no instructions as to what I’m supposed to do with it. No instructions were included with installing the motherboard even though Dell agreed to send them with the motherboard.
I contacted Brian Wolfe, Dell’s Executive Services Technician. His rude response was, “I sadly must inform you that you case has been closed, I will not be working on your issue(s) at this time.” When I replied to just have him fax me the receipt for my computer, all he said was, “You will need to go through proper channels. Please call customer service.”
I brought Brian Wolfe’s response to me to the attention of Dell executives. Lynn Antipas Tyson, Dell’s Vice President Investor Relations and Global Corporate Communications, responded to me saying, “Your inquiry was not handled correctly or respectfully [by Brian Wolfe]. The customer care team will be contacting you today. Please let me know if things are not resolved to your satisfaction.”

Soon after I received Lynn’s response, I received a phone call from Marsha Seeney, a Dell Executive Support representative. She said my only option is to mail the computer back. I replied that I had already done that regarding a motherboard issue previously and that I felt Dell should send someone out so I wouldn’t have to be without my computer yet again for the same issue. This problem is a result to something Dell did—Dell replaced the motherboard that had a memory problem with a motherboard that doesn’t fit the power cord properly. Why should I have to mail it back when it’s Dell’s fault? Marsha, still not taking responsibility for Dell’s mistake with this motherboard problem, said the only thing that could be done is to have me mail the computer back for repair. Marsha had the audacity to suggest that I could upgrade my warranty so they could send someone out! I shouldn’t have to pay more…I should be receiving a major discount! I told her I wanted to file a complaint then about this issue, but she refused to accept the complaint.

Later in the day, Marsha called me again and agreed to just send me another unit. She said Dell will be sending me a refurbished unit (even though I paid for a new unit). She said my warranty called for a refurbished unit. Again, this is Dell’s problem…not mine. So, it should not be a refurbished unit.

On 2-4-06, Dell told me via e-mail that they would e-mail me a copy of my sales receipt within two days as I had requested. It never arrived.

On 2-3-06, Marsha Sweeney, an executive support representative, told me Dell would just send out another computer to do a system exchange. I e-mailed Sweeney on 2-13-06 to get tracking information, but she never replied.

On 2-7-06, Courtney Adkins sent me an e-mail to resolve the issue once and for all. She told me to call her. I called her NUMEROUS times a day for the next four days, but she never answered the phone. So, I e-mailed her on 2-13-06, but received no response.

On 2-15-06, Courtney Adkins agreed to send out a new computer instead of a refurbished one as Martha Sweeney had stated. Courtney Adkins told me they would send me a new computer with each component being the same or better than what was in my previous system. However, on my original computer, I paid extra for a faster hard drive (7200rpm). The new computer arrived with a slower hard drive (5400rpm). On 2/21/06, Courtney e-mailed me saying:
“Please do not refuse delivery. I am happy to talk to you about the order, but I have checked with my tech and he assured me that unless you are sitting at your computer with and stop watch you will not see the difference. Again, I am happy to talk to you over the phone because I think you are going to be very happy with the computer we sent. If not, the process will start over with a new system order and I can not promise the current upgrades that we sent in this system.”
This response is unacceptable. Dell did not hold up their end of the bargain and then threatened to take away a couple of the small upgrades they did on the new system.

On 2-22-06, Courtney said they would have the correct hard drive sent out with overnight delivery on the 22nd or 23rd. This did not happen.
     
Replies
Your staff are liars and they give you a bad name
Posted by on
SALISBURY, NORTH CAROLINA -- On March 29, 2011 before I went out to Best Buy or Walmart to get a computer I gave Dell the opportunity so that I can get a computer. I talked with there representative for a good hour explaining my home business and the type of printers I use and that I need Windows XP because of the 32 bit drivers that I have the download disks for. Mr ID#4167741 gave me all the story how I had to make my PC custom for that and that he can get it done with no problem. Lie #1.

I get my computer on April 12, two weeks later I get my computer. I was out of town and my son signed for it. On April 14 I get home and I start to set it up and download my drivers and stuff and nothing goes through. I go to the websites of these printers and download directly from the company website and they still do not go through.

Today, 8:00am est I call Dell and I start talking to this representative who verifies all my info and I explain to him everything I did. He then wanted to take control of my computer from where he was at to fix it and then he found out he couldn't do it...I gave him the websites so that he could download the drivers because he said he could have done it that way and he failed. Now when all this started he verified my two phone numbers and he told me that if we disconnect he will call me right back. Lie #2

I waited an hour for him to call me nothing. I called again and got disconnected. I called again and told them I would like to talk to a supervisor but they said there wasn't 1 available that they had to take control of the situation. Again I had to explain everything and then he got me with a supervisor who took the same info and again and told me to hold and he hung up. I'm really pissed now

I call again and I asked for the escalation team because that is where the previous guy was supposed to transfer me too. Again I get the run around with my info and that they need it. I got so mad because of the lying that has been going on and every time I have to give everything again in detail and like I told her that the gentleman prior had offered me a $200 printer for my inconvenience and I said let's do this, give me a $200 credit on the Inspiron 1018 mini laptop and I will pay for the rest and also buy the Targos backpack with the accessories and he says no I can only give you a $100 printer. I quoted him that he just said a $200 printer, he said no I meant a $100 printer. See all the lies so far

Now I just got the call from the escalation team telling me their sorry for my inconvenience and I told her to stop lying and put herself in my shoes to see if she would like it hearing that crap after all the lies I've been hearing. I told her I wish they are really recording the call so that she could become a leader and show the her escalated Directors about this situation.

So in short Dell moved out of our country, to get cheap labor that doesn't know how to speak the English language and take us for every thing our country has in our taxes...this company should be banned from the USA if they can not provide the service that is needed here...now I'm out of a computer, have to wait for another cycle to get my debit card credited but they are sorry for my inconveniences.
     
Replies
Will Never Deal With Dell Again
Posted by on
Let me start from the beginning. I purchased an Inspiron 1545 from Dell in July 2010. After a few days, the computer went berserk and I had to do a system restore. I had received a lot of issues with the computer, from it running slow, to certain computers not functioning, or crashing. And at first I thought maybe it was a bug with Windows 7, since the computer was new and hardly had anything on it (and no, I didn't download anything to get a bug or virus or anything odd). In September, I got the horrible BSOD, and finally decided to contact Dell Tech support. Now, I had tried almost everything with this computer to fix it, including getting a registry program. The Dell Tech looked at the computer (through that tool that allows you to take over your computer) and told me to download a file from Dell and all should be well. It wasn't. It kept crashing, taking forever to load, and another BSOD occurred. I put in a request, and then a long, horrible interaction with Dell began. To make a long story short, Dell Tech could not figure out what was wrong (and the BSOD happened 2 more times). A representative offered to give me a replacement computer. This was on October 5. I never received the computer...and when I say never, I mean, up to this point, I haven't received it. It was sent to the wrong address, held up for unknown reasons, and I just kept getting the run around. I would be told "oh, it's in production, it will be to you in 8 days." Now this has happened quite a few times since October 5, 2010. When I contacted them for the 100th time on November 9th to see the hold up, I was told, oh, it's coming. By November 18, I attempted to contact Dell again. I found out the order was cancelled (and no, no one bothered to call me) because the computer was no longer in stock. Confusion!!!!!! I received an email that stated it was no longer in stock with a webcam in the color I originally purchased...so I told the representative I didn't care about the color as long as I got the Inspiron 1545 as I was promised to replace the defective one that was originally sent to me. The representative responded stating that the model wasn't available at all with my original specification in any color, and offered a "similar" computer, a N5030, which I couldn't even find. I explained that I've been waiting on this computer for over a month, and I didn't want a "similar" (no, not better), computer. I asked for a refund, and was told this wasn't an option. I called customer service and was told the same thing. Then was placed on hold for 10mins waiting for a manager. I finally hung up in frustration. This just happened earlier today.

Not only did Tech Support not seem to know what was going on, but Dell refused to send the replacement computer. And now, they refuse to send me a refund because it's after 21 days from the original purchase? That doesn't make sense, they are the ones that constantly screwed up. And to top it off, the computer isn't even available anymore?!

Between being bounced around different departments in India (the only time I spoke to anyone in the US was to be transferred over to India), being hung up/disconnected in online chats and in the middle of telephone calls (this literally happened 3 times in one day and I kept calling Dell back to back to back), from constant emails, and phone calls, I find Dell to be utterly horrible in their customer service. I am currently complaining to any and everyone in regards to my situation. Ironically, from doing some research, I am not the only one who has experienced a situation like this. Not only did Dell's laptop suck (it was defective), their customer service fails to make amends with the customer...although we know they can.

Please, please, save yourself from months of stress and frustration. I've been dealing with this situation with Dell since September 2010, and have been waiting for my replacement computer since October 5, 2010, and to find out on November 22, 2010 that all of a sudden the computer isn't even available. They didn't offer a better computer or a refund, and they denied my request for one. The most they gave was "sorry for the inconvenience." Really? I'd say it is way more than an "inconvenience"
     
Replies
Dell Inc. Inspiron brand is faulty-- Please submit your experiences for a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST DELL.
Posted by on
Dell inc. is the worst computer/laptop company.

Their customer service is atrocious. I am a Dell Inc. Customer and have been years. I purchased a Dell Inspiron 1525 in 2008 that has been faulty since day 1.

Dell Inc. have not fulfilled their obligations, under the warranty agreement and continue to refuse to rectify my issues with my Inspiron.

I have asked them to completely replace the laptop since it was deteriorating since before I bought it. But they have refused, claiming "a replacement is not an option".

If I had known that they use refurbished and deteriorating part to build the Inspiron, I would not have bothered. Who would?

Even after the laptop was sent to their depot, after telephone remote diagnostics and a replacement of the motherboard, after they claim to have "thoroughly checked and tested", my laptop is still having the same issues.

I've had so many issues with my laptop (Dell Inspiron 1525), as well as issues with Dell Inc. customer services.

Some of the problems are that, my laptop constantly overheats (which emits a burnt wire type of smell) crashes, freezes and randomly shuts down even after it had been sent to their Depot for repair.

I believe that my laptop was assembled with defective and deteriorating parts but it was passed off as brand new when they sold it to me.

I believe that Dell Inc. is a company that employs fraudulent means to make money.

They do whatever they can to save costs on parts or other inventory costs, when assembling a product, then they sell it for more than it is worth.

I am going to submit a complaint for over 2million dollars against Dell Inc this week at the District Court for selling me a defective product and then sending it back to me without fixing the issues. They also put me through a data breach issue recently when someone called in asking for information about my account and they disclosed it. it was a complete stranger.

If anyone else has had similar issues with their Inspiron product, customer service or data breach, please contact me at panache. inspired@gmail.com

I need a notarized statement/written account about your experiences with defective Inspiron product, warranty services that have not been honored and bad customer service.

Your notarized affidavits will greatly help this case and it will pave the way for others to automatically file a claim for their defective Inspiron products.

Dell Inc. has been scamming customers for several years now, as evidenced in numerous complaints and lawsuits, by falsely representing the true quality of the Dell Inspiron brand and deliberately selling warranty services that are no good and do not adequately cover inherent design defects of their Inspiron products.

Dell Inc. is considered a fortune 500 but sadly they make most of their profits by selling products for more than they are actually worth.

A laptop is not supposed to crash, randomly shut down or overheat! Especially if it is less than 5 years old.

Motherboards are supposed to last for years. So if the laptop is experiencing the above mentioned issues, the motherboard is defective.

Let us stand up to his company and stop them from taking advantage of the "little people".

Dell Inc. can not stand by their product because they are fully aware of the defective nature of their Inspiron but they still continue to sell them even after having received numerous complaints and lawsuits.

Notice that Dell Inc. put in a mandatory Arbitration in their terms and condition. It's because they don't have faith in their products so they need to hide behind a 'binding arbitration clause'.

A company who can proudly stand by their product never needs to hide.

DO NOT PURCHASE LAPTOPS OR COMPUTERS OR WARRANTY SERVICES FROM DELL INC. FROM PERSONAL EXPERIENCE, THEIR PRODUCTS OR CUSTOMER SERVICES FOR THAT MATTER ARE NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

Email me as soon as you can, so I can forward the form I prepared to you. I will submit all notarized statements to the judge.

I'm looking forward to hearing from you.
Wishing you a fantastic day!!!
     
Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
Posted by on
Having just spent literally hours on the phone with someone from another country who not only was not computer literate, he could barely speak the English language, I am pasting the letter I am sending to the CEO. I've had Dell computers before with no trouble but the next computer will definitely not be a dell.

I am writing to voice my complaint about the customer service provided during a recent problem with my Dell laptop. As you will note, I have included copies of receipts that show how much money I expended trying to restore my computer to working order when your technicians were of absolutely no service. I will detail for you the steps I went through during this very trying time.

I purchased my computer on May 11, 2006, so it is a very new computer. I recognize that problems occur, however, I also feel that when those problems occur there should be qualified technicians who not only can diagnose the problem and offer solutions, but those conversations should be with individuals who can speak the English language in an easily understood manner.

I purchased this lap top so that when we travel I would be able to stay connected. The first trip after purchasing this computer was to San Diego, California. The first day the computer functioned properly and I installed the necessary internet software for my ISP in that location. The second day the computer began to freeze on boot up. It would freeze at the Windows logo screen. If it passed that portion of the boot up, it would freeze at the Welcome screen. Several times it made it all the way to the wallpaper where I assumed I could begin to work on projects. Always after opening a program it would immediately freeze. I immediately called for technical support and talked to a technician who had such a soft voice and heavy accent that I could not understand him and had to keep asking him to repeat himself. It was readily apparent that he had no clue what to do next and was reading from a data base. After approximately an hour, I asked to be transferred to a supervisor. I then had to go through all the same steps, same explanations as with the previous technician. The supervisor was not much better, although I could understand him. He had me take off the internet software which the last software I had installed prior to the problems. This of course left me with no way to connect to the internet, a problem which reared it’s ugly head later in this story. He then had me run diagnostic tests on my hard drive to no avail and after an additional hour and a half, I finally terminated the call in disgust. It was readily apparent that neither of these individuals were computer literate and could only respond if the answer to the problem was readily available in the data base.

At that point I called customer care hoping someone would be able to assist me. The first individual I spoke to first was of no assistance so again I asked to speak to a supervisor. Please understand at this time I had no internet connection because one of the technicians had me take off my internet software, and I was unable to boot up my computer except in the safe mode which would do me no good connecting to the internet. The supervisor in customer care identified himself as John, very nice, easily understandable. I asked what the policy was on getting a new computer fixed and I was having no luck with any of the technical support. I explained to him that this was a very new computer and should be under warranty. He advised me that the software was only under warranty for 30 days but that he would be happy to put me in touch with the fee base software assistance department and even was generous enough to tell me that after I paid for software support, Dell would refund my money. All this was stated even though he had no idea what the problem with the computer was. Calling that department would be of no help since I had no way to boot up my computer or connect to the internet for the individuals in that department to run any diagnostic tests on the computer. At that point, being upset at the customer service, or lack of customer service and requiring my computer, I selected a computer repair facility from the local telephone directory who were Microsoft certified.

To make a long story short, I took the computer to them twice. The first two times they said the problem was viruses which they removed, this was in spite of having McAfee virus protection and running it faithfully every week. Also, at no time did any of the technicians suspect or suggest a virus might be the problem. Both times the computer seemed to be OK and I took it home only to find that it was still not functioning properly. The computer still continued to refuse to boot after these viruses were removed so it appeared this was not the problem. The third time I took it back to the computer repair shop, I called technical support again. The first technician, while very nice, wanted to ask me all the same questions even through she was reading the case. I told her that I was not going to spend two hours going through the diagnostic tests again and I wanted to speak to someone who could authorize repair on what I though was a hard ware problem. By this time, I had received two blue screens with error messages indicating that it was some sort of problem within the computer and not the software. Since the computer was at the repair shop where I had left it, the Dell supervisory technician called them and we had a three way conversation since the Dell technician wanted me to verbally authori Dell to ship any required parts to the computer repair shop in San Diego. At that point I terminated my portion of the conversation and the Dell supervisory technician and the individuals at the repair shop continued the conversation and diagnostic tests of my computer. The Dell supervisory technician told me he would determine the problem and ship the required parts to San Diego by overnight mail since we were leaving the area in two days. I was told to call the repair shop later in the day and they would let me know the outcome. I called the repair shop back later that day and the technician advised me The Dell technician would be calling him back soon and all would be taken care of in a timely manner.

The next day I called the repair shop and they told me the computer was repaired; however, it was a problem that was not what technician from Dell had diagnoses which was fortunate for me. The supervisory technician was to call back my repair shop and finalize the process for repair, he never did, and of course he left no call back extension for my repair shop personnel. The repair shop finally gave up in disgust and called, what he said was a partner in Dallas, apparently someone computer shops can call with Dell issues. As the technician at the repair shop went through what was happening, he barely got through part of it when that individual knew immediately what the problem was. Dell apparently had issues with the firm ware, which I understand is like a device driver and tells various hardware devices how to communicate with the software, about the time my computer was built. The Technician in Dallas said that I should have been notified that there was an upgrade that needed to be done so the hardware and software could communicate properly. The technician walked the computer repair person through this upgrade and the computer worked immediately and I have had no additional problems.

As I see it, there are several issues that need to be resolved. First let me say this is not my first Dell Computer but it is the first time in many years that I have had to call and request service. If you insist in outsourcing technical service the people in India must speak the language so that they are easily understood. When you are calling for assistance, it is more than frustrating to not only have someone you can’t understand, they need to be actually knowledgeable about computer repair and operation. The Dell technician should have been aware of the problem with computers like mine and that should have been one of the first things checked, unfortunately, none of them were aware of this problem. Secondly, when a computer is only 60 days old, there is no way that any individual should be made to feel as though they are an idiot and nothing could be wrong with a computer that is that new. Dell should have contracts with local computer repair shops and owners should be able to take their computers in for service if the technician is not immediately able to diagnose the problem. Third, 30 days is not nearly long enough for software warranty, nothing breaks in 30 days, it’s always longer.

I feel that Dell should reimburse me for at least the last $125 I spent getting the firm ware issue resolved. That was something that your technicians should have been aware of and should have been able to diagnose and that would have saved me a lot of money. For what I spent, I could have bought a new computer. I recognize that all the companies now outsource their technical support, however, I have found Dell to be one of the worst. Will I buy another Dell computer, probably not. Why, because I was not treated with respect and your technicians are not qualified. My Dell desktop needs repair and I’ll probably just pay for it myself since it will do no good to call Dell.

     
Replies
Total Crap Product
Posted by on
Worked as promised for short period of time. Total piece of crap, over heats constantly, shuts down. Worthless.
     
Replies
Horrible Experience
Posted by on
I bought a Dell Inspiron 1470 from Best Buy sometime in Dec. Soon after, one of the keys popped up and was replaced by Dell through the mail where I had to remove the old keyboard and replace it myself. Keep in mind, that I had no idea what I was doing and didn’t have any instructions on how to do it. At the end of March while I was doing homework, the laptop crashed. I contacted Dell who sent me out a box (label provided) to return the laptop to be repaired. I immediately took the computer and the box to a drop-off location (what they suggested). About a week later (first week of April), I called Dell to check the status and they said that the computer was still being worked on. I called about two weeks later and this time they said that they haven’t received it yet. I called several times after that, and each time I called I had to tell the story from the beginning. I asked them how come they don’t keep notations in my record so I won’t have to go through this every time I call and they all claimed that they do. After attempting to track the package by myself and Dell, it was discovered that the tracking number that was sent with the box was from Dell to another customer in another city in 2009. They then told me to call FedEx to help track it and they had the same info from 2009. FedEx did not take fault for this and I refused to. After calling several more times, explaining myself all over AGAIN, being left on hold for hours, waiting 5-6 business days for someone to call me back, Dell FINALLY sent me out a REFURBISHED replacement in early May because I had just past the 90 day mark to receive a NEW replacement. I called Dell to let them know that the specs were not the same, but I could not be helped because the replacement’s service tag # was not attached to my account (this was after she asked me if I had sent the original back and telling the whole story again). When the service representative tried to attach the service tag # she said that I had to call back because she couldn’t do it at that time. I have yet to call back because of the hassle. Two weeks with the refurbished laptop, I have received letters, emails and phone calls to return the original because they have not received it yet. Are you kidding me?! It is now June and the last message I received was a threatening message that I will no longer be able to receive help until I return it. First of all, Dell HAS NOT helped me, has NEVER helped me, and this whole laptop situation was a horrible experience and very time consuming and I will NEVER buy another Dell or refer them to a friend!
     
Replies
Lack of knowledgeable customer service
Posted by on
ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- I am writing this letter about Dell due to my grave dissatisfaction with the support I have tried to receive after purchasing an Inspiron 1521 notebook in October of 2007. The notebook I purchased has not worked properly since the 5th day I received it. The computer will continuously shut itself off on a daily basis, sometimes only minutes after being turned on. I called the support desk immediately after encountering the problem and have spent countless hours on the phone with Dell Support trying to get this remedied. On six separate occasions the support team had remotely logged into my computer, recognized there was a problem, restored my computer back to its original state and still the computer does not work properly. The support team even had me uninstall and reinstall the Operating System twice. I am by no means computer illiterate, but I feel that I should not have to do this to a computer I paid over $1200 for. They also sent me a new hard drive to install, and again, as a consumer, I feel this was not a part of what I paid for. As for actually getting through to Dell Support which took, on average, 17 minutes each time to get a live person, I would continuously get hung up on. I can’t begin to count the amount of times I was hung up on. To give an example, on December 4th, I was hung up on 4 times. To me, this is just poor business practice. I asked to speak with a Supervisor or Manager and was told no one was there, again poor business practice. My frustration level has been escalated each time because each time I was given a different response and clearly they recognized there was a problem with the computer. They even told me that the problem was with the operating system, but there was nothing they could do for me because they only warranty hardware. Again, I purchased the operating system with the computer because I had to, therefore I would have assumed there would not have been a problem with it. At this point I am going on over a year that the computer has not worked properly and it has been the same problem since I first got the computer. I was then told that I can no longer get service from Dell because my warranty expired and I would have to pay an additional $49 for them to talk to me. It is the same problem that was never fixed and yet Dell wants me to pay more money for an extended warranty. I can’t go into detail every call I made with Dell Support or every service tag I had with them because that was all saved on my computer and I no longer have a working computer. I have to believe there are ways for someone to research these calls to understand my frustration level. I purchased a Dell because of their reputation and I am beyond disappointed. I feel that as a consumer, if I purchase something that does not work, the company would or should stand behind their product. This has not been the case with Dell and I just feel that I should not still be dealing with an original problem on my computer that was there from day 5.I have sent a letter to Corporate because I was not getting anywhere with Dell Support and I was hoping someone could look into the problem and actually give me a solution. I am just a consumer who purchased a computer that assumed would work. Dell never got back to me. It is 2 1/2 years later and I had to purchase a new computer. Rest assured it was not a DEll.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >