Dell Computer Corporation Laptops

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
69 reviews & complaints.
www.dell.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Make Sure Your Next Computer is Not Dell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- Since it is impossible to find a phone number to call corporate headquarters and the only number that is available is India with whom I wish to file my complaint before sending it to the Attorney General's Office in TX. I am addressing this to you. I feel that you should be made aware of what I encountered this month with my calls to India and I consider it a case of fraud. We live in El Cajon, CA part of the year and in Peacham, VT the other part of the year. After many years of purchasing HP products, I decided to change over to Dell after hearing good reports from close business friends. I regret to say a very poor decision on my part.

I rarely call India as most problems I can resolve either by trial and error or with the help of Google. I had no problems with your product until this month. We purchased a Dell Laptop in April of this year at the Navy Exchange in San Diego. The computer I am now using to write to you is also a Dell Inspiron purchased at Costco in Burlington, Vermont last year. I had a small problem with the software soon after purchasing it in CA. It was purchased on April 2, 2011 and the call was probably made one week later. The technical person fixed it in a very short time. However, about ten days later it reoccurred so I called Dell in India once again.

This time I was told that it would cost me $69.00 for them to repair it. I told them I had three months for software repair, but the tech refused to do anything about it. I hung up and called back the next day and this time to repair the same problem, it was $293. The tech said I would be protected for one year under this fraudulent contract. I was outraged and called him a crook and notified them I would be contacting Dell in the USA. He proceeded to turn me over to his supervisor to explain why they had to charge me. I told him that I didn't need to talk to a supervisor as I was already on to their scam and told the supervisor the same thing.

Just for my own satisfaction I called back one more time and when I was being told the same story again, I finally said, “I don't want to hear any more lies, I know what is taking place and I can fix it myself with Google.” By the time I finished speaking and in a very firm, angry voice, the man with whom I spoke told me something he said might get in trouble for and that was the repairs are made with the help of Google and I should be receiving free support for three months. Finally, an honest man still exists at Dell, India. So now we see the beginning of what I predict I shall see will be future happenings.

We outsource our business to foreign countries, and for some time we get good and polite service. However, the crooks takeover and we get what I mentioned above and this is probably just the beginning of what is to come. Of course, the headquarters won't list their phone number or a fax number and when you ask India for a number their response is “we don't know it.” In my opinion it is dishonest and I have started my goal to discourage people from purchasing DELL. It is no wonder you don't take calls, your lines would be tied up all day. If one sends e-mails or a fax, it goes to India and I am certain they go into the shredder so they continue their scam!

So now I shall have my husband make an appointment with the NEX officer when we return to share my experience and the desire to remove Dell products from all military exchanges. I will now file complaints to the BBB and the Attorney General's office in TX and hope my quest for protecting future consumers can be accomplished.

Replies
Dell Tech Support is a DISASTER!
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- I am writing because right now I am about as mad as I've ever been. Why? Because in January of this year my husband and I decided to use some of our overage money to purchase a pair of laptops for school. I bought two Dell Studio 1536 Laptops. That's when my nightmare began. Three days later the monitor quit on mine. There was also a problem that if you actually put it on your LAP, you got an electrical shock if it touched bare skin. We called tech support and they sent a box and shipped it back to them. About a month later I got it back. The screen worked, it still shocked you. Needing the laptop for school, I decided to work around the issue.

Unfortunately, this wasn't the end. Soon The computer was getting so hot that it was needing to be turned of frequently to prevent damage. Also, the AC cord overheated to the point that I actually burned my thumb and forefinger when I tried to pick it up one day. We called Tech Support. They sent a box and shipped it back to them. Two weeks later we got it back. The AC cord was the same. Two days after it arrived I was typing and the Z key FELL OFF!!! We called tech support. They shipped us a new AC cord. 2 months ago... Suddenly the computer starts randomly shutting off all by itself. We call tech support.

They sent a box and shipped it back to them. We waited... and waited... and waited. They had said 2 weeks, so at 2 weeks and three days we called. "Where's the laptop?" It's been placed on "billable hold". Apparently there was "water damage" to it. Water damage? Excuse me? I don't allow liquid near my laptop. Also, why wasn't I contacted? They had my name, address, phone number and the email account that I leave open 24/7. "ooops. Sorry. It must have been missed." So now they want $160 to FIX the computer, or $200 to ship it back to me.

The photos they sent to prove the water damage are so blurred that when I took them to a tech I know he wasn't able to say what the damage was, or even what part of the laptop he was looking at! I agreed to pay the $160 on the condition that the computer returned in perfect condition, needing no additional repair. It arrived today. I put it on my lap. I'm wearing shorts. I got zapped. Again. Also, there's one minor problem. See, the laptop came with a fingerprint scanner. It's a nifty little tool that lets you save your passwords and log into the computer and websites using a quick swipe of your fingerprint. What's the problem? It's MISSING!!! GONE!!!

Once again I call tech support. They're sending a box. It's going back. Again. They are going to look at it and see if they can fix the shock (which they haven't managed to fix in the THREE times they've had it) and see if they can find a fingerprint reader around there somewhere. They've replaced that technology with "facial recognition software". If they can't fix it they will replace the system with another system. This sounds OK, until they describe the "new" system. They will replace it with a "reconditioned" system (read piece of junk they couldn't fix properly for someone else) and my ORIGINAL warranty will remain the same, no new time on the new system!

When my Compaq broke they replaced it with a new system that came with a NEW warranty. So, if the "new" laptop breaks, I'm still only covered until January on a system that has spent three out of eight months with them. I have never once called and spent less than half an hour on hold. Usually I wind up shuttled around from department to department while they try to find someone who knows what's going on, and be sure to write your service tag # down, because it's written on the bottom of the computer and no where else, and they want it every time, even when they have the computer and you don't.

As time passes, they will recite to you their complete notes on every repair they have done, taking up more time, even if you've already told them the same information. So the reason I'm writing is that I know some of you may be in the market for a new computer or laptop or work with computers and talk to customers or friends about them. I am writing to warn you all that Dell makes a shoddy product in a laptop, doesn't properly stand behind their product and if you have problems, your new Dell laptop will be a never ending nightmare of shipping it back and forth with little resolution.

I will NEVER buy another Dell product, even so much as a mouse or keyboard. I strongly recommend you avoid them as well! If you do buy a Dell, get an attorney on retainer right away. You may need one to get your computer fixed properly!

Replies
A product and tech support you would expect to see in a third-world country
By -

ONE DELL WAY, TEXAS -- Dell Studio 15 Notebook purchased 28 June 2009 for $1,005.90. I was out of town for a week when it first arrived, but the following week I initiated setup and found a number of issues wrong with the computer. ** identified the issues as being initial setup issues that would not happen again and if it did they would take note in their system to process a refund. They informed me that they stand by their product. They informed me that after they intervened that time, I would not have the problem again.

In Aug 2009, I had additional issues which Dell deemed to be more software issues that was not covered by current warranty and contrary to the previous call they would not honor the refund promised. I was then told I could purchase online software tech support ($182) to resolve the issue. When I did, we solved the problem (so we thought) for another few months. Then there was a virus that McAfee did not stop. Dell Tech Support informed me that their McAfee Anti-virus which was sold with the computer was not as good as Norton.

So, under their guidance, I purchased Norton Software with the technician on the line. Issues arose periodically at varying levels literally every month thereafter. Issues took up my weekends after I just returned from a war zone for 15 months and am working for the Dept of State and taking Army class for my new rank while getting reacquainted with my family.

In the most recent issue which started in mid-February 2010, a blue screen with a random error and physical memory dump followed by a shutdown of the system. I called in to use the 3rd of my 5 tech support issues purchased after the purchase of my computer to resolve this latest problem. After doing a full system diagnostic, I was told that I then needed to purchase an additional memory card ($68.24) for RAM in order to speed up my computer. That this would help with my computer processing so slow.

I was also then told I needed to purchase an optimizer from Norton. Now after 9 months and purchasing countless additional items beyond the simple purchase of the computer, Dell finally informed me that I needed to have the motherboard, hard drive, and both memory cards replaced. They sent a technician by house from Worldwide. ** (Worldwide employee) informed me that the motherboard was not viable after spending 3 hours on the computer. A new motherboard and other parts would have be ordered and replaced.

However, before he left he made sure to tell me that there were frayed wires in the laptop that was likely causing many of the problems over the past year. When the next Worldwide Technician (contracted by Dell) came by the house on 12 March 2010 to finish what ** initiated leaving me without a computer for 3 days, he repeated what ** said about the computer having many issues and the second motherboard, of course, would not work. I was then put on the phone with tech support at Dell that tried to tell me they would get me a replacement but that it would take 14 business days.

In my work with the government and school, a timeframe greater than 2.5 weeks where weekends are time I have to prepare briefings for my class address overseas programs for the State Dept is NOT acceptable. I informed him that he needed to make an exception to the 21 day internal Dell policy to provide me a refund so I could go out that day to purchase a new computer from a local retailer. On 12 March 2010, I spoke with several managers and numerous representatives. Despite being told I would get a call back by a escalation team in 24-48 hours, I simply could not wait that long for a resolve.

I continued to call back to be batted back and forth between customer service and tech support getting little to know help to expedite the issue. Finally I was informed by tech support that they would grant my refund and conference me with customer service (refund) dept to execute. However, I was disconnected in 2 conference calls.

On the third call, I spoke with Siddhesh (supervisor) where I was told I was NEVER promised a refund.
At this point, the only option that is acceptable is a refund for the Dell, the horrible tech support, and the memory card that was promised to have already been refunded on 6 March but wasn't. That amount is $1256.14. Dell should also have to reimburse me for the days of having wasted my time after return from a 15-month deployment in the Gulf.

Replies
Dell Horror Show
By -

TEXAS -- I purchased my first laptop, a Studio XPS m1330, from Dell in January 2009. I ordered a high-end laptop thinking I wouldn't need to upgrade for quite some time. Dell talked me into paying extra for the "North American Tech Team" who speaks English--there is something wrong with having to pay extra for someone who understands you when you have a problem. The laptop began locking up and not responding in July 2009, and after MANY (futile) hours on the phone with Tech Support, they finally decided that I needed a new hard drive--at this point the laptop was only 6 months old. The problems continued, locking up, not responding, crashing. Numerous hours on the phone with Dell, running diagnostics, to no avail. My husband began to complain that I talked more to Dell than to him when I was home. Then the laptop started crashing whenever Windows Updates tried to automatically install. More hours on the phone with Dell. No one could determine what the problem was. Dell refused to allow me to send the computer to them for direct examination, they refused to send a technician to my house to fix it, and they refused to replace the laptop. Finally, I brought it to my brother, who is a software technician, and asked him if he could get the Windows Updates to install without the computer crashing. My brother called me the next day to tell me some very alarming news--he told me that my laptop was overheating during the installation of the Windows Updates, which was causing the laptop to crash. He pointed out that this had likely been going on for quite some time, as the white label on the bottom of the laptop was brown and burnt-appearing, and he relayed that it was likely that the high heat had possibly damaged other components of my laptop. My brother expressed great concern for my safety and advised me not to use it. Dell FINALLY agreed on 1/27/10 to replace the laptop after I told them what my brother found. The person I talked to on 1/27/10 at Dell also agreed to "suspend" my extended warranty, which was due to expire on 2/16/10, in light of the fact that I had a totally dead, non-functional laptop and I was not in possession of the replacement laptop. It took them almost 3 weeks to "approve" the replacement laptop, after I emailed them every few days--I was called back by Dell on 2/11/10 and was advised that my laptop would be built. When I tried to verify that my extended warranty would be suspended as previously promised on 1/27/10, I was told (after the tech person talked to his supervisor) that they couldn't suspend the warranty, and if I wanted it to continue past 2/16/10, I would have to purchase an extension. I argued that I was told on 1/27/10 that my warranty would be suspended until I received the replacement laptop, but was steadfastly told they would not do this. I refuse to give Dell any more of my money for shoddy and fraudulent customer service. Dell really does not care about their customers once they have your money. This whole situation has made me physically sick, given the amount of money that I paid for the laptop, accessories, and extended service plan. I told the Dell person that I planned to file a complaint with the Attorney General's office, and he quickly refused to talk to me any further and got off the phone. Whenever I finally receive the replacement Dell laptop, I plan to sell it ASAP, along with all the accessories, as I NEVER want another Dell product in my home. I have since ordered an HP laptop that should be arriving in the next few days, and I am hoping I have a vastly better experience than the horror show I experienced with Dell. Please do yourself a favorDO NOT BUY A DELL COMPUTER. They are no longer a reputable company.

Replies
Two Reps Two Different Info 129 To Fix Their Mistake
By -

NOTE: THIS FALLS INTO THE CATEGORIES OF SERVICE FEE'S, REP MISTAKES, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, WARRANTY, REPAIR SERVICES, RELIABILITY, PRODUCT QUALITY, PRODUCT PERFORMANCE, & QUALITY OF SERVICE.

So two weeks ago I bought a brand new 1075 dollar laptop. two week later (today) my screens shutting off repeatedly blue screen. I call tech support which I have free for a year, mind you no one speaks fluent English. I got hung up on 4 times each time after putting in my code, giving my code to a rep, being transferred, and giving my code again, after literally 30 minutes each. The second time I gave the man a # to call back in case it hung up because I told him id been hung up on. well he never called back. The third guy said my issue was Microsoft update. so he said to do a system restore and it would work. well I did that. When I cut it back on, my computer was no long protected. mind you I paid over 100$ for 3 year protection! WHY IS MY COMPUTER NOT PROTECTED?????? IT WON'T LET ME FIX THE PROBLEM, AND IT WON'T LET ME DO A QUICK OR FULL SYSTEM SCAN. AND ITS TELLING ME THAT MY COMPUTER AND E MAIL FILES NEED ATTENTION. so I call back. another 45 min on hold, this guys transfers me and tells me ill have to pay. I said no thank you because I am not willing to pay. he said I will see if we can get something worked out or something like that so I wouldn't have to pay. well this guy tells me that its a software issue and I have a virus.

WHY DID THE LAST GUY NOT TELL ME I HAD A VIRUS? HE SAID THAT IT WAS MICROSOFT UPDATE AND THAT A LOT OF CALLS WERE ABOUT THAT! BUT I GAVE HIM THE SAME ERROR MESSAGE. wth is going on? not only do I have a virus now, but I have to pay 129$ to get them to tell me how to fix it. WHAAAAAAAAAATTTT?? I was protected before the last guy said to do a system restore to a previous point. R U SERIOUS? he really didn't give a fricking frack when I said I am not paying for something that was fine before I called you guys. and 129$??? how do I even know that its a virus? the last guy didn't say that and I gave him the same error message. if he knew it was a virus why didn't he tell me that? and how do I have a virus when I have a hundred something dollar virus protection software? now I'm being jipped. what do I do now? a two week old computer? the internet won't connect? and that's what I need it for. I take online classes and I needed it for school.

I'm very disappointed in this service. Dell doesn't give a rats booty about its customers. if they don't do something I'm going to go as far as I can go. I'm being ripped off completely. how could you charge 129 dollars for something that should really be covered. they only care about the money. No one but their own pockets. and the customer service is the worst ever. THE VERY WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I'VE EVER EXPERIENCED!! EVER. I'LL BE WRITING LETTERS, EMAILS, MAKING CALLS AND EVERYTHING EVERYTHING I CAN GET MY HANDS ON UNTIL THIS ISSUE IS RESOLVED. BUT FOR NOW THIS IS MY 3CENTS (PLEASE EXCUSE MY GRAAMMAR AND PUNCTUATION, IM ON A BLACKBERRY SINCE MY COMPUTER IS UNUSABLE AND VERY TIRED AFTER MY 3 1/2 HOUR HOLDING HANG UP SESSION WITH DELL)

Replies
Customer Service Nightmare And Horrible Product
By -

First, this is just a start. I plan to post this on every message board I can find in the next couple days. I'd like to prevent people from going through the hell I have experienced the last couple months.

It took from the 13th of December to the 6th of January to get my Dell Studio 1537 laptop. That's a hell of a long time to live without a computer, and surely, if a new customer wants a computer, you would THINK they would get it to them faster. In any case, the customer service guy lied to me about a number of things (including the time it would take to arrive) in order to get me to buy the computer. Then, I was told I could cancel, but that left me without a reliable computer to use and no way to purchase a new one (I used Dell credit to get the laptop). So I suffered the long wait, and it finally arrived.

Upon receiving my new laptop, I decided to watch a movie on it. I put the DVD in, it loaded, but the DVD skipped over and over. Once that happened, I attempted to eject the DVD, but it wouldn't come out. So I restarted the computer and finally got it out of the drive. After this, I decided to try a different DVD, since the first one had a minor scratch on the surface. I tried a new DVD this time, but the DVD drive decided to pop the DVD out this time. The drive also sounds like it's a huge machine trying to produce a lot more than a video on the screen of a laptop. Something is wrong with it. Almost inevitably, the drive pops out any DVD at some point while I watch a movie.

What did I do? I called the technical support, and spent hours (two separate times), attempting to get the issue resolved to no avail. It seemed clear that the issue was hardware, not software. Unfortunately, because I had to wait so long to get the computer, and because I was sooooo behind on work for school and my campus job, I was desperate. I wanted to return the computer. I spoke with the special department at Dell that talks to people like me; those people who are unhappy with their purchase and remorseful that they even contacted the company to begin with. The man told me that the issue was stated to be resolved by the tech department (the people in India that I spoke with I told I would have to play a DVD to figure out if the computer was actually functioning properly or not, and that I could not tell them that the issue was resolved, but they put it in the computer that it was). Because it said this, he told me that I would have to pay 15% of the computer's total cost to return it. I flipped out. After about 10 minutes of listening to me screaming, he said that he would see what he could do. But, would I be interested in taking $75 and keeping the computer? Haha! NO! I don't want a broken computer!

So then he offered to send me a NEW computer. He essentially begged me to take it, promising the new one would be built in 5-7 days and immediately sent out. He assured me that it would work perfectly as well. I didn't really want to, but once again, I don't have the money to buy a computer and Dell gave me credit- I figured I'd give it a shot and told the man I would return the computer at no charge if I did not receive what I ordered.

Here we are, well over 2 weeks later and I have no new computer. Tonight I call to see what is holding it up, because to be honest, I've sat around for about 6 weeks waiting for a reliable computer (counting all that time in December)- you know, the one I expected when I ORDERED this damn thing. The man on the phone told me that no computer had been made and he had no idea what I was talking about. I flipped out, once again, and spoke to his manager. The manager, unfortunately, had no way to help me and the people that I spoke with before (the ones who promised me a new computer) were the ones I needed to talk to. At this point, I'm returning the Dell. I've had enough of their crappy computers; customer service; and lies.

I was told that a someone from the legal department would contact me soon: I asked the man if that was a promise as strong as the one to send me a new computer, because if it was, I was just going to send this computer back to them.

What I figured out is that they are trying to get me by this 21-day return policy. You have 21 days to return the product, or you cannot return it and you have to keep it. This is something they do not want to tell you. So here I am waiting all this time for a computer that I bet they never planned to make so that they could trap me in their loophole. Sadly for them, my cousin lives locally and is a kick ass attorney. They had better HOPE they take this back. I'm currently on a mission to ensure everyone that uses internet and is interested in buying a Dell reads about what I went through, so that they do not make the same mistake that I did. The company and people are not only unethical, their products are unreliable. I'm sure some people have had decent experiences with their Dells, but that is not to say they will if they make future purchases through their company.

Replies
100% Dissatisfaction
By -

ILLINOIS -- I purchased a Dell Inspiron 1150 Laptop less than a year ago. Normally I would build my own computer but I needed a laptop so I bought a Dell, I had heard they were a good company, I heard wrong. After about 3 months my computer had trouble seeing the power supply and would drain the battery even while it was plugged in. Although I thought I had a six month warranty I was told it was only 90 days and would have to pay for a new motherboard myself. The motherboard would cost $289.00. Fortunately the problem seemed to disappear then but recently it came back and with a vengeance. I have difficulty keeping my laptop powered for more than a few hours at a time because it cannot see the power supply and drains the battery. When I call tech support or customer service I am bounced around from department to department each time being placed on hold for 15-20 minutes at a time, sometimes being disconnected completely and I would have to repeat the same process. I have spent countless hours on the phone with Dell, I have been treated with ignorance, rudeness, and sometimes ignored to the point that I would hang up in frustration.

Recently I reluctantly placed an order for a new motherboard which will cost me $307.00 by the time it is shipped to me. I have a serious concern however that this motherboard will fail the same as my current motherboard. To you people out there who say you have a Dell and like them and have never had a problem with them, well good for you, I hope your luck continues but please remember your luck with this company offers no consolation to the thousands of people this company has ripped off.

Replies
Impossible to get an American to speak to for technical support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I have called number after number from the web for Dell and I always get someone in Manila. I did not know when I purchased a Dell product that it was not American. When I have a problem I don't want to compound the problem by meeting head on with someone that barely speaks English and then I have to struggle to make myself understood. I think before a product in the United States of American a person should be told that the product is not serviced by an English speaking and understanding and thinking American, bred and born. I will never in this life purchase another DELL PRODUCT. Where is your American loyality. Americans need jobs but you take American dollars and pay wages to foreigners and this is not okay. Companies like yours should not be allowed to do business in the United States.

Replies
Dell's Warranty & Customer Service
By -

Mr. Michael Dell
Chairman of the Board of Directors
Dell, Inc.
One Dell Way
Round Rock, Texas 78682

Dear Mr. Dell,

I am writing to you, somewhat as a “last resort”, regarding two recent purchases of computer systems from your company and a total breakdown of technical support, warranty support, customer support and in general those precepts which I have always regarded as good business practice and common sense.

Although I have purchased numerous Dell systems before and the product and product support was outstanding, the current scenario isn't pleasant and began after placing an order for an Inspiron 8600 (TAG # XXXXXX) on 07/23/04 with payment by credit card for delivery to have followed within two weeks. After over a month of waiting and the credit card having been billed with no delivery, I disputed the billing with my credit card company and was issued credit for the purchase. Then on 10/04/04 I received the unit, and in good faith immediately called the credit card company and had funds released to Dell with billing subsequently issued to me by MBNA on 10/05/04 and paid.

On December 17, another order was placed (Order # XXXXXXXXX and XXXXXXXXX) for a Dell desktop unit as a Christmas gift for my wife with the understanding of needed special delivery and promised arrival before or by December 25, 2004. Two days later, I was informed by Dell that the delivery date could not be met. As such on or about December 20, after having been informed it had not yet been shipped, I cancelled. Two days after Christmas, the computer arrived by UPS and when refused was returned to Dell by UPS.

On or about January 3, 2005 the printer portion of that order also arrived and was signed for by my father, not knowing about the cancellation issue. He was told by the UPS delivery person “If the package remains unopened it can be dropped of at the local UPS pickup point and will be returned to the sender.” The following day (on my instructions) he dropped it off at the UPS Store and it was returned to Dell. During this entire time I was in Iraq.

Subsequently while on a business trip to Thailand, the Inspiron 8600 failed…would not even boot. I telephoned Dell Technical Support and was refused service…was told that I needed to call Dell Financial because of a problem of some type. This was extremely difficult, professionally embarrassing, and frustrating to attempt to make international calls to Dell in the presence of my business clients and all to no avail.
After numerous calls with no results and desperately needing the information on the Inspiron 8600 hard drive for my business meetings, it was necessary for a local purchase of another laptop and to have the hard drive information copied onto the new unit from the Dell…all of this at a cost in excess of $2,000 USD. That which made it most infuriating and frustrating is your Customer Service representative informed me, that the bios had been “spiked” to render the unit inoperable since the unit had never been paid for.

After returning to the US and after numerous additional and frustrating calls to my credit card company, Dell Customer Service, and Dell Financial Services I was informed by “Jackie” ID # 605659 at Dell Financial that in fact the funds had been posted in October 2004 and that all of the problems should never have occurred. That she would resolve the technical service issue and that Dell Technical would take care of the Inspiron problem…at this point I was furious and asked that a refund be issued for the unit or that it be replaced with another “new” unit. This was denied and almost four (4) months later the unit is still inoperable with nothing from Technical or Warranty support. And keep in mind, that each time I have called Dell and Dell Financial I have re-iterated the continued inoperability of the 8600.

To add insult to injury, I then received a bill for the computer and printer that had been ordered in December and returned. Again, I attempted to resolve the billing issue with numerous telephone calls to Dell Financial and to Dell Customer Service. Each time I was only able to talk with someone in India with poor language skills and an apparent inability to understand the units had been returned. Finally on the February 3 Dell Financial statement a credit was issued for the desktop ($2231.3) but not for the printer ($136.74) and for the “late” charges that had already accrued. Once again numerous calls back to India…meanwhile, I'm back in Iraq making international calls and almost every call was about an hour after the “on holds” and transfers…Each time with a promise from the customer service rep that “the problem will be researched and someone will call you back”…Guess what, no calls.

In early March 2005 (and another bill from Dell Financial with accrued late charges) and after more “numerous India calls” I was issued a credit for $106.00 of the $136.74…it seems Dell had no record of the printer return and would not issue full credit to me via Dell Financial…the India rep said that the “warranty” portion could not be refunded! A total insult especially since at this point I had personally expended almost $2500 in the purchase of a new laptop (to replace a Dell product still under warranty) and the international calls…keep in mind, I'm still in Iraq.

But wait…in early April another letter from Dell Financial and now the outstanding printer bill of $136.74 has grown with accrued late payments and fees and is now $101.66 even after the $106.00 credit ($206.66 for the $134.76 printer)…all for merchandise that was returned to Dell. In the same mail delivery was a notice from Dell Financial's collection arm, I.C. System, Inc, demanding payment of the $101.66. Again “numerous India calls” to both Dell Financial and Dell Customer support…Dell Financial passed me off to Dell and Dell back to Dell Financial and Dell Financial back to Dell…both committed to “researching the issue” and getting back to me….One week and three days later, I am still waiting for those return calls from a supervisor and still purportedly owing $101.66 for the printer. Meanwhile the $1847.00 Inspiron 8600 (still under warranty and out of service for almost four months) sits inoperative in the corner.

Please pardon the lengthy letter and my apparent cynicism, but needless to say, I am furious and this entire almost laughable comedy is like the proverbial monkey trying to make love to a football…and the football is winning. I am enclosing a check to you for the remaining $30.74 ($136.74- $106.00 = $30.74) and want this to end.

It is terribly sad that both Dell and I have lost more time and money than this entire principled issue is worth…for a company that purports employment of approximately 55,200 team members worldwide and reported revenues of $49.2 billion for the past four quarters, you certainly need to be aware that your “customer service” stinks. If other previously dedicated Dell customers are experiencing the same problems and “the India connection” adventure, I would think your company's success is soon to be short lived.

Sincerely,

Replies
Dell Hell; Paid hundreds for additional warranty, should have burned the $$
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- My problem began months ago with a total system failure. Two tech on-site visits were unable to provide any resolution whatsoever. Many more hours on the phone with your tech support were equally ineffective. With each contact, the service became increasingly unprofessional and then confrontational. I used this unit every day for my business, and since I travel often, I paid a top price for this unit specifically for the light weight. I was finally offered a replacement unit, but was advised my current model was no longer available, so was offered a unit that was much bigger and heavier than my model, even though Dell clearly had smaller units for sale. I spent hours and hours trying to resolve this issue but was consistently offered excuses and delays with no real explanation, other than Dell's so-called policy would not permit sending me a unit with my size and specs. This in spite of me paying hundreds of dollars to upgrade my warranty to the highest level available.

Finally I was promised that I would be sent a replacement unit that would be comparable to mine. What I received was an 8 pound unit that was so large I couldn't even get it into my briefcase. I made call after call to try to contact the home office, and every tech person lied to me like a dog that they did not know any way to contact the corporate office. I am a GA Tech graduate with an engineering degree, and have been in the business world for almost 50 years. In all that time, I have NEVER, EVER had a worse service experience. Your phone support has been excruciating, rude, incompetent, and as I mentioned, flat lied to me on numerous occasions. I want to contact the Dell Corporate office to speak to the head of Customer Support and get this issue resolved. I tried again today to find someone to speak to, and after 2 more transfers and waiting on hold for another 45 minutes to speak to a senior person, someone just hung up on me. Is there some person in this entire company that has enough courtesy to help me?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >